View Full Version : Stevie Mallan.

Pages : [1] 2 3 4

11-05-2018, 06:03 PM
Posted a while back we were interested and that he was keen to come. I was told back then not to post anymore as Barnsley didn’t want this out.

Now I can say that Hibs have apparently agreed to bring him to ER. Source is VERY good so let’s hope it’s near done as he’d be brillant.

11-05-2018, 06:04 PM
Would be a great signing. On loan or perm?

11-05-2018, 06:05 PM
Instead of crawford?

Souter96Mac
11-05-2018, 06:05 PM
Mallan in, Lennon out? 😁

11-05-2018, 06:06 PM
Hopefully we pull this off, would be a very good addition.

11-05-2018, 06:06 PM
What kind of player is he?

11-05-2018, 06:07 PM
Permanent or loan is the key thing here...on paper looks a super signing.

11-05-2018, 06:07 PM
From the little ive seen of him, looks excellent

The boy cannie half take a free kick too

Isnt he similar to Allan though?

11-05-2018, 06:08 PM
No idea the contract details, also no idea if it’s instead of Crawford. Just know he’s very keen and likes what Hibs are doing and wants to come.

11-05-2018, 06:08 PM
Superb. Hope this doesn’t stop us going for Scott Allan as well

11-05-2018, 06:10 PM
Crawford Allan Mallan, we'll just total football the crap out of the league next season :greengrin

11-05-2018, 06:10 PM
Superb. Hope this doesn’t stop us going for Scott Allan as well

If McGinn left we could have Allan and Mallan to replace Mcgeough and McGinn.

skyehibee
11-05-2018, 06:11 PM
Posted a while back we were interested and that he was keen to come. I was told back then not to post anymore as Barnsley didn’t want this out.

Now I can say that Hibs have apparently agreed to bring him to ER. Source is VERY good so let’s hope it’s near done as he’d be brillant.

TheCat always knows 👍

Definately can strike a baw

https://twitter.com/stmirrenbanter/status/990699589383704576?s=21

Souter96Mac

Attacking mid, would probably be close to a replacement to Dylan

11-05-2018, 06:12 PM
Would Mallan not be more of a replacement for Allan as opposed to McGinn or McGeough?

One thing I remember about him is that he can hit a brilliant free kick and that is something that we lack big time at the moment.

Ilovehibs
11-05-2018, 06:12 PM

👍👍👍

11-05-2018, 06:13 PM
Have been looking at Barnsley for the last couple of months and noted he has been stuck on the bench.
They have been relegated..

Mallen is a free kick specialist and a good quality player.
Would be a good addition.
Hopefully he hasn't lost too much confidence.

Earlydelivery
11-05-2018, 06:13 PM
Would be a great signing. On loan or perm?
Loan .. from a great source

Earlydelivery
11-05-2018, 06:14 PM
No idea the contract details, also no idea if it’s instead of Crawford. Just know he’s very keen and likes what Hibs are doing and wants to come.
Loan

Mallan and Allan would definitely need a 3rd midfielder to protect the defence, neither can defend or tackle particularly well, not their strength. McGeouch and McGinn's combative side is sometimes overlooked, both put themselves about a bit!

Mallan, from what I remember, would have a huge impact at the top end of the field, remember him being quite pacey and creative, sure he enjoys a one two also. Great freekick taker as well.

This the guy that played for St.mirren ?

11-05-2018, 06:15 PM

It is

11-05-2018, 06:16 PM

:agree: That’s the felly

It is

:agree: That’s the felly

Decent player IIRC

11-05-2018, 06:17 PM

Now I can say that Hibs have apparently agreed to bring him to ER. Source is VERY good so let’s hope it’s near done as he’d be brillant.Saw something on Twitter about this earlier
...excellent news if true

guthrie01
11-05-2018, 06:18 PM
Would be fantastic if we could sign Mallan, a good replacement for McGeouch

11-05-2018, 06:18 PM
Mallan and Allan would definitely need a 3rd midfielder to protect the defence, neither can defend or tackle particularly well, not their strength. McGeouch and McGinn's combative side is sometimes overlooked, both put themselves about a bit!

Mallan, from what I remember, would have a huge impact at the top end of the field, remember him being quite pacey and creative, sure he enjoys a one two also. Great freekick taker as well.

Slivka, Bartlay, Swanson
and perhaps Ali Crawford

percy veer
11-05-2018, 06:19 PM

Bartley?

11-05-2018, 06:21 PM
Hope it is more than a loan tbh, always worried about relying on loans. It's ok to add some depth or quality in a couple of positions but having too many of your starting 11 on loan...well we've seen how that can end up.

11-05-2018, 06:23 PM
Bartley?

Bartley is definitely an option, problem is he can't play a full season (mainly due to him getting kicked etc.). Slivka also could play that role. Excited to see how the squad re-shapes.

11-05-2018, 06:24 PM
Saw something on Twitter about this earlier
...excellent news if true

Yeah me 😁

11-05-2018, 06:25 PM
I'd be delighted with this.

11-05-2018, 06:28 PM
Yeah me [emoji16]Ahhh that's you on Twitter [emoji106]

11-05-2018, 06:29 PM
Ahhh that's you on Twitter [emoji106]

It is indeed haha.

11-05-2018, 06:29 PM
Ahhh that's you on Twitter [emoji106]

He’s our current Ivan Sproule
He’s here, he’s there, he’s every ******* where

11-05-2018, 06:31 PM
He’s here, he’s there, he’s every ******* where🤣🤣🤣I remember the original for that song...Mickey Weir

11-05-2018, 06:31 PM
It Cat says it I believe it. Heard today that Kamberi and McLaren are done deals. McGinn still could be here next season. What do you say Cat?

Sent from my VTR-L09 using Tapatalk

11-05-2018, 06:33 PM
He’s here, he’s there, he’s every ******* where

😂😂

11-05-2018, 06:33 PM
A midfield of Allan, Mallan, Crawford, Slivka, Sawnson and Bartley is very impressive. Maybe still need another player with more defensive side to their game but that looks very tasty and would go a long way to making up for losing McGeough and McGinn.

11-05-2018, 06:34 PM
It Cat says it I believe it. Heard today that Kamberi and McLaren are done deals. McGinn still could be here next season. What do you say Cat?

Sent from my VTR-L09 using TapatalkWow this days getting better by the minute...hopefully get the Lennon situ sorted and we r good to go [emoji106]

I’d love MacLaren and McGinn here next season. I’ve not heard anything but be superb if that comes about 👍🏼

Good player, wouldn't be disappointed at all

11-05-2018, 06:35 PM
Wow this days getting better by the minute...hopefully get the Lennon situ sorted and we r good to go [emoji106]

So who’s signing these players😎

11-05-2018, 06:36 PM
🤣🤣🤣I remember the original for that song...Mickey Weir

And we nicked it from the Mothers referring to Brian McClair.

11-05-2018, 06:37 PM
Badly need a free kick dude. We are particularly pish in that area. Can he take throw ins?

11-05-2018, 06:38 PM
Badly need a free kick dude. We are particularly pish in that area. Can he take throw ins?

And goal kicks

11-05-2018, 06:39 PM
And we nicked it from the Mothers referring to Brian McClair.Indeed...so we did

So who’s signing these players[emoji41]George Craig?? Dunno

And goal kicks:greengrin

11-05-2018, 06:40 PM
So who’s signing these players😎
It’s no Craig Levein.:agree:

11-05-2018, 06:41 PM
It’s no Craig Levein.:agree:Nah he's too busy shopping at Poundland

Tug Wilson
11-05-2018, 06:46 PM

If Kamberi and McLaren are done deals then we are a long way towards having a decent squad already for next season.

In Rocky and Laidlaw we have good keepers. Happy to add Bell and maybe loan out Laidlaw for the game time.

We have 3 quality centre backs and a great prospect in Porteous to back them up. I know that we made defensive errors on Wednesday but this is still a pretty mean defence.

Attack would be sorted with Kamberi and McLaren with Simon Murray and Ollie Shaw in reserve. Width with Boyle maybe Swanson. Probably do with another. Barker would be great but might be difficult.

So really it comes down to the reshaping of central midfield. If we have Bartley, Whittaker, Slivka, Mallan and Crawford then that is a good start. Getting Scott Allan might have to be funded from selling John McGinn so chances of both being here might be unlikely. However let's see.

And that is before we see any rabbits out the hat.

It might be a slightly different midfield and it might set up a bit differently but if we still have the quality then life maybe okay.

11-05-2018, 07:00 PM
Loan deal? Would be a good signing but would prefer it to be permanent obviously. Probably too expensive though.

11-05-2018, 07:09 PM
I rate him very highly so really hope this is true. Would be a quality addition.

11-05-2018, 07:28 PM
His deliveries from dead ball situations is phenomenal.

11-05-2018, 07:29 PM
Yes please!

**** me though 8 hours is a long time in football eh!

Our manager was AWOL and leaving. Now we're possibly signing Mallan with others above saying deals in place for MaClaren and Kamberi haha unreal

11-05-2018, 07:34 PM
Don’t think we’ve scored a goal from a free kick this season have we?

Hopefully that’s fo some way to improving that stat.

11-05-2018, 07:37 PM

Allan and Mallan?

There's a song in there somewhere.

11-05-2018, 07:44 PM
If Kamberi and McLaren are done deals then we are a long way towards having a decent squad already for next season.

In Rocky and Laidlaw we have good keepers. Happy to add Bell and maybe loan out Laidlaw for the game time.

We have 3 quality centre backs and a great prospect in Porteous to back them up. I know that we made defensive errors on Wednesday but this is still a pretty mean defence.

Attack would be sorted with Kamberi and McLaren with Simon Murray and Ollie Shaw in reserve. Width with Boyle maybe Swanson. Probably do with another. Barker would be great but might be difficult.

So really it comes down to the reshaping of central midfield. If we have Bartley, Whittaker, Slivka, Mallan and Crawford then that is a good start. Getting Scott Allan might have to be funded from selling John McGinn so chances of both being here might be unlikely. However let's see.

And that is before we see any rabbits out the hat.

It might be a slightly different midfield and it might set up a bit differently but if we still have the quality then life maybe okay.

Agree with most of this but we are desperately short out wide. At points this season if Boyle got injured we'd pretty much be forced to change our shape until he was fit again - that isn't good enough, we should have some cover in wide positions and we don't, haven't for ages. Also, right back and left back need looked at, we have pretty much went whole season without a RB. LB needs more competition and again, backup.

I doubt Simon Murray will be coming back to us. Kamberi, McLaren and Shaw won't be enough, we need another youngster to step up, Gullan looks quite good. If Kamberi got an injury we would really struggle for presence up top.

We should not understate the strengthening we need to do, youngsters need to make a step up as well. We cannot rely on depth from external sources, need to get it from within the club.

Only positions I don't think we need to review are goalkeeper and cb. Rest still need work and additional depth in some manner. Almost every injury seems to cause a formation change so we need to strengthen quite a bit.

11-05-2018, 07:53 PM
Yes please!

**** me though 8 hours is a long time in football eh!

Our manager was AWOL and leaving. Now we're possibly signing Mallan with others above saying deals in place for MaClaren and Kamberi haha unreal

How far these rumours will go is anyone’s guess but, given the events of the past couple of days, they’re certainly welcome comfort blankets. Fingers crossed.:pray:

11-05-2018, 08:16 PM
How far these rumours will go is anyone’s guess but, given the events of the past couple of days, they’re certainly welcome comfort blankets. Fingers crossed.:pray:

Absolutely Jim. Hibs are a different beast to years gone by there's no danger we don't know roughly what our budget is and who our targets are. Be great to get some announced over the next week to settle everyone down

Mantis Toboggan
11-05-2018, 08:18 PM
Agree with most of this but we are desperately short out wide. At points this season if Boyle got injured we'd pretty much be forced to change our shape until he was fit again - that isn't good enough, we should have some cover in wide positions and we don't, haven't for ages. Also, right back and left back need looked at, we have pretty much went whole season without a RB. LB needs more competition and again, backup.

I doubt Simon Murray will be coming back to us. Kamberi, McLaren and Shaw won't be enough, we need another youngster to step up, Gullan looks quite good. If Kamberi got an injury we would really struggle for presence up top.

We should not understate the strengthening we need to do, youngsters need to make a step up as well. We cannot rely on depth from external sources, need to get it from within the club.

Only positions I don't think we need to review are goalkeeper and cb. Rest still need work and additional depth in some manner. Almost every injury seems to cause a formation change so we need to strengthen quite a bit.

You are on the money with Boyle. For me he is absolutely crucial and we are lucky he has been fit most of the season

11-05-2018, 08:31 PM
The most important point about this possible signing is that if it's true we should be busting a gut to sign a third midfielder whose surname can rhyme with Mallan and Allan.

11-05-2018, 08:33 PM
🤣🤣🤣I remember the original for that song...Mickey Weir

I remember watching the original being sung in a sketch on Channel 4's 'Absolutely' many, many years ago. I recall thinking that were probably about three viewers (including me) who would have the slightlest clue what was going on.

11-05-2018, 08:36 PM
Absolutely Jim. Hibs are a different beast to years gone by there's no danger we don't know roughly what our budget is and who our targets are. Be great to get some announced over the next week to settle everyone down

A different beast .... that were pathetic on Wednesday

11-05-2018, 08:47 PM

Over the course of the season Hibs are a different beast from previous years. One poor result doesn’t change it!

11-05-2018, 08:50 PM

We were pathetic Wednesday but it’s not been the norm this season.

2nd place and 3rd place was not lost by our 2018 results but the stupid points dropped in the 1st half of the season.

Also, highest points total is a positive.

11-05-2018, 09:02 PM
MALLANDONNA would be a great addition

11-05-2018, 09:02 PM
Over the course of the season Hibs are a different beast from previous years. One poor result doesn’t change it!

Exactly mate!

The fact that everyone is raging we've finished 4th shows how far we've come.

Full of confidence and faith in the players we already have and those we recruit, management and execs to push us on next season

11-05-2018, 09:09 PM
Don’t think we’ve scored a goal from a free kick this season have we?

Hopefully that’s fo some way to improving that stat.

Last goal from a free kick I can remember was Keatings vs Raith April last yearyear

dchibs
11-05-2018, 09:11 PM
The most important point about this possible signing is that if it's true we should be busting a gut to sign a third midfielder whose surname can rhyme with Mallan and Allan.

Gullan and get Doolan in.

Austinho
11-05-2018, 09:11 PM
The most important point about this possible signing is that if it's true we should be busting a gut to sign a third midfielder whose surname can rhyme with Mallan and Allan.Would you take Barry Bannan?

Mango Man
11-05-2018, 09:13 PM
Allan and Mallan?

To the tune of that kids TV show Bodger and Badger....

11-05-2018, 09:14 PM
Would you take Barry Bannan?

If he rhymes, he's in.

11-05-2018, 09:14 PM

How about a Fandan?

11-05-2018, 09:15 PM

Could Rory Fallan still do a job?

(Not sure that’s the right spelling but I’ll use a bit artistic license)

11-05-2018, 09:19 PM
Mallan & Allan for flair. Callan* the enforcer!

* ask your Dad.

11-05-2018, 09:20 PM

Or lallana.

Mallanlallanallan in the middle of the pitch.

Tug Wilson
11-05-2018, 09:22 PM

Totally agree. The commentators on Wednesday were praising Boyle for his consistency and say most wide players tend to be a bit erratic. Not sure that we find another Boyle type but we could do with some more wingers.

Also that some additional players for the fullback positions would be desirable.

You could well be right about Simon Murray but if he goes then we will certainly need cover.

I just feel that the squad is no where near the basket case some people are making out.

11-05-2018, 09:26 PM
Allan and Mallan?

Crawford Allan and Mallan

There’s an ex referee in there somewhere!! :agree:

dchibs
11-05-2018, 09:26 PM
Could Rory Fallan still do a job?

(Not sure that’s the right spelling but I’ll use a bit artistic license)

Forlan.

11-05-2018, 09:54 PM
Two great additions (Mallan and Crawford) - and I think we will also go for Lewis Morgan on loan next season too depending on the Barker situation.

On Wednesday night I spoke with someone in the Hibs backroom team who hinted there's bids coming in for big Efe which is a little bit of a worry as he has been solid this season. There is (as posted before) definite interest in Ryan Williamson from Dunfermline (right back, described to me as attacking and supremely fit).

11-05-2018, 10:00 PM
We’ve got Mallan,
He plays beside Allan,
I just don’t think you understand.

They really aren’t the same,
But both can play the game,
We’ve got Mallan and Allan!!!

Sorry boys I’ll get ma coat 👋🏼

11-05-2018, 10:02 PM
We’ve got Mallan,
He plays beside Allan,

I'm not sure one coat will be enough to cover it.

11-05-2018, 10:03 PM
I'm not sure one coat will be enough to cover it.

I’ve a body warmer as well just in case 👀

11-05-2018, 10:04 PM
We’ve got Mallan,
He plays beside Allan,

......and I used to like you TC :faf::greengrin

Scoops you are top notch, song writing.........must do better :greengrin:na na: (and you know I'm pulling yer leg bud)

11-05-2018, 10:05 PM
......and I used to like you TC :faf::greengrin

Scoops you are top notch, song writing.........must do better :greengrin:na na: (and you know I'm pulling yer leg bud)

Wait.... You saying my writing songs career is over before it’s begun? 😂

11-05-2018, 10:21 PM
Wait.... You saying my writing songs career is over before it’s begun? 😂

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=duE5rR4SkSA

You'll be too young to remember this advert :greengrin

11-05-2018, 10:21 PM
Stalin, he could be in the left of the midfield trio!

Austinho
11-05-2018, 10:27 PM
Allan, Mallan and Ross Callachan?

11-05-2018, 10:28 PM
Allan, Mallan and Ross Callachan?

Too farran.

11-05-2018, 10:31 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=duE5rR4SkSA

You'll be too young to remember this advert :greengrin

😂 I’m 40 in under 2 weeks I remember that trust me!!!

11-05-2018, 10:40 PM
😂 I’m 40 in under 2 weeks I remember that trust me!!!

...still cannae song write but :greengrin:wink:

Good news about Mallan though (to get back to fitba chat). Would not like to lose Efe personally however if it brings in some cash to fund a few players then so be it.

11-05-2018, 10:48 PM

Good news about Mallan though (to get back to fitba chat). Would not like to lose Efe personally however if it brings in some cash to fund a few players then so be it.

I’m shocked Efe is still here I thought he’d be off in the last window. I’d be sad to see him go but I think we can still build a side with Lennon here.

11-05-2018, 10:49 PM
We've got Allan, do do do do do do
Oh, Mallan Mallan, do do do do do do
Craig Levein is a cooock
But we sold McGeeeough

But that doesn't matter, because we've got..

Allan! Do do..

11-05-2018, 10:49 PM

Losing Efe would be a blow. So much of our good play starts because he is so calm on the ball.

11-05-2018, 10:53 PM
Losing Efe would be a blow. So much of our good play starts because he is so calm on the ball.

I'm not saying he is away bud, merely that someone in the backroom team on Wednesday hinted bids were imminent. I've been pleasantly surprised at his form, however body language of certain players would suggest that him going would not upset too many team mates (not stirring, just what I'm told).

I think we'll recruit really well in summer, in fact, I think everyone will be happy :aok:

11-05-2018, 11:21 PM

Time for another wee purrrrrr

11-05-2018, 11:58 PM
Mallan isn't just good at free kicks...https://youtu.be/7zNnAS9ScSM

Auckland Hibs
12-05-2018, 12:19 AM

If he does that against the Yams next season I'd buy him a pint!

Absolute class goal.

12-05-2018, 12:36 AM
to be honest, I am a wee bit surprised that Stevie Mallan is being mentioned for us. Possibly the Lennon factor would attract him to us but goodness knows what is really going on right now!. Mallan was a young player that won the cup with St. Mirren just a few years back, alongside SJM and I have always liked his style. great player, and a definite addition if he came to us. Surprised to hear that he is a bench warmer at Barnsley

Nevi_SOL
12-05-2018, 01:58 AM
I’d love too see Stevie Mallan in a Hibs top. Very good player IMO

12-05-2018, 05:59 AM
Let’s face it the man is already a Hibs legend who should show more ambition than signing for supposed ‘boyhood heroes’ Smeltic and thinking about the English championship he’s already failed to make an impact in.

Greenworld
12-05-2018, 06:54 AM
Hope it is more than a loan tbh, always worried about relying on loans. It's ok to add some depth or quality in a couple of positions but having too many of your starting 11 on loan...well we've seen how that can end up.See when you think about it most players only sign 2 year deals these days a 1 year loan is actually ok

Sent from my SM-G903F using Tapatalk

Greenworld
12-05-2018, 07:05 AM
I'm not saying he is away bud, merely that someone in the backroom team on Wednesday hinted bids were imminent. I've been pleasantly surprised at his form, however body language of certain players would suggest that him going would not upset too many team mates (not stirring, just what I'm told).

I think we'll recruit really well in summer, in fact, I think everyone will be happy :aok:I hope he stays but you have to think it would be good money for such a player . Could be good business

Sent from my SM-G903F using Tapatalk

12-05-2018, 08:20 AM

That was cracking. Not just the skill to get past players, or the shot from outside the box but I liked him winning the ball back in the middle of the park.

12-05-2018, 08:35 AM
https://youtu.be/9wosVI8f2j8

Scored a good free kick v us in front of a packed Easter Road. [emoji3]

Keyser Sauzee
12-05-2018, 08:44 AM
https://youtu.be/9wosVI8f2j8

Scored a good free kick v us in front of a packed Easter Road. [emoji3]

Why was the crowd that bad for that game?

12-05-2018, 08:47 AM
That was cracking. Not just the skill to get past players, or the shot from outside the box but I liked him winning the ball back in the middle of the park.

Great bit of skill. Did you notice a young John McGinn sliding in to the celebration huddle?

HFCdeb
12-05-2018, 08:47 AM
Why was the crowd that bad for that game?

Fizzy juice cup - no one cared.

GreenPJ
12-05-2018, 09:27 AM

I think we'll recruit really well in summer, in fact, I think everyone will be happy :aok:

We knew before he signed Efe was an enigma. At tim s he makes the game look so easy but ultimately it’s his defensive lapses that means Hibs were able to get him in the first place.

I think we could replace better defensively if not attacking wise but we hat do you want a cb to do first and foremost.

hibee1875
12-05-2018, 09:36 AM

I also heard that whilst the whole stokes thing was going down that Efe was also in the bad books with a lot of the senior players. Weren’t happy with his attitude/commitment (late to training, first away etc) but were letting it slide as he was actually doing the job on match days

12-05-2018, 09:41 AM
Two great additions (Mallan and Crawford) - and I think we will also go for Lewis Morgan on loan next season too depending on the Barker situation.

On Wednesday night I spoke with someone in the Hibs backroom team who hinted there's bids coming in for big Efe which is a little bit of a worry as he has been solid this season. There is (as posted before) definite interest in Ryan Williamson from Dunfermline (right back, described to me as attacking and supremely fit).I heard at the sponsors evening that Ambrose is away to China for Big bucks in summer

12-05-2018, 09:57 AM

Football, mate.

12-05-2018, 10:14 AM
Football, mate.

They say sarcasm is the lowest form of wit however that's a cracker, HR :faf:

12-05-2018, 10:51 AM
Hope Mallan signs, even if it only on season long loan, as for Efe, we already have a replacement in Ryan Portous, good player who deserves 1st team chance.

12-05-2018, 11:02 AM
After all the negativity over the last few days its nice to have positive stuff to read about :greengrin

Mallan would be a great addition, got to say I'm surprised he is a bench warmer at Barnsley considering the rubbish season they've had, but look at Boyle, surplus to requirements at Dundee and he hasn't worked out too badly.

Its true that McGinn and McGeouch going would lose us some grit from the midfield because as another poster said McGeouch is pretty good at getting stuck in when its required, but on the other hand neither one of them is exactly a goal machine, especially McGeouch, so if the replacements can actually put the ball in the net a bit more often it would be no bad thing .... for years now a lack of goals from the middle of the park has been a failing at Hibs.

I'm not surprised there are rumours of interest in Efe Ambrose, in all the talk about folk leaving he has been largely ignored, but he is composed on the ball and his ability to drive forwards with it are valued attributes ... lets hope the dafties who thought Osman So was worth a million quid are still around, we could get three million for him :greengrin .... if he was to go I have piles of faith in young Porteous, he may be raw but the kid looks like the real deal to me.

The other thing on my mind is the Brandon Barker situation, chances are he will move on, but his time at Hibs has been mostly positive both on the pitch and by all accounts personally. We like to pass the ball which Man City must like, so it would be no bad thing if we could form a wee relationship with them, they must have quite a few lads who are miles off being first team players but who would walk into a lot of other teams.

12-05-2018, 11:07 AM
Remember saying 2 seasons ago he was their stand out player. Something very hibs class about him I thought.

Great addition if true

12-05-2018, 11:25 AM
After all the negativity over the last few days its nice to have positive stuff to read about :greengrin

Mallan would be a great addition, got to say I'm surprised he is a bench warmer at Barnsley considering the rubbish season they've had, but look at Boyle, surplus to requirements at Dundee and he hasn't worked out too badly.

Its true that McGinn and McGeouch going would lose us some grit from the midfield because as another poster said McGeouch is pretty good at getting stuck in when its required, but on the other hand neither one of them is exactly a goal machine, especially McGeouch, so if the replacements can actually put the ball in the net a bit more often it would be no bad thing .... for years now a lack of goals from the middle of the park has been a failing at Hibs.

I'm not surprised there are rumours of interest in Efe Ambrose, in all the talk about folk leaving he has been largely ignored, but he is composed on the ball and his ability to drive forwards with it are valued attributes ... lets hope the dafties who thought Osman So was worth a million quid are still around, we could get three million for him :greengrin .... if he was to go I have piles of faith in young Porteous, he may be raw but the kid looks like the real deal to me.

The other thing on my mind is the Brandon Barker situation, chances are he will move on, but his time at Hibs has been mostly positive both on the pitch and by all accounts personally. We like to pass the ball which Man City must like, so it would be no bad thing if we could form a wee relationship with them, they must have quite a few lads who are miles off being first team players but who would walk into a lot of other teams.

I agree that Porteous looks the real deal but I hope we leave him to develop at centre half and don't have him doing what Efe has had to do through necessity and play out of position (or not his ideal position). If Efe goes we need a good, athletic right back as SDG is already showing signs this last two seasons he will break down during a season and be out for a while.

I'm hit or miss with Barker to be honest. He has all the skill in the world, quick feet and is quick - but his decision making is woeful and he certainly needs to work harder on his finishing and end product. I'm more disappointed Danny Swanson hasn't had much chance to play in the attacking third as for me he is the better player (all round).

Northern Hibby
12-05-2018, 12:06 PM
Wow this days getting better by the minute...hopefully get the Lennon situ sorted and we r good to go [emoji106]

Right back?

12-05-2018, 12:13 PM
I agree that Porteous looks the real deal but I hope we leave him to develop at centre half and don't have him doing what Efe has had to do through necessity and play out of position (or not his ideal position). If Efe goes we need a good, athletic right back as SDG is already showing signs this last two seasons he will break down during a season and be out for a while.

I'm hit or miss with Barker to be honest. He has all the skill in the world, quick feet and is quick - but his decision making is woeful and he certainly needs to work harder on his finishing and end product. I'm more disappointed Danny Swanson hasn't had much chance to play in the attacking third as for me he is the better player (all round).I'm with you on Barker mate...frustrates the hell out of me at times...was like a headless chicken on weds night at times. When he's good he's brilliant but it's too infrequent for me and I'd be happy to see him back but wontlose any sleep if he doesn't

12-05-2018, 12:14 PM
Right back?Yeah but what's the chances with SDG and Whittaker still under contract?? Whittaker getting a 3 year deal was a shocker of a decision imo

12-05-2018, 01:06 PM

True but Porteous looks ready to me.

I like Efe and will be sad if he goes but we have other good players.

12-05-2018, 02:56 PM
Mallan would be a great signing for us IMO.

12-05-2018, 03:06 PM
Yeah but what's the chances with SDG and Whittaker still under contract?? Whittaker getting a 3 year deal was a shocker of a decision imo

Just need to bite the bullet on that one as we can’t go another season without a right back.

12-05-2018, 03:09 PM
True but Porteous looks ready to me.

I like Efe and will be sad if he goes but we have other good players.

I agree Porteous needs to start playing, but see him more as a replacement for McGregor than Efe or Hanlon.

12-05-2018, 03:31 PM

one day maybe...
12-05-2018, 03:41 PM
Ziggy Gordon out of contract in June still only 23. Decent right back

12-05-2018, 04:53 PM

Naismith at Ross County a better option.

12-05-2018, 08:24 PM

12-05-2018, 10:26 PM
Naismith at Ross County a better option.

Good call.
Strong guy.

On the downside.
He still has 2 years of his contract to run so we would have to get the chequebook out.

12-05-2018, 10:28 PM

He is a couple of years older than you posted.
Thought we might have gone for him in January.

12-05-2018, 10:30 PM

23-05-2018, 08:33 AM
Press finally catching up on this story 😁 better late than never I suppose!!

Souter96Mac
23-05-2018, 08:58 AM
Hope we get Mallan announced early

Stokesy's on fire
23-05-2018, 08:58 AM
Press finally catching up on this story 😁 better late than never I suppose!!

so whats the latest with Mallan?

23-05-2018, 10:50 AM
so whats the latest with Mallan?

Nothing more, i fullly expect Hibs to announce something next couple of weeks on him and Flo.

Souter96Mac
23-05-2018, 10:54 AM
Nothing more, i fullly expect Hibs to announce something next couple of weeks on him and Flo.

I reckon 1st June for at least one of them, that's when the new kits are supposedly going to be announced which coincides with the transfer window opening.. 👀

23-05-2018, 01:14 PM
I reckon 1st June for at least one of them, that's when the new kits are supposedly going to be announced which coincides with the transfer window opening.. 👀

And when current contracts end and new one begin?

CorrieHibs
23-05-2018, 01:42 PM

Will Jack Ross’s appointment at Sunderland put a spanner in the works?

BlackSheep
23-05-2018, 01:48 PM
Will Jack Ross’s appointment at Sunderland put a spanner in the works?

Why? Are you suggesting Jack Ross would want to take him to Sunderland....? Depends if Mallan wants to play in League 1?

CorrieHibs
23-05-2018, 02:13 PM
Why? Are you suggesting Jack Ross would want to take him to Sunderland....? Depends if Mallan wants to play in League 1?

Yes, he might want him at Sunderland. Done a good job for him previously.

He’s already in league 1 as Barnsley got relegated

BlackSheep
23-05-2018, 02:28 PM
Yes, he might want him at Sunderland. Done a good job for him previously.

He’s already in league 1 as Barnsley got relegated

Barnsley's relegation to League 1 is one of the reasons i think we have a chance at signing Mallan, so apart from financial reasons I couldnt see him wanting to to move sideways....

DJ HIBBY
25-05-2018, 09:58 AM
Heard today from a friend of Stevie Mallan that he is definitely signing a loan deal with Hibs :cb

Souter96Mac
25-05-2018, 10:12 AM
Heard today from a friend of Stevie Mallan that he is definitely signing a loan deal with Hibs :cb
Think his contract runs out next year, so could be onto a winner if we get him on loan, then just sign him on a free.

25-05-2018, 10:21 AM
Think his contract runs out next year, so could be onto a winner if we get him on loan, then just sign him on a free.

Yep, was a two year deal he signed. Obviously (if he does indeed come) that a really good season may see us lose out on him permanently, but I'd rather have him on loan than not at all.

25-05-2018, 10:23 AM

Great news if your source is accurate

25-05-2018, 10:34 AM

Could be a good deal for us and would give us a chance to get him on a pre contract in January. Could see Jack Ross being interested now he’s at Sunderland though.

DJ HIBBY
25-05-2018, 10:59 AM
Could be a good deal for us and would give us a chance to get him on a pre contract in January. Could see Jack Ross being interested now he’s at Sunderland though.

Heard he was also on around £6k per week at the moment so this would rule out a permanent deal

BlackSheep
25-05-2018, 11:29 AM
Heard he was also on around £6k per week at the moment so this would rule out a permanent deal

Doesn't rule anything out.... if we give him a signing on fee that covers his loss in wages then it works out.

25-05-2018, 11:31 AM
Doesn't rule anything out.... if we give him a signing on fee that covers his loss in wages then it works out.

Not a chance of Hibs giving someone like Mallan a signing on fee in excess of 100k.

BlackSheep
25-05-2018, 11:54 AM
Not a chance of Hibs giving someone like Mallan a signing on fee in excess of 100k.

And who says that he wouldn't accept a signing on fee of £100k.... there's more to the game than money, while some may not see it that way, others will.... Mallan is out of favour at Barnsley and we could offer him substantial game time to aid a move elsewhere.

25-05-2018, 12:07 PM

Would be better than a transfer fee of around £250k

If McGinn move on any monies we have left won't go all on transfer fees, does anyone think we'll pay £250K + for any player, it's not our way at ER.

25-05-2018, 12:10 PM

If McGinn move on any monies we have left won't go all on transfer fees, does anyone think we'll pay £250K + for any player, it's not our way at ER.

And the signing on fee may be split 50% this year 50% next year. As you say better than paying a high transfer fee

25-05-2018, 01:12 PM

I think we may pay a fee that size, yes. We were going to do it last year for Luke Berry before that deal fell through.

I don’t see why paying a six figure signing on fee to a player is more likely than us paying it as a transfer fee. In fact I think it’s less likely. For the type of players we are in the market for I don’t think they can command that type of signing on fee when you’re only paying them a couple of grand a week.

25-05-2018, 02:15 PM
I think we may pay a fee that size, yes. We were going to do it last year for Luke Berry before that deal fell through.

I don’t see why paying a six figure signing on fee to a player is more likely than us paying it as a transfer fee. In fact I think it’s less likely. For the type of players we are in the market for I don’t think they can command that type of signing on fee when you’re only paying them a couple of grand a week.

Because a 6 figure fee comes with a 6 figure wage, if Mallan is on £6k then we aint going to match that wage. We pay £250k for Mallan and where is his £5-6k wage coming from? I'd imagine our top earners will be on between £2-4k and we'll have a budget in place to keep it at that level so as we don't overspend. If we have surplus money from any sales I can't see it being blown on big transfer fees, more than likely it'll be used to entice players who's wages are on the higher side, why do you think it took so long to sign Stokes, his signing on fee and wages took a while to negotiate.

25-05-2018, 02:18 PM
Because a 6 figure fee comes with a 6 figure wage, if Mallan is on £6k then we aint going to match that wage. We pay £250k for Mallan and where is his £5-6k wage coming from? I'd imagine our top earners will be on between £2-4k and we'll have a budget in place to keep it at that level so as we don't overspend. If we have surplus money from any sales I can't see it being blown on big transfer fees, more than likely it'll be used to entice players who's wages are on the higher side, why do you think it took so long to sign Stokes, his signing on fee and wages took a while to negotiate.

The rumoured fee we were prepared to pay for Luke Berry was £250k.

25-05-2018, 02:22 PM
The rumoured fee we were prepared to pay for Luke Berry was £250k.

Again it was rumoured and we don't know how the fee if that was structured, we're not a club that generally spends big on transfers, I'd be delighted if this trend changed and we did start splashing the cash but as I said bigger transfers comes bigger wages, we don't want to get carried away and lose control of the wage bill like other clubs have done.

25-05-2018, 02:24 PM
Again it was rumoured and we don't know how the fee if that was structured, we're not a club that generally spends big on transfers, I'd be delighted if this trend changed and we did start splashing the cash but as I said bigger transfers comes bigger wages, we don't want to get carried away and lose control of the wage bill like other clubs have done.

We have paid fee's over the years though, we've brought back Riordan for a decent fee, and James Collins was not cheap.

I have no idea how their wages were structured, but to say we dont pay fee's is just wrong. In fact i'm sure there are others i've missed too.

BlackSheep
25-05-2018, 02:26 PM
I'm not sure that bigger transfers necessarily come hand in hand with bigger wages.... the club accepting a certain amount of money for a player and how much that player then wants paid are separate things.

Yes the trend can be how you describe but the wages tend to be calculated with different variable involved.

25-05-2018, 02:27 PM
We have paid fee's over the years though, we've brought back Riordan for a decent fee, and James Collins was not cheap.

I have no idea how their wages were structured, but to say we dont pay fee's is just wrong. In fact i'm sure there are others i've missed too.

We paid a fee for McGinn as well. Whatever it was it was a bargain.

25-05-2018, 02:30 PM

:agree: And 100k for Colin Nish and a fee for Brian Graham. :greengrin

And i'm sure we actually paid a fee around £50k for the admiral Nelson, who's being discussed on another thread. :faf:

25-05-2018, 02:37 PM
:agree: And 100k for Colin Nish and a fee for Brian Graham. :greengrin

We were done up like a kipper there :greengrin

25-05-2018, 02:37 PM

Did St Mirren not waive the development fee in exchange for a cut of Mcginn's sell-on value?

25-05-2018, 02:40 PM

I’d be surprised if he he was getting £6 as a basic wage at Barnsley
No info, but seems excessive for someone signed from the Scottish championship

25-05-2018, 02:44 PM
Did St Mirren not waive the development fee in exchange for a cut of Mcginn's sell-on value?

No, they lowered it.

25-05-2018, 02:49 PM
No, they lowered it.

Ah, ok.

25-05-2018, 03:06 PM

I never said we don't pay fees but some people are talking about £250k+, gone are the days of paying large transfer fees except maybe Celtic, I'm all for paying fees if necessary but not to the detriment of bloating our wage structure to do so. McGinn's transfer was structured with a larger sell on percentage because we didn't have the full amount St Mirren wanted, I think we paid around £125k.
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/john-mcginn-signs-four-year-deal-with-hibernian-1-3846067

25-05-2018, 03:52 PM
I'm all for paying fees if necessary but not to the detriment of bloating our wage structure to do so.

Which is exactly what paying big signing on fees would do. If we’re talking about signing on fees of a comparative size to a potential transfer fee you’d potentially be doubling someone’s money over the duration of a contract.

It might happen for a Franck Sauzee type player but can’t imagine players, who teams may be willing to let go for free, being able to command a big lump sum to sign for us.

25-05-2018, 03:54 PM
I’d be surprised if he he was getting £6 as a basic wage at Barnsley
No info, but seems excessive for someone signed from the Scottish championship

I agree. There is usually clauses in to reduce money if relegated as well.

25-05-2018, 04:29 PM
I never said we don't pay fees but some people are talking about £250k+, gone are the days of paying large transfer fees except maybe Celtic, I'm all for paying fees if necessary but not to the detriment of bloating our wage structure to do so. McGinn's transfer was structured with a larger sell on percentage because we didn't have the full amount St Mirren wanted, I think we paid around £125k.
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/john-mcginn-signs-four-year-deal-with-hibernian-1-3846067

Hibs have always paid transfer fee's, we were interested in Berry last season but something underhand apparently went on to scupper that deal. https://www.cambridge-news.co.uk/sport/football/transfer-news/hibernian-confirm-move-cambridge-united-13298215

Now with more income, bigger crowds and the team in Europe, its possible our position is different, and fee's paid for someone we really want will be found, even at a higher amount than we've previously seen.

Plus we have agreed a fee with Grasshoppers for Kamberi too.

25-05-2018, 05:41 PM
Hibs have always paid transfer fee's, we were interested in Berry last season but something underhand apparently went on to scupper that deal. https://www.cambridge-news.co.uk/sport/football/transfer-news/hibernian-confirm-move-cambridge-united-13298215

Now with more income, bigger crowds and the team in Europe, its possible our position is different, and fee's paid for someone we really want will be found, even at a higher amount than we've previously seen.

Plus we have agreed a fee with Grasshoppers for Kamberi too.

As a matter of interest, anyone know how Luke Berry has done (playing wise) since this deal fell through?

Nevi_SOL
25-05-2018, 05:46 PM
As a matter of interest, anyone know how Luke Berry has done (playing wise) since this deal fell through?

I’m pretty sure he is out with a long term injury like 12 months or so

25-05-2018, 06:05 PM
I’m pretty sure he is out with a long term injury like 12 months or so

Yeah he had an horrendous injury, game had to be stopped for about ten mins I think, caused great distress to those who witnessed it. Seemed to be doing well before that though - Luton went up and he scored quite a few goals.

As a side note, Luton are apparently signing Andrew Shinnie permanently.

EDIT:

http://www.itv.com/news/anglia/2018-04-01/luke-berry-luton-town-confirm-players-injuries/

25-05-2018, 06:52 PM
Yeah he had an horrendous injury, game had to be stopped for about ten mins I think, caused great distress to those who witnessed it. Seemed to be doing well before that though - Luton went up and he scored quite a few goals.

As a side note, Luton are apparently signing Andrew Shinnie permanently.

EDIT:

http://www.itv.com/news/anglia/2018-04-01/luke-berry-luton-town-confirm-players-injuries/

Love his tweet: Thank you everyone for the messages of support really appreciate it, means the world These things happen the only thing to do now is get high on morphine ?
Would have fit in perfectly with the rest of the spoon burners here at ER :greengrin

25-05-2018, 10:23 PM

If we can pay a transfer fee we can pay a signing on fee. All depends on what the signing on fee that Barnsley want is. They paid paid £300k and they surely can’t expect that value to have been maintained

26-05-2018, 01:18 AM

I have no idea how their wages were structured, but to say we dont pay fee's is just wrong. In fact i'm sure there are others i've missed too.Alex Miller needed a striker, at a difficult time for our club. he convinced the club to give 500k to Dundee! All worked out fine in the end. Keith Keith Keith Keith ....to infinity.:wink:

26-05-2018, 01:56 AM
Alex Miller needed a striker, at a difficult time for our club. he convinced the club to give 500k to Dundee! All worked out fine in the end. Keith Keith Keith Keith ....to infinity.:wink:

Think you will find it was more like 350k.

Remember speaking to ex Hibs chairman Dougie Cromb about it.....he told me of a phone conversation at the time with STF who had just supplied the money for the transfer fee, and STF asking him ..”Is he a GOOD player Dougie”.

“I hope so Mr Farmer” was the chairman’s response......

26-05-2018, 07:43 AM
I’ve no doubt we’re interested in Mallan and he’d want to come to us, but they’ve not got a manager just now at Barnsley. Surely once appointed they’d want a look at Mallan before deciding to offload him? Especially now they are at a lower level too.

BlackSheep
26-05-2018, 07:49 AM
I’ve no doubt we’re interested in Mallan and he’d want to come to us, but they’ve not got a manager just now at Barnsley. Surely once appointed they’d want a look at Mallan before deciding to offload him? Especially now they are at a lower level too.

It’s not always the manager that decides these things though.

26-05-2018, 08:29 AM
Alex Miller needed a striker, at a difficult time for our club. he convinced the club to give 500k to Dundee! All worked out fine in the end. Keith Keith Keith Keith ....to infinity.:wink:

We did sell Paul Wright just before we got Keith.

26-05-2018, 08:42 AM
anyone know if this is loan and if so what is the possibility of getting him perm?

26-05-2018, 09:30 AM
https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/2697945/hibs-ex-st-mirren-stevie-mallan-neil-lennon/

Nothing new in there. Just reporting what TC has already told us. See Mallan is away on holiday now so wouldn’t expect any news for a week or two on him.

26-05-2018, 09:42 AM
My only concern about Mallan would be that from what I remember and what I’ve read I’m not sure him and Scott Allan could play in the same midfield, they both seem a bit lightweight and attacking to play in the centre together.

Anyone know if he could play on the left? Wonder if he could be Barkers replacement.

One things for sure, we need to improve from set pieces, don’t think we scored one goal direct from a free kick last year, that’s not good enough, having someone that can strike a decent free kick could make all the difference in tight games.

26-05-2018, 09:44 AM
Sure he played in the centre for st mirren and takes a wicked free kick.

Would love him at Easter road.

26-05-2018, 10:19 AM
It's a long season especially if Lennon gets us to group stages of Euros

26-05-2018, 10:27 AM
My only concern about Mallan would be that from what I remember and what I’ve read I’m not sure him and Scott Allan could play in the same midfield, they both seem a bit lightweight and attacking to play in the centre together.

Anyone know if he could play on the left? Wonder if he could be Barkers replacement.

One things for sure, we need to improve from set pieces, don’t think we scored one goal direct from a free kick last year, that’s not good enough, having someone that can strike a decent free kick could make all the difference in tight games.

I'm not sure I'd class Allan as lightweight, he gives as good as he gets. It's just the amount of fouls aimed towards him that means he looks like he's constantly getting kicked about.

I'm sure they could play in the same midfield together but having another option when Allan is out of the game can 9nly be a, good thing. One criticism I had of Hibs in his first spell was too much of our play went through him, so if a team marked him out the game we were a little lost. Didn't see that last year and I'd imagine next year will be more of the same, particularly if McGinn somehow stays.

scooby
26-05-2018, 10:51 AM
It's a long season especially if Lennon gets us to group stages of Euros

How many games is it before the group stages?

26-05-2018, 10:55 AM
How many games is it before the group stages?

4 two-legged ties.

26-05-2018, 11:34 AM
I'm not sure I'd class Allan as lightweight, he gives as good as he gets. It's just the amount of fouls aimed towards him that means he looks like he's constantly getting kicked about.

I'm sure they could play in the same midfield together but having another option when Allan is out of the game can 9nly be a, good thing. One criticism I had of Hibs in his first spell was too much of our play went through him, so if a team marked him out the game we were a little lost. Didn't see that last year and I'd imagine next year will be more of the same, particularly if McGinn somehow stays.

Allan is far from a lightweight. Just look at the way he bitched Ian Black at Easter Road and there's been numerous others since then. He's actually probably not a kick in the arse off McGinn power wise.

26-05-2018, 11:38 AM
Mallan would be some signing, particularly if we bring in Scott Allan too.

Would be very, very happy with that! Entertainment galore and finally a free kick taker!

26-05-2018, 11:42 AM
Mallan is more similar to McGeough than McGinn or Allan. He likes to pick the ball up from the centre halfs and dictate play from there.

Hes a good player , not as good as Dylan though , and would be a good signing.

27-05-2018, 07:57 AM
Lots of pages about Mallan. Clearly a desirable signing for many.

Genuine question though. He did well for St Mirren in the championship, then went to Barnsley who didn't play him much (despite being a substandard team for that league). What's the usp here?

Not looking for an argument. Just someone to enlighten me. Am I missing something cos I'm not getting the fuss?

27-05-2018, 08:04 AM

Genuine question though. He did well for St Mirren in the championship, then went to Barnsley who didn't play him much (despite being a substandard team for that league). What's the usp here?

Not looking for an argument. Just someone to enlighten me. Am I missing something cos I'm not getting the fuss?

You literally could’ve just describe Scott Allan....

27-05-2018, 08:09 AM

Good point! Was defo a very good player with S#### Mirren. I think a lot of posters hedging their bets on this one I reckon would only be a reality if Dylan goes and if we can agree terms suitable to both parties.I reckon he is definitely a player that would enhance our squad once up and running as is of the right age and class.

There is class there is first class and then there is HIBS class!

27-05-2018, 08:18 AM

Dylan was another who failed down south yet is a cracking player. Mallan is class and the fact he can hit a free kick only adds to how much we need him.

27-05-2018, 08:30 AM

It's a fair point. I thought he looked very good playing against us - him and Morgan were clearly very talented young players but it'll be interesting to see where their careers go now.

I'd be delighted to get Mallan but I'm also desperate to get Scotty Allan back and I'm not sure how they fit into a midfield together as both want to play in the same advanced position just behind the forwards.

27-05-2018, 08:36 AM
Really like him as a player and think he is a class player. Sometimes you just watch a player and then “hes a hibs style player”

Wouldn’t compare him with Dylan too much as think he is a lot more attacking minded than him and won’t just sit deep dictating the game.

27-05-2018, 08:38 AM
Mallan is definitely more of an attacking option. Few St Mirren fans describe him as needing a player with some dig beside him.

27-05-2018, 08:39 AM
Really like him as a player and think he is a class player. Sometimes you just watch a player and then “hes a hibs style player”

Wouldn’t compare him with Dylan too much as think he is a lot more attacking minded than him and won’t just sit deep dictating the game.
There is class there is first class and then there is HIBS class!

:not worth

27-05-2018, 08:40 AM
Dylan was another who failed down south yet is a cracking player. Mallan is class and the fact he can hit a free kick only adds to how much we need him.

When did Dylan fail down South ? Looks like he played 8 games on loan at Coventry when he was a laddie and thats it ?

27-05-2018, 03:03 PM

Could be he's struggled to settle... Could be he's been asked to play a different way or position. A lot of people, not saying you, think if a player goes down south and struggles its cause they're not good enough. As I said it can be numerous reasons.

27-05-2018, 03:07 PM
When did Dylan fail down South ? Looks like he played 8 games on loan at Coventry when he was a laddie and thats it ?

Exactly my point. Only managed 8 games and didn’t do enough! Yet up here our game seems to suit his style of play. He may do better now if he went down he may not!

27-05-2018, 03:13 PM
Exactly my point. Only managed 8 games and didn’t do enough! Yet up here our game seems to suit his style of play. He may do better now if he went down he may not!

TC, with Mallan are you not surprised that we’re supposedly close to a deal to sign him when they don’t have someone in charge at Barnsley?

27-05-2018, 03:17 PM
TC, with Mallan are you not surprised that we’re supposedly close to a deal to sign him when they don’t have someone in charge at Barnsley?

Surely if the lads desperate to go it wouldn't matter. Owners probably want as much money as poss for the new gaffer to make signings..

27-05-2018, 03:24 PM
Surely if the lads desperate to go it wouldn't matter. Owners probably want as much money as poss for the new gaffer to make signings..

This is true and the only reason that I can see it happening at this stage. He could be desperate to come back home and made his feelings to Barnsley known.

27-05-2018, 03:24 PM

Not really bud no. He may have already told the board he’s not to happy down there and the last thing a club needs is a player who’s not settled. From what I’m told he’s been dying to get back up here.

27-05-2018, 05:24 PM
Flo Kamberi and Scotty Allan
Martin Boyle and Stevie Mallan
That's Entertainment

(Unless we get Barker back for another 12 months).

alihibs1
27-05-2018, 06:36 PM
Flo Kamberi and Scotty Allan
Martin Boyle and Stevie Mallan
That's Entertainment

(Unless we get Barker back for another 12 months).Beat me to it. Has that one up my sleeve for a few weeks.

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

27-05-2018, 06:50 PM
Beat me to it. Has that one up my sleeve for a few weeks.

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

Great minds...

28-05-2018, 06:03 AM
We are apparently “closing in on his signing”

https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-transfer-news/hibs-close-stephen-mallan-signing-12609076

Not exactly the most convincing article. Just a re-wording of what’s being reported elsewhere.

31-05-2018, 09:49 AM
Some interesting things from a local paper:

https://www.thestar.co.uk/sport/football/barnsley-fc/three-league-one-rivals-in-the-hunt-for-barnsley-midfielder-1-9185847

- Three English teams apparently in for Mallan on loan
- Decision not to be made until new manager comes in
- Mentions that we are after a permanent deal

31-05-2018, 09:55 AM

https://www.thestar.co.uk/sport/football/barnsley-fc/three-league-one-rivals-in-the-hunt-for-barnsley-midfielder-1-9185847

Looks like it won’t be done any time soon then.

BlackSheep
31-05-2018, 10:07 AM

Should read Three EFL league 1 teams.... I think Mallan doesn’t want to play that level so don’t think it should affect any decision on his part.

31-05-2018, 10:17 AM
Should read Three EFL league 1 teams.... I think Mallan doesn’t want to play that level so don’t think it should affect any decision on his part.

The story also has that old journalistic get-out clause "It is believed that...".

Translated into English - "we don't know **** about it, so here's something we made up earlier". :greengrin

BegbieHSC
31-05-2018, 10:22 AM
I saw Luton Town are one of the teams.

Sure he’ll come to us - any lower than the English championship is a footballing deadzone, where lads who once had potential learn to become journeymen.

We should be beating that kind of competition no bother.

31-05-2018, 10:38 AM
I saw Luton Town are one of the teams.

Sure he’ll come to us - any lower than the English championship is a footballing deadzone, where lads who once had potential learn to become journeymen.

We should be beating that kind of competition no bother.

Even if some of these teams can probably offer double the wages we can.

31-05-2018, 10:50 AM
Even if some of these teams can probably offer double the wages we can.

Unless Scottish football does a completely unexpected about-turn and manages to carve out a decent TV deal then in 10 years League Two teams fighting relegation will be able to offer double our wages.

06-06-2018, 04:03 PM
Barnsley now have a new manager, so hopefully we can move this along!

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/44381777

06-06-2018, 08:12 PM
Barnsley now have a new manager, so hopefully we can move this along!

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/44381777

Hopefully doesn't score loads of free kicks in training on front of the new manager!

06-06-2018, 08:24 PM
Hopefully doesn't score loads of free kicks in training on front of the new manager!

Ha, indeed! Though thankfully they should be on holiday for a few weeks yet - actually, that's maybe a bad thing...

12-06-2018, 05:35 PM
Was talking to a Barnsley season ticket holder today at work.

When I said Hibs were apparently interested in Mallan his response was...

"I hope you get him. He's terrible."

He then described a situation where he tried some fancy dan stuff and messed it up leading to a goal for the other team, Millwall I think it was.

Basically said he was a Beckham wannabe but he's actually tatties

12-06-2018, 05:44 PM

He then described a situation where he tried some fancy dan stuff and messed it up leading to a goal for the other team, Millwall I think it was.

Most Barnsley fans seemed to want to see more of him and couldn’t understand why he didn’t feature more.

12-06-2018, 05:52 PM

Lad hardly played any football at all when he done that. Bound to be rusty and in any case.. all top players make mistakes, Dylan has sold us down the river many a time.. it just usually doesn't come to too much as his teammates are switched on.

12-06-2018, 05:55 PM
He's a quality player. That Barnsley fan is just wrong lol.

12-06-2018, 06:10 PM
If he comes hopefully he's good and the guy at my work is just bitter.

They've been relegated, the guy is an IT manager so is generally negative with not much personality so fingers crossed he's wrong! :greengrin

12-06-2018, 06:25 PM
He's a quality player. That Barnsley fan is just wrong lol.

The Barnsley fan has seen more of him than you, me or anyone else on here so he's in a far better position to pass judgement to be honest. We shouldn't instantly dismiss his opinion without having seen him play for Hibs.

Ozymandias
12-06-2018, 06:32 PM
The Barnsley fan has seen more of him than you, me or anyone else on here so he's in a far better position to pass judgement to be honest. We shouldn't instantly dismiss his opinion without having seen him play for Hibs.
Quite the ray of sunshine eh?
Boy is a player. No doubt

12-06-2018, 06:34 PM
Quite the ray of sunshine eh?
Boy is a player. No doubt

Never said he wasn't but dismissing someones option who's watched a player over a season when you haven't seen him at all except from the odd highlights show is silly.

12-06-2018, 06:41 PM

He’s played 8 times for Barnsley. I’d say I’ve seen him play more games than that for St Mirren/Scotland 21s. Boys a player who needs a chance to play regularly. He’d do well at Easter Road.

12-06-2018, 06:46 PM

St Mirren fans have seen most of him.. Go ask one of them.

12-06-2018, 06:47 PM
Barnsey forum most were saying they’d be pissed if Mallan went.

12-06-2018, 06:50 PM
Barnsey forum most were saying they’d be pissed if Mallan went.

Heard any more about the potential move? He’s back in the country now so hopefully trying to convince the new manager at Barnsley to let him go without giving him a look in training first.

12-06-2018, 06:53 PM
Heard any more about the potential move? He’s back in the country now so hopefully trying to convince the new manager at Barnsley to let him go without giving him a look in training first.

Just that he’s coming here and deal has been agreed with both clubs. Deal was agreed between the clubs and Mallan a while back as well when I first posted about it. I’d expect this to be straight forward and announced this week.

12-06-2018, 07:44 PM
Never said he wasn't but dismissing someones option who's watched a player over a season when you haven't seen him at all except from the odd highlights show is silly.Most on here watch all of our players over the season and more than a few talk rubbish about them. No judgements should be made either way till he plays for Hibs, if he plays for Hibs.

12-06-2018, 07:47 PM
A bit like on here with players like Whittaker, Efe etc, some love them others not so much, if Mallan can play to his undoubted talent, I'll be happy for him to sign.

CorrieHibs
12-06-2018, 07:48 PM

Most Barnsley fans on their forum rate him. Just say he’s a luxury player and not suited to a relegation battle. They think he’ll be a star in league 1 as they’ll be chasing for automatic promotion.

12-06-2018, 08:15 PM
Never said he wasn't but dismissing someones option who's watched a player over a season when you haven't seen him at all except from the odd highlights show is silly.

It's taken a Scotland call up for Lewis Stevenson to temporarily have his many dissenters shut up for a bit. Just cause you see a player in the flesh doesn't mean anyone's opinion is correct. If our manager fancies him then he gets a chance.

13-06-2018, 08:38 AM

I've seen Mallan play many more times than any Barnsley fan, unless they happened to watch him in Scotland too. So they're not likely to be in a 'far better position to pass judgement,' Mallan plays for our national team at U21 level and I watched him countless times at St Mirren.

I won't be convinced that he's no good because some Yorkshireman who's seen him play less than 10 games says so.

CorrieHibs
17-06-2018, 06:44 PM
Seemingly Sunderland in for Mallan. I did think Ross would be interested in him.

yonder1875
17-06-2018, 09:06 PM
Sunderland interested in Scott Allan too?

17-06-2018, 09:09 PM
Seemingly Sunderland in for Mallan. I did think Ross would be interested in him.

Could blow us out the water in terms of transfer fee and wages. Hope he already has his heart set on a return to Scotland with Hibs.

17-06-2018, 10:15 PM

Wonder how Sunderland fans would feel about that? Guys barely got a game for Barnsley, would think Sunderland fans would be expecting higher calibre signings with the money they have

17-06-2018, 10:23 PM
Sunderland interested in Scott Allan too?

I heard he is also interested in filling in the corners at ER.

Seems anything on Hibs.Net he is jumping on board.

17-06-2018, 10:46 PM
If it’s true that Jack Ross is going for the players mentioned on here he’ll be out of a job by Christmas.

17-06-2018, 10:53 PM
They are going to have to pay a premium wage wise if they want true quality to play in that league.

I would like to see some of the teams who are always kicking about those leagues finish ahead of them.

17-06-2018, 11:05 PM
If it’s true that Jack Ross is going for the players mentioned on here he’ll be out of a job by Christmas.

Do you think he will last that long?

Sunderland are in League One in England. You need bruisers to survive at that level. 46 matches with all the cup competitions means two games a week pretty well throughout the season.

Packing the team with decent SPFL players is not what is required.

McGeough would be lucky to finish 10 games a season with his injury record.

The Leith Dutch
18-06-2018, 08:26 AM
Do you think he will last that long?

Sunderland are in League One in England. You need bruisers to survive at that level. 46 matches with all the cup competitions means two games a week pretty well throughout the season.

Packing the team with decent SPFL players is not what is required.

McGeough would be lucky to finish 10 games a season with his injury record.

Totally agree.

It's what makes it all the more annoying that it seems to be his plan.
Packing the team with decent SPFL players won't work for them as you say but it would work for us.
If he signs them for Sunderland everybody loses - Hibs, player and Sunderland.