View Full Version : Here we go Mexico.

02-06-2018, 11:52 PM
Game just about to start on BBC1.

Only 30 caps in the Scotland team. Crazy.

Why we agreed to these games is beyond me.

andybev1
03-06-2018, 12:04 AM
I really hope I am wrong but a heavy loss could be on the cards here - I suppose it is expected.

03-06-2018, 12:05 AM
Did the commentator just say that Everest is only a couple of thousand feet higher than the Azeteca? Shows all you need to know about our commentators

03-06-2018, 12:06 AM
I really hope I am wrong but a heavy loss could be on the cards here

If Mexico decide to turn up it could be a pumping. :agree:

03-06-2018, 12:07 AM
Nearly an absolute clanger by McGeoch there

03-06-2018, 12:08 AM
Nearly an absolute clanger by McGeoch there

Can't be the only one hoping he has a bad game ;)

03-06-2018, 12:16 AM
1-0, so easy for Mexico.

1-0 Mexico

1-0 Mexico far too easy.

Well that was easy

03-06-2018, 12:21 AM
Did the commentator just say that Everest is only a couple of thousand feet higher than the Azeteca? Shows all you need to know about our commentators

Was a simple mistake. It's 7200 feet up and Everest is around 8,000+ meter so just misread the units I think

03-06-2018, 12:23 AM
Was a simple mistake. It's 7200 feet up and Everest is around 8,000+ meter so just misread the units I think

It's still a high altitude for a football stadium.

03-06-2018, 12:30 AM
Can't be the only one hoping he has a bad game ;)

I was thinking that but didn’t want to say it. He’s certainly in the shop window and a poor display might put prospective suitors off the scent. Hope he has a stinker.:greengrin

03-06-2018, 12:32 AM
Some iffy performances so far from a couple of our players.
To be fair, they are up against a quality side.
Dylan doing okay.

03-06-2018, 12:34 AM

We have a mountain to climb.

Wee Effen Bee
03-06-2018, 12:40 AM
The crowd was doing’Oles’ after a minute. I just don’t like their superior altitude!I😬

03-06-2018, 12:40 AM
I'm struggling to work out that stadium, it looks like they've got Epping Forrest growing in the stand on the other side of the pitch!

itslegaltender
03-06-2018, 12:41 AM
Dylan having a stinker.

03-06-2018, 12:42 AM
Co-commentator getting on anyone else's nerves?

Delboy4
03-06-2018, 12:42 AM
Way off the pace..!

A game like this could possibly damage the players, why oh why did the SFA organise these games when players need to rest.

Sad to say but this is why we are not at the World Cup.

Also, WHY THE **** do we have to listen to that clown Miller...

So depressing!!!!!! 🤬

03-06-2018, 12:44 AM

Willie Miller?

03-06-2018, 12:46 AM
Willie Miller isn't impressed by anything, even playing a game in the death zone where the players could get a pulmonary edema

soupernashwan
03-06-2018, 12:48 AM
Aberdeen players are particularly disappointing - Christie has been woeful. Shinnie too.

03-06-2018, 12:49 AM
Aberdeen players are particularly disappointing - Christie has been woeful. Shinnie too.

03-06-2018, 12:50 AM
We are embarrassingly awful, especially that guy McGeouch. :greengrin

03-06-2018, 12:55 AM
We are embarrassingly awful, especially that guy McGeouch. :greengrin

All jokes aside, Scotland are pish and have been for 20 years. The oh so nearly men!

03-06-2018, 12:59 AM

Had to cheek to say that the Hearts goalie could have done better with one of the saves or words to that effect. It was a save and a good one.

03-06-2018, 01:02 AM
All jokes aside, Scotland are pish and have been for 20 years. The oh so nearly men!

How many quality Scots players are there in top sides of the EPL compared to the days of Billy Bremner et al?
That tells you everything. The kids today are too busy playing fitba on their computers instead of out in the street.

Delboy4
03-06-2018, 01:08 AM
Dylan took his mask of Zorro off

03-06-2018, 01:09 AM
Says something when there's more knee caps than Scotland caps on the pitch.

03-06-2018, 01:09 AM
Dylan took his mask of Zorro off

Wonder if the heat was affecting it ?

Delboy4
03-06-2018, 01:11 AM
Wonder if the heat was affecting it ?

Probably hard to breathe

03-06-2018, 01:11 AM
Better start to the second half it has to be said.

03-06-2018, 01:12 AM
Scotland hit the post. Unlucky.

03-06-2018, 01:15 AM
Shocking corner nearly cost us a second on the break and Mr McGeoch shat it in that tackle when they were breaking. :wink:

03-06-2018, 01:16 AM
get christie off ffs

03-06-2018, 01:16 AM
McGinn on.

03-06-2018, 01:17 AM
Super John on.

03-06-2018, 01:19 AM
I just wanted McGinn to get a good rest, wish he didn't get on, he will get the grand total of 2 weeks off before heading back for pre season (if he's still here)

03-06-2018, 01:29 AM
our number 6 nearly costs us

:(

Delboy4
03-06-2018, 01:30 AM
Going to write to Leeane to ask if we can have allotments in the West Stand. We could grow some tatties etc

First stadium I’ve ever seen growing plants!!??

03-06-2018, 01:30 AM
russell falls over his own feet lol

03-06-2018, 01:32 AM
So, McGeough is schecht...

Delboy4
03-06-2018, 01:33 AM
Players looking very tired now, this is where we have to keep it tight. Don’t want to switch off

03-06-2018, 01:34 AM
Bain has been inspired. Kept Scotland in it.

03-06-2018, 01:36 AM
Goal disallowed. Never offside IMO. Lucky white heather. :wink:
I still think we can nick a draw.
McGeouch not wearing his Lone Ranger (irony?) mask now.

03-06-2018, 01:47 AM
Crap team.

Apparently, according to that idiot commentator, Mexico are better because they play more competitive games...

Utter crap.

Crap team.

Crap coverage.

03-06-2018, 01:47 AM
McGeouch has been careless/sluggish in possession, not one of his best games, Looks shattered. McGinn not been in the game at all. Bain and russell the stand outsides from our prospectiv imo.

03-06-2018, 01:48 AM
Scotland unbeaten against Mexico up until now if we get beat tonight.

AugustaHibs
03-06-2018, 01:48 AM
Until pundits etc start calling out the national team for what it is, this pish will continue.

How many times have we heard ‘some positives to take’ or ‘’we done well but blah blah blah’

The national side is a disgrace.

03-06-2018, 01:53 AM
Until pundits etc start calling out the national team for what it is, this pish will continue.

How many times have we heard ‘some positives to take’ or ‘’we done well but blah blah blah’

The national side is a disgrace.
There's only 20 odd caps between them, compare that to Mexico which is 500+. Reality is in competitive competition most of these players won't be included.

03-06-2018, 01:55 AM
Thats that then, Scotland nil.

03-06-2018, 01:56 AM
There's only 20 odd caps between them, compare that to Mexico which is 500+. Reality is in competitive competition most of these players won't be included.

:agree: Exactly.

03-06-2018, 01:57 AM
Willie Miller isn't impressed by anything, even playing a game in the death zone where the players could get a pulmonary edema

I think he's sharing a hotel room with Shinnie tonight..

03-06-2018, 01:57 AM
only saw the last 15 of the 1st half but a fairly decent 2nd half from us

03-06-2018, 02:00 AM
If Mexico finish like they did tonight they won't last long in the cup.

03-06-2018, 02:01 AM
We were mentally a yard behind the Mexicans throughout the game. We can't find a player with a 5 yard pass.
1-0 flattered us big time. Well done to the players for that but, the standard of basic ball control compared to our opposition was obvious. Silk playing denim.
No wonder we don't qualify for the WC. A blessing in disguise maybe.

03-06-2018, 02:04 AM
I think he's sharing a hotel room with Shinnie tonight..

Shinnie was dire. SJM was invisible.

03-06-2018, 02:04 AM
Two respectable results from what is essentially a B squad but a this tour ha been a complete waste of time. Both games were men against boys.

AugustaHibs
03-06-2018, 02:10 AM

Well after a hard season why send them halfway across the world for a friendly? A goodwill gesture. It honestly sums it up.

03-06-2018, 02:24 AM

Exactly. Some folk on here are coming across as completely clueless ignoring this point. That was more like a majority Scotland C squad. Throw in the likes of Liverpool’s Robertson, Armstrong, Griffiths, Tierney, Ritchie etc and its a whole different looking and styled team.

03-06-2018, 06:10 AM
Whoever agreed to these games needs fired.

03-06-2018, 06:14 AM
Didn’t see the game but reckon apart from Mexico actually being a better team than us the altitude would have done us no favours. 1-0 isn’t a disgrace.

03-06-2018, 06:30 AM
I don't think you could have expected anything other than 2 defeats from those games. Playing teams that are arguably better than our 1st choice squad with a 2nd or 3rd choice squad.

It was a strange decision to take the games, probably the SFAs daftest decision since the Qatar friendly at ER.

03-06-2018, 06:40 AM
Forget the results but can someone tell me why these games were arranged to start with? What purpose will this serve us? 2 games and 0 goals.

Players looking shattered as well. Something needs to be done about all this because it’s becoming embarrassing. SFA should be taking all the blame for me.

CorrieHibs
03-06-2018, 06:56 AM
Whoever agreed to these games needs fired.

He resigned. Thankfully!

18Craig75
03-06-2018, 07:16 AM
Every player that played on this tour did so because the wanted to be there to play for Scotland.

Well done to them, and I think some will have staked a claim to feature more regularly now.

Once again it has shown that we’re desperately light up front, are there any young scottish strikers coming through to get excited about? Does Kamberi have a scottish relative??

03-06-2018, 07:27 AM
Am I right in thinking that both games will also affect our co-efficient ranking?

Wonder what the total cost of the trip was ? Money better spent elsewhere in the game ?

Nothing against the players who went but the whole thing is a little odd and questions should be asked.

03-06-2018, 07:54 AM
Am I right in thinking that both games will also affect our co-efficient ranking?

Wonder what the total cost of the trip was ? Money better spent elsewhere in the game ?

Nothing against the players who went but the whole thing is a little odd and questions should be asked.
Don’t know about coefficient, but SFA would have been paid handsomely for this trip. They need the money, as we haven’t qualified for a major for more then 20 years

03-06-2018, 08:00 AM
Every player wanted to be there, and every player will think its enhanced their chances in getting into future squads.

Slipping the odd player in when we are at full strength will help them all much more than all together, but i bet they have all enjoyed this experience, and will benefit them in the future.

03-06-2018, 08:27 AM
I thought some of our players looked dead on their feet.

Some of the players we've been needing to have a look at (Hibs and Aberdeen players mainly) will have done their future chances little good and they'll be back for the new season in 3 weeks or so.

They'd have been better off being on a beach. Rest is important.

03-06-2018, 08:39 AM
It's on now

patlowe
03-06-2018, 08:51 AM
How many quality Scots players are there in top sides of the EPL compared to the days of Billy Bremner et al?
That tells you everything. The kids today are too busy playing fitba on their computers instead of out in the street.

It was a different world then. No doubt we had better players back in the day but it's a globalised world now. With the number and quality of foreign imports playing in the EPL, it's unrealistic to think the best teams would be full of players from Scotland.

Having said that, while the squad available needs to be taken into account, I was shocked by the difference in touch and control between Mexico and Scotland. So many societal and cultural factors at play so how do we ever bridge that gap?

03-06-2018, 09:10 AM

Plus it's past the end of the season.

I have no idea why anybody thought this post season tour, with a lot of players unilkely to be picked normally, was a good idea.

03-06-2018, 09:29 AM
Plus it's past the end of the season.

I have no idea why anybody thought this post season tour, with a lot of players unilkely to be picked normally, was a good idea.
An all expenses paid end of season trip for the blazers.

03-06-2018, 09:39 AM
I thought it was probably a useful exercise for 5 or 6 players who have a chance of making an impact. Lewis Morgan, Scott McKenna, Dylan, SJM, McBurnie, Patterson, Russell, could all play vital parts in the next competitive campaign, and playing in those adverse conditions was a great test of their mettle. The national team doesn't play together enough, unlike Mexico, so more games together is a good start, even if you're drafting in a few reserves to benefit the main men.

03-06-2018, 09:48 AM
I thought it was probably a useful exercise for 5 or 6 players who have a chance of making an impact. Lewis Morgan, Scott McKenna, Dylan, SJM, McBurnie, Patterson, Russell, could all play vital parts in the next competitive campaign, and playing in those adverse conditions was a great test of their mettle. The national team doesn't play together enough, unlike Mexico, so more games together is a good start, even if you're drafting in a few reserves to benefit the main men.

A very useful exercise for Lewis though. He has a cap & jersey to add to his two cup winning medals.
Even if he doesn't get another call up, he will always be able to tell his grandkids about the day he played for Scotland.
Well done, Lewie. You deserved it.

Green Team
03-06-2018, 09:57 AM
Just catching up. Recorded the game and watched it this morning with a pot of tea and a fry up. What is it that Willie Miller is supposed to be adding to my enjoyment of the game? He sounds like he's auditioning for one of the characters in still game and as for the commentator he had "Azteca" tourettes! If he said it once he must have said the name of the stadium at least a dozen times

Sent from my Lenovo TB3-X70F using Tapatalk

03-06-2018, 10:13 AM
If nothing else what an absolute thrill it must be for the likes of John and Dylan and the other young playes to play in a stadium like the Azteca.

The venue, the atmosphere, playing at altitude, the quality of opposition and even just the history of the stadium that has held two world cup finals can all be stored away in their experience bank.

It is a life lesson for these guys and even if none of them go on to long international careers they will all be better players for it and gives them a valuable taste of what playing in a major tournament is all about and hopefully make them hungry to acheive this for real.

03-06-2018, 10:41 AM
Just watched it.... Paul Hanlon most have a wee smile on his face. Not one of those CHs is near his level.

03-06-2018, 10:42 AM
oh and willie miller needs to **** off.

03-06-2018, 10:58 AM
As previously mentioned those Aberdeen players were woeful and Dylan had a very poor game.

Not looking great going forward lol

03-06-2018, 11:05 AM
As previously mentioned those Aberdeen players were woeful and Dylan had a very poor game.

Not looking great going forward lol

It looked like Dylan was the only CM. Formation was all over the place tbh

JimboHibs
03-06-2018, 11:14 AM
Just watched it.... Paul Hanlon most have a wee smile on his face. Not one of those CHs is near his level.

Not sure about that,i agree Hanlon is no worse but in my opinion I'm not sure he's better.

rossevenil
03-06-2018, 11:19 AM
The most annoying thing about Miller was his inability to say anything negative about any of the Aberdeen players! Nobody had a great game and all looked to be struggling but Shinnie and Mckenna were nothing special while Christie and Maclean ( i hardly realised they were on the pitch) were downright awful,yet all he does is highlight other players mistakes,but not a word when either of those 2 were subbed at how crap they had been and brought nothing to the game.

03-06-2018, 11:28 AM
An all expenses paid end of season trip for the blazers.
Nutshell main reason

03-06-2018, 12:10 PM
We were mentally a yard behind the Mexicans throughout the game. We can't find a player with a 5 yard pass.
1-0 flattered us big time. Well done to the players for that but, the standard of basic ball control compared to our opposition was obvious. Silk playing denim.
No wonder we don't qualify for the WC. A blessing in disguise maybe.

I get how its difficult playing a team who are good in possession, as the Mexicans were. But life is a hell of a lot easier if you can maximise your own time on the ball ....Forget about playing in the street and all that stuff, in all honesty for folk who have been playing football at professional clubs since they were kids and been getting paid to play it since their late teens IMO there was and is no excuse for poor ball control, under and over hit passes under little pressure and an inability to pick the right option.

I just don't get it ..... these guys ( and I don't just mean the players last night ) are failing to control passes, failing to find a team mate with the ball, and failing to choose the right pass in situations where I would be critical of a player in our walking football team for screwing up. There was a point last night where a Scotland player received the ball in the middle of his own half with the nearest Mexican 10 yards away, but instead of turning with the ball and heading up the field he passed all the way back to a defender .... how can a professional player have such a lack of awareness of what's around him and / or such a lack of faith in his own ability?

03-06-2018, 12:44 PM
Nutshell main reasonThey have to get their paid holidays, not as if we're getting to a tournament soon.

03-06-2018, 12:59 PM
Just read Mexico had 30 odd shots on goal last night. Astounding.

03-06-2018, 01:56 PM
Surprised at the negativity towards the games on this thread, not dissimalar to WM. Hard to commentate from a studio but aye, they were both poor. Close to Everest 😂

From a Scotland fan's perspective I thought that it was great to see us play in Mexico and Peru. Only footage of these kind of games in the past is very grainy. Shame not to have a proper squad to have a go at it but good to see fringe players like Russell, Paterson and McKenna do well along with potential future stars like McBurnie (thought he was great in Mexico in a role he'll grow into). The flip of that is we saw McLean, Christie and a few others aren't quite there. Shinnie grew into the game but McLean, who stars and pulls strings for Aberdeen, was anonymous.

For those that won't be capped again, what an experience and pride. You try telling Lewis Stevenson, Scott Bain or Graeme Shinnie that their caps meant nothing.

Folk are moaning that the players hardly had any caps - how do you think the likes of McGinn, Paterson, McKenna, McBurnie, Phillips and co build their international experience? They need to play games and sample different environments.

Those moaning that players will be tired and need a rest - how are we ever going to compete at a tournament if our players can't run in June?

Mexico pummelled us but there were a few occasions where we did knock it about quite well including the good mcburnie chance.

From a Hibs perspective I thought it was great to see DM and JM as Scotland's centre mids and I don't think I've ever been prouder of a Hibs player than Lewis. Whatever the reasons.

And of course the main reason was that it bagged the SFA a load of money that hopefully they invest well.

Despite the results I really don't see a negative of the trip that outweighs a positive.

Alba go bragh and all that.

03-06-2018, 03:22 PM
Surprised at the negativity towards the games on this thread, not dissimalar to WM. Hard to commentate from a studio but aye, they were both poor. Close to Everest 😂

From a Scotland fan's perspective I thought that it was great to see us play in Mexico and Peru. Only footage of these kind of games in the past is very grainy. Shame not to have a proper squad to have a go at it but good to see fringe players like Russell, Paterson and McKenna do well along with potential future stars like McBurnie (thought he was great in Mexico in a role he'll grow into). The flip of that is we saw McLean, Christie and a few others aren't quite there. Shinnie grew into the game but McLean, who stars and pulls strings for Aberdeen, was anonymous.

For those that won't be capped again, what an experience and pride. You try telling Lewis Stevenson, Scott Bain or Graeme Shinnie that their caps meant nothing.

Folk are moaning that the players hardly had any caps - how do you think the likes of McGinn, Paterson, McKenna, McBurnie, Phillips and co build their international experience? They need to play games and sample different environments.

Those moaning that players will be tired and need a rest - how are we ever going to compete at a tournament if our players can't run in June?

Mexico pummelled us but there were a few occasions where we did knock it about quite well including the good mcburnie chance.

From a Hibs perspective I thought it was great to see DM and JM as Scotland's centre mids and I don't think I've ever been prouder of a Hibs player than Lewis. Whatever the reasons.

And of course the main reason was that it bagged the SFA a load of money that hopefully they invest well.

Despite the results I really don't see a negative of the trip that outweighs a positive.

Well said. :top marks

03-06-2018, 04:05 PM

Wrong language bud.

It's Alba gu brath in Scottish Gaelic :wink:

03-06-2018, 04:14 PM
Well said. :top marks

Nice one.
Much better than a friendly in Eastern Europe.

03-06-2018, 04:48 PM
From a relation who lives in Mexico City, the Scottish players were out on the lash on Friday before the match on Saturday.

03-06-2018, 05:11 PM
From a relation who lives in Mexico City, the Scottish players were out on the lash on Friday before the match on Saturday.

im sure they were

03-06-2018, 09:40 PM
Wrong language bud.

It's Alba gu brath in Scottish Gaelic :wink:

😄

Aye well, I'll hang back on the tattoo!

04-06-2018, 01:54 AM

Excellent points.

04-06-2018, 06:26 AM
The most annoying thing about Miller was his inability to say anything negative about any of the Aberdeen players! Nobody had a great game and all looked to be struggling but Shinnie and Mckenna were nothing special while Christie and Maclean ( i hardly realised they were on the pitch) were downright awful,yet all he does is highlight other players mistakes,but not a word when either of those 2 were subbed at how crap they had been and brought nothing to the game.

Agree with that the sheep blinkers were on. McLean and Christie a waste of a shirt. Dylan gave the ball away but to me was the only midfielder brave enough to take it. Great experience for the group imo.