View Full Version : Display?

13-05-2018, 11:39 AM
Was there one?

13-05-2018, 11:51 AM
Yes - looked fantastic again.

3 large surfer flags of past and present badges.

Plus all the green and white flags and slogan from
Upper tier of Famous Five Stand - ‘if you know your history’

13-05-2018, 02:29 PM
https://www.dropbox.com/s/zg7fn27a9rd17wg/IMG_0042.jpg

13-05-2018, 02:30 PM

Thanks. :thumbsup:

13-05-2018, 02:30 PM

Loved it.

13-05-2018, 02:32 PM
Thanks. :thumbsup:

No probs. The attachment didn't quite work as expected.

It was impressive, even if it did look like a KKK meeting before the bottom tier filled up!

superbam
13-05-2018, 02:43 PM
Another great effort, great job all. Loved the "statement incoming" banner as well :thumbsup:

ChooseLife
13-05-2018, 02:45 PM
https://youtu.be/mBobk6rf8l8

smack
13-05-2018, 02:46 PM

It was impressive, even if it did look like a KKK meeting before the bottom tier filled up!

KKK - That’s what I thought as well before the game

roc1
13-05-2018, 02:53 PM
Sit in famous five upper so can’t really see display at time but that is great. Well done to all involved. Please let me and a couple of dinosaur pals how to donate for future stuff 😀 ggtth

Silversand
13-05-2018, 03:06 PM
https://youtu.be/bnTvOF_q3-M

GreenT
13-05-2018, 03:46 PM
Great display. Well done to all involved

Newry Hibs
13-05-2018, 03:48 PM

So,something for the huns support as well then. Very thoughtful?

13-05-2018, 03:51 PM
Yep, well done and thanks to everyone involved in creating another brilliant display. :aok:

Galahibby
13-05-2018, 03:52 PM
It was hard to get a decent photo cos of the sun, but this is the best of a bad bunch. https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20180513/00b5f5baaad56bc6498386980267b963.jpg

Sent from my HTC 10 using Tapatalk

ChooseLife
13-05-2018, 07:26 PM
Looked brilliant from the south

13-05-2018, 07:32 PM
The display way awesome, but i though the (presumably seperate) 'hun ****' banner difn't reflect particularly well on us. If a banner is about another team, it should at least be funny IMO.

13-05-2018, 07:35 PM
The display way awesome, but i though the (presumably seperate) 'hun ****' banner difn't reflect particularly well on us. If a banner is about another team, it should at least be funny IMO.

The ‘statement incoming’ bit was funny and the ‘Hun ****’ part was factual. I loved it but it coincided with them getting their 2nd & 3rd goals so did look a bit silly.

13-05-2018, 07:37 PM

Didn’t see that, any photos?

Thought the colour the Hibs team came out too was fantastic

wandering_hibee
13-05-2018, 07:47 PM
I was disappointed that I couldn't get a seat in Famous Five stand today and had to settle for the West. However I did get to see the display which I thought was great, well done to the team who designed it and made it happen.

13-05-2018, 07:48 PM
The display was quality. Well done to all those involved.

13-05-2018, 07:52 PM
No wonder the team went 3-0 up after seeing that.
Well done !

hibbydog
13-05-2018, 08:04 PM
Any fotties of the ‘statement incoming’ banner, please ?

13-05-2018, 08:04 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20180513/01916c2db6eafc0224a300c20c0e30d7.jpg

KKK sneaking in!

13-05-2018, 08:23 PM
a great sight for the team to run out to.

the colours shone bright in the sun.

Well done to all that took part in it.

Keep up the good work.

vuefrom1875
13-05-2018, 08:33 PM

Brilliant display and hats of to boys...... didn't quite work?....support the team gadgie 🤣🤣🤣

13-05-2018, 08:35 PM
Brilliant display and hats of to boys...... didn't quite work?....support the team gadgie 🤣🤣🤣

He's talking about his attachment to his post. :hilarious

Johnny Clash
13-05-2018, 09:57 PM
Was there one?

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20180513/f77a68a07d2af871d879b87bae177ee7.jpg

13-05-2018, 10:09 PM
Great display, loved it! but where was our first badge ? The harp...

13-05-2018, 10:11 PM
Huns are frothing about the hun **** banner so job done imo.

Austinho
13-05-2018, 10:22 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20180513/01916c2db6eafc0224a300c20c0e30d7.jpg

KKK sneaking in!Just making Sevco fans feel at home.

Austinho
13-05-2018, 10:24 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20180513/00b5f5baaad56bc6498386980267b963.jpgLooks great! Hopefully those banners will make an appearance at Hibs games for years to come?

13-05-2018, 10:36 PM
I was a privileged guest star in this performance. :wink:

13-05-2018, 10:42 PM

Gorgeous

13-05-2018, 10:46 PM
The word ‘hun’ is not sectarian. Unlike the derogatory use of the word ‘Fenian’ in their chant about Lennon. That said, I’d prefer something a bit more subtle.

14-05-2018, 08:14 AM
The main display looked good however the secondary display banner of 'hun ****' was needless and lacked class.

14-05-2018, 08:24 AM
The main display looked good however the secondary display banner of 'hun ****' was needless and lacked class.

Opinions eh. I thought it was great and hope it gets an airing next season when we finish above them.

14-05-2018, 08:29 AM
Huns are frothing about the hun **** banner so job done imo.

Just like the Tories were frothing at the mouth about the Tory **** banner at the Indy rally. Beautiful

14-05-2018, 11:31 AM

You've made a bit of a doughnut of yourself there. I'm still in a good mood though so you're forgiven!

18Hibee75
14-05-2018, 11:40 AM
Beggars belief. https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20180514/16b1d7a77cc7abd214a1808adc4bd1bc.jpg

Sent from my F3211 using Tapatalk

ChooseLife
14-05-2018, 12:21 PM
Beggars belief. https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20180514/16b1d7a77cc7abd214a1808adc4bd1bc.jpg

Sent from my F3211 using Tapatalk
Never seen that during the game, great effort:thumbsup:

timewilltell
14-05-2018, 12:44 PM

this.....

proud_and_green
14-05-2018, 12:50 PM

I had to do a double take - it was like hundreds of robed up Klansmen sitting in the Famous Five.

Johnny Clash
14-05-2018, 04:35 PM
The word ‘hun’ is not sectarian. Unlike the derogatory use of the word ‘Fenian’ in their chant about Lennon. That said, I’d prefer something a bit more subtle.

Spot on. Rangers fans were first described as ‘maurading huns’ by the English media follow loads of violence when they played away against Wolves in 1961’s Cup Winners Cup.

They were described as 'coming across the border like marauding huns'. Thanks to their deplorable behaviour and drink fuelled mindless violence - a humorous, accurate and nonsectarian term of endearment was created!

14-05-2018, 04:56 PM
Sky reporting that they are waiting on SPFL delegate repory on offensive Banner at the game yesterday
Presume that’s the one in the Singing section

14-05-2018, 04:59 PM

Daily Record claiming it is - and that Neil Lennon "claims" the Rangers fans were singing sectarian songs. Not that were singing but that Neil Lennon claims they were. :rolleyes: Worst rag ever.

14-05-2018, 05:00 PM
Daily Record claiming it is - and that Neil Lennon "claims" the Rangers fans were singing sectarian songs. Not that were singing but that Neil Lennon claims they were. :rolleyes: Worst paper ever.

Paper?

14-05-2018, 05:02 PM
Paper?

sorted

14-05-2018, 05:02 PM

Have to agree

Since 1875 have been brilliant but cant say I thought this was their finest hour

I doubt the club would have sanctioned it either and think the club could find itself in trouble over it

14-05-2018, 05:03 PM

The display at the start was glorious. The statement incoming banner smart and funny. The last one? Let's be cooler than that eh?

14-05-2018, 05:05 PM
The display at the start was glorious. The statement incoming banner smart and funny. The last one? Let's be cooler than that eh?

I’ve asked on this thread who’s responsible for that banner. I’ve contributed twice to the last few fundraising requests, still waiting on an answer

14-05-2018, 05:05 PM
Sky reporting that they are waiting on SPFL delegate repory on offensive Banner at the game yesterday

Well maybe that gives Hibs a chance to bring up the sectarian singing directed at our manager so some good will come out of it.

14-05-2018, 05:08 PM

Farcical.

They have poisoned the Scottish game for decades yet one banner and it's news? Hypocrisy and then some. No doubt their wee pals at Nil By Mouth will be ready to back them up and 'confirm' hun is indeed a sectarian term.

14-05-2018, 05:09 PM
Brilliant effort from Since1875 , all of it.

14-05-2018, 05:13 PM
Farcical.

They have poisoned the Scottish game for decades yet one banner and it's news? Hypocrisy and then some. No doubt their wee pals at Nil By Mouth will be ready to back them up and 'confirm' hun is indeed a sectarian term.

I’d love to see anybody trying to make a legal case for Hun being a sectarian term. Given that fans of every other team in Scotland call them that I doubt it would be successful.

14-05-2018, 05:15 PM
Great effort, much appreciated all your time and work on these great displays!!

Johnny Clash
14-05-2018, 05:17 PM
I’ve asked on this thread who’s responsible for that banner. I’ve contributed twice to the last few fundraising requests, still waiting on an answer

Yes I’d like to personally thank him/her but to be honest it really doesn’t matter who should take the credit - it’s a collective effort - just like all the other displays. So well done to all concerned , thanks for the laugh on Sunday - and keep it going!

14-05-2018, 05:20 PM
Well done once again to everyone involved, you have produced the goods all season. The "Natural Order" one my personal favourite, short, simple and rammed it right up that fud Levein for the cringeworthy comments.

As for the "Hun ****" banner, I don't have an issue with it. Huns is not a sectarian, racist, homophobic term or anything like that. You've really got to love the huns and their faux outrage over it though. The same group of fans who sing week in week out about being "up to our knees in Fenian blood, celebrate the death of ex celtic players and Browns sister, have a weird obsession with sinigng about peadophiles, change every single song so that it can involve a sectarian element in it etc etc the list is quite literally endless!

A truly rotten to the core club. HUN **** indeed!

14-05-2018, 05:24 PM

Couldn't make it up! The bile that mob sprout week in week out and not a thing is done.

14-05-2018, 05:27 PM
If we do indeed get charged for this and Rangers do not then according to the SFA and SPFL, the following is true:

Hun ****: sectarian
Fenian *******: NOT sectarian

14-05-2018, 05:36 PM
If we do indeed get charged for this and Rangers do not then according to the SFA and SPFL, the following is true:

Hun ****: sectarian
Fenian *******: NOT sectarian

Pretty much sorts out the next banner too... :greengrin

14-05-2018, 05:40 PM
https://youtu.be/mBobk6rf8l8

That looked terrific

14-05-2018, 05:41 PM
Daily Record claiming it is - and that Neil Lennon "claims" the Rangers fans were singing sectarian songs. Not that were singing but that Neil Lennon claims they were. :rolleyes: Worst rag ever.

Actually, I've now read that same description in at least three 'newspapers'.

They all use the word allege, despite the fact it must have been obvious to every one of them. That's why Lennon made a point of saying "surely you heard it?".

14-05-2018, 05:54 PM
Actually, I've now read that same description in at least three 'newspapers'.

They all use the word allege, despite the fact it must have been obvious to every one of them. That's why Lennon made a point of saying "surely you heard it?".

Selective deafness.

An affliction that seems to primarily occur in stewards, police and journalists when they are in the vicinity of Rangers fans.

Gordy M
14-05-2018, 06:00 PM
Selective deafness.

An affliction that seems to primarily occur in stewards, police and journalists when they are in the vicinity of Rangers fans.

Its becomming a minefield to try and prosecute fans singing sectarian songs at football. There was a recent case(il try and find the link) whereby a rangers fan was charged and went to court. Video evidence was used in court showing him singing away, to which the accused said he was miming......found not guilty.

14-05-2018, 06:09 PM
I'd certainly rather the hun **** banner hadn't appeared and it's put me off donating money to the displays unless I know what it's for. Full disclosure though, I've not donated anyhing yet but I had been impressed.

H*n doesn't help it but I'd just rather not be calling folk **** in such public fashion, even them. Be better.

14-05-2018, 06:27 PM
H*n doesn't help it but I'd just rather not be calling folk **** in such public fashion, even them. Be better.

Tend to agree, but it would be a good outcome if Gerrard saw this and was prompted to wonder why other people think of his new club that way. Maybe his previous clubs won't have been referred to like that quite so publicly.

Green_one
14-05-2018, 06:29 PM

Gosh, I hope we have not insulted any Rangers fans. Such nice chaps. Easily upset. I am welling up just thinking about the possible long term mental anguish caused. Perhaps a statement would help. We could sends those seats they kindly adjusted in the South stand as an offering. The odd sink as well.

GIRUT :na na:

barcahibs
14-05-2018, 06:36 PM
It is sectarian if they say its sectarian. If we want to go down this stupid route of banning songs and chants that we find offensive then this is the result.

We don't get to decide what other groups find offensive. They do. This whataboutery was the only possible result of the 'crackdown' (ha!) On sectarianism.

'Aye but, if we cannae say fenian then they cannae say hun'. Its so predictable its actually depressing.

And let's be honest here when we call a sevco fan a Hun its because we want to offend them. In the same way as when they call us fenians its because they want to offend us. Religion has got bugger all to do with it, they're just labels that describe "that other group I've been brought up to hate".

As a notionally protestant atheist with no Irish roots I'm about as far from the dictionary definition of a fenian as you can get but it really doesn't matter.

Those giving historical precedents for why zombie fc fans are caked huns are completely missing the point. Dictionaries change. "Gay" used to mean happy, LGBT was some sort of sandwich and it was pergectly acceptable at one time to call a black person a n****r (and that one is so unacceptable nowadays i even filtered it myself and still felt uncomfortable writing it).

Language changes. And now "Hun", said by a "fenian" means one side of an imaginary sectarian divide whether we like it or not.

Up til now the banner makers have played an absolute blinder but this one is a huge mistake.

I had a debate on here a while ago about me not taking part in stadium displays because i didn't want to be part of displaying a design or slogan that i disagreed with. I was reassured at the time that that would never happen that displays would always be positive and about Hibs. I believed them, and up til now they were right.

But now that's my trust in them completely gone.

14-05-2018, 06:41 PM
It is sectarian if they say its sectarian. If we want to go down this stupid route of banning songs and chants that we find offensive then this is the result.

We don't get to decide what other groups find offensive. They do. This whataboutery was the only possible result of the 'crackdown' (ha!) On sectarianism.

'Aye but, if we cannae say fenian then they cannae say hun'. Its so predictable its actually depressing.

And let's be honest here when we call a sevco fan a Hun its because we want to offend them. In the same way as when they call us fenians its because they want to offend us. Religion has got bugger all to do with it, they're just labels that describe "that other group I've been brought up to hate".

As a notionally protestant atheist with no Irish roots I'm about as far from the dictionary definition of a fenian as you can get but it really doesn't matter.

Those giving historical precedents for why zombie fc fans are caked huns are completely missing the point. Dictionaries change. "Gay" used to mean happy, LGBT was some sort of sandwich and it was pergectly acceptable at one time to call a black person a n****r (and that one is so unacceptable nowadays i even filtered it myself and still felt uncomfortable writing it).

Language changes. And now "Hun", said by a "fenian" means one side of an imaginary sectarian divide whether we like it or not.

Up til now the banner makers have played an absolute blinder but this one is a huge mistake.

I had a debate on here a while ago about me not taking part in stadium displays because i didn't want to be part of displaying a design or slogan that i disagreed with. I was reassured at the time that that would never happen that displays would always be positive and about Hibs. I believed them, and up til now they were right.

I would hazard a guess that a fair proportion of Rangers fans who use the term Fenian use it as derogatory word for a Catholic. I've never met any Hibs fan that has used the term Hun and meant it to mean Protestant so there is a significant difference IMO.

CathroMustStay
14-05-2018, 06:48 PM
Maurice Johnston = hun
Lorenzo Amoruso = hun
Neil McCann = hun
Nacho Novo = hun
Jon Daly = Sevconian hun

To paraphrase Jim Royle... sectarian my arse.

HTD1875
14-05-2018, 07:00 PM

Read this three times, still can’t get my head round someone thinking like this. Do you go about your daily life making sure you don’t offend anyone?

14-05-2018, 07:02 PM

Take your point that sectarian behaviour need not be about religion, but disagree that I (for example) use the term hun because I've been brought up to hate Rangers fans. I wasn't indocrinated against huns in any way. I learned all I know about huns from observing their behaviour in a group over five decades. Nor do I think hun is used to be offensive. If I want to refer to the Thes, I call them huns. If I wanted to be offensive about them, I would be considering phrases like hun ****.

WestEndHibee
14-05-2018, 07:07 PM
I would hazard a guess that a fair proportion of Rangers fans who use the term Fenian use it as derogatory word for a Catholic. I've never met any Hibs fan that has used the term Hun and meant it to mean Protestant so there is a significant difference IMO.

I’d be inclined to agree with you on the statement but it misses the point. Hun is a word that has gathered sectarian connotations over time and so can be received by the rangers fans as a sectarian remark.

There’s so much we can mock that club for and wind the fans up about that we had no need to go anywhere near the term.

14-05-2018, 07:12 PM
I’d be inclined to agree with you on the statement but it misses the point. Hun is a word that has gathered sectarian connotations over time and so can be received by the rangers fans as a sectarian remark.

There’s so much we can mock that club for and wind the fans up about that we had no need to go anywhere near the term.

The term Hun in Scottish football has nothing to do with religion though. Every single club in Scotland , including another big club in the country who were traditionally the Protestant team in Edinburgh , refer to them as Huns.

14-05-2018, 07:12 PM

How has it gathered sectarian connotations. Unless all deragatory terms aimed at a football club are now sectarian it hasn’t. Fans of EVERY other club in Scotland call them Huns. Are they all hotbeds of sectarian behaviour?

GreenT
14-05-2018, 07:15 PM

Dictionary = HUN - "a member of a warlike Asiatic nomadic people who invaded and ravaged Europe in the 4th–5th centuries". Can't see any mention of religion there.
During the WW 1 & 2 came to mean the Germans ie the enemy. Again no religious connotation

14-05-2018, 07:23 PM
:not worth
The term Hun in Scottish football has nothing to do with religion though. Every single club in Scotland , including another big club in the country who were traditionally the Protestant team in Edinburgh , refer to them as Huns.

If calling them Huns is sectarian then so is calling Aberdeen the Sheep.

barcahibs
14-05-2018, 07:30 PM
Read this three times, still can’t get my head round someone thinking like this. Do you go about your daily life making sure you don’t offend anyone?

Exact opposite. I don't understand why anyone gets upset at being called names. But people do and that's the world we live in.

If we want to act faux outraged when sevco fans call us nasty name then we can't turn round and pretend its fine when we call them nasty names.

Personally i don't give xxxx what sevco fans call me. They're idiots and are thus irrelevant. But society cares amd i always want Hibs to be the good guys.

Cheshire Hibby
14-05-2018, 07:31 PM
Have to agree

Since 1875 have been brilliant but cant say I thought this was their finest hour

I doubt the club would have sanctioned it either and think the club could find itself in trouble over it

My view also. The opening display was excellent and as a donator, I was pleased to have contributed. From my seat in the East, I never saw these other banners and whilst I have no love for the Rangers fans who have for decades, subjected football fans of other clubs to their brand of distasteful and crass chanting, abuse and aggression, the use of such a banner, reduces us to their level.

The Hibs support yesterday was truly fantastic and it is disappointing to say the least that we have given them ammunition to throw at us. Come on Since 1875, we have all loved your displays, clear support of our team and your humour so please keep it to messages we can all feel proud to be part of.

barcahibs
14-05-2018, 07:45 PM
Dictionary = HUN - "a member of a warlike Asiatic nomadic people who invaded and ravaged Europe in the 4th–5th centuries". Can't see any mention of religion there.
During the WW 1 & 2 came to mean the Germans ie the enemy. Again no religious connotation

Dictionary: "PAKIS" - an acronym for Punjab, Afghan, Kashmir, Indus and Sind.

I still wouldnt use it as a term for a citizen of that country though. Language changes.

The whole idea that anyone could be offended by being called a hun is ludicrous. But the idea that anyone could be offended by being called a fenian is to me equally ludicrous.

And yet people are. And society says that the group who is offended get to decide whats offensive.

This is the problem with banning any sort of speech, or nebulous concept like sectarianism, whataboutery rules.

I agree with Lapsedhibee who quoted me above (sorry on my phone so can't multiquote) who mentions that he doesnt call resurrection fc fans 'huns' out of any sectarian hatred due to upbringing.

I'm sure you don't, but this argumemt isnt really about you and me, it's not even really about Hibs, this is a celtc/sevco problem and debate.

But by having banners like that we get ourselves drawn into the argument. The Scottish media and politicians, who are desperate to frame this as a 'football' problem or a 'Scottish' problem, rather than admit it is an old firm/glasgow problem love opportunities like this to spread sone blame.

Never get into a debate with an idiot celtc/sevco fan. They'll drag you down to their idiot level and then beat you due to their experience.

HTD1875
14-05-2018, 07:56 PM
Exact opposite. I don't understand why anyone gets upset at being called names. But people do and that's the world we live in.

If we want to act faux outraged when sevco fans call us nasty name then we can't turn round and pretend its fine when we call them nasty names.

Personally i don't give xxxx what sevco fans call me. They're idiots and are thus irrelevant. But society cares amd i always want Hibs to be the good guys.

Fair play I’ve misinterpreted your original post apologies. I’d rather we all forgot about who was more offensive or which side was offensive first and gave each other hell.

14-05-2018, 08:02 PM
If the word hun is sectarian over 95% of women in the 12-40 age range are sending sectarian messages every day.

14-05-2018, 08:04 PM
Well done Since1875. Great work.

Skol
14-05-2018, 08:06 PM
The banner was ill advised, but for me its not the word Hun that was the main issue. I dont thonk either word was appropriate and the combination was poor,

WestEndHibee
14-05-2018, 08:08 PM
How has it gathered sectarian connotations. Unless all deragatory terms aimed at a football club are now sectarian it hasn’t. Fans of EVERY other club in Scotland call them Huns. Are they all hotbeds of sectarian behaviour?

I’m not even going to attempt to explain how it’s happened, that’s just the madness of the bigot brothers’ bubble.

The fact is that countless articles and the occasional petition or court case pop up any time a politician, Celtic player, fan base etc. publicly use the term, with rangers fans “citing racial hatred”. For the record I don’t agree with the connection but you can’t argue that it hasn’t gathered sectarian connotations.

Either way it isn’t the point. The fact that Rangers and a few independent bodies seem to deem the term as potentially racially offensive means that Hibs fans should have far more sense than sticking it on a banner unless the aim was to create controversy?

14-05-2018, 08:12 PM
My Dad is a Protestant, he's not a hun. My partner is a Protestant, she's not a hun. My maternal Grandfather is a Protestant, he's not a hun. I'd guess a majority or sizable minority of this forum were raised as Protestants. They are not huns.

You'll see where I'm going with this. Rangers fans don't even believe the term is sectarian. It's classic deflection from them; they aren't offended by it but try to use it to excuse their own prejudices.

malcolm
14-05-2018, 08:13 PM
It is humorous that this thread has focused on the term ‘hun’ yet the word that seems to be without doubt from a .net perspective to to be offensive is the s c u m word:greengrin

Language changes but not simply because a self interested group with an agenda aims to have it accepted as such it needs a bandwagon. While nil by mouth and sectarian supporters are odd bedfellows the rest of Scotland just needs to keep off the wagon.. Cletic fans though don’t help

14-05-2018, 08:15 PM

Beautiful. :not worth

Statement of fact.

They are huns and they are definitely ****.

SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
14-05-2018, 08:17 PM
Dictionary: "PAKIS" - an acronym for Punjab, Afghan, Kashmir, Indus and Sind.

I still wouldnt use it as a term for a citizen of that country though. Language changes.

The whole idea that anyone could be offended by being called a hun is ludicrous. But the idea that anyone could be offended by being called a fenian is to me equally ludicrous.

And yet people are. And society says that the group who is offended get to decide whats offensive.

This is the problem with banning any sort of speech, or nebulous concept like sectarianism, whataboutery rules.

I agree with Lapsedhibee who quoted me above (sorry on my phone so can't multiquote) who mentions that he doesnt call resurrection fc fans 'huns' out of any sectarian hatred due to upbringing.

I'm sure you don't, but this argumemt isnt really about you and me, it's not even really about Hibs, this is a celtc/sevco problem and debate.

But by having banners like that we get ourselves drawn into the argument. The Scottish media and politicians, who are desperate to frame this as a 'football' problem or a 'Scottish' problem, rather than admit it is an old firm/glasgow problem love opportunities like this to spread sone blame.

Never get into a debate with an idiot celtc/sevco fan. They'll drag you down to their idiot level and then beat you due to their experience.

I think you make your point well, and i agree to am extent that anyonr moaning about offensive language opens up a world of subjectivity and whataboutery.

However i absolutely defend my right to call the huns, huns. Im delighted it offends them, its supposed to offend them, thats the whole point. The same as why we sing about them all living in west coast poverty, and stealing hubcaps.

However there is a line that has beem drawn that makes certain things objectively wrong at the fitba. Black bassa, paki bassa, faggot - fenian is one of those.

I also wish we would stop usinh sectrianism, its become a euphemism, lets call them out - they are anti irish racists, and anti-catholic bigots, tue same way the KKK are anti-black and the same way the nazis were anti-jew.

Personally, im proud to offend such low lives, i hope they are offended to theit very core, and i love that we have them frothing st their rabid mouths.

Huns juat describes them perfectly, it is the perfect nickname, and not because of religion, but because it sums up theit triumphalist, supermacist and utterly ignorant and aggressive view of tge world. It is absolutely possible, and i would say desireable, to detest theae cretins not because of their alleged religion, but because any right-thinking person would and should. They are total ****, and im glad and proud we have brought this issue to the fore.

Well done Since 1875.

14-05-2018, 08:20 PM
Beautiful. :not worth

Statement of fact.

They are huns and they are definitely ****.

Disagree. Not all huns are ****.

barcahibs
14-05-2018, 08:21 PM
My Dad is a Protestant, he's not a hun. My partner is a Protestant, she's not a hun. My maternal Grandfather is a Protestant, he's not a hun. I'd guess a majority or sizable minority of this forum were raised as Protestants. They are not huns.

You'll see where I'm going with this. Rangers fans don't even believe the term is sectarian. It's classic deflection from them; they aren't offended by it but try to use it to excuse their own prejudices.

I'd argue that the vast majority of celtc fans arent members of the 19th century Irish/American Revolutionary Brotherhood but they (and some Hibs fans) claim to be upset by a song about sevco fans being up to their knees in fenian blood.

14-05-2018, 08:23 PM
I’m not even going to attempt to explain how it’s happened, that’s just the madness of the bigot brothers’ bubble.

The fact is that countless articles and the occasional petition or court case pop up any time a politician, Celtic player, fan base etc. publicly use the term, with rangers fans “citing racial hatred”. For the record I don’t agree with the connection but you can’t argue that it hasn’t gathered sectarian connotations.

Either way it isn’t the point. The fact that Rangers and a few independent bodies seem to deem the term as potentially racially offensive means that Hibs fans should have far more sense than sticking it on a banner unless the aim was to create controversy?

Apart from Nil by Mouth which independent bodies have deemed it potentially racially offensive?
I’ll forgive the young guys at since 1875 for what some may see as a wee mis step given the good work they have done all season.

14-05-2018, 08:31 PM

I've said this numerous times on here over the years whenever this topic is brought up. I was raised as a Protestant and I have never been called a "hun" in my life.

Why? Because "hun" is not a term which is used to describe those of the Protestant faith. In Scotland, it is a term used exclusively by Scottish football fans to describe fans of Sevco.

I routinely describe this particular club (:wink:) as the "huns". It would be a very interesting day up in court if a Protestant was to be arrested and charged with a sectarian hate crime by referring to them as huns. How on Earth would they explain that one?

14-05-2018, 08:33 PM
I think you make your point well, and i agree to am extent that anyonr moaning about offensive language opens up a world of subjectivity and whataboutery.

However i absolutely defend my right to call the huns, huns. Im delighted it offends them, its supposed to offend them, thats the whole point. The same as why we sing about them all living in west coast poverty, and stealing hubcaps.

However there is a line that has beem drawn that makes certain things objectively wrong at the fitba. Black bassa, paki bassa, faggot - fenian is one of those.

I also wish we would stop usinh sectrianism, its become a euphemism, lets call them out - they are anti irish racists, and anti-catholic bigots, tue same way the KKK are anti-black and the same way the nazis were anti-jew.

Personally, im proud to offend such low lives, i hope they are offended to theit very core, and i love that we have them frothing st their rabid mouths.

Huns juat describes them perfectly, it is the perfect nickname, and not because of religion, but because it sums up theit triumphalist, supermacist and utterly ignorant and aggressive view of tge world. It is absolutely possible, and i would say desireable, to detest theae cretins not because of their alleged religion, but because any right-thinking person would and should. They are total ****, and im glad and proud we have brought this issue to the fore.

Well done Since 1875.

Totally agree. They are happy to dish out vile abuse, they loudly and proudly belt out filth every single week yet anyone dares say something back to them they can't handle it.

Horrible horrible HORRIBLE club. Scotlands Shame in every single way.

14-05-2018, 08:38 PM
Did the police remove said banner at the time? Don't think I seen them in the home end

14-05-2018, 08:39 PM
It’s not the words that are deemed offensive. It’s the fact that fans of a club openly displayed an abusive banner towards fans of another club.

I’ve used the phrase myself in an abusive way. Whether it needed to be out there for all to see is the debate.

To put it in perspective how many similar banners can we list from our memories?

14-05-2018, 08:40 PM
I'd argue that the vast majority of celtc fans arent members of the 19th century Irish/American Revolutionary Brotherhood but they (and some Hibs fans) claim to be upset by a song about sevco fans being up to their knees in fenian blood.

It’s not claiming to be upset, it’s Irish Catholics like our Manager receiving bullets in the post and the use of the word “Fenian” usually followed by “*******” against a minority in Scotland. It’s been said lots on here but substitute “Muslim”, “Jew” or “Black” for “Fenian” which is shorthand for anyone of Irish Catholic descent and The Rangers would be shut down.

14-05-2018, 08:45 PM
It’s not claiming to be upset, it’s Irish Catholics like our Manager receiving bullets in the post and the use of the word “Fenian” usually followed by “*******” against a minority in Scotland. It’s been said lots on here but substitute “Muslim”, “Jew” or “Black” for “Fenian” which is shorthand for anyone of Irish Catholic descent and The Rangers would be shut down.

What, again!?

hibbydog
14-05-2018, 08:46 PM

Well done Since 1875.

What a brilliant post

WestEndHibee
14-05-2018, 08:49 PM
Apart from Nil by Mouth which independent bodies have deemed it potentially racially offensive?
I’ll forgive the young guys at since 1875 for what some may see as a wee mis step given the good work they have done all season.

without time to gather evidence, I’ve seen Youth Scotland associate the term with sectarianism in their youth work guidance. I’m pretty sure a Celtic fan was convicted of religious breach of the peace (may not have the wording right) for having the word on a t-shirt but, as I’ve said twice already, this is besides the point.

It has the connotations no matter what our views are on the word. To use publicly donated funds to print it and next to the word **** on a banner is poor form. I’ve been a huge fan of since1875 this year, the Craig Levein banner was impeccable but I won’t be able to donate again and certainly wouldn’t take part in a display without knowing the content first.

barcahibs
14-05-2018, 08:55 PM

Folk sending bullets through the post aren't doing it because the person they're targetting is a fenian. They're doing it because they're psychologically damaged or mentally ill.

Sectarianism in Scottish football is a festering pool that I'd rather we stayed out of but by displaying banners like that we're diving right in.

14-05-2018, 08:55 PM

I'm not upset by the term fenian.

There's a historical precedent of it being used as a generic derogatory term for Catholics. Is the same true of hun and Protestants? As SDG asks above how does it work when Protestants use the term hun? Are they discriminating against themselves? As I said previously I don't even believe Rangers fans truly believe it's intended as a sectarian slur, it's nothing more than classic deflection.

SideBurns
14-05-2018, 08:57 PM
My Jambo mates call them 'Huns'. If they thought the word was sectarian they wouldn't. It is an attempt to create a moral equivalence between the bigoted, anti-Catholic hatred openly displayed by the Huns, and the way fans of other Scottish fitba teams (not just us & Celtic) react to them with disgust.

An honest approach would be to say some clubs have a small issue to varying degrees, but that if you removed The Rangers the problem would almost cease to exist in football. But that'll never happen.

SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
14-05-2018, 09:05 PM
Anyway... what ever happened to "noone likes us, we dont care"?

Right bunch of snowflakes these supporters of the new huns 😂

SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
14-05-2018, 09:06 PM
Folk sending bullets through the post aren't doing it because the person they're targetting is a fenian. They're doing it because they're psychologically damaged or mentally ill.

Sectarianism in Scottish football is a festering pool that I'd rather we stayed out of but by displaying banners like that we're diving right in.

Disagree with this - it was precisely because he was a Catholic and he signed for Celtic while playing for NI.

SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
14-05-2018, 09:13 PM

I kinda think everyone should be able to sing anything they like, so i dont particuarly care what they sing, but the fact this song was explicitly banned by scottish fitba authorities, and yet they consistently turn a blind eye - just as they did for literally decades, about their explicitly apartheid esque anti-catholic signing policy.

So if we get in trouble wirh authorities, it will be laughable.

Ive always said i would love hibs to not let any huns into ER for a game, and instead put a big banner across the empty seats saying something like - "these seats are empty becuase religious bigotry is not welcome at ER" and shame them and the scottish fitba authorities to a national tv audience.

andyf5
14-05-2018, 09:14 PM
It’s not the words that are deemed offensive. It’s the fact that fans of a club openly displayed an abusive banner towards fans of another club.

I contributed to displays on quite a few occasions and do not agree with the "hun ****" banner. Never saw it on the day. I'm not in favour of such banners about fans of any other clubs. Wind ups are fine. Just my opinion.

barcahibs
14-05-2018, 09:30 PM
I kinda think everyone should be able to sing anything they like, so i dont particuarly care what they sing, but the fact this song was explicitly banned by scottish fitba authorities, and yet they consistently turn a blind eye - just as they did for literally decades, about their explicitly apartheid esque anti-catholic signing policy.

So if we get in trouble wirh authorities, it will be laughable.

Ive always said i would love hibs to not let any huns into ER for a game, and instead put a big banner across the empty seats saying something like - "these seats are empty becuase religious bigotry is not welcome at ER" and shame them and the scottish fitba authorities to a national tv audience.

I actually sort of agree with you here. I believe in free speech, i think its daft to ban songs. But i also believe in the law, and if it is against the law to sing certain songs then that should be enforced.

And i also think it would be laughable were we to be punished and when they go scot free.

But I'm not at all convinced that, laughable or not, that's not exactly what will happen.

The media and politicians in this country want this to be a football problem, not an old firm problem and they want it to be a Scottish problem and not a glasgow one.

In my experience the law does laughable things every day.

We should be taking the high ground - the high ground that a couple of generations of previous Hibbies gained us by leaving this nonsense behind.

14-05-2018, 09:43 PM

Note, not an "alleged" offensive banner. Unlike the offensive sectarian chanting at Neil Lennon which was only alleged :rolleyes:

They don't even try to pretend to be even handed about it these days.

And for completeness, the banner was held up by about a dozen alleged Hibs fans, whereas the illegal sectarian chanting was by an alleged 2000 Sevco supporters. No contest.

SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
14-05-2018, 09:48 PM
I actually sort of agree with you here. I believe in free speech, i think its daft to ban songs. But i also believe in the law, and if it is against the law to sing certain songs then that should be enforced.

And i also think it would be laughable were we to be punished and when they go scot free.

But I'm not at all convinced that, laughable or not, that's not exactly what will happen.

The media and politicians in this country want this to be a football problem, not an old firm problem and they want it to be a Scottish problem and not a glasgow one.

In my experience the law does laughable things every day.

We should be taking the high ground - the high ground that a couple of generations of previous Hibbies gained us by leaving this nonsense behind.

I think you are right, and i fully expect to get punished.

Yeah, i kinda agree, and if they hadnt done that banner, i wouldnt be calling for it, but they have and so i will defend them for it.

Is it definitely real and not a photoshop job - i couldnt make the game yesterday so didnt see it with my own eyes?

14-05-2018, 09:49 PM
I have never referred to any non Rangers supporter or player as a Hun. I, a christened Protestant, have never been called a Hun. Lorenzo Amarusso, a Roman Catholic former Rangers players is 100% a Hun. Case closed.

14-05-2018, 10:36 PM

I've occasionally looked in on the bear's den website for no other reason than to remind myself just how sick some of the contributors are.
Anyway, some months ago there was a thread about the use of the word Hun. Quite a few posters could remember older family members referring to Celtic fans as Huns. Some were actually in favour of reclaiming the term as their own again.
Why would they even contemplate this if it is a derogatory term for a protestant? Very strange.

14-05-2018, 11:21 PM
I've occasionally looked in on the bear's den website for no other reason than to remind myself just how sick some of the contributors are.
Anyway, some months ago there was a thread about the use of the word Hun. Quite a few posters could remember older family members referring to Celtic fans as Huns. Some were actually in favour of reclaiming the term as their own again.
Why would they even contemplate this if it is a derogatory term for a protestant? Very strange.

Celtic fans were called "the hun" in past due to some Irish nationalists aligning themselves to Nazi Germany.

Mixu62
15-05-2018, 12:08 AM
I also do not see it as a sectarian term as it is used solely to describe the filthy hordes who follow THE rangers. (However, looking further afield, I believe the term is used as a sectarian one in Norn Iron and parts of the West of Scotland; those damn West of Scotland FC supporters again!!) It is used as an offensive term, but not a sectarian one IMO. Saw someone on P&B recently stating that if Hun is to be deemed a sectarian term, then the offensive terms used to describe Hibbies should also be deemed sectarian. I could be offended by terms like hobo, spoon-burner etc but choose not to be and certainly don't view them as sectarian.

15-05-2018, 12:15 AM

But now that's my trust in them completely gone.oh dear

15-05-2018, 03:32 AM
Celtic fans were called "the hun" in past due to some Irish nationalists aligning themselves to Nazi Germany.

Yeah, was aware of that theory, but there are many others. Seems little doubt that it has been used over many years by several clubs, not just the old firm.
Suppose it proves that, although it is regarded as a term of abuse and insulting to the recipient, it is not sectarian.

15-05-2018, 05:55 AM
Classic deflection by the huns.

I'm sure I read huns was first used by a Wolverhampton journalist to describe the previous football club Rangers (as opposed to The Rangers) when they visited Wolves on the early 60s and behaved like "marauding huns".

Unfortunately its a deflection that's been bought into by all sorts of folk including NBM and at least one poster on here.

Johnny Clash
15-05-2018, 09:39 AM
Classic deflection by the huns.

I'm sure I read huns was first used by a Wolverhampton journalist to describe the previous football club Rangers (as opposed to The Rangers) when they visited Wolves on the early 60s and behaved like "marauding huns".

Unfortunately its a deflection that's been bought into by all sorts of folk including NBM and at least one poster on here.

That’s right. It was a European game in 1961 and their support spent all day drinking - they couldn’t handle the bevy and effectively rioted. Loads of mindless violence reported. One paper described a ‘boy’ getting set upon and kicked unconscious by a group of ten . The papers said they acted like ‘maurading Huns’.

So it’s very clear there is no sectarian connection whatsoever. It’s a description coined as a result of their moronic, violent and cowardly behaviour. Hun = Thug. Zilch to do with religion.

Newry Hibs
15-05-2018, 09:51 AM
Disagree with this - it was precisely because he was a Catholic and he signed for Celtic while playing for NI.
He also suggested that there could be a 'united Ireland' team as per the rugby. That was his big faux pas as far as becoming the hate figure.

Bill Milne
15-05-2018, 09:52 AM
As a side issue, the dafties on Keechback are trying to say that YAM is a bigoted term to Hertz supporters!! Did I miss something, I have always taken it to be an acronym for "Yet Another Manager", dating from the Romanov era? Can someone clarity/confirm, please?

15-05-2018, 10:02 AM
Regardless of what the definition of the word, its something to be used to make the club and the fans look bad. I don't mind a cheeky banner, especially one aimed at rivals like Hearts, Rangers or Celtic but they need to be careful about what is put on the banner.

The Natural Order? one was perfect.

"This particular club" would have been a better option IMO.

15-05-2018, 12:58 PM
This 'Hun' debate is getting a bit tiresome to be honest.

My opinion is well known Huns, Huns, Huns I say. But even I'm starting to get worn down by the whole thing, with posters I respect going down the 'Nil by Mouth' route, pointing out that if you use a word to insult folk who are sectarian then that word becomes sectarian and therefor by definition that makes you sectarian, no matter how much evidence you can provide to the contrary.

So here's the question I need answered and I don't care if its by other posters on here, Nil by Mouth, Police Scotland, the SFA, the SPFL, the Daily Record or even The Rangers FC 2012 themselves:

From the time football began to attract supporters to its individual clubs and began to foster the tribal attitudes prevalent worldwide, supporters of clubs everywhere have made up and used derogatory terms for their rivals .... I'm sure a wee bit of research could throw up 10 pages of examples of such insults, many of them a hell of a lot worse than 'hun'

Has it now become the case then that one club in the whole world and its supporters have been granted immunity from this part of football culture and laughably for the sole reason that their own ingrained attitudes towards bigotry and sectarianism enables them to claim that any insult directed towards them must be sectarian?
If that is the case, can anybody then suggest what the alternative is short of simply accepting that this most odious of clubs and its masses of 'fans' who are quite happy to spew out their sectarian bile every Saturday are the one club in the world you aren't allowed to insult.

:I'm waiti

15-05-2018, 01:03 PM
Regardless of what the definition of the word, its something to be used to make the club and the fans look bad. I don't mind a cheeky banner, especially one aimed at rivals like Hearts, Rangers or Celtic but they need to be careful about what is put on the banner.

The Natural Order? one was perfect.

"This particular club" would have been a better option IMO.

Agree with all of that. It isnt as if Rangers havent given us enough to rip them about.

15-05-2018, 03:17 PM
This 'Hun' debate is getting a bit tiresome to be honest.

My opinion is well known Huns, Huns, Huns I say. But even I'm starting to get worn down by the whole thing, with posters I respect going down the 'Nil by Mouth' route, pointing out that if you use a word to insult folk who are sectarian then that word becomes sectarian and therefor by definition that makes you sectarian, no matter how much evidence you can provide to the contrary.

So here's the question I need answered and I don't care if its by other posters on here, Nil by Mouth, Police Scotland, the SFA, the SPFL, the Daily Record or even The Rangers FC 2012 themselves:

From the time football began to attract supporters to its individual clubs and began to foster the tribal attitudes prevalent worldwide, supporters of clubs everywhere have made up and used derogatory terms for their rivals .... I'm sure a wee bit of research could throw up 10 pages of examples of such insults, many of them a hell of a lot worse than 'hun'

Has it now become the case then that one club in the whole world and its supporters have been granted immunity from this part of football culture and laughably for the sole reason that their own ingrained attitudes towards bigotry and sectarianism enables them to claim that any insult directed towards them must be sectarian?
If that is the case, can anybody then suggest what the alternative is short of simply accepting that this most odious of clubs and its masses of 'fans' who are quite happy to spew out their sectarian bile every Saturday are the one club in the world you aren't allowed to insult.

:I'm waiti

It's a nonsense mate. The verbal minefield invented and developed by people who take political correctness to a weird level and don't really live in the real world.

Here's a word for some/most Rangers fans "BIGOTS" - no messing, no religious connotations, nothing racial and actually nothing special. Just plain ordinary english.

The convolutions to spin the word "hun" into a sectarian term can only spring from the minds of the worst bigots or from those who seek to make any divisive exchange into a sectarian issue.