View Full Version : Play-off Livi-Patrick (nhc)

17-05-2018, 06:29 PM
On balance would like the Jags to stay up...who’ s watching tonight ?

edit...oh crap predictive made it Patrick !

17-05-2018, 06:35 PM
I'd like Livi to come up.

Sent from my D5503 using Tapatalk

17-05-2018, 06:36 PM
Livi laying a 4G pitch after the game for next season

17-05-2018, 06:38 PM
Livi laying a 4G pitch after the game for next season

Oh terrific. Can’t stand the plastic pitch Mikey mouse clubs. Come in Partick.

I heard Killie are replacing pitch with grass pitch - is that right?

17-05-2018, 06:38 PM
I’m at the game. Livi fans well up for this!

17-05-2018, 06:40 PM
Oh terrific. Can’t stand the plastic pitch Mikey mouse clubs. Come in Partick.

I heard Killie are replacing pitch with grass pitch - is that right?

I think I saw somewhere that’s from 2019.

17-05-2018, 06:40 PM
come on Livi :agree:

even though i've got a few ££'s on the harry wraggs winning tonight

17-05-2018, 06:46 PM
Com on partick!

17-05-2018, 06:46 PM
Come on Patrick.

17-05-2018, 06:50 PM
C'mon the Harry Rags. Always had time for them and their supporters who choose a proper team and not just follow the bigot brothers. The plastic pitch and industrial football of Livi is not welcome in the top league as far as I'm concerned.

Mon the Jags

Is this cheating ******* Thomson’s last ever game?

17-05-2018, 06:51 PM
Prefer Livingston to come up, less distance to travel.

17-05-2018, 06:53 PM
Prefer Livingston to come up, less distance to travel.

Thistle’s a far better day out though.

17-05-2018, 06:53 PM
This game is woeful already.

17-05-2018, 06:54 PM
Thistle’s a far better day out though.

Rather avoid as many trips to Glasgow as possible, unless its to Hampden of course. :greengrin

17-05-2018, 06:55 PM
1-0 Partick

1-0 jags.

Goal! 1-0 Thistle

Great header by Doolan. Mon the Thistle.

Great goal, Doolan. First of a few, I hope.

1-0 Partick

17-05-2018, 06:56 PM
C'mon the Jags. Haven't got over 2004.

Unbelievable ball in for the goal there.

A goal will help this game, should be good now.

17-05-2018, 06:57 PM
Livi are basically a Hamilton that play in yellow. Hope they stay down.

17-05-2018, 06:58 PM
1-1

Baws

mon the Livi

they must win their home game imo

Jags been watching the defending from us v Huns!

17-05-2018, 07:00 PM
Livingstone long balls and fans who whirl their scarves...who does that remind you of ?

17-05-2018, 07:00 PM
We have a game now!

17-05-2018, 07:04 PM
Did Cerny not used to be a decent keeper or am I thinking of someone else?

17-05-2018, 07:05 PM
Livi are more agricultural than the Wurzels.....hoof

17-05-2018, 07:05 PM
Impressive Partick Thistle support at Livi.

17-05-2018, 07:07 PM
Ooh close. Thought it was in.

17-05-2018, 07:10 PM
Come on Partick! Old school.

17-05-2018, 07:11 PM
Come on partick

Livingston just a team of thugs

17-05-2018, 07:17 PM
I like that Chris Sutton tells craigan that contact doesn't mean you can dive. Craigan, of course, disagrees - fanny

17-05-2018, 07:18 PM
I like that Chris Sutton tells craigan that contact doesn't mean you can dive. Craigan, of course, disagrees - fanny

Craigan is the only bad thing about BT sport...I generally disagree with everything he says.

Brunswickbill
17-05-2018, 07:20 PM
Craigan is the only bad thing about BT sport...I generally disagree with everything he says.

Just what I was thinking. He’s a total pr*ck.

17-05-2018, 07:21 PM

That wasn't a dive I don't think. Looked like the Partick defender kicked the back of the Livi forward's legs as he went through.

17-05-2018, 07:23 PM

He’s a slaver, says about 50 words trying to explain every situation

17-05-2018, 07:24 PM
The standard is pretty poor it has to be said.

17-05-2018, 07:26 PM
The standard is pretty poor it has to be said.

The standard of refereeing is even worse than the football IMO. Some horrific decisions from Thomson so far.

17-05-2018, 07:27 PM
That wasn't a dive I don't think. Looked like the Partick defender kicked the back of the Livi forward's legs as he went through.
I know, but he was arguing that the boy was "entitled" to go down as he "felt contact" I think Sutton probably wants to say "pish" but can't.

17-05-2018, 07:31 PM
Livingstone long balls and fans who whirl their scarves...who does that remind you of ?

Patrick have now resorted to that tactic as well! Terrible stuff.

17-05-2018, 07:33 PM
Thought this would be a foregone conclusion after the Partick opener but they seem stuck in the headlights just now.

Brunswickbill
17-05-2018, 07:34 PM

Also like to dish it out and fall over at every opportunity.

17-05-2018, 07:36 PM
Hope Partick win through as the last thing we need in the league is another tin pot club with 35 fans and a team of cloggers playing anti football on a crappy plastic pitch.

17-05-2018, 07:40 PM
Hope Partick win through as the last thing we need in the league is another tin pot club with 35 fans and a team of cloggers playing anti football on a crappy plastic pitch.

This 100 per cent

17-05-2018, 07:41 PM

Hearts haven't got a plastic pitch, have they? :greengrin

17-05-2018, 07:42 PM

Spot on, they would also average Hearts fouls.

17-05-2018, 07:42 PM
Is hartson on the Livi staff because it sure sounds like it

17-05-2018, 07:43 PM
These plastic pitches should be banned in the SPFL.

17-05-2018, 07:44 PM

Coaches the forwards.

17-05-2018, 07:46 PM
Hearts haven't got a plastic pitch, have they? :greengrin
Half plastic Hybrid being installed so well on their way. No way they could play on plastic

17-05-2018, 07:47 PM
These plastic pitches should be banned in the SPFL.

It's not being played on a plastic pitch

17-05-2018, 07:48 PM
Coaches the forwards.

He looks like he ate the forwards!

17-05-2018, 07:49 PM
It's not being played on a plastic pitch

Correct, but as another poster points out Livingston plan to install one come the end of their season. If they do come up they should not be allowed to have it installed.

The_Sauz
17-05-2018, 07:50 PM
Half plastic Hybrid being installed so well on their way. No way they could play on plastic
Thought the Yams were banned from using plastic?

17-05-2018, 07:55 PM
That was a red imo.

hibee
17-05-2018, 08:04 PM
Surprised the stands are empty, if there’s nobody at their biggest game of the season they’re not going to contribute anything to the league if they come up.

17-05-2018, 08:05 PM
Partick are so poor in the final third.

17-05-2018, 08:08 PM
Mon the Livi, much easier away game to get to.

Not great about their new pitch though.

17-05-2018, 08:08 PM
Craig Thomson :faf:

17-05-2018, 08:09 PM

****ing **** ref

17-05-2018, 08:13 PM

Sure is. Embarrassed himself before kick off by insisting vociferously that Livi don't just play long balls.

17-05-2018, 08:17 PM

Not watching it, whats this clown done now?

Scottish football will not miss him.

17-05-2018, 08:18 PM
2-1 livi, good goal actually.

17-05-2018, 08:19 PM
Patrick are very poor

17-05-2018, 08:19 PM
Not watching it, whats this clown done now?

Scottish football will not miss him.

Just being himself really, seeing things happen from about 5 yards away and making the wrong decision. Scott Robinson was running towards the goal and got barged over by a Thistle player from behind, looked like quite a tricky call as to whether it was inside or outside the box and so Thomson just decided not to give a foul instead. He's such an arse it's incredible.

17-05-2018, 08:20 PM
****ing **** ref

That’s a compliment for that useless ars*

17-05-2018, 08:21 PM
One nice cross from Calum Booth that led to the first goal..otherwise thistle have offered nothing

17-05-2018, 08:22 PM
Patrick are very poor

They are, on current evidence they deserve to go down, they will have to pull something out the bag in the second leg!

17-05-2018, 08:25 PM
They are, on current evidence they deserve to go down, they will have to pull something out the bag in the second leg!

It might be worth them bringing on that horrendous mascot that looks like a drugged Lisa Simpson...gotta be more effective up front than Sammon!

scotia44
17-05-2018, 08:26 PM
Connor Sammon has to be one of the worst players to be taken on loan hertz surely can't want him back 😂😂😂😂

17-05-2018, 08:26 PM
It might be worth them bringing on that horrendous mascot that looks like a drugged Lisa Simpson...gotta be more effective up front than Sammon!

Like a fish out of water him, no idea how he gets a plaice in the starting 11.

17-05-2018, 08:27 PM
Hope partick manage to stay up. With Hamilton and hearts in the league we don't need more industrial football.

17-05-2018, 08:28 PM
Sammon been hooked.

17-05-2018, 08:29 PM
Clear dive and should have been a yellow there!

17-05-2018, 08:30 PM
what a shameful dive by the harry wraggs player...****** shameful

17-05-2018, 08:31 PM
Hope partick manage to stay up. With Hamilton and hearts in the league we don't need more industrial football.

I'm guessing you've not been watching Patrick's hoofball efforts tonight???

17-05-2018, 08:31 PM
Playing Livi would bring back too many flashbacks of our stint down under so for that reason alone I hope Partick stay up.

17-05-2018, 08:35 PM
5469 at the game.

17-05-2018, 08:36 PM
2-1 Livingston full time

17-05-2018, 08:36 PM
I'm guessing you've not been watching Patrick's hoofball efforts tonight???

I've seen Livingstons play off games against utd and they are a bunch of Hatchet men.

17-05-2018, 08:37 PM
FT 2-1 Livi.

Thank god that’s over !

great result, Livi easily the better side on the night

Surprised the stands are empty, if there’s nobody at their biggest game of the season they’re not going to contribute anything to the league if they come up.

5½ thousand there.
Roughly the same as Dundee United had at tannadice for their last home game..... Phew. Glad they never came up 🤔

https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/2011775/livingston-david-hopkin-shambles-fortunes-around/

Interesting guy..

17-05-2018, 08:38 PM
Dont mind Partick and hope they turn the tie around but Livi played very well tonight I thought. Game on for what should be a pretty interesting second leg.

17-05-2018, 08:39 PM
I've seen Livingstons play off games against utd and they are a bunch of Hatchet men.

I'll take that as a no.
And I was asking about Partick's hoofball.

17-05-2018, 08:39 PM
Livi deserved to win that. Partick Thistle were brutal. The 2 Thistle centre halves are p1sh, their midfield are lightweight cowards that offer nothing defensively or going forward and they are poor up front. Thistle didn't even show any heart or fight in that game, something Livi seem to have loads of. Even if Thistle score first on Sunday I think Livi will go up unfortunately.

17-05-2018, 08:42 PM
I'll take that as a no.
And I was asking about Partick's hoofball.

Hard to play football when you're playing a team trying to kick you off the park. Yes particks game wasnt pretty but when we've played them this season it's not been like playing hearts or Hamilton where you're kicked up and down the park.

17-05-2018, 08:43 PM
Fancy Livi now...Partick were woeful tonight. All the pressure is on them big time for Sunday

17-05-2018, 08:46 PM
5½ thousand there.
Roughly the same as Dundee United had at tannadice for their last home game..... Phew. Glad they never came up 🤔

Ridiculous isn't it?

How many do people believe will be at the second leg? Won't be much more, so do we just get rid of both teams?

17-05-2018, 08:50 PM
might need to put of attending Hibernian Ladies v Sellick in the cup final at Falkirk now so i can watch Livi's triumphant return to the big boys league instead....Decisions Decisions :hmmm:

17-05-2018, 08:58 PM
might need to put of attending Hibernian Ladies v Sellick in the cup final at Falkirk now so i can watch Livi's triumphant return to the big boys league instead....Decisions Decisions :hmmm:

Big John Hartson slating Craig Thomson..

Bob Box Fish
17-05-2018, 09:02 PM
Just back from the game both teams were honking and played hot tattie football.

Good Partick support about 2.5k ish.

17-05-2018, 09:05 PM
Fancy Livi now...Partick were woeful tonight. All the pressure is on them big time for Sunday

We ought to hire them our manager for the pre-match talk. They'd come out that tunnel like slavering dogs!

17-05-2018, 09:08 PM
Partick never turned up - even the goal was against the run of play. Livi the better team by a distance.

They can’t be that bad again?

17-05-2018, 09:13 PM
Ridiculous isn't it?

How many do people believe will be at the second leg? Won't be much more, so do we just get rid of both teams?

I just find the whole attendance snobbery stuff totally disgusting.
Next season will be my 30th consecutive one as a Season Ticket holder in the East Terrace/seated terrace/East Stand.
So I've seen pretty much the good, the bad and the truly ridiculous.
People complaining about there only being 5½k there tonight need to get off the whole hertz thing about what size crowd other teams have.

17-05-2018, 09:17 PM
Next season will be my 30th consecutive one as a Season Ticket holder in the East Terrace/seated terrace/East Stand.
People complaining about there only being 5½k there tonight need to get off the whole hertz thing about what size crowd other teams have.
Totally agree👍

17-05-2018, 09:22 PM
Hard to play football when you're playing a team trying to kick you off the park. Yes particks game wasnt pretty but when we've played them this season it's not been like playing hearts or Hamilton where you're kicked up and down the park.

Thistle were lucky Devine wasn't sent off twice. Livi are physical but up to the other team to deal with it, Thistle lucky still to be in the tie.

17-05-2018, 09:50 PM
Just back from the game - Livi deserved their win, and the tie could have been dead and buried had a stronger referee been in charge. Craig Thompson is without a doubt the worst referee in this country - missed 2 clear penalties, several blatant dives, gave some bizarre decisions in both directions and strutted around with his typical arrogant demeanour all the while. I don't think he's a cheat - he's just absolutely garbage at his job. I happen to be good friends with one of the top linesmen in the league, and he hates him too!

Still a tough ask for Livingston to go to Firhill and win IMO. Thistle will be all guns blazing on Sunday, and Livi will need to see them off and try and hit them on the break. Given that Livingston have gotten this far and dealt with Dundee United and the first leg of the final without their top 2 goalscorers from the season is a testament to how plucky they are.

It's also really nice to see the club doing things the right way this time around. No more dodgy financials to get where they are, and achieving a lot of their success this season using player's they've brought through themselves (with notable exceptions in Miller and Alexander).

17-05-2018, 09:55 PM

I think David Hopkin hit the nail on the head in his BBC interview today - the Livingston fans that have went away from the club probably still feel quite embittered about the ownership of old. People that had businesses that were owed money by previous administrations that they never saw again, as shysters like Massone and Flynn raped the club of any resources, success and integrity they had. The success the past few seasons has seen an increase at Almondvale again, but it's going to be a long process for many fans to return regularly.

Livingston also exist in a market where Hearts and Hibs are 30 minutes east, and Rangers and Celtc are 30 minutes west. Given all that's gone before, and pre-existing allegiances, 5500 isn't a terrible attendance for a Thursday night when the game was on the TV, and fans have already spent £40 on the previous 2 games on top of another £20 tonight and another £20 on Sunday no doubt.

HarpyHibby
17-05-2018, 10:11 PM
Livingston moving to an artificial pitch next year I believe...

17-05-2018, 11:06 PM
Partick will be in the spl next season.

17-05-2018, 11:48 PM

:agree: Unually, but the defeat might just be what helps drive Partick on. We saw that to our cost against Hamilton who were effectively down and out at 0-2, came to ER and played with freedom and there rest is Butcher's history.

18-05-2018, 01:39 AM

I hate all the size of attendance nonsense. I seen my wee Swedish team beat Arsenal at the Emirates outnumbered vastly by gooners and we deserved our win. Go on Livvy fans!

18-05-2018, 05:10 AM

Yup - a yammish tendency - let’s not go there.

sean04
18-05-2018, 06:05 AM
Was quite impressed with the lad Byrne for livi

Tinribs
18-05-2018, 06:15 AM
I think David Hopkin hit the nail on the head in his BBC interview today - the Livingston fans that have went away from the club probably still feel quite embittered about the ownership of old. People that had businesses that were owed money by previous administrations that they never saw again, as shysters like Massone and Flynn raped the club of any resources, success and integrity they had. The success the past few seasons has seen an increase at Almondvale again, but it's going to be a long process for many fans to return regularly.

Livingston also exist in a market where Hearts and Hibs are 30 minutes east, and Rangers and Celtc are 30 minutes west. Given all that's gone before, and pre-existing allegiances, 5500 isn't a terrible attendance for a Thursday night when the game was on the TV, and fans have already spent £40 on the previous 2 games on top of another £20 tonight and another £20 on Sunday no doubt.

Totally agree with all that, well summed up.
I also have a few good pals from there, mostly rough as a badgers erse but I like that about Livingstone 😁

18-05-2018, 07:09 AM
I was thinking Livi could give Partick a good game after watching them in both games against Dundee Utd, and that is what happened last night.

To me they look fitter and stronger than Partick, with some decent players who know their system and play to it well.

It may be industrial, its certainly cynical at times, but it works and i think they might go through.

I'd prefer Partick to stay up though, as those plastic pitches are not good enough for top league football yet.

18-05-2018, 07:42 AM
Livi deserved there win and possibly could have had the tie just about done and dusted last night

Its not pretty football but it works

I said that i hoped they got Partick as i didn’t think they could match them for physicality, and thats exactly what happened last night

Partick had no answers to the pressing and sheer incredible work rate of Livi

I hope they go up

18-05-2018, 07:48 AM

One attempt on target, shocking performance.

18-05-2018, 08:13 AM
Fair play to Livi, on the verge of back to back promotions, when did that last happen?

18-05-2018, 08:15 AM
My take on last night's game, was looking back to the 50's and 60's where men were men!

Today's football, a breath of wind and the player is down and the physio is on the pitch, last night Miller was forced to go off to get blood removed from his face after playing on, then gets a second head knock and plays on, then yet another face knock, a knee in the chin, and he still was battering into the Thistle defence till taken off in the 87 minute!!!

It's people and teams like that we should want in the Premiership, not a bunch of whinging wee lassies, as for playing silky football, the big thing is getting out of the championship, then think about adding the silky stuff!!

18-05-2018, 08:24 AM
Fair play to Livi, on the verge of back to back promotions, when did that last happen?

did Gretna not win the 3rd , 2nd and 1st divisions all back to back

18-05-2018, 08:50 AM
Do Livi play on a grass pitch? Would be delighted with one less plastic pitch in the top flight.

18-05-2018, 10:11 AM
Partick 11/10 to stay up im having some of that.

18-05-2018, 10:22 AM
My take on last night's game, was looking back to the 50's and 60's where men were men!

Today's football, a breath of wind and the player is down and the physio is on the pitch, last night Miller was forced to go off to get blood removed from his face after playing on, then gets a second head knock and plays on, then yet another face knock, a knee in the chin, and he still was battering into the Thistle defence till taken off in the 87 minute!!!

It's people and teams like that we should want in the Premiership, not a bunch of whinging wee lassies, as for playing silky football, the big thing is getting out of the championship, then think about adding the silky stuff!!

I don’t go to the football to watch a guy take 5 blows to the face and keep getting up. I go to watch teams play football. If I wanted to sit in awe at Lee Millers ability to get skelped in the face and keep going I’d watch combat sports.

18-05-2018, 10:32 AM
Surprised by how poor Partick were. They looked well organised against us at ER a few weeks back, though granted Hibs didn't play well that day. Play-off nerves kicking in perhaps.

I thought the crowd was decent enough. both sides had about 2.5k there. If Livi come up we'll take a very big support there so there will be no problem with the atmosphere.

I can remember games in the early 80s at ER when we were struggling to pull in 5k for some games. Hard to imagine now but it's true. Same at Hearts back then. I remember being at one of their games in the First Division when the attendance was less than 3k.

18-05-2018, 10:44 AM
I don’t go to the football to watch a guy take 5 blows to the face and keep getting up. I go to watch teams play football. If I wanted to sit in awe at Lee Millers ability to get skelped in the face and keep going I’d watch combat sports.

Plus there was plenty of diving going on so not exactly back to the 1950's. It's true that Livi were more committed and hungry though...meh.... who cares as long as we skelp whichever one of them we are playing next season

18-05-2018, 11:00 AM

I'd go to the football to see Kyle Lafferty get skelped in the face :hyper

EH54
18-05-2018, 11:18 AM
@makaveli1875 (http://www.hibs.net/member.php?32989-makaveli1875)

They did so did Livingston before them.

Stranraer
18-05-2018, 01:06 PM
Impressed by Booth last night but glad to see Livi prevail.

18-05-2018, 01:17 PM

Presumably the rangers were the last team to win back to back promotions in Scotland?

TelaStella
18-05-2018, 02:46 PM
Always had a bit of a soft spot for Patrick and really hope they prevail from this but even though the return legs through at Firhill you wouldn’t bet against Livi finishing the job. I don’t see what Livi would bring to our league which let’s face it is at its best in years. Crap wee ground with no pubs or near by train station, albeit it’s just along the road. Just about no fans and a plastic pitch, no thanks from me.

18-05-2018, 02:48 PM
Always had a bit of a soft spot for Patrick and really hope they prevail from this but even though the return legs through at Firhill you wouldn’t bet against Livi finishing the job. I don’t see what Livi would bring to our league which let’s face it is at its best in years. Crap wee ground with no pubs or near by train station, albeit it’s just along the road. Just about no fans and a plastic pitch, no thanks from me.

Ground holds 10k - pubs 5-10 min walk away and station is 20odd mins

18-05-2018, 07:46 PM

3 pubs within 10 minutes. 2 stations. Buses from Edinburgh. Always going to get a ticket. Plenty places to eat. Hibs always win there. It's like the perfect away trip

Hulk1875
18-05-2018, 07:52 PM
3 pubs within 10 minutes. 2 stations. Buses from Edinburgh. Always going to get a ticket. Plenty places to eat. Hibs always win there. It's like the perfect away trip

ideal away day I reckon if they come up we get them away early in season or later in season and we're still playing really well, we will take like 5000

HarpyHibby
18-05-2018, 08:48 PM
Do Livi play on a grass pitch? Would be delighted with one less plastic pitch in the top flight.

They are moving to AstroTurf for next season.

18-05-2018, 10:42 PM

Aye, paddy's alright like. Bit of a nutter but means well.

18-05-2018, 10:45 PM
3 pubs within 10 minutes. 2 stations. Buses from Edinburgh. Always going to get a ticket. Plenty places to eat. Hibs always win there. It's like the perfect away tripyou have summed it up, however my preference would still be the Harry Wraggs. traditional sentimental auld radge that I am.:na na:

AndyB_70
19-05-2018, 07:51 AM
Hope the Jags stay up and Livi and their soon to be installed plastic pitch vanish down the league system.

scooby
19-05-2018, 08:09 AM
Livi are doing what they need to do, to get out of the championship, and they are doing it really well. You can't really knock them for that! As we know from experience, silky football wasn't the answer to breaking down packed defences.
Selfishly, I hope they get up, as it's a home game for me.

19-05-2018, 09:15 AM
Don't really mind who comes up both teams have their pros and cons.

Not really fussed about a plastic pitch either to be honest. Hibs for one have a plastic pitch they can train on at East mains I think and most players coming through these days grew up playing on plastic as much as grass.

19-05-2018, 10:34 AM
Don't really mind who comes up both teams have their pros and cons.

Not really fussed about a plastic pitch either to be honest. Hibs for one have a plastic pitch they can train on at East mains I think and most players coming through these days grew up playing on plastic as much as grass.
Sorry who has a plastic pitch?

19-05-2018, 10:35 AM
Sorry who has a plastic pitch?

People keep saying Livi will be putting down a plastic pitch in the near future. Been mentioned quite a few times on the thread

19-05-2018, 10:40 AM
People keep saying Livi will be putting down a plastic pitch in the near future. Been mentioned quite a few times on the thread

Ok no worries