View Full Version : Hibernian FC European Tour 2018

19-05-2018, 02:32 PM
Who can we get and when is the draw?

19-05-2018, 02:34 PM
Draw is 21st of June.

Ties 12th and 19th July.

1st leg away to a team in Northern Ireland would be interesting.

19-05-2018, 02:59 PM
Would love a Welsh team if possible. Save the cash for an away trip in the next round and get as many hibbys down to Wales as possible

19-05-2018, 03:00 PM
AC Milan in round 2 would be great.

19-05-2018, 03:00 PM
Would love a Welsh team if possible. Save the cash for an away trip in the next round and get as many hibbys down to Wales as possible

19-05-2018, 03:02 PM
Draw is 21st of June.

Ties 12th and 19th July.

Neil Lennon at Linfield could be fun.

19-05-2018, 03:05 PM
Can we play Hibernians?

That would be an occasion.

TAHibby
19-05-2018, 03:08 PM

That would be cracking. The boys of the Leith San Siro heading to the er.. San Siro

19-05-2018, 03:12 PM
We better get through this round as I am in South East Asia for both games, always seem to miss Euro games by being on holiday.

19-05-2018, 03:41 PM
Neil Lennon at Linfield could be fun.

Linfield aren't in it. The 3 NI sides are Coleraine, Glenavon & Cliftonville with Derry City, Dundalk & Shamrock Rovers representing ROI.

19-05-2018, 03:50 PM
en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/2018–19_UEFA_Europa_League

List of teams there we could get.

Lech poznan would be good

Souter96Mac
19-05-2018, 03:55 PM
Get in, I've had holidays for the ties booked off for work for months.

19-05-2018, 03:56 PM
en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/2018–19_UEFA_Europa_League

List of teams there we could get.

Lech poznan would be good

There is still a chance we could be seeded

19-05-2018, 03:57 PM

How would that come about?

KazHibby
19-05-2018, 04:00 PM

ey and I've just left Milan after a year living there!

Mind u nae probs wi tickets!

19-05-2018, 04:02 PM
Updated already😄

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/2018–19_UEFA_Europa_League

19-05-2018, 04:05 PM

It's to do with coefficient.

There are a list of seeds and a list of non seeds.

However the bottom seven seeds and the top seven non seeds have still to be determined as not all teams have qualified as yet. It will be touch and go I think.

Rangers have a figure of 3.725 and are seeded, I think we should have a similar coefficient.

19-05-2018, 04:07 PM

However the bottom seven seeds and the top seven non seeds have still to be determined as not all teams have qualified as yet. It will be touch and go I think.

Thanks. That would be a belter if we managed that.

HibeeHibernian4
19-05-2018, 04:08 PM

We are very likely to be seeded. With a coefficient of 3.725, we are currently 24th= best of the teams in the 1st Qualifying Round. As there are 94 teams involved, I am assuming that as long as we are in the top 47, we will be seeded? I'm not 100% familiar on the rules, but that seems likely to me.

19-05-2018, 04:10 PM

Rangers have a figure of 3.725 and are seeded, I think we should have a similar coefficient.

We have the same.

19-05-2018, 04:12 PM
We are very likely to be seeded. With a coefficient of 3.725, we are currently 24th= best of the teams in the 1st Qualifying Round. As there are 94 teams involved, I am assuming that as long as we are in the top 47, we will be seeded? I'm not 100% familiar on the rules, but that seems likely to me.

We don’t know the coefficient of the teams who haven’t qualified yet do we?

burtis97
19-05-2018, 04:14 PM
I'm sure a few people have said we will be seeded in this draw can anyone confirm? If so does this mean the second leg will be on the 19th at ER? With the away on the 12th?

19-05-2018, 04:15 PM
When do English teams enter?

19-05-2018, 04:15 PM
Does being seeded or not determine the order of the home/away legs? Or can it still be either way around?

HibeeHibernian4
19-05-2018, 04:16 PM
We don’t know the coefficient of the teams who haven’t qualified yet do we?

When I have a spare moment, I will check them, they're all online. I knew Hibs' was 3.725 before we were 'confirmed' as having qualified today.

There are also only 25 places left to be confirmed in the first round, so unless all 25 teams (or 23/24 at a push) who qualify have a better coefficient than us, then we will be seeded. Given that some of the places still up for grabs include the Luxembourg Cup winners, the Montenegrin third place team and the third or fourth placed team in Albania, I think we'll be fine.

guthrie01
19-05-2018, 04:17 PM
When do English teams enter?

Burnley are in the second round

19-05-2018, 04:19 PM
Does being seeded or not determine the order of the home/away legs? Or can it still be either way around?

Nope, home 1st against Brondby, and away 1st v Malmo, suggest that it’s all in the draw

19-05-2018, 04:20 PM
sevco have asked uefa if they can change their tie on the 12th july as all their fans will be too busy marching, wearing silly aprons and bowler hats, whilst spewing their sectarian filth and drinking out of bottles of buckfast

davhibby
19-05-2018, 04:22 PM
We'll be seeded in the first round, but not for the second. Draw takes placs at the same time for both. Some big names in the second round

19-05-2018, 04:24 PM
I love this thread!

19-05-2018, 04:26 PM
Updated already😄

That's a mess... and I haven't had a drink or smoke yet :greengrin

19-05-2018, 04:29 PM
If we have a coefficient of 3.725 then we will 100% be seeded in the first round draw.

Equally certain if we get through then we will not be seeded in the next round.

19-05-2018, 04:30 PM
I've already put this on the other thread, but anyway....

Cliftonville with the first leg to be played away.... on the 12th July

19-05-2018, 04:30 PM
That's a mess... and I haven't had a drink or smoke yet :greengrin

Dynamo Brest (teehee) could be an interesting team to draw, think they’ve just appointed Diego Maradona as manager.

19-05-2018, 04:31 PM

This would be amazing. Almost a home game for me.

19-05-2018, 04:34 PM
Would be amazing to get something similar to Copenhagen.
Just great for the club to be back in Europe even if past few times have been bit painful.

19-05-2018, 04:42 PM
Seeded teams do not necessarily get the second leg at home. It's a random draw.

19-05-2018, 04:44 PM
If we do get through to the next round, I'd like us to be drawn against Lask Linz or Admira Wacker please.

I fancy a wee holiday in Austria

yonder1875
19-05-2018, 04:59 PM
Would love a trip to Ireland.

19-05-2018, 05:04 PM
Burnley are in the second round

That would be great

19-05-2018, 05:10 PM
I've already put this on the other thread, but anyway....

Cliftonville with the first leg to be played away.... on the 12th July

I reckon their fans will be glad of the distraction that day as well.

19-05-2018, 05:15 PM
Some glory ties there but just gees the easiest route to the group stages as poss please.

McrHibee
19-05-2018, 05:19 PM
I'm going for Connah's Quay, with away leg to be played at Wrexham's Racecourse ground... purely for the fact I used to cover them for the local paper many years ago, though Cliftonville or any of the Irish clubs would be good uns and easy enough to get to.

19-05-2018, 05:22 PM
Welsh team would be great. I'm in Wales on the 19th 😂

Eaststandee
19-05-2018, 05:22 PM
I'll take the easiest teams possible, participating in two qualifying stages is around 500k of prize money.

Ich liebe Deek
19-05-2018, 05:31 PM
Want a lithuanian team as I will be there in July anyway.

19-05-2018, 05:31 PM
Draw is 21st of June.

Ties 12th and 19th July.

Draw is on 19th June according to UEFA website. 2nd Qual round draw done at the same time.

1st Qual Round Matches to be played 12th & 19th July.

Stranraer
19-05-2018, 05:35 PM
Draw is 21st of June.

Ties 12th and 19th July.

That would be ideal for me. Hopefully not Linfield though.

19-05-2018, 05:43 PM
That would be ideal for me. Hopefully not Linfield though.

Linfield aren't in it.

19-05-2018, 05:47 PM
Updated already😄

Aberdeen could get some really great draws

19-05-2018, 05:47 PM
According to EEN we will be away on 12th and home on 19th??

19-05-2018, 05:54 PM

They can't possibly know that.

19-05-2018, 05:55 PM

The Sun seemed to be clued up on this Europe thing.:greengrin I’ll wait till they tell me.

19-05-2018, 05:56 PM
Are Linfield in it?

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk

19-05-2018, 05:57 PM
Are their any Russian teams in this early? That's the last thing we want

19-05-2018, 05:58 PM
Are Linfield in it?

Think they needed Motherwell to win today to qualify

19-05-2018, 05:58 PM
Really hope we have done enough business to give us a chance of fielding a strong enough team to actually compete and try to do something in the competition.

Remember going to Malmo and Rowan Vine being up front on his own with Danny Handling on the right wing. In saying that, things never got much better that season.

19-05-2018, 05:59 PM
Think they needed Motherwell to win today to qualifyDid you read that in the Sun? They'll know

one day maybe...
19-05-2018, 06:31 PM
Rangers v Lech Poznań 🇵🇱 would be lovely

19-05-2018, 06:45 PM
Anywhere but Scandinavia

19-05-2018, 06:46 PM
Really hoping for home tie on 12th as I'll be away on holiday afterwards

AZhibee
19-05-2018, 06:48 PM
Still holding out hope for draw v LA Galaxy or LAFC, but would accept Real Salt Lake, San Jose, or Colorado. 😁

19-05-2018, 06:51 PM
Still holding out hope for draw v LA Galaxy or LAFC, but would accept Real Salt Lake, San Jose, or Colorado. 😁

I'd just be happy with Linfield, when do they enter the draw?

19-05-2018, 06:53 PM
It doesn't matter who we get as it will still be the same distance from my house to Easter Road Stadium. :whistle:

one day maybe...
19-05-2018, 07:05 PM

19-05-2018, 07:11 PM

They’ll both be seeded.

19-05-2018, 07:12 PM

Excuse my ignorance but why?

What’s the significance with those two?

19-05-2018, 07:16 PM
Does anybody have a list of our possible known opponents up to this point?

On the presumption that we are a long shot to make the group stages, a nice wee away trip to somewhere close .. ish that we can get through would be great, followed by being drawn against Burnley ..... an away trip to an EPL club would be a riot, in the nicest possible way of course :greengrin

19-05-2018, 07:18 PM

On the presumption that we are a long shot to make the group stages, a nice wee away trip to somewhere close .. ish that we can get through would be great, followed by being drawn against Burnley ..... an away trip to an EPL club would be a riot, in the nicest possible way of course :greengrin

I think we won’t know possible opponents until we know if we’re seeded or not which may take a week or two as we wait for all league campaigns to finish

19-05-2018, 07:22 PM
I'd just be happy with Linfield, when do they enter the draw?

See separate thread. They didn't qualify!

19-05-2018, 07:39 PM
already looking forward to us playing in the final on 29th may 2019, i don't fancy travelling to Azerbaijan though, will it be live on the tellybox ?

:)

19-05-2018, 07:42 PM
Have Brondby qualified again?

I’d like another bash at them with a proper keeper in the first leg this time.

WestStandhibee
19-05-2018, 07:42 PM
Shamrock rovers in Dublin is the dream draw for me :thumbsup::thumbsup:

19-05-2018, 07:43 PM
Really hoping for home tie on 12th as I'll be away on holiday afterwards

Likewise. However I’m at the Royal Intertional Air Tattoo with the kids over the weekend of the 14th so away second leg would yo-yo me fine.

Unless it was away against an English or Welsh team, I could make that first leg away.

HibeeHibernian4
19-05-2018, 07:45 PM

According to an Aberdeen forum, every (confirmed) team from Cliftonville down on this list will be unseeded:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2018%E2%80%9319_UEFA_Europa_League#First_qualifyin g_round

Then there will be the 7 winners of the Preliminary Round, all of whom will be unseeded too.

Out of the 21 Europa League places that are still up for grabs, it's hard to know exactly who's going to be seeded and who won't be, a general rule of thumb is that the teams further down that list are less likely to be, but we'll know better once the list if finalised in the next week or so.

19-05-2018, 07:45 PM
already looking forward to us playing in the final on 29th may 2019, i don't fancy travelling to Azerbaijan though, will it be live on the tellybox ?

:)
Don't know about TV coverage, but I have a hunch we'll be facing Linfield in the final.

LustForLeith
19-05-2018, 07:48 PM
Are there any Irish bars in Linfield

one day maybe...
Excuse my ignorance but why?

What’s the significance with those two?

Got pretty hostile fans who’d not entertain any of their crap lightly.

Have Brondby qualified again?

I’d like another bash at them with a proper keeper in the first leg this time.

yep, they enter at 3rd qualifying round

LustForLeith
19-05-2018, 07:52 PM
Hoping we get a Luxembourg team as one of my mates lives there. He’s actually part of a team who are playing in their first ever cup final. Can imagine asking if he he can put up about 50 Hibs fans in his house!

19-05-2018, 07:53 PM
High quality game in ligue1 tonight, Lyon 0 Nice 1. If it stays the same Nice finish 6th and enter at 2nd round, Lyon will drop to 4th and we'd just have to pump them in the group stage :greengrin. Nice would be a dream trip.

Marseille and Monaco straight into the Chumpions League group stages as it stands.

19-05-2018, 07:55 PM
Don't know about TV coverage, but I have a hunch we'll be facing Linfield in the final.

19-05-2018, 08:16 PM

If we are seeded we could be facing the likes of Coleraine, Glenavon, Derry City, Shamrock Rovers, Connah's Quay Nomads or even Progres Niederkorn! :greengrin

19-05-2018, 08:17 PM
Hibs are on the Lilows
Hearts are on the giros
Na Na Na Na
Na Na Na Na

19-05-2018, 08:30 PM
Maybe wishful thinking but hopefully it encourages players like Barker and Allan to stay. They aren't likely going to get a shot at European football elsewhere next year, it would be a good bit of experience for them.

19-05-2018, 08:37 PM
Maybe wishful thinking but hopefully it encourages players like Barker and Allan to stay. They aren't likely going to get a shot at European football elsewhere next year, it would be a good bit of experience for them.

Now if only Motherwell had won today eh? :rolleyes:

FT'J'Bo's
19-05-2018, 08:41 PM
Tell all the hearts you know, we're going to europe and their no!
We've beaten their boys by a huge 18 points!
And we're going to europe and they're no..... :agree:

19-05-2018, 08:45 PM
Massive turnaround, Memphis Depay second half hattrick! So it's Bordeaux as a potential qualifying round destination for us, and Marseille drop into 4th and the Europa League group stages.

Hedlund12
19-05-2018, 08:45 PM
Anywhere but Scandinavia

Why?

HibeeHibernian4
19-05-2018, 08:55 PM
https://kassiesa.home.xs4all.nl/bert/uefa/seedel2018.html

This is the website to keep an eye on, very thorough details about the qualification system.

19-05-2018, 10:51 PM
https://kassiesa.home.xs4all.nl/bert/uefa/seedel2018.html

This is the website to keep an eye on, very thorough details about the qualification system.

Good find :top marks

I can see what's going on now :greengrin

Denverhibby
20-05-2018, 02:54 AM

Colorado works for me

LustForLeith
20-05-2018, 06:15 AM
Colorado works for me

Have Hibs ever played in America?

20-05-2018, 06:17 AM

Not in the Europa League, no.

20-05-2018, 06:56 AM
If we get a team in Belfast on the 12th will there be a march before the game?

Garymcl
20-05-2018, 06:58 AM
Tuesday 19th June draw already got both dates 12th and 19th July off work passport looked out soon as we know who we've got it will be booked don't care where it is absolutely love away days in Europe with the hibees family so many great memories canny wait :flag::flag:

Chic Murray
20-05-2018, 06:58 AM

As Toronto City.

20-05-2018, 07:22 AM
High quality game in ligue1 tonight, Lyon 0 Nice 1. If it stays the same Nice finish 6th and enter at 2nd round, Lyon will drop to 4th and we'd just have to pump them in the group stage :greengrin. Nice would be a dream trip.

Marseille and Monaco straight into the Chumpions League group stages as it stands.

Aye, that would be Nice.

GoalsMcGinley
20-05-2018, 07:30 AM
Wouldn’t mind Linfield away

20-05-2018, 07:47 AM

We've played in South Morroco and we've played across the USA.

20-05-2018, 08:04 AM
I see it’s the Welsh league Europa League play off final today to determine the last Welsh league reprentative.
Cefn Druids v Cardiff Met?? The winner will be unseeded and another possible tie for the Hibees

20-05-2018, 08:24 AM
Hope we get Linfield
They haven’t qualified

And repeat

20-05-2018, 08:34 AM
I see it’s the Welsh league Europa League play off final today to determine the last Welsh league reprentative.
Cefn Druids v Cardiff Met?? The winner will be unseeded and another possible tie for the Hibees

Cardiff with Hibs would be magnificent.

20-05-2018, 08:53 AM
Massive turnaround, Memphis Depay second half hattrick! So it's Bordeaux as a potential qualifying round destination for us, and Marseille drop into 4th and the Europa League group stages.

I went to Bordeaux for the world cup in 98. Would love to go back!

20-05-2018, 09:08 AM
Somewhere near, somewhere cheap to drink and get to, and somewhere different from where we've been recently please. :greengrin

20-05-2018, 09:12 AM
Somewhere near, somewhere cheap to drink and get to, and somewhere different from where we've been recently please. :greengrin

Tranmere Rovers it is then 🕺🏼

20-05-2018, 09:15 AM
Tranmere Rovers it is then 🕺🏼

I think they are seeded like us? :wink:

20-05-2018, 09:17 AM
I think they are seeded like us? :wink:They're in a play off with a team from Belfast. Canny mind their name.

ErinGoBraghHFC
20-05-2018, 11:18 AM
Cliftonville with the away leg on the 19th please. Give not just ourselves but them a well needed break from the local festival on the 12th:greengrin

20-05-2018, 11:23 AM
Please, please, please merge these two threads.

Pretty please?

HibeeHibernian4
20-05-2018, 12:06 PM
Just having a look at the past two Europa League qualifying systems, it does seem like there is a degree of (unwritten) regionalising in the draw of the First Qualifying Round. Before the draw is made, they split all the seeded and unseeded teams up into 10 corresponding groups and give each side a number, they then draw the numbers and eg. all the 1's in the seeded groups will play all the 9's in the unseeded groups.

Anyway, looking at the last two years, there is a clear pattern of some form of regionalisation.

In 2016-17's draw, groups 1-4 are clearly for more Northern & Western European sides, including both Scottish representatives.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2016%E2%80%9317_UEFA_Europa_League_qualifying_phas e#Seeding (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2016%E2%80%9317_UEFA_Europa_League_qualifying_phas e#First_qualifying_round)

In 2017-18's draw, groups 7-10 are the same, with Rangers' group (6) being a bit of an anomaly, although even then their unseeded opponents (barring the Moldovan team) are quite similar.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2017%E2%80%9318_UEFA_Europa_League_qualifying_phas e_and_play-off_round#Seeding (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2017%E2%80%9318_UEFA_Europa_League_qualifying_phas e_and_play-off_round#Format)

So from this, it's likely that Hibs will play an unseeded side from one of the following countries:
Wales
Ireland
Northern Ireland
Estonia
Latvia
Lithuania
Iceland
Finland
Faroe Islands

20-05-2018, 12:08 PM
Gutted to be going to Europe and I will hate Motherwell forever for their tame capitulation at Hampden like a Jambo hates St Mirren.

20-05-2018, 12:23 PM
Not sure what this fascination with Northern Ireland is all about. It’s about the last place I want to go to except for the fact that there is a fair chance of going through.

St Pauli Hibee
20-05-2018, 12:30 PM
Im Calling it:

JK Narva Trans (Est) V Hibs
Partizani Tirana (Alb) V Rankgers

2nd Round
Hibs V RB Leipzig (Ger)
Aberdeen V Legia Warsaw (Pol)

Rankgers will get pumped out in the messiah Gerrards first European tie

20-05-2018, 12:32 PM
Im Calling it:

JK Narva Trans (Est) V Hibs
Partizani Tirana (Alb) V Rankgers

2nd Round
Hibs V RB Leipzig (Ger)
Aberdeen V Legia Warsaw (Pol)

Rankgers will get pumped out in the messiah Gerrards first European tie

It would be quite funny if Gerrard faced his first crisis as Rangers manager waist deep in Albanian shrubbery.

20-05-2018, 12:44 PM
It would be quite funny if Gerrard faced his first crisis as Rangers manager waist deep in Albanian shrubbery.

Dont want Huns anywhere near Tirana. Hibs on the other hand....😎

20-05-2018, 12:52 PM
Dont want Huns anywhere near Tirana. Hibs on the other hand....😎

What is Tirana like, and what would it be like for a Hibs trip?

Albania isn't a country I know much about.

Macedonia was probably my favourite trip as a Scotland fan. Skopje was quite a cool city, it was very hot and it wasn't a place I would have normally visited for any reason other than football.

20-05-2018, 01:18 PM
Why not restrict the players to two weeks holiday this time in order that we hit the ground running and do not get turned over by some pub team from Estonia. Early recruitment of new recruits to the cause would also be a good idea.

Posted from my sunbed in Tenerife .

:nlgwa

20-05-2018, 01:27 PM

Macedonia was probably my favourite trip as a Scotland fan. Skopje was quite a cool city, it was very hot and it wasn't a place I would have normally visited for any reason other than football.

No idea, but would be absolutely roasting in July

20-05-2018, 02:23 PM

Average high in Tirana in July is 31 degrees.

ShadesLongThrow
20-05-2018, 02:49 PM
Does this mean that we miss the mini league qualifiers for the League Cup. Apologies if already covered....

HibeeHibernian4
20-05-2018, 02:53 PM
Does this mean that we miss the mini league qualifiers for the League Cup. Apologies if already covered....

Yeah, we go into the last 16 and are seeded.

20-05-2018, 02:53 PM
Cardiff with Hibs would be magnificent.

Cefn Druids won. Just looked them up they play in Wrexham

20-05-2018, 02:54 PM

Yes all the teams who have qualified for Europe go straight into the knockout stage of the League Cup.

20-05-2018, 02:54 PM

Its full of baddies,I asked liam neeson

20-05-2018, 04:26 PM
Cefn Druids won. Just looked them up they play in Wrexham

Oh that would be very handy!!

21-05-2018, 08:00 PM
My Arsenal friend wants to get us and a trip to Easter Road and not waste a trip to Scotland on "the Huns".. wonder where he got that phrase from 😂

22-05-2018, 04:30 PM
Draw is 21st of June.

Ties 12th and 19th July.

Cannae believe you didn't list the dates to the Final :rolleyes: :wink:

:flag: :nlgwa :flag:

22-05-2018, 04:33 PM
My Arsenal friend wants to get us and a trip to Easter Road and not waste a trip to Scotland on "the Huns".. wonder where he got that phrase from 😂

Hibs at the Emirates i'd be their in a shot !