View Full Version : Royal Wedding
What’s the best way of avoiding this crock of *****? I’m considering going to the cinema!
14-05-2018, 06:02 PM
What’s the best way of avoiding this crock of *****? I’m considering going to the cinema!
I'll find something more enjoyable to do than watch all the "Pump & Fill-yer-pants".
Like having root canal treatment.
14-05-2018, 06:14 PM
I'll be up and out at about 4am. Aim to be up and down Ben Lomond by 11. Meet the girlfriend and daughter and have Lunch by the loch around Balmaha then a wee wander to Tom Weirs statue. Drive home and watch something on Netflix or similar and have a few beers.
That's what I'd be doing anyway so not intentionally avoiding the wedding. It's easy enough to do if you want to.
Stranraer
14-05-2018, 06:26 PM
Not a fan of the royals but there's something pleasurable about the pomp and ceremony.
14-05-2018, 06:50 PM
I'll be up and out at about 4am. Aim to be up and down Ben Lomond by 11. Meet the girlfriend and daughter and have Lunch by the loch around Balmaha then a wee wander to Tom Weirs statue. Drive home and watch something on Netflix or similar and have a few beers.
That's what I'd be doing anyway so not intentionally avoiding the wedding. It's easy enough to do if you want to.
I’ll be up a hill as well. Possibly Liathach in Torridon if the current forecast for Saturday holds.
14-05-2018, 06:55 PM
I'll be smack bang in the middle of a stag do in Benidorm, no doubt royally hung over.
14-05-2018, 07:11 PM
May as well watch it. We're paying for it, aren't we?
Or do the bride's folks pick up the tab in the traditional way?
14-05-2018, 07:33 PM
I’ll be up a hill as well. Possibly Liathach in Torridon if the current forecast for Saturday holds.
I'll throw my hat into the ring as being one of the "up a hill" brigade too.
Not planned it yet though - down in the lake district currently and keeping an eye on the weather forecast. If it's good I'll be having a look at what Munroes I've not done yet or dragging the other half up her first - probably Ben Lomond or schihalian for a first timer I'd say.
14-05-2018, 07:59 PM
Just carry on with your normal routine?
14-05-2018, 09:15 PM
When is it? :dunno:
14-05-2018, 09:37 PM
Just checked and it’s blanket coverage on Saturday morning from 9-2. BBC, ITV and Sky One, with highlights later in case you miss it.
The cup final build up doesn’t start until 2, which is an hour later than normal. Poor stuff.
I saw someone on twitter earlier saying the wedding should be a pay per view event - totally agree. Test the loyalty of the loyalists by asking them to put their hand in their pockets.
14-05-2018, 09:52 PM
I'll be watching the Cup final. I'm not in the slightest fussed about some bloke and his Mrs to be's wedding that I've never met.
That said, said bloke is punching big time.
Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk
15-05-2018, 01:43 AM
Couldn't care less about it. The Royals are leitches and to still have a monarchy in this modern day and age is a joke IMO. Why should one family have endless privileges courtesy of the tax payer when others have to work their ***** off every day just to get by.
15-05-2018, 06:07 AM
Just checked and it’s blanket coverage on Saturday morning from 9-2. BBC, ITV and Sky One, with highlights later in case you miss it.
The cup final build up doesn’t start until 2, which is an hour later than normal. Poor stuff.
I saw someone on twitter earlier saying the wedding should be a pay per view event - totally agree. Test the loyalty of the loyalists by asking them to put their hand in their pockets.
Blanket coverage started on Monday with the BBC News at 6 having a 'feature' speculating on the dress and flowers.
15-05-2018, 06:45 AM
Switch the tv off and go out in the garden
15-05-2018, 08:25 AM
It gets blanket coverage because the viewer numbers will merit it. The wedding will blow the Scottish and FA Cup finals out the water for viewers.
For a lot of people it's their cup final day and they will act accordingly. I know folk who are having fancy breakfasts, cocktails, dressing up and sitting down to watch it together. It's not my cup of tea but if people are having a nice day with their friends and it puts a smile on their face I can't get too upset about it. It's not impacting on me.
15-05-2018, 08:54 AM
It gets blanket coverage because the viewer numbers will merit it. The wedding will blow the Scottish and FA Cup finals out the water for viewers.
For a lot of people it's their cup final day and they will act accordingly. I know folk who are having fancy breakfasts, cocktails, dressing up and sitting down to watch it together. It's not my cup of tea but if people are having a nice day with their friends and it puts a smile on their face I can't get too upset about it. It's not impacting on me.
Exactly where I am with it. I’ll be avoiding it by simply watching another channel.
15-05-2018, 09:43 AM
I'm on the tee at 11.56 so I'll take my own advice and arrive an hour early to stretch, warm up and hit a few shots first.
I should be off the course by about 4.00 and home free.
Depending on the half time score at Hampden, I might rush home to catch the 2nd half, otherwise it'll be Man U v Chelsea at 5.15 for me.
15-05-2018, 11:33 AM
The dog will be getting a long long walk so I'll miss it and the missus won't have the dog jumping all over her when it's on. Home for the Cup Final and hopefully celebrate us getting into Europe.
15-05-2018, 12:58 PM
Big fan of both Suits and especially Meghan Markle.
I've a lot to do on Saturday but I may accidentally see some Markle-related bits of the wedding once or twice while I'm channel surfing on my tea breaks....:greengrin
Anyway the televised introduction of the genetic concept of hybrid vigor to the Royal Family is practically David Attenborough stuff people. So if I watch any of it, it's in the support and pursuit of science.
15-05-2018, 02:12 PM
Why should we bother watching it. Her dad probably won't be going and his dad didn't even get an invite.
15-05-2018, 09:10 PM
Travelling to Liverpool on Friday night so I can join up with the pre wedding street drinks party at my Dad's street. Up early on Saturday for champagne breakfast at Liverpool Hilton before heading to party with live screening at St George's Hall. Can't wait, I love a Royal Wedding.
15-05-2018, 11:40 PM
The TV has been awash with utter drivel about this non event all week, I even turned over this afternoon to see a washed up BBC reporter on a celebrity chef's cookery show re creating the meal they allegedly ate the night he proposed ... I mean FFS c'mon !!! .... I have to pay a TV licence so they can produce this Ertha Kitt.
Someone on the news on one of their never ending vox pops on the subject even said 'it makes you proud to be British' and another said 'it was all about Britishness' ......... what an absolute avalanche of nonsense, but what it does show is that there is no let up in the myth perpetuated by the forelock tugging peasants and sycophants in our society that being loyal to your country but not being a royalist are mutually exclusive. A state of mind even enshrined in law which precludes anyone from sitting in parliament as an MP unless they swear allegiance to the queen and her heirs and successors ... not to the UK, not to the people of the UK but to the queen.
A state of affairs by the way which precludes democratically elected Irish nationalist MPs from taking their seats in parliament because by definition they cant swear allegiance to the queen, though to be fair I suppose they wouldn't swear allegiance to the UK either. You then of course have the farce of having many SNP MPs ( a party with a healthy number of republicans ) being put in the position of swearing an oath to an institution they fundamentally disagree with on pain of being denied taking up their seats, without so much as a by your leave to or consideration for the citizens of this country who voted for them .... it would appear the royal family are more important.
That's why the never ending pre event coverage and live broadcast of the event itself isn't just a harmless distraction for old ladies and the simple minded ... its free publicity and overwhelmingly supportive, even fawning, publicity which helps to popularise and perpetuate a situation which makes a mockery of the idea that we live in a democracy and should have been consigned to the history books hundreds of years ago.
Good luck to the happy couple.
16-05-2018, 12:02 AM
Why should we bother watching it. Her dad probably won't be going and his dad didn't even get an invite.
16-05-2018, 10:27 AM
Travelling to Liverpool on Friday night so I can join up with the pre wedding street drinks party at my Dad's street. Up early on Saturday for champagne breakfast at Liverpool Hilton before heading to party with live screening at St George's Hall. Can't wait, I love a Royal Wedding.
I think the street parties are more of an English thing but I was surprised by how many there were in Scotland when William and Kate got married. As others have said, I don't see the harm. I'll be working but my family will probably all be watching. Shame Pippa Middleton's not a bridesmaid this time round.
16-05-2018, 11:32 AM
I think the street parties are more of an English thing but I was surprised by how many there were in Scotland when William and Kate got married. As others have said, I don't see the harm. I'll be working but my family will probably all be watching. Shame Pippa Middleton's not a bridesmaid this time round.
Its helping to perpetuate a culture in this country that supports and maintains the myth that some people are more worthy of position and deference due to the circumstances of their birth than others.
16-05-2018, 02:14 PM
Its helping to perpetuate a culture in this country that supports and maintains the myth that some people are more worthy of position and deference due to the circumstances of their birth than others.
Aye whatever.
16-05-2018, 05:30 PM
Its hilarious when everyone gets on their superiority high horse over North Koreans who "worship" their Dear Leader and then outdo them by a far amount without any hint of irony when the Saxe-Coburg and Gotha crew put on a show.
LustForLeith
16-05-2018, 06:32 PM
I’d love to avoid it but unfortunately I’m marrying the ginger prick
LustForLeith
16-05-2018, 06:34 PM
Traveling to Liverpool...or to the 1950s?
16-05-2018, 06:38 PM
Traveling to Liverpool...or to the 1950s?
It's 2018 pal, wake-up.
LustForLeith
16-05-2018, 06:41 PM
It's 2018 pal, wake-up.
I don’t think I’ve ever seen a Street party other than on a black and white telly show
16-05-2018, 07:35 PM
It's 2018 pal, wake-up.
Are there lots of street parties in Liverpool?
Going down and staying a bit out of the centre and hoping to avoid them?
16-05-2018, 08:00 PM
I'll be manning a stand for the yes campaign to remove the 8th amendment from the Irish constitution..
16-05-2018, 08:30 PM
Probably not mate, I posted that for a laugh, I am actually going to Liverpool on Friday night but it's not for the royal wedding or a street party. 😁
16-05-2018, 08:32 PM
I don’t think I’ve ever seen a Street party other than on a black and white telly show
There is actually one in our street in Corstorphine every year for the last couple of years.
16-05-2018, 11:41 PM
Aye whatever.
The answer the royals and their arse lickers love above all others in response to someone questioning their position in society. There is nothing more guaranteed to keep them in place than the idea that their existence isn't worth scrutiny or questioning and that anybody who does it is making a fuss over nothing.
FWIW you are a poster I have a lot of time for Scouse Hibby ..... I'm surprised at you :tsk tsk:
If you quote this with an 'Aye whatever' please accept this in advance :slipper:
17-05-2018, 06:55 AM
The answer the royals and their arse lickers love above all others in response to someone questioning their position in society. There is nothing more guaranteed to keep them in place than the idea that their existence isn't worth scrutiny or questioning and that anybody who does it is making a fuss over nothing.
FWIW you are a poster I have a lot of time for Scouse Hibby ..... I'm surprised at you :tsk tsk:
If you quote this with an 'Aye whatever' please accept this in advance :slipper:
Hehe. It brings joy to so many people hence the popularity off the Royal Wedding, people will question the existence of the Royals and that is their right but to belittle people as erse lickers is wrong. Do I get the slipper😁
17-05-2018, 09:09 AM
It'll be a bonus for the drinks industry with licensing hours extended - at least in England.
Shame they didn't hold the wedding on a weekday and give folk the afternoon off instead.
17-05-2018, 09:51 AM
My mate is having a BBQ in his front green with the rest of his street, bunting, etc.
I’m using it as an excuse to have some beers and meat with some friends who I don’t see enough of anymore. The wedding is of secondary importance.
17-05-2018, 10:21 AM
Its hilarious when everyone gets on their superiority high horse over North Koreans who "worship" their Dear Leader and then outdo them by a far amount without any hint of irony when the Saxe-Coburg and Gotha crew put on a show.
'worshipping' the royals may be over the top, daft or even self demeaning behaviour - or it may not - but it's not generally done at the point of a gun, on pain of deprivation of liberty or in order to avoid falling under suspicion by the state police. Your North Korea and the royals analogy is a bit of a reach tbh.
17-05-2018, 10:28 AM
5,500 official ones in 2011 (and, amusingly, arrests after a mass brawl at an unofficial Glasgow one!):
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-13235535
17-05-2018, 10:29 AM
You might want to avoid these events while you're there:
http://www.theguideliverpool.com/8-stylish-royal-wedding-celebrations-in-liverpool/
17-05-2018, 10:38 AM
Most of the millions watching on Saturday won't be worrying about their position in society. They'll simply be doing so for no other reason than they like the spectacle/want to chat about the bride's dress etc and if it's a sunny day it's an relaxed way to spend the afternoon with an accompanying party/barbeque or a leisurely afternoon in the pub. As somebody else pointed out, while it won't be quite the phenomenon that William and Kate's wedding was it will still attract mind-boggling viewing figures around the globe. Bottom line is a lot of folk enjoy it and for those that don't there are plenty of other things to do.
17-05-2018, 03:37 PM
I was down in Carlisle on the day of Bill and Kathy's wedding and coincidentally will be there on Saturday too. Whilst I had/have no interest in the weddings it has to be said there was a very pleasant atmosphere in most of the drinking establishments (not something you can often say about Carlisle) throughout the day, more of the same on Saturday please.
17-05-2018, 06:06 PM
'worshipping' the royals may be over the top, daft or even self demeaning behaviour - or it may not - but it's not generally done at the point of a gun, on pain of deprivation of liberty or in order to avoid falling under suspicion by the state police. Your North Korea and the royals analogy is a bit of a reach tbh.
Ok it's worse in the UK, North Koreans don't have a choice, in the UK your Follow Follow types don't have that excuse.
17-05-2018, 07:45 PM
Ok it's worse in the UK, North Koreans don't have a choice, in the UK your Follow Follow types don't have that excuse.
"it's worse in the UK" :hmmm:
17-05-2018, 08:18 PM
"it's worse in the UK" :hmmm:
He meant to say Great Britain.
17-05-2018, 08:55 PM
We could do so, so much better as a society.
17-05-2018, 10:08 PM
Most of the millions watching on Saturday won't be worrying about their position in society. They'll simply be doing so for no other reason than they like the spectacle/want to chat about the bride's dress etc and if it's a sunny day it's an relaxed way to spend the afternoon with an accompanying party/barbeque or a leisurely afternoon in the pub. As somebody else pointed out, while it won't be quite the phenomenon that William and Kate's wedding was it will still attract mind-boggling viewing figures around the globe. Bottom line is a lot of folk enjoy it and for those that don't there are plenty of other things to do.
Like join Republic :greengrin
18-05-2018, 10:39 AM
Full day of Fitba for me, with zero sycophantic bowing or scraping to be seen. Morning match at 10.30 followed by an hour at the trampoline centre followed by the Cup finals.
18-05-2018, 11:38 AM
Wake me up when it's over.
Monster snorefest, and an expensive one at that.
18-05-2018, 12:01 PM
Dinnae really care about it, although sticks in the craw a bit that it'll be costing millions while we've got millions of bairns in poverty but hey-ho.
18-05-2018, 12:12 PM
Full day of Fitba for me, with zero sycophantic bowing or scraping to be seen. Morning match at 10.30 followed by an hour at the trampoline centre followed by the Cup finals.
There could be a lot of ups and downs...
18-05-2018, 02:04 PM
I see Charlie is pretending to be the father of the bride, just like he is for the groom.
#harryhewitt
I see Charlie is pretending to be the father of the bride, just like he is for the groom.
#harryhewitt
Funny...but nonsense.
18-05-2018, 02:20 PM
Funny...but nonsense.
https://www.google.co.uk/search?q=prince+harry+james+hewitt&tbm=isch&tbo=u&source=univ&sa=X&ved=0ahUKEwi2l86uuo_bAhUp5oMKHXgZANsQsAQIJg&biw=1552&bih=932
18-05-2018, 02:40 PM
https://www.google.co.uk/search?q=prince+harry+james+hewitt&tbm=isch&tbo=u&source=univ&sa=X&ved=0ahUKEwi2l86uuo_bAhUp5oMKHXgZANsQsAQIJg&biw=1552&bih=932
It is a remarkable likeness.
18-05-2018, 04:20 PM
As amusing as it might be to imagine Harry not being 'legitimate' he also bears more than a slight resemblance to Dianas brother which may explain the hair and, more importantly for the purposes of this argument, he is facially very similar to Prince Philip when he was young.
18-05-2018, 05:21 PM
As amusing as it might be to imagine Harry not being 'legitimate' he also bears more than a slight resemblance to Dianas brother which may explain the hair and, more importantly for the purposes of this argument, he is facially very similar to Prince Philip when he was young.
Its totally wrong and unfair for folk to question Harry's parentage .... he should demand a DNA test the result of which should be made public to shut all these idiots up .... shouldn't he? :devil:
18-05-2018, 05:22 PM
Probably not mate, I posted that for a laugh, I am actually going to Liverpool on Friday night but it's not for the royal wedding or a street party. [emoji16]
This is what we want to see https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20180518/354a489bc3c05b4834920e25d49e5a6e.jpg
18-05-2018, 07:06 PM
Its totally wrong and unfair for folk to question Harry's parentage .... he should demand a DNA test the result of which should be made public to shut all these idiots up .... shouldn't he? :devil:
That would be an episode of Jeremy Kyle I’d definitely watch.
18-05-2018, 08:50 PM
Difficult to understand why anyone cares enough about this absolute horse **** to make it part of their precious weekend time tbh but each to their own I suppose.
On the subject of Harry's paternity... surely it's not just the fact that he looks a bit like James Hewitt that fuels that rumour, let's not forget that the captain was strongly rumoured to have been pumping the prince's mother around the time of his conception.
Anyway who cares. Here's the best article published about this absolutely meaningless event:
http://waterfordwhispersnews.com/2017/11/27/gingers-warned-not-to-get-any-big-ideas/
18-05-2018, 10:44 PM
Honestly didn't know this 'event' was this weekend until a few days ago, I doubt if any friends of mine give a f*** about this, but any who do are welcome to f*** off, better off without you.
18-05-2018, 11:05 PM
Difficult to understand why anyone cares enough about this absolute horse **** to make it part of their precious weekend time tbh but each to their own I suppose.
On the subject of Harry's paternity... surely it's not just the fact that he looks a bit like James Hewitt that fuels that rumour, let's not forget that the captain was strongly rumoured to have been pumping the prince's mother around the time of his conception.
Anyway who cares. Here's the best article published about this absolutely meaningless event:
http://waterfordwhispersnews.com/2017/11/27/gingers-warned-not-to-get-any-big-ideas/
I had a passenger the other night who had come from a meeting of the royal overseas league. I had seen the building up town plenty of times, but I’d no idea what it was. I asked him about it and he proceeded to tell me. Every time he mentioned the queen he referred to her as her majesty the queen, he was unbelievable. I asked him about the royal wedding and he said he was heading through to uddingston to watch it in some club. It’s strange to think that these people exist, but they do and there is probably plenty more like him.
I wonder if it’s something that will become less popular as the years go by.
19-05-2018, 02:28 AM
Would be good if the royal reporters reported in the same manner political reporters reported politicians. It's like North Korea when it comes to the royal family absolute embarrassment.
19-05-2018, 06:41 AM
https://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2018/may/18/the-guardian-view-on-the-royal-wedding-have-a-lovely-day
Pretty decent take on the whole thing by the Guardian.
19-05-2018, 07:56 AM
https://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2018/may/18/the-guardian-view-on-the-royal-wedding-have-a-lovely-day
Pretty decent take on the whole thing by the Guardian.
That article hits the nail on the head for me. I don’t really agree with having a monarchy, in fact I would like the “UK” (it couldn’t be called that, I guess) to be a federal republic. However, I realise most of the country probably doesn’t agree and I’m in no rush to see them lined up and taken out Romanov style.
Anyway, I wish them both well. I’ll probably watch some of it as I think my wife wants to watch it and we are both fans of “Suits” so will use it as an opportunity to see Rick Hoffman at a royal event :faf:
19-05-2018, 07:56 AM
Just heard Harry being described as an ' ordinary bloke' lol
19-05-2018, 08:01 AM
That article hits the nail on the head for me. I don’t really agree with having a monarchy, in fact I would like the “UK” (it couldn’t be called that, I guess) to be a federal republic. However, I realise most of the country probably doesn’t agree and I’m in no rush to see them lined up and taken out Romanov style.
Anyway, I wish them both well. I’ll probably watch some of it as I think my wife wants to watch it and we are both fans of “Suits” so will use it as an opportunity to see Rick Hoffman at a royal event :faf:
The Royals are gonna get Litt Up
19-05-2018, 08:11 AM
Just heard Harry being described as an ' ordinary bloke' lol
I suppose it's about context. In comparison to his Dad and even his brother he is more 'ordinary' (I'm not sure how you define ordinary but in this instance I think we can guess). Whilst still being born into privilege he hasn't got the same pressure and expectation of conformity they have. He arguably has been seen more as 'fair game' for the gutter press and his actions, good and bad, have been scrutinised. Many of the headlines are for things that are 'ordinary'.
All things considered I don't think he comes across as that bad a guy. He was no more in control of the life he was born into than you or I were.
19-05-2018, 08:31 AM
http://southendnewsnetwork.net/news/royal-wedding-cancelled-after-meghan-markle-deported-by-accident/
19-05-2018, 10:33 AM
At least today will generate plenty of crackers like these...
https://tribwxin.files.wordpress.com/2018/05/foxroyalwedding.png
19-05-2018, 11:19 AM
He's been titled the earl of Dumbarton 😂
19-05-2018, 12:26 PM
Would be good if the royal reporters reported in the same manner political reporters reported politicians. It's like North Korea when it comes to the royal family absolute embarrassment.
I always have a good laugh at this, pretty much sums the BBC reporting up.
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=9pnt_uT5YzQ
19-05-2018, 12:31 PM
It's quite interesting to note that despite the 'marketing' of this as the modern, multicultural British wedding the crowd is very, very white.
19-05-2018, 12:53 PM
Watching this live in Germany - Britain is simply outstanding at such occasions, really impressive - Thought the young cello player Sheku Kanneh_Mason was astonishingly good and Bishop Michael Curry's address was really refreshing and quite "edgy" -
I'm a republican myself, but what have "we" got to offer to the crowds lapping this up to make them change their minds?
19-05-2018, 01:06 PM
Prince rocks.
19-05-2018, 01:06 PM
Watching this live in Germany - Britain is simply outstanding at such occasions, really impressive - Thought the young cello player Sheku Kanneh_Mason was astonishingly good and Bishop Michael Curry's address was really refreshing and quite "edgy" -
I'm a republican myself, but what have "we" got to offer to the crowds lapping this up to make them change their minds?
Not much I reckon. Despite what .net has to say a lot of folk like the pomp and ceremony as well as the tradition of it all.
He’s the Duke of Earl and she’s the Duchess of Duke Street
19-05-2018, 01:23 PM
Is it over yet?:I'm waiti
19-05-2018, 01:49 PM
Missed it as I was out with my Dad, just back in watching the after coverage and clips of the highlights.
Looked and sounded fantastic according to the feedback. It has brought joy to millions of people so pretty hard to snipe about it.
speedy_gonzales
19-05-2018, 02:15 PM
It's quite interesting to note that despite the 'marketing' of this as the modern, multicultural British wedding the crowd is very, very white.
Was flicking through the channels around half 8 this morning and on 2 different broadcasts they mentioned the "diversity" of the crowds????
I'm not sure what kind of diversity they were talking about, it certainly looked like a very "white" crowd, do you think the broadcasters have been briefed to use such language so as to embrace Meghan's heritage?
Nae poor oot!
Tight b’stard!!
19-05-2018, 03:36 PM
Definitely.
Stranraer
19-05-2018, 05:32 PM
I've always considered myself a republican but I quite enjoyed parts of the wedding although the coverage was way over the top at times, and Megan looked beautiful.
19-05-2018, 06:04 PM
https://twitter.com/mrjonpace/status/997758346848595972?s=21
19-05-2018, 07:03 PM
I've always considered myself a republican but I quite enjoyed parts of the wedding although the coverage was way over the top at times, and Megan looked beautiful.
Aye, but you think the lads in the tui advert is "smoking hot" so who are you to judge! ;-)
19-05-2018, 07:04 PM
https://twitter.com/mrjonpace/status/997758346848595972?s=21
:faf: I suppose that's really the bottom line when you're talking about all these twee street parties for H&M.
19-05-2018, 07:10 PM
:faf: I suppose that's really the bottom line when you're talking about all these twee street parties for H&M.
Probably more of an S&M aspect to that guy's last party.
19-05-2018, 09:48 PM
I suppose it's about context. In comparison to his Dad and even his brother he is more 'ordinary' (I'm not sure how you define ordinary but in this instance I think we can guess). Whilst still being born into privilege he hasn't got the same pressure and expectation of conformity they have. He arguably has been seen more as 'fair game' for the gutter press and his actions, good and bad, have been scrutinised. Many of the headlines are for things that are 'ordinary'.
All things considered I don't think he comes across as that bad a guy. He was no more in control of the life he was born into than you or I were.
He does indeed seem to be not that bad a guy, its to the detriment of the cause of republicanism that you see folk having a go at the individuals, when the real target is and should be the concept of inherited position and status that they embody .... not the wealth, any of it they can prove is theirs and which doesn't rightfully belong to the citizens of the UK they are welcome to.
As for any of them having control of the circumstances of their birth. No they don't, but what they do control is what happens later, I laugh my arse off when they start bitching about 'their lot' and how tough it is being a royal .... screw that, they could renounce the titles and everything that goes with them at the stroke of a pen, but not one of them has ever done it apart from one notable exception and that had nothing to do with him being against being 'royal'
At their worst the Windsors genuinely believe that an entitlement to political position ( head of state ) deference and high social status which must be acknowledged by those beneath them is their birth right .... the queen and prince Philip almost certainly believe that to be true. At best the whole family look on the institution of royalty as the family business and they will do anything and everything possible to ensure nothing endangers it.
They wrap it up in words like 'duty' and 'service' ...... but we republicans know the real truth :aok:
Amal Clooney dressed up but George passed by on his way to a business meeting. He’d grabbed his tie and pocket square from a gift set.
He does indeed seem to be not that bad a guy, its to the detriment of the cause of republicanism that you see folk having a go at the individuals, when the real target is and should be the concept of inherited position and status that they embody .... not the wealth, any of it they can prove is theirs and which doesn't rightfully belong to the citizens of the UK they are welcome to.
As for any of them having control of the circumstances of their birth. No they don't, but what they do control is what happens later, I laugh my arse off when they start bitching about 'their lot' and how tough it is being a royal .... screw that, they could renounce the titles and everything that goes with them at the stroke of a pen, but not one of them has ever done it apart from one notable exception and that had nothing to do with him being against being 'royal'
At their worst the Windsors genuinely believe that an entitlement to political position ( head of state ) deference and high social status which must be acknowledged by those beneath them is their birth right .... the queen and prince Philip almost certainly believe that to be true. At best the whole family look on the institution of royalty as the family business and they will do anything and everything possible to ensure nothing endangers it.
They wrap it up in words like 'duty' and 'service' ...... but we republicans know the real truth :aok:
The foot soldiers of the class system are the English middle classes. A truly vile bunch who think they are better rather than luckier than everyone else.
20-05-2018, 10:46 AM
Yet we are happy to pay to help fund football players who earn an obscene amount of money in relation to the normal working man.
I think the point is that it’s not as white as such occasions in the past where the only black people to be found were serving drinks at the reception.
I’m uncomfortable with the principle of royalty but this is an example of the positive power they have. In one fell swoop, they’ve probably made the windrush generation and the black community feel like a part of British society more effectively than the decades of effort by any group of politicians.
Johnny Clash
20-05-2018, 11:43 AM
You’re right , it’s not about individuals but about an outdated ridiculous system that has absolutely no merit. I mean, why this family? What have they or their predecessors ever contributed to society? I’ve nothing against Germans* either. It’s just we don’t need kings, queens, knights, lords etc Feudalism is never a good idea.
EDIT- * (apart from Philp’s three sisters and their husbands who were card carrying members of the German Nazi party - hence no wedding invite!)
20-05-2018, 04:10 PM
I was down in Carlisle on the day of Bill and Kathy's wedding and coincidentally will be there on Saturday too. Whilst I had/have no interest in the weddings it has to be said there was a very pleasant atmosphere in most of the drinking establishments (not something you can often say about Carlisle) throughout the day, more of the same on Saturday please.
It was more of the same, although too many noisy groups of huns as they got themselves out of Glasgow for the day.
20-05-2018, 09:12 PM
Yet we are happy to pay to help fund football players who earn an obscene amount of money in relation to the normal working man.
I get to choose to do that though?
20-05-2018, 09:32 PM
Not having a pop at individuals of the Royal family, they are born into it and are expected to carry out their roles but the entire idea of a Monarchy in this day and age is ridiculous IMO.
Here we are a country that prides itself on being 21st centaury, modern thinking etc yet here we have a family, through no other reason than birth, have unlimited wealth and privileges. We spend billions on the Royals whilst we also have people living on the streets, an NHS that is stretched to it's limits financially, people in need having their benefits cut, public services having funding reduced etc etc.
I'm all for a bit of tradition and celebrating our history but IMO the Monarchy is extremely outdated and has no place in modern day Britain.
Good luck to Harry and Meghan, they seem like really nice people , nothing against them as people at all, I just think the whole Royal Family thing is totally at odds to the progressive, forward thinking, modern Britain we like to think of ourselves as.
20-05-2018, 09:33 PM
In one fell swoop, they’ve probably made the windrush generation and the black community feel like a part of British society more effectively than the decades of effort by any group of politicians.
"Oh look a black person at a wedding, Rule Britannia!"
21-05-2018, 02:20 AM
I get to choose to do that though?
If only the fitba cost 65p a year though...
Mixu62
21-05-2018, 08:03 AM
Football players have to work their bahookies off to get into that earning bracket and keep working to stay there. A very small percentage of footballers make big money from the game.
21-05-2018, 12:11 PM
I think the point is that it’s not as white as such occasions in the past where the only black people to be found were serving drinks at the reception.
I’m uncomfortable with the principle of royalty but this is an example of the positive power they have. In one fell swoop, they’ve probably made the windrush generation and the black community feel like a part of British society more effectively than the decades of effort by any group of politicians.
Agreed. If you consider that 'racial' issues have dogged both our main political parties for much of this year, then throw in the rhetoric which surrounds Donald Trump, it's little surprise that that the wedding has been welcomed by black communities on both sides of the Atlantic. Who would once have thought that such an event could be the one to engender a genuine sense of inclusivity?
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-us-canada-44185751
21-05-2018, 02:04 PM
If only the fitba cost 65p a year though...
If it was a 65p compulsory fee to all taxpayers then it’d make it cheaper for those of us that choose to invest more?
Slavers
21-05-2018, 02:11 PM
Meghan Merkel has been spirit cooking with George Soro's son.
https://imgur.com/9I7U883
The Royal Family are the head of the serpent.
21-05-2018, 07:03 PM
Football has brought joy to millions of people so pretty hard to snipe about it.
21-05-2018, 07:16 PM
Meghan Merkel has been spirit cooking with George Soro's son.
https://imgur.com/9I7U883
The Royal Family are the head of the serpent.
Everything you say is completely sane and in no way makes you seem unhinged, however that isn’t Meghan Markle in that picture, it’s Hannah Motley.
A criticism commonly aimed at ‘non-believers’ of conspiracy theories is that they believe whatever they are told and don’t bother to research the truth, yet it appears that’s exactly what you’ve done here.
Slavers
21-05-2018, 07:41 PM
Everything you say is completely sane and in no way makes you seem unhinged, however that isn’t Meghan Markle in that picture, it’s Hannah Motley.
A criticism commonly aimed at ‘non-believers’ of conspiracy theories is that they believe whatever they are told and don’t bother to research the truth, yet it appears that’s exactly what you’ve done here.
An example of cloning maybe?
I will need to review my sources of Intel!
22-05-2018, 06:47 AM
Football has brought joy to millions of people so pretty hard to snipe about it.
You shouldn't have bothered if you couldn't contribute yourself.
22-05-2018, 06:54 AM
"Oh look a black person at a wedding, Rule Britannia!"
Yeah, this was the thing that had me shaking my head. Literally no more than 2 weeks has passed since Windrush cases were top news. But hey, a wedding and look how far we’ve come...
That’s why Theresa May wasn’t invited. She would have tried to deport every non-white face there!
23-05-2018, 12:43 AM
Abolish. Head of state by accident of birth represents the pinnacle of superiority by accident of birth attitudes; an embarrassing anachronism.
30-05-2018, 11:29 AM
Ended up on the beach out at Tyninghame on RW day, but made it up to Torridon last weekend. Amazing place if you get the weather.
https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/qmFufaq7LQkNarS6UxVnosljNAWoRalOQ-DI2Y81JMGUSmTEry8BU-YKKJfaZawjqyYTqqrqmiGSCYV7KezUugilG6ruwFyUtCSEn3tk RfTr3PnokMFsqzkXGQPdijols3RYpFF1Vw=w1426-h609-no
https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/E_Ux8E7UfvK_0QJ7MLucTG_MyAR7GvurKnEMr_nICPijE-j32noQRs95hQeVvmhcLCztYr59n2_Fq2-761YAcI71zTMY2qYh-7N6qUzzQLBLQ5EOl4JxyDXu_-M9PKiRRfN1oZm3xRiOYmtP9dDoEHN0XHrUd3PcqSMAgP14UGj0 6ZGBICMB-XNS4lSI6LhDm0O4JhqU6WtS-_DGNWd_qRJQvf2b8ALiLGR9gcTiUdZrmavIREYG3N7Sq3Ic1Pt ZQ3z07JNHEftrJ2sigwykMt5I8okI2fWLYtY8MIi9MhiYQonFW mNFI0MCW6_3R0vAbDfjQEiuVoRaHTvtC3OevCvG1iSO1qu71-fs-p9h3syiEYuRSAEUliI41m88iIFFNIWKmrlmPi9Ic9G_b9VL496 ehq4e72ULBItmHPyk4oEQMgX-o2MmN8ObYWjecP_QQbTI_kmc1SIm43XI6yzhRBPZUyCG6FIjHk Bol7R97f97_kS2F7zhmVWsJBp22dOtVGcuL6Q3Fd3gDQgzVuLd O0V0UgsI8bD43AXFatBc0AjhbHup2Rw23PoM_0sgPaMAZbajRw 1uFQED1Jw8rlR7GKENjl1f_uiKpEfa51U=w1398-h932-no
https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/4ynJDVIJKEtYFDGSUcrMnv81AiHBDjfDInLLefaZG7dm6TV8Dz GUVkTEgCCJDEOkxjzzdwHFz4Aehp2HVc2dd9cf-VWsXDfzK0-9tOeZESr0WGs3g0-_MoE68NihmFZ91tCiB9pxoyYML3bWuim-xYNGALbzpVPlT2k9dOAmgBav8e2EAEWjcqP1tIJhWzmAGPjg__ bPVq5_BU-37p7cIi9ZgPFyZ7L-XcJ7KjpSd0lJJ3Iq9Cx9_UfwRo7lIY45wEE8ubk6Dei9tqcEz0 TBj2P9pOBLxDEKNqa9v3VgTGdpNv8I6koDM8iYtQHwj_y9QEPf DMDCmwbDj5KxwicJ-jy9yn3Nhsq3usZHqYl8R80wm0KrJNYYiI3hyGwAQfX6pSYYm0U yZT-430f-tVn6u6sI75NE1cVB-3HTfpWXDpXjkv9szmTUQV8mKuBVzc1RUR_sDSoBwNdsS2UVJJ4 j5uWjjALaPw3xvDXv1Za5-Oz7gNFHgiVfo2NJudlRJ8eYEMAt9VMxJnKGEXEt2l_xlspKCZl XBc0dF5QOZa96-yt33xAfnEr0di40AxzOHzliabR3aNmYqxRzH8VQiWhrfg9aMGq oLY6rw6i7r8Q=w1552-h407-no
https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/yPxf0jVGxSvGuOKCdRku3uRMPvxDS9nKUVjlEQl7tIGXobLL65 z0QnONVHY1pw02IStzCf8yy2hLI3lo_DlKczCMmvADUhAt-gMRpwTI6OcSZBhtITDbMOd9DDw6x87npg7EyXPckMyftfrxIma xGlnNC6Rce1rhyzzaYvNqiY5PHQUCzwLtAxNIBodw5kH6PMmcy 9jZqrfGWbDViDn0f-kmjayKz9yYDm-Herl7eRtqBx22i2vP9jRW4I-HP9rtoQDu9gyhIf6EbL7-u-2VbXSCbkIDSM9oM_d6BgzneanN1VncULpDAREVYsGvCFSy9OZN R7xZ_XM4aq6aXIemb3ZmgJcl99zOfRjZqJSaJJjQjenp9daqxQ AA_djULE4vEBTrlQAGtbc9ljmYSndOWCWM35wmGnYPMrzmSDfz sr-qrrVcKeWrxKopURcXkFxsE-_3sV-VC_zG3A8rVspkBSkTLx6_9HxqPWXeHhjb4sW9QrTz889TMCSyH h01HBNr2gVAmcPb98ResJrgHxtewHuHW6uCyVo6cVnx0qDEiV0 L8eE2SFd5XtGnbcIP9sGWlvKXJaumlksgjL0fYpVBDSQyWFoET vYAZjvbPWI=w1398-h932-no
https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/8OmnWK4S2z019o4MChNQhEzIT50DRCox-yj_t9a7G6s6ujENl8JxQ0p22NYUjiYIle7EIvqz4ETbvv4mBho Ju_oSpm8E4R_kLeAHDwWIWKe1XC64-s2wTRzNh9EXf30RebTdoHUPh8dPdFjroPD-jYyzY15Q3WUy9fEtCQI4keATmoVmX_cdwM8hqguQNPKBXK5j7a 2IaGSkd_ODe_rbsv_uf3Ngd4QpH0Fo5tMVmHbFW4tUOxnoLIs-QgGONIL97Q9E2VJPZjFyRQP2zhZ87H0Yf42ikv6s8DwhrZ7rzQ 8iU_cEwtjD6Ngo8X9NIUqcrvMUB6pYY3z-MwgDAL_iDmL9ZTBMR68ln65kV8WALCJWNkDr71QNoISLkZKjM7 zIAJ80H4x0FvVNZTTqzFNIziCDHy7ebdNiKDChgZ-Zs0BTfs-u5KAwQ4vxu42QByFdrdESP63SHW2C3H2ZXX8oIH3mhee-NGG5qc_KpEITm_zTOn0mq_ESBpMN74aD32kRnPD3bLhtb-kPLgRwBzYG-7drKmLhxtUdkuYcQFzZhZAqAisLM5w9-l8igmFIuQ6E-fHkyPPtbugnqM923a15SfmXFgd8msG0ziYhbrU=w1398-h932-no
30-05-2018, 11:43 AM
Ended up on the beach out at Tyninghame on RW day, but made it up to Torridon last weekend. Amazing place if you get the weather.
Beautiful! :thumbsup:
I went up Meall Nan Tarmachan and Ben Vorlich (Loch Lomond one) - Tarmachan is one of the easiest Munroe's I've ever done, up and down in about 2 hours from the elevated start of the car park. I figured I then had enough time to nip and do another one - Vorlich was much a much longer and harder climb.
I've not been to Torridon before, but my mate swears by it for hill walking and going by your pics I can see why! :agree:
30-05-2018, 12:26 PM
Beautiful! :thumbsup:
I went up Meall Nan Tarmachan and Ben Vorlich (Loch Lomond one) - Tarmachan is one of the easiest Munroe's I've ever done, up and down in about 2 hours from the elevated start of the car park. I figured I then had enough time to nip and do another one - Vorlich was much a much longer and harder climb.
I've not been to Torridon before, but my mate swears by it for hill walking and going by your pics I can see why! :agree:
Good effort getting those 2 done in a day! Your mate is spot on. :agree:
https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/qmFufaq7LQkNarS6UxVnosljNAWoRalOQ-DI2Y81JMGUSmTEry8BU-YKKJfaZawjqyYTqqrqmiGSCYV7KezUugilG6ruwFyUtCSEn3tk RfTr3PnokMFsqzkXGQPdijols3RYpFF1Vw=w1426-h609-no
https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/E_Ux8E7UfvK_0QJ7MLucTG_MyAR7GvurKnEMr_nICPijE-j32noQRs95hQeVvmhcLCztYr59n2_Fq2-761YAcI71zTMY2qYh-7N6qUzzQLBLQ5EOl4JxyDXu_-M9PKiRRfN1oZm3xRiOYmtP9dDoEHN0XHrUd3PcqSMAgP14UGj0 6ZGBICMB-XNS4lSI6LhDm0O4JhqU6WtS-_DGNWd_qRJQvf2b8ALiLGR9gcTiUdZrmavIREYG3N7Sq3Ic1Pt ZQ3z07JNHEftrJ2sigwykMt5I8okI2fWLYtY8MIi9MhiYQonFW mNFI0MCW6_3R0vAbDfjQEiuVoRaHTvtC3OevCvG1iSO1qu71-fs-p9h3syiEYuRSAEUliI41m88iIFFNIWKmrlmPi9Ic9G_b9VL496 ehq4e72ULBItmHPyk4oEQMgX-o2MmN8ObYWjecP_QQbTI_kmc1SIm43XI6yzhRBPZUyCG6FIjHk Bol7R97f97_kS2F7zhmVWsJBp22dOtVGcuL6Q3Fd3gDQgzVuLd O0V0UgsI8bD43AXFatBc0AjhbHup2Rw23PoM_0sgPaMAZbajRw 1uFQED1Jw8rlR7GKENjl1f_uiKpEfa51U=w1398-h932-no
https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/4ynJDVIJKEtYFDGSUcrMnv81AiHBDjfDInLLefaZG7dm6TV8Dz GUVkTEgCCJDEOkxjzzdwHFz4Aehp2HVc2dd9cf-VWsXDfzK0-9tOeZESr0WGs3g0-_MoE68NihmFZ91tCiB9pxoyYML3bWuim-xYNGALbzpVPlT2k9dOAmgBav8e2EAEWjcqP1tIJhWzmAGPjg__ bPVq5_BU-37p7cIi9ZgPFyZ7L-XcJ7KjpSd0lJJ3Iq9Cx9_UfwRo7lIY45wEE8ubk6Dei9tqcEz0 TBj2P9pOBLxDEKNqa9v3VgTGdpNv8I6koDM8iYtQHwj_y9QEPf DMDCmwbDj5KxwicJ-jy9yn3Nhsq3usZHqYl8R80wm0KrJNYYiI3hyGwAQfX6pSYYm0U yZT-430f-tVn6u6sI75NE1cVB-3HTfpWXDpXjkv9szmTUQV8mKuBVzc1RUR_sDSoBwNdsS2UVJJ4 j5uWjjALaPw3xvDXv1Za5-Oz7gNFHgiVfo2NJudlRJ8eYEMAt9VMxJnKGEXEt2l_xlspKCZl XBc0dF5QOZa96-yt33xAfnEr0di40AxzOHzliabR3aNmYqxRzH8VQiWhrfg9aMGq oLY6rw6i7r8Q=w1552-h407-no
https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/yPxf0jVGxSvGuOKCdRku3uRMPvxDS9nKUVjlEQl7tIGXobLL65 z0QnONVHY1pw02IStzCf8yy2hLI3lo_DlKczCMmvADUhAt-gMRpwTI6OcSZBhtITDbMOd9DDw6x87npg7EyXPckMyftfrxIma xGlnNC6Rce1rhyzzaYvNqiY5PHQUCzwLtAxNIBodw5kH6PMmcy 9jZqrfGWbDViDn0f-kmjayKz9yYDm-Herl7eRtqBx22i2vP9jRW4I-HP9rtoQDu9gyhIf6EbL7-u-2VbXSCbkIDSM9oM_d6BgzneanN1VncULpDAREVYsGvCFSy9OZN R7xZ_XM4aq6aXIemb3ZmgJcl99zOfRjZqJSaJJjQjenp9daqxQ AA_djULE4vEBTrlQAGtbc9ljmYSndOWCWM35wmGnYPMrzmSDfz sr-qrrVcKeWrxKopURcXkFxsE-_3sV-VC_zG3A8rVspkBSkTLx6_9HxqPWXeHhjb4sW9QrTz889TMCSyH h01HBNr2gVAmcPb98ResJrgHxtewHuHW6uCyVo6cVnx0qDEiV0 L8eE2SFd5XtGnbcIP9sGWlvKXJaumlksgjL0fYpVBDSQyWFoET vYAZjvbPWI=w1398-h932-no
https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/8OmnWK4S2z019o4MChNQhEzIT50DRCox-yj_t9a7G6s6ujENl8JxQ0p22NYUjiYIle7EIvqz4ETbvv4mBho Ju_oSpm8E4R_kLeAHDwWIWKe1XC64-s2wTRzNh9EXf30RebTdoHUPh8dPdFjroPD-jYyzY15Q3WUy9fEtCQI4keATmoVmX_cdwM8hqguQNPKBXK5j7a 2IaGSkd_ODe_rbsv_uf3Ngd4QpH0Fo5tMVmHbFW4tUOxnoLIs-QgGONIL97Q9E2VJPZjFyRQP2zhZ87H0Yf42ikv6s8DwhrZ7rzQ 8iU_cEwtjD6Ngo8X9NIUqcrvMUB6pYY3z-MwgDAL_iDmL9ZTBMR68ln65kV8WALCJWNkDr71QNoISLkZKjM7 zIAJ80H4x0FvVNZTTqzFNIziCDHy7ebdNiKDChgZ-Zs0BTfs-u5KAwQ4vxu42QByFdrdESP63SHW2C3H2ZXX8oIH3mhee-NGG5qc_KpEITm_zTOn0mq_ESBpMN74aD32kRnPD3bLhtb-kPLgRwBzYG-7drKmLhxtUdkuYcQFzZhZAqAisLM5w9-l8igmFIuQ6E-fHkyPPtbugnqM923a15SfmXFgd8msG0ziYhbrU=w1398-h932-no
What a stunning view! That’s incredible :top marks
31-05-2018, 10:04 AM
What a stunning view! That’s incredible :top marks
Amazeballs. :greengrin