View Full Version : Who are you supporting at the World Cup?

31-05-2018, 09:19 AM
Going to be in Mexico so hope they do well. Would be great to watch a game in a bar but I don’t know if the time difference will allow it. Failing them ABE.

31-05-2018, 09:20 AM
If Maclaren gets picked for Australia then it will be them.

Otherwise it will be the usual Team ABE.

31-05-2018, 09:22 AM
I always like to follow teams who play football the right easy, so no actual team, just want to enjoy the spectacle

31-05-2018, 09:22 AM
Abe

31-05-2018, 09:25 AM
I'd like Argentina to win purely for Messi's sake. Otherwise I'm not bothered, just hope there's plenty of good footy.

31-05-2018, 09:27 AM
Switzerland since I am living here but they are quite boring to watch and there doesn't seem to be that much excitement for the tournament as I thought there would be.

Germany and England - hope Russia exit early on ...

BegbieHSC
No Scotland or ROI, so it’s gotta be ABE. Fingers crossed we get to see the Germans gie them a doing again - the seethe would be glorious.

31-05-2018, 09:28 AM
Still hoping someone gets expelled and Scotland are entered by default.

thorbs
31-05-2018, 09:29 AM
Got to be Iceland. Love everything about that place.

magnificent_seven
31-05-2018, 09:30 AM
Ill be supporting England

Eyes on Australia too, having lived there and for Maclaren.

AltheHibby
31-05-2018, 09:30 AM
I'm going against the flow here and supporting England. Having said that, anyone but Argentina for me.

31-05-2018, 09:31 AM
Anyone But Spain, Brazil, Portugal, Uruguay, Russia or Saudi Arabia.

31-05-2018, 09:35 AM
1. Poland
2-31. Don't care
32. England

31-05-2018, 09:36 AM
Egypt. Maybe Australia if Maclaren gets the nod. Argies for messi's sake.

andybev1
31-05-2018, 09:36 AM
Anyone playing England and Germany

31-05-2018, 09:49 AM
Messi.

31-05-2018, 09:59 AM
Switzerland since I am living here but they are quite boring to watch and there doesn't seem to be that much excitement for the tournament as I thought there would be.

I've spent quite a bit of time in Switzerland over the last few years and the only sport I've seen them get excited by is downhill skiing.

The Pointer
31-05-2018, 10:05 AM

I'm sorry, but 'Switzerland' and 'excitement' are two words which don't really go together so I'm not really surprised.

I just hope there are some good games, goals and surprises and that all the players rediscover black boots.

31-05-2018, 10:05 AM
I've spent quite a bit of time in Switzerland over the last few years and the only sport I've seen them get excited by is downhill skiing.

It's so much better than uphill skiing, to be fair.

Juice-Terry
31-05-2018, 10:11 AM
Sweden.

Hillsidehibby
31-05-2018, 10:13 AM
Australia. I have dual citizenship. If McLaren plays it will be a bonus.

Dan Sarf
31-05-2018, 10:14 AM

But not a patch on the uphill bobsleigh event.

31-05-2018, 10:16 AM

:applause:

31-05-2018, 10:18 AM
Germany

31-05-2018, 10:18 AM

So you say. :rolleyes:

http://www.pdg.ch/fileadmin/templates/images/backgrounds/background.jpg

31-05-2018, 10:21 AM
England won't win it so I don't think folk have to worry about that happening. I wouldn't be surprised if the hosts do better than expected.

31-05-2018, 10:23 AM
Am really hoping a Country/s outside the usual suspects gets to the semi/final stage.And win the Cup.
Many"experts" think Belgium could be that team.

I was hoping to go to Tunisia ( a Country i have visited many time)during the first 2 weeks of the tournament.( no fit to fly yet)
Tunisia play England in their opening match.
That would have been interesting with me sporting my Tunisia strip,Hibs watch and wristband,surrounded by Engerlanders and me cheering in Arabic !! Phrases like "get intae rum"
That would get me a beer on the house,if nothing else !

Tunisia came from 2 down to draw with Portugal the other night.
So i hope they can get out the group and also beat our southern neighbours.

Excellent cross court backhand from JMS there. Deuce.

El Gubbz
My wee boys half Polish so will be supporting Polska!

31-05-2018, 10:24 AM
Argentina in honour of the Hand of God.

.Louise.
31-05-2018, 10:31 AM
Poland as I am part Polish!

31-05-2018, 10:42 AM
Iceland. Great to see them there.

Would like to see Messi win it.

31-05-2018, 10:44 AM

It used to be but I think it's gone...never mind.

yonder1875
31-05-2018, 11:00 AM
Argentina, would love Messi to win a World Cup but I don't think they've got a great chance.

Also will be looking out for Peru's results as I spent a couple of months there and loved the country and it's people.

31-05-2018, 11:08 AM
Germany and ABE

TheReg!
31-05-2018, 11:09 AM
England

31-05-2018, 11:10 AM
Messi and ABE.

Argentina's defence and dodgy keeper will probably prevent them from winning it though.

Lendo
31-05-2018, 11:17 AM
Iran, for literally no reason at all.

31-05-2018, 11:26 AM
Australia, cos I’ve lived here for 44 years, but not expecting them to get more than one point in the group stages.

31-05-2018, 11:29 AM
Anyone But Spain, Brazil, Portugal, Uruguay, Russia or Saudi Arabia.

South Korea?

31-05-2018, 11:32 AM
Poland as I am part Polish!

Ja tez :wink:

31-05-2018, 11:35 AM
Simply because I have a bet on Brazil winning and Naymar to finish top goal scorer I’ll be rooting for them. If I didn’t have a bet I wouldn’t be bothered who wins it. Well apart from England that is 😁

Crazyhorse
31-05-2018, 11:37 AM
Am really hoping a Country/s outside the usual suspects gets to the semi/final stage.And win the Cup.
Many"experts" think Belgium could be that team.

I was hoping to go to Tunisia ( a Country i have visited many time)during the first 2 weeks of the tournament.( no fit to fly yet)
Tunisia play England in their opening match.
That would have been interesting with me sporting my Tunisia strip,Hibs watch and wristband,surrounded by Engerlanders and me cheering in Arabic !! Phrases like "get intae rum"
That would get me a beer on the house,if nothing else !

Tunisia came from 2 down to draw with Portugal the other night.
So i hope they can get out the group and also beat our southern neighbours.

Les Aigles de Carthage for me too. My wife is from Sfax. Me and daughter will be watching with our Tunisian shirts on as we beat England in the first match (hopefully).
My second team will be Belgium because I used to live there (studied at KUL). So I'll be cheering them on as they dump England out of the group stages (hopefully).

Stokesy's on fire
31-05-2018, 11:40 AM
Mexico! They have the best kit of this years WC so come on the Mexicans! I would have supported Nigeria But they dropped efe so i hope they get leathered

31-05-2018, 11:44 AM
Linfield?

31-05-2018, 11:49 AM
Les Aigles de Carthage for me too. My wife is from Sfax. Me and daughter will be watching with our Tunisian shirts on as we beat England in the first match (hopefully).
My second team will be Belgium because I used to live there (studied at KUL). So I'll be cheering them on as they dump England out of the group stages (hopefully).

Spent a couple of weeks there when the CAN was on. Fabulous time, especially given the outcome. :greengrin

31-05-2018, 11:49 AM
Sweden! Going to Mexico v Sweden. Trying to get tickets for the Germany game..

31-05-2018, 11:53 AM
Colombia, Peru, Egypt, South Korea.
Et biensur, :sauzee:

31-05-2018, 12:11 PM
As always, Germany for me......

Crazyhorse
31-05-2018, 12:12 PM
Spent a couple of weeks there when the CAN was on. Fabulous time, especially given the outcome. :greengrin

Yeah I think beating Morocco in the final was particularly sweet for everyone there.

31-05-2018, 12:14 PM
ABE :agree:

31-05-2018, 12:26 PM
:flag::flag::flag: but sideways

Stranraer
31-05-2018, 12:29 PM
ABE / Nigeria.:flag:

31-05-2018, 12:31 PM
South Korea?

No, not ****ing South Korea.

Peru actually.

31-05-2018, 12:39 PM
Egypt and the Pharaoh.

31-05-2018, 12:39 PM
The English "outlaws" can't understand why we say ABE. They always say to me "apart from England, we would love it if Scotland were to win.........."

However, it's easy saying that when the chances of Scotland winning anything is non-existent. I've got more chance winning Miss World.

Well, to be honest, I'm getting like that with England. I honestly believe the chances of them ever winning a major tournament is getting more and more remote with every competition. The "greatest league in the world" has created overpaid players long before they've ever reached their full potential. They've become World stars, long before they've mastered their craft.

The only way, IMO, for England to do well at a major championship is to find a "Gareth Bale" or to develop a workmanlike team, like Iceland. However, the English "we're the best" mentality won't allow them to go down that route - after all they gave the world football. And the chances of finding a "Gareth Bale" is a once in a lifetime event.

I also think that, like Scotland, they are lacking at central defence - I'm underwhelmed when I read the players they've got. In the past, they had some good central defenders - however, they struggled when they played against the worlds best. Now they don't even have 'good' central defenders when compared to the players from the past (even recent past).

Don't get me wrong, they'll get past the group stages (which is much further than Scotland ever had), but I don't think they go much further.

So to answer the OP's question, maybe Engl.......... sorry, can't say it. I'll go for Spain.

31-05-2018, 12:40 PM
I have £10 on Belgium @ 9/1

31-05-2018, 12:42 PM
Iran and ABE, Iran because I work for an Iranian and ABE just to wind up the English who get upset with that. I will also be keeping an eye out for Iceland because they seem to have the trick to qualifying for tournys and Scotland could maybe learn from them.

31-05-2018, 12:46 PM
For the first time in my life, I'll be supporting England.

31-05-2018, 01:07 PM
For the first time in my life, I'll be supporting England.

I'll consider doing that too....in my NEXT life, maybe.:wink:

31-05-2018, 01:39 PM
100% ABE

31-05-2018, 01:41 PM
Germany and England - hope Russia exit early on ...
Me too.

31-05-2018, 01:46 PM
Portugal. :aok:

EL Green
31-05-2018, 01:47 PM
France :sauzee:
Argentina
ABE

31-05-2018, 01:53 PM
Come on you ABE!

31-05-2018, 02:04 PM
Nobody.

I'm Scottish and we didn't qualify (as usual). Maybe next time

31-05-2018, 02:08 PM
I'm usually all over it from a punting viewpoint, I've not even looked at it yet, nae idea why. Usually have my winner, top scorer, finalists bets on by now, just cannae get up for it.

AZhibee
31-05-2018, 02:08 PM
Costa Rica 🇨🇷

31-05-2018, 02:09 PM
Cannae even be arsed with ABE, they'll get to the last 16 or 8 then go home.

micka_weer
31-05-2018, 02:28 PM
Would love to see a ‘new’ team win. An African nation possibly.

31-05-2018, 02:59 PM
Morocco, as the other side of my family all hail from there. Although I don’t expect too much in a group containing Spain and Portugal.

stu in nottingham
31-05-2018, 03:20 PM
Forza Italia!

31-05-2018, 03:29 PM
Germany and Nigeria. Hope England and Iceland do well too.

I just really hope we get a good World Cup. The mystique seems to have gone from it now as you see all the players week in week out. Something like what happened between Germany and Brazil last time around would be good.

31-05-2018, 03:29 PM
ABE. Good odds of 31/1 :wink:

31-05-2018, 03:32 PM
Forza Italia!

You'll get high odds on them winning it.

31-05-2018, 03:42 PM
🇳🇬 Obviously

Colognehibee
31-05-2018, 03:44 PM
Germany - natuerlich :flag:

tynehibs
31-05-2018, 03:51 PM
England

stu in nottingham
31-05-2018, 04:01 PM
Forza Italia!

stu in nottingham
31-05-2018, 04:02 PM
You'll get high odds on them winning it.

Similar odds to England :)

Seriously, I'll be backing France and I'd love to see Iceland give a good account of themselves - great fans.

31-05-2018, 04:10 PM
Suppose I’ll be following England, just as long as they don’t actually win it!!:greengrin

31-05-2018, 04:11 PM
Can't see past Der original Huns.

TelaStella
31-05-2018, 04:11 PM
Am I allowed 2? Always been France and Germany for me[emoji1303].

31-05-2018, 04:27 PM
Meh!

I'll be on a beach for the first 2 weeks, so will mainly be supporting a large G&T

The Pointer
31-05-2018, 04:34 PM
Russia were beaten by Austria the other night and I don't think they were setting the heather on fire (no pun intended) before that.

I may have been tempted to support Australia, but - the 'Calexco (sp) Socceroos'?? In the name o' God!

AZhibee
31-05-2018, 04:45 PM
Meh!

I'll be on a beach for the first 2 weeks, so will mainly be supporting a large G&T

I don't think that G & T qualified, the matches were too early in the morning and they lost a shoot out to tequila from CONCACAF.

Hibspirational
31-05-2018, 04:54 PM
Panama 🇵🇦

Even bought a hat!

31-05-2018, 05:08 PM
Brazil 🇧🇷

31-05-2018, 05:13 PM
Selecão. Lot to prove but the turmoil back home might just spur them on to bury the ghost and win of they could freeze with the pressure.

31-05-2018, 05:29 PM
England but stuck my £20 on Spain (6/1)

itslegaltender
31-05-2018, 05:29 PM
A. B. E

31-05-2018, 05:31 PM
Think Uruguay will do quite well.

31-05-2018, 05:35 PM
Hope Argentina do well, 78 is the first world cup I really remember and imo still one of the best. Can still remember the theme tune from telly as well. And their strip is still one of the best there is. Would love Messi to win it. The Germans as they just have an unbelievable winning mentality in big comps. Other than that ABE.

31-05-2018, 05:51 PM
Brazil 🇧🇷
So if Hibspirational got a hat to demo support for Panama, what you gonna do to demo your support for Brazil?

31-05-2018, 06:01 PM
So if Hibspirational got a hat to demo support for Panama, what you gonna do to demo your support for Brazil?

Ouch

31-05-2018, 06:07 PM

Can't beat a bit of ski touring.

31-05-2018, 06:10 PM
Peru now have inspirational captain and recreational cocaine user par excellence Guerrero reinstated for the rest of the tournament. He used the the Rangers 'sectarian singing' defence 'its pure part of oor culture, so it is'

The trophy is now, quite literally, in the bag for the Paddingtons:aok:

31-05-2018, 06:12 PM
My wee boys half Polish so will be supporting Polska!

Same reason I'll be supporting Germany. Got a wee soft spot for Poland too though. For the cup final my wife's family (half German half French) are having a get together on a wee French island in the Atlantic, hoping for a Germany v France final.

31-05-2018, 06:16 PM
I don't think that G & T qualified, the matches were too early in the morning and they lost a shoot out to tequila from CONCACAF.

That's OK... We never qualified either, so we can console each other under a palm tree :hug::greengrin

31-05-2018, 06:42 PM
That's OK... We never qualified either, so we can console each other under a palm tree :hug::greengrin
Spain. My new part time homeland.

31-05-2018, 06:45 PM
Spain. My new part time homeland.

I feel more at home there than here

31-05-2018, 06:54 PM
Always wanted to support Scotland but never get the chance.

31-05-2018, 06:54 PM
ABE

I was speaking to an English Sales Rep who said to me he had just been up in a pub in Inverness watching the England Cameroon game (1990) 3-2 He could not believe it every time Cameroon scored the pub went mental.He could not believe our mentality and said that down south they are always rooting for the Scots.He asked if we really wanted the other team to win I said Yup! pretty much!

31-05-2018, 07:02 PM

Of course you can, just not in tournament finals! Go on you know you want to!!

David_D
31-05-2018, 07:04 PM
Backing Nigeria. Just had a feeling for a while. Also their strip is a thing of beauty.

31-05-2018, 07:10 PM
ABE

Arrogant ****s

31-05-2018, 07:13 PM

🖕 :faf:

We're going to Qatar. :greengrin

31-05-2018, 07:19 PM
Of course you can, just not in tournament finals! Go on you know you want to!!

I do unless they are playing England.

31-05-2018, 07:20 PM

Nuts!🥜

31-05-2018, 07:20 PM
🖕 :faf:

We're going to Qatar. :greengrin

Group holiday?

31-05-2018, 07:24 PM
I do unless they are playing England.

Excellent, well done. Almost there!!

31-05-2018, 07:51 PM
I'd like to see Brazil win in style.

31-05-2018, 07:57 PM
Argentina, as in every World Cup since Italia 90.

I also adore the country and spent six very happy months travelling through it.

31-05-2018, 08:19 PM
The English "outlaws" can't understand why we say ABE. They always say to me "apart from England, we would love it if Scotland were to win.........."

However, it's easy saying that when the chances of Scotland winning anything is non-existent. I've got more chance winning Miss World.

Well, to be honest, I'm getting like that with England. I honestly believe the chances of them ever winning a major tournament is getting more and more remote with every competition. The "greatest league in the world" has created overpaid players long before they've ever reached their full potential. They've become World stars, long before they've mastered their craft.

The only way, IMO, for England to do well at a major championship is to find a "Gareth Bale" or to develop a workmanlike team, like Iceland. However, the English "we're the best" mentality won't allow them to go down that route - after all they gave the world football. And the chances of finding a "Gareth Bale" is a once in a lifetime event.

I also think that, like Scotland, they are lacking at central defence - I'm underwhelmed when I read the players they've got. In the past, they had some good central defenders - however, they struggled when they played against the worlds best. Now they don't even have 'good' central defenders when compared to the players from the past (even recent past).

Don't get me wrong, they'll get past the group stages (which is much further than Scotland ever had), but I don't think they go much further.

So to answer the OP's question, maybe Engl.......... sorry, can't say it. I'll go for Spain.

I don't think we do all say ABE. I certainly don't. I also don't think it's correct to say they have a "we're the best" mentality, that's pretty much gone these days.

31-05-2018, 08:23 PM
Germany or Belgium or Brasil or France or Argentina or France.

Sent from my D5503 using Tapatalk

31-05-2018, 08:24 PM
I don't think we do all say ABE. I certainly don't. I also don't think it's correct to say they have a "we're the best" mentality, that's pretty much gone these days.

Just wait until they win a game or two

31-05-2018, 08:29 PM
ABE for me but I respect Southgates' selection and his commensurate summary of England's chances . Half my family are English anyway .

31-05-2018, 08:30 PM
Just wait until they win a game or two

I think you're confusing England with Hearts.

31-05-2018, 08:35 PM
Tore a strip off him there.......

31-05-2018, 09:22 PM
Big part of my family, and many of my work colleagues are English so I tend to always start off supporting England, if they have the sound up loud enough in the pub that I can hear the commentary then invariably I'll end up supporting whoever they're playing by the time we get to the 2nd half :agree:

Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk

Hedlund12
31-05-2018, 09:27 PM
Sweden

MoscowHibs
02-06-2018, 09:04 PM
As my missus is Russian, then im afraid it has to be Russia if I'm wanting my nat king. Mind you she is turning to wanting to start coming to see the mighty hibees, so i cannae complain.

hibs#1
02-06-2018, 09:05 PM
Messi.

02-06-2018, 09:20 PM
I don’t think I’ll be supporting anyone but I hope to see some good football.

My son will be supporting England so if I have to watch them, I hope they play well instead of turning out their usual turgid crap!

02-06-2018, 09:32 PM
Peru

02-06-2018, 10:03 PM
Mother is Portuguese and father South American but family from Ronaldo's island of Maderia. So Portugal then Brasil.

Benji1
02-06-2018, 10:08 PM
Australia

03-06-2018, 12:39 AM
ABE but preferably any team that has a green strip.

:flag::flag:

03-06-2018, 12:57 AM
Colombia, they were my favourite team to watch in the last World Cup and I'm sticking with them for this one

03-06-2018, 01:23 AM
Nigeria after that kit/training gear launch

03-06-2018, 08:27 AM

Made me laugh

Hibs1969
03-06-2018, 08:46 AM
Australia for me too. My 2 kids and my grandchild are out there and we are regular visitors. And the Jamie MacLaren factor 👍

03-06-2018, 10:31 AM
Mother is Portuguese and father South American but family from Ronaldo's island of Materia. So Portugal then Brasil.

That's either a typo or a stinging critique of Ronaldo's perceived shallowness.

03-06-2018, 12:49 PM
That's either a typo or a stinging critique of Ronaldo's perceived shallowness.

Typo. Met his family and him last time I was there. Not shallow at all.

03-06-2018, 01:38 PM
https://i.ebayimg.com/images/g/uBUAAOSwb9BauVfi/s-l300.jpg

but anyway..mon the Spanish, or Brazilians

03-06-2018, 01:49 PM
Brazil!! Well, it's jumpers for goalposts innit?

RossScott1991
03-06-2018, 02:00 PM
I want someone different to win it.

Colombia or Belgium.

Got Colombia in a sweepstake 😄

03-06-2018, 02:05 PM
Would also like someone small and obscure like Belgium to win it - would really brass off the English :greengrin

03-06-2018, 02:07 PM
Been a while since Hearts won the World Cup.

Strike that... getting confused with another World event :rolleyes:

03-06-2018, 06:12 PM
We have a Hibby going to the WC now so until Oz get knocked out then ABE

03-06-2018, 07:31 PM
Will be supporting Australia as well now that J Mac has survived the cut.

03-06-2018, 07:49 PM
Anyone watching Spain v Switzerland? A fantastic 1st half from Spain. Only 1-0, but brilliant to watch, some of the football had been breathtaking, and without the Madrid players

03-06-2018, 07:59 PM
Hope Iran do well.

I don't have an issue with England. I've liked Arsenal since I was a boy and couldn't not wish them well, when Adams. Keown, Cole and Campbell were playing.

The squad is full of Spurs boys at the moment, but if Southgate gets them playing nice football then I'm happy to see them progress.

I'm just wanting to see good football - it's harder these days as coaches know how to tactically stifle opponents in a way that means we won't see something like the Brazilians in '82. Nevertheless, the beauty of the World Cup is that it gets to a point where great sides have to face each other in knock-out football. And that sometimes delivers incredible games.

We have a potential QF line-up of Spain vs France, Brazil vs Belgium, Argentina vs Portugal and Germany vs England - that's pretty mindblowing.

03-06-2018, 08:50 PM
Every World Cup seems to throw up a team that underperforms. England last World Cup, France before them. (Scotland in 1978😂). Wonder who this years flops will be? Equally there is always a surprise package. Any suggestions?

03-06-2018, 09:04 PM
I'm not supporting any particular team but I'm really looking forward to the tournament now. We got the wall chart up on the wall today at a height my boy can fill in all the scores and he's got the pannini album. It's his first one he'll really know what's going on and he's nearly as excited as me :greengrin

SJNB Hibby
03-06-2018, 09:07 PM
I always wait till ingerlund are eliminated
And then pick a team
I'll let you know when the group stages are iver

03-06-2018, 09:11 PM

How long have you been in Lausanne? Always exciting to learn of another Hibs fan over here in CH.

For me, I'll take an interest in the Switzerland games but it'll be France that I'll support assuming they get to the business end of things and also any team with a current Hibs player playing for them (just Australia right?)

04-06-2018, 06:10 AM
Every World Cup seems to throw up a team that underperforms. England last World Cup, France before them. (Scotland in 1978😂). Wonder who this years flops will be? Equally there is always a surprise package. Any suggestions?

Always think Belgium hugely overrated and think they will bomb.

Can see Mexico doing ok should have got further last time but blew it v Holland.

04-06-2018, 07:22 AM
Always think Belgium hugely overrated and think they will bomb.

Can see Mexico doing ok should have got further last time but blew it v Holland.

Not sure about ‘hugely overrated’ with a squad like this:

1 Thibaut Courtois Chelsea
2 Simon Mignolet Liverpool
3 Koen Casteels Wolfsburg
4 Jan Vertonghen Tottenham
5 Dedryck Boyata Celtic
6 Thomas Vermaelen Barcelona
7 Thomas Meunier PSG
8 Vincent Kompany
9 Toby Alderweireld Tottenham
10 Leander Dendoncker Anderlecht
11 Jordan Lukaku Lazio
12 Christian Kabasele Anderlecht
13 Marouane Fellaini Manchester United
14 Mousa Dembele Tottenham
15 Axel Witsel Tianjin Quanjian
16 Eden Hazard Chelsea
17 Nacer Chadli West Brom
18 Adnan Januzaj Real Sociedad
19 Kevin De Bruyne Manchester City
20 Romelu Lukaku Manchester United
21 Dries Mertens Napoli
22 Michy Batshuayi Chelsea
23 Christian Benteke Crystal Palace

However similar to France there always seem to be some sort of issue/excuse as to why they don’t perform.

Fancy them to win their group tho

04-06-2018, 10:31 AM
Leeroy Sane cut from the Germany squad - very surprising!

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/44355950

04-06-2018, 10:32 AM
Sane didn't make the cut for the Germany squad.....would be a starter for most of the other teams !

04-06-2018, 10:42 AM

My guesses for this tournament would be Belgium for the flop. Surprise package, I always feel Poland are a tough nut to crack and they’re not too far from home for this one. They’ve got a world class striker to grab them goals and they’re fairly solid elsewhere. Could see them being dangerous to some of the bigger teams.

04-06-2018, 10:42 AM
Sane didn't make the cut for the Germany squad.....would be a starter for most of the other teams !

Never mind start, he’d probably be most other teams best player!

Makes you realise how far behind Scotland are. Literally every player in the Germany squad and even some who haven’t been called up would be our best player.

04-06-2018, 10:46 AM
Leeroy Sane cut from the Germany squad - very surprising!

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/44355950

Wow maybe he hasnt played well for Germany had an amazing season though.

04-06-2018, 10:47 AM
I’m indifferent to all of them and I’ll simply side for the team that’s playing the most entertaining football, even if it’s England (unlikely). :greengrin

04-06-2018, 10:48 AM
Not sure about ‘hugely overrated’ with a squad like this:

1 Thibaut Courtois Chelsea
2 Simon Mignolet Liverpool
3 Koen Casteels Wolfsburg
4 Jan Vertonghen Tottenham
5 Dedryck Boyata Celtic
6 Thomas Vermaelen Barcelona
7 Thomas Meunier PSG
8 Vincent Kompany
9 Toby Alderweireld Tottenham
10 Leander Dendoncker Anderlecht
11 Jordan Lukaku Lazio
12 Christian Kabasele Anderlecht
13 Marouane Fellaini Manchester United
14 Mousa Dembele Tottenham
15 Axel Witsel Tianjin Quanjian
16 Eden Hazard Chelsea
17 Nacer Chadli West Brom
18 Adnan Januzaj Real Sociedad
19 Kevin De Bruyne Manchester City
20 Romelu Lukaku Manchester United
21 Dries Mertens Napoli
22 Michy Batshuayi Chelsea
23 Christian Benteke Crystal Palace

However similar to France there always seem to be some sort of issue/excuse as to why they don’t perform.

Fancy them to win their group tho

Some great players others a bit meh, Boyata for example. Stop Hazard and De bruyne and you stop them.

04-06-2018, 11:33 AM
I might reluctantly half get behind France this time around. In the years following their success in 1998 and 2000 there was a lot of undeserved hype from the media which reminded me a lot of the English media and their national team.

However, they seem to have learned their lesson and calmed down. Deschamps is a very good manager who doesn't suffer fools gladly and has consistently churned out results. It wouldn't surprise me if they go quite far.