View Full Version : Liam Henderson

GillyHibee
28-05-2018, 07:44 AM
Good to see that all his hard work is paying off:

Serie A club Parma have made a £1m offer for former Scotland Under-21 midfielder Liam Henderson after being impressed with the 22-year-old's form with Bari in Italy's second tier following his January move from Celtic. (Daily Record) (https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-transfer-news/former-celtic-midfielder-liam-henderson-12605695)

Johnny Clash
28-05-2018, 07:47 AM
That’s great news for Hendo. Sad for us,of course, but looks like he’ll be getting the recognition he deserves.

28-05-2018, 08:13 AM
Think is showed good ambition from him to go try something different at his age and it seems like it’s working out for him

28-05-2018, 08:36 AM
who says going abroad doesnt pay off eh... well done Liam.

28-05-2018, 08:39 AM
Love seeing a young Scots player with ambition having a crack abroad. Even better when they seem to do well. Others should take note, England isn’t always the best place to play your trade.

28-05-2018, 08:41 AM
Well done two or three years in the sun,good food, perhaps learn a language, and get a good wage for doing so. If he does sign for Parma i would be amazed he he came back to a lower level then the English Championship. Win all round, good luck to him.

28-05-2018, 09:08 AM
Hope it works out for him

28-05-2018, 12:58 PM
Imagine playing in Italy! Better than Motherwell on a wet Wednesday night. Nice move.

28-05-2018, 01:01 PM
Imagine playing in Italy! Better than Motherwell on a wet Wednesday night. Nice move.

You’ve obvious never been to Milan in the winter😄

28-05-2018, 01:07 PM
who says going abroad doesnt pay off eh... well done Liam.

Nobody......ever?

Seriously though, has anyone ever said that?

28-05-2018, 01:17 PM
Nobody......ever?

Seriously though, has anyone ever said that?

I think folk said it when he signed for Bari and on the other Hendo thread since.

28-05-2018, 01:22 PM
I think folk said it when he signed for Bari and on the other Hendo thread since.

Really? Ha ha

In that case I stand corrected but in my defence that was a stupid thing for anyone to say, of course going abroad pays off some times.

28-05-2018, 03:27 PM
Has anywhere other than the Record said this?

28-05-2018, 03:29 PM

A few scottish papers have linked him with Parma, according to Google.

28-05-2018, 03:32 PM
Thank you.

GillyHibee
28-05-2018, 04:30 PM

I doubted it myself when i seen the Daily Ranger reported it - but a quick google showed other papers also confirmed.

Big step in his career, wish him all the best :aok:

ano hibby
28-05-2018, 05:09 PM
Wonder if Eck is monitoring his progress

28-05-2018, 06:41 PM
You’ve obvious never been to Milan in the winter😄

I have actually! Well, Varese which is just north. Milan can be a heavy place but if I had Hendo's opportunity I wouldn't hang around Scotland.

Saint Hibee
28-05-2018, 09:23 PM
Bearing in mind that Parma just got promoted to Serie A, this would be a very good move.

28-05-2018, 09:35 PM
Brilliant to see him making his mark .... and at the risk of sounding smug I was saying in threads over a year ago that I thought his style would suit continental football :cool2:

28-05-2018, 09:44 PM
Well done two or three years in the sun,good food, perhaps learn a language, and get a good wage for doing so. If he does sign for Parma i would be amazed he he came back to a lower level then the English Championship. Win all round, good luck to him.

I’d say definitely learn a language.

I defy anyone to work abroad for a year, I mean really immerse yourself, and not come back speaking a language.

29-05-2018, 12:14 AM

I defy anyone to work abroad for a year, I mean really immerse yourself, and not come back speaking a language.

Nakamura :)

29-05-2018, 04:32 AM

Hendo seems a bright lad so no worries there.

29-05-2018, 12:41 PM
I know he's still involved in play off duties with Bari so wonder if we won't see this situation move forward until that's decided? I wonder what will happen if Bari get promoted as well?

29-05-2018, 01:17 PM

Barry Ferguson never managed it....

29-05-2018, 07:29 PM
Barry Ferguson never managed it....

renato
29-05-2018, 08:10 PM
Parma would be a great move for him - they’ve won 3 successive promotions (never done before in Italy) and finally look to have put their financial worries and super shady owners behind them.

They’ll be restructuring their team to survive and try to thrive in Serie A, lots of opportunity to impress and they like good football there, which will suit him down to the ground. They’ve got a cracking wee stadium with really passionate fans as well, they’ll totally take to a player like him. Quality of life is wonderful there, too.

Hope it happens for him, could be good news for Scotland and Mcleish, too.

29-05-2018, 10:19 PM
The guy has real talent you could see this when at E.R. just a pity we did not bring him back permanent as you could see that he would command a big fee in the future.
Good luck to him he will only get better and have a great lifestyle overseas I am sure.

29-05-2018, 10:26 PM
I know he's still involved in play off duties with Bari so wonder if we won't see this situation move forward until that's decided? I wonder what will happen if Bari get promoted as well?

See they play their quarter final match on Sunday. Wonder if there will be any streams available for this, need my football fix!

29-05-2018, 10:30 PM
See they play their quarter final match on Sunday. Wonder if there will be any streams available for this, need my football fix!

Let's hope there is a stream, would be good to watch Hendo in action.

If you're desperate for a fix Scotland v Peru kicks off in 2 and a half hours time.

29-05-2018, 10:43 PM
Let's hope there is a stream, would be good to watch Hendo in action.

If you're desperate for a fix Scotland v Peru kicks off in 2 and a half hours time.

Got that on record, don't fancy falling asleep at my desk tomorrow. :tee hee:

29-05-2018, 11:14 PM
Got that on record, don't fancy falling asleep at my desk tomorrow. :tee hee:

Football fix tonight, big caffeine fix in the morning. :aok:

30-05-2018, 05:35 AM

You can stream it on the Bet 365 website.

03-06-2018, 04:46 PM
Bari playing Cittadella at the moment.

03-06-2018, 05:01 PM
All the best to him, great young talent and i hope he has a really successful career :thumbsup:

Welcome back at ER anytime Liam :thumbsup::flag:

"it's Liam Henderson to deliveeeeeeeeeeeeer . . . . . . . "

03-06-2018, 05:02 PM
All the best to him, great young talent and i hope he has a really successful career :thumbsup:

Welcome back at ER anytime Liam :thumbsup::flag:

"it's Liam Henderson to deliveeeeeeeeeeeeer . . . . . . . "

I prefer 'Cummings doon the line ' :wink:

03-06-2018, 05:16 PM
Firstrowsports link 5 is good if anyone wants to watch it.

03-06-2018, 05:18 PM
Is this the 1st leg?

03-06-2018, 05:21 PM
Is this the 1st leg?

From what I understand it is a single game with Cittadella at home because they finished higher. The next 2 rounds are however 2 legs. It's a very weird set up, if the team in 3rd was to finish 10 or more points above the team in 4th there would be no playoffs and they would have gone up automatically. Then the amount of rounds depends on how many teams were within 14 points of 3rd, so could be 1 game but in this case there's 3 rounds.

Happily be corrected if I'm wrong but that's what it appears to be from reading about it earlier.

There's also no pens today. If level after extra time then Cittadella advance.

03-06-2018, 05:25 PM
From what I understand it is a single game with Cittadella at home because they finished higher. The next 2 rounds are however 2 legs. It's a very weird set up, if the team in 3rd was to finish 10 or more points above the team in 4th there would be no playoffs and they would have gone up automatically. Then the amount of rounds depends on how many teams were within 14 points of 3rd, so could be 1 game but in this case there's 3 rounds.

Happily be corrected if I'm wrong but that's what it appears to be from reading about it earlier.

There's also no pens today. If level after extra time then Cittadella advance.

Fraser, thanks. And we claim that the Premiership play off favours the big team!

03-06-2018, 05:54 PM
1-1.

03-06-2018, 05:59 PM
2-1 Cittadella amazing goal

03-06-2018, 06:17 PM
2-2 very scrappy goal but a late equaliser for Hendo's team!

03-06-2018, 06:19 PM
Bari equaliser!!! Henderson playing left mid.

03-06-2018, 06:21 PM
Boosh

03-06-2018, 06:23 PM
Bari equaliser!!! Henderson playing left mid.

Hardly kicked a ball since I switched on

03-06-2018, 06:28 PM

Winner plays Frosinone on Wednesday. They're only playing this game because of a two point deduction for irregular payments. Exciting times for Liam, sounds like he'll be going up to serie a one way or another.

03-06-2018, 06:29 PM

Started well with a couple of dangerous crosses, very quiet the second half though.

03-06-2018, 06:31 PM
Last Hibby to play in série a? :dunno:

03-06-2018, 06:34 PM

Ooo! I think that would have to be Joe Baker. Can't think of any other

03-06-2018, 06:36 PM
Ooo! I think that would have to be Joe Baker. Can't think of any other

I thought of zambernardi but he never got out of série b.

craigwilson911
03-06-2018, 06:36 PM
What channel is the game on?

Green Badger
03-06-2018, 06:39 PM

Malonga maybe?

Barman Stanton
03-06-2018, 06:41 PM
Pretty sure Sol Bamba played a Seria A game. Sauzee as well.

03-06-2018, 06:42 PM
I thought of zambernardi but he never got out of série b.

Didn't remember him 'til I checked wiki. My 'Out of Touch' years, pre serious interweb :greengrin

squire
03-06-2018, 06:45 PM
Steve Pinau

03-06-2018, 06:51 PM
Steve Pinau

Had to go back to wiki again... but well spotted :aok:

Well into proper internet then, but absolutely no memory of him. Old age is a bummer :greengrin

Though It must be said, he didn't actually play any games for Genoa in Seria a

03-06-2018, 06:51 PM

Well into proper internet then, but absolutely no memory of him. Old age is a bummer :greengrin

Hardly played

03-06-2018, 06:52 PM

Wasn't he the French boy who captained their youth team?
Edit-Steve thicot! I was thinking of. The best pedigree at youth level of any player we've ever had, arguably.

03-06-2018, 06:53 PM
Slivka? We signed him from Juve but I don't know if he played a league game for them.

03-06-2018, 06:54 PM
Hardly played

I edited that while you posted :greengrin

03-06-2018, 06:55 PM
Ray Wilkins

03-06-2018, 06:57 PM
Slivka? We signed him from Juve but I don't know if he played a league game for them.

Was just going to post. Think he played for Ascoli in Serie A

03-06-2018, 06:57 PM
Wasn't he the French boy who captained their youth team?

That’s Steven thicot.

Think he found himself playing at a decent level after he left us, possibly even champions league but might be exaggerating there.

03-06-2018, 06:58 PM
Ray Wilkins

Think the question was last Hibby😄

03-06-2018, 07:02 PM
That’s Steven thicot.

Think he found himself playing at a decent level after he left us, possibly even champions league but might be exaggerating there.

That's the felly. Played, and captained! in the same u17 team as Benzema and Nasri, beat Fabregas'Spain in the euro final. Ridiculous.

03-06-2018, 07:05 PM
Anyone watching? My timeline is telling me Bari have had three players sent off in one incident and are down to 8 men!!

03-06-2018, 07:05 PM
That's the felly. Played, and captained! in the same u17 team as Benzema and Nasri, beat Fabregas'Spain in the euro final. Ridiculous.

Players you mention never got to play for the cabbage though.

I know who’s career I’d have rather had

03-06-2018, 07:09 PM
Anyone watching? My timeline is telling me Bari have had three players sent off in one incident and are down to 8 men!!

Think 9 on the pitch, and 1 sub sent off

Who was the commentator, thought he was excellent, great pronunciation of some of the names

Thanks for who found it, enjoyed it

Keyser Sauzee
03-06-2018, 07:14 PM
Did it finish 2-2, does it go to a replay now??

03-06-2018, 07:19 PM
Did it finish 2-2, does it go to a replay now??

My understanding is, in the event of a draw after extra time, the higher classified team advances. Citadella.

03-06-2018, 07:23 PM
Bari had 3 sent off in the last few minutes of extra time.

03-06-2018, 07:25 PM
My understanding is, in the event of a draw after extra time, the higher classified team advances. Citadella.

:agree: bari are out. Sounds like a good brawl involving both benches at the end :greengrin

03-06-2018, 08:13 PM

That is an atrocious rule.

03-06-2018, 08:24 PM
That is an atrocious rule.
Sounds a brilliant rule would have saved our skins against Hamilton

03-06-2018, 08:31 PM
Sounds a brilliant rule would have saved our skins against Hamilton

We probably wouldn’t have won the Scottish Cup then with that rule.

Pish rule

03-06-2018, 08:35 PM

That’s got to be the most stupidest thing I think I’ve ever heard

03-06-2018, 08:36 PM
Started well with a couple of dangerous crosses

Deliveries. When they come from Liam’s boot they are called deliveries.

Souter96Mac
03-06-2018, 08:39 PM
Steve Pinau

Came in and said he'd score 40 goals for us in a season. Worked out well

03-06-2018, 08:49 PM
That’s got to be the most stupidest thing I think I’ve ever heard

I found it strange that they would go as far as playing extra time and not bother with penalties...

Saying that the home advantage favours the higher placed team. As does the draw after extra time. Is it that strange that they should reward the team that finished higher in the league?

It doesn't matter. Bari will have known the rules and didn't do enough in the end.

03-06-2018, 09:09 PM
Didn't help themselves by getting 2 points deducted for "irregular payments" which moved them below Cittadella and cost them the home advantage.

http://global.espn.com/football/italian-serie-b/story/3508803/serie-b-playoffs-postponed-as-bari-face-points-deduction?src=com

03-06-2018, 09:26 PM
We probably wouldn’t have won the Scottish Cup then with that rule.

Pish rule
Yeah suppose it all worked out well in the end.Typical HIBS did it the hard way.We are definitely in a better place now.

03-06-2018, 09:37 PM
Winner plays Frosinone on Wednesday. They're only playing this game because of a two point deduction for irregular payments. Exciting times for Liam, sounds like he'll be going up to serie a one way or another.

Frosinone haven't kicked a ball since 18 May so it will be interesting to see if that helps or hinders them. Just to add another layer of drama, Frosinone were heading for direct promotion on 18 May until the 89th minute when a Foggia equaliser made it 2-2 and meant that Parma and Frosinone both finished the season tied on 72 points, with Parma going up on goal difference (of +20, compared to Frosinone's +18).

Got a soft spot for Frosinone as it's the local team to the village that two of my grandparents originated from and would like to see them have another stab at Serie A!

03-06-2018, 10:06 PM
Frosinone haven't kicked a ball since 18 May so it will be interesting to see if that helps or hinders them. Just to add another layer of drama, Frosinone were heading for direct promotion on 18 May until the 89th minute when a Foggia equaliser made it 2-2 and meant that Parma and Frosinone both finished the season tied on 72 points, with Parma going up on goal difference (of +20, compared to Frosinone's +18).

Got a soft spot for Frosinone as it's the local team to the village that two of my grandparents originated from and would like to see them have another stab at Serie A!

It's good to see Parma back (although you probably disagree:greengrin Such an iconic team from when serie a was the best league in the world. Im on holiday in Puglia this summer and Bari is our nearest city so added to the LH connection I really should adopt them. Lecce is another option, beautiful city but they spoil it with a manky Partick Thistle esque home strip.

JoeT_WasTheBest
03-06-2018, 10:24 PM

Picinisco by any chance??

03-06-2018, 10:29 PM
Has LH actually signed for Parma?

03-06-2018, 10:30 PM
Has LH actually signed for Parma?

No, but 1million offer made according to reports.

03-06-2018, 10:32 PM
Came in and said he'd score 40 goals for us in a season. Worked out well

The boy barely got a chance.

geohibby
03-06-2018, 11:41 PM
It's good to see Parma back (although you probably disagree:greengrin Such an iconic team from when serie a was the best league in the world. Im on holiday in Puglia this summer and Bari is our nearest city so added to the LH connection I really should adopt them. Lecce is another option, beautiful city but they spoil it with a manky Partick Thistle esque home strip.

So am i, away from the 14th july for 2 weeks

04-06-2018, 06:19 AM
So am i, away from the 14th july for 2 weeks

Nice! I'll not piss in the pool then :greengrin

04-06-2018, 06:27 AM

Was lucky enough to visit the Stadio San Nicola for Italy v Scotland back in 2007 and would love to see a bit more football on Puglia - fantastic part of the country and very friendly people, with far fewer tourists than elsewhere. Are you travelling right down the “heel” to Leuca, Otranto etc? Meant to be amazing!

Weststandwanab
04-06-2018, 06:28 AM

I was thinking the same.

A lovely wee village it is been here a few times.

04-06-2018, 06:29 AM

Yup, with about 75% of the other Italian-Scots in Edinburgh! Population now is now only about 1,000 - 1,500 or thereabouts, no wonder when everyone is over here! :greengrin

04-06-2018, 06:40 AM
Was lucky enough to visit the Stadio San Nicola for Italy v Scotland back in 2007 and would love to see a bit more football on Puglia - fantastic part of the country and very friendly people, with far fewer tourists than elsewhere. Are you travelling right down the “heel” to Leuca, Otranto etc? Meant to be amazing!

We're staying in one of those 'trulli' villages, hiring a car so hopefully be able to explore a bit down on the Tyrrhenian coast :aok: Will be hiring bikes as well to work off the antipasti. I was reading about the Bari stadium, 60000 capacity usually not even half full. Lecce Bari is the big Derby and gets a bit heated apparently!

04-06-2018, 11:39 AM
I was thinking the same.

A lovely wee village it is been here a few times.

Was lucky enough to visit again about three weeks ago - hired a car from Naples Airport and had one night in Atina and one night in Picinisco. Both great places, the latter in particular is brilliant for just getting away from everything in the clear mountain air - you really couldn't tire of the views!

JoeT_WasTheBest
04-06-2018, 12:02 PM
Was lucky enough to visit again about three weeks ago - hired a car from Naples Airport and had one night in Atina and one night in Picinisco. Both great places, the latter in particular is brilliant for just getting away from everything in the clear mountain air - you really couldn't tire of the views!

04-06-2018, 12:06 PM
Was lucky enough to visit again about three weeks ago - hired a car from Naples Airport and had one night in Atina and one night in Picinisco. Both great places, the latter in particular is brilliant for just getting away from everything in the clear mountain air - you really couldn't tire of the views!Im just up from the back end of Sorrento just now, took a walk to the picturesque town of Sant Agata de Golfi, stunning views, busy wee place though.

IncredibleHibee
04-06-2018, 01:00 PM
Did Parma do a ‘The Rangers’ and reform after liquidation? I thought I read something a while back that The football club was no more??? Could be talking total nonsense

04-06-2018, 01:22 PM
Did Parma do a ‘The Rangers’ and reform after liquidation? I thought I read something a while back that The football club was no more??? Could be talking total nonsense

Yes they did, came back up with three consecutive promotions.

11-06-2018, 04:08 PM
Another hearts-in-mouths weekend for Frosinone in the playoffs - they drew 1-1 at Cittadella last weekend which, under the odd Serie B play off rules, meant that as they finished higher than Cittadella then any win or draw would see them through - i.e. away goals would not count. A 1-1 draw followed yesterday in Frosinone with a nervy last quarter of an hour after Cittadella equalisted on 74 minutes.

So the third Serie A promotion place will go down to 2nd v 3rd - Frosinone v Palermo - with the first leg in Sicily on Wednesday and the return in Frosinone on Saturday. Somehow I suspect these games might be a bit more exciting than the early World Cup fixtures!

11-06-2018, 04:40 PM
Another hearts-in-mouths weekend for Frosinone in the playoffs - they drew 1-1 at Cittadella last weekend which, under the odd Serie B play off rules, meant that as they finished higher than Cittadella then any win or draw would see them through - i.e. away goals would not count. A 1-1 draw followed yesterday in Frosinone with a nervy last quarter of an hour after Cittadella equalisted on 74 minutes.

So the third Serie A promotion place will go down to 2nd v 3rd - Frosinone v Palermo - with the first leg in Sicily on Wednesday and the return in Frosinone on Saturday. Somehow I suspect these games might be a bit more exciting than the early World Cup fixtures!

3rd v 4th rather than 2nd v 3rd.

11-06-2018, 05:18 PM

my gran came from Sant'Elia Fiumerapido near Picinisco so Frosinone is local.
i had thé great luck to work in Sicily 1999-2000 and caught Italy v Sweden in thé Palermo stadium.

huge ground and - as it was only a few days after ICT beat Mjallby & Larssons celtc, we fixéd up a banner at that game of SuperCaleyGoBallisticCelticAreAtrocious from the unofficial Catania Hibs Supporters Club

theres a communist bar in Catania called Nievski which had sky & setanta and (shortly after) a Hibs tartan scarf on the wall.

11-06-2018, 06:19 PM

You're spot on.

11-06-2018, 06:22 PM
i had thé great luck to work in Sicily 1999-2000 and caught Italy v Sweden in thé Palermo stadium.

huge ground and - as it was only a few days after ICT beat Mjallby & Larssons celtc, we fixéd up a banner at that game of SuperCaleyGoBallisticCelticAreAtrocious from the unofficial Catania Hibs Supporters Club

theres a communist bar in Catania called Nievski which had sky & setanta and (shortly after) a Hibs tartan scarf on the wall.

By complete chance I hailed an Uber a few months ago and the driver (who lives close to Easter Road as it happens) was from Sant'Elia. I actually drove past the place last month when heading up to Picinisco : that whole swathe of the Comino Valley from Cassino up to the top of the Monti Della Meta is connected to the east of Scotalnd in some way or other!

I walked past Nievski last year but didn't go in - would have had a look if I'd have known about the Hibs scarf! :thumbsup:

11-06-2018, 07:09 PM

By complete chance I hailed an Uber a few months ago and the driver (who lives close to Easter Road as it happens) was from Sant'Elia. I actually drove past the place last month when heading up to Picinisco : that whole swathe of the Comino Valley from Cassino up to the top of the Monti Della Meta is connected to the east of Scotalnd in some way or other!

I walked past Nievski last year but didn't go in - would have had a look if I'd have known about the Hibs scarf! :thumbsup:

Sounds like a potential thread, unusual places you've seen or put Hibs stuff scarves, flags etc.

euro Hibby
11-06-2018, 07:25 PM
not seen much in th epaapers about Hendo going to Parma or Bologna ( Italian sports papers ) Fabio Gross has left Bari and is now at verona.

Between Parma and Bologna i would choose Bologna . bigger city and would look him .

11-06-2018, 07:33 PM
not seen much in th epaapers about Hendo going to Parma or Bologna ( Italian sports papers ) Fabio Gross has left Bari and is now at verona.

Between Parma and Bologna i would choose Bologna . bigger city and would look him .

Parma is always voted at the top of the best places to live in Italy (which is saying something). Legendary food, beautiful city, Metropolitan outlook. Bologna more 'urban', bustling, left wing, big student population, again arguably the best food in Italy.

Basically its a perfect choice. Liams fallen on his feet :cool: He'd better watch the waistline in that part of the world though, look what happened to Thomas Brolin :faf:

11-06-2018, 07:55 PM

ha no way!
what took you to Catania?

12-06-2018, 06:11 AM
ha no way!
what took you to Catania?

Travelled down for the Italy v Fiji autumn test - nice city for a weekend!

Weir07
12-06-2018, 07:33 AM

I'd never heard of Sant'Elia until my sister booked a place for a three month stay this year, I flew over last Sunday, sitting here having my breakfast while I type, great wee town and surrounding area, old boy in the market asked where I was from, when I said Edinburgh, he talked about the Corolla's and Lucas, a small world!

12-06-2018, 07:36 AM
Parma is always voted at the top of the best places to live in Italy (which is saying something). Legendary food, beautiful city, Metropolitan outlook. Bologna more 'urban', bustling, left wing, big student population, again arguably the best food in Italy.

Basically its a perfect choice. Liams fallen on his feet :cool: He'd better watch the waistline in that part of the world though, look what happened to Thomas Brolin :faf:

Did you listen to totally football gazetta's Parma episode?

😄

12-06-2018, 09:02 AM
I'd never heard of Sant'Elia until my sister booked a place for a three month stay this year, I flew over last Sunday, sitting here having my breakfast while I type, great wee town and surrounding area, old boy in the market asked where I was from, when I said Edinburgh, he talked about the Corolla's and Lucas, a small world!

Sitting in the Bar Centrale in Picinisco and hearing a mixture of Italian and Edinburgh-accented English being spoken never ceases to be a surreal experience!

Definitely recommend you head up to Picinisco for a couple of hours if you haven't been before - the views are tremendous right across the valley - as well as having a walk around the old walled town in Atina. The newer part of Atina has a hostelry called the "Clyde Scottish Bar", although I haven't been - again, fairly surreal given how relatively remote you are from the main centres of Italian population! Wonderful part of the world.

BishopstonHibby
12-06-2018, 09:15 AM
Sitting in the Bar Centrale in Picinisco and hearing a mixture of Italian and Edinburgh-accented English being spoken never ceases to be a surreal experience!

Definitely recommend you head up to Picinisco for a couple of hours if you haven't been before - the views are tremendous right across the valley - as well as having a walk around the old walled town in Atina. The newer part of Atina has a hostelry called the "Clyde Scottish Bar", although I haven't been - again, fairly surreal given how relatively remote you are from the main centres of Italian population! Wonderful part of the world.

When I was living in Rome some years ago, I played with the City of Rome Pipe Band at a memorial service in Picinisco and had lunch with World War II veterans. You’re right. Incredible views!

12-06-2018, 09:54 AM
When I was living in Rome some years ago, I played with the City of Rome Pipe Band at a memorial service in Picinisco and had lunch with World War II veterans. You’re right. Incredible views!

Your reference to that memorial service made me think about the war memorials in Atina and Picinisco, both of which contain a lot of familiar names - indeed I think there are a few Tortolanos on the one in Atina from memory! Given how proximate the area was to the Gustav Line and Montecassino there was some heavy bombardment - I saw some old photographs of Atina and Cassino Abbey from 1945 recently and both were barely recognisable.

Some very evocative descriptions of war in the region are contained in Anne Pia's excellent "Language of My Choosing" and Mary Contini's "Dear Carlo" - if you're looking for some holiday reading this year I'd recommend picking up both.

12-06-2018, 09:57 AM
Did you listen to totally football gazetta's Parma episode?

😄

Yes, it was a great listen. Loved the bit about the Parma players not having any benches to sit on and having to make their own way to training because they sold the busses to pay off the creditors!

12-06-2018, 10:12 AM

There's a wee war memorial in the main square in Sant'Elia (and others in surrounding villages are similar) that have WW1 references to family names that you see in Edinburgh now like the Lamarra's and Viola's (then known as Violo's) as well as Nardini, Crolla, Boni, Valvona etc in the village and in the surrounding area.

By the time of WW2 memorials none of those names were represented (all living in Scotland having left the village by then).

The striking thing is that the place names and public monuments all round Sant'Elia read like a TripAdvisor review of the best Scottish ice cream parlours

Lots of good Hibbies with links to the area

renato
12-06-2018, 11:43 AM
There's a wee war memorial in the main square in Sant'Elia (and others in surrounding villages are similar) that have WW1 references to family names that you see in Edinburgh now like the Lamarra's and Viola's (then known as Violo's) as well as Nardini, Crolla, Boni, Valvona etc in the village and in the surrounding area.

By the time of WW2 memorials none of those names were represented (all living in Scotland having left the village by then).

The striking thing is that the place names and public monuments all round Sant'Elia read like a TripAdvisor review of the best Scottish ice cream parlours

Sure do. It’s like little Edinburgh back there in the summer..

Weststandwanab
12-06-2018, 11:55 AM

My first visit to Picinisco was in 2005 and my last in 2016 with a few in between.

It is lovely with stunning views but it has been Ednburghised over the years.

In 2005 very little English was spoken but now an incredible amount of both languages are spoken.

Some local signs are in both languages too.

However I agree about Atina a beautiful little place that has a large amount of Edinburgh accents.

Nice.

Weir07
12-06-2018, 01:12 PM

Thanks for the recommendation, been to Atina already, lovely place that was unfortunately heavily bombed during the war but very well restored, flying back on Friday but will take up your suggestion of a trip to Picinisco.

Weir07
12-06-2018, 01:14 PM

I had a quick look at the memorial but will have a closer look when I go into town tonight, thanks for the info!

12-06-2018, 01:22 PM
Amazing, I am very jealous!!

The pic we have of my daughter in front of one of the "sides" of the memorial certainly has family names like the Vettriano's and Lamarra's (La Marra) and Viola's (Violo) that have been the mainstay of our Hibee side of the family.

If you're an anorak like me (and I wouldn't be offended if you weren't!!) one other interesting thing too is that the Italian memorials have WW1 as 1915 to 1918 (not 1914) as they hummed and hawed for a year about which side to join, before entering on the Allies' side in 1915.

To be fair, there's far too much good company, tasty food and fine red wine round that region for a war memorial to get in the way :greengrin

Enjoy the rest of your stay!!

12-06-2018, 07:00 PM
Amazing, I am very jealous!!

The pic we have of my daughter in front of one of the "sides" of the memorial certainly has family names like the Vettriano's and Lamarra's (La Marra) and Viola's (Violo) that have been the mainstay of our Hibee side of the family.

If you're an anorak like me (and I wouldn't be offended if you weren't!!) one other interesting thing too is that the Italian memorials have WW1 as 1915 to 1918 (not 1914) as they hummed and hawed for a year about which side to join, before entering on the Allies' side in 1915.

To be fair, there's far too much good company, tasty food and fine red wine round that region for a war memorial to get in the way :greengrin

Enjoy the rest of your stay!!

12-06-2018, 07:31 PM
This thread must be a contender for the "Off at a tangent thread of the year" award. Hendo's barely had a mention for ages and before anyone checks, yes I have contributed to the non-Hendo chat further up the thread as well as this post. :greengrin

13-06-2018, 10:26 PM

First leg took place in Sicily tonight and finished 2-1 to Palermo. Frosinone were ahead within five minutes but Palermo equalised on the stroke of half time before an own goal sealed the win. So all to play for at the Stadio Stripe in the second leg on Saturday night!

14-06-2018, 06:13 AM
This thread must be a contender for the "Off at a tangent thread of the year" award. Hendo's barely had a mention for ages and before anyone checks, yes I have contributed to the non-Hendo chat further up the thread as well as this post. :greengrin

As someone who contributed to this thread going off topic and turning into a tourist guide for the mezzogiorno, I apologise:greengrin Back to Liam Henderson, one thing that comes across most clearly from the hours of player interviews you get on the Time For Heroes dvd is how much he gets Hibs. Just one of my favourite players, ever.

renato
15-06-2018, 05:26 AM
Now La Viola are interested in Hendo:

https://www.football-italia.net/122988/fiorentina-want-henderson?utm_campaign=shareaholic&utm_medium=email_this&utm_source=email

Dream pairing, Bollah! :greengrin

15-06-2018, 07:44 AM
Sounds like he could soon be on Scotland's radar.

Scottish midfield of McGinn, McGeouch, Allan and Henderson anyone?

Now, that would be something.

15-06-2018, 08:07 AM

https://www.football-italia.net/122988/fiorentina-want-henderson?utm_campaign=shareaholic&utm_medium=email_this&utm_source=email

Dream move for LH. Living and playing football in one of Ialy’s most iconic cities. The boy’s done good as they say.

renato
15-06-2018, 08:14 AM
Dream move for LH. Living and playing football in one of Ialy’s most iconic cities. The boy’s done good as they say.

Totally, delighted for the lad if it happens and well deserved. If he becomes a starter for Fiorentina then he should walk into the Scotland team.

15-06-2018, 08:17 AM
Don't know what the Italian for oxymoron is but do the fans shout "Bello 'Endo" whenever he does something good?

15-06-2018, 08:35 AM
Delighted for him.

Whiles it’s disappointing not to have him at Hibs the next best thing is seeing him doing so well in his career.

15-06-2018, 08:49 AM

Been to rugby at the Stadio Artemio Franchi. Proper old-school ground with some great architecture on its exterior. It would be a great move for him!

15-06-2018, 09:39 AM
If he makes the move and is playing regularly in serie A surely would go hand in hand with a Scotland call up

15-06-2018, 04:10 PM
If he makes the move and is playing regularly in serie A surely would go hand in hand with a Scotland call up

Dunno might be a sevco or Celtic player in his position. They get priority when they want to play.

15-06-2018, 04:37 PM

:greengrin That would be fantastic. My only concern would be would he get game time in a team like that. Do Fiorentina have a hefty transfer budget these days?

17-06-2018, 08:18 AM
First leg took place in Sicily tonight and finished 2-1 to Palermo. Frosinone were ahead within five minutes but Palermo equalised on the stroke of half time before an own goal sealed the win. So all to play for at the Stadio Stripe in the second leg on Saturday night!

Just to close this chapter off - a 2-0 win for Frosinone last night saw them promoted! The second goal came in the 6th minute of second half injury time, avoiding extra time, and may help exorcise some of the ghosts that led them to be in the playoffs in the first place (loss of an 89th minute goal to Foggia in the last game of the regular season that saw Parma promoted ahead of them).

I might try and catch a game next time I’m over!

17-06-2018, 09:47 AM
Just to close this chapter off - a 2-0 win for Frosinone last night saw them promoted! The second goal came in the 6th minute of second half injury time, avoiding extra time, and may help exorcise some of the ghosts that led them to be in the playoffs in the first place (loss of an 89th minute goal to Foggia in the last game of the regular season that saw Parma promoted ahead of them).

I don't think last night's ref should holiday in Sicily any time soon.

17-06-2018, 10:19 AM

great news, not just for Frosinone but the fact théy beat Palermo is good for the sport.

no surprise that both pinilla (a romanov money laundering striker from chile) and Kyle lafferty have both worn the pink jersey. Théy are as dodgy as théy come.

a good night for football!

17-06-2018, 12:29 PM
Delighted for him.

Whiles it’s disappointing not to have him at Hibs the next best thing is seeing him doing so well in his career.

Hear, hear, he was great for Hibs just a pity we could not arrange a deal as he was always going to be worth a lot more than we would have had to pay.
Good luck to him, great to see young guys try and make it outside of this country, another young chelski player going out to Italy, saying that Liam had inspired him to try same.

17-06-2018, 01:38 PM

ThecIaluan Resiatance in 2nd Workd wR defeated Mussolini and the Natzis was incredible.

17-06-2018, 02:18 PM
My pigeon Italian is not up to scratch.

Anyone care to translate?

Tynie01011973
17-06-2018, 02:48 PM
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/fiorentina-bid-2m-for-hibs-scottish-cup-hero-liam-henderson-1-4755792

£115k Petrie FFS 😁

17-06-2018, 05:19 PM
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/fiorentina-bid-2m-for-hibs-scottish-cup-hero-liam-henderson-1-4755792

£115k Petrie FFS 😁

Just purely out of interest I'd be really keen to see what Serie B wages look like compared to SPL!

17-06-2018, 05:34 PM
great news, not just for Frosinone but the fact théy beat Palermo is good for the sport.

no surprise that both pinilla (a romanov money laundering striker from chile) and Kyle lafferty have both worn the pink jersey. Théy are as dodgy as théy come.

a good night for football!

Was there not bare-faced cheating/'gamesmanship' from Frosinone late one to ensure they won?

17-06-2018, 08:08 PM

£115k Petrie FFS [emoji16]Interestingly I was told by a family member that Lawell put £2m on his head for UK bidders. He didn't want to be seen to sell him cheap just to have him come back and bite him in the erse at a Celtic AGM. A tactic I fear he'll use with Scott Allan. Rodgers may say the club won't be hard to deal with but his Chair will probably disagree.

Sent from my F8331 using Tapatalk

17-06-2018, 08:13 PM
Interestingly I was told by a family member that Lawell put £2m on his head for UK bidders. He didn't want to be seen to sell him cheap just to have him come back and bite him in the erse at a Celtic AGM. A tactic I fear he'll use with Scott Allan. Rodgers may say the club won't be hard to deal with but his Chair will probably disagree.

Sent from my F8331 using Tapatalk

:agree: i’m not too confident that Lawwell will play ball.

17-06-2018, 08:20 PM

Hope so. Fiorentina are my Italian team

17-06-2018, 08:22 PM
Hope so. Fiorentina are my Italian team

Me too. Although I couldn't find really tell you much about them or who their players are. Just RuiCosta and Batistuta :greengrin

17-06-2018, 09:08 PM
Was there not bare-faced cheating/'gamesmanship' from Frosinone late one to ensure they won?

Frosinone subs throwing spare balls onto the pitch to disrupt Palermo attacks - I think one of them was sent off for that or arguing over a disputed Palermo penalty shout - mental scenes by all accounts! The ref added on the five minutes added time to take into account the time wasted dealing with all of that - and it was at the end of that Frosinone scored their second!

https://twitter.com/delinquentweet/status/1008084687510736897

05-08-2018, 08:50 PM
Hendo made his debut for Verona tonight in a 4-1 win in the Coppa Italia. He provided the pass for the third goal with what Verona's Twitter account described as an "amazing assist".

05-08-2018, 08:54 PM
Hendo made his debut for Verona tonight in a 4-1 win in the Coppa Italia. He provided the pass for the third goal with what Verona's Twitter account described as an "amazing assist".

Henderson consegnare

wallpaperman
05-08-2018, 09:10 PM
Anyone interested in reading a bit about the culture of Italian football and Hellas Verona in particular should give Tim Parks 'A Season with Verona' a read.

The author lived in Verona at the time, and was already a regular at their games, but decided to spend a season going to every home and away game.

A brilliant song read, bit of a travelogue, often very funny, highly recommended.

05-08-2018, 09:18 PM
We should have brought him home last January!

05-08-2018, 09:20 PM

Sounds like he has found his niche. Really pleased for him and I wish him all the best.

ryantaylor
07-08-2018, 10:31 AM
https://twitter.com/veronaarb/status/1026414831094648832?s=21

Sublime assist from Mr Henderson.

07-08-2018, 10:33 AM
https://twitter.com/veronaarb/status/1026414831094648832?s=21

Sublime assist from Mr Henderson.

Henderson? What a dink :wink:

17-11-2018, 11:09 AM
Just passing through Verona on the train to Padova just now. On a bright autumnal Saturday lunchtime I can see exactly why this town was appealing to Liam -a great place to live the best life!

17-11-2018, 06:24 PM
Pity he didn't get the chance to deliver for Scotland tonight.

it's only a short hop over to Albania from Verona.

17-11-2018, 06:28 PM
Pity he didn't get the chance to deliver for Scotland tonight.

it's only a short hop over to Albania from Verona.

Let's hope he doesn't get forgotten about, he could definitely contribute for Scotland.

18-11-2018, 10:17 PM
We should have brought him home last January!

Henderson was the Pale Rider. We all prayed for a saviour and Henderson delivered. Did he really exist or will his role in May 16 drift into Myth and Legend ?

24-01-2019, 01:59 PM
Golazzo podcast this week is all about Hellas Verona, really good listen, I didn't know they won the title in 84-85, the only time a provincial side has ever won the league? A kind of early Leicester City Cinderella story. Henderson doing well in a defensive midfielder role this season according to James Horncastle.

Keyser Sauzee
25-01-2019, 08:12 PM
Any1 got the link to the interview where he says he will play for us again?

25-01-2019, 09:01 PM
Golazzo podcast this week is all about Hellas Verona, really good listen, I didn't know they won the title in 84-85, the only time a provincial side has ever won the league? A kind of early Leicester City Cinderella story. Henderson doing well in a defensive midfielder role this season according to James Horncastle.

Will give that a listen, cheers. The best story from that season is referee allocation...Do they cover that?

06-08-2019, 08:38 AM
https://www.espn.co.uk/football/italian-serie-a/12/blog/post/3807711/youre-not-in-scotland-now----why-liam-henderson-left-superpower-celtic-for-the-italian-second-division

wallpaperman
06-08-2019, 10:13 AM

Depends what you mean by provincial? Verona itself is not huge, but the greater area has quite a big population.

Sampdoria won it in the early 90’s, play in Genoa, which is bigger than Veròna, but clearly not one of the major Italian cities.

06-08-2019, 11:47 AM
Anyone interested in reading a bit about the culture of Italian football and Hellas Verona in particular should give Tim Parks 'A Season with Verona' a read.

The author lived in Verona at the time, and was already a regular at their games, but decided to spend a season going to every home and away game.

A brilliant song read, bit of a travelogue, often very funny, highly recommended.

Thanks, your posts a big positive on this forum.

A great change from the "i hate Hertz and Rangers" contributers

06-08-2019, 12:46 PM
Depends what you mean by provincial? Verona itself is not huge, but the greater area has quite a big population.

Sampdoria won it in the early 90’s, play in Genoa, which is bigger than Veròna, but clearly not one of the major Italian cities.

Sadly, the Italian champions rarely come from outside the big cities glamour clubs Turin, Milan and occasionally Rome, so with Naples excepted, I think you can get away with calling the rest provincial.

06-08-2019, 12:53 PM

Edit:

Got mine on eBay couple of quid free delivery

Took me back to the sixties and the Carlton Branch

Barman Stanton
06-08-2019, 01:05 PM

Edit:

This is a cracking book.

Nothing at all to do with Italy but if there are fans of good non-Hibs football books, then you should check out 'The Greatest Footballer you never saw - The Robin Friday story'.

06-08-2019, 01:12 PM
Yeah !

Read the reviews a while back

Must have been some player

Will give it a bash

Thanks

06-08-2019, 01:12 PM
It'll be a big challenge for Hendo to get regular games this season thanks to the promotion to Serie A. He didn't start any of Verona's pre-season friendlies until Sunday, when he got the full game v SPAL in a 0-0 draw.

Verona have signed two very good midfield players from Genoa in Bessa and Veloso, as well as Badu on loan from Udinese, although they've also lost Gustafson, who started most games last season. Hopefully it continues to go well for him.

06-08-2019, 01:16 PM
It'll be a big challenge for Hendo to get regular games this season thanks to the promotion to Serie A. He didn't start any of Verona's pre-season friendlies until Sunday, when he got the full game v SPAL in a 0-0 draw.

Verona have signed two very good midfield players from Genoa in Bessa and Veloso, as well as Badu on loan from Udinese, although they've also lost Gustafson, who started most games last season. Hopefully it continues to go well for him.

Even if he gets decent game time as opposed to starting most of the games, it'll be good for him.

He's still pretty young, so hopefully like SJM can keep developing and form the core of Scotland's midfield for a long time.

wallpaperman
06-08-2019, 01:40 PM
Thanks, your posts a big positive on this forum.

A great change from the "i hate Hertz and Rangers" contributers

Ha, hate the two of them and all (mostly!).

I actually work beside a die hard Rangers fan who is incredibly fair and lucid compared to most I have come across, whereas the Jambos at work have this weird false sense of entitlement that you usually associate with the OF.

wallpaperman
06-08-2019, 01:43 PM

Edit:

It’s a great book isn’t it?

The description of long uncomfortable bus trips to the south of Italy are so funny. Strange to think that for some of the far off away games, the bus load of 50 fans or so were their total support, and that was for a Serie A team.

Must dig it out and read again.

Pilrig_Sauzee
06-08-2019, 03:41 PM
Whiles we’re on the subject of football books, a favourite of mine is by Gary Imlach (who some will know if they’ve ever watched Tour de France coverage), it’s called “My Father and Other Working Class Football Heroes”. Intelligent, warm and passionate description of what football players endured in the 50s before there was any money for players.

06-08-2019, 04:46 PM

Yes. One of my favourite football books this ..

I would also add , for Italian football , miracle of castel di Sangro. Wonderful book telling story of a village teams journey all the way to seria B.

Renton1875
06-08-2019, 05:05 PM

I would also add , for Italian football , miracle of castel di Sangro. Wonderful book telling story of a village teams journey all the way to seria B.

Highly recommend this too, cracking book.

06-08-2019, 05:18 PM

Really didn't see the way it ended coming.

wallpaperman
06-08-2019, 05:41 PM

Thank you for reminding me of that book. I remember seeing it years ago, but never got round to getting it, must put that right.

06-08-2019, 08:48 PM
It’s a great book isn’t it?

The description of long uncomfortable bus trips to the south of Italy are so funny. Strange to think that for some of the far off away games, the bus load of 50 fans or so were their total support, and that was for a Serie A team.

Must dig it out and read again.
Spoiler Alert!

What I liked was that he was the first name on the list for the bus leaving the local boozer at dark o clock for a game somewhere down the welly boot the following 3.00pm five minutes before the bus is due to leave all these waifs strays radges psychos and tidy burds appear from no where and we set off on a rollercoaster ride
It is Hellas Verona against the rest of the world with their own twisted standards and ideology with various run ins with society and authority
Each chapter is a short chapter starting off with their current league position and a short match report of each game as it unfolds making it an easy read for the busy football fan
Thoroughly enjoyable a good laugh and an excellent read
It is set in the early noughties and a lot of the issues covered are still relevant today
Edit:
Miracle of Castel is an excellent read as well

06-08-2019, 09:37 PM
Thank you for reminding me of that book. I remember seeing it years ago, but never got round to getting it, must put that right.

[emoji41][emoji106]. Enjoy!!

1875Sean
01-09-2019, 08:15 PM
Great to see Hendo starting the first two games in the league, surely can’t be far away from a cap

01-09-2019, 08:31 PM
Verona winning 👍

Saint Hibee
06-10-2019, 10:48 AM
Played last five minutes yesterday in a 2-0 victory over Sampdoria. Nice to see him pressing on into Serie A.

06-10-2019, 12:17 PM
Played last five minutes yesterday in a 2-0 victory over Sampdoria. Nice to see him pressing on into Serie A.

5 minutes pressing on ? :greengrin
It is like saying Newell is pressing on for us wait until he gets four or five starts before he is pressing on.

Bleeds green
09-11-2019, 07:56 PM
He’s not started a game in 2 months now and an unused sub or last 10 min appearances here and there gutted he doesn’t seem to be kicking on even in a very difficult league

09-11-2019, 08:01 PM
He’s not started a game in 2 months now and an unused sub or last 10 min appearances here and there gutted he doesn’t seem to be kicking on even in a very difficult league

Hibs could be his level

09-11-2019, 08:05 PM
Came on after 64 minutes tonight v internazionale with hellas winning 1-0.

Finished 2-1 to internazionale. Equaliser came in the 65th minute.

Bleeds green
09-11-2019, 08:12 PM
Came on after 64 minutes tonight v internazionale with hellas winning 1-0.

Finished 2-1 to internazionale. Equaliser came in the 65th minute.

After a decent start to the season when he was starting games it must be disappointing for him last cupl months he’s not even getting off the bench at times too much talent to not be playing at his age

09-11-2019, 08:14 PM
When you think back to Hibs winning the Scottish Cup he'll always be remembered. He certainly delivered that day. He loved playing for the Hibees and he was loved by us all.

Best wishes to him on his future career.

Saint Hibee
09-11-2019, 08:21 PM
I think coming on as a second half substitute against one of the best teams in Serie A is anything but disappointing. Good luck to the boy, he’s doing amazing!

09-11-2019, 08:43 PM
Henderson to deliveeeeeeer ⚽️⚽️🏆

ano hibby
09-11-2019, 08:47 PM
Henderson to deliver
That ball sends a shiver
Reached the top of David Grays head
And ended up in the back of the net

Best lyrics ever 👍

Bleeds green
09-11-2019, 08:53 PM
I think coming on as a second half substitute against one of the best teams in Serie A is anything but disappointing. Good luck to the boy, he’s doing amazing!

He’s not started a game in two months made around 3 subs appearances in 8 but I’m sure ur correct he won’t be disappointed as long as he got the last 20 mins against on of the big teams eh

The Baldmans Comb
10-11-2019, 05:25 AM
I attended the Napoli v Verona match a few weeks ago and he didn't get off the bench then either even at 2:0 down with 10 minutes to go and 2 sub's remaining.

Verona have a strong and hard working midfield and Liam still looks just that little light weight in terms of strength for this league.

Its a long season so hopefully his football ability get the opportunity to express himself but needs the opportunity.

Clarence
10-11-2019, 06:39 AM
I’m not one who always wants old players to come back but I think Hendo and Hibs have unfinished business.

I_Love_Latapy
10-11-2019, 06:43 AM
Surprised he’s not invoked in the National Squad, TBH.

hibeejeebies
10-11-2019, 07:16 AM

Said the same thing through the week mate. Definitely worth a shot.

10-11-2019, 07:18 AM

I would be very surprised if he was Scotland have a lot of options in midfield adding someone with little to no game time would be strange.

10-11-2019, 08:10 AM
When you think back to Hibs winning the Scottish Cup he'll always be remembered. He certainly delivered that day. He loved playing for the Hibees and he was loved by us all.

Best wishes to him on his future career.
Loan deal at Xmas to ER ? And only have to find a wage to get Effe.

10-11-2019, 12:43 PM

He needs to be playing for his club first.

10-11-2019, 09:06 PM

If he was a right back, centre half or striker then yes.
But bench warming midfielder, nah.

11-11-2019, 02:52 AM
I love him and think he is a good player, probably not as good as others seem to think after those two corners right enough :greengrin

Personally think he will be a fair bit off the Scotland team as were full of players in the same position as him

Armstrong
Christie
Mcgregor
McGinn
Mclean
McTominay
Fleck

Would all be a fair bit ahead of him imo.

He certainly has the potential to go far and get in that team as he has tons of ability and is very good technically. He should return home to ER, impress here then get in the national team :greengrin

In saying that he’s probably the exact opposite type of player that we need but you can never have enough quality - especially when he has the attitude to go with it

11-11-2019, 11:17 AM
I love him and think he is a good player, probably not as good as others seem to think after those two corners right enough :greengrin

Personally think he will be a fair bit off the Scotland team as were full of players in the same position as him

Armstrong
Christie
Mcgregor
McGinn
Mclean
McTominay
Fleck

Would all be a fair bit ahead of him imo.

He certainly has the potential to go far and get in that team as he has tons of ability and is very good technically. He should return home to ER, impress here then get in the national team :greengrin

In saying that he’s probably the exact opposite type of player that we need but you can never have enough quality - especially when he has the attitude to go with it

A very good summary :agree:

11-11-2019, 07:16 PM
Loan deal at Xmas to ER ? And only have to find a wage to get Effe.

...... and Leigh.

13-11-2019, 01:46 AM
Convinced in 30, 40 years time, old Hibs fans will talk about Liam Henderson as some kind of mystical character.who rode into town on a white horse, delivered, and disappeared into Hibernian folklore :cb.

mikewynne
13-11-2019, 05:46 AM
Convinced in 30, 40 years time, old Hibs fans will talk about Liam Henderson as some kind of mystical character.who rode into town on a white horse, delivered, and disappeared into Hibernian folklore :cb.

That would be Conrad Logan...and a very large horse.

13-11-2019, 08:59 AM
That would be Conrad Logan...and a very large horse.

A Carthorse

13-11-2019, 09:53 AM
...... and Leigh.

Hendo, Efe, Leigh... what a January that would be.

If Ron truly loves the Hibees he knows what to do.

13-11-2019, 10:22 AM
Hendo, Efe, Leigh... what a January that would be.

If Ron truly loves the Hibees he knows what to do.

Only Ambrose is at all realistic, regardless of Ron loving us or not. Leigh is like on 15k+ a week, he is not coming here. Hendo very unlikely, why would he leave Serie A, we couldn't afford him either.

13-11-2019, 10:24 AM

A Carthorse
Imagine talking like that about Conrad! 😬

13-11-2019, 02:59 PM
Only Ambrose is at all realistic, regardless of Ron loving us or not. Leigh is like on 15k+ a week, he is not coming here. Hendo very unlikely, why would he leave Serie A, we couldn't afford him either.

Verona are financially the poorest team in Serie A.
The Italian press reported players wages including Hendersons.
He is apparently their 13th best payed player on 300k Euro's a year (£270k) which is just over £5k a week.
Not a massive wage but twice as much as we would pay him.
Verona like every other team were hoping Henderson would be someone they could bring in cheap, develop and sell on for a fat profit.
I think they are going to be disappointed unless they can sell him to an English Championship team.
He is still only 23 so still has time to make his mark.

05-08-2020, 07:50 AM
Liam played the full 120 mins as Empoli drew 1-1 with Chievo in the Serie B promotion playoffs last night. Chievo progressed due to having finished in a higher position in the regular league season.

He's still got 2 years to run on his contract with Verona, but Empoli have an option to buy him, so will be interesting to see where he's playing next season.

11-09-2020, 12:36 PM
I see Liam signed a four year deal with Lecce today - crossing sides in the derby di Puglia given he started out his Italian career with Bari!

Lecce were relegated back to Serie B this year after a season in the top flight so no doubt will want to be challenging for promotion once again.

11-09-2020, 12:39 PM
I see Liam signed a four year deal with Lecce today - crossing sides in the derby di Puglia given he started out his Italian career with Bari!

Lecce were relegated back to Serie B this year after a season in the top flight so no doubt will want to be challenging for promotion once again.

Would love to see him back someday, but big respect for him taking a bold and different approach to his career ..wish him nothing but success..

11-09-2020, 02:20 PM
Is Liam becoming the James Keatings of Italy? Talent enough to play in the top league but spends his time getting teams Promoted from serie b to serie a?
I love that he is spending this time abroad too few young Scots footballers do that. I’d like to see us doing this insomuch as Graham Mathie was suggesting for our youth players.

Fergos
11-09-2020, 02:24 PM
Lads a class act. Great life and professional experience for him.

One of the ones id love to see back one day.

Good luck to him. Legend.

GGTTH.

11-09-2020, 02:26 PM
Would love to see him back someday, but big respect for him taking a bold and different approach to his career ..wish him nothing but success..

Totally agree great to see him push himself in another environment must be great in terms of life experiences both Sporting and generally.

paul_hfc3
11-09-2020, 03:17 PM
Imagine talking like that about Conrad! 😬

Conrad will forever be a legend for his part in the cup triumph 👑

vercol36
11-09-2020, 04:08 PM
Its funny, we've got ex-players playing in the English Prem and yet the one I'm most jealous of is playing in Italy's second tier. What a place to play, what a lifestyle!

11-09-2020, 04:31 PM
Well done to him. I'm sure he could have signed for any number of clubs in the lower divisions in England or probably for Hibs or Aberdeen but he will definitely enrich his life experiences so much more than he would have by signing for someone like Hull for example or even staying in Scotland.

11-09-2020, 07:33 PM

:faf: That’s a controversial move, I spent a lovely two weeks in Puglia 5 years ago, Lecce is a beautiful city similar to Florence but those two teams supports hate each other; think Rangers Celtic Boca River or Newcastle Sunderland. There’s been at least two match abandonments due to rioting.

zitelli62
11-09-2020, 07:51 PM
Will be back one day but wish him nothing but the best great lad who always talks us up forever a legend.

11-09-2020, 09:50 PM
:faf: That’s a controversial move, I spent a lovely two weeks in Puglia 5 years ago, Lecce is a beautiful city similar to Florence but those two teams supports hate each other; think Rangers Celtic Boca River or Newcastle Sunderland. There’s been at least two match abandonments due to rioting.

Puglia has some beautiful spots and Lecce is definitely one of them. Good luck to him, I imagine it’s a great place to live.

Screw Bari! :wink:

Robbo6-2
11-09-2020, 09:53 PM
Sure I read he was on 7grand a week at Verona so sure he will be on the same for Lecce.

Earn a great living in a beautiful part of the world. Top man and wish him all the best

Would of loved to have seen him back

11-09-2020, 10:00 PM
Sure I read he was on 7grand a week at Verona so sure he will be on the same for Lecce.

Earn a great living in a beautiful part of the world. Top man and wish him all the best

Would of loved to have seen him back

The info I found was £270k a year at Verona so just over £5k a week

23-09-2020, 04:25 PM
Liam Henderson doing his press conference in fluent Italian. Fantastic.

https://youtu.be/4s-f8Y__bbM

23-09-2020, 04:29 PM

Il postino :greengrin

23-09-2020, 04:32 PM

Brilliant! Wonder if he can sing sunshine on leith in italian 😁

23-09-2020, 04:35 PM

So he's a box to box midfielder and reckons Serie B is a really tough league, with teams who have recent experience of top flight football and little to choose between them ( I speak no Italian, lol. The universal language of football and wee bit of Catala helps, lol).

Good lad Hendo, he'll be back at some point in his career I reckon.

23-09-2020, 04:40 PM

Great to see and hugely impressive by Liam on a personal level to have embraced the culture so well and learned the language. Not really a common trait of players from this country to do so. Also notice he said Gerrard was a tosser in his last answer. :greengrin

Cat Stanton
23-09-2020, 05:24 PM

Good for him. Not that fluent 'though - his grammar and conjugation (ooh, get me!) is all over the shop. He sounds like an Italian Charlie Nicholas or Willie Miller - although obviously he still makes more sense than either of them.

23-09-2020, 06:13 PM
Good for him. Not that fluent 'though - his grammar and conjugation (ooh, get me!) is all over the shop. He sounds like an Italian Charlie Nicholas or Willie Miller - although obviously he still makes more sense than either of them.

Think he will be in Italy for another couple of years so plenty of time to put meat on the bones of his Italian speaking. Tells you a lot about the guy and his intentions.

euro Hibby
23-09-2020, 06:20 PM
He does well to understand all the questions apart from one and yeah he has a fair bit to go before being fluent but well done anyway as there are loads of footballers who don't speak the local language after years ie Gareth Bale.

He needs to get himself a good southern girl to cook his spaghetti and bring him on ...... Lecce for promotion, Bologna for demotion !

et_hibby
23-09-2020, 06:28 PM
Il postino :greengrin

23-09-2020, 06:33 PM
He's an impressive young man. The way he's just embraced the decision to go out to Italy and make the most of it is absolutely amazing.

After the way his Bari spell ended you could have forgiven him for coming back to Britain as I assume he would maybe have had offers. Then again when he found himself a bit out of favour with Verona when in Serie A he didn't take an easy way out or an easy pay day in England. He chose to go on loan in Italy again to put himself in the shop window for the other clubs to look at.

Wish you all the success Liam. Forza Lecce.

xyz23jc
23-09-2020, 08:43 PM
Lads a class act. Great life and professional experience for him.

One of the ones id love to see back one day.

Good luck to him. Legend.

GGTTH.

DEFO! :thumbsup:

Magpie
24-09-2020, 12:13 AM
He does well to understand all the questions apart from one and yeah he has a fair bit to go before being fluent but well done anyway as there are loads of footballers who don't speak the local language after years ie Gareth Bale.

He needs to get himself a good southern girl to cook his spaghetti and bring him on ...... Lecce for promotion, Bologna for demotion !

Back to back relegations for Aaron Hickey 🙃

24-09-2020, 08:10 AM
So he's a box to box midfielder and reckons Serie B is a really tough league, with teams who have recent experience of top flight football and little to choose between them ( I speak no Italian, lol. The universal language of football and wee bit of Catala helps, lol).

Good lad Hendo, he'll be back at some point in his career I reckon.
Molto bene. Qual e "box to box" in Italiano?
Ah, "box to box"!

24-09-2020, 08:12 AM
Great to see and hugely impressive by Liam on a personal level to have embraced the culture so well and learned the language. Not really a common trait of players from this country to do so. Also notice he said Gerrard was a tosser in his last answer. :greengrin
Qual e "tosser" in Italiano?
Ah, "tosser".

24-09-2020, 08:17 AM
Now he would be a statement of intent signing for Hibs:cb

24-09-2020, 08:51 AM

https://tribuna.com/en/realmadrid/news/2020-03-06-modric-slams-bales-critics-gareth-speaks-and-understands-spanish/

Bale Spanish thing is a myth.

24-09-2020, 08:56 AM
https://tribuna.com/en/realmadrid/news/2020-03-06-modric-slams-bales-critics-gareth-speaks-and-understands-spanish/

Bale Spanish thing is a myth.

His refusal to speak Spanish in public is not, and helped sour the mood between him and the fans.

30-08-2021, 08:22 PM
Liam was in Empolis winning team v Juventus this weekend, beat them 1-0 got the last ten minutes, one of their biggest wins ever:thumbsup:

Saint Hibee
23-09-2021, 10:31 AM
Played the whole 90 minutes in Empoli's victory last night. Establishing himself as a Serie A regular. Nice to see Aaron Hickey also doing well. Maybe there is life outside the Old Firm after all ...

23-09-2021, 10:44 AM
Played the whole 90 minutes in Empoli's victory last night. Establishing himself as a Serie A regular. Nice to see Aaron Hickey also doing well. Maybe there is life outside the Old Firm after all ...

Hit the bar from about 40 yards last night. Keeper was beaten all ends up.

Saint Hibee
23-09-2021, 11:02 AM

Just watched the highlights - that was some strike!

23-09-2021, 11:22 AM

Who do? Henderson or Hickey?

As the thread is about Henderson, I assume him, but it's not clear.

23-09-2021, 11:33 AM
Who do? Henderson or Hickey?

As the thread is about Henderson, I assume him, but it's not clear.

Henderson :aok:

https://youtu.be/qq96liyoqNo

2m15s

23-09-2021, 11:47 AM
Henderson :aok:

https://youtu.be/qq96liyoqNo

2m15s

:aok: "Henderson, Scottish midfielder, with what would have been goal of the season.............."