View Full Version : What's happened to Leith?

11-05-2018, 07:38 AM
Having not managed to get a ticket for the bus shelter on Wednesday I decided to watch the game in Leith surrounded by fellow hibees. I haven't been down (outside of match days) for a year or so.

Coming down the walk I stopped in at bar after bar to find no screens and loads of super quiet style bars with candles flickering away. Eventually with nothing doing I decided to keep on going and watch in the constitution bar where there are plenty screens and a good atmosphere. Got there to find it had been replaced by a bistro or something similar.

Ended up in a relatively quiet cameo bar with as many jambos in as hibees.

I'm all for regeneration and having great restaurants and music bars to get out to it's brillant that Leith is so bohemian now, but I was quite shocked at the lack of character, identity and fun in this particular pub crawl I possibly should have headed to the right pubs straight away but I did miss the Leith I know and love.

Is it just me? Did i just catch things on a bad night or just take a bland route?

11-05-2018, 07:45 AM
Nuevo Leith mate. Turning into Edinburgh’s Shoreditch. Some of these new ‘pubs’ actually closed early on 21/5/16 rather than have the riff-raff in.

11-05-2018, 07:51 AM
Having not managed to get a ticket for the bus shelter on Wednesday I decided to watch the game in Leith surrounded by fellow hibees. I haven't been down (outside of match days) for a year or so.

Coming down the walk I stopped in at bar after bar to find no screens and loads of super quiet style bars with candles flickering away. Eventually with nothing doing I decided to keep on going and watch in the constitution bar where there are plenty screens and a good atmosphere. Got there to find it had been replaced by a bistro or something similar.

I'm all for regeneration and having great restaurants and music bars to get out to it's brillant that Leith is so bohemian now, but I was quite shocked at the lack of character, identity and fun in this particular pub crawl I possibly should have headed to the right pubs straight away but I did miss the Leith I know and love.

Is it just me? Did i just catch things on a bad night or just take a bland route?

Nah, that's what its like all the time now. Barely a decent boozer on Leith Walk to watch football. Most of them are pretentious, wan*y hipster joints. Easter Road's now the best place to watch football in the area IMO.

11-05-2018, 07:58 AM

Yup, Leith has changed beyond all recognition - I have trouble trying to match up today's Leith pubs with the likes of 'The Angel' that used to exist in Leith Docks !. In my teens/early 20's I worked in 'Rank Hovis Flour Mill' and one time I went along to the 'Angel' with 2-3 of the older, experienced guys. The place was packed and I have to admit, there was some scary looking men grunting about, hypnotised by the Go-Go dancer !. All of a sudden, one of these men walked right up to the girl, picked her up and tucked her under his arm as if she was a news-paper and just casually walked out of the place with the girl screaming/squirming trying to get away from him - and no-one blinked an eye ! I never found out what happened to her - was she actualy his girlfriend/wife or what but it was certainly an eye-opener for me. The guys I was with said it happened quite often but I didn't know if they were flanneling me or not ??.

But I must admit, I do like the 'Cameo', was there 2-3 weeks ago and thoroughly enjoyed my night. Wasn't expensive, good pint and very good service from some rather beautiful bar-maids - I'll definitely be back there !

11-05-2018, 08:01 AM

A lot of the traditional boozers are being replaced by trendier establishments but you could always have dropped by Robbies or the Harp to be guaranteed a decent atmosphere to watch the game in.

11-05-2018, 08:03 AM
You've obviously wondered into the wrong bars. Coming down the Walk you'd probably have to go as far and Robbies to get the game. From there you could have tried The Strathy, Harp, Alhambra. Coming along to ER The 4, Iona The Persevere and Tamsons would be jumping. Further afield, Wilkies and Andersons.

11-05-2018, 08:12 AM
Gentification of Leith with the local community getting squeezed out. Will only get worse if the plans to demolish the red sandstone section of near the foot of the walk (inc Leith Depot) and replace it with even more student flats ghetto with its hotel dedicated to mummy and daddy only.

Driving local people, businesses and jobs out.

Give #saveleithwalk your support on Sunday as they'll be outside the ground campaigning against this destruction of the community.

BegbieHSC
11-05-2018, 08:24 AM
Gentification of Leith with the local community getting squeezed out. Will only get worse if the plans to demolish the red sandstone section of near the foot of the walk (inc Leith Depot) and replace it with even more student flats ghetto with its hotel dedicated to mummy and daddy only.

Driving local people, businesses and jobs out.

Give #saveleithwalk your support on Sunday as they'll be outside the ground campaigning against this destruction of the community.

100% this. Irvine Welsh said it’s not ‘gentrification - it’s exploitation!’

Our community has such a unique character, and big business and developers can see only one thing - economic potential, without even considering that their exploitation is sucking the lifeblood, and will continue to do so until there’s nothing left. I’m proud of Hibs being such a community club, and us as Hibs fans have a responsibility to stand up for our area.

Support the Save Leith Walk campaign!

11-05-2018, 08:25 AM
Sounds horrendous mate. I’d rather drink in the hoose than some hipster bar full of ****ers with manky beards and wearing their wee sisters jeans.

Newry Hibs
11-05-2018, 08:31 AM
This is quite a handy thread - I'm over tomorrow for the match and will be staying in Leith. Fancy a bit of a pub crawl - so is Easter Road a better bet? Looking for some decent pubs with a bit of a Hibby feel. Will be over with my son (18).

11-05-2018, 08:40 AM
This is quite a handy thread - I'm over tomorrow for the match and will be staying in Leith. Fancy a bit of a pub crawl - so is Easter Road a better bet? Looking for some decent pubs with a bit of a Hibby feel. Will be over with my son (18).

Robbie's in Leith Walk, or Tamson's or The Iona in Easter Road. Safe bets.

11-05-2018, 08:41 AM

If it's specifically to watch football and pubs with a bit of Hibs feel to them then yes, i'd say Easter Road is a better bet. From the Persevere right down the bottom of Easter Road to the Mash Tun and Middletons (a Hearts pub before derbies) at the top of Easter Road every pub will have the football on. The Four in Hand on Easter Road is a good Hibs pub as well.

Robbies and the Harp and Castle on Leith Walk will have the football on tomorrow and Sunday. The Harp and Castle is a good Hibs pub so your son might like that as well.

11-05-2018, 08:41 AM
I quite like some of the new bars, but by same token still enjoy the long standing traditional bars such as Robbies. Maybe it’s just getting older, but a seat, some decent beers to choose from and a quieter environment to chat with friends after a game is quite appealing.
Obviously don’t want to see Leith completely taken over by such establishments, which appears to be a bit of a concern, but having different kinds of bars to choose from is no bad thing really. You’ll never go thirsty, that’s for sure.

BegbieHSC
11-05-2018, 08:45 AM
If it's specifically to watch football and pubs with a bit of Hibs feel to them then yes, i'd say Easter Road is a better bet. From the Persevere right down the bottom of Easter Road to the Mash Tun and Middletons (a Hearts pub before derbies) at the top of Easter Road every pub will have the football on. The Four in Hand on Easter Road is a good Hibs pub as well.

Robbies and the Harp and Castle on Leith Walk will have the football on tomorrow and Sunday. The Harp and Castle is a good Hibs pub so your son might like that as well.

I’d watch Middleton’s tbh - Hun pub when we play them mostly. Harp & Castle or Robbie’s on Leith Walk, or 4 in Hand/Persevere/Iona on Easter Road.

Newry Hibs
11-05-2018, 08:47 AM

Sorry, should have said that I'm going to the match. Fancy a few beers saturday night.

Mantis Toboggan
11-05-2018, 08:47 AM
You've obviously wondered into the wrong bars. Coming down the Walk you'd probably have to go as far and Robbies to get the game. From there you could have tried The Strathy, Harp, Alhambra. Coming along to ER The 4, Iona The Persevere and Tamsons would be jumping. Further afield, Wilkies and Andersons.

Yeah once you get past Robbies there are more traditional pubs. Top end of the walk and Elm Row have certainly changed a lot, but I think there is room for other types of bars as well as classic pubs. Places like the Tourmalet (which used to be Dizzy Lizzys) strike the right balance.

11-05-2018, 08:48 AM
The Windsor Buffet anyone?

11-05-2018, 08:48 AM
Yup, Leith has changed beyond all recognition - I have trouble trying to match up today's Leith pubs with the likes of 'The Angel' that used to exist in Leith Docks !. In my teens/early 20's I worked in 'Rank Hovis Flour Mill' and one time I went along to the 'Angel' with 2-3 of the older, experienced guys. The place was packed and I have to admit, there was some scary looking men grunting about, hypnotised by the Go-Go dancer !. All of a sudden, one of these men walked right up to the girl, picked her up and tucked her under his arm as if she was a news-paper and just casually walked out of the place with the girl screaming/squirming trying to get away from him - and no-one blinked an eye ! I never found out what happened to her - was she actualy his girlfriend/wife or what but it was certainly an eye-opener for me. The guys I was with said it happened quite often but I didn't know if they were flanneling me or not ??.

But I must admit, I do like the 'Cameo', was there 2-3 weeks ago and thoroughly enjoyed my night. Wasn't expensive, good pint and very good service from some rather beautiful bar-maids - I'll definitely be back there !

Ah The Angel..... barrie pub. When I was about 17 my mate worked behind the bar there. Used to spend hours in there toning my pool skills whilst being ‘educated’ by the go-go dancers. Then later on we’d head along to the Trading Post for my first experience of karaoke. Good times!

11-05-2018, 08:52 AM
I quite like some of the new bars, but by same token still enjoy the long standing traditional bars such as Robbies. Maybe it’s just getting older, but a seat, some decent beers to choose from and a quieter environment to chat with friends after a game is quite appealing.
Obviously don’t want to see Leith completely taken over by such establishments, which appears to be a bit of a concern, but having different kinds of bars to choose from is no bad thing really. You’ll never go thirsty, that’s for sure.

The variety of different bars is nice and it's good to have the choice now depending what you are looking for, still plenty of traditional bars around if that is what you want and some bars with some really nice selections of beer :agree:

I remember when the first of the Scandi bars opened (Boda) and it was really nice to have a quirky alternative to the rest of the bars near to my flat.

For me it shows that Leith has grown up and continues to develop and has become an area where there is a good balance of different folks and diversity is always a good. :agree:

Godsahibby
11-05-2018, 08:56 AM
The bars down there all Used to be a sh17hole now they are just sh17

11-05-2018, 08:59 AM
I don't think all that's changed in Leith is bad.

There are a few good new bars and restaurants which have done well.

I think the problem is wider than Leith with Edinburgh changing pretty dramatically with student housing and hotels on every other street corner.

Add in the tram mess and the roads all over the city with pot holes plus missed bin collections etc and you wonder why so many complain.

I do think the tram will help bring more fans to the games and give easier access for some but I don't agree with the cost plus all the hassle it will cause once again for the local businesses and people living in the area.

The new tram line will happen - You can see more about the new stops here

http://www.edinburgh.gov.uk/tramstonewhaven/

they claim they have learnt from previous building but it will still affect those in the area. Don't forget many have had the roads dug up several times in last few years plus new cycling lanes added etc which seems like it's taken an age.

I do wish they would sort some of the side streets such as Albert Street - state of the road and double parking plus dog crap is a nightmare.

You also have a huge new Lidl taking shape on Easter Road (due to open in Autumn) - between Albert Street and Iona Street - The first Lidl ‘Metropolitan’ supermarket in Scotland -

https://www.theedinburghreporter.co.uk/2018/03/new-lidl-store-in-easter-road-due-to-open-in-autumn/

The new student housing looks pretty awful down at Stead Place / Leith Depot - surely they could design something better ?!

11-05-2018, 09:00 AM
Much as I find 'gentrification' a bit of a pain in the erse I could probably reel off 10 pubs in Leith that would have been showing the game without even really thinking.

11-05-2018, 09:15 AM

Though I haven't lived in Leith, or Edinburgh for that matter, since I was a kid I take a healthy interest in the city, what with being proud to have been born there and all.

I tend to agree with the sentiment of this post, that its good for any area to have a mix of different places to eat and drink ... but by the same token its a horrific thought that the posher places might over run the 'traditional' bars, especially the football ones. I go to Tamsons before games and absolutely love it the way it is, even though we usually end up standing in the street its so busy. The local pubs around a football ground pinning their colours to the mast is as much a football tradition in the UK and around Europe as flat caps and rattles were back in the day, the flat caps and rattles are gone, what a loss to the community it would be if the bars went the same way.

Thankfully there are still plenty of 'Hibs pubs' in Leith Walk and Easter Road and long may it continue. Their biggest challenge is surviving on the non football trade, I've visited the Iona, Four in hand and of course Tamsons when there is no game on and they are always very quiet, IMO a direct result of various governments, including unfortunately the Scottish one just along the road, doing everything in their power to make pub life and culture a thing of the past in their drive to make Scotland the most healthy and boring country on the planet.

11-05-2018, 09:21 AM
Carriers Quarters on the shore is one to avoid, especially as it's frequented by Mr Preston.

11-05-2018, 09:29 AM
Though I haven't lived in Leith, or Edinburgh for that matter, since I was a kid I take a healthy interest in the city, what with being proud to have been born there and all.

I tend to agree with the sentiment of this post, that its good for any area to have a mix of different places to eat and drink ... but by the same token its a horrific thought that the posher places might over run the 'traditional' bars, especially the football ones. I go to Tamsons before games and absolutely love it the way it is, even though we usually end up standing in the street its so busy. The local pubs around a football ground pinning their colours to the mast is as much a football tradition in the UK and around Europe as flat caps and rattles were back in the day, the flat caps and rattles are gone, what a loss to the community it would be if the bars went the same way.

Thankfully there are still plenty of 'Hibs pubs' in Leith Walk and Easter Road and long may it continue. Their biggest challenge is surviving on the non football trade, I've visited the Iona, Four in hand and of course Tamsons when there is no game on and they are always very quiet, IMO a direct result of various governments, including unfortunately the Scottish one just along the road, doing everything in their power to make pub life and culture a thing of the past in their drive to make Scotland the most healthy and boring country on the planet.

I don't think the pubs that have sprung up are necessarily "posher" just a different type of establishment to the traditional pubs. I agree that it is a good thing to have diversity and variety in the area.

Tobias Funke
11-05-2018, 09:40 AM
Sounds horrendous mate. I’d rather drink in the hoose than some hipster bar full of ****ers with manky beards and wearing their wee sisters jeans.

Love it Sean :greengrin:thumbsup:

From a fellow Hipster hater!

11-05-2018, 09:40 AM
Nah, that's what its like all the time now. Barely a decent boozer on Leith Walk to watch football. Most of them are pretentious, wan*y hipster joints. Easter Road's now the best place to watch football in the area IMO.

I grew up in Leith and barely recognise the place with it's tree hugging yuppy type in most bars and fancy organic restaurants and cafes. Just look at the port of Leith pub, all flaky paint and hooray Henry's drinking Prosecco and craft beers.

TrinityHibs
11-05-2018, 09:53 AM

You should have been in the Harp when we equalised. Off the scale Scenes:flag:

11-05-2018, 10:00 AM
You should have been in the Harp when we equalised. Off the scale Scenes:flag:

11-05-2018, 10:00 AM
I understand many of the sentiments being expressed on this thread as pubs like the Westward Ho, the jungle, Angel etc all existed in what seems like now a long ago bygone age. Would anyone really want them back? I recall a time when I was relieving myself in the toilets in the jungle and the guy next to me was wrecked with his forehead against the wall to hold himself up along with a few other patrons. A hooker walked brazenly into the bog, took the drunks wallet out his back pocket and put the proceeds into her rather voluminous bosom before replacing the wallet back in his pocket and casually walking out the door. I'm all for local places as I drank in Robbies for years but sometimes the changes are for the better. Having said that, I remember we used to try the Leith Walk pub crawl which involved a drink in every pub, all 24 of them and never managed it, and have yet to meet someone who did!

11-05-2018, 10:07 AM
Well I like the fact that I now have choice of places to go to sip gin, stroke my beard and discuss how the Tories aren't actually all that bad after all with like-minded souls.

SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
11-05-2018, 10:08 AM
100% this. Irvine Welsh said it’s not ‘gentrification - it’s exploitation!’

Our community has such a unique character, and big business and developers can see only one thing - economic potential, without even considering that their exploitation is sucking the lifeblood, and will continue to do so until there’s nothing left. I’m proud of Hibs being such a community club, and us as Hibs fans have a responsibility to stand up for our area.

Support the Save Leith Walk campaign!

Easy for him to say, from his millionaire lifestyle. I bet he wouldnt want to live in the banana flats...

11-05-2018, 10:12 AM

I had an early "old mans pub" pub crawl along Junction Street on Wednesday afternoon, before heading to the 4IH before the game. Some "interesting" banter to be had/listened to.

Tam o' Shanter, Wilkie's, Anderson's, Fox's, Gladstone's, Swanny's, The Vine (complete with east coast hun that went on about them all the time I was there) then bus along to The Foot o' the Walk and The Marksman.

kaisersmith
11-05-2018, 10:25 AM

I grew up in Leith and barely recognise the place with it's tree hugging yuppy type in most bars and fancy organic restaurants and cafes. Just look at the port of Leith pub, all flaky paint and hooray Henry's drinking Prosecco and craft beers.

You’ve obviously not been in cause I can guarantee you it’s not

11-05-2018, 10:26 AM

Bare lightbulbs, red wiring, random metalwork, exposed ventilation systems and menus stuffed inside childrens books or comics are all sure signs you are in a pub you need to get out off asap.

11-05-2018, 10:33 AM
Bare lightbulbs, red wiring, random metalwork, exposed ventilation systems and menus stuffed inside childrens books or comics are all sure signs you are in a pub you need to get out off asap.

Sounds good to me, where is this place :greengrin

11-05-2018, 10:36 AM
Sounds good to me, where is this place :greengrin

Any pub on Hoxton Square, not too handy for ER tho! :-)

11-05-2018, 10:48 AM
The Shore is poor for pubs with the football on now The Constitution has changed. The Cameo Bar was packed for the Roma v Liverpool game and their weren’t enough staff on.

Leith Walk and Easter Road still have quite a few pubs which show games. I tend to stick to Robbies or leaving Leith, the Cask and Barrel in Broughton Street going further afield.

Mantis Toboggan
11-05-2018, 10:54 AM

Bit to go on that front!

No doubt that some pubs have been utterly ruined through gentrification.

Whoever replaced The Auld Toll with Blackbird wants shooting.

11-05-2018, 11:01 AM
Any pub on Hoxton Square, not too handy for ER tho! :-)

Easier for me to get to though :greengrin

11-05-2018, 11:02 AM
Sometimes it is nice to have a few newer, modern bars. It's part of the moving of the times and it's nice to chill after work in a quieter place for example.

What I don't like to see is a wee charity shop like Barnardo's forced out of their building (I know there's still one on Leith Walk but still) and a nice authentic Music venue/bar like Leith Depot having to fight tooth n nail to keep the doors open and not be replaced by student accommodation. Nout against Student's, I used to be one myself but there's flats to be rented/shared across Edinburgh and Leith isn't exactly close to many campuses.

I remember sitting in the Foot of the Walk one night and a host of students stormed in and caused a bit of bother before being asked to leave. We came out to move on somewhere else to see they had tried the same in the Marksman next door and safe to say they were chased out and won't be trying that again.

Lendo
11-05-2018, 11:18 AM
Alhambra
Harp & Castle
Preserve
Robbies
Bierhoose
Literally any pub on Easter Road
Carriers Quarters
The Marksman
The Constitution Bar
Teuchters Landing
Alan Breck Lounge
The Bowlers Rest
Leith Dockers Club
The Hibs Club
Windsor Buffett
Harbour Inn
Jeremiah's Tap (technically not Leith, but close enough)

This conversation has been done to death on the "Has Edinburgh lost its soul?" thread in the Holy Ground

H18S NX
11-05-2018, 11:44 AM
Come to my local the Alhambra,best boozer in Leith,very friendly,good people,Dougie's the man.:aok:

11-05-2018, 11:55 AM
I stay at on Lindsay Road, for me, the best bar here is the Malt & Hops. The rest are becoming expensive and pretentious. Even the Cameo has gone down hill and will soon have a name change. The Carriers Quarters is ok too but yes, the hipsters are taking over ... check out the Dreadnought.

11-05-2018, 12:02 PM
I stay at on Lindsay Road, for me, the best bar here is the Malt & Hops. The rest are becoming expensive and pretentious. Even the Cameo has gone down hill and will soon have a name change. The Carriers Quarters is ok too but yes, the hipsters are taking over ... check out the Dreadnought.

Malt and Hops is a great boozer.

WeAreHibs
11-05-2018, 12:06 PM
Love it Sean :greengrin:thumbsup:

From a fellow Hipster hater!

Another here! They take it too far, too often!

midfield_maestro
11-05-2018, 12:35 PM
To be fair, you are not in Leith until you get to Robbies, so hipster joints up the road are technically not part of the problem.

11-05-2018, 12:47 PM
Come to my local the Alhambra,best boozer in Leith,very friendly,good people,Dougie's the man.:aok:
There’s always a few dodgy looking folk drinking at the end of the bar in there :wink:.

11-05-2018, 01:02 PM
You’ve obviously not been in cause I can guarantee you it’s not

When I drop off or pick there the punters usually are

11-05-2018, 01:07 PM
Ah the good old days eh?! I know what I like and I like what I know. The world is moving on. Move with it, or spend the rest of your life moaning about 'how things used to be'

I'm well into my 60's and haven't been down LW for about 25 yrs, but if memory serves, it was a sh**hole. If that has improved, then it's good to know that it isn't stuck in some god forsaken time warp.

11-05-2018, 01:11 PM
I really hate that new ugly housing block on leith walk, near pilrig. I was appalled upon seeing it. The planning committee should hang their heads in shame. Apologies if you live in it, just my opinion!!!

kaisersmith
11-05-2018, 01:48 PM
When I drop off or pick there the punters usually are

So from your taxi can you can see that everybody in there is a hipster drinking procesco and craft beer...ok

KerPlunk
11-05-2018, 01:50 PM
So from your taxi can you can see that everybody in there is a hipster drinking procesco and craft beer...ok
You never seen a taxi with a periscope before ? :cool2:

Anyhoo, having given up on Robbie's due to it being rammed to **** on match days, I have recently discovered the delights of The Strathie.

Aaron
11-05-2018, 02:32 PM
Surprised nobody has mentioned it. I watched the game in the Central Bar at the bottom of the walk. Always manage to get a seat somewhere when the Hibs games are on.

Alan62
11-05-2018, 02:46 PM
Leith's pubs are far better now than they've ever been. There's a wide choice from scabby old manny bars to beardy hipster joints and everything in between. As has been mentioned above, there are plenty of places to watch the football if you want to and plenty others if you don't. There's music, there's candlelight and, maybe, even romance.

Of course, if you look back fondly on the days when a screaming go-go dancer could be carried out of the Angel Hotel by a horny drunk, then you may struggle to find the vibe you crave.

As for what's happening to Leith? Well, lots of good stuff by the looks of things. Recent influxes of new folks from Eastern Europe, Spain and other places have brought a welcome BoHo scene. They've also made it much more late night lively pretty much every night of the week.

In fact, the more I think about it, the more I want to celebrate Leith's spectacular pub culture. Hibs.net pub crawl anybody? I'm in. :wink:

11-05-2018, 03:31 PM
Places change and we all get older, Leith has changed it certainly is not the old town I grew up in, but not for me to judge for better or worse as for well known people mumping there gums about my old town, they are not even Leithers so not worth listening too.
I may look back on fitba with green tinted specs on but I dont look back on the old town wi rose tinted specs on, the town I grew up in was a bit of a *****-hole but it was our *****-hole, would the well known people commenting in the past have lived there or wish to have lived in slums like the auld Kikgate and surrounding areas, dont think so.
The Angel and such were not bad places you should have seen some of the pubs before they came along.
The place is full of arty farty types who moved in between twenty and thirty years ago, trying to change the place into some kind of bohemian la,la land which is never was and never will be, writing a lot of crap about the place.
No different to many port towns once the shipyards and manufacturing move out the arty hipsters move in cause its cheaper at the time than living elsewhere, along with many others who I would hope would in the end all turn into Hibs supporters and get along to Easter Road.
Nothing ever stays the same, get used to it.

11-05-2018, 03:41 PM
Well I like the fact that I now have choice of places to go to sip gin, stroke my beard and discuss how the Tories aren't actually all that bad after all with like-minded souls.
You're jumping the gun.

The Barnton/Corstorphine thread hasn't started yet[emoji6]

11-05-2018, 03:46 PM
Comparing to early 2000’s Leith Walk, dodging puddles of blood on a Saturday night, I think I’ll take the newer bars given a choice!

11-05-2018, 03:56 PM
Not the Alhambra

11-05-2018, 04:43 PM
The Artisan is a down-to-earth boozer which has hardly changed since I lived around there in the late seventies.

Brunswickbill
11-05-2018, 06:26 PM
Born (late 40s) and brought up at the Leith Walk end of Brunswick Road. Left for work when I was 20 and never able to move back. A while back I switched on Radio Scotland early afternoon and the pseudie foodie programme was on. Two wummen doing a gourmet tour of a street. It was Malaysian-Cuban fusion, vegan Tibetan, coffe shop that only sold Guatemalan beans grown above 3000 metres- ken what I mean. Fascinated I wondered where it was. Turned out it was Leith Walk. It’s the Hibs that anchors me to my home town.

11-05-2018, 08:11 PM
There’s always a few dodgy looking folk drinking at the end of the bar in there :wink:.

Yes I've them pointed out to me :wink:

Decent boozer the Alhambra, usually head for Robbies on match days but staying over on saturday, not decided yet whether to stay in Leith or hit the City (done bot plenty of times)

Ryan69
11-05-2018, 08:14 PM

Television was probably above the door....:)

SideBurns
11-05-2018, 08:21 PM
Leith is still barry. Always will be. When I'm on the 22 on Sunday and it turns from York Place intae the Walk, I can guarantee you I'll have a huge smile on my face.

Cannae wait!

Kavinho
11-05-2018, 09:16 PM

Most of the old port crowd take a drink down in the Pond now.
Good boozer in itself surprised it hasn't been mentioned yet.

Stax
11-05-2018, 09:54 PM
Worked abroad for a while & I mind coming home in the mid 90’s when the tall ships were in.
Went for a bevvy with my Grandad & my Auld man & ended up in the Kings Wark. I mind the look on my Grandads face at the changes even then. An Aussie waitress came and asked us if we’d like to know the what the specials were & my Grandad said “hen if you’d asked that In here 20 yrs ago....”:greengrin

11-05-2018, 10:10 PM
Nothing. It's still there, I checked this morning.

H18S NX
12-05-2018, 12:58 PM
I saw what you did there m8:greengrin

12-05-2018, 01:43 PM
I went in to Nobles a couple of years ago (2016 SC derby replay) and took of my jumper to reveal my Hibs top. I was asked, within about 30 seconds, that I'd need to cover it up as they had a no colours policy. Has that always been the case?

I wasn't particularly annoyed, I just felt it was a bit OTT as I was the only person in the pub with colours on, we were ordering food and not even drinking.

I think Leith needed an injection of something (pardon the pun), but wonder if it's becoming too much? There seems to be a belt of football pubs around the middle of Leith walk but the rest have removed themselves from the football culture.

12-05-2018, 02:35 PM
I understand many of the sentiments being expressed on this thread as pubs like the Westward Ho, the jungle, Angel etc all existed in what seems like now a long ago bygone age. Would anyone really want them back? I recall a time when I was relieving myself in the toilets in the jungle and the guy next to me was wrecked with his forehead against the wall to hold himself up along with a few other patrons. A hooker walked brazenly into the bog, took the drunks wallet out his back pocket and put the proceeds into her rather voluminous bosom before replacing the wallet back in his pocket and casually walking out the door. I'm all for local places as I drank in Robbies for years but sometimes the changes are for the better. Having said that, I remember we used to try the Leith Walk pub crawl which involved a drink in every pub, all 24 of them and never managed it, and have yet to meet someone who did!
Done it a couple of times but ended up on the nips as time was running out.

12-05-2018, 03:11 PM
Miss the Royal Nip [emoji26] and the Volley 🤨 but I like the Alhambra and the Windsor, is frank still running the Artisan? Not lived in abbeyhill in donkeys

12-05-2018, 04:20 PM
Most of the old port crowd take a drink down in the Pond now.
Good boozer in itself surprised it hasn't been mentioned yet.

Opens weird times but yes it gets a good name

SideBurns
12-05-2018, 04:22 PM
Robbie's is still a cracking pub. Good beer, mobbed before and after but the bar staff pay attention, are always on form, and there are plenty of them. They might not thank me for trying to attract new custom given how busy it is, mind!

12-05-2018, 04:26 PM
Robbie's is still a cracking pub. Good beer, mobbed before and after but the bar staff pay attention, are always on form, and there are plenty of them. They might not thank me for trying to attract new custom given how busy it is, mind!
I’ve drunk in leith my whole life, but Robbie’s is a pub I’ve never ever liked. It always seems busy so it must be me.

12-05-2018, 04:26 PM

Robbie's is actually too busy. Can barely move after a game but it is good boozer.

12-05-2018, 04:56 PM
Does anyone ever go to the cavern bar on duke street pre match? Been in a few times as I usually park at the links and it's never busy, always got football on the box and has a nice quietnessabout it that means you can have a conversation rather than a shouting match.

12-05-2018, 05:24 PM
Does anyone ever go to the cavern bar on duke street pre match? Been in a few times as I usually park at the links and it's never busy, always got football on the box and has a nice quietnessabout it that means you can have a conversation rather than a shouting match.

did that used to be called the Golf Bar ? or is the Golf further along :hmmm:

alnewhaven
13-05-2018, 02:33 AM
did that used to be called the Golf Bar ? or is the Golf further along :hmmm:

Yes it did, then The Parlour. Think it’s changing again. Went pre Celtic game earlier this season as the Percy was heaving. Was quiet apart from a handful of Tic fans

13-05-2018, 08:27 AM

Golf Tavern, had my first illegal pint in there aged 17 in the snug bar, 17p for a pint of Tartan Special.

Back in the pre married days the Iona, Cabbage and Ribs, Royal Nip or the Four In Hand were my pubs of choice pre games.

13-05-2018, 08:44 AM
Golf Tavern, had my first illegal pint in there aged 17 in the snug bar, 17p for a pint of Tartan Special.

Back in the pre married days the Iona, Cabbage and Ribs, Royal Nip or the Four In Hand were my pubs of choice pre games.

My first was the boundary bar, I think it was city limits at the time. Had a few then got a bit ballsy and went down to Robbies for a few there too.

Valencia
13-05-2018, 04:38 PM
Carriers Quarters on the shore is one to avoid, especially as it's frequented by Mr Preston.
On a Friday dinner time used to go to a different pub every week. Went to the Carriers Quarters one week and asked if there was anything for eating. The barman pointed to a big tray with a tea towel over it. Plain bread sandwiches just help yourself.

Saint Hibee
13-05-2018, 05:33 PM

I actually think The Dreadnought does a great job of catering to a very diverse bunch of drinkers. And it's co-owner Johnny is a massive Hibby!

ScotchCorner
20-05-2018, 02:35 PM
I never knew Leith in the 90’s but nowadays it’s arguably the best place in Scotland for 20/30 year olds to live. Something for everyone, a great community with lots of small businesses thriving and a great football team with the most picturesque stadium in the country. There are a lot of hipster type gin bars but that’s because there is a demand for them, Robbie, Tamsons, The Iona, Four in Hand, Harp&castle, Cameo and the Mash Tun (to name but a few) are all great football boozers and they aren’t going anywhere any time soon so I don’t see why people see the need to complain about the pretentious pubs on Leith walk, just don’t go inside them!

I do wish there was a bigger pub near the stadium though, they’re all too cramped on match day.

20-05-2018, 02:54 PM
Done it a couple of times but ended up on the nips as time was running out.

Nae chance! I was up and down the Walk my formative years and further. That crawl would have taken days not nips! Most of these pubs long gone. If you started at the Central you'd have been off your tits by time you hit The Dalmeny with half the stretch to go.

hibeg
20-05-2018, 02:56 PM
As a few others have stated, the Malt & Hops is a great old school pub on the Shore. If you are into real ale then it has guest beers which I think change every week or so

Not a football pub as such ( no sky tv) although the owner has some link up with either Spartans or Edinburgh City I think

ScotchCorner
20-05-2018, 02:59 PM
Teuchters Landing is a tremendous pub that does a lovely Calamari and chips.

LustForLeith
20-05-2018, 04:07 PM
I had an early "old mans pub" pub crawl along Junction Street on Wednesday afternoon, before heading to the 4IH before the game. Some "interesting" banter to be had/listened to.

Tam o' Shanter, Wilkie's, Anderson's, Fox's, Gladstone's, Swanny's, The Vine (complete with east coast hun that went on about them all the time I was there) then bus along to The Foot o' the Walk and The Marksman.

That’s actually a great pub crawl. Is Foxes the wee place just off Junction Street? Take a left off Junction Street if you were heading towards Bonnington Industrial Estate? Apologies, useless with directions and place names!

20-05-2018, 04:13 PM
Aye.

20-05-2018, 04:15 PM

I spent cup final eve 2016 in Central Bar and the Marksman. It was part of a very memorable weekend.

LustForLeith
20-05-2018, 04:22 PM
Aye.

Decent pub crawl. Never been to Foxes, might do a similar one but head up Ferry Road to Oceanic to find out if it reallly is Edinburgh’s cheapest boozer

20-05-2018, 04:35 PM
I actually think The Dreadnought does a great job of catering to a very diverse bunch of drinkers. And it's co-owner Johnny is a massive Hibby!

The bar and the beer are great but there is no atmosphere. I go in from time to time however, it just lacks something ...

20-05-2018, 04:50 PM

Closed and pretty sure that I read its about to become a cocktail bar :timebomb: :greengrin. The Golf was alright, and I liked it in its original spell as The Parlour. Seems to have struggled since then though.

20-05-2018, 05:27 PM
Decent pub crawl. Never been to Foxes, might do a similar one but head up Ferry Road to Oceanic to find out if it reallly is Edinburgh’s cheapest boozer

Once run by Eddie Turnbull of course. Fox's that is.

20-05-2018, 06:10 PM
I spent cup final eve 2016 in Central Bar and the Marksman. It was part of a very memorable weekend.

I was in the Marksman the night of the cup parade two ladies fighting the winner going round the bar asking strangers "did you see me I did her good eh I did her good" not been back since.

20-05-2018, 07:00 PM
Closed and pretty sure that I read its about to become a cocktail bar :timebomb: :greengrin. The Golf was alright, and I liked it in its original spell as The Parlour. Seems to have struggled since then though.

It's been opened recently as Cavern but like you say it seems to have struggled, especially on match days as when we go in we're often the only punters in there.

RecobasUncle
20-05-2018, 08:33 PM
I'd much rather visit some hipster, bohemian, whatever pub than certain older ones. The sight of two guys fighting over who was the most, or a real Catholic in one of the older places was somewhere between frightening and stupid.

To go off base a bit...

Leith doesn't need 'saved'. Rose tinted does not quite describe the level of over the top sentimentality I hear from some folk. Who actually loved these not so old red sandstone buildings before developers decided to build something new? I would miss Leith Depot and Punjabi Junction, but i would much rather have affordable housing, student flats and whatever the new shops and restaurants are making use of a brownfield site.

Maybe the area has already gentrified because #saveleithwalk just seems like classical nimbyism.

If people genuinely want to conserve historically significant buildings please consider the efforts of those at SHBT restoring Custom House or Leith Theatre Trust doing likewise.

21-05-2018, 04:19 PM

Fox's sells a very decent pint of Heverlee at a very decent price IIRC.

21-05-2018, 05:11 PM
more disruption on the way with the laying of tram lines down Leith Walk starting next year with the closure of 3 lanes, feel sorry for any small shop owners

Alan62
21-05-2018, 05:13 PM
more disruption on the way with the laying of tram lines down Leith Walk starting next year with the closure of 3 lanes, feel sorry for any small shop owners

You can’t make an omelette without breaking eggs.

beensaidbefore
21-05-2018, 06:38 PM
Sadly, Leith is a complete dive filled with jakeys. Imo there is a higher concentration of radges/bams/junkies/tramps than anywhere else in Edinburgh.

21-05-2018, 07:19 PM
Sadly, Leith is a complete dive filled with jakeys. Imo there is a higher concentration of radges/bams/junkies/tramps than anywhere else in Edinburgh.

I'm guessing you don't get out and about in Niddrie, Wester Hailes, Muirhouse etc much

beensaidbefore
21-05-2018, 08:45 PM
I'm guessing you don't get out and about in Niddrie, Wester Hailes, Muirhouse etc much

Not recently. But I work in Leith so see it on a daily basis and far from impressed tbh.

21-05-2018, 09:06 PM

Depends what part of Leith you’re in. You can get houses worth seven figures five minutes walk from homeless hostels. It’s one of the few areas in Edinburgh with a mix of people. I moved to Leith in 1991 and have loved living here. It’s certainly a lot better than Gorgie!

beensaidbefore
21-05-2018, 09:20 PM
Depends what part of Leith you’re in. You can get houses worth seven figures five minutes walk from homeless hostels. It’s one of the few areas in Edinburgh with a mix of people. I moved to Leith in 1991 and have loved living here. It’s certainly a lot better than Gorgie!

True. It's just the amount of folk rambling about who are up to no good. There was a human ***** left between our bins today which was nice!

21-05-2018, 10:22 PM
True. It's just the amount of folk rambling about who are up to no good. There was a human ***** left between our bins today which was nice!

Being

22-05-2018, 12:58 AM
**** off. Leith is a big place and to say it’s filled with jakeys is an absolute pile of pish. There’s no doubt it has its problems, but your assessment is ignorant and offensive. It’s people like you that drag the area down. I grew up in leith and I’m not a jakey, none of my friends are jakeys. I drink in a pub that is filled with hard working decent people, who certainly aren’t jakeys. To be honest people like you make me sick. Well done, you’ve made me forget for a bit about our clubs greatest day to unnecessarily defend leith from your ****ing ignorance.

22-05-2018, 06:10 AM
**** off. Leith is a big place and to say it’s filled with jakeys is an absolute pile of pish. There’s no doubt it has its problems, but your assessment is ignorant and offensive. It’s people like you that drag the area down. I grew up in leith and I’m not a jakey, none of my friends are jakeys. I drink in a pub that is filled with hard working decent people, who certainly aren’t jakeys. To be honest people like you make me sick. Well done, you’ve made me forget for a bit about our clubs greatest day to unnecessarily defend leith from your ****ing ignorance.

Here here, well said.

22-05-2018, 06:51 AM

Gorgie on the other hand........................

22-05-2018, 07:29 AM

Took the words out of my mouth, I too am a Leither and proud of it, yes there are dodgy people but just look around up town at all the beggars and junkies in George St or Rose St.

Salt N Sauzee
22-05-2018, 07:33 AM

Sadly, you're talking out your erse.

The Leith Dutch
22-05-2018, 07:43 AM
I went in to Nobles a couple of years ago (2016 SC derby replay) and took of my jumper to reveal my Hibs top. I was asked, within about 30 seconds, that I'd need to cover it up as they had a no colours policy. Has that always been the case?

I wasn't particularly annoyed, I just felt it was a bit OTT as I was the only person in the pub with colours on, we were ordering food and not even drinking.

I think Leith needed an injection of something (pardon the pun), but wonder if it's becoming too much? There seems to be a belt of football pubs around the middle of Leith walk but the rest have removed themselves from the football culture.

Not sure about Nobles but last derby I watched in the Cameo the barmaid had a Hibs top on.

Cracking performance.

A few yams in the pub were pissy but they can feel free to **** off and drink in the gorgie slums

SideBurns
22-05-2018, 08:51 AM
I've never lived there, but still love the feeling when the bus goes down Leith Street (or, at the moment, along York Place) on match day and Leith Walk finally comes into view.

Leith is brilliant, full of character, and that Hibs play at Easter Road is just one of the many things to love about our club. Aye, there are plenty radges, but I find it strange that any Hibby wouldn't have an affinity with a place so special to us. Can you imagine the 22/5/16 parade taking place anywhere else? Naw, me neither.

22-05-2018, 10:41 AM
I was in the Marksman the night of the cup parade two ladies fighting the winner going round the bar asking strangers "did you see me I did her good eh I did her good" not been back since.

A gentleman would have bought the victorious lady a drink, and asked quietly for her phone number. Then he would have left her to comfort the sporting loser. Just saying.

FRes Hibbie
22-05-2018, 10:52 AM
I've just moved here and it annoys me when I see anyone wearing another team's strip.

22-05-2018, 10:59 AM

I find it offensive that you've included the radges in with the bams, junkies and tramps. Some radges are fine people.

22-05-2018, 11:14 AM
I find it offensive that you've included the radges in with the bams, junkies and tramps. Some radges are fine people.

Some of my best friends are bams. Why do they always get singled out?

#prayforthebams.

GaryOsCheerios
22-05-2018, 11:16 AM
Robbies and Windsor Buffet still show football. Central Bar at bottom still does as well.

Agreed though its very hipsterish - your as well going to the Bonnington on Broughton Road or Persevere at bottom of Easter Road.

pollution
22-05-2018, 11:22 AM

Wow. Name that house! £1000000 in Leith?

22-05-2018, 11:29 AM
Question - What's happened to Leith?

Answer -
Teuchters Landing is a tremendous pub that does a lovely Calamari and chips.

22-05-2018, 11:30 AM
I started work in Leith in 1984 as a 17 year old, working for an office machine supplier repair based in Dalmeny St for a couple of years. My uncle ran Leith Dockers Club from 1979 to 2000. I worked behind the bar from 1989 to 2000. I absolutely love the place! Moved into Lindsay Road in 2014. As for Jakeys, nah! Good few drug related issues and kids being stupid kids but what a fab place to live. Nothing beats the shore for me.

22-05-2018, 12:46 PM
Question - What's happened to Leith?

Answer -

beensaidbefore
22-05-2018, 05:28 PM

Perhaps you need to calm down a bit. You seem awfully touchy about something that doesnt exist. Or then again maybe you do see it but choose to waffle crap on here in the hope it changes things.

My point still stands, Leith has a higher concentration of these people. To deny that is plain ignorance, or maybe you just can't see the wood for the trees.

And wtf does the cup final have to do with anything. You post was a total rant.

beensaidbefore
22-05-2018, 05:31 PM

😂😂

beensaidbefore
22-05-2018, 05:34 PM
Took the words out of my mouth, I too am a Leither and proud of it, yes there are dodgy people but just look around up town at all the beggars and junkies in George St or Rose St.

The point i was trying to make us the high concentration. I would say higher than elsewhere in edinburgh. Ok there are some poor areas, but the amount of crime that I have seen in 4 years working in Leith outweighs that of anywhere else...and I worked in Gorgie for 6!!!

beensaidbefore
22-05-2018, 05:38 PM
Sadly, you're talking out your erse.

Stop being a bam!

22-05-2018, 05:42 PM
I've just moved here and it annoys me when I see anyone wearing another team's strip.

Well, according to the Beensaidbefore guy, in order to fit in you need to kick seven shades of ***** out of them, snorting some lou reed or glue after a sesh on the MD20/20 :thumbsup:

Just dae it man, Choose Leith !!!

beensaidbefore
22-05-2018, 05:51 PM
Well, according to the Beensaidbefore guy, in order to fit in you need to kick seven shades of ***** out of them, snorting some lou reed or glue after a sesh on the MD20/20 :thumbsup:

Just dae it man, Choose Leith !!!

😂😂

22-05-2018, 06:24 PM
Perhaps you need to calm down a bit. You seem awfully touchy about something that doesnt exist. Or then again maybe you do see it but choose to waffle crap on here in the hope it changes things.

My point still stands, Leith has a higher concentration of these people. To deny that is plain ignorance, or maybe you just can't see the wood for the trees.

And wtf does the cup final have to do with anything. You post was a total rant.
I clearly said Leith has its problems, but you’re post and your subsequent posts have left me in no doubt about the sort of person you are. The sort of person that I have no desire to communicate with in any way. Don’t bother replying you will be wasting your time.

22-05-2018, 06:25 PM
Miss the Royal Nip [emoji26] and the Volley 🤨 but I like the Alhambra and the Windsor, is frank still running the Artisan? Not lived in abbeyhill in donkeys

Cannae beat the Strathmore on Iona Street for some old skool Leith ambience.

22-05-2018, 06:30 PM
Wow. Name that house! £1000000 in Leith?

My Hibs supporting mate’s house on the Links.

MagicSwirlingShip
22-05-2018, 06:37 PM
Leith is a glorious place to live. Diverse, MultiCultural, Historic, plenty characters still kicking about, with loads of great restaurants, take aways, cocktail bars, pubs and old fashioned boozers.

22-05-2018, 06:43 PM

👍

22-05-2018, 06:45 PM
My Hibs supporting mate’s house on the Links.

That the one on the corner of Claremont road (I think) and blackie road?

Cracking house went for about £1.2m towards the end of last summer.

Give it 6 months and 1 bedroom flats on Easter Road will be going for that too.

beensaidbefore
22-05-2018, 07:02 PM
I clearly said Leith has its problems, but you’re post and your subsequent posts have left me in no doubt about the sort of person you are. The sort of person that I have no desire to communicate with in any way. Don’t bother replying you will be wasting your time.

Sort of person I am. Good one. You are acting like a plonker.

22-05-2018, 07:32 PM

Strathmore has changed. Couple of good guys past away over the last couple of years and the bar staff particularly on a sat take ages to serve. Place is full of bampots nowadays.

22-05-2018, 07:35 PM
Sort of person I am. Good one. You are acting like a plonker.

You sound like you have the evidence to back up your claims, posting it might support the suggestion?

22-05-2018, 07:47 PM
Came to Edinburgh in 1982,Leith nautical college.
Blew myself up so many times I decided electronics was not for me.
This is the weird thing,it took me ages to realise when I managed oysters on infirmary street that hibs,a team I "supported"played along the road.Sobriety is a strange thing.

beensaidbefore
22-05-2018, 08:28 PM
You sound like you have the evidence to back up your claims, posting it might support the suggestion?

Not a bad idea mate, but's probably best left for the holy ground!!😁

But to give some idea, my job sees me work with people who are really trying to improve things in Leith, and it's not easy. Sadly it seems lots of people don't seem to care much for their surroundings or the impact their behaviour has on other people. This leads to the place being messy and not treated with respect.

There is a campaign on at the moment called Flyspotting. They are trying to clean up Leith. It's worth checking out.

https://www.changeworks.org.uk/news-and-events/news-archive/flyspotting-campaign-launched-in-leith

22-05-2018, 08:41 PM
Not a bad idea mate, but's probably best left for the holy ground!![emoji16]

But to give some idea, my job sees me work with people who are really trying to improve things in Leith, and it's not easy. Sadly it seems lots of people don't seem to care much for their surroundings or the impact their behaviour has on other people. This leads to the place being messy and not treated with respect.

There is a campaign on at the moment called Flyspotting. They are trying to clean up Leith. It's worth checking out.

https://www.changeworks.org.uk/news-and-events/news-archive/flyspotting-campaign-launched-in-leithBorn in leith and a regular visitor over the decades since. I think over the long term the areas improved, the core of the community is as good as it's ever been.

The folk who live on the edge of the society of the day are not that different to what used to roll around the area in say the 70's or 80s. They are probably struggling badly with similar or worse issues.

Hardly fair to use leith as an example.

Plenty other parts of the city are the same or worse. Family members from saughton and ferry road had trouble with drug related matters on their doorsteps recently that are beyond anything I've ever heard about in leith.

beensaidbefore
22-05-2018, 08:48 PM
Born in leith and a regular visitor over the decades since. I think over the long term the areas improved, the core of the community is as good as it's ever been.

The folk who live on the edge of the society of the day are not that different to what used to roll around the area in say the 70's or 80s. They are probably struggling badly with similar or worse issues.

Hardly fair to use leith as an example.

Plenty other parts of the city are the same or worse. Family members from saughton and ferry road had trouble with drug related matters on their doorsteps recently that are beyond anything I've ever heard about in leith.

Agree mate. But the thread is about Leith, that's why I originally passed comment. Leith is the 3rd most densely populated place in the UK so that brings a lot of add ons that other, more rural, parts of the city don't have to consider, such as the number of pubs.

22-05-2018, 08:54 PM
Agree mate. But the thread is about Leith, that's why I originally passed comment. Leith is the 3rd most densely populated place in the UK so that brings a lot of add ons that other, more rural, parts of the city don't have to consider, such as the number of pubs.Am still not seeing the evidence that sets leith apart in the way you suggest though so I'll leave it at saying it's probably just your opinion, which you're entitled to.

beensaidbefore
22-05-2018, 09:18 PM
Fair dos mate. But the maths add up. More people means more of everything. That's why I said highest concentration in my original post.

I choose to work in Leith, I try to do my bit, but sometimes, like yesterday when I was greeted by a big jobby and baby wipes with Barry White all over them, it gets on my nerves! It's not the first time and it makes you think wtf am I doing here.

23-05-2018, 03:25 PM
Fair dos mate. But the maths add up. More people means more of everything. That's why I said highest concentration in my original post.

I choose to work in Leith, I try to do my bit, but sometimes, like yesterday when I was greeted by a big jobby and baby wipes with Barry White all over them, it gets on my nerves! It's not the first time and it makes you think wtf am I doing here.

Maybe get a job as a stable lad for a while, cure your unnatural horror of excrement? :dunno:

23-05-2018, 04:34 PM
I try to do my bit, but sometimes, like yesterday when I was greeted by a big jobby and baby wipes with Barry White all over them, it gets on my nerves! It's not the first time and it makes you think wtf am I doing here.

You need to get a new girlfriend.

23-05-2018, 05:44 PM
Agree mate. But the thread is about Leith, that's why I originally passed comment. Leith is the 3rd most densely populated place in the UK so that brings a lot of add ons that other, more rural, parts of the city don't have to consider, such as the number of pubs.

Do you actually mean more problem residents per sq mile? I reckon loads of places have a higher percentage of pests than Leith does.

beensaidbefore
29-05-2018, 12:32 PM
Do you actually mean more problem residents per sq mile? I reckon loads of places have a higher percentage of pests than Leith does.

I actually meant more problem people on the streets/in the area. Where they actually live is another matter.

You are not the first person to suggest other parts of the city may have a worse problem, but without evidence to confirm this we are left arguing over each others opinions on the matter.

beensaidbefore
29-05-2018, 12:33 PM
You need to get a new girlfriend.

Sorry, you are going to have to explain that one.

beensaidbefore
29-05-2018, 12:36 PM
Maybe get a job as a stable lad for a while, cure your unnatural horror of excrement? :dunno:

Is there a typo in there? If not, you mean to tell us you are not put out by human excrement lying in the street next to used an dirty toilet roll/wipes?

29-05-2018, 01:32 PM
Is there a typo in there? If not, you mean to tell us you are not put out by human excrement lying in the street next to used an dirty toilet roll/wipes?

How do you know it was human?

Maybe Leith has become so gentrified that even the dugs wipe their erses these days?

30-05-2018, 08:40 AM

It's not ideal, but I grew up in an era where dog excrement was all over pavements (or gutters, if highly refined owners were involved) all the time, and human excrement's no worse. I saw a guy masturbating in the street one day last year in Stockbridge. He didn't make any effort to hide what he was doing. There's low-life/mental health issues everywhere.

beensaidbefore
30-05-2018, 12:14 PM
It's not ideal, but I grew up in an era where dog excrement was all over pavements (or gutters, if highly refined owners were involved) all the time, and human excrement's no worse. I saw a guy masturbating in the street one day last year in Stockbridge. He didn't make any effort to hide what he was doing. There's low-life/mental health issues everywhere.

Quite sad really. We let a lot of people down with a lack of 'care in the community'.