View Full Version : The neutrals LOVE our new home kit

Austinho
04-06-2018, 06:59 AM
Sorry for another kit thread, but thought it deserved to be highlighted after the backlash the home kit got on here (I was even guilty myself).

Football Shirt Culture (http://www.footballshirtculture.com) is a popular website that showcases all new football kits, and even allows users to vote on what they think of each release, from 'masterpiece' being the best, 'hall of shame' the worst.

Despite only being posted a couple of days ago, the Hibs home kit (http://www.footballshirtculture.com/18/19-Kits/hibernian-2018-2019-macron-home-kit.html) has the 6th highest number of 'masterpiece' votes of any kit release for this year already. Currently only a few votes behind Greece Away (http://www.footballshirtculture.com/18/19-Kits/greece-2018-nike-away-shirt.html), Everton Home (http://www.footballshirtculture.com/18/19-Kits/everton-2018-2019-umbro-home-kit.html) and New Zealand Away (http://www.footballshirtculture.com/18/19-Kits/new-zealand-2018-nike-away-kit.html). And quite a few behind Bayern Munich Home (http://www.footballshirtculture.com/18/19-Kits/bayern-munich-2018-2019-adidas-home-kit.html) and the much reverved Nigeria Home (http://www.footballshirtculture.com/18/19-Kits/nigeria-2018-nike-home-football-shirt.html).

Seemingly our new top is more liked than of a whole host of teams, from Barcelona, Real Madrid, Man United's 3rd kit, PSG, Chelsea and dozens of international teams. Not bad for little old Hibernian.

On Footy Headlines (https://www.footyheadlines.com/2018/06/hibernian-18-19-home-away-kits.html), fans from around the world (who otherwise have probably never heard of us) have commented stuff like 'This is freaking amazing', 'it's gorgeous', 'absolutely fantastic' etc.

So perhaps a little perspective needed, and maybe proof that favouring tradition sometimes can get in the way of good judgement. Still hate that collar mind you! :wink:

04-06-2018, 07:05 AM
Must just be me that thinks the Nigeria top is rank.

04-06-2018, 07:50 AM
If it was someone else's kit, we'd possibly ask why Hibs are never that innovative.

It's a good strip with a rank collar.

The green in the diamonds under the badge is the green we should always play in, by the way.

04-06-2018, 07:54 AM

At least 2 of us.

04-06-2018, 07:58 AM

Me too. Bit wishy washy.

04-06-2018, 07:58 AM
I hope they all buy one then

04-06-2018, 08:23 AM

Agree looks like an awful pub team strip.

Austinho
04-06-2018, 09:03 AM
Must just be me that thinks the Nigeria top is rank.It’s green with white sleeves - what’s not to love ;)

04-06-2018, 09:13 AM

Yep, It’s an absolute shocker of a strip.

04-06-2018, 09:30 AM
Totally agree about the Nigeria strip. Looks like something Will Smith would wear in the Fresh Prince.

I'm looking forward to seeing ours in the flesh. It's not perfect by any means, but I think it's pretty good. Much more disappointed in the away - as discussed, the red sponsor is a terrible call, and I'm not keen on the collar. Would've looked nice with a white round neck and no trim.

ToffeeCabbage
04-06-2018, 09:37 AM
Saw this picture of the long sleeve version taken in the club shop on twitter and I think it's a work of art. I'll be getting ithttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20180604/573389c32263bc95fb1b1a35955f3644.jpg

CorrieHibs
04-06-2018, 09:38 AM
I think our new top is smart.

04-06-2018, 09:40 AM
Saw this picture of the long sleeve version taken in the club shop on twitter and I think it's a work of art. I'll be getting ithttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20180604/573389c32263bc95fb1b1a35955f3644.jpg

That looks great. I like the collar.

IncredibleHibee
04-06-2018, 09:43 AM
Sorry guys but I would guess the ppl that don’t like the Nigeria strip are of an *ahem* older persuasion? 😁 Nigeria top is dynamite. But back to our top, it’s ok, I’m not that taken by it but it’s not as bad as some were making out. I like that we tried something different even if it’s not quite to my taste

04-06-2018, 09:44 AM
F*** it, I've now decided that I actually love the new kit

Reckon it will be remembered as a classic in 10 years time as well

Hopefully we get a cup win this s season to help us remember it 👍

IncredibleHibee
04-06-2018, 09:48 AM

Actually, looking at it close up I like it. Sti don’t like the collar though! 😂

04-06-2018, 10:08 AM

Nope! Me too.

04-06-2018, 10:53 AM

It is growing on me .... but just cant get over the collar, I hate the way it hangs down on one side the way it does. I suppose if I was to buy it I could sew a nice green button on it or superglue some Velcro on to hold the bloomin' thing together :greengrin

May I also add my vote to the Nigeria strip is bowfin' lobby :aok:

04-06-2018, 10:55 AM

Best photo I've seen of it yet, all the greens looked really good there.

Again, a nice plain round neck with no trim would have made a huge difference for me.

04-06-2018, 11:05 AM
Anyone that doesn't like the collar clearly isn't a fashionista.

All I can see is a tribute to the class and flair of the Sauzee era.

SCHAEDYSHORTS
04-06-2018, 11:08 AM
Our strip is green with white sleeves & is worn by the pride of Edinburgh, enough said 🙂🇳🇬🏆

04-06-2018, 11:19 AM
Sorry for another kit thread, but thought it deserved to be highlighted after the backlash the home kit got on here (I was even guilty myself).

Football Shirt Culture (http://www.footballshirtculture.com) is a popular website that showcases all new football kits, and even allows users to vote on what they think of each release, from 'masterpiece' being the best, 'hall of shame' the worst.

Despite only being posted a couple of days ago, the Hibs home kit (http://www.footballshirtculture.com/18/19-Kits/hibernian-2018-2019-macron-home-kit.html) has the 6th highest number of 'masterpiece' votes of any kit release for this year already. Currently only a few votes behind Greece Away (http://www.footballshirtculture.com/18/19-Kits/greece-2018-nike-away-shirt.html), Everton Home (http://www.footballshirtculture.com/18/19-Kits/everton-2018-2019-umbro-home-kit.html) and New Zealand Away (http://www.footballshirtculture.com/18/19-Kits/new-zealand-2018-nike-away-kit.html). And quite a few behind Bayern Munich Home (http://www.footballshirtculture.com/18/19-Kits/bayern-munich-2018-2019-adidas-home-kit.html) and the much reverved Nigeria Home (http://www.footballshirtculture.com/18/19-Kits/nigeria-2018-nike-home-football-shirt.html).

Seemingly our new top is more liked than of a whole host of teams, from Barcelona, Real Madrid, Man United's 3rd kit, PSG, Chelsea and dozens of international teams. Not bad for little old Hibernian.

On Footy Headlines (https://www.footyheadlines.com/2018/06/hibernian-18-19-home-away-kits.html), fans from around the world (who otherwise have probably never heard of us) have commented stuff like 'This is freaking amazing', 'it's gorgeous', 'absolutely fantastic' etc.

So perhaps a little perspective needed, and maybe proof that favouring tradition sometimes can get in the way of good judgement. Still hate that collar mind you! :wink:

Out of 418 votes 220 have ranked it a masterpiece and 104 as good.

http://www.footballshirtculture.com/18/19-Kits/hibernian-2018-2019-macron-home-kit.html

Lendo
04-06-2018, 11:24 AM
For a bit of a comparison I checked the scores for Hearts yellow and pink Mr Blobby away strip from 16/17. (this, in my opinion, is the worst strip of all time)

Masterpiece 319
Good 25
Above Average 62
Average/nothing special 8
Below average 8
Bad 23
Hall of Shame 287

Based on the above I conclude nothing this website says can be taken seriously.

KerPlunk
04-06-2018, 11:39 AM
Sorry guys but I would guess the ppl that don’t like the Nigeria strip are of an *ahem* older persuasion? 😁 Nigeria top is dynamite. But back to our top, it’s ok, I’m not that taken by it but it’s not as bad as some were making out. I like that we tried something different even if it’s not quite to my taste
New Hibs kit is excellent. :agree: Here’s a wee article re. Nigeria strip......
https://www.theguardian.com/football/2018/jun/02/nigeria-world-cup-football-kit-captures-public-imagination?CMP=Share_iOSApp_Other

04-06-2018, 11:47 AM
Don't like the Nigeria strip, don't like our new strips but it's a football strip so does it really matter? Folk on both sides of the fence seem to be getting worked up about it.

04-06-2018, 11:49 AM
For a bit of a comparison I checked the scores for Hearts yellow and pink Mr Blobby away strip from 16/17. (this, in my opinion, is the worst strip of all time)

Masterpiece 319
Good 25
Above Average 62
Below average 8
Bad 23
Hall of Shame 287

Based on the above I conclude nothing this website says can be taken seriously.

Based on the above, I conclude that 319 yams voted it a masterpiece.

Austinho
04-06-2018, 11:59 AM

Masterpiece 319
Good 25
Above Average 62
Below average 8
Bad 23
Hall of Shame 287

Based on the above I conclude nothing this website says can be taken seriously.I remember a Hearts site linking to it encouraging them to vote on it.

04-06-2018, 12:03 PM
Interesting. Here's a tweet from another neutral

Sports Marketing Scotland‏ @sportsmarketsco (https://twitter.com/sportsmarketsco) Jun 1 (https://twitter.com/sportsmarketsco/status/1002637316534493184)More
Think I might be in love with this top. Will take some beating for kit of the 2018/19 season...

04-06-2018, 12:07 PM
Don't like the Nigeria strip, don't like our new strips but it's a football strip so does it really matter? Folk on both sides of the fence seem to be getting worked up about it.

That Nigeria strip is really minging. The design is meant to be all creative but it just looks bland in anything than ultra sharp focus close-up.

Not wild about our strip but at least from a distance the colours look solid.

xyz23jc
04-06-2018, 12:50 PM

Nope! Jamboesque in its honkingness! :greengrin

04-06-2018, 01:46 PM
I remember a Hearts site linking to it encouraging them to vote on it.

Probably. To everyone else it was a passable horse racing strip or maybe even a goalies jersey. Never close to being a decent away kit.

04-06-2018, 01:51 PM
Starting to really like the home strip, away strips really nice. It's a pity about the red marathon bet logo but was reading that if the strip is white the marathon bet sign must be red and is supposedly sponsorship rules.

04-06-2018, 02:01 PM

It's not just you.

04-06-2018, 02:04 PM
Starting to really like the home strip, away strips really nice. It's a pity about the red marathon bet logo but was reading that if the strip is white the marathon bet sign must be red and is supposedly sponsorship rules.

Next season we should have a red away kit to avoid this

04-06-2018, 02:04 PM
Interesting that the majority of folk that don't like the Nigeria kit appear to be of certain age group :cb

04-06-2018, 02:10 PM
As is the case most years, they (Home & Away) will both sell out :agree:

04-06-2018, 02:15 PM
Interesting that the majority of folk that don't like the Nigeria kit appear to be of certain age group :cb

:faf: the folk that are least likely to buy a strip seem to be the most likely to moan about it. Lets face it, most of us over thirty five are not the target audience.

04-06-2018, 03:02 PM
With you on that one. Dog's dinner.

04-06-2018, 03:09 PM
It's like an average entry in the Primary 3 design a wallpaper contest.
Ok I'm too old for that. P4 just.

04-06-2018, 04:37 PM
I only just noticed the 1875 behind the badge, looks weird and off centre.

Shame, I think this strip was a little bit more subtlety and a normal collar away from being a belter.

04-06-2018, 04:44 PM
Think the new home is smart, looking forward to seeing it on july 8th
As for the Nigeria kit🤮

04-06-2018, 04:53 PM

:agree: Me 2

Another TV interference jersey

04-06-2018, 05:08 PM
I only just noticed the 1875 behind the badge, looks weird and off centre.

Shame, I think this strip was a little bit more subtlety and a normal collar away from being a belter.

Not sure what you mean by off center but agree that it's just an unnecessary detail that simply doesn't look that good

The double badge thing last year was lovely but seems like they've tried to ride that wave again without really making it work

HFCdeb
04-06-2018, 05:27 PM
Wonder how many of our female support will be interested in buying a grandad collared golf jumper style Hibs top? I can't get on board with it, personally, it's pretty awful and there's far too much going on in it. A lot of guy friends love it though so hopefully it does sell well.
Nigeria strip is monstrous (I'm 32).

04-06-2018, 05:37 PM

Folk old enough to remember it was ***** the 1st time round as well?

04-06-2018, 05:41 PM
At least 2 of us.

Me three

04-06-2018, 06:20 PM

:faf: My boy turned 12 on Friday. He thinks the Nigeria strip looks "like shoulders from one strip got mixed up with another one".

Maybe the the target group is over 12s and under 53s?

I think the more you try to fanny around with strips to make them look 'different' the more unconvincing they look. I'd except the Peru style slashed stripe, the Feyenoord style quarter panelled and any waistcoat with contra coloured arms Hibs style strip from that. I think even most vertical striped strips look pish.

BlackSheep
04-06-2018, 06:50 PM
Not sure what you mean by off center but agree that it's just an unnecessary detail that simply doesn't look that good

The double badge thing last year was lovely but seems like they've tried to ride that wave again without really making it work

I’m just hoping next year they go for the harp behind the current badge... that would look amazing!

04-06-2018, 07:04 PM
There's no such thing as a bad Hibs strip. All just IMO of course.

04-06-2018, 07:08 PM
There's no such thing as a bad Hibs strip. All just IMO of course.

There are no bad whiskies, some are better the others.

There are no bad hibs strips, some are worn by better hibs teams than others?

04-06-2018, 08:03 PM
I'm not sure about the rest of the strip but I just LOVE the collar!

04-06-2018, 08:16 PM
Two words MineCraft :)

04-06-2018, 08:25 PM
Two words MineCraft :)

Lennon doing the aeroplane.

04-06-2018, 08:31 PM
Lennon doing the aeroplane.

Hehe - #FlappyBloke

04-06-2018, 08:37 PM
Hehe - #FlappyBloke

04-06-2018, 10:30 PM
:faf: My boy turned 12 on Friday. He thinks the Nigeria strip looks "like shoulders from one strip got mixed up with another one".

Maybe the the target group is over 12s and under 53s?

I think the more you try to fanny around with strips to make them look 'different' the more unconvincing they look. I'd except the Peru style slashed stripe, the Feyenoord style quarter panelled and any waistcoat with contra coloured arms Hibs style strip from that. I think even most vertical striped strips look pish.
I said the majority, not the entirity :cb

Squirrel 1875
04-06-2018, 10:47 PM
I said the majority, not the entirity :cb

Nigeria kit is cracking. It’s totally different from our effort, which imo is lazy with the many flaws pointed out by others.

04-06-2018, 11:42 PM
Actually, looking at it close up I like it. Sti don’t like the collar though! 😂

The ugly collar problem could have been solved if they had just added a button, like the similar ones some teams in the 80's had.

05-06-2018, 01:15 AM
I'm definately not a fan of that - although I'll probably warm to it pretty quickly if we win in it often enough :)

For me our basic home kit is a classic so don't like to see it messed with too much. This might look good with a pair of jeans but that's not the point for me.

Away strip looks better to me - nae nonsense sort of reverse Hibees kit - ace :thumbsup:

TelaStella
05-06-2018, 01:44 AM
I’d rather have Nigeria’s top over our home one this season.

05-06-2018, 04:42 AM
In my experience over many years now, every new strip is liked or hated initially, before everyone settles down and becomes accustomed to it.

Come October I predict there will be no threads on this forum referring to the strip😂

05-06-2018, 05:01 AM
The collar is a bit of a mess. It's OK apart from that.