13-05-2018, 11:15 AM
Excellent news

13-05-2018, 11:16 AM
Fantastic

13-05-2018, 11:17 AM
Good. Now that's settled let's hope everyone can focus fully on beating the huns.

AllyT
That news has lifted my spirits

Brilliant - glad to hear it and excited for the future with Lennon leading the way. Absolutely 100% certain he is going to hear support from the stands as he enters the dugout today unlike anything he has heard before.

13-05-2018, 11:18 AM
Brilliant news.

13-05-2018, 11:22 AM
Delighted to have it confirmed by the man himself.

13-05-2018, 11:23 AM
From the BBC:

Hibernian head coach Neil Lennon: "Sorry to put you journos out of joint, but I’ve had a bad virus the last two or three weeks and I just couldn’t get out of bed on Friday.

"I know the conspiracy theories were flying around but I wasn’t well and thankfully I’m coming out of the remnants now.

"However, what I have done is opened up a lot of unnecessary speculation and analysis of my relationship with the board and there’s just nothing there.

"The board have backed me every step of the way. I do not make demands of the board, I do not throw the toys out of the pram – in fact I’m the exact opposite and have been throughout my managerial career.

"They gave me extra funds in January if we wanted to sign an extra player and we decided not to go with that.

"All the speculation about me making demands or being unhappy with the club couldn’t be further from the truth.

"I’m disappointed in what I’ve done in the main. I felt we were strong enough to compete with Aberdeen and Rangers and we’ve made the race for second place pretty exciting.

"There’s a lot of positives in the cold light of day to take from it. I’ve been maybe making too many demands on the players and that’s my bad."

13-05-2018, 11:23 AM
Yup brilliant interview.

He had the flu. Nothing else.

Some apologies from a lot on here are due.

13-05-2018, 11:24 AM
From the BBC:

Hibernian head coach Neil Lennon: "Sorry to put you journos out of joint, but I’ve had a bad virus the last two or three weeks and I just couldn’t get out of bed on Friday.

"I know the conspiracy theories were flying around but I wasn’t well and thankfully I’m coming out of the remnants now.

"However, what I have done is opened up a lot of unnecessary speculation and analysis of my relationship with the board and there’s just nothing there.

"The board have backed me every step of the way. I do not make demands of the board, I do not throw the toys out of the pram – in fact I’m the exact opposite and have been throughout my managerial career.

"They gave me extra funds in January if we wanted to sign an extra player and we decided not to go with that.

"All the speculation about me making demands or being unhappy with the club couldn’t be further from the truth.

"I’m disappointed in what I’ve done in the main. I felt we were strong enough to compete with Aberdeen and Rangers and we’ve made the race for second place pretty exciting.

"There’s a lot of positives in the cold light of day to take from it. I’ve been maybe making too many demands on the players and that’s my bad."

Excellent.

13-05-2018, 11:26 AM
Yup brilliant interview.

Don't be silly.

13-05-2018, 11:27 AM
Well done Neil, lets get f,n inataethum

13-05-2018, 11:27 AM
From the BBC:

Good news, but I was hoping to read in the quotes that he'll 100% be here next season....he didn't say that?

Sioux
13-05-2018, 11:28 AM
Yup brilliant interview.

Naw. They'll be along to tell everyone he's covering his tracks, he's lying to the fans etc etc

13-05-2018, 11:28 AM
Yup brilliant interview.

While some of the comments on here were OTT, I think the whole affair has been a PR disaster. People will always speculate when there's a mystery involved.

timewilltell
13-05-2018, 11:29 AM
From the BBC:

He was then asked, “so will you be here at Easter are next season?” He replied, “absolutely, 100%”

13-05-2018, 11:29 AM
Brilliant

Sent from my VTR-L09 using Tapatalk

13-05-2018, 11:31 AM
First time I’ve shot my wad over the screen without watching pornography or the goals from May 2016.

13-05-2018, 11:31 AM
Naw. They'll be along to tell everyone he's covering his tracks, he's lying to the fans etc etc

Have you ever had the flu? It doesn't make you rant at your bosses and talk about considering your future before backtracking spectacularly when you are slightly better.

The party line will be the flu.

If it was the Jambos and they swallowed that we'd have the ostrich pictures out. Head in the sand stuff.

13-05-2018, 11:37 AM
Have you ever had the flu? It doesn't make you rant at your bosses and talk about considering your future before backtracking spectacularly when you are slightly better.

If it was the Jambos and they swallowed that we'd have the ostrich pictures out. Head in the sand stuff.

Obviously the case. But he’s hardly likely to say “I suffer from depression and anxiety and in my disappointment that we didn’t finish above a pish Huns team I lost it a bit” but reading between the lines that was about the size of it. I think we just have to accept it and close ranks and protect our manager.

13-05-2018, 11:38 AM

One assumes the flu is the reason for missing the press conference etc. Not seen anyone making what would be a bizarre suggestion that his post-match comments were caused by flu.

As usual the the most likely explanation is probably true: his comments were heat of the moment stuff, and now with a bit of perspective he's partly retracted them.

timewilltell
13-05-2018, 11:39 AM
http://www.hibs.net/webkit-fake-url://3a4ceec9-06dc-44b0-b23f-4d5eb6bced4d/imagejpeg

Sioux
13-05-2018, 12:00 PM

So he's lying then aye?

13-05-2018, 12:00 PM
He might change his mind if we give away any other cheap goals today 😉

wpj
13-05-2018, 12:03 PM
Obviously the case. But he’s hardly likely to say “I suffer from depression and anxiety and in my disappointment that we didn’t finish above a pish Huns team I lost it a bit” but reading between the lines that was about the size of it. I think we just have to accept it and close ranks and protect our manager.

Top post (As was your previous one on this thread 😁) let's all just get behind Neil and Hibs. Today is still a massive match and next season will be huge for us to maintain the momentum and ambition the board, fans, the team and Neil Lennon have started. Huge cheer and applause when he walks out to take his place today. A winner!

13-05-2018, 12:10 PM
Yup brilliant interview.

To keep it going on for a while rather than drawing a line under it and moving forwards together?

13-05-2018, 12:23 PM
He was then asked, “so will you be here at Easter are next season?” He replied, “absolutely, 100%”

That's the bit I wanted to read! Great stuff!!

13-05-2018, 12:34 PM
Yeahhhhhhh!
Now we can look forward to European nights. Celtic will take the cup final and NL will get us through the first few stages. Yes I’ve had a few but let’s be positive. NL definitely the best since Eddie Turnbull

13-05-2018, 01:16 PM
Whatever happened with Lennon this week this game cannot be helping

cocteautwin
13-05-2018, 01:28 PM
Love it. Hibs legend.

13-05-2018, 01:29 PM
Looking forward to his interview

13-05-2018, 02:11 PM
He was then asked, “so will you be here at Easter are next season?” He replied, “absolutely, 100%”Great to hear I was worried after weds nights comments he was away...now let's get recruitment right and go again next season Hibees [emoji172][emoji172]

13-05-2018, 02:14 PM
From the BBC:

Loving this.

Unfortunately an awful lot of rubbish has been said since Wednesday evening. Glad we can put it all to bed and end the season on a positive.

13-05-2018, 02:14 PM
Looking forward to his interview

You will have to wait until he lands, he is just waiting on clearance from the tower.

13-05-2018, 02:16 PM
You will have to wait until he lands, he is just waiting on clearance from the tower.

He must have had a stopover.

He was interviewed after the game.

"At 3-0, we really needed a fourth" :hilarious

13-05-2018, 02:19 PM
NL says we can’t compete financially with Celtic Rangers or Aberdeen financially and only just with the yams.

Revealing.

13-05-2018, 02:20 PM
NL says we can’t compete financially with Celtic Rangers or Aberdeen financially and only just with the yams.

Revealing.

We all knew that to be fair.

13-05-2018, 02:24 PM

Revealing.

Not really.

Ignore the ugly sisters for a moment and the Dons have had 4 consecutive runners-up finishes. That will do a lot for a club’s bottom line.

They’ve also had some generous backing / investment from outside, but now have a very expensive stadium project ahead of them and the Aberdeen property market is against them.

All Hibs need to do is focus on ourselves and we can catch them up. Aberdeen hold no innate advantage over us.

13-05-2018, 02:34 PM
Not really.

Ignore the ugly sisters for a moment and the Dons have had 4 consecutive runners-up finishes. That will do a lot for a club’s bottom line.

They’ve also had some generous backing / investment from outside, but now have a very expensive stadium project ahead of them and the Aberdeen property market is against them.

All Hibs need to do is focus on ourselves and we can catch them up. Aberdeen hold no innate advantage over us.

I thought we’d got to the stage where we could outmuscle the yams now.

13-05-2018, 02:36 PM
Enjoyable interview with him if you scroll down the twitter feed a little:

https://twitter.com/btsportfootball

13-05-2018, 02:46 PM
Hibernian head coach Neil Lennon tells BBC Scotland: "That was bonkers. I said before the game we had to go for it. I wasn't bothered about conceding goals today and obviously the players adhered to that. Once Rangers got a goal back you could see the energy go out of them.
"At half-time I said 'It's 3-3, just go and win the game', and obviously they've not listened to a word I've said. Great game. The defences just went AWOL all day.
"It's our highest points total. I'm really proud of them. It's a great advertisement for the game here."
Lennon adds that he is determined to stay on next season but says, financially, it will be a challenging summer.

Bonkers right enough but give me more of the same next season Neil.

13-05-2018, 03:17 PM
He's just perfect for us.

I sort of feel sorry for his haters (but not really) among our support because there's lots more to come. I hope he's here for years.

13-05-2018, 03:29 PM
The sight of hundreds of Huns trying to clipe on him as he celebrated the equaliser was delicious. :greengrin

13-05-2018, 03:39 PM

Revealing.

Why can't Hibs compete financially with Aberdeen? Have they got some oil rich Arab state, or Russian oligarch or whatever bankrolling them?

ElginHibbie
13-05-2018, 03:40 PM
Why can't Hibs compete financially with Aberdeen? Have they got some oil rich Arab state, or Russian oligarch or whatever bankrolling them?

Just oil rich Americans I think

13-05-2018, 03:47 PM
Just oil rich Americans I think

Is that right? Genuine question. Who are these oil rich Americans, and how much are they bankrolling them for?

ElginHibbie
13-05-2018, 03:52 PM
Is that right? Genuine question. Who are these oil rich Americans, and how much are they bankrolling them for?

https://www.afc.co.uk/2017/11/20/aberdeen-football-club-announces-first-ever-investment-united-states/

13-05-2018, 03:58 PM
https://www.afc.co.uk/2017/11/20/aberdeen-football-club-announces-first-ever-investment-united-states/

OK thanks for that. £775,000, whilst a welcome inward investment for any club in Scotland, isn't really going to take them into the same bracket as Celtic and The Rangers IMO.

13-05-2018, 04:02 PM
OK thanks for that. £775,000, whilst a welcome inward investment for any club in Scotland, isn't really going to take them into the same bracket as Celtic and The Rangers IMO.And it's for community development. I also read between the lines that some of it is going towards the new stand.

So it's not being ring-fenced for the playing budget.

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk

13-05-2018, 04:09 PM
And it's for community development. I also read between the lines that some of it is going towards the new stand.

So it's not being ring-fenced for the playing budget.

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk

:agree: That's how I read it too.

ElginHibbie
13-05-2018, 04:13 PM
https://www.afc.co.uk/2017/06/13/dave-cormack-joins-afc-board-as-major-shareholder/

Sorry, this was the guy I was actually thinking of

13-05-2018, 04:20 PM
https://www.afc.co.uk/2017/06/13/dave-cormack-joins-afc-board-as-major-shareholder/

Sorry, this was the guy I was actually thinking of

OK, but it doesn't say how much his "substantial investment in the club through the acquisition of shares" actually is.

13-05-2018, 04:26 PM
We must have higher gate income than the dons. They clearly have higher sponsorship income and 3 top 2 finishes will have helped them get far greater prize money.

They still need to build a stadium and we all know how much that can cost and more - just ask Ann Fudge.

ElginHibbie
13-05-2018, 04:27 PM
OK, but it doesn't say how much his "substantial investment in the club through the acquisition of shares" actually is.

But the point is they do have these guys (along with Milne) putting money into the club which we don't have, so while they aren't at Celtic/Rangers levels they are quite a bit ahead of us

They have also launched a similar thing to HSL which has something like 3,000 sign ups already so that will help balance out anything that may need to go the new stadium instead of playing budget

13-05-2018, 04:42 PM
But the point is they do have these guys (along with Milne) putting money into the club which we don't have, so while they aren't at Celtic/Rangers levels they are quite a bit ahead of us

They have also launched a similar thing to HSL which has something like 3,000 sign ups already so that will help balance out anything that may need to go the new stadium instead of playing budget

Yep that's fair comment ElginHibbie. Another reason for as many Hibs supporters as possible to sign up for HSL.

13-05-2018, 04:44 PM
When Aberdeen build their stadium they will be at their weakest competitively. We'll have to go for it then.

ElginHibbie
13-05-2018, 04:59 PM
Yep that's fair comment ElginHibbie. Another reason for as many Hibs supporters as possible to sign up for HSL.

And having said all that, while they may have more money to spend I'm not convinced they are using it well, Stevie May was their big signing last summer and think he has scored as many as Shaw (our 5th most important striker this season)has for us? So if we are smart with our budget no reason we shouldn't be looking to overtake them next season

13-05-2018, 05:23 PM
The best news I could have heard.
Bless you Neil Lennon.

13-05-2018, 05:28 PM
He might change his mind if we give away any other cheap goals today 😉

Thank god that didn't happen then.
Great game, great season, roll on the next one.

13-05-2018, 05:37 PM
He's just perfect for us.

I sort of feel sorry for his haters (but not really) among our support because there's lots more to come. I hope he's here for years.

Need to put this myth to bed.

Who are the haters? I see the vast majority of Hibs fans are behind him.

There are some (including me) who criticised his outburst on Wednesday. Lenny has now admitted that he was wrong and his criticisms of the players and the board were over the top.

So, all good! He is a great manager for us and I look forward to seeing what we can do next season.

:nlgwa:

13-05-2018, 06:43 PM
Yes
Its only two seasons since Neil came in.
Now we know he is staying and on the basis of what he has achieved so far.if he stays 2/3 seasons he could well have his team being talked in the same breath as The Tornadoes in future years.
I believe he can do that.
The comings and goings at the end of the January window makes me think there is a lot more surprises to come from Neil.
He brought in two players most of us had never heard off.
And of course,Scott Allan.
And that went well,to say the least.
If the summer period retentions/signings /loans match that.
Who knows for next season and maybe some success,particularly in the Cups.

Ned (for the younger fans,that was Eddie Turnbull's nickname) took his Tornadoes to a number of cup finals.
League Cup, Dryburgh Cup and The Holy Grail finals.
Like many other supporters of my vintage who witnessed that period it was always
"We are destined never to win this thing" (Scottish Cup)
Fast forward.....
We get "butchered",Terry that is, and relegated.
So getting the Holy Grail is even further away.... i thought.
Stubbsy takes us to two Cup Finals in the same season.
We get mugged in the League Cup.
Here we go again, i thought.
Conrad Logan's heroics secure a SC Final place.
We get the new club in the final and not Celtic.
Can this be our year?
At 2-1 i thought,here we go again.
The curse continues.
Then it happened.
Our Club/team delivered at long last !
Something i never thought i would see (my clock is running down)

Neil Lennon has me thinking that i might witness that again.
Stubbsy had two remarkable cup runs all the way to Hampden.
I believe Lenny can replicate that.

13-05-2018, 06:51 PM
Need to put this myth to bed.

Who are the haters? I see the vast majority of Hibs fans are behind him.

There are some (including me) who criticised his outburst on Wednesday. Lenny has now admitted that he was wrong and his criticisms of the players and the board were over the top.

So, all good! He is a great manager for us and I look forward to seeing what we can do next season.

:nlgwa:

I agree, the vast majority of Hibs fans absolutely love him. But there are one or two haters who never wanted him and still don't like him now. Just a handful I think but when they get their chance they love to slate him.

I'm gagging on next season already. I think our rebuilding is far less drastic than is being suggested and I expect him to strengthen the team rather than seeing it weakened.

13-05-2018, 06:52 PM
I agree, the vast majority of Hibs fans absolutely love him. But there are one or two haters who never wanted him and still don't like him now. Just a handful I think but when they get their chance they love to slate him.

I'm gagging on next season already. I think our rebuilding is far less drastic than is being suggested and I expect him to strengthen the team rather than seeing it weakened.

really?? not heard anyone with that view in recent times..

Garymcl
13-05-2018, 07:03 PM
I absolutely love the guy he takes no nonsense with the weegie press and authorities if he thinks it is for the benefit of him or our club he stands his ground now and again he may step out of line in some people's view but when was the last time we had a manager like him I for one have backed him again with renewing my season ticket let's embrace this man while we can Ggtth :flag:

13-05-2018, 07:34 PM
On Thursday we had posters telling us all about how unpopular Lennon is in the dressing room right?

Hanlon was taking the huff and players were fed up with Lennon’s moods?

Well now that the season is over, will it all come out? Is there any truth it in whatsoever?

It’s definitely not the impression I’ve had this season, just the opposite really.

They seem like like a pretty happy bunch and Lennon’s celebration just summed things up nicely!