View Full Version : Happy 21st Of May.

20-05-2018, 11:23 PM
21/05/2016

The day Hibernian burst free from the chains and lifted the Scottish cup. Never will we have a feeling like it, so whatever your all doing Today, it’s a must you stick on Time For Heroes dvd sit back and just drink it in.

🏆 🇳🇬
WHEN THE HIBS WENT UP, TO LIFT THE SCOTTISH CUP I WAS THERE, I WAS THERE!!

20-05-2018, 11:44 PM
Absolutely mental that it's been 2 years! What a day, what a feeling!

The day life as a hibs fan changed forever. The monkey FINALLY off our back.

Never will I ever experience anything like that again. The absolute bedlham at Grays winner, the emotion, relief and sheer utter ecstasy at FT, the most moving SOL ever and the scenes at the parade the next day. Magical in every sense of the word. Every hibs fan before that day had dreamt of such things but the reality of it all was just more than anyone could have possibly imagined - totally mind blowing.

Everything about the day was perfect. The "Time For Heroes" banner at the start really set the tone of the day - it was our time to step forward and become heroes.

Best day of my life. I'll be having a few drinks and popping on Time for Heroes tomorrow night :flag:

21-05-2018, 12:09 AM
Happy 21st everyone

21-05-2018, 12:24 AM
:hyper

My old man
21-05-2018, 04:25 AM
Happy 21st everyone

Happy 21st everyone GGTTH
Happiest day of my life

Alfiembra
21-05-2018, 05:35 AM
Already sent my “Henderson to deliver” sound bite to my blue nose buddies at work. :flag:
Happy 21st everyone.

Time For Heroes
21-05-2018, 05:43 AM
2 Years, where has the time gone?!
It will forever be my football highlight, never to be beaten.
What a day!
Happy 21st of May everyone.

jax67
21-05-2018, 05:50 AM
Happy Anniversary everyone!!

21-05-2018, 06:11 AM
Happy 21st of May one and all

May your day be filled with 92 minute winners and exuberance

21-05-2018, 06:16 AM
Would do anything to relive that day and the following 3 days.

21-05-2018, 06:26 AM
The silence of the yams.

21-05-2018, 06:32 AM
Would do anything to relive that day and the following 3 days.

Would be great if we could

LustForLeith
21-05-2018, 06:42 AM
I could cry thinking about that day

gjb1875
21-05-2018, 06:52 AM
Still get emotional watching it what a day what a team what a club what a support. Wearing green today with a big smile on my face. This is how it feels to be HIBEES

sauzee=legend
21-05-2018, 06:56 AM
What’s so special about today.....?
All chat about 21 May - have I missed something here?
😉🤔🏆
All hibs fans should gather for a “picnic” at leith links 😉

lugz
21-05-2018, 07:08 AM
Just started watching videos on YouTube of that day and I'm away again. Nothing will ever come close to that feeling when Gray scored. Happy anniversary everyone

Garymcl
21-05-2018, 07:16 AM
Every hibby should wear at least a bit of green today to mark the anniversary I will be wearing my hibs top all day :greengrin:greengrin

21-05-2018, 07:27 AM
Would do anything to relive that day and the following 3 days.3 days ? More like 3 weeks for me 😆

21-05-2018, 07:38 AM
Every hibby should wear at least a bit of green today to mark the anniversary I will be wearing my hibs top all day :greengrin:greengrin

Had a much earlier start than usual today so wasn't really thinking about it as I was getting dressed but I must have known subconsciously as I'm wearing a Green & White t-shirt and Green & white trainers :greengrin

Happy 21st May :aok:

21-05-2018, 07:53 AM
Happy 21st!! I'm going to watch the highlights when I get home from work!

21-05-2018, 08:25 AM
http://www.alanrenniephotography.co.uk/210516?fpciidx=390

21-05-2018, 08:37 AM
Happy Sir David Gray Day everyone

21-05-2018, 08:55 AM
Happy anniversary everyone.

Hope we can do it all again before too long.

:nlgwa:

21-05-2018, 09:04 AM
My daughter was conceived a year ago today.

I'm planning to keep the celebrations a little bit more low-key this year.

21-05-2018, 09:23 AM
My daughter was conceived a year ago today.

I'm planning to keep the celebrations a little bit more low-key this year.

By yourself are you?

21-05-2018, 09:40 AM
Only 112 years till the next one! :greengrin

21-05-2018, 09:42 AM
Would do anything to relive that day and the following 3 days.Me too just a magical time to be a Hibee...Happy Hibee 21 May everyone

andybev1
21-05-2018, 09:58 AM
After watching the Halliday goal once again, there is one thing I have never understood and wondered Why there is a song about him when after he scores the rest of the gers are all celebrrating and Miller - who I think deserves the song - does the patronising thing of pointing someone out in the crowd as if Haliday is a kid and Miller is poiting out his parents.
To me, Halliday is the only one who is geturing as if to say calm down, we have not won this yet. I think he acted the least 'annoying'.
ps. I was there and it was GREAT!

21-05-2018, 10:04 AM
After watching the Halliday goal once again, there is one thing I have never understood and wondered Why there is a song about him when after he scores the rest of the gers are all celebrrating and Miller - who I think deserves the song - does the patronising thing of pointing someone out in the crowd as if Haliday is a kid and Miller is poiting out his parents.
To me, Halliday is the only one who is geturing as if to say calm down, we have not won this yet. I think he acted the least 'annoying'.
ps. I was there and it was GREAT!

I think he was being a patronising bassa by doing the calm down gesture as if to indicate that that was the game won, pity him and his mates donald ducked it up! :-)

andybev1
21-05-2018, 12:09 PM
I think he was being a patronising bassa by doing the calm down gesture as if to indicate that that was the game won, pity him and his mates donald ducked it up! :-)

even though I may not have understood it, I did partake in a verse or two :greengrin:wink:

21-05-2018, 12:24 PM
What a day! 🇳🇬🇳🇬🇳🇬🇳🇬🇳🇬
Can’t believe it’s two years! 🇳🇬🇳🇬🇳🇬🇳🇬🇳🇬
Let’s have a repeat soon! 🇳🇬🇳🇬🇳🇬🇳🇬🇳🇬🇳🇬

21-05-2018, 12:35 PM
Many Happy Returns

I hope!

p.s. If it weren't for that day, I very much doubt we would just have had a season where we had an average attendance of 18k, so it's benefited us in lots of ways.

Ell_Chrisso
21-05-2018, 12:43 PM
We were there 🇳🇬🏆

21-05-2018, 12:46 PM
Only 112 years till the next one! :greengrin

Yeah, but I've already booked that day off. :wink:

Happy anniversary.

21-05-2018, 12:48 PM
It's not the goals and players that set me off anymore, more the crowd close-ups. Everyone caught on camera feels like a best pal now, could tell you exactly how so many people celebrated the winner whilst having no idea what I did myself.

One newish thing I've seen is when Gray's about to be given the trophy and seems to ask Stevenson if he wants to lift it with him. Lewis looks like he doesn't have a scoob what is going on.

21-05-2018, 12:49 PM
http://www.alanrenniephotography.co.uk/210516?fpciidx=390

Some excellent pictures in that link.

21-05-2018, 01:00 PM
Without doubt the best day of my 55 years of supporting Hibs. There’s been some that come close, nearly, but 21/5/16 topped them all and it’s hard to imagine anything being better.

We’ll see. 😜😜 GGTTH

21-05-2018, 01:40 PM
Without doubt the best day of my 55 years of supporting Hibs. There’s been some that come close, nearly, but 21/5/16 topped them all and it’s hard to imagine anything being better.

We’ll see. 😜😜 GGTTH

I'm similar age and length of time as Hibs supporter as you and I agree it's unlikely to be beaten.

I watch youtube clips most nights at bedtime and sometimes the BBC or Sky Saturday night highlights that I have downloaded onto my hard drive.

Wouldn't mind downloading some of the youtube clips onto my hard drive as well but don't know how to.

Favourite ones are Goals from cup run set to music by Biffy Clyro (Hibee warrior), 114 documentary thing that lasts about 20 minutes that includes the great phrase "Hearts throbbers", a compilation of all the official William Hill highlights from each round by Grant 1875 and too many others to mention on here. Best one is rendition of Sunshine of Leith from South upper not far from where I was sitting so pretty much the same view as I had.

What a day.

21-05-2018, 01:48 PM
Time for Heroes

Logan
McGregor
Hanlon
Fontaine
Gray
Fyvie
McGeouch
McGinn
Stevenson
Stokes
Cummings

Keatings 65'
Henderson 70'
Gunnarsson 83'

Alan Stubbs (Mgr)

21-05-2018, 01:51 PM
I'm similar age and length of time as Hibs supporter as you and I agree it's unlikely to be beaten.

I watch youtube clips most nights at bedtime and sometimes the BBC or Sky Saturday night highlights that I have downloaded onto my hard drive.

Wouldn't mind downloading some of the youtube clips onto my hard drive as well but don't know how to.

Favourite ones are Goals from cup run set to music by Biffy Clyro (Hibee warrior), 114 documentary thing that lasts about 20 minutes that includes the great phrase "Hearts throbbers", a compilation of all the official William Hill highlights from each round by Grant 1875 and too many others to mention on here. Best one is rendition of Sunshine of Leith from South upper not far from where I was sitting so pretty much the same view as I had.

What a day.

https://www.techradar.com/news/the-best-free-youtube-downloader

21-05-2018, 02:30 PM

21-05-2018, 02:38 PM

Cold beer time for heroes ,beer tears, repeat

21-05-2018, 03:55 PM
They've only gone and done it................

21-05-2018, 05:02 PM
such an amazing day, dont think any cup game will top that one for me now

biggineurope
21-05-2018, 05:46 PM
exactly

ValleyHibee
21-05-2018, 05:47 PM
Couldn't sleep and for some reason looked at the team that won in 1902,they had a right back with the name of Gray,omen or what ? that was it I KNEW we would win. An INCREDIBLE day that will never be forgotten,won a few hundred quid as well.

Hannah_hfc
21-05-2018, 05:48 PM
Till today I’ve always held off watching the dvd, partly due to the fear of emotional it will make me and just never feeling it’s the right moment to watch it

Halfway through it now where we’ve just drawn at Tynecastle and I’m raging I haven’t watched it previously. Tremendous stuff. Tissues out for when it gets to the final

21-05-2018, 06:00 PM
Halfway through it now where we’ve just drawn at Tynecastle and I’m raging I haven’t watched it previously.

It's important that we never forget the role Hearts played in our Scottish Cup success. Pleasing.

21-05-2018, 06:12 PM
It's important that we never forget the role Hearts played in our Scottish Cup success. Pleasing.

2 up, 2 confident, 2 be sure, 2 late, 2 bad, 2-da-loo :bye: :partyhibb :flag:

21-05-2018, 06:15 PM
Till today I’ve always held off watching the dvd, partly due to the fear of emotional it will make me and just never feeling it’s the right moment to watch it

Halfway through it now where we’ve just drawn at Tynecastle and I’m raging I haven’t watched it previously. Tremendous stuff. Tissues out for when it gets to the final

It took me ages to watch it as well. I kept bringing it out and then putting it away again. It really is a brilliant production. Loads of these type of videos can be good, but a bit amateurish. Time for heroes isn’t one of them, it’s brilliant in every way.

21-05-2018, 06:16 PM
Typing this with one hand...

Ilovehibs
21-05-2018, 06:18 PM
Couldn't sleep and for some reason looked at the team that won in 1902,they had a right back with the name of Gray,omen or what ? that was it I KNEW we would win. An INCREDIBLE day that will never be forgotten,won a few hundred quid as well.

Archie Gray I think and seem to recall Sir David had a son born not too long after the cup final whom he named Archie.
If correct, what a story for wee Archie's future!

What a beautiful sunny day to celebrate 21/5 today.
When the Hibs went up to lift the Scottish Cup we were there...a day that will live with me forever.

21-05-2018, 06:20 PM
Typing this with one hand...
Legend :greengrin

Hibby Gav
21-05-2018, 06:21 PM
Cold beer time for heroes ,beer tears, repeat

Couldnt put put it better myself....that’s tonight sorted !

:gwa:

21-05-2018, 06:25 PM

What a day.

I was in South Upper as well and not far from where that video was taken, although I can’t see myself in it. :rolleyes::rolleyes:

Someone else has suggested a piece of software to download the YouTube videos. That is an option but a possible easier way is to use a Firefox browser add-on (either “VideoDownloadHelper” or “Download Flash & Video” or both) which once added to your browser just sits there in the background and is only activated when you want it to. All you then need to do is search for the YT videos you want and click on the add-on button in your browser. It gives several different format types to choose from. You just pick the one you want, click download, choose a folder to save it and your PC/Laptop does the rest. Once you’ve got them saved, you could transfer on to a USB stick and you have 21/5/16 in your pocket at all times!!!:greengrin:greengrin

21-05-2018, 06:29 PM
I’m reminded of the great day every time my phone rings(not that I need reminding) I’ve got the commentary of the winning goal as my ring tone.

21-05-2018, 06:33 PM
I’m reminded of the great day every time my phone rings(not that I need reminding) I’ve got the commentary of the winning goal as my ring tone.

Snap!! :thumbsup:

pontius pilate
21-05-2018, 06:39 PM
Watched a shed load of you tube videos and the full match again today. I really must stop chopping onions when doing it. I never went that day I was sickened with going to Hampden and watch us fall at the last hurdle I watched it in the house. Gutted is an understatement

21-05-2018, 06:40 PM
The day itself and of course the day after at the parade were just incrediable days but look how much it's done for the club since then. Not just financial wise but pride wise, support wise, feel good factor wise.

It's played a massive part in where we are today and was the crux of our recovery as a club.

21-05-2018, 07:32 PM
Time for heroic replay at ER: just had to look up who our #21 was.

Danny Carmichael - you’re part of history! :greengrin

21-05-2018, 07:36 PM
It changed our club forever #GGTTH

21-05-2018, 07:39 PM
How the **** did we find Conrad?

21-05-2018, 07:41 PM
****** Panenka - wtf?!??!!!

21-05-2018, 07:44 PM

Brace yourself, it's about to get very emotional!

21-05-2018, 07:46 PM
Farid now - forgot he was still with us.

21-05-2018, 07:46 PM

100%. They bottled a 2 goal lead at home with just 10 mins left. It hurts them deeply that had they just held on a few more minutes they would still have all their 1902, 114 years, big team big cup patter, a massive massive thing they had over us.

In the same season they came up with the whole "hibs'd it" *****, they made a monumental cock up that will haunt them forvever.

21-05-2018, 07:58 PM

How. Do. I. Get/Do. That?

Please hurry.

21-05-2018, 07:59 PM
How. Do. I. Get/Do. That?

Please hurry.
Have you got an iPhone?

21-05-2018, 07:59 PM
Have you got an iPhone?

Yes :hyper

21-05-2018, 08:02 PM
We could win the Champions league and it wouldn't top that day.

21-05-2018, 08:02 PM
Yes :hyper
I’ve got the file. You have to save it to iTunes and then you just transfer it to your phone. If you pm me an email address I can send it to you.

21-05-2018, 08:03 PM
We could win the Champions league and it wouldn't top that day.

Ridiculously, that is actually true.

21-05-2018, 08:07 PM
I’ve got the file. You have to save it to iTunes and then you just transfer it to your phone. If you pm me an email address I can send it to you.

Ta. Will do.

21-05-2018, 08:08 PM
take your best orgasm, multiply the feeling by twenty, and you're still effn miles off the pace

21-05-2018, 08:10 PM
Ta. Will do.
If there’s a way to post the file from my email onto here I would do that, but that’s out with my skill level.

21-05-2018, 08:11 PM
Stubbsy - put that coffee down, you don’t want to be caught short!

21-05-2018, 08:12 PM
If there’s a way to post the file from my email onto here I would do that, but that’s out with my skill level.

Stick it on google drive and post the link here.

21-05-2018, 08:19 PM
Diddy Doddy MacDonald - pointing to cup then Huns in typical arrogant, entitled, Hun prick manner. GIRFUY!

21-05-2018, 08:20 PM
Stick it on google drive and post the link here.
https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B4WEyo35zrkvZm5adjVOSXFxRmhubnljeU8yNGMzN GZfTGFJ

21-05-2018, 08:21 PM
https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B4WEyo35zrkvZm5adjVOSXFxRmhubnljeU8yNGMzN GZfTGFJ
I’m not sure that’s any good for apple users though.

21-05-2018, 08:22 PM
I’m not sure that’s any good for apple users though.

Don’t have permission , have sent you a request.

21-05-2018, 08:22 PM
Don’t have permission , have sent you a request.
I’ve accepted it

21-05-2018, 08:24 PM
I’ve accepted it

Cheers!

21-05-2018, 08:28 PM
1-0! When that went in it was the first time I remotely thought we had a chance. :greengrin

21-05-2018, 08:32 PM
1-1, their first attack. Spawny ****s.

21-05-2018, 08:40 PM
1-2, may as well put this off now. :-(

21-05-2018, 08:45 PM
Rod’s in tears!

21-05-2018, 08:45 PM
Not giving up on their shot at glory yet!

21-05-2018, 08:51 PM
It’s me! Forgot I’m in this.

21-05-2018, 08:53 PM
Standing on the brink of history!

(can’t believe AWalker parrots that line btw)

21-05-2018, 08:55 PM
Hibs co-commentary: “no danger!” ****** brilliant!

21-05-2018, 09:04 PM
20 quid on the green and white of Wolfsburg, happy days!

WestCoastHibby
21-05-2018, 09:04 PM
The grey haired balding guy with the vintage top jumping with his arms straight in the air. Smiling like a ten year old that got all the sweeties.
Makes me smile every time I see him on the video.
Exhuberance

21-05-2018, 09:11 PM

Me too. Scares the crepe out of people when it goes off.

21-05-2018, 09:13 PM
Watching Time For Heros just now...it is such a well-made account of our run to the cup. Just brilliant.

21-05-2018, 09:17 PM
Watching Time For Heros just now...it is such a well-made account of our run to the cup. Just brilliant.

It really is. So glad the club took the time to make it so special.

21-05-2018, 09:37 PM
The grey haired balding guy with the vintage top jumping with his arms straight in the air. Smiling like a ten year old that got all the sweeties.
Exhuberance

The three guys to the bottom left of him crack me up. One in the middle looks like he's about to spontaneously combust.

Hannah_hfc
21-05-2018, 09:40 PM
Just finished the dvd, tears were had. Absolutely amazing

21-05-2018, 09:40 PM
My plan was to watch time for heroes tonight, but I recently got a new tv and it doesn’t have a scart socket to connect to my DVD player. I’m relying on jms for updates :greengrin

hibbydog
21-05-2018, 09:45 PM
Exhuberance

Aye that’s brilliant. Between that and the guy with the Wee girl jumping up at the equaliser, awesome scenes.

And there’s a guy on a YouTube clip of the winner - can’t even bring himself to celebrate. Just sits down with his head in his hands. Struggling to take it all in.

I’m now jumping around the living room by the way

21-05-2018, 09:52 PM
My plan was to watch time for heroes tonight, but I recently got a new tv and it doesn’t have a scart socket to connect to my DVD player. I’m relying on jms for updates :greengrin

Sorry. We’re at the parade now.

Sunshine on Leith at Hampden was just magic. There are lots of moments I clearly remember from the day but if I close my eyes, I can see the sun shining on my tartan scarf above my head and feel the lump in my throat again.

21-05-2018, 09:57 PM
I’m reminded of the great day every time my phone rings(not that I need reminding) I’ve got the commentary of the winning goal as my ring tone.I need this...how do you get this??

21-05-2018, 09:58 PM
Great commentary on this link

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7VXNKlu3Is4

21-05-2018, 09:58 PM
Aye that’s brilliant. Between that and the guy with the Wee girl jumping up at the equaliser, awesome scenes.

And there’s a guy on a YouTube clip of the winner - can’t even bring himself to celebrate. Just sits down with his head in his hands. Struggling to take it all in.

I’m now jumping around the living room by the way

The YouTube clip...You got a link? That's exactly what I did.....

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk

21-05-2018, 10:00 PM
Sorry. We’re at the parade now.

Sunshine on Leith at Hampden was just magic. There are lots of moments I clearly remember from the day but if I close my eyes, I can see the sun shining on my tartan scarf above my head and feel the lump in my throat again.
Fabulous.
I actually consider the Sunday after the cup win to be as just a good day as the Saturday. Two magical days that will never leave me.

21-05-2018, 10:03 PM
I need this...how do you get this??

I had it, but my phone had to get repaired so it was wiped.

I'd like it back. 🇳🇬

21-05-2018, 10:05 PM
I need this...how do you get this??

I posted a link further back in the thread. If you have an iPhone you need a file. I can only send this via email. It was someone on here that sent it to me so I don’t know if there’s another way of doing it.
pm me with an email address if you need the file.

21-05-2018, 10:06 PM
I had it, but my phone had to get repaired so it was wiped.

I'd like it back. 🇳🇬
Apple or android?

21-05-2018, 10:07 PM
Me too. Scares the crepe out of people when it goes off.

😂😂

That's what used to happen to me when I had it.

Anyone got a copy for Android.

21-05-2018, 10:07 PM
I posted a link further back in the thread. If you have an iPhone you need a file. I can only send this via email. It was someone on here that sent it to me so I don’t know if there’s another way of doing it.
pm me with an email address if you need the file.Pm'd u thanks

21-05-2018, 10:08 PM
Apple or android?

Android

21-05-2018, 10:08 PM
Great commentary on this link

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7VXNKlu3Is4

Love it. 👍🏼

Hibby Gav
21-05-2018, 10:26 PM
pm me with an email address if you need the file.

Hope me you don’t mind.... I’ve sent you a pm with an email address 😉

hibbydog
21-05-2018, 10:33 PM
The YouTube clip...You got a link? That's exactly what I did.....

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk

About 1minute 12s into this magnificent thing of beauty

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=ZrtYbJqenhA

21-05-2018, 10:35 PM
Was a fantastic day, can't wait for the next one!

21-05-2018, 10:41 PM
Android
I posted a link earlier in the thread that should work for you. It’s only on apple that it becomes more complicated.

22-05-2018, 12:20 AM
Amazing day. Cannot watch any of that back without shedding a tear. David Gray's winner is not a goal, it's a work of art.

Blessed to be there and be part of history :thumbsup: