View Full Version : Lennon (threatening to go/not turning up for training)

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5

09-05-2018, 09:22 PM
As it says in title...

09-05-2018, 09:23 PM
Are we that hysterical we are just making things up now?

09-05-2018, 09:24 PM
And your proof is?

Eh ... no. :rolleyes:

Apparently so. :faf:

**** it

Apparently has just said it in an interview. Journo’s on twitter also saying it.

09-05-2018, 09:25 PM

I’m not, supposedly he said in an interview that he’ll review his position. He may be hurting and just blurted it out but nevertheless supposedly said it.

I don’t know for certain hence why asking the question.

09-05-2018, 09:25 PM
https://twitter.com/neilcameron5/status/994326075437142017?s=21

09-05-2018, 09:26 PM
Fraud imo. Discuss.

Getting a reaction on Sunday in his mind already.:agree:

guthrie01
Apparently has just said it in an interview. Journo’s on twitter also saying it.

Jesus Christ, Hearts will be loving this if it’s even half true

I think apologies are due to the op.

Lennon has definitely said it. Says he’s got several things to think about (including his own personal ambitions) and is going to consider his position over the summer. Also says 4th place finish is unacceptable.

Not sure if he’s just raging about tonight or he actually means it.

09-05-2018, 09:27 PM
Stubbs

09-05-2018, 09:28 PM
Fair play to the OP I was out on that one!

Would be interesting to watch / hear the interview, some wild quotes.

09-05-2018, 09:28 PM
It's a message to the Board I'd say regarding what he can spend in the close season.

09-05-2018, 09:29 PM
I'm calling it now, he will have said with referees offering no protection and being ***** then what's the point, he may as well just leave, queue sensationalist headlines of Lennon threatens to leave Hibs

Or maybe not, he will just be raging at losing and it will all calm down

Poor OP reports something that's being distributed around Twitter by journalists in the room, validated by one of the best known posters on .net for reliable information (IMO), and he's getting the boot laid into him left, right and centre?

Granted, some detail in the OP wouldn't have hurt, but the abuse is totally unnecessary.

that would mean a couple of apologies due to the thread starter

Seriously take a deep breath if he leaves Hibs go on that is all that matters. Neil Lennon is NOT Hibs

The Tubs
09-05-2018, 09:30 PM
Fair enough. I've no idea why he said it but, whether he's looking for a reaction or really feels it, it's up to him.

09-05-2018, 09:30 PM
May be contemplating how he can improve us next season with key players leaving This was our chance to take second place and he will be thinking that's not achievable next Season
He is ambitious and may be hoping someone one comes in for him but at the same time he is putting down a marker to the Board Think bigger for next Season

09-05-2018, 09:31 PM
Ok. Don’t want to be here then don’t be here.

Seriously take a deep breath if he leaves Hibs to on that is all that matters. Neil Lennon is NOT Hibs

me ? :confused: why, i certainly wouldn't be stunned if he's not, if he's finding 4th unacceptable he's working his ticket :greengrin

Neil Lennon is not bigger than Hibs.

09-05-2018, 09:32 PM
Looks like it’s shaping up to be an intriguing close season and transfer window.

Forcing the board to get the targets in or he walks maybe?

supermcginn
Wouldn't surprise me if he did tbh.

09-05-2018, 09:33 PM
Ok. Don’t want to be here then don’t be here.

Can't disagree with that. I love Lennon and what he's brought to us and replacing him will be so difficult. But as you said . . .

May be contemplating how he can improve us next season with key players leaving This was our chance to take second place and he will be thinking that's not achievable next Season
He is ambitious and may be hoping someone one comes in for him but at the same time he is putting down a marker to the Board Think bigger for next Season

Correct. His budget for next season will depend on Europe and league finish to a strong degree. LD has to decide whether we're going to invest and trust him despite not finishing second.

Wouldn't be surprised of this is being hugely overplayed by the journalists though.

SideBurns
I'd imagine he'll just be raging after a poor performance in such an important game, which he's not used to seeing from this team tbf. If we finish on a high on Sunday I can't imagine his sentiments will be the same, but he obviously has ambitions and will expect the club to match them.

He really needs to grow up

09-05-2018, 09:34 PM
The board needs to Support Neil Lennon, if not then I understand why he would walk.

I’m leaning towards him saying it in the heat of the moment. He’s made a wee point to the board into the bargain. Don’t think he’ll be away anywhere.

Maybe his way of trying to persuade the board to give him cash to spend.

No, he's fine as he is thanks.

Disco Dave
Stubbs

Backwards, no thanks.

Apols to op but he’ll (Lennon not op) be fine once he calms down.

Come on down Sir Alan Stubbs.

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk

guthrie01
Sounds like he isn’t enjoying competing in the league rather than being handed success during his time at Celtic. If he is serious about leaving then show him the door after the game on Sunday and bring in someone who is up to a real challenge.

09-05-2018, 09:35 PM

nothing wrong with being ambitious, maybe best being a realist at the same time, even with a full stadium it's under half of what ibrox holds and a 3rd of what parkhead holds, 4th is very acceptable(imo), but to be honest hibs should ALWAYS finish in the top five AT LEAST

09-05-2018, 09:36 PM
I get the feeling he’s just really annoyed with the standard of refereeing tonight. Hearts players were kicking everything that moved. He’s was getting really annoyed on the touch line. There was two late kicks after the ball had gone that went completely unpunished.

Sounds like he isn’t enjoying competing in the league rather than being handed success during his time at Celtic. If he is serious about leaving then show him the door after the game on Sunday and bring in someone who is up to a real challenge.

Wow, that's some bucket of pi5h right there.

We wanted someone with a winning mentality at the club, there it is right there.

I'm glad he's disappointed at fourth. I'm glad he finds it unacceptable.

I don't think for a second he'll quit bit I like that he's laying down a marker.

I think Lennon can say things in the heat of the moment. He’s clearly hurting at the defeat and has said this and in the morning may regret it. If not then he should tell the board if he’s serious and we can find a replacement soon as possible.

09-05-2018, 09:37 PM
No, he's fine as he is thanks.

He's an embarrassment

SideBurns

He seems to have been enjoying it ok until tonight!

He's an embarrassment

Away. For someone that repeatedly embarrasses themselves on here, you've a brass neck.

09-05-2018, 09:38 PM
I get the feeling he’s just really annoyed with the standard of refereeing tonight. Hearts players were kicking everything that moved. He’s was getting really annoyed on the touch line. There was two late kicks after the ball had gone that went completely unpunished.

He did seem to be losing it at the ref tonight so that may well play a part in him saying it.

Come on down Sir Alan Stubbs.

Why are folk so desperate to go back the way all the time? Lennon has taken us to a new level this season. If, and it’s a big if, he was to leave we’d need to move forwards and get someone just as good. Stubbsy is a legend but not what we need.

JJP
He's an embarrassment

No. He isn’t.

He did seem to be losing it at the ref tonight so that may well play a part in him saying it.

Post match he said the ref was fine.

He's an embarrassment

Settle yourself down.

He's an embarrassment
Embarrassment to who?

1875M
09-05-2018, 09:39 PM

If finishing 4th in our first season back beating Rangers twice as well as matching Celtic on every occasion we’ve played them (barring semi final), and 17 points in front of Hearts isn’t putting up a real challenge then I don’t know what is? :confused:

He's an embarrassment

Wow.

Really? He didn’t look like he thought he was fine during the game. Then again he’d face a ban if he said the ref was crap.

BlackSheep
09-05-2018, 09:40 PM
Away. For someone that repeatedly embarrasses themselves on here, you've a brass neck.

😂😂😂

Took the words out of my mouth!

The last two or three months he's really won me over.

But if anyone - player, staff or whoever, says that in an interview then it should be a case of if you don't want to be here then don't.

If he's said that, he needs to apologise and backtrack.

Not on.

He's an embarrassment

Only embarrassment here is yourself. Have a word ffs!

Whether he's meant it or not can't see it going down well with leann one bit.

09-05-2018, 09:41 PM
He's an embarrassment

:faf::faf::faf::faf::faf:

Wait you're serious?

:faf::faf::faf::faf::faf:

He's an embarrassmentI suspect you are just hurting after that result - I don't believe for a second you really think that.

Sent from my D5503 using Tapatalk

He's an embarrassment

leads us to our highest points total ever but he is an embarrassment, aye okay!

the board need to back Neil with funds, your Aberdeen, Sevco have funds. we need to be backed by funds on the transfermarket.

We were not good enough tonight and he is right when he says 4th is not acceptable. He isn't bigger then hibs but I like how he sets the bench Mark as 4th is not acceptable.

09-05-2018, 09:42 PM
Sorry for me but if he starts all this stuff then he should just go... no one is bigger than the club

Leanne and Rod have balls of steel, I think when the raw emotion over tonight is gone Lennon will sit down with them on preparation for next season.

So acting like an idiot at full time and disrecpecting the club by saying he's going to consider his position isn't embarrassing ? Just me then.

guthrie01
09-05-2018, 09:43 PM
The last two or three months he's really won me over.

But if anyone - player, staff or whoever, says that in an interview then it should be a case of if you don't want to be here then don't.

If he's said that, he needs to apologise and backtrack.

Not on.

:agree: What kind of message did that send to the squad with his comments, such a bizarre thing to say

Ffs :hahaha:

I think folk need to read what he said on the bbc

He did say it but also said he’s maybe a bit over emotional at the moment.

coco22

I think he started to consider a ref-rant and stopped himself, changing direction and (quite rightly) putting the spotlight back on our poor performance. Never mentioned the poor tactics/formation but that may come out when retracts his comment in the morning?

He's an embarrassment

I can understand you’re disappointment tonight but get a grip.

09-05-2018, 09:44 PM
He's an embarrassment

That embarrassment has us finishing 4th in the top division and is disappointed thinking we were capable of more. He's done well but wanted to do better. We don't know what was said and so what if he's chucked the rattle, it was another abject performance from a team that are better than there last two outings have shown.

Also people in this thread thinking Stubbs would be the answer if Lennon was to go are delusional. Love Stubbs for what he managed to do but he would be a step backwards in terms of progressing this club beyond where we currently are.

09-05-2018, 09:44 PM
He's an embarrassment

Mirror.

andy1875
09-05-2018, 09:45 PM
I think he started to consider a ref-rant and stopped himself, changing direction and (quite rightly) putting the spotlight back on our poor performance. Never mentioned the poor tactics/formation but that may come out when retracts his comment in the morning?

Agreed. He was going to have a pop at the ref then backtracked imo.

So acting like an idiot at full time and disrecpecting the club by saying he's going to consider his position isn't embarrassing ? Just me then.

Yip, i'm pretty sure it is.

I agree with you to be fair. If he’s waiting on us to beg him to stay he can **** off

The players have given him everything this season and he deserves credit for that, as do the players. For him to turn round and say that tonight is completely out of order imo.

I think he’s due the players an apology.

09-05-2018, 09:46 PM
Sorry for me but if he starts all this stuff then he should just go... no one is bigger than the club

On holiday so no idea what he said but if it is anything against Hibs - don't let the door hit your ars e on the way out.

Acting like an idiot after full time and disrespecting the manager by saying he's embarrassing isn't embarrassing? Yes, its just you.

Part of me thinks he’s seen the rebuild needed in the summer and though “Sod that, I’m off while my CVs good”.

There’s a difference between being an embarrassment and doing something that’s embarrassing

I actually agree: what he’s said is utterly embarrassing. Caught up in the occasion and the result and spoke foolishly

An embarrassment? No. Not overall. A credit to our club over the last two seasons.

09-05-2018, 09:47 PM
As it says in title...
Apologies from me.

I think folk need to read what he said on the bbc

He did say it but also said he’s maybe a bit over emotional at the moment.

Regardless, he shouldn't be making a comment like that at all. As people have stated he's not bigger than hibs and if he has higher ambitions than us then on you go.

Might just be me, but I was embarrassed by his 17 points to the hearts fan at the end. It was very much like their “aye but 5-1” when we beat them. But I’m just angry at how we played like we just had to show up to win.

I think the guy is hurting big time after tonight especially with 2nd/3rd going, glad to see it.

If he’s ambitious he should want to stay here and grow the club further. It’s the perfect club for him.

he’s sick about the result and the performance, and we all are, but it’s only one loss in 13 games!! The players still deserve all the praise they’ve had for the last 3 months

You're spot-on Coco. But let's not allow reality to intervene when there's an opportunity for the bed wetters to start recruiting again.

09-05-2018, 09:48 PM
The folk who never really liked Lennon but had to grudgingly accept that he was doing a great job will be cockahoop with that chat. They’re back on firm ground with a new reason to have a go at him.

“Oh, he’s disrespecting the club etc etc yadda yadda”.

Lennon “Nothing lasts forever. I’ve been here 2 years and made great strides. We had a great opportunity (to finish 2nd) and didn’t rise to the challenge. If the players won’t listen to me then maybe someone else should come in and take over.”

09-05-2018, 09:49 PM
If Lennon isn't happy with 4th in our 1st season back then he needs to wake up a wee bit, we were a whisker away from getting 2nd but he still has to remember we have a decent team here but champion material they aint, we'll have the odd bad game as that's what happens with the pool of players we get at ER. We cannot go out and spend big on either wages or transfers, this isn't Celtic or Rangers and we don't have millionaires bankrolling us like Aberdeen, if this is a serious from him for the board to spend bigger, then we cannot do that just to massage his ego, we'll always live within our means and he has to realise that.

possibly, i would have thought with record season tickets sold this season and positive signs for next that we would give neil full backing

Might just be me, but I was embarrassed by his 17 points to the hearts fan at the end. It was very much like their “aye but 5-1” when we beat them. But I’m just angry at how we played like we just had to show up to win.

I’ll be honest, I didn’t like that either. I don’t really know what ‘Hibs Class’ means but I’m pretty sure that’s not it.

09-05-2018, 09:50 PM
Acting like an idiot after full time and disrespecting the manager by saying he's embarrassing isn't embarrassing? Yes, its just you.

I couldn't care less if I've disrespected the manager. If what he's ment to have said is correct he's disrespected my club. Calderwood got slated for something similar

I heard him say he wasn't disappointed about the referee he was disappointed at how we defended set pieces and how we played and when asked about forth he said it wasn't good enough, he wants to do better than that.

And your proof is?

https://scontent.fbhx3-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/32077354_10156291745546550_5297624129896185856_n.j pg?_nc_cat=0&_nc_eui2=v1%3AAeHdwUhU7Fc2F3fT749GHg_mC6PCfIPlcWq-asMfSAQi3VUbpBamNSRUasCItn-2HymQ6qJCAna3edN8xb2C1K3THAKMvIhoMzF_f3GzLTd1_Q&oh=85b25dac886d775ceba100990f48b141&oe=5B5576CC

He's an embarrassment

Thanks, I was needing a good laugh.

What a baby. As if They never had enough pleasure from this result already, he goes to the media with this pish.

He's an embarrassment

far from it

09-05-2018, 09:51 PM
No one bigger than the club.

09-05-2018, 09:51 PM
What a baby. As if They never had enough pleasure from this result already, he goes to the media with this pish.

Exactly

09-05-2018, 09:52 PM
I couldn't care less if I've disrespected the manager. If what he's ment to have said is correct he's disrespected my club. Calderwood got slated for something similar

Dilly dilly.

Neil may of have said this or that, but Ill be more interested in what he says and does at the end of the season. He has done a great job so far.

ToffeeCabbage
Lennon may or may not leave this summer. That was always a possibility. I'm just disappointed that despite the emotions of the game he's let this slip tonight because it'll only have the Jambos lapping up this win even more

You're spot-on Coco. But let's not allow reality to intervene when there's an opportunity for the bed wetters to start recruiting again.

Let's be honest, the biggest 'bed wetter' in this entire situation is Neil Lennon himself.

I’ll be honest, I didn’t like that either. I don’t really know what ‘Hibs Class’ means but I’m pretty sure that’s not it.

I'm more than fine with it. He doesn't take, or want to take, 5hit from anyone and stuff like this is part and parcel of his make-up. He hates losing and he's dumped our soft touch mentality with his approach.

I think NL is right we want more than finishing 4th and hoping celtc win the Scottish cup. I am glad we have a guy who thinks that is not good enough.

NL repeated saying as the league celtc are in a league of their own the huns and Aberdeen are a league of two and then there is the rest. NL's ambition was be in or better the huns and Aberdeen. He will do that if he is backed by the board. The fans have bought into it and although tonight might have cost £0.5M with the right recruitment we are ready for the challenge of next season and a wee bit of luck in the euro draws who knows.

Tbh this is exactly how I feel about it

09-05-2018, 09:53 PM
Let's be honest, the biggest 'bed wetter' in this entire situation is Neil Lennon himself.

:faf::faf::faf:

09-05-2018, 09:54 PM
Looks like his nose is a bit out of joint with McGeough going too, which he confirms is happening.

More Lennon “We aren’t moving in the right direction at the moment. I don’t know what the budget is next season; I don’t even know what the budget is this season. McGeouch is going to leave. We’ve got a bit of surgery to do.”

He’s definitley making a point to the board. More cash please.

I love him but saying that it looks like we'll finish 4th is piss poor ahead of Sunday IMO.

Absolutely mental eh? Somewhat typical though.

Go from one game away to possibly finishing 2nd in our first season back to the seemingly a high possibility of losing Lennon, McGinn, MeGeouch, Allan, Kamberi, MacLaren, Barker (I know a few are on loan and will be away regardless). Just amazing what can happen in 24 hours in football.

**** me.

09-05-2018, 09:55 PM
I listened to Lennon being interviewed after the game on BBC sportsound and he had to ask the interviewer "can we still catch Aberdeen?" When he was told no it's a 4 point gap he then proceeded to say "well atleast if we win on Sunday we will finish 3rd". Richard Gordon and the rest of the guys on the show had to stop themselves from laughing and said maybe Neil has to do his sums.

Ive no idea what point Lennon was trying to make as I can't believe he didn't know the permutations before the game.

09-05-2018, 09:55 PM
To who ?

09-05-2018, 09:56 PM
I love him but saying that it looks like we'll finish 4th is piss poor ahead of Sunday IMO.

We need to win 6-0 - just realism?

I love him but saying that it looks like we'll finish 4th is piss poor ahead of Sunday IMO. Thats probably the thing I least take issue with atm

Eh? We need to win by 6 goals. We are going to finish 4th. Not just likely, absolutely definite.

09-05-2018, 09:57 PM
I think NL is right we want more than finishing 4th and hoping celtc win the Scottish cup. I am glad we have a guy who thinks that is not good enough.

NL repeated saying as the league celtc are in a league of their own the huns and Aberdeen are a league of two and then there is the rest. NL's ambition was be in or better the huns and Aberdeen. He will do that if he is backed by the board. The fans have bought into it and although tonight might have cost £0.5M with the right recruitment we are ready for the challenge of next season and a wee bit of luck in the euro draws who knows.

:agree::agree::agree::agree:

MartinfaePorty
I'll be signing back up to HSL tomorrow as in better financial position than I was when I cancelled it. Only thing I can do to help us after renewing my season.

We need to win 6-0 - just realism?

My mistake, thought we were two behind. Stupid from me. Understandable from him now.

coco22

Nae ambition on his part, clearly? 😂

Lennon confirms McGeouch is leaving.

09-05-2018, 09:58 PM
I think it depends on the board meeting next week.

We’ve done well this season but look at it:

Losing:
McGinn (gone?)
McGeouch (gone?)
Barker
McLaren
Kamberi
Allan

Need to improve/strengthen:
Bartley and Swanson 30s +
Whittaker (nice utility player but a bit past it)
Gray (knackered)
Back 3 approaching or past 30.

We have a big summer ahead and Lennon will want to be in amongst 2-3rd next season if he stays. He knows that, unless we keep moving forward, the wave of support could diminish and his chances of taking us further, than most of us have seen, become bleaker.

If he gets the wrong answers next week I could see him go. He wants the best. I’d love him to stay, we’ll need to see.

I'm glad he's angry at losing to a team that was 20 points behind us, I'm glad he's not happy that we've failed to get 2nd and will almost certainly fail to get 3rd. I want people with that mentality at Hibs.

Perhaps he was a bit hasty in saying what he did but I have no doubts about his commitment to the club and I honestly expect him to stay as manager unless a big offer comes in over the summer.

Mantis Toboggan
I like the commitment to standards. We were ***** tonight and it was nowhere near good enough. At least he admitted it.

guthrie01
Lennon has done a fantastic job in terms of results this season, no one is saying otherwise. But it’s his comments about leaving which have irritated me. To come out and publicly state your considering leaving is detrimental to the squad and clubs performance. Why anybody would want Lennon to continue when he isn’t 100% invested is beyond me.

Hopefully his comments where just anger from the game and he will apologise and remain committed to our club.

09-05-2018, 09:59 PM
Lennon has done a fantastic job in terms of results this season, no one is saying otherwise. But it’s his comments about leaving which have irritated me. To come out and publicly state your considering leaving is detrimental to the squad and clubs performance. Why anybody would want Lennon to continue when he isn’t 100% invested is beyond me.

Hopefully his comments where just anger from the game and he will apologise and remain committed to our club.

Especially saying it when we still have a game left. Thousands of fans paying money to come watch his team, poor show from him.

09-05-2018, 10:00 PM
I listened to Lennon being interviewed after the game on BBC sportsound and he had to ask the interviewer "can we still catch Aberdeen?" When he was told no it's a 4 point gap he then proceeded to say "well atleast if we win on Sunday we will finish 3rd". Richard Gordon and the rest of the guys on the show had to stop themselves from laughing and said maybe Neil has to do his sums.

Ive no idea what point Lennon was trying to make as I can't believe he didn't know the permutations before the game.

He didn’t seem to have a clue on BT either. Seemed to think we were in with a reasonable chance of 3rd.

my left peg
09-05-2018, 10:01 PM
Leanne and Rod have balls of steel, I think when the raw emotion over tonight is gone Lennon will sit down with them on preparation for next season.Rod....is an absolute embarsment and shouldn't be anywhere near a hibs changing room

09-05-2018, 10:01 PM

He’s basically agreeing with you. He needs to be in a position to fully commit or he thinks he should make way for someone else.

09-05-2018, 10:02 PM
Rod....is an absolute embarsment and shouldn't be anywhere near a hibs changing room

He's not

09-05-2018, 10:03 PM
He’s basically agreeing with you. He needs to be in a position to fully commit or he thinks he should make way for someone else.

Yup, if he goes it will reflect on the club's lack of ambition for Hibs, not his.

guthrie01
09-05-2018, 10:03 PM
Especially saying it when we still have a game left. Thousands of fans paying money to come watch his team, poor show from him.

I posted in another thread that I think we could still take 3rd off Rangers on Sunday. No chance of that now after Lennon suggesting leaving. Why should the players even bother

09-05-2018, 10:04 PM
He's not

Why isn't he?

He didn’t seem to have a clue on BT either. Seemed to think we were in with a reasonable chance of 3rd.

I honestly can't believe he didn't know the permutations of the results tonight. If he didn't and didn't know by the full time whistle we couldn't catch Aberdeen and thought we only had to win on Sunday to get 3rd then it's a disgrace.

I posted in another thread that I think we could still take 3rd off Rangers on Sunday. No chance of that now after Lennon suggesting leaving. Why should the players even bother

You think we can beat Rangers by 6 goals?

I can’t argue with much of what he’s said there. I thought the folk on here in the last couple of days who were quite happy to accept 4th place were being defeatist.

What I do take issue is him saying about considering his position. It is disrespectful especially when we have another game to play. I also take issue with him arguing with players on the bench. Keep it for the dressing room.

Clown

09-05-2018, 10:05 PM

Their win bonus? :wink:

09-05-2018, 10:05 PM
I'll stand by my comments that he's an embarrassment and needs to grow up. At a time when we're actively trying to recruit he's saying he's going to reconsider his own position. Not only disrespectful but immature. Not the first time he's acted like a clown either. Some nice comments though thanks. Im out.

09-05-2018, 10:06 PM

Professionalism and pride? Paid by club to play football? Just a few reasons :rolleyes:

09-05-2018, 10:06 PM

Did you post that you thought we could still get 3rd since full time tonight?

You do realise we need to win 6-0 to do that yeah?

guthrie01
09-05-2018, 10:07 PM

They are missing 2 key players and we have a fantastic home record. If we get a couple of goals in quick they will fall apart like they have done against Celtic. Similar has happened before, but I think it’s totally out of reach now

There's worse news over at Tinycastle. Apparently Levein is threatening to stay.

Looks like his nose is a bit out of joint with McGeough going too, which he confirms is happening.

More Lennon “We aren’t moving in the right direction at the moment. I don’t know what the budget is next season; I don’t even know what the budget is this season. McGeouch is going to leave. We’ve got a bit of surgery to do.”

He’s definitley making a point to the board. More cash please.

The point he is making is I landed lucky now I need to really earn my cash i am off before I fail as I said before don't let the door hit your ars e on the way out.

my left peg
09-05-2018, 10:08 PM
He's notHe is

Mantis Toboggan
09-05-2018, 10:08 PM
He is

This is quite the argument. Great stuff.

09-05-2018, 10:09 PM
They are missing 2 key players and we have a fantastic home record. If we get a couple of goals in quick they will fall apart like they have done against Celtic. Similar has happened before, but I think it’s totally out of reach now

Right you are then.

09-05-2018, 10:09 PM
He's basically defending his reputation at the expense of the players and the club, which is unfortunate because in the grand scheme of things neither the players or the club deserve criticism.

09-05-2018, 10:12 PM
Seriously take a deep breath if he leaves Hibs go on that is all that matters. Neil Lennon is NOT Hibs

Aye we are all Hibs and we will just continue to watch us go around in circles achieving **** all.

We need to hold on to our assets our two biggest being Dempster and Neil!

Did you ware a jaggy jumper or just clown suit

Hedlund12

I was the same... listened to Neil's interview
and still can't believe he didn't know the points difference before the game! Really baffled me... then again so did his line up and his substitutions tonight!!

All said and I'm still happy with a 4th place finish - we've done well in our first season back.

Hibeewilly
We are all feeling a bit raw after that performance tonight so let's just chill and reflect later. I for one would have taken fourth place before the season started. Plus if Celtic win the cup we are in Europe. Nobody is hurting more than me tonight and I'm sure Lenny is the same. That performance was shocking tonight.....we gifted them 2 cheap goals....

hibee1875
09-05-2018, 10:13 PM
Everyone needs to came down. This is a rallying call to the players to put in a performance on Sunday and a plea for backing from the board.

All he’s done is taken the press heat a bad display from his players. Protecting Stevenson from public scrutiny. I’m sure he’s went through him behind closed doors. Mourihno does it all the time

Bankie
Has all perspective been lost? Three years in the Championship followed by a top 4 finish and a very strong chance of Europe. Margins are very fine at this level. Kilmarnock was 5-3 but nearly 4-4. Tonight is hugely disappointing but think of where Hibs have been in recent seasons and where they are now.

I was the same... listened to Neil's interview
and still can't believe he didn't know the points difference before the game! Really baffled me... then again so did his line up and his substitutions tonight!!

All said and I'm still happy with a 4th place finish - we've done well in our first season back.

Was unbelievable. Actually so unbelievable I don't believe he didn't know which make it even stranger.

Frogga
09-05-2018, 10:15 PM
Absolutely pathetic from Lennon. At least show some professionalism. He's lost control here and let himself down badly and I hope Leann throttles him for this.

Sent from my SM-J530F using Tapatalk

09-05-2018, 10:15 PM
Rod....is an absolute embarsment and shouldn't be anywhere near a hibs changing room

now now, Rod might actually have to play next season as our squad will be rather threadbare

09-05-2018, 10:16 PM
Has all perspective been lost? Three years in the Championship followed by a top 4 finish and a very strong chance of Europe. Margins are very fine at this level. Kilmarnock was 5-3 but nearly 4-4. Tonight is hugely disappointing but think of where Hibs have been in recent seasons and where they are now.

No, I would have been happy with 4th at the start of the season and I think we've given a good account for ourselves on the pitch this season.

We're talking about two seperate matters here.

Hedlund12
Was unbelievable. Actually so unbelievable I don't believe he didn't know which make it even stranger.

Maybe he'd been on the red wine before the game? ;-)

Yes it has. Totally.

09-05-2018, 10:17 PM
He's basically defending his reputation at the expense of the players and the club, which is unfortunate because in the grand scheme of things neither the players or the club deserve criticism.

If we lose McGeouch, McGinn, Barker, Allan, Kamberi and McLaren (minimum), and Lennon doesn’t get the right budget then I don’t blame him for leaving. Put it this way, it’s like Stubbs leaving after cup win, he felt there was no greater high. Without correct funding 4th will be Lennons greatest high at Hibs. As it stands we are only due to get weaker for next season, Lennon knows that, if he is told the budget will be x amount and it isn’t enough to challenge for 2nd or 3rd, then he’ll probably go and I can’t blame him. We shouldn’t have a budget a mile off Aberdeen, we should be able to compete financially.

Hibs have a tendency to plateau and then plummet, that’s my experience with Hibs. We’ve had a good steady upturn, I’m dreading the plateau and Lennon obviously wants to avoid it.

hibs4life
09-05-2018, 10:18 PM
What I find strange and a bit galling, is that before today his players had done 'fantastically well' this season but now they apparently lack ambition and don't listen to him.
Sounds to me as if he may have another option to consider and his frustration lead to this rant vocalising what is already going through his mind.
He's been great for Hibs and could continue to be so, but I think he sees players leaving at the end of this season and perhaps thinks the challenge of maintaining this season's standards next season is unlikely.

09-05-2018, 10:19 PM

Funny guy

broondog
09-05-2018, 10:19 PM
really wouldn't blame him if he left after that.Disgraceful performance from the players. If what has been quoted is true I presume he has had offers from elsewhere and believes that 4th is very dissapointing after speaking about second for so long. Lets face it hes done a fantastic job and I am sure will be able to manage elsewhere for more money. As long as we retain the spine of the team whoever replaces him in the summer wont have to build from scratch.

Mantis Toboggan
09-05-2018, 10:20 PM

**** off

Yes it has. Totally.

Understandable though. Losing our first game since January is just so completely unacceptable.

Here’s what he actually said. A little more sensible in the correct context

http://www.eveningtimes.co.uk/sport/celtic/16215219.Neil_Lennon_could_sensationally_quit_Hibe rnian_after_branding_his_players_as__quot_unprofes sional_quot_/

Regardless of how much he means it, this is really confrontational and negative chat from him. Not what we need after such an amazing and positive season.

09-05-2018, 10:21 PM
I can’t believe he’s just went and chucked Dylan under the bus like that. To confirm to us he’s going in that manner is terrible but to make it out it’s because we won’t give him a bigger budget makes Dylan look greedy, when in fact it is because is his ambition to play in England. He’s proper chucked the dummy out to save his own reputation. He has an apology to make in the morning.

Stanton
Lennon “Nothing lasts forever. I’ve been here 2 years and made great strides. We had a great opportunity (to finish 2nd) and didn’t rise to the challenge. If the players won’t listen to me then maybe someone else should come in and take over.”
It's a very frustrated manager making a point not a threat to leave ffs

Are we now always going to compare our league position to our time in the championship from now on ? 🤔

09-05-2018, 10:22 PM

http://www.eveningtimes.co.uk/sport/celtic/16215219.Neil_Lennon_could_sensationally_quit_Hibe rnian_after_branding_his_players_as__quot_unprofes sional_quot_/

:agree: definitely better when you read the full interview.

09-05-2018, 10:22 PM
really wouldn't blame him if he left after that.Disgraceful performance from the players. If what has been quoted is true I presume he has had offers from elsewhere and believes that 4th is very dissapointing after speaking about second for so long. Lets face it hes done a fantastic job and I am sure will be able to manage elsewhere for more money. As long as we retain the spine of the team whoever replaces him in the summer wont have to build from scratch.

Spine of team is already forecasted to be decimated in the summer. McGinn and McGeouch both likely going. Both of front men are on loan so will be gone unless we do something.

We need to do a lot of work in the summer to stand still never mind progress. Huge summer.

Hedlund12
09-05-2018, 10:23 PM
Funny guy

I wasn't a guy the last time I looked! 😁

Green-Hibee-7
We have had an amazing season - probably the best couple of seasons I’ve had following Hibs home and away in god knows how long.

We had a shocker tonight - no doubt. To many players not playing well or making individual mistakes.

What I can’t accept though is the Hibs manager giving it big licks to the hearts fans signaling or gesturing after a defeat - get a grip.

Comes out and says he is considering his position, actively calling out the board and players in public - without taking a look at himself. You are kidding yourself on if he’s doing this to protect the players. He’s doing that to protect himself.

What we do not need is all the positivity that we have built since the cup win to combust over one defeat. We’ve come to far to turn back to those times a couple of years back.

Neil looked angry from the off tonight rather than focused. Team looked disjointed and at times were looking to the bench for formation instruction which I found a little unsettling - especially if you've done the set up work last couple of days. Scott Allan was looking for more help from Kamberi who looked very isolated, Brandon flatters to deceive and needs end product if he is to make it. The loss of Boyle really had an effect on our attacking threat but he was slipping around all over the place from the first whistle (doesn't look in a good way post match either by the way). Saying that I thought we started brightly and Hearts only came into it after Lewy's mistake and their opener. Second half I thought we had most of the ball, most of the play, but again were undone by simple football........their keeper plays long and Hanlon stupidly gives the ref a decision to make when he must know Lafferty goes down in a heartbeat. Good free kick and header have to add, but came from Paul's slackness.

Tonight we had a distinct lack of leadership on the pitch. Those that are saying we were soft ? Must have been watching a different game because we certainly weren't soft. We were fighting for every ball, some we won, others we didn't, but Kamberi was the only player at times up against Berra and Hughes. Darren, Paul and Efe (and Whittaker) were fighting hard in a game of little quality. Hearts played their typical derby game of slowing the game down, getting niggly fouls, staying down, killing the game flow. We needed some composure and drive up front. Even when the chances fell to someone, they were sclaffed or 'back to goal' or they wanted another touch (Barker after Slivka's great drive and slipped pass :rolleyes:)

Very little between two poor sides tonight (I thought). Great season, had some good football on show with lots of goals and dramas........hopefully one last bit of effort v The Rangers and a win to see us into the summer with hope.

If Lennon goes, hey-ho, there'll be no shortage of good managers wanting the job - and a currently unemployed Stubbs who could quite easily step back into the hot seat with minimum disruption and maximum positivity (if it were to happen).

I do agree with Lennon tonight though, a set piece has won them the game, much like the cup game. Other than that, nothing between the teams tonight - blood and snotters and no real football on show from either side in my opinion.

If we lose McGeouch, McGinn, Barker, Allan, Kamberi and McLaren (minimum), and Lennon doesn’t get the right budget then I don’t blame him for leaving. Put it this way, it’s like Stubbs leaving after cup win, he felt there was no greater high. Without correct funding 4th will be Lennons greatest high at Hibs. As it stands we are only due to get weaker for next season, Lennon knows that, if he is told the budget will be x amount and it isn’t enough to challenge for 2nd or 3rd, then he’ll probably go and I can’t blame him. We shouldn’t have a budget a mile off Aberdeen, we should be able to compete financially.

Hibs have a tendency to plateau and then plummet, that’s my experience with Hibs. We’ve had a good steady upturn, I’m dreading the plateau and Lennon obviously wants to avoid it.

There is no chance the manager will get less next year than the had this year.

my left peg
09-05-2018, 10:24 PM
This is quite the argument. Great stuff.You really want an argument as to why petrie shouldn't be anywhere near a hibs changing room. ....for what it's worth. ...Calderwood Fenton butcher

Lennon will have known the budget upon taking the job and we are losing those players through no fault of our own, if he doesn't fancy the challenge of building for next season and honouring his contract with Hibs then I would blame him for quitting.

What I find strange and a bit galling, is that before today his players had done 'fantastically well' this season but now they apparently lack ambition and don't listen to him.
Sounds to me as if he may have another option to consider and his frustration lead to this rant vocalising what is already going through his mind.
He's been great for Hibs and could continue to be so, but I think he sees players leaving at the end of this season and perhaps thinks the challenge of maintaining this season's standards next season is unlikely.

He also said tonight

"We've had a great run, I'm really proud of the players, we shouldn't be too down about things. We've got a big game to look forward to and hopefully a full house on Sunday and we'll see what that brings us."

I can’t believe he’s just went and chucked Dylan under the bus like that. To confirm to us he’s going in that manner is terrible but to make it out it’s because we won’t give him a bigger budget makes Dylan look greedy, when in fact it is because is his ambition to play in England. He’s proper chucked the dummy out to save his own reputation. He has an apology to make in the morning.

Would he have stayed if we could’ve matched the £15k or whatever he’s going to get down the road? What about his ambition?

Stanton
09-05-2018, 10:25 PM
So many sensitive little flowers desperate for us to dash back to mediocrity because our very passionate manager reacts with frustration at a very poor display in a critical match ..... that's all he done and it's bring blown out of all proportion

Are we now always going to compare our league position to our time in the championship from now on ? 🤔

Probably not but it’s valid in our first season back up, I reckon.

Gordy M
Ive read the quotes from Lennon after the game from the evening news website. What exactly has he said that is wrong? Or embarrasing? Or makes his position untenable? The guy is obviously a winner and will not accept mediocrity. We have been crying out for that for years. I think it would be huge loss if he leaves.

09-05-2018, 10:26 PM
Everyone needs to came down. This is a rallying call to the players to put in a performance on Sunday and a plea for backing from the board.

All he’s done is taken the press heat a bad display from his players. Protecting Stevenson from public scrutiny. I’m sure he’s went through him behind closed doors. Mourihno does it all the time

What's Mourinho's beef with Lewis Stevenson?

Neil looked angry from the off tonight rather than focused. Team looked disjointed and at times were looking to the bench for formation instruction which I found a little unsettling - especially if you've done the set up work last couple of days. Scott Allan was looking for more help from Kamberi who looked very isolated, Brandon flatters to deceive and needs end product if he is to make it. The loss of Boyle really had an effect on our attacking threat but he was slipping around all over the place from the first whistle (doesn't look in a good way post match either by the way). Saying that I thought we started brightly and Hearts only came into it after Lewy's mistake and their opener. Second half I thought we had most of the ball, most of the play, but again were undone by simple football........their keeper plays long and Hanlon stupidly gives the ref a decision to make when he must know Lafferty goes down in a heartbeat. Good free kick and header have to add, but came from Paul's slackness.

Tonight we had a distinct lack of leadership on the pitch. Those that are saying we were soft ? Must have been watching a different game because we certainly weren't soft. We were fighting for every ball, some we won, others we didn't, but Kamberi was the only player at times up against Berra and Hughes. Darren, Paul and Efe (and Whittaker) were fighting hard in a game of little quality. Hearts played their typical derby game of slowing the game down, getting niggly fouls, staying down, killing the game flow. We needed some composure and drive up front. Even when the chances fell to someone, they were sclaffed or 'back to goal' or they wanted another touch (Barker after Slivka's great drive and slipped pass :rolleyes:)

Very little between two poor sides tonight (I thought). Great season, had some good football on show with lots of goals and dramas........hopefully one last bit of effort v The Rangers and a win to see us into the summer with hope.

If Lennon goes, hey-ho, there'll be no shortage of good managers wanting the job - and a currently unemployed Stubbs who could quite easily step back into the hot seat with minimum disruption and maximum positivity (if it were to happen).

I do agree with Lennon tonight though, a set piece has won them the game, much like the cup game. Other than that, nothing between the teams tonight - blood and snotters and no real football on show from either side in my opinion.

Great post TrueHibernian

http://www.eveningtimes.co.uk/sport/celtic/16215219.Neil_Lennon_could_sensationally_quit_Hibe rnian_after_branding_his_players_:flag:as__quot_un professional_quot_/ (http://www.eveningtimes.co.uk/sport/celtic/16215219.Neil_Lennon_could_sensationally_quit_Hibe rnian_after_branding_his_players_as__quot_unprofes sional_quot_/)

A quote from Lennon "I've got to think about myself ". No Neil , actually you have to think about the players and the team your employed to manage before yourself. What a ridiculous thing to say.

Would he have stayed if we could’ve matched the £15k or whatever he’s going to get down the road? What about his ambition?

Dylan has given so much to hibs. To have the manager use him as a defence is shocking. I’m sorry but that’s just how I feel. We all knew Dylan was off but to tell us in this manner isn’t right

09-05-2018, 10:27 PM
Ive read the quotes from Lennon after the game from the evening news website. What exactly has he said that is wrong? Or embarrasing? Or makes his position untenable? The guy is obviously a winner and will not accept mediocrity. We have been crying out for that for years. I think it would be huge loss if he leaves.

**** context, we need blood.

RedHibby
I don't agree with what he said but it worries me to think that the Manager has no idea what the budget is for this season or next. Given the level of support and record season tickets we should be in a much better financial position, or are we not better off financially.

Understandable though. Losing our first game since January is just so completely unacceptable.

Obviously disappointing lose that record to such mediocre opposition but upsets do happen in football.

09-05-2018, 10:28 PM
I don't agree with what he said but it worries me to think that the Manager has no idea what the budget is for this season or next. Given the level of support and record season tickets we should be in a much better financial position, or are we not better off financially.

He said there’s a board meeting next week, I’m sure that’s when budgets etc will be discussed

Lee Marvin
09-05-2018, 10:28 PM

I love lennon, but he was as culpable for thst **** show as any of the players. If not more so.

Why the **** change a team/system for a game when you are undefeated in 4 months! !!!!

Kamberi looked like he was playing on the moon he was that isolated in the first half.

He needs to look at his own performance tonight.

Stanton
09-05-2018, 10:29 PM

A sensible post in a sea of hysteria

09-05-2018, 10:30 PM
Dylan has given so much to hibs. To have the manager use him as a defence is shocking. I’m sorry but that’s just how I feel. We all knew Dylan was off but to tell us in this manner isn’t right

They had already told us by not telling us - no surprise. I don’t think he’s thrown him under a bus.

He’s away for the money- not the ambition unless they’re the same thing. I don’t blame him for that and I don’t have a problem with the manager telling us he’s away.

09-05-2018, 10:30 PM

I think we've gave a lot more to Dylan than he has to us to be honest, but that's an argument for a different day.

norhfc
09-05-2018, 10:31 PM

We got a sell out crowd at ER in Sunday, we are all hurting tonight but he shouldn’t be giving the press at Tynie any headlines, totally unprofessional.

09-05-2018, 10:33 PM

I get from that he's not up for the fight and the possibility of having to re shape the squad with players leaving, or just not good enough.

09-05-2018, 10:36 PM

Shock horror a weegie paper trying to stir things up ahead of sunday

Lennon will have known the budget upon taking the job and we are losing those players through no fault of our own, if he doesn't fancy the challenge of building for next season and honouring his contract with Hibs then I would blame him for quitting.

Stubbs didn’t get blamed for a similar thing though did he? Won the cup and said he didn’t think that could be topped so left. How’s it different for Lennon?

If I was a manager and didn’t think the club matched my ambitions for the club or I felt I achieved the most I could then I’d probably go. Even more so if I was manager at Hibs, I couldn’t handle being given a lesser budget than those we are targeting to compete with, not annually and not while losing best players constantly. How do you build anything? We will get £0 for McGeouch and will need to replace him with equal just to stay still (4th). Likewise with McGinn.

Aberdeen have had a lot of their team for 5years or more. We keep having to do rebuilds either through failure or success. This is longest period of stability in terms of playing staff I remember and it may end with a final peak before plummeting to a trough. Proper investment in the playing staff is crucial to avoid this.

Gordy M
We got a sell out crowd at ER in Sunday, we are all hurting tonight but he shouldn’t be giving the press at Tynie any headlines, totally unprofessional.

Yeh the headline should be Lennon totally right about hibs poor performance, wants them to do better and finish higher than 4th!!! A long headline granted, but thats essentially what he has said.

09-05-2018, 10:37 PM
It’s the the whole point of being a manager is by being up to the challenge? Yes we will lose players, but if you believe in your own recruitment then that won’t be an issue. We will have a similar if not greater budget now than when we did when he took over. So why is it now an issue? Because he doesn’t believe he has what it takes and wants to save his own ass? I don’t know. I believe in my club to get it right. We have since getting relegated

09-05-2018, 10:37 PM
Lennon needs to go to bed and and get up in the morning with a bit of perspective. To come out with this stuff after the season we’ve had is just madness. It was a crap performance, one of many, many crap performances I’ve seen at Tynecastle and he’s quite right to say that’s not acceptable but my god it’s not the end of the world. It is frustrating and baffling how we not only never win at Tiny but also hardly ever seem to play well there. But I’d rather focus on all the joy this team has given me this season. So many good performances.

its quite incredible how one derby defeat can undo so much positivity and cause so much over-reaction (from Lennon and supporters).

hibee1875
09-05-2018, 10:38 PM
What's Mourinho's beef with Lewis Stevenson?

Pissed of that he could of got him but went for Shaw instead

09-05-2018, 10:39 PM
its quite incredible how one derby defeat can undo so much positivity and cause so much over-reaction ).

:agree: it was the same back in January - hysteria.

09-05-2018, 10:39 PM
I'm growing tired of his tiresome greeting in the media all the time. Grow up and get on with it. Constantly moaning about refs, players, the board.

09-05-2018, 10:40 PM
Maybe lennon realises that this season was the only real chance that we could finish 2nd and the players chucked the chance.

andybev1
09-05-2018, 10:41 PM
Lennon tends to speak when emotional and regrets it and I think that is all has happened. It is hard for a footballing team to go to a place that is not conducive to playing the way most people want to see football played so even though I am disappointed I am going on sunday with as much enthusiasm for the team as I would had we won (well almost) as they have given me a lot to be happy about this season and surely with the team we have, with or without lennon we have a chance of another great season ahead - and dsurely celtic have half a chance against motherwell!

Lee Marvin
09-05-2018, 10:42 PM
Maybe lennon realises that this season was the only real chance that we could finish 2nd and the players chucked the chance.

Strikes me that he believes that the only way is down for this team. Knows our better players are leaving and doesn't believe he has the funds to replace them with similar quality

hibs4life
09-05-2018, 10:43 PM
He also said tonight

"We've had a great run, I'm really proud of the players, we shouldn't be too down about things. We've got a big game to look forward to and hopefully a full house on Sunday and we'll see what that brings us."

OK, fair do's but it does sound a bit contradictory. Probably best wait and see what he says in the coming days to gauge what will happen...

I'm growing tired of his tiresome greeting in the media all the time. Grow up and get on with it. Constantly moaning about refs, players, the board.

Togs91
To be honest, dont care wether its a dig at the board to back him or that, but the timing is awful. Let them rub it in even more on a night we are all hurting. Poor lenny, very poor

murray26
09-05-2018, 10:44 PM
I’d be more worried if he wasn’t hurting badly.. hope he stays..

09-05-2018, 10:44 PM
It’s the the whole point of being a manager is by being up to the challenge? Yes we will lose players, but if you believe in your own recruitment then that won’t be an issue. We will have a similar if not greater budget now than when we did when he took over. So why is it now an issue? Because he doesn’t believe he has what it takes and wants to save his own ass? I don’t know. I believe in my club to get it right. We have since getting relegated

I hope we get it right. However the difference now, the reason there is an issue is: where is there a player of McGeouchs quality that we can get for free? Where is there a player of McGinns quality that we can get on the cheap or free? Budget can increase naturally but it needs backed by ambition, to replace the players we are losing will require a lot. We’ve not had a stable RB for the whole season...

Our budget at the moment will be absorbed simply to stand still. That’s the way I see it unless we get major bucks for McGinn.

09-05-2018, 10:45 PM
FFS Lenny shut up and go to bed.

Next thing we hear from you best be a bit more respectful towards this club.

09-05-2018, 10:46 PM

No chance and keep a clean sheet in to the Bargain
Was Lennon too conservative v Aberdeen and tonCavalier tonight in his selection given our record there and knowing how they would play Their tactics Can't if been a surprise

09-05-2018, 10:47 PM
You could well be right.

09-05-2018, 10:48 PM
If hes still feeling like that tomorrow he should do the decent thing and resign asap. I want a manager who wants to be here.

09-05-2018, 10:49 PM
Kris Commons (who is obviously good mates with Lennon) said on the radio afterwards something like "Neil will be disappointed to lose his last Derby", initially I just thought he meant for this season but reading between the lines maybe Lennon is off.

Johnny Clash
09-05-2018, 10:52 PM

I’m delighted we have a manager who stands up and says a few home truths especially about the standard of refereeing. Hope Lennon stays because I am glad he’s passionate about Hibs and wants to see us finish higher than 4th. He’s a winner! We will seriously struggle to find a better manager.

09-05-2018, 10:53 PM
As good as he has done for us I wish he would just shut the f*** up sometimes.

After a derby defeat that has ended our hopes of finishing 2nd is not the time to be talking about quitting in a huff, talking about our budget for next season and the fact our player of the year is leaving the club.

09-05-2018, 10:57 PM
Kris Commons (who is obviously good mates with Lennon) said on the radio afterwards something like "Neil will be disappointed to lose his last Derby", initially I just thought he meant for this season but reading between the lines maybe Lennon is off.

Well, if that's the case then we'll be getting a fairly decent fee for him I'd imagine and we can get someone else in and go again.

I fully believe the board will get it right again in the next appointment. Alternatively, if Neil stays I'll be over the moon. Just such a poor way to end this season after all the highs.

CathroMustStay
I know emotions are running high tonight, but I strongly implore my fellow Hibees... DON'T BELIEVE THE LIES OF THE GUTTER PRESS.

Neil Lennon is not going anywhere.

Neil Lennon will be determined to beat the Sevco bigots on Sunday to finish this fantastic campaign with 69 points.

Neil Lennon WILL be the Hibernian manager come the start of the 2018/19 season.

#17Points #NaturalOrder

:nlgwa

mcfly
I hope we get it right. However the difference now, the reason there is an issue is: where is there a player of McGeouchs quality that we can get for free? Where is there a player of McGinns quality that we can get on the cheap or free? Budget can increase naturally but it needs backed by ambition, to replace the players we are losing will require a lot. We’ve not had a stable RB for the whole season...

Our budget at the moment will be absorbed simply to stand still. That’s the way I see it unless we get major bucks for McGinn.

How can our budget stand still? The club are getting sell out crowds every week so where is that extra 5000 fans cash going??

Hibs must have additional funds in the pot

Stubbs didn’t get blamed for a similar thing though did he? Won the cup and said he didn’t think that could be topped so left. How’s it different for Lennon?

If I was a manager and didn’t think the club matched my ambitions for the club or I felt I achieved the most I could then I’d probably go. Even more so if I was manager at Hibs, I couldn’t handle being given a lesser budget than those we are targeting to compete with, not annually and not while losing best players constantly. How do you build anything? We will get £0 for McGeouch and will need to replace him with equal just to stay still (4th). Likewise with McGinn.

Aberdeen have had a lot of their team for 5years or more. We keep having to do rebuilds either through failure or success. This is longest period of stability in terms of playing staff I remember and it may end with a final peak before plummeting to a trough. Proper investment in the playing staff is crucial to avoid this.

What you on about?

09-05-2018, 10:58 PM

Alan Stubbs is the natural and realistic replacement - if (and it's a big if given Neil Lennon's emotional state tonight) the managerial hot seat comes up for grabs.

Stubbs knows the club, the inner workings, most of the players and the backroom team, and is very well respected in Hibs and football in general.

For me, if Lennon were to decide to go, then there is no need to advertise - I'd almost announce it next day. He'd come back without hesitation.

Did he say that?

As good as he has done for us I wish he would just shut the f*** up sometimes.

After a derby defeat that has ended our hopes of finishing 2nd is not the time to be talking about quitting in a huff, talking about our budget for next season and the fact our player of the year is leaving the club.

It might be the perfect time to do it if it has a chance of influencing budget discussions next week. HSL and season tickets should put us in good stead to strengthen, Lennon will want to ensure that’s the case or he’ll asses his situation. If Hibs board want to keep him then I’m sure there might be a few extra £££ to play with.

09-05-2018, 11:00 PM
I’m delighted we have a manager who stands up and says a few home truths especially about the standard of refereeing. Hope Lennon stays because I am glad he’s passionate about Hibs and wants to see us finish higher than 4th. He’s a winner! We will seriously struggle to find a better manager.

Maybe if he stood up and admitted he was wrong and got team and shape wrong for a change then id respect him a bit more. This constant whining and trying to deflect away from his own mistakes is becoming tedious in the extreme. Man up and admit you got it wrong.

09-05-2018, 11:02 PM

09-05-2018, 11:03 PM

How can we know the budget when before tonight there was a half a million quid still up for grabs. Lennon didn't know the league position and all he need to do was look on the Hibs website to find that out.

09-05-2018, 11:03 PM

Ali Crawford?

I don’t know tbh but isn’t this why we pay for scouts and director of Football. It’s not like this is news to us. We knew this would be happening. Considering it was hibs who left it late to offer Dylan a new deal. Word is we were looking to off load him last summer. Players move on. Managers are judged on who the replace them with. It’s been like this forever

09-05-2018, 11:04 PM
Personally I’m shocked our manager isn’t also an accountant.

09-05-2018, 11:06 PM
Alan Stubbs is the natural and realistic replacement - if (and it's a big if given Neil Lennon's emotional state tonight) the managerial hot seat comes up for grabs.

Stubbs knows the club, the inner workings, most of the players and the backroom team, and is very well respected in Hibs and football in general.

For me, if Lennon were to decide to go, then there is no need to advertise - I'd almost announce it next day. He'd come back without hesitation.

Competent disagree.

Despite tonight Lennon has brought a ruthless steak to the side and went a huge way to changing the mentality of the club. As much as I love the guy, Stubbs was soft and not what we need now IMO

09-05-2018, 11:07 PM
How can our budget stand still? The club are getting sell out crowds every week so where is that extra 5000 fans cash going??

Hibs must have additional funds in the pot

I never said budget would stand still. We’ve had good players on fixed contracts that are expiring or are of interest to other clubs. Budget can increase but doesn’t mean we as a club can strengthen. Very unlikely that we will get a player of McGeouchs quality for free. Hence why I said we’d have to use most of our budget simply to stand still - get reliable right back, replacements for loans, new central midfielders.

Player of the season leaves for free - £0 incoming
Unknown player of similar quality - £????? outgoing

Not sure why it’s so difficult to understand, we’ll be weakened so will need to sign players to stand still (replace departing players will same quality). I don’t see our budget allowing much strengthening on top of that unless we get lucky. We’ve got 4 loan players in our squad/starting most weeks who have contracts with parent club so again we need to sign players. Outside of loans, we only have Shaw up top...

Is this the same guy that left at the drop of a hat for a shambles nonenetite of a club that offered him more money. Leaving us on the wrong division? Not saying he is the wrong man just not my first pick.

He put the wrong side out and wants to blame everyone else. Love what he has done this year but tonight he is out of order.

09-05-2018, 11:08 PM

We lost a derby where he clearly got his tactics wrong. A few home truths lie at his doorstep.

Don't throw your toys out the pram and make things even worse for the already hurting support. I have to work with 2 yams tomorrow who will be loving it even more cause of his comments. Passionate guy but he could do with cooling it sometimes.

09-05-2018, 11:09 PM
It might be the perfect time to do it if it has a chance of influencing budget discussions next week. HSL and season tickets should put us in good stead to strengthen, Lennon will want to ensure that’s the case or he’ll asses his situation. If Hibs board want to keep him then I’m sure there might be a few extra £££ to play with.

This is the bit I don't get. I believe the board will back him as much as they can, how can he influence that ? Does he think we can find more money just because he asks for it ? He knows as we all do we can't match Celtic, Rangers or Aberdeen for budget, but that shouldn't be a surprise to him. It's up to him to find players using that budget in the same way Stubbs did. Our best players are the ones Stubbs signed and I'm sure the budget he had was a lot less than the one NL will get.

09-05-2018, 11:09 PM

Heard that as well, very strange stuff from him.

09-05-2018, 11:11 PM
What you on about?

Stubbs left after cup final win and said he didn’t think he could top that at Hibs. Lennon giving out similar vibes after finishing 4th and people are saying he is a disgrace and disrespecting the club. Don’t see the difference apart from Stubbs achievement being bigger from a legacy point of view.

That’s what I’m on about.

09-05-2018, 11:11 PM
Competent disagree.

Despite tonight Lennon has brought a ruthless steak to the side and went a huge way to changing the mentality of the club. As much as I love the guy, Stubbs was soft and not what we need now IMO

Utter nonsense.

Stubbs is quietly spoken and reserved so people think his Hibs team was soft. It wasn’t.

Who signed big Daz, Bartley and others?

09-05-2018, 11:12 PM

I’d prefer him to stay and I’ll be disappointed if he walks away but I won’t lose any sleep. He’s been good for Hibs and still can be but his lack of emotional stability and his fiery temperament are his Achilles heel and often put too much negative spin on the club’s well-being. Maybe he’ll waken up tomorrow and realise that he has over-reacted. His handling of a situation, he himself has created with his rant, could be disastrous for a lot of our players who have to consider their future at or away from the club.

09-05-2018, 11:15 PM
Utter nonsense.

Stubbs is quietly spoken and reserved so people think his Hibs team was soft. It wasn’t.

Who signed big Daz, Bartley and others?

I’ve got no desire to start going through all his results but we were a soft touch under him, regardless of who we signed.

Do you remember our record against Falkirk that year? They were an utterly dreadful side but they learned how to bully us every time.

RossScott1991
09-05-2018, 11:18 PM
Abit drunk going to bed but if he leaves then just bring back stubbsy

Johnny Clash
09-05-2018, 11:18 PM
We lost a derby where he clearly got his tactics wrong. A few home truths lie at his doorstep.

Don't throw your toys out the pram and make things even worse for the already hurting support. I have to work with 2 yams tomorrow who will be loving it even more cause of his comments. Passionate guy but he could do with cooling it sometimes.

Lennon put out a team more than capable of pumping them. Lewis made a very uncharacteristic error which cost us and then the game started to change. Hertz did their thing - hacking away, continuously stopped the game, wasted time and were just horrible to watch.

Small margins in football can have a big impact and had we buried our chances then of course the tactics would have been spot on!

I'm Spartacus
09-05-2018, 11:19 PM
The journos will pounce on this, he shouldn't be talking like this when things are so raw IMO. Does he realise we're all hurting? Does he realise that we may need reassuring that after finishing 4th and we'll go again next season aiming for a second place finish.

Not great news and not great timing.

09-05-2018, 11:19 PM
He also said tonight

Think he said that before someone told him that there was nothing to play for on Sunday, as he still thought we were in with a chance of 2nd then 3rd, don't think the reporter had the balls to tell him it was 4th place for us.

09-05-2018, 11:20 PM
I’d prefer him to stay and I’ll be disappointed if he walks away but I won’t lose any sleep. He’s been good for Hibs and still can be but his lack of emotional stability and his fiery temperament are his Achilles heel and often put too much negative spin on the club’s well-being. Maybe he’ll waken up tomorrow and realise that he has over-reacted. His handling of a situation, he himself has created with his rant, could be disastrous for a lot of our players who have to consider their future at or away from the club.

Agree with this.

His emotional public outburst is in danger of taking the gloss off what has been a very enjoyable season.

HIbs must live within their means, and if that is unacceptable to Neil's ambitions, then I can't see how he can reconcile the two factors.

I'll be sorry to see him go though.