View Full Version : Players you've met on holiday

OxoHibby
27-05-2018, 02:19 PM
Just got back from sardinia and met Steven whittaker. He was there with Scott brown and families. Maybe he is tapping up broony for a return to er 😁

hibee
27-05-2018, 02:22 PM
Seen Tony Mowbray in one of the Disney water parks in Florida a few years ago.

27-05-2018, 02:29 PM
As it doesn't say Hibs players then Peter Beardsley in the same Manchester hotel I was staying in. He might have been with his agent prior to signing for Man City (1998). Got his autograph.

Matt Le Tissier on a sailing from Weymouth to Guernsey when I was returning home from Euro 96 and a quick visit to Edinburgh. Yes you've guessed...got his autograph too.

27-05-2018, 02:32 PM
Dick Campbell when boarding plane back from Teneriffe.:greengrin

27-05-2018, 02:37 PM
Souness in Spain perm speedo’s and a pile of females around him.My dad worked his dad. Sadly i was too you to join him

BlackSheep
27-05-2018, 02:37 PM
Peter Schmeichel and family about 20 years ago.... actually came friends with Kasper while we were on holiday, spent time with him and his family too.

Same holiday we met Justin Edinburgh and Coin Calderwood too, my dad spent most days at the pool chatting to them too.... nice guys.

27-05-2018, 02:41 PM
Peter Schmeichel and family about 20 years ago.... actually came friends with Kasper while we were on holiday, spent time with him and his family too.

Same holiday we met Justin Edinburgh and Coin Calderwood too, my dad spent most days at the pool chatting to them too.... nice guys.

Did you get a choice of sweets from CC

BlackSheep
27-05-2018, 02:48 PM
Did you get a choice of sweets from CC

Lol, I can't remember that far back..... Schmeichel was my favourite player at the time as I played in goals, so i remember all those details, Calderwood on the other hand was just a Spurs player to me back then :)

27-05-2018, 02:48 PM
Jim Weir ex hearts & St johnstone player sat beside me on flight to Turkey a couple of years back. It was his birthday & he offered me a slice of his cake which I declined, decent bloke, his Wife wasnae bad either 🤭

Bam
27-05-2018, 02:50 PM
Me and my pals went to Majorca in 2013 and met Sparky at the airport

27-05-2018, 02:59 PM
Met King Kenny at Glasgow Airport. At the time he and Sandy Jardine were in joint sponsorship deal cars etc. Jardine was a neighbour so I said to Kenny “sandy’s my neighbour.Kenny answered “a’ll no haud that against you son”

stu in nottingham
27-05-2018, 03:08 PM
Andy Townsend and family in Vancouver Airport.

27-05-2018, 03:15 PM
John Barnes on a flight from Australia back to Ireland

LustForLeith
27-05-2018, 03:19 PM
Just got back from sardinia and met Steven whittaker. He was there with Scott brown and families. Maybe he is tapping up broony for a return to er 😁

Still really good pals. Often spotted walking their dogs together.

27-05-2018, 03:25 PM
Kevin Thomson was on my flight on Thursday. Didn't speak to him, happy to let him get on with his holiday :greengrin

Green-Hibee-7
27-05-2018, 03:37 PM
Most high profile was Roy Keane in Orlando airport.

Full of British holiday makers and he looked as torn faced as he comes on the tv.

Needless to say no one approached him.

27-05-2018, 03:45 PM
Seen James Mcpake sitting alone at airport in Istanbul, went over to say hi as he was at Hibs at the time. His first words were I don't do autographs on a day off.. I didn't even want one! Headed to duty free instead.

27-05-2018, 03:52 PM
Seen James Mcpake sitting alone at airport in Istanbul, went over to say hi as he was at Hibs at the time. His first words were I don't do autographs on a day off.. I didn't even want one! Headed to duty free instead.

Most of his days were days off arrogant prick

dchibs
27-05-2018, 03:55 PM
Andy Walker was on the same flight to Malaga as me last Monday.

LithgaeHibby
27-05-2018, 04:02 PM
Met Mark Oxley in Berwick in 2015. He was at the market getting his messages and he was happy to do a pic with my son.

27-05-2018, 04:02 PM
Hope you told him you were a supporter of a provincial club which is how he refers to us on Sky Sports even although he has played for us and scored against the Jambos so should know better.

:not worth

27-05-2018, 04:03 PM

Did you ask him if he was ok with cup final scenes yet

27-05-2018, 04:07 PM
I met Neil Webb in Marbella when he had just joined Portsmouth. The whole team was there celebrating promotion. All good guys but Neil & Billy Rafferty, Scottish striker were top class.

27-05-2018, 04:09 PM
Steven Tweed and a few of the younger boys in Tenerife 1992

27-05-2018, 04:23 PM
Never met any player myself, but my grandson ( my avatar ) met JD in Malaga airport.

Souter96Mac
27-05-2018, 04:27 PM
Not on holiday.. But met Killen in tescos once, does that count?

27-05-2018, 04:28 PM
Owen Coyle in Florida.

27-05-2018, 04:33 PM
Not on holiday.. But met Killen in tescos once, does that count?

Did you pitch your sun bed up in the car park

27-05-2018, 04:34 PM
Dick Campbell when boarding plane back from Teneriffe.:greengrin
Oh and Harry Redknapp at Southampton airport, forgot about that, nice guy.

27-05-2018, 04:34 PM
Jay Spearing and David Wheater and their families were on the same flight back from Tenerife as me a couple of years ago during an international break when they were both at Bolton. The previous international break had seen Spearing pictured getting off his face in Ibiza so it’s fair to say this trip seemed a bit quieter!

27-05-2018, 04:41 PM
Never met any player myself, but my grandson ( my avatar ) met JD in Malaga airport.

Who JD ?

27-05-2018, 04:44 PM
Who JD ?

Jermain Defoe.

27-05-2018, 04:48 PM
I saw Michael McGovern ex Falkirk and Hamilton goalkeeper, and now with Norwich, in the same restaurant as me in Portugal a couple of years ago.

27-05-2018, 04:48 PM
Alex MacDonald - yip that one - in Puerta Del Carmen in Lazerotte in Feb 97. I was asking him why he was off mid season then remembered Airdrie had been emptied from the Cup. TBF he took that quite well...

27-05-2018, 04:51 PM
Met loads of players/managers on my travels

Biggest d**k of all was David Bentley. He sat in front of me on a flight back from Malaga 2 years ago, was on a golfing trip to Scotland. Plied the old couple beside him with drink, them made them sing. Turned round and tried to get the rest of the plane to sing as well
What a bellend

27-05-2018, 04:54 PM
Alex MacDonald - yip that one - in Puerta Del Carmen in Lazerotte in Feb 97. I was asking him why he was off mid season then remembered Airdrie had been emptied from the Cup. TBF he took that quite well...

I rented your brothers villa in santa ponsa

Ireallywasthere
27-05-2018, 04:57 PM
I met Dylan a few days ago here in Vilamoura

27-05-2018, 05:07 PM

Who's he signing for?

27-05-2018, 05:13 PM

Without a doubt the biggest bellend in football media , Absolutely hates hibs , And it shows

27-05-2018, 05:17 PM
Without a doubt the biggest bellend in football media , Absolutely hates hibs , And it shows

Did he criticise the pilot

27-05-2018, 05:23 PM

:confused::confused: To the best of my knowledge my brother doesn't own one anywhere.....

27-05-2018, 05:29 PM
:confused::confused: To the best of my knowledge my brother doesn't own one anywhere.....

Rented Jimmy’s villa about 1988/89 aldia baia(prob spelt wrong)

27-05-2018, 05:32 PM
Jermain Defoe.
Respect :not worth

Hope he doesn’t spoil all his good work by signing for Der Hun?

Ireallywasthere
27-05-2018, 05:35 PM
Who's he signing for?

I wished him all the best in his future career and he replied "don't know where I'm going yet"

OxoHibby
27-05-2018, 05:49 PM
Respect :not worth

Hope he doesn’t spoil all his good work by signing for Der Hun?

Let's hope he does and *****s their wages

27-05-2018, 05:58 PM

O'Rourke3, while he is obviously a JOR fan, is not his brother.
His response to another poster suggests so ;-)
But nice he likes Jimmy !
I fell out with Jimmy over a jar in the Corrie Inn,never mind comps. for Wembley;-)
Hard man to deal with !!

But yes, Jimmy did have a place in Santa Ponza many years ago.
One or two regulars on here that i am aware of,did stay there.
I never stayed there........ James charged too much !!
Got to get him back for that Scotsman interview
Sorry James !!

HGSP

PS

Any time you fancy the Clerry Inn for a jar ,give me a shout !!

27-05-2018, 06:01 PM

You should have got Leeann to email you over his contract, got him drunk and asked for his autograph. Job done.

27-05-2018, 06:01 PM
Half the England team in Ibiza the day after they got knocked out of Euro 2012. Andy Carroll, Raheem Sterling amongst others.

27-05-2018, 06:02 PM
O'Rourke3, while he is obviously a JOR fan, is not his brother.
But yes, Jimmy did have place in Santa Ponza many years ago.
One or two regulars on here that i am aware of,did stay there.
I never stayed there........ James charged too much !!

Oh sorry really thought o 3 was Jimmys brother anyway love wee jimmy

27-05-2018, 06:06 PM
Mick are you the fruit machine man

27-05-2018, 06:10 PM
Farid El Alagui doing Sciennes Primary summer fair yesterday.

Think he is currently without a club.

27-05-2018, 06:19 PM
Mick are you the fruit machine man

No
Jimmys brother in law did the one armed bandits and so did our cousin John Cresswell

Back in the day Tommy Younger was involved in the fruit machines in pubs.
So that may have been the connection

I did empty one armed bandits..... but i never got caught !!

27-05-2018, 06:27 PM
Loved Jimmy wee stan v wilson humphys John Fraser great peolpe and Tam mcniven

WHAM
27-05-2018, 06:28 PM
Met Arthur Numan and Bert Konterman in Monte Carlo on a stag 2 years ago during the euros. Both great guys and spent a good few hours drinking with us.

Mark Noble (West Ham) was also in the same place with his wife. Never spoke to him but one of the boys said he was pretty sound.

27-05-2018, 06:31 PM
Its a bit topical as Scotland are due to play Peru.
So you may have read recent articles about that infamous game/games in Argentina 1978
Willie Johnston got sent home on "drugs" charges.
Blooming Anti histamines for hay fever.
Anyway Willie "bud" Johnston played in the same Scotland youth team as Jimmy O'Rourke.
And they got on great during a tournament in France.

A number of years ago i was in his pub in Kirkcaldy and my mate told Willie my name.
He waxed lyrical about Jimmy and said he should have been capped for Scotland.
I thought that was nice and also genuine from Willie.
A real nice guy socially is Willie Johnston IMO
And he was a very good footballer.

Even if he is a H#n !!

PS

Players on holiday ;-)
I met Jackie Mac senior at Wetherspoons in Glasgow Airport a few years ago... If that counts !
Great socialist,great blether.
Wae both agreed wae hated Maggie T. more than we "disliked" rAngers oldco.
And that took some debating !!

Does Jackie love the Hi-bees ! ?;)

27-05-2018, 06:57 PM
Met Arthur Numan and Bert Konterman in Monte Carlo on a stag 2 years ago during the euros. Both great guys and spent a good few hours drinking with us.

Mark Noble (West Ham) was also in the same place with his wife. Never spoke to him but one of the boys said he was pretty sound.

I also met Bert Konterman in Portugal, ended up sharing a table with him for dinner. As you say, a sound guy. He'd been with Robin Van Persie who had gone home the night before. As Holland are in same boat as Scotland for this year's WC, I suspect I may see some more Dutch players in a couple of weeks!

Hulk1875
27-05-2018, 07:02 PM
Matty jack Düsseldorf signed my Fila top had few beers with him his wife and the locals

SON OF PADDY
27-05-2018, 07:15 PM
Owen Coyle in Florida.

Likewise very nice guy !
Was walking around a shopping mall with my boy's,when he came over to talk to them.
Told them it was good to see them wearing their Hibs top's 👍

JoeT
27-05-2018, 07:27 PM
Alex McLeish and Alan Stubbs. Jackie MacNamara snr and jr. And some big black guy that played for middlesbrough within a few days of each other. All in Albufeira about 20 years ago. McLeish was good fun, bought a few rounds, was Motherwell manager at the time. Alan Stubbs was with quite a big family. For someone that didn't drink much he was plastered trying to get the barmaid to pull me! Could hardly understand a word he said. Jackie snr was a gent. His wife nice. His boy a bit of a plum.....
Apparently I accosted a midddlesbrough player telling him how great he was but I dont remember.....too many beers

steelendhibs
27-05-2018, 07:45 PM
Sasa Papac on a flight from Edinburgh to Bratislava when travelling to the ill fated 4-6-0 game versus Czech Republic. It was a Ryanair flight as well. He must have been on around £10k a week....some folk are rich for a reason I guess!!

27-05-2018, 07:54 PM
Technically I wasn't oh holiday at the time as I was working there, but meet Vinnie Jones in a bar in Rhodes, he knew the guy who owned the bar I frequented. Decent enough guy to be fair.

27-05-2018, 07:59 PM
juan sebastian veron in Florida 2002.

27-05-2018, 08:11 PM
Its a bit topical as Scotland are due to play Peru.
So you may have read recent articles about that infamous game/games in Argentina 1978
Willie Johnston got sent home on "drugs" charges.
Blooming Anti histamines for hay fever.
Anyway Willie "bud" Johnston played in the same Scotland youth team as Jimmy O'Rourke.
And they got on great during a tournament in France.

A number of years ago i was in his pub in Kirkcaldy and my mate told Willie my name.
He waxed lyrical about Jimmy and said he should have been capped for Scotland.
I thought that was nice and also genuine from Willie.
A real nice guy socially is Willie Johnston IMO
And he was a very good footballer.

Even if he is a H#n !!

PS

Players on holiday ;-)
I met Jackie Mac senior at Wetherspoons in Glasgow Airport a few years ago... If that counts !
Great socialist,great blether.
Wae both agreed wae hated Maggie T. more than we "disliked" rAngers oldco.
And that took some debating !!

Does Jackie love the Hi-bees ! ?;)
Met Jackie MacNamara SNR in Witherspoon’s Glasgow Airport asked him to sign my book Lawrie Reillys biography he recommended Gordon Smiths biography another brilliant read that brings a tear to a glass eye.Jackie was totally brilliant great guy sits four seats along from me at ER and is passionate about the HIBS.

27-05-2018, 08:14 PM

what a twat

4WAW
27-05-2018, 08:15 PM
Was on a business trip to Serbia back in 2003, landed in Belgrade and went through baggage reclaim, then stood waiting outside the terminal building for my regular driver to pick me up. I noticed a lot of tv cameras and people milling about. Next thing a luxury coach turns up close to where I was standing and the Real Madrid team emerge from the terminal and stroll past, Ronaldo, Zidane, Figo, Beckham et al get on board the coach just a few metres away from me. I didn't manage to speak to any of them, but it was quite a sight.

dchibs
27-05-2018, 09:15 PM
Did you ask him if he was ok with cup final scenes yet

Felt like it, the funny thing was seeing that prick exactly two years exactly from that glorious day.

GoalsMcGinley
27-05-2018, 09:18 PM
Henrik Larsson on Monday afternoon in Edinburgh Airport.

BH Hibs
27-05-2018, 09:24 PM
Paul Sturrock was in the pub in Mallorca that my brother in law worked in when I was a young lad. He actually played as a ringer in a game against the English pub. He was actually quite good with the guys in the pub signing shirts his only request was that no one took photos of him playing coz McLean would’ve went of his nut and fined him.

27-05-2018, 11:55 PM
Met Jim Holton in Alassio while we were in Italy for the 1990 World Cup - great guy, spent a lot of his time at the Scotland training-camp getting the players comps from them and then coming back to Alassio and handing them out to Scotland fans for free !. Unlike the Dunfermline directors who were asking £30 for their comps - something that resulted in us being 'escorted' from their 5-star (paid by the SFA) hotel by armed-guards !

Also saw Stoichkov while on holiday in Bulgaria but didnt get the chance to speak or ask for his autograph - and finally, my namesake - Dixie Deans - of Celtic, Motherwell stood in the same queue as me at passport-control in Glasgow Airport !

Austinho
28-05-2018, 12:03 AM
Mid 90’s, by the pool in Menorca. Remember those footballs you could buy from Argos that attached to elastic and a belt so you practise your uppies without it flying all over the place? I was playing away and suddenly this man walking past absolutely belted it with a cheeky grin on his face. I think I may have been a wee bit upset I’d lost my rhythm!

Saw him later in the ice cream queue with my dad, and as he turned around realised it was actually Keith Keith Keith Wright. I was pretty starstruck, but my dad had a good blether with him.

G-Reg
28-05-2018, 07:10 AM
I met Kano and medals Mackay both in the Canaries and Tony Adams on a weekend trip to London right around the time he'd released his biography Addicted

Johibs
28-05-2018, 08:02 AM
I met Paul Scholes in a water park in Portugal. Stood for photos and signed my hat. Total gent.

28-05-2018, 08:13 AM
Was in the same hotel as Robbie Fowler and his family in Gran Canaria when he was at peak of career at Liverpool, was recovering from injury at the time.
Was a pleasant enough place, but not a luxury hotel where you'd expect to encounter a top class international football player.

28-05-2018, 08:18 AM
Bumped into the Real Betis team a few years ago leaving a hotel in Madrid, they were of to play Real Madrid, don't know any of the players though.

bournehibby
28-05-2018, 12:19 PM
Stayed in same hotel as Dave Mackay when he joined Swindon as manager c. 1971. Same year Bryan (pop) Robson when he joined West Ham - lovely guy, enjoyed a few light ales with him. Gazza on a flight to Frankfurt when with Spurs (top man). Around the same time, Denis Wise when he was with the "Crazy Gang" Stood in the queue for check in to Crete at LGW, was such a pleasant soft spoken guy.
Harry Redknapp from around 1972 to the current day. Always seeing him at various events etc.

Bh

TelaStella
28-05-2018, 12:22 PM
I was in Paris last year and bumped into Liam Henderson at Sacré-Coeur, he was sat right beside me couldn’t believe it. Was with his mrs so I just left him be.

28-05-2018, 01:48 PM
Denis Law played a hole ahead of us round Banchory golf club early 70s. I must have been 11 or 12. Brother and I were sittting outside the clubhouse having just finished our round with our old man who was inside getting the ginger beers when Denis walked past and said "How you doin' boys, aw right?". We must have looked like the two wee laddies from the ice-cream van skit in Chewin' The Fat. Had a wall in our bedroom plastered with cuttings and photos from the 3-2 Wembley win in '67 including the man himself scoring.

28-05-2018, 03:22 PM
Denis Law played a hole ahead of us round Banchory golf club early 70s. I must have been 11 or 12. Brother and I were sittting outside the clubhouse having just finished our round with our old man who was inside getting the ginger beers when Denis walked past and said "How you doin' boys, aw right?". We must have looked like the two wee laddies from the ice-cream van skit in Chewin' The Fat. Had a wall in our bedroom plastered with cuttings and photos from the 3-2 Wembley win in '67 including the man himself scoring.

Banchory was a lovely course back in those days

Much preferrred it then before they did those alterations

28-05-2018, 07:04 PM
Different sport, met Alex Hurricane Higgins in a pub in Corfu way back in 1987 when he was taking a break from the game - think he had been banned for a reason I can't recall now.

Had a good blether with him.

28-05-2018, 07:41 PM
I was in Accra in Ghana a few years back. We had our hotel reservation moved but were in the Golden Tulip hotel for the second day. The Workd Cup in South Africa was in its closing stages. To my surprise the Black Stars squad arrived. They were beaten in the quarter-final controversially after Luis Suarez ‘saved’ what would have been the winning goal in the last minute. Uruguay went on to win on penalties.

28-05-2018, 08:08 PM
Not me but my dad stayed in the same hotel as jim Goodwin, said he was a lovely guy.

28-05-2018, 09:29 PM
Can’t believe James Mcpake is going to be the ersehole on this whole thread

28-05-2018, 10:04 PM
Rio Ferdinand, Frank Lampard and Kieron Dyer in Ayia Napa 2000. They were humping everything 😂

Also met Steven Thomson at Rhodes Holiday Village a few years back. Sound lad.

Met Gary Locke in Magaluf twice. Twat!

29-05-2018, 01:38 AM
Tony Mowbray - with Mrs #1 in Florida
Willie Falconer - Florida
Ronnie Whelan - Turkey 2012
Kenny Dalglish - London 2004

Sweet Left Peg
29-05-2018, 03:56 AM
Seen Tony Mowbray in one of the Disney water parks in Florida a few years ago.

We were on the loungers next to Mick McCarthy and his family today at Blizzard Beach.

Gloucester Hibs
29-05-2018, 03:58 AM
The Cardiff City squad going through security at Cardiff airport about 10 years ago, Peter Ridsdale, Gavin Rae et al.
Currently got the Kyrgyzstan national squad staying at my hotel in Baku - starstruck much?!

29-05-2018, 05:13 AM
I have seen a quite a few famous people on my vacations but none of them have been soccer players - unless I went to see a game.

Auckland Hibs
29-05-2018, 07:21 AM
Can’t believe James Mcpake is going to be the ersehole on this whole thread

Not on holiday, but I met Dennis Wise in a boozer in Ealing, London - I had him picked as being a complete erse but he was an absolute gent.

James Mcpake wins!

Stokesy's on fire
29-05-2018, 07:32 AM

Shocked to read this as I spoke to him on twitter once and asked if he would sign my Hibs top for me at Inverness away and he met me off the team bus as agreed. signed my top and spoke away and he seemed a really decent bloke. He took the time to call other players over so i could get their signatures as well.

Stokesy's on fire
29-05-2018, 07:34 AM
Oh and I met Chris Reid former Hibs keeper in the dubliner in Copenhagan! Good lad him!

29-05-2018, 08:20 AM
Me and my pals went to Majorca in 2013 and met Sparky at the airport
Was he going around telling replica top wearing Huns ‘Yer teams deid mate!?