View Full Version : Official Site: STEVENSON, MCGINN & MCGEOUCH IN SCOTLAND ACTION TONIGHT

RSS Bot
29-05-2018, 01:00 PM
More... (http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/8745)

29-05-2018, 07:09 PM
More... (http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/8745)

Seems there’s not a lot of interest, at least not much discussion, here in this game in the early hours. Hope our guys get a game and put on a good show. 2am kick off on Beeb1.

29-05-2018, 07:14 PM
Think I will record it and watch it in the morning. Need to stay off the Internet and avoid the score.

29-05-2018, 07:18 PM
Looks like the opinion is that we are going to get a hiding due to us having a weakened team. I'll be watching the match and hope that the players who still see representing Scotland as being an honour put on a good show. Staying injury free on this mini tour as well.

29-05-2018, 07:36 PM
The wife just instructed me not to stay up for the game :wink:
I will of course be helpless to stop myself from defying her.

29-05-2018, 07:37 PM
Think I will record it and watch it in the morning. Need to stay off the Internet and avoid the score.

This, need to get up early and watch. No chance I’m staying up to 03:45!

29-05-2018, 07:59 PM

Ditto. The same for the Mexico game.

29-05-2018, 08:05 PM
Back in '86,World Cup in Mexico,i mind our games were played at early o'clock.
The old Rainbow had a late license for the games.
Packed,it was.

29-05-2018, 08:09 PM
Will record the game, but if I'm having one of my sleepless nights, might end up watching it live.
Here's hoping, Lewis, John and Dylan get game time and do themselves justice.

29-05-2018, 08:16 PM
It will be kicking off at 8pm at my hoose - bars open........:greengrin

Renfrew_Hibby
29-05-2018, 09:17 PM
Breaking team news via a Peruvian newspapers website is that Super John and Dylan start. Lewis is on the bench.

29-05-2018, 09:50 PM
It will be kicking off at 8pm at my hoose - bars open........:greengrin

Snacks as well??

29-05-2018, 10:04 PM
The wife just instructed me not to stay up for the game :wink:
I will of course be helpless to stop myself from defying her.

Then the Alarm clock went off lol!!

30-05-2018, 12:08 AM
All 3 start [emoji1]

30-05-2018, 12:09 AM
Well done chaps. Mon the 3 Hibees

30-05-2018, 12:13 AM
The only south American team playing not on US tv. Wonderful.

30-05-2018, 12:15 AM
Aberdeen fans eeething on twitter about Stevenson :faf:

Austinho
30-05-2018, 12:20 AM
The only time living in Australia has suited me for a football game. ‘Work’ from home this morning and catch the game while I munch on brunch oak:

30-05-2018, 12:21 AM
Snacks as well??
Hell yes, Mrs Hobo will knock out some popcorn and pretzels........

guthrie01
30-05-2018, 12:22 AM
Mon yourself Lewis, hope you have a blinder and prove the doubters wrong tonight

30-05-2018, 12:35 AM
Nice 6pm kick off here in California. Everyone welcome to come over, beers at the ready

30-05-2018, 12:38 AM
So, for all the stattos out there, when was the last time 3 Hibs outfield players were in a Scotland starting line up? FF days would be my immediate thought but even then maybe not??

Greenio
30-05-2018, 12:54 AM
Does anyone have a link for streaming in Oz? Can't find it on Foxtel and doubt BBC will work

30-05-2018, 12:56 AM
Peru, ranked 11th in the world, are on best-ever 12-match unbeaten run

tough one, might be unlucky 13 :)

i like the strip

30-05-2018, 01:03 AM
Feel like a proud dad.

30-05-2018, 01:03 AM
What a beautiful sight

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20180530/ebff08fb71eff0eae3e2aa0fc3e5acc8.jpg

30-05-2018, 01:10 AM
That Scotland GK top 👌🏼

30-05-2018, 01:12 AM
That Scotland GK top 👌🏼

I think you are going to be seeing it often in this game !

30-05-2018, 01:18 AM
If there any insomniacs still awake I highly recommend tuning into this game to put you to sleep.

30-05-2018, 01:20 AM
Willie Miller is a cockwomble.

Salty cos Shinnie isnt starting.

30-05-2018, 01:24 AM
SJM has a shot from 35 yards.

Halmyre Hibee
30-05-2018, 01:29 AM
How negative and boring is Willie Miller.

30-05-2018, 01:29 AM
I would really like to volley Gary Bailey full on in the knackers. Brainless p***k........

30-05-2018, 01:30 AM
pretty decent game so far

30-05-2018, 01:31 AM
Scotland had a couple of corners in the last couple of minutes and 'winning' a few free kicks.

30-05-2018, 01:32 AM
Attempt missed. Scott McKenna (Scotland) header from the right side of the box is just a bit too high. Assisted by Lewis Stevenson with a cross following a set piece situation.

DR1875
30-05-2018, 01:35 AM
Seeing that red stripe on their shirts brings back 1978 dred memories, I was only 10 and still remember it. But these guys have done well including the three Hibees. Lewis making the runs but getting no feed.

30-05-2018, 01:35 AM
Attempt missed. Scott McKenna (Scotland) header from the right side of the box is just a bit too high. Assisted by Lewis Stevenson with a cross following a set piece situation.

Is it weird that even though Stevenson is a good few of months older than me, I get some weird sense of fatherly joy when I see him on the telly in a Scotland strip?! :flag:

Mon' Lewy, mon Scotland!!

30-05-2018, 01:37 AM
Doing well when we keep the ball on the ground and pass it but too often we're goofing it to Phillips and giving the ball straight back to them.

30-05-2018, 01:39 AM
peruvian rolling about on the ground, Mclean didn't even touch him lol

30-05-2018, 01:40 AM
There’s hardly any commentary. All there is is McLeod and Miller having a wee conversation and making odd comments. So amateurish.

30-05-2018, 01:40 AM
stupid keeper running out to the edge of the box,silly mckenna handling the ball, penalty ffs

30-05-2018, 01:41 AM
1-0 so ******* avoidable

30-05-2018, 01:42 AM
Penalty for Peru. McKenna handball after some poor decision making by the keeper.

30-05-2018, 01:42 AM
Keeper has had a mare there. C’mon Scotland lets get back into this.

30-05-2018, 01:43 AM
There’s hardly any commentary. All there is is McLeod and Miller having a wee conversation and making odd comments. So amateurish.

I would take them over that ex- Man Utd goalkeeping moron Gary Bailey. Condescending a***hole.

30-05-2018, 01:43 AM
Who even is this keeper? Looks pure *****.

davhibby
30-05-2018, 01:44 AM
Archer is a terrible keeper, shouldn't be near the squad. Mental that we have the two goalies on the bench that have been doing well yet he managed to start

DR1875
30-05-2018, 01:46 AM
Who even is this keeper? Looks pure *****.
I was thinking that myself.

30-05-2018, 01:47 AM
Archer is a terrible keeper, shouldn't be near the squad. Mental that we have the two goalies on the bench that have been doing well yet he managed to start

Bit harsh, he’s been in top forum for Millwall and has had 14 clean sheets

30-05-2018, 01:52 AM
fairly comfortable other than the keeper ******* up..

Brummie_Hibs
30-05-2018, 01:59 AM
Good atmosphere here in the ground. Pretty boring match though.

Stupidity by Archer. McGeouch been pretty poor - too many stray passes. Stevenson okay, but not brilliant. McGinn has been okay.

30-05-2018, 02:03 AM
I wish Stewart and Thomson would stop going on about how weaker than expected Peru are. They’ve got the potential to rip Scotland apart and possibly will in the second half. We’ve done well to hold them to 1-0 from a very avoidable penalty.

30-05-2018, 02:08 AM
What a beautiful sight

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20180530/ebff08fb71eff0eae3e2aa0fc3e5acc8.jpg

😍😍😍 How is he doing?

30-05-2018, 02:10 AM
2-0 that'll be that then p@ss poor again

Brummie_Hibs
30-05-2018, 02:10 AM
Archer is pish

30-05-2018, 02:11 AM
Rubbish defending again.

30-05-2018, 02:11 AM
Another poor goal to lose. Defending is honking!

30-05-2018, 02:12 AM
hopefully archer treasures his one and only cap

30-05-2018, 02:14 AM
i'm positive stevensons 'grimace' at the keeper really meant "you are seriously utter ******* rank mate"

30-05-2018, 02:15 AM
Archer is absolutely bowfing.

davhibby
30-05-2018, 02:17 AM
Bit harsh, he’s been in top forum for Millwall and has had 14 clean sheets

Makes mistakes that cost goals pretty often, shown that tonight

30-05-2018, 02:18 AM
How desperate is Miller to push the narrative that Stevenson has struggled? Is it just because he’s keeping out his fancy boy Graeme Shinnie?

Honestly, Lewis hasn’t put a foot wrong and all Miller has done is bang on about how suspect he is

30-05-2018, 02:21 AM
How desperate is Miller to push the narrative that Stevenson has struggled? Is it just because he’s keeping out his fancy boy Graeme Shinnie?

Honestly, Lewis hasn’t put a foot wrong and all Miller has done is bang on about how suspect he is

Aye it’s a weird obsession he’s got with Graeme Shinnie.

Lewis has been his usual composed & reliable self and Willie Miller can’t wait to have a go.

30-05-2018, 02:23 AM
Working on some coursework so got the audio muted but from what I've seen Lewis has had a fairly good game so far. No mistakes, making runs, tracking his man, winning a few tackles here and there, what more does he want? It's his Aberdeen players that have been pish along with the Goalie... although McGinn has been fairly quiet and is guilty of overplaying perhaps when he gets the ball.

BigT-Hibeez
30-05-2018, 02:24 AM
So far..

McGeough has been solid, not out of place in the international scene

McGinn has been average at best, a Hibs legend but not ready for the big games yet

Lewis has been mostly Lewis, he's only playing cos Tierney and Robertson aint, and he's a wee bit out his depth..

McLeish - Playing a crap winger as a lone striker.. Right out of the Harry Potter book of **** football.. PISH!!

30-05-2018, 02:25 AM

Miller is the most monotonous dissector of everything which is non-Aberdeen.

30-05-2018, 02:28 AM
McGinn and Murphy off. McBurnie and Paterson on.

30-05-2018, 02:31 AM
So far..

McGinn has been average at best, a Hibs legend but not ready for the big games yet

Lewis has been mostly Lewis, he's only playing cos Tierney and Robertson aint, and he's a wee bit out his depth..

McLeish - Playing a crap winger as a lone striker.. Right out of the Harry Potter book of **** football.. PISH!!

Lewis hasn’t looked out of place at all imo. McGinn is defo ready for big games he won 2 MOTM awards I think since playing for Scotland. Tonight the boys just haven’t clicked and it’s a make shift team.

30-05-2018, 02:33 AM
Miller is the most monotonous dissector of everything which is non-Aberdeen.

A negative, boring drone who can't go out on his own city without annoying folk he's stiffed.

30-05-2018, 02:34 AM
So far..

Can you give us examples of Lewis being out of his depth? I can't think of any.....

30-05-2018, 02:36 AM
Can you give us examples of Lewis being out of his depth? I can't think of any.....

He's done nothing wrong. They've barely been down his side and he's played the ball fine when he's been called upon.

30-05-2018, 02:36 AM

He really hasn't. Can't disagree with much more of what he said but Lewis has been fine. Lewis Morgan on for Matt Philips.

30-05-2018, 02:37 AM
Good ball in to McBurnie. Got his footing wrong when taking the ball in. Easier to swing a leg at it.

30-05-2018, 02:38 AM
He's done nothing wrong. They've barely been down his side and he's played the ball fine when he's been called upon.

No disagreement from me. The other poster said he was out of his depth and I'm not seeing that at all.

30-05-2018, 02:41 AM
No disagreement from me. The other poster said he was out of his depth and I'm not seeing that at all.

He's agreeing with you. :)

Subs looking to have made a difference. Not sure if they've got it in them to pull a couple of goals back though. Shinnie on for McGeouch.

30-05-2018, 02:41 AM

Sorry just quoted you in agreement. Don't have smilies on my phone.

30-05-2018, 02:43 AM
Sorry just quoted you in agreement. Don't have smilies on my phone.

Fair enough mate ��what phone do have? 2002 blackberry? ��

Well crap...smilies don't work on my phone either lol.

30-05-2018, 02:44 AM
Shinnie outmuscled there, Miller says nowt.

30-05-2018, 02:47 AM
they're quite cynical whenever any of our players have managed to break away

30-05-2018, 02:49 AM
they're quite cynical whenever any of our players have managed to break away

My thoughts exactly.

30-05-2018, 02:52 AM
Is McBurnie a Dromedary or Bactrian camel? I can't tell.....

30-05-2018, 02:55 AM
No shots on target... Potter where art thou?!

In all honesty it’s been a poor performance from Scotland. I know Peru are a good side but we have done nothing when we have the ball. Nothing at all upfront tonight.

hope the peruvians are not fooled in to thinking any defences at the WC will be as benevolent as ours, because other than our kind gifts they didn't really bother us that much...imo

30-05-2018, 02:56 AM
In a match, which on paper was the equivalent of Germany v Andorra, we did well to hold them to two goals, goalkeeping weaknesses at that.

30-05-2018, 02:57 AM
not sure whether to laugh or cry looking at the replay of the penalty

30-05-2018, 02:58 AM
hope the peruvians are not fooled in to thinking any defences at the WC will be as benevolent as ours, because other than our kind gifts they didn't really bother us that much...imo

The two eejit commentators here were going on about Peru lighting up the world cup. I must have missed the bit that made them think that.....

BigT-Hibeez
30-05-2018, 03:07 AM
Lewis hasn’t looked out of place at all imo. McGinn is defo ready for big games he won 2 MOTM awards I think since playing for Scotland. Tonight the boys just haven’t clicked and it’s a make shift team.

Lewis started well, and didn't have a bad game to be honest, so i'll retract that after watching the full game.. But he will still be 3rd choice to Tierney and Robertson.. McGinn, i'm sorry but he was average at best tonight.. Tell me one good thing he did?
McGeough was outstanding!! Played the Scott Brown role, makes football look easy..

McLeish!! Is he Levein in disguise?? A friendly, nothing to play for, and he starts with a winger as a lone striker!!

30-05-2018, 03:18 AM
Didn't see anything from Peru to suggest that they will do anything in the World Cup except make up the numbers. Our vastly inexperienced team made them look half decent but take away the two defensive errors that led to their goals they didn't really threaten our goal that much. What can Scotland take from this game? Absolutely nothing except ditch Willie Miller for co-commentating on any future international games featuring Scotland.

On to Mexico for another meaningless game at the weekend.

30-05-2018, 05:01 AM
Not sure what people expected from Scotland today, a team with little experience, 4 players playing their first game and against a team going to the world cup ranked 11th in the world.

If we are looking for anything other than a team who will struggle, and have plenty of disjointed play from a team who have never played with each other before, then you are wanting much more from this game.

30-05-2018, 06:52 AM
Lewis started well, and didn't have a bad game to be honest, so i'll retract that after watching the full game.. But he will still be 3rd choice to Tierney and Robertson.. McGinn, i'm sorry but he was average at best tonight.. Tell me one good thing he did?
McGeough was outstanding!! Played the Scott Brown role, makes football look easy..

McLeish!! Is he Levein in disguise?? A friendly, nothing to play for, and he starts with a winger as a lone striker!!

Of course he’ll be 3rd choice or even lower, I think we all know his Scotland call ups will be limited. But for him to end for the season, which started with his testimonial, with his first Scotland cap is just fantastic for him. He deserves it.

30-05-2018, 07:04 AM
Not sure what people expected from Scotland today, a team with little experience, 4 players playing their first game and against a team going to the world cup ranked 11th in the world.

If we are looking for anything other than a team who will struggle, and have plenty of disjointed play from a team who have never played with each other before, then you are wanting much more from this game.

But when it comes to Scotland people will just continue to say they are pish without being able to come up with any alternatives.

30-05-2018, 07:08 AM
Am I the only one that cannot watch goalkeeping like that any more without saying "what's the goalie daein Tom?"

Again, I didn't think we were that bad and I'd hope that McLeish will have learned something - that Archer is a liability and must never be trusted in a competitive game.

The more I see stuff like that the more I cement my opinion that the English Championship is the most over-rated league in the world. The Hearts keeper has had a good season and would be a much better shout in goal.

30-05-2018, 07:12 AM
I know our options up front are limited but I'd love to see us at least try and attack teams and win a game or two, particularly with meaningless games like this.

Yes Peru are a good team but I don't place much faith in the world ranking system and think they'll struggle at the WC.

Watching Scotland these days is like pulling teeth and fans are slowly falling away as all we'll ever get is "back to the wall" type performances.

30-05-2018, 07:24 AM
Not even seen it but i'll guess we struggled to get a shot on target but we kept a very good deep shape to try and limit Peru. We probably lost 2 goals due to a couple of defensive errors. Id expect that report for pretty much all scotland games in the next 3/4 years.

30-05-2018, 07:40 AM
Not even seen it but i'll guess we struggled to get a shot on target but we kept a very good deep shape to try and limit Peru. We probably lost 2 goals due to a couple of defensive errors. Id expect that report for pretty much all scotland games in the next 3/4 years.

Yes, very sad but true.

2 pointless friendlies on the other side of the world after a long hard season. A predictably depleted squad under the 3rd choice Manager for the job, who is well past his sell by date and was begging David King for the Rangers job. What's there not to be positive about eh:rolleyes:

Sad to see the state the national team is in. Decades of mis-management by the football authorities who have no accountability. Used to love going to the Scotland games but can barely raise any interest now.

euro Hibby
30-05-2018, 07:49 AM
just watched the highlights on you tube. Looked pretty much one way traffic. Expectancy levels are low and the team instructions were I imagine was to keep the score as low as possible.
Couple of interviews on the tube with SFA staff, not really too impressive tbh. I am pretty sure mcleish cannot be an improvement on Strachan. We are not too gifted these days with great footballers
so the best we can do is be organised and shock some teams from time to time. Good to see 3 Hibbies in the team , not sure that will happen again for a while. Glad i never stayed up for it.

30-05-2018, 07:53 AM
Everytime I've seen Mcburnie I don't see anything to suggest he's good enough

30-05-2018, 08:12 AM
McLeish will have learnt two things from that game. The first is the keeper is dodgy. The second is that apart from Griffiths we don’t have a forward. I felt sorry for Phillips, a winger playing up front. As for Willie Miller having a pop at Stevenson at every opportunity, what a tube. Neither goal came from his side of the pitch and he tried to get forward as much as possible.

If there is a full squad to choose from, only McKenna, Mulgrew, McGinn and possibly Kenny McLean would start out of that starting XI.

30-05-2018, 08:14 AM
Just finished watching it. Can imagine how Hearts supporters feel after watching their team. We were really boring. Interesting how Miller kept on going on about Stevenson yet both goals came from the right back position. Glad I never got up to watch it.

30-05-2018, 08:27 AM

Nail on the head here, just watched it and I admit I fast forwarded a good bit of the game as it was boring as hell. We still as a nation lack real quality and these 2 friendlies will show us absolutely nothing new, just a waste of time for these players who are in desperate need of a holiday with their families.

Set up to make things hard for Peru who barely got out of 2nd gear, Hibs 3 players didn't do anything wrong but also didn't stand out either, all 3 steady enough, you can really see the difference in the step up against International players compared to the players they're up against in the SPFL.

We have zero options up front when Griffiths isn't available, which is a real worry, I just can't see where the goals are coming from. The next qualifying is also going to be a struggle and I can't see any difference from Strachan to McLeish, you can only play what you're given.

30-05-2018, 09:16 AM
The nation is in dire straights at the moment and something radical needs done to fix it. We're probably going to persist with Matt Phillips up top on his own until Griffiths is back, and McBurnie is too raw to judge as of yet but.

At the moment it feels like watching us hold out as long as possible at 0-0 and seeing if we can get something lucky. There's no real spark or focal point to our attacks that make me think we could go out and beat a lot of teams that are deemed at our level.

SPFL and SFA need to knock the heads together and come up with a plan to get as many homegrown youth players playing in the Scottish Premiership as possible. Maybe a minimum requirement of academy players in a squad, or an unlimited number of academy players on the bench to allow managers to bring folk on if they feel the game is safe for it?

30-05-2018, 10:27 AM
The nation is in dire straights at the moment and something radical needs done to fix it. We're probably going to persist with Matt Phillips up top on his own until Griffiths is back, and McBurnie is too raw to judge as of yet but.

At the moment it feels like watching us hold out as long as possible at 0-0 and seeing if we can get something lucky. There's no real spark or focal point to our attacks that make me think we could go out and beat a lot of teams that are deemed at our level.

SPFL and SFA need to knock the heads together and come up with a plan to get as many homegrown youth players playing in the Scottish Premiership as possible. Maybe a minimum requirement of academy players in a squad, or an unlimited number of academy players on the bench to allow managers to bring folk on if they feel the game is safe for it?

We’re a sorry lot on the field but, importantly as well, the Scotland fan base is a shambles just now with little or no patriotic cohesion. Take the Jambos last night, for example. To a man ( I found one exception ) they had pages of seethe, desperation for us to be hammered and hatred for the Scotland team purely because of the Hibs involvement. I think this attitude is rife in most clubs at the moment and it doesn’t help our cause.

30-05-2018, 10:40 AM
How long does Lewis have left on his contract

30-05-2018, 10:58 AM
How long does Lewis have left on his contract

A year

30-05-2018, 11:09 AM
Think McLeish said Lewis was flying home after this game, as he’s got a commitment. Must be a planned family holiday

30-05-2018, 11:14 AM
Think McLeish said Lewis was flying home after this game, as he’s got a commitment. Must be a planned family holiday

He said in an interview at weekend he was meeting up with them in Florida and looking forward to playing in Mexico 🤔

30-05-2018, 11:18 AM
A year

Should be 50 years.

30-05-2018, 11:22 AM
He said in an interview at weekend he was meeting up with them in Florida and looking forward to playing in Mexico 🤔

Stevenson’s not playing in Mexico according to big Eck

Matt phillips also not available for that game too!

30-05-2018, 11:37 AM
Stevenson’s not playing in Mexico according to big Eck

Matt phillips also not available for that game too!

Right fine I'll play then!

hibbydog
30-05-2018, 12:03 PM
Brilliant to see 3 hibs players in the starting line up. Yes, its a post season, meaningless game with a weakened team. But I'm particularly delighted for Lewis who has received just recognition for his professionalism and commitment. Well done.