View Full Version : Lennon (threatening to go/not turning up for training)
10-05-2018, 03:41 PM
I never picked up on that all. I thought he came across as committed and thought it was an excellent interview. Due to how he was, I'm assuming it was given in calmer circumstances after the press room interview, if not his mood certainly soured.
I hope it was after the press room one
10-05-2018, 03:44 PM
I hope it was after the press room one
Me too. Would definitely make the press room interview seem a heat of the moment reaction.
10-05-2018, 03:48 PM
Lennon was angry and frustrated last night. He should have set up differently imo but that's not why we lost. We lost because players didn't follow instructions RE footwork and set play routines and simple mistakes from usually dependant players cost us the chance of having 2nd but at worst 3rd place in our own hands ahead of Sunday and that's clear from some of the things he said. Lennon has lambasted the players publicly before so this isn't anything new
The press are having a field day here and imo are choosing to report it all in a way that paints the picture of Lennon being ready to walk away. Cynical but I'd expect nothing less from gutter press with an axe to grind with our manager
The sole focus since the split has been these fixtures and I suspect the meeting next week has been planned for months
RE budget and ambition of the club, I've absolutely no doubt that Leeann and George were fully transparent in terms of what we can and cannot spend on a yearly basis
This has all been blown way out of proportion in my eyes with many things taken out of context
10-05-2018, 03:55 PM
If Lenny walks over next year's budget, the board have serious questions to answer.
Don’t think it’s that black and white. He could ask for some kind of ridiculous increase to it, in which case they’d be perfectly entitled to say naw.
I think this board have generally backed him and Stubbs well. He’s certainly entitled to try and squeeze more out of them and I hope he gets it.
I did find his comment about not even knowing this years budget a bit odd.
10-05-2018, 03:57 PM
I can see why he was enraged about the second goal.There’s a pic in today’s mail-Stevenson is marking Naismith,McGinn is marking Lafferty and Hanlon and MacGregor are marking each other.
10-05-2018, 04:31 PM
His comments to me are pretty clear. He obviously sees the team being dismantled, and is wondering if it is a good time to leave as he doesn't believe he can re-build the squad or have the funds to due to us finishing 4th.
10-05-2018, 04:43 PM
His comments to me are pretty clear. He obviously sees the team being dismantled, and is wondering if it is a good time to leave as he doesn't believe he can re-build the squad or have the funds to due to us finishing 4th.
No, that's what you have chosen to read into them. Are you hoping he goes / wanting him to go. That's the "pretty clear" impression I'm getting from your posts.
10-05-2018, 04:48 PM
No, that's what you have chosen to read into them. Are you hoping he goes / wanting him to go. That's the "pretty clear" impression I'm getting from your posts.
I've actually really bought into him as a person and a manager this season, so no I don't want him to go.
10-05-2018, 04:50 PM
i'd say it's pretty clear that he's concerned about the number of players we will potentially need to replace, and that if the board don't give him their fullest backing to try to improve on this year's performance, then he doesn't see the point in continuing the job. he's not one for treading water, and to be honest, i completely respect that. his comments were not remotely as measured and diplomatic as they 'should' have been, but this is a part of what you get with Lennon, and even if it seems like he's disrespecting our club (which i don't think he is), i would say that he is, rather brutally, calling a spade a spade.
our board have a choice next season, and the option of moving onwards and upwards rather than sideways (or possibly slowly downwards again) will probably involve taking a bit more of a risk than they might be prepared to take. i hope i'm wrong, and hope that they back Lennon to take Hibs to where he sees we could be.
10-05-2018, 04:53 PM
I think the comments were hasty as I said in a post last night and an over reaction to a poor result.
I'm hoping that now he's had a chance to calm down and the dust has settled a bit, he'll be in a more positive frame of mind.
I think we need a wee bit of clarity from him though as his comments last night certainly suggested that he's at least thinking of leaving in the summer.
10-05-2018, 04:58 PM
I think the comments were hasty as I said in a post last night and an over reaction to a poor result.
I'm hoping that now he's had a chance to calm down and the dust has settled a bit, he'll be in a more positive frame of mind.
I think we need a wee bit of clarity from him though as his comments last night certainly suggested that he's at least thinking of leaving in the summer.
I think the way the comments came out can be attributed to heat of the moment stuff.
I don’t think it means he wasn’t having those thoughts though and that’s what needs addressed, not how the news broke.
10-05-2018, 05:04 PM
I would like Lennon to stay, but if he is going id like him to tell us immediately after the Rangers game so that we can give the new guy a good pre season.
Stubbs? He brought our best players in after all.
10-05-2018, 05:12 PM
Not got a link but it was said on BBC radio after the game, asked the reporter if we could still get 2nd and then said something liked, well we have 3rd to play for on Sunday.
Lennon speaking about Sunday's game on Sportsound
" I don't know if we are out of 2nd place now, probably, what are we 3 points behind Aberdeen, we are, are we? We're 4? So third, fourth won't be good enough for me. So we have to go an win the game an finish third.
I suppose he is technically right that beating The Thes, albeit by a record margin, would get us third it worries me that he is so scrambled after a defeat that he doesn't even know how it effects our final game. That would be bad enough but given the formation did he even know that a draw would have been a good result last night. Either way that, barring the very poor team choice, was the most baffling thing from Lennon last night.
10-05-2018, 05:17 PM
I ****ing love him and love having him as Hibs manager. We have all said things we shouldn't have after defeats, I once posted on here after a SC replay defeat to RossCo that I was finished with Hibs and wouldn't be back. Several years and several STs later, still here. He is the most single minded and ambitious manager, for Hibs and himself, that we have had since ET. When he eventually leaves, and I hope its not for a long time yet, we will miss his drive and ambition.
Stubbs won us the cup(legend) but also failed to get promotion. When NL goes we will find it very difficult to replace him
:nlgwa:nlgwa:nlgwa:nlgwa:nlgwa:nlgwa:nlgwa
10-05-2018, 05:21 PM
I should also have said that this is the first I have posted on here since last night. I took my time, reflected, calmed down and then said my piece. Neil probably should have done the same. As should some of the hysterics on here.
10-05-2018, 05:22 PM
^^Agreed.
It’ll be pretty much impossible to replace him with someone as good.
Hope we pull out all the stops to keep him if required but like others have said I think he’ll have calmed down by now and will soon be ready to go again next season.
10-05-2018, 05:22 PM
OK Neil we finished 4th unless we beat Sevco by 6 goals is it?
So 4th bar has been set so ambition going forward 3rd or higher that is for Neil to take on or if not somebody else but that should be were we are looking to go from now.
The club can go further so let's make it happen.
10-05-2018, 05:23 PM
I ****ing love him and love having him as Hibs manager. We have all said things we shouldn't have after defeats, I once posted on here after a SC replay defeat to RossCo that I was finished with Hibs and wouldn't be back. Several years and several STs later, still here. He is the most single minded and ambitious manager, for Hibs and himself, that we have had since ET. When he eventually leaves, and I hope its not for a long time yet, we will miss his drive and ambition.
Stubbs won us the cup(legend) but also failed to get promotion. When NL goes we will find it very difficult to replace him
Yep, all this
gillythehibby
10-05-2018, 05:33 PM
I love lenny but he should've carried out that post match interview with a bit more professionalism. That stuff about looking at his own future last night wasn't becoming of his own standards abd the standards he sets the players. In one hand slatingvthem then banging on about his situation in dront of the nedia straight off the bat after a defeat!! Nah, canny have that. It's the same for all teams that players come and go etc. That's his job to replace them and rebuild. Apart from that hope he still fancies it for next season.
10-05-2018, 05:35 PM
Just listened to the Hibs Tv and BBC interviews again.
It’s not not nearly as bad as some are making out on here. Hard to disagree with anything he said.
10-05-2018, 05:39 PM
It’s not not nearly as bad as some are making out on here. Hard to disagree with anything he said.
https://twitter.com/stvsport/status/994524476497948672?s=21
Interview in that link is every bit as bad as people are suggesting, even the referbetter nice to the personal issues he needs to consider (or words to that effect)
10-05-2018, 05:39 PM
It’s not not nearly as bad as some are making out on here. Hard to disagree with anything he said.Sorry but I disagree strongly...just watched it on STV News and Now on Sportsound and it sounds and looks awful imo. Slating players individually that have served him well this season e.g. Hanlon is unprofessional. Coz we are losing a Couple of players it just looks and sounds to me like he doesn't have the appetite to continue...and I honestly hope I'm wrong. But I think he will be away next week tbh
10-05-2018, 05:42 PM
I think he will demand a win from the players on Sunday after last night.
It looked like he went for the win forgetting that its hard to play our game against them.
Sound like heat of the moment stuff and we know how he feels,to have been so close to finishing 2nd and now probably 4th was like a double kick in the nads
10-05-2018, 05:42 PM
Discussing it on Sportsound now if interested.
10-05-2018, 05:43 PM
Pre match press conference for the Rangers is gonna be interesting!
10-05-2018, 05:44 PM
Discussing it on Sportsound now if interested.Here comes Kano with his anti-board stuff
john18722
10-05-2018, 05:44 PM
Kane is embarrassing in terms of his position on the “board”.
10-05-2018, 05:45 PM
Kane is embarrassingUtterly embarrassing....
10-05-2018, 05:47 PM
I watched it on Stv news. I get less impressed with his sneering every time I see it.
It may have been heat of the moment but his mask has well and truly slipped.
I believe Lennon thinks he is too big for hibs and is finding it difficult to pretend otherwise.
I'd be saying thanks for a job well done and moving him on if that is the case.
We need someone who accepts the job for what it is and is more understanding of the particular challenges that our club offers.
He really is thick as mince.
OtleyHibs
If he goes he goes. I’m loving him being the Hibs gaffer but i am a Hibs fan rather than a Lennon fan. I think after the last few years 4th in the SPL IS acceptable and I also believe we can kick in and try to improve on that next year.
If Lennon agrees and sticks around then great, if not I have faith in the club to find a replacement who does. Hope he stays but regardless we will all stay and support the club moving forward
10-05-2018, 05:48 PM
He said that a 5-0 win against The Rangers will be good enough for third in the Hibs TV interview which took place well after the final whistle judging by how relaxed he looked and the lack of anyone left in the stands. I would disagree with that and so would the table.
10-05-2018, 05:49 PM
I watched it on Stv news. I get less impressed with his sneering every time I see it.
I believe Lennon thinks he is too big for hibs and is finding it difficult to pretend otherwise.
We need someone who accepts the job for what it is and is more accepting of the partucular challenges that our club offers.
Nah, I want a manager who can make our club ‘bigger’.
I want our club to match his ambitions. I’d kinda like it if our fans did too sometimes!
Leanne will sit down with him and everything will be sorted. It’s probably been done already and this will be forgotten about by Monday.
10-05-2018, 05:51 PM
He said that a 5-0 win against The Rangers will be good enough for third in the Hibs TV interview which took place well after the final whistle judging by how relaxed he looked and the lack of anyone left in the stands. I would disagree with that and so would the table.
Not sure what you mean here? So he said 5 when we really need 6?
He also said it with a smile on his face and it was clearly tongue in cheek.
10-05-2018, 05:52 PM
I want our club to match his ambitions. I’d kinda like it if our fans did too sometimes!
Leanne will sit down with him and everything will be sorted. It’s probably been done already and this will be forgotten about by Monday.
I agree, and hope it has been sorted
10-05-2018, 05:53 PM
personnally think the board will support lennon next week.
Clerie Green
10-05-2018, 05:57 PM
Absolutely this !
10-05-2018, 05:57 PM
If we lose to The Rangers then I could see him walking.
10-05-2018, 06:00 PM
We need someone who accepts the job for what it is and is more understanding of the particular challenges that our club offers.
Nonsense. He's what this club needs and I hope he is supported financially in the summer and I'm sure he will be.
10-05-2018, 06:01 PM
If we lose to The Rangers then I could see him walking.
Would be total toys out the pram stuff if he walked because we got beat from hearts then the rangers.
10-05-2018, 06:03 PM
Not sure what you mean here? So he said 5 when we really need 6?
He also said it with a smile on his face and it was clearly tongue in cheek.
I would say the tongue in cheek part was about beating The Rangers by a record margin. Not much difference between 5 or 6 as neither will happen but I expect our manager to know what is required particularly after the earlier mess he made of it on Sportsound.
It would have been nice if Cliff had asked the question that no-one seems to have bothered with - Why did you change a winning formation. Lennon is an expert at making interviewers talk about the controversial thing he has said about refs or his own players and not being asked about why it went so wrong due to changes he has made.
10-05-2018, 06:04 PM
The club has ambitions and the head coach has to work to meet those. The ambitions will exist after Lennon. They might be too slow and incremental for Lennon who seems to want us to be an overnight success.
We have made good progress under him so why are the toys suddenly out of the pram. Why the sneering and the disparaging comments? There is something underlying. If he is honest with himself he probably resents that we just aren't Celtic.
We might persuade him to stay but it won't be long until a similar situation crops up. Keeping him would be a mistake.
I just think it is time for some real honesty from Neil Lennon.
10-05-2018, 06:08 PM
Nonsense. He's what this club needs and I hope he is supported financially in the summer and I'm sure he will be.
Enough for some sort of rebuild - we'll need it - but not to levels that will guarantee a much better season. I don't think it will be enough.
10-05-2018, 06:14 PM
The club has ambitions and the head coach has to work to meet those. The ambitions will exist after Lennon. They might be too slow and incremental for Lennon who seems to want us to be an overnight success.
We have made good progress under him so why are the toys suddenly out of the pram. Why the sneering and the disparaging comments? There is something underlying. If he is honest with himself he probably resents that we just aren't Celtic.
We might persuade him to stay but it won't be long until a similar situation crops up. Keeping him would be a mistake.
I just think it is time for some real honesty from Neil Lennon.
I agree.
It’s also worth remembering for everyone having a go at us for criticising him that nobody is having a go at him for us getting beat last night, the only reason it is being discussed that he may leave is because he brought all this on out of absolutely nothing, He’s the one that has provoked a reaction here. I think he’s a very intelligent guy so he won’t have said what he did last night without thinking about what happens next.
My first preference is for him to be totally committed and stay, obviously if a big job comes up and he is poached then fine but none of this nonsense about him maybe not wanting the job any more.
If he can’t give us that guarantee I hope he announces in the next 24 hours he is leaving so we can give him a good send off after the game on Sunday. He’s been a great manager for us and I hold no bitterness towards him if he feels he’s not the man to take us forward from this point, he needs to be honest and let us know ASAP though.
10-05-2018, 06:19 PM
I agree.
It’s also worth remembering for everyone having a go at us for criticising him that nobody is having a go at him for us getting beat last night, the only reason it is being discussed that he may leave is because he brought all this on out of absolutely nothing, He’s the one that has provoked a reaction here. I think he’s a very intelligent guy so he won’t have said what he did last night without thinking about what happens next.
My first preference is for him to be totally committed and stay, obviously if a big job comes up and he is poached then fine but none of this nonsense about him maybe not wanting the job any more.
If he can’t give us that guarantee I hope he announces in the next 24 hours he is leaving so we can give him a good send off after the game on Sunday. He’s been a great manager for us and I hold no bitterness towards him if he feels he’s not the man to take us forward from this point, he needs to be honest and let us know ASAP though.
I've not read the whole thread but this is the crux of it for me. He needs to go now if he doesn't want to be here, not a few games into next season when it's too late.
10-05-2018, 06:22 PM
These posts are getting absolutely bloody ridiculous.. his mask slipped wtf
10-05-2018, 06:24 PM
I agree.
Lenny’s a smart guy but he’s also emotional.
His rant may have been off the cuff rather than planned but if he plans to stay he needs to come out and say so imo.
10-05-2018, 06:29 PM
His rant may have been off the cuff rather than planned but if he plans to stay he needs to come out and say so imo.
I am sure it will be clearer after the pre match press conf for the Huns match.
He either says he was over the top, draws a line, nothing to see here and thats it - or hes offski.
coco22
10-05-2018, 06:32 PM
Going to throw a curve ball in here, having had 24hrs to think about this. Was Lennon planning for a glorious 2nd place finish, walk into the sunset (a decent job offer), realistically unable to better his work here? Now we are 'only' 4th, he needs to roll his sleeves up, graft and work with a squad that he thought he might not have to? Just an (over) thought 🤔
Joe Baker2
10-05-2018, 06:34 PM
Let's hope that Lenny stays and quit pretending that Stubbs is his natural successor. Yes, Stubbs was in charge when we won the Scottish Cup but don't forget that up until that point half the people on here wanted him out. He didn't have the managerial experience for a club this size and he couldn't get us out of the Championship. He had nothing left in the toolbox to take us further. A club our size deserves a manager that reflects our ambition and that has to be Lennon or someone at least as good as Lennon. Who that is, I have no idea.
10-05-2018, 06:34 PM
I agree.
It does need addressed. I don’t think we can take his comments lightly so I think it will be addressed internally pretty quickly.
I love his attitude and desire but there has to be an element of realism from him in terms of budget, if it is actually a major concern of his. I also agree that there is normally a reason for him saying what he does, like when he slaughtered them away to Raith just before we played Hearts in the cup replay.
There is a major rebuild on this summer so, if he is serious about what he said last night, then it needs sorted now and not when he decides.
It’s a shame that things are ending on such a downer. If you took his comments out the equation it would have been a sore one but when the dust settled we would have been happy with the season as a whole. Now we’re verging on a crisis with the manager having a meltdown, the board being tight and all our best players leaving!
These posts are getting absolutely bloody ridiculous.. his mask slipped wtf
Agreed. Lennon's comments were pathetic but that doesn't mean anyone else has to take up challenge and go for even more pathetic.
Niffy
10-05-2018, 06:37 PM
In that one after match interview Lennon could well have pulled a thread that unravels years of great work. Players that might have stayed on will be rethinking their plans , and morale of long term players rocked.
For all some folk have a love in with him, he might have just set the cob right back where it was in terms of fight, morale, energy and desire.
10-05-2018, 06:43 PM
He's obviously annoyed at getting beat from that trash last night and it's understandable, I think he will cool down by the weekend, he's done a fantastic job at our club and the board MUST back him in the summer, the fans have done their bit as well and the board must respond to them.
In Lenny we trust.
10-05-2018, 06:47 PM
In that one after match interview Lennon could well have pulled a thread that unravels years of great work. Players that might have stayed on will be rethinking their plans , and morale of long term players rocked.
For all some folk have a love in with him, he might have just set the cob right back where it was in terms of fight, morale, energy and desire.
:agree: I more or less said the same a few pages back and I still fear it could be the case.
10-05-2018, 06:51 PM
I also agree that there is normally a reason for him saying what he does, like when he slaughtered them away to Raith just before we played Hearts in the cup replay.
He slaughtered the team after Raith for being disrespectful of the opposition and not turning up in smaller games . The Derby doesn't come into the category. In the next 6 games we played against teams that were not challenging us for the league we failed to win. Hardly a masterstroke. We had been playing well in the big games long before Lennon arrived.
10-05-2018, 06:58 PM
:agree: For years we've had managers and teams who from the outside have appeared soft, and our results portrayed this.
Now we have someone with a reputation for winning, someone who hates losing, and demands more from his team than any manager i can remember since Turnbull.
We have a percentage of our support, that seem to want everything done nicey nicey, no arguments, players treated as wee cherubs, and the manager behaving like a saint.
Nice guys win **** all, here we have someone who demands everything from his players, digs them out if they are poor, and is doing his best to make Hibs a force again.
Not good enough for some though, they wont be happy until we go back to knowing our place, keeping our head down and accepting any old **** that comes our way.
Lennon wants his team to reach for the stars, they might never reach them but they sure as hell will give it a go.
Anyone wanting rid of him is a moron.
Spot on. :top marks
10-05-2018, 07:00 PM
He slaughtered the team after Raith for being disrespectful of the opposition and not turning up in smaller games . The Derby doesn't come into the category. In the next 6 games we played against teams that were not challenging us for the league we failed to win. Hardly a masterstroke. We had been playing well in the big games long before Lennon arrived.
We were still pish in plenty big games before he arrived. And have been pish in some of them since he arrived. On that particular occasion his outburst certainly worked a few days later when we saw the most dominant Hibs performance in a derby for years. And then we went on to win the league easily.
10-05-2018, 07:14 PM
All this talk about the board and they must back him. Isn't that what they have been doing ?
Islington Hibs
10-05-2018, 07:26 PM
All this talk about the board and they must back him. Isn't that what they have been doing ?
Absolutely. In all my time supporting Hibs we have sold our best players. The last few seasons have absolutely bucked that trend as we have refused/ not sold talent. Yes gates are up massively but there is also a consistency since Leeann has come in. Like it, or not, our budget will never be Celtic's but I do think our board does the best they can with our increasing resource. Lennon knows the gig when he took the job and he has rightly been backed. He can have absolutely no complaints as far as I can see.
10-05-2018, 07:27 PM
Slightly nauseating how much certain posters are enjoying this.
10-05-2018, 07:32 PM
Nonsense.
This has been brought on by Lennon, not posters on this board.
It’s a hibs forum, were you not expecting people to be discussing what he said last night? Surely it’s worthy of discussion?
Eaststandee
10-05-2018, 07:36 PM
This!
10-05-2018, 07:38 PM
I don't know. People do need to remember that our squad, in the main, was here when Stubbs was manager. Plus McGeouch and McGinn are likely to be gone this summer (one of them already confirmed) - these two are probably our most influential players.
I'm sure they are backing Lennon but are they backing his ambitions for the club? Lennon will know we cannot challenge Celtic but Aberdeen and Rangers are within touching distance. I doubt they will be next season unless we invest very well.
My concern is all this talk of "ahead of schedule", normally that means "we can plateau a little bit" or stand still to "catch our breathe" as we were looking for top six and ended up challenging for 2nd-3rd.
If you end a season well and are due to lose key players, you need to be ambitious and recruit very well. This isn't like the seasons in the Championship, we'll truly see what the board is like this summer. Spending to escape the Championship is not the same as spending to challenge for upper half of top league.
10-05-2018, 07:40 PM
Seriously?
SideBurns
10-05-2018, 07:46 PM
It's pretty impossible to put yourself in the shoes of the Hibs players after last night's pretty extraordinary (no matter how you look at it) outburst. However, I'd like to think they'd fall into one of 2 categories:
1) Pissed off with Lennon, and determined to prove him wrong on accusations of a lack of professionalism.
2) Agree with Lennon that last night was unacceptable and determined to finish the season the way it has been going for the most part - with quick, skilful, entertaining, winning football.
Either way, the resultant attitude should be the same. Any player who disnae fancy the chance to batter the Huns at ER on the last game of the season isnae fit to wear the green jersey regardless.
10-05-2018, 07:49 PM
Hahahaha. Classic.
10-05-2018, 07:50 PM
I don't know. People do need to remember that our squad, in the main, was here when Stubbs was manager. Plus McGeouch and McGinn are likely to be gone this summer (one of them already confirmed) - these two are probably our most influential players.
I'm sure they are backing Lennon but are they backing his ambitions for the club? Lennon will know we cannot challenge Celtic but Aberdeen and Rangers are within touching distance. I doubt they will be next season unless we invest very well.
My concern is all this talk of "ahead of schedule", normally that means "we can plateau a little bit" or stand still to "catch our breathe" as we were looking for top six and ended up challenging for 2nd-3rd.
If you end a season well and are due to lose key players, you need to be ambitious and recruit very well. This isn't like the seasons in the Championship, we'll truly see what the board is like this summer. Spending to escape the Championship is not the same as spending to challenge for upper half of top league.
I suppose the big question is can we back his ambitions ? I'd love us to go out and spend millions but where is that money going to come from ? Unless we are pushing ahead with the full sized indoor facility at East Mains I'd like to think all the money we can is being directed to the playing side. And if SJM does leave the transfer fee will be given to the manager to spend.
10-05-2018, 07:53 PM
Nonsense.
This has been brought on by Lennon, not posters on this board.
It’s a hibs forum, were you not expecting people to be discussing what he said last night? Surely it’s worthy of discussion?
Most of the posters now suddenly quadrupling their post count havent been seen the last couple of months.. i wonder why.
10-05-2018, 07:53 PM
The way i see it is, Lennon is letting everyone know that 4th place is not good enough, its a damn site better than previous managers telling us 10 place or 3rd in the championship is not good enough.
Anyone tell me the difference, as i like the cut of his jib, and i like how even 4th place is disappointing him?
10-05-2018, 07:55 PM
Seriously?
And why not seriously? Do you think players will ignore Lennon’s rant and laugh it off? No way. Unless they know something we don’t, I would imagine that his mis-timed outburst could set wee alarm bells ringing. The likes of Kamberi and MacLaren might question the wisdom of hanging around a club where the manager’s future is uncertain.
10-05-2018, 07:57 PM
And why not seriously? Do you think players will ignore Lennon’s rant and laugh it off? No way. Unless they know something we don’t, I would imagine that his mis-timed outburst could set wee alarm bells ringing. The likes of Kamberi and MacLaren might question the wisdom of hanging around a club where the manager’s future is uncertain.
Or it might not. There’s that too.
10-05-2018, 07:57 PM
The way i see it is, Lennon is letting everyone know that 4th place is not good enough, its a damn site better than previous managers telling us 10 place or 3rd in the championship is not good enough.
Anyone tell me the difference, as i like the cut of his jib, and i like how even 4th place is disappointing him?
The difference is that he’s saying he’s not sure if he wants to stay with us next season?
That’s nothing to do with accepting any league position?
Thegreenside
10-05-2018, 07:58 PM
If he doesn’t want to be here, see you later.
I echo the thoughts of many others in that I was not as gutted about the defeat as I feel now following Lennons post match comments. I have enjoyed his time as manager but I think he will now leave. My guess is he doesn’t think he can improve on this seasons league position and in his mind we have blown our only chance of finishing second as he maybe expects Rangers to be stronger next season. If he does go he will leave with my best wishes as I have really enjoyed his time as manager. The board have got the last couple of appointments spot on so hopefully they can do it again if required.
10-05-2018, 07:58 PM
I don't think many people are taking issue with him saying 4th isn't good enough, it's the other things he came out with.
10-05-2018, 07:59 PM
Or they might think it’s good and share his ambition?
I don’t think what he said was ideal but I don’t think the players will be losing any sleep over it. It’s given the media a few headlines and got people talking. But if there is any issue it’ll get sorted, one way or the other, right away IMO.
Too much pant wetting going on here.
I wasnt keen on Lennon being appointed, but I have to admit I was wrong and he has been very good for Hibs. In some ways lucky with what he inherited, but in others he has made smart moved like the striker switch. Moe on this later.
That said he has made mistakes and those included not playing out strongest 11 (ie with Boyle and barker wide) in the last 2 games at Tynecastle. Granted Barker was injured 2nd time, but I felt he compromised our strength in order to match up to Hearts and as a result we didnt play as well as we have and didnt win,
Last night I was initially pleased to see the 2 wide men and in my view until we handed them a goal Hibs were the better team by some way. The goal changed things and we retreated into our shell, bypassed the midfield and then lost boyle. The initial change to replace was then changed again over half time. It also became clear that Kamberi is not nearly as effective without Mclaren and that was another mistake in changing what had become our winning formula, 2nd half barker was more central and lost all effectiveness. The substituation of Hanlon was also bizarre.
Lennon though is a passionate guy and will be hurting badly and what he said was off the cuff based on a bad night for a sore loser. His comments on footwear is a case in point. As manager he should be ensuring that these decisions are got right, not throwing acusations around afterwards.
He also knows that there is a majot rebuild required for next season and he needs to work very hard and get lucky to repeat this years 4th place. I have no problem with him reviewing his position and if he concludes the job is too big for him then we shake hands and move on and get someone who wants the challenge
That said though, I would prefer that Neil Lennon is in charge next season as I believe he is the man to get the bets from Hibs.
10-05-2018, 08:00 PM
The difference is that he’s saying he’s not sure if he wants to stay with us next season?
That’s nothing to do with accepting any league position?
And we will find out if any of this is true by sunday, personally i wont worry either way as i think it was just his way of letting off steam, disappointment and frustration at the way his team played.
10-05-2018, 08:01 PM
Just to add to the debate of board backing Lennon, quick question for everyone, who thinks the below names would have been cheap to get and pay while in the Championship?
McGeouch
McGinn
Fyvie
Bartley
Boyle
Malonga
Stokes
McGregor
Gray
Fontaine
The list above was Stubbs' best bunch, we also had Kennedy, Dja Djedje, El Alagui, Eckersley, Dagnall, Anier, Feruz and many more - including the loan hero Henderson. This is while we were down. Yes, some were loans but wages and fees were likely still involved.
Comparatively, Lennon hasn't been as busy in the transfer market as Stubbs and I certainly wouldn't say he's had as much backing on that front comparatively. We spend money to get back up and secure some really decent Scottish footballers that we all know, we get promoted and rely heavily on loans. Lets be honest, we'd have known McGeouch and McGinn situation for months and months, years even and I'm not sure we've got direct succession in mind, not of same quality.
Times move on but I cannot fathom how we got our best players while relegated and struggle to sign equal quality since and can only deal in loans or unknowns to improve squad...bit strange for me.
This summer, for me, will definitely show what the board is made of. I feel Lennon, or whoever, will need an immense amount of backing for us to even consider equaling this seasons feat. Our squad of 3-4years is started to break up, succession planning is the difficult part not surfing a good wave until it ends.
10-05-2018, 08:04 PM
If this club has players who crumble because the manager pointed out that their performance was unacceptable the sooner they are gone the better.I find it strange that posters have to use terms like love in about supporters who believe the manager is doing a good job and that he’s quite right to try and put some steel into the team before Sunday.
Squirrel 1875
10-05-2018, 08:05 PM
Neil Lennon is an ambitious man. He sets his sights high. Unfortunately, last night he allowed the media's fawning over hibs get to his head leading to him changing a side that didn't need changing. Poor management, an off night. I think he is frustrated with himself more than anything.
If Lennon says fourth place is a failure, and bare in mind he sets the targets, then it's a failure. Those of you that say otherwise require a healthy helping of ambition.
Also, if his players get all upset over some harsh words after an emotional night then it really does say a lot about the cotton wool required for this generation.
Thick-skin. Please get some.
10-05-2018, 08:06 PM
And we will find out if any of this is true by sunday, personally i wont worry either way as i think it was just his way of letting off steam, disappointment and frustration at the way his team played.
I think that’s all people want.
If he clears it up and says he’s staying then I’m sure everyone will be delighted, Until he does that then I think people are right to question his commitment to the job next season when he’s just said he doesn’t know if he wants to be here.
It’s also understandable people are annoyed he’s chosen after a derby defeat to announce he needs to think about his own career and prospects.
10-05-2018, 08:07 PM
Just to add to the debate of board backing Lennon, quick question for everyone, who thinks the below names would have been cheap to get and pay while in the Championship?
McGeouch
McGinn
Fyvie
Bartley
Boyle
Malonga
Stokes
McGregor
Gray
Fontaine
The list above was Stubbs' best bunch, we also had Kennedy, Dja Djedje, El Alagui, Eckersley, Dagnall, Anier, Feruz and many more - including the loan hero Henderson. This is while we were down. Yes, some were loans but wages and fees were likely still involved.
Comparatively, Lennon hasn't been as busy in the transfer market as Stubbs and I certainly wouldn't say he's had as much backing on that front comparatively. We spend money to get back up and secure some really decent Scottish footballers that we all know, we get promoted and rely heavily on loans. Lets be honest, we'd have known McGeouch and McGinn situation for months and months, years even and I'm not sure we've got direct succession in mind, not of same quality.
Times move on but I cannot fathom how we got our best players while relegated and struggle to sign equal quality since and can only deal in loans or unknowns to improve squad...bit strange for me.
This summer, for me, will definitely show what the board is made of. I feel Lennon, or whoever, will need an immense amount of backing for us to even consider equaling this seasons feat. Our squad of 3-4years is started to break up, succession planning is the difficult part not surfing a good wave until it ends.
Equally how much would it cost for:
Marciano
Ambrose
Stokes
Whittaker
Allan
McLaren
Kamberi
Barker
Slivka
Big Dave
He even said himself when we signed Stokes we had made him a very good offer.
10-05-2018, 08:09 PM
I have no idea about what our budget is but I always struggle to understand what folk mean when they talk about boards being ambitious.
It all sounds a bit Sevco like for me. I understand that we have debts to pay off but I'm confident every penny we earn above that will go into the club. Now that might be stuff off the pitch like the training ground but I don't think it's getting sent by Leanne to the Cayman Islands.
Fans (and NL) need to come up with something better than vague questioning of budgets and and ambitions. What exactly do you want us to do, borrow more money?
Since Leanne has come in the club has turned around and invested heavily in players given the drop in income we experienced. Paradoxically Lennon would presumably have had more money to play with if we'd finished second or gone further in the cup so I honestly don't get his complaints.
10-05-2018, 08:09 PM
'Maybe it's a rash thing to say but I think about it every summer. Is this the right thing to do?
I can't watch that in derbies. It's not good enough. We've got a board meeting next week. So we'll see.
'Nothing last forever but I've been here two years, made great strides. But I've got to think about myself.
'I'm maybe a bit over-emotional but finishing fourth isn't good enough.
'It's not based on this result. I consider my position every year, whether it's at Celtic or Bolton.'
I honestly don't see anything too bad in any of that.
10-05-2018, 08:12 PM
'Maybe it's a rash thing to say but I think about it every summer. Is this the right thing to do?
I can't watch that in derbies. It's not good enough. We've got a board meeting next week. So we'll see.
'Nothing last forever but I've been here two years, made great strides. But I've got to think about myself.
'It's not based on this result. I consider my position every year, whether it's at Celtic or Bolton.'
I suppose not if he had made that same statement at the end of last season.
10-05-2018, 08:13 PM
Did you watch the video that stv sport tweeted earlier?
The transcript of the statements you’ve posted above doesn’t match what he said, he never mentioned Celtic or Bolton in the post match press conference.
I’m guessing yours is from the bbc interview? I never heard that one.
10-05-2018, 08:17 PM
I wish we could get back to old days of managers with zero ambition and low aspirations for this club. Then we could sack them rather than them leaving us.
10-05-2018, 08:18 PM
Did you watch the video that stv sport tweeted earlier?
The transcript of the statements you’ve posted above doesn’t match what he said, he never mentioned Celtic or Bolton in the post match press conference.
I’m guessing yours is from the bbc interview? I never heard that one.
Not watched it tbh, I copied and pasted from a report of the press conference, no reason to believe anyone would add these words if he hadn't said them.
10-05-2018, 08:19 PM
Let's hope that Lenny stays and quit pretending that Stubbs is his natural successor. Yes, Stubbs was in charge when we won the Scottish Cup but don't forget that up until that point half the people on here wanted him out. He didn't have the managerial experience for a club this size and he couldn't get us out of the Championship. He had nothing left in the toolbox to take us further. A club our size deserves a manager that reflects our ambition and that has to be Lennon or someone at least as good as Lennon. Who that is, I have no idea.
I don't think that's true. Look at how well his side equipped themselves against top flight opposition on a regular basis throughout his tenure. We beat Aberdeen, Hearts, Inverness, Dundee United, St Johnstone and Ross County. Look how well a squad containing a good number of his players has equipped themselves in the top flight. No question he had a very good eye for a player and, like Lennon, a lot of good contacts in the game.
He took on the Hibs job when the club was on its knees, yet managed to finish above Rangers in his first season. Hearts were a team who had effectively been planning for the Championship for months while we took the drop in a state of chaos on and off the pitch. Yes, we went through a grim spell of league form halfway through his second season which put us out of title contention, but I don't think there's any question the two cup runs were a big distraction - cup runs which took us to an unprecedented two major cup finals in the same season (as a Championship club!).
I think he had plenty left to give but made what proved to be a bad call on the Rotherham job. I'd have him back at Hibs no problem in the event Lennon were to leave (which hopefully he won't).
10-05-2018, 08:20 PM
Not watched it tbh, I copied and pasted from a report of the press conference, no reason to believe anyone would add these words if he hadn't said them.
Think it must have been from a different interview after the press conference. He mentioned in the one I saw that he also had a personal issue to consider as well.
10-05-2018, 08:22 PM
It could be that Lennon has realised that his stock is at it's highest right now and he wants to capitalise on that, maybe he has been told that there will not be a lot of cash to spend over the summer so rather than wait for the inevitable decline he wants to leave now.
10-05-2018, 08:23 PM
I wish we could get back to old days of managers with zero ambition and low aspirations for this club. Then we could sack them rather than them leaving us.
This is nothing to do with ambition or low aspirations though.
He’s said he doesn’t know if he wants the job any more. If he can’t make up his mind quickly then the decision should be taken out of his hands.
Apologies if this is a whoosh moment.......
10-05-2018, 08:24 PM
Yip, I yearn for the days of being told to go to the cinema if we wanted entertainment, or the days when our manager didn't care about not beating hearts for 22 games, or Bertie Auld trying to make Levein look gung ho and happy just to remain in the league. them were the days!!!
10-05-2018, 08:24 PM
McGeouch
McGinn
Fyvie
Bartley
Boyle
Malonga
Stokes
McGregor
Gray
Fontaine
Lenny has been well backed by the board. He has said so himself, when in calmer mood.
His issue is handing out fat contracts to 30+ veterans. That is where the budget has gone.
Holt
Efe
Stokes
Whittaker
Swanson
None of these guys will be on pennies.
10-05-2018, 08:26 PM
Equally how much would it cost for:
Marciano (Much)
Ambrose (Much)
Stokes (Ridiculous and shouldn't have bothered)
Whittaker (Not that much, coaching badges probably the priority)
Allan (Loan)
McLaren (Loan)
Kamberi (Loan)
Barker (Loan)
Slivka (As far as rumours are, supposedly got for cheap/free due to discussions with Juve)
Big Dave (Not much)
He even said himself when we signed Stokes we had made him a very good offer.
Again, look at the list you have provided above (my answers in brackets), most are loans, 3 are likely to have been very expensive deals (Marciano, Ambrose, Stokes) but the rest I wouldn't put very high in terms of cost. I'll shorten Stubbs signings and we will just compare quality:
McGinn
McGeouch
Fyvie
Henderson
I think Ambrose and Marciano are the only ones you could say have been relatively consistent (ignoring loans) and are similar calibre as the 4 above. Fyvie had his poor games but I'd suggest people watch the cup final again to see what he gave us at times. It is just my opinion that we should be improving what we have after promotion and I don't think we've done that. I acknowledge that's maybe because we had really good players in the Championship that were still around but...I cannot fathom how we can scout, recruit and pay these players in the Championship but have struggled since to find equal or better while having bigger budget and being in top league.
10-05-2018, 08:27 PM
Yip, I yearn for the days of being told to go to the cinema if we wanted entertainment, or the days when our manager didn't care about not beating hearts for 22 games, or Bertie Auld trying to make Levein look gung ho and happy just to remain in the league. them were the days!!!
10-05-2018, 08:32 PM
I echo the thoughts of many others in that I was not as gutted about the defeat as I feel now following Lennons post match comments. I have enjoyed his time as manager but I think he will now leave. My guess is he doesn’t think he can improve on this seasons league position and in his mind we have blown our only chance of finishing second as he maybe expects Rangers to be stronger next season. If he does go he will leave with my best wishes as I have really enjoyed his time as manager. The board have got the last couple of appointments spot on so hopefully they can do it again if required.
While I agree, I will be gutted if his time with us finished like this
Don’t understand the turn this thread has taken, nobody is questioning the job Lennon has done, he’s been superb for us.
He’s said he doesn’t know if he wants to go on managing us though, that’s what’s being discussed so I’m not understanding why you’re comparing him to these other managers that didn’t do a good job?
I think that’s all people want.
If he clears it up and says he’s staying then I’m sure everyone will be delighted, Until he does that then I think people are right to question his commitment to the job next season when he’s just said he doesn’t know if he wants to be here.
It’s also understandable people are annoyed he’s chosen after a derby defeat to announce he needs to think about his own career and prospects.
i can absolutely see why he might not want to be here though. if the board don't give him enough backing to keep the squad as good as it currently is, if not improve it, then he'll be treading water. he seems like the last person who would be happy doing this, and this is exactly what has made him such a good manager for us. as i've said before, the board need to choose between two risky options - back Neil, or risk drifting into mid-table apathy again.
IMO, it is absolutely essential that we throw whatever we can at SJM and dylan to get them to extend their deals, if only so that we can get a decent price for them. Lennon doesn't want to have to start all over again from scratch. If he doesn't want to be here, he won't be. If he does want to be here, we should count ourselves extremely lucky, because he's the best manager we've had in at least 40 years.
10-05-2018, 08:35 PM
i can absolutely see why he might not want to be here though. if the board don't give him enough backing to keep the squad as good as it currently is, if not improve it, then he'll be treading water. he seems like the last person who would be happy doing this, and this is exactly what has made him such a good manager for us. as i've said before, the board need to choose between two risky options - back Neil, or risk drifting into mid-table apathy again.
IMO, it is absolutely essential that we throw whatever we can at SJM and dylan to get them to extend their deals, if only so that we can get a decent price for them. Lennon doesn't want to have to start all over again from scratch. If he doesn't want to be here, he won't be. If he does want to be here, we should count ourselves extremely lucky, because he's the best manager we've had in at least 40 years.
I agree.
I can understand why he may be considering his future, next season will be really tough replacing the players that are leaving.
If he feels the job isn’t for him then that’s fine but we need a quick answer.
10-05-2018, 08:39 PM
Don’t understand the turn this thread has taken, nobody is questioning the job Lennon has done, he’s been superb for us.
He’s said he doesn’t know if he wants to go on managing us though, that’s what’s being discussed so I’m not understanding why you’re comparing him to these other managers that didn’t do a good job?
There are posters saying he should GTF. He said something he probably regrets and folk are saying they don't care if he leaves. Mental compared with what we have had in the past. He is ambitious for the club, he is hurting. The same as all of us. I said earlier in the thread that we have all said stupid stuff in the aftermath of defeats, especially to them. Unfortunately Neil said it on the record whereas most of us just say it to mates or on here
10-05-2018, 08:39 PM
IMO, it is absolutely essential that we throw whatever we can at SJM and dylan to get them to extend their deals
This is where there needs to be some realism though. We could double their wage and it might still be 10k a week (at least) less than they are getting offered down south. We can’t compete.
10-05-2018, 08:58 PM
dylans gone mate
10-05-2018, 08:58 PM
Did Lennon not say that McGeouch was off ( fait accompli)? We’re not going to turn his head now with a late offer of a few bob.
10-05-2018, 09:12 PM
:agree: Sums up to a tee how I read the situation.
capitals_finest
10-05-2018, 09:13 PM
The guy doesn’t muck about. In my opinion we have a once in a half century manager who has done everything we and the board have asked of him and more. The board and we the supporters need to do everything we possibly can to keep him at our club...
:nlgwa
angus hibby
10-05-2018, 09:21 PM
Possibly just another rant, similar to the after Raith game last season before the cup replay.
Had the desired effect that time.
10-05-2018, 09:26 PM
The guy doesn’t muck about. In my opinion we have a once in a half century manager who has done everything we and the board have asked of him and more. The board and we the supporters need to do everything we possibly can to keep him at our club...
:nlgwa
I'd say more the board the fans have done their bit this season and basically sold out Easter road the majority of home games. It's time for the board to show us their ambition for the club.
Fergos
10-05-2018, 09:46 PM
IMHO NL is making a relevant point to be discussed around long term ambitions, but making it in the wrong way, surely better behind closed doors. No need for the public comments on this.
Bizzarley, and after a very good season, we find ourselves at a bit of cross roads now with the core of our squad, some long term members, potentially breaking up and a Manager who wants to see us achieve more. As many have said, the summer will be very interesting for us as far as rebuilding the squad goes, as NL said himself last night. The Dylan situation may also be irking NL.....as it does us if he leaves, as looks likely.
I'd be gutted if NL was to leave at this moment, however I'll still be back next year no matter who is manager. Unless it's Cathro.....
What a few of us are under valuing here is Leeann. I have full confidence that no matter what happens she will see right by our club and continue to oversee our progress. In all honesty I'd be more gutted to see her go than anyone else.
Onwards and upwards. Cmon the Hibees.
10-05-2018, 10:08 PM
McGeouch
McGinn
Fyvie
Bartley
Boyle
Malonga
Stokes
McGregor
Gray
Fontaine
We lost £800,000 over the three seasons being in the championship and that with tremendous cup runs and the win of course. Had we not won the cup I doubt the tremendous crowds would have followed so yes the board did gamble but it was one that paid off. To illustrate that hertz lost £1.2 m in their one year in the championship, d utd £1.5m in one year in the championship and hertz would have lost £2.3m last year if not for the £2.5m donation from a mystery benefactor. So comparatively speaking we did gamble but the cup runs and subsequent increase in crowds offset this. Presuming celtic win the cup we have another £300,000 coming our way plus more if we get past the first round plus finishing fourth was better than planned so we are probably another £300,000 up on that front.
What I would suggest is the board to do is forego paying our half a mill of the debt to stf and that would give lenny an extra £1m to compete for players with. I don't see any reason why with decent recruitment we can't be fourth again or higher as I can't see hertz or Killie being better than they are especially with hertz three signings which I'm sure we will get better in. Let's look at this close season as of one of opportunities not pessimism and hopefully with lenny at the helm but if not a.n.other.
Ggtth.
10-05-2018, 10:13 PM
Kane is embarrassing in terms of his position on the “board”.
I see Kane was saying that someone on the board who gets £500,000 a year should delay taking it.Is he really that stupid?
heidtheba
10-05-2018, 10:15 PM
I know I'll be over-reading this but...
If Lennon had come out and said "I'm delighted with the backing the board are giving me for forays into the transfer market to replace the crucial players who will be leaving this summer"...the price of anyone and everyone we'd be targetting would go up hugely.
His comments might not have made his transfer kitty grow, but it might have made targets a lot less expensive.
It might, at the very least, help!
10-05-2018, 10:16 PM
I agree.
I'd give him a couple of weeks to think it over then either commit or move on. He will know himself if his hearts not in it and he's an honest guy. I'm hoping his outburst was just pure frustration but if not we have to face reality. Maybe next time he feels like that let gary Parker do the post match interview.
MacGruber
10-05-2018, 10:47 PM
Just to put a positive spin on things....
There is the train of thought as a given that we will be weaker next year after we lose a lot of our key players.. players we cant replace on our budget..
Our recruitment in recent years has been excellent. Who is to say we can't do it again - we've consistently picked up gems for free/on loan or reasonably small fees. This thought that we cant pick up the likes of McGinn, McGeough - thats exactly what we did do!
We picked up Scott Allan, Henderson, McGinn, McGeough, Kamberi, Boyle, Bartley, Barker, Ambrose.. its us who signed these guys in the first place all on budget. I know it sounds like pointing out the obvious just thinking out loud.
I remember losing Scott Allan first time round - player of thr year
Callum7
10-05-2018, 10:47 PM
http://i66.tinypic.com/15zhw9i.png
MacGruber
10-05-2018, 10:49 PM
.. year and thinking the baw was burst - we then went out and signed McGinn.
.. thought the baw was burst losing Cummings - signed Stokes.
.. Lost Stokes and thought we couldnt replace on our budget - signed Kamberi.
Have faith folks. Part of the reason for our success has been our ability to recruit.
If ever there was a time to have a wee gamble it has to be now. The board must somehow find what Lennon is looking for.
10-05-2018, 10:53 PM
I see the usual "Farmer haters" are out in force on twitter as well.
One bad result, FFS.......
11-05-2018, 02:05 AM
Disappointed to hear Lennon's public comments. He has raved about the support and atmosphere he's experienced at Hibs, and it's clear we've done well this season. Yet, he's decided to throw that into doubt on a whim. Emotional or not, this is the reason Hibs fans will never REALLY take to Lennon in the same what they did with Stubbs. Far too volatile Lennon is a tortured soul who probably still wished he was at Celtic, has had a rough ride with the authorities and an itch he just can't scratch. IMO there is no need for him to take that out on Hibs, who have supported him as well as any manager I can think of.
Crowds of 19k, records season tickets, Hibs fans could not have done any more and it's a tad insulting that Lennon is talking of walking away. Frankly, we deserve better and I for one hope that Lennon will reflect on his comments and accept that they were a bit disingenuous to Hibs fans.
We all accept that Lennon will probably move on to bigger things as he'll attract bigger opportunities. But that's not that same as the manager coming out with unsolicited threats to quit the club on a whim. Not good.
11-05-2018, 02:10 AM
If ever there was a time to have a wee gamble it has to be now. The board must somehow find what Lennon is looking for.
Disagree. Yes, we all want success for Hibs... but not at all costs. And what is success ? A Cup win ? European football ?
We cannot win the league and cannot earn huge ££££ through TV deals. There is a finite limit to the crowds at ER. So the Board needs to be pragmatic and sensible. They cannot afford to be swayed by crazy ambitions of any manager. We need sensible, reasonable expectations.
11-05-2018, 02:28 AM
Disagree. Yes, we all want success for Hibs... but not at all costs. And what is success ? A Cup win ? European football ?
We cannot win the league and cannot earn huge ££££ through TV deals. There is a finite limit to the crowds at ER. So the Board needs to be pragmatic and sensible. They cannot afford to be swayed by crazy ambitions of any manager. We need sensible, reasonable expectations.
Yep, we can’t put the long term sustainability of the club at risk, by spending money we have not got and are unlikely to recoup.
Speaking with their hearts and best intentions, but ignoring financial realities, I have seen comments such as ‘have a wee gamble’, the board must back him’ and ‘speculate to accumulate’ yet I have yet to see where this pot of gold is going to come from.
As someone pointed out, we could triple or even multiply by five some of the current wages, and still not be able to compete with an English Championship side.
The fault is not the supporters, nor the board, and is not due to ‘lack of ambition’, but is down mainly to the respective tv revenues that filter through to clubs in Scotland and England.
Fergos
11-05-2018, 04:13 AM
Hmmmm....is it right that he is trying to effectively force the Boards hand?
And....what happens if the Board back his ambitions and he doesnt deliver.....and what will deliverning actually look like? A title win, cup, maybe both.
Folk saying hes clever, but to me he has put himself under alot of presure now especially if he gets the £ required and what he wants.
11-05-2018, 05:20 AM
Not anything new in that article.
11-05-2018, 06:53 AM
.. year and thinking the baw was burst - we then went out and signed McGinn.
.. thought the baw was burst losing Cummings - signed Stokes.
.. Lost Stokes and thought we couldnt replace on our budget - signed Kamberi.
Have faith folks. Part of the reason for our success has been our ability to recruit.
Absobloodylutely. Hertz are recruiting poor quality as they have been doing for the last couple of years hence why they are so gash. Not ideal this nonsense but quicker we know whose going to be in charge the better.
11-05-2018, 07:11 AM
Unfortunately "whatever we can" will be a long way from what they can get elsewhere. We've been here before. Hopefully, though, they will accept what we can afford. Same can be said of Scott Allan in that does he want to move back here and can we get near the wages he's on at Celtic?
Lennon is hurting when the possibility of second was there we didnt take it and I suspect Lennon thinks we gave it up too easily, far easier than he would have had he been on the pitch. It may be that he doesnt see the likelihood of us getting this close again given the personnell changes needed in the summer. Who knows. One thing is certain is that the improvement since Lennon came in is palpable.
We must do what we can to keep Neil Lennon.
11-05-2018, 07:24 AM
I'd be surprised if he didn't get a fairly hefty budget to replace departing players.
The midfielders and forwards we are set to lose will all be on a decent wage, chuck in money we are likely to get for McGinn, good early season ticket sales, a probable European tie and there should be a reasonable amount there.
Most managers would be happy to have a solid budget to bring in their own players to play their own way.
Unless the board are playing silly beggars.......
Stokesy's on fire
11-05-2018, 07:38 AM
I'm glad Lennon is pushing for the club to match his ambitions. For years we suffered crap football because we were building for the future we put in place a stunning stadium and a fantastic training center. The stage is set the Scottish cup hoo doo is over and as Dempster said there has to be more. So let's go for it and push to be one of Scottish footballs major forces. There are sides playing in Europe with a similar fan base to us who are regularly competing in the group stages that's where we need to be competing. We have to aim big we are not here to simply make up the numbers and Lennon is the right man to lead the club forward.
11-05-2018, 07:47 AM
I agree.
If he can’t give us that guarantee I hope he announces in the next 24 hours he is leaving so we can give him a good send off after the game on Sunday. He’s been a great manager for us and I hold no bitterness towards him if he feels he’s not the man to take us forward from this point, he needs to be honest and let us know ASAP though.This is where I am 110%...bang on with this post
11-05-2018, 07:50 AM
We were still pish in plenty big games before he arrived. And have been pish in some of them since he arrived. On that particular occasion his outburst certainly worked a few days later when we saw the most dominant Hibs performance in a derby for years. And then we went on to win the league easily.Let's be honest tho...that dominant derby display was against the worst hearts team in years under Cathro...and that was after yet another insipid Lennon display at Tynecastle in 1st game.
11-05-2018, 07:52 AM
Let's be honest tho...that dominant derby display was against the worst hearts team in years under Cathro...and that was after yet another insipid Lennon display at Tynecastle in 1st game.
Tbh id be more worried if Dempster left the club
11-05-2018, 07:55 AM
Who have lennon signed since he came in?
Whitts
Stokes
Ambrose (loan to perm)
Offir (loan to perm)
Swanson
Barker (loan)
Slivka
Allan (loan)
Murray
Kamberi (loan)
Maclaren (loan)
Hes been backed to a point but next year is a whole other ball game with other best 3 midfielders going and our front 2
Possibly Efe too
We need to invest significantly in our first 11 next year
If we dont, top 6 will be a struggle never mind top 4
I can absolutely see lennons concern
The board have done more than well since Dempster came in - but i do remember this board in meltdown with our lack if incomings during 1 summer (and the previous window i believe)
We cant do that again
We will see where the boards ambition truly is this summer
Ofcourse they had to get out of the Championship- that goes without saying
Now we are back and established- lets see where they really place us as a club
Bobby Moore
11-05-2018, 07:56 AM
On the finance front, and this may be covered elsewhere but this season we did not gain any funds which came the SPL’s way because of Celtic’s qualification for the Champions League in 2016/17 because we were in the SFL that season. But we should get a share for this season, 2017/18 not sure of the sums involved though?
11-05-2018, 07:57 AM
Finishing this high or being 1 result away from being 2nd really does leave us with a real target. Maybe not the right way to go about from NL but we need to push on with the crowds we are getting etc etc.
Our target next term is trying to win a cup and finish top 3. If NL does not think he can deliver this with what is at hand after summer and he leaves the board need to find somebody who can.
If we are ever to take a risk I would say this is the time as we at least know NL. This is going to be a key moment in our time.
BlackSheep
11-05-2018, 08:00 AM
On the finance front, and this may be covered elsewhere but this season we did not gain any funds which came the SPL’s way because of Celtic’s qualification for the Champions League in 2016/17 because we were in the SFL that season. But we should get a share for this season, 2017/18 not sure of the sums involved though?
You are correct, but I’m sure Lennon and the board have all the figures in front of them, the only variables being where we finish in the league and perhaps how much we make from any outgoing transfers.
We can second guess why Lennon said what he did all we like on here but is all conjecture until comment from a real source is made.
I’m still of the opinion that while emotionally charged, the comments he made were well thought out.
11-05-2018, 08:00 AM
Yip, I yearn for the days of being told to go to the cinema if we wanted entertainment, or the days when our manager didn't care about not beating hearts for 22 games, or Bertie Auld trying to make Levein look gung ho and happy just to remain in the league. them were the days!!!I don't get these digs?? We r all happy with Lennons ambition and what he has done with the team this season that's not in doubt. But a manager publicly stating after a derby defeat (only our 2nd defeat in 17 games) that he doesn't know if he wants to remain in position is a deep concern...if he doesn't want to be here or fancy the challenge of replacing some of our better players...it's better he goes after Sunday imo. Lennon has been great for Hibs but we've been great for him too...nobody wanted him after the Bolton debacle and he Inherited a strong cup winning squad - the nucleus of which he has worked with for last 2 years...
11-05-2018, 08:02 AM
Who have lennon signed since he came in?
Whitts
Stokes
Ambrose (loan to perm)
Offir (loan to perm)
Swanson
Barker (loan)
Slivka
Allan (loan)
Murray
Kamberi (loan)
Maclaren (loan)
Hes been backed to a point but next year is a whole other ball game with other best 3 midfielders going and our front 2
Possibly Efe too
We need to invest significantly in our first 11 next year
If we dont, top 6 will be a struggle never mind top 4
I can absolutely see lennons concern
The board have done more than well since Dempster came in - but i do remember this board in meltdown with our lack if incomings during 1 summer (and the previous window i believe)
We cant do that again
We will see where the boards ambition truly is this summer
Ofcourse they had to get out of the Championship- that goes without saying
Now we are back and established- lets see where they really place us as a club
I could understand his concerns, but NOT the way he has went about it!
11-05-2018, 08:07 AM
I don't get these digs?? We r all happy with Lennons ambition and what he has done with the team this season that's not in doubt. But a manager publicly stating after a derby defeat (only our 2nd defeat in 17 games) that he doesn't know if he wants to remain in position is a deep concern...if he doesn't want to be here or fancy the challenge of replacing some of our better players...it's better he goes after Sunday imo. Lennon has been great for Hibs but we've been great for him too...nobody wanted him after the Bolton debacle and he Inherited a strong cup winning squad - the nucleus of which he has worked with for last 2 years...
I actually quite understand why he may be considering his future. I’m not naive enough to Think Hibs will be his last job in management and he is obviously an ambitious guy. With the players that are leaving this summer and our likely budget it’ll be nigh on impossible to improve on this season and treading water would be a great result imo. If however we don’t manage that then Lennons stock will only be going down the way and he can forget about another decent gig in Englandshire.
We’d all like him to stay and be fully committed but if he does decide to stay he’s taking quite a big gamble with the odds probably stacked against him.
Johnny Clash
11-05-2018, 08:11 AM
I'm glad Lennon is pushing for the club to match his ambitions. For years we suffered crap football because we were building for the future we put in place a stunning stadium and a fantastic training center. The stage is set the Scottish cup hoo doo is over and as Dempster said there has to be more. So let's go for it and push to be one of Scottish footballs major forces. There are sides playing in Europe with a similar fan base to us who are regularly competing in the group stages that's where we need to be competing. We have to aim big we are not here to simply make up the numbers and Lennon is the right man to lead the club forward.
Well said. Lennon realises the potential at Hibs is massive and we must push on as a club and not take any backward steps. We need a manager who fights his corner and Neil Lennon does that.
If the Board decide we cannot invest in building a stronger team in accordance with our managers aspirations then that needs explaining to the fans. We deserve the facts to come out of our club rather than having to read speculation that’s cooked up in the west coast biased media.
11-05-2018, 08:13 AM
We need to move on from conversations we had 10 years ago.
The plan you describe is exactly what Leeann has been talking about.
The fact we appointed Lenny is in itself proof we are not here to make up the numbers.
His comments have caused needless arguments and divisions.
Crazyhorse
11-05-2018, 08:27 AM
Tbh id be more worried if Dempster left the club
Absolutely. She has more ability, drive and ambition than anyone leading Hibs in the past 40 years. The culture of Hibs knowing their place in the Scottish football firmament was I believe smashed by Leanne.
Sioux
11-05-2018, 08:39 AM
One thing that needs to be taken into account is the TV broadcasters' insistence that managers are interviewed immediately after a game. Its a good ploy for their purposes. They know, the same as anyone with a modicum of intelligence, that when emotional or stressed, people will say things on the spur of the moment. Its 'journalism' down to a tee. Create the opportunity to create headlines. Remember good news is not headline news.
TV is full of managers and players saying something off the cuff, getting angry, saying daft. Interviews after games are stage managed to get reactions from managers. Some will say nothing at all, some won't. How many times do managers get slated on here for not saying something, for not calling out their own players, refs, opposition players and managers, etc etc. Its a no win situation.
After match interviews are designed to get what we got on Wednesday. All the evidence you need is some of the pre-scripted stupid questions the interviewers come out with. How many, when a team is not doing well, is a manager asked if he has the backing of the board? The trap's been set.
People who believe everything they hear in these situations need to judge their own ability to analyse what they hear and when they hear it.
YouTube is full of 'angry manager' clips. There are not many happy ones. I wonder why?
Bobby Moore
11-05-2018, 08:52 AM
For clarity,
Done some research, this season SPL clubs got circa £375,000.00 each from champions league. As mentioned, no doubt this new income will be taken into account in the ongoing financial planning.
Stokesy's on fire
11-05-2018, 09:07 AM
We need to move on from conversations we had 10 years ago.
The plan you describe is exactly what Leeann has been talking about.
The fact we appointed Lenny is in itself proof we are not here to make up the numbers.
His comments have caused needless arguments and divisions.
Now all we need to do is match his ambitions and ensure that we are pushing to at least make the group stages of the Europa league. Providing we qualify of course. If we assemble a strong squad the money invested will make its way back into the club via big European matches.
11-05-2018, 09:14 AM
Keep reading the term ‘match his ambition’ what exactly does that mean for a club like hibs? Are we going to offer millions for a player? Are we going to over £10k a week wages to players? Does it mean spending more than we can afford? If it is all this then it’s a dangerous game to play, look at hearts, Dundee, ranrgers, Livingston, and Gretna they all did it and ended up on the brink of disappearing, for Gretna they did. I am all for wanting the best for hibs but at what cost?
11-05-2018, 09:17 AM
Sometimes comments made in haste and the time are difficult to get away from after.the event ...Lennon is a strong minded guy and I just wonder if he has put himself in a predicament . Hopefully not but look at the reaction here and in the media .....Sunday has become an even bigger game in many senses than it was before as a potential play off for 2nd ......win its easier to stay and move.on ose and it might be the final ...for me his comments after the derby were crazy and even from a winner and competitive person ..not that professional ..imo
11-05-2018, 09:20 AM
Keep reading the term ‘match his ambition’ what exactly does that mean for a club like hibs? Are we going to offer millions for a player? Are we going to over £10k a week wages to players? Does it mean spending more than we can afford? If it is all this then it’s a dangerous game to play, look at hearts, Dundee, ranrgers, Livingston, and Gretna they all did it and ended up on the brink of disappearing, for Gretna they did. I am all for wanting the best for hibs but at what cost?
Matching his ambition is a nonsense statement.
We’ll be as ambitious as we can be in order to be as successful as we can be, if that is too slow for Lennon then he needs to move on.
I seem to remember when Tony Mowbray was here he said something about the shelf life of a manager at a club like hibs is around two years, I’m starting to wonder if he was right.
Johnny Clash
11-05-2018, 09:24 AM
He means we should be reaching our full potential and finishing no less than 3rd in the league which will mean playing in Europe. We need quality players to play the exciting football he wants that will fill our ground - as we’ve seen this season. We can’t match the old firms budgets but we can compete with the likes of Aberdeen, StJohnstone, Kilmarnock, Hertz.
If the Board show the same ambition then fine. So long as Neil and the supporters can clearly see he’s getting maximum resources possible then no more can be done and that’s acceptable. Anything less is a problem.
11-05-2018, 09:25 AM
Chances of Gary Parker being sent to do the pre match press today?
11-05-2018, 09:27 AM
He means we should be reaching our full potential and finishing no less than 3rd in the league which will mean playing in Europe. We need quality players to play the exciting football he wants that will fill our ground - as we’ve seen this season. We can’t match the old firms budgets but we can compete with the likes of Aberdeen, StJohnstone, Kilmarnock, Hertz.
If the Board show the same ambition then fine. So long as Neil and the supporters can clearly see he’s getting maximum resources possible then no more can be done and that’s acceptable. Anything less is a problem.
What happens if the board match his ambition and it’s not a success? He will probably move on and get another job elsewhere, he doesn’t need to think of the consequences, the board do as they’ll be around trying to clear up the mess and would then have even less to give Lennons replacement.
We need to pay what we can afford, maybe stretch it a bit but not to the levels that are likely to make a real difference.
11-05-2018, 09:28 AM
Chances of Gary Parker being sent to do the pre match press today?
No chance imo.
Lennon is not one to dodge an awkward situation, he’ll tackle all the questions head on imo
Johnny Clash
11-05-2018, 09:43 AM
What happens if the board match his ambition and it’s not a success? He will probably move on and get another job elsewhere, he doesn’t need to think of the consequences, the board do as they’ll be around trying to clear up the mess and would then have even less to give Lennons replacement.
We need to pay what we can afford, maybe stretch it a bit but not to the levels that are likely to make a real difference.
What happens if the board match Lenny’s ambition and it IS a success?
Signing Kamberi for example will go some way to making a real difference. I believe we have first dibs on him so our manager is quite right in insisting we do just that. Nobody’s talking about signing messi or spending millions we don’t have.
11-05-2018, 09:47 AM
Chances of Gary Parker being sent to do the pre match press today?If he is I would take that as a huge sign that Lennon will be away next week. I'd be disappointed if we don't hear from Lennon today...it's the least we deserve after the outburst on Weds. The fans have backed lenny in record numbers...we r at least owed an explanation surely??
11-05-2018, 09:54 AM
What happens if the board match Lenny’s ambition and it IS a success?
Signing Kamberi for example will go some way to making a real difference. I believe we have first dibs on him so our manager is quite right in insisting we do just that. Nobody’s taking about signing messi or spending millions we don’t have.
If it’s money we don’t have then it doesn’t matter if it’s Messi we can’t afford or Mcgeouch we can’t afford, either way both are out of our reach.
In answer to your question though If we over spend and it’s a success then great we may get to enjoy the benefits of that, it’s the boards job to look at all ‘what ifs though’. When I get paid I don’t go down to the casino and stick my entire salary on Black knowing that if the gamble comes off I get to enjoy the benefits, the board need to look at our finances as if it was their own cash and while that leaves a little room for overspending at times, I doubt it’ll be enough to have us competing where Lennon wants us to be right now.
11-05-2018, 10:00 AM
If it’s money we don’t have then it doesn’t matter if it’s Messi we can’t afford or Mcgeouch we can’t afford, either way both are out of our reach.
In answer to your question though If we over spend and it’s a success then great we may get to enjoy the benefits of that, it’s the boards job to look at all ‘what ifs though’. When I get paid I don’t go down to the casino and stick my entire salary on Black knowing that if the gamble comes off I get to enjoy the benefits, the board need to look at our finances as if it was their own cash and while that leaves a little room for overspending at times, I doubt it’ll be enough to have us competing where Lennon wants us to be right now.
What a strange post.Surely we are competing at the moment for second,third and fourth.Lennon can’t expect us to compete for players to match Celtic but does want us to continue competing at the level we are at by replacing the players who got us there.That doesn’t seem over ambitious to me and I would imagine that is what the board will also want to do.
11-05-2018, 10:09 AM
Well said. Lennon realises the potential at Hibs is massive and we must push on as a club and not take any backward steps. We need a manager who fights his corner and Neil Lennon does that.
If the Board decide we cannot invest in building a stronger team in accordance with our managers aspirations then that needs explaining to the fans. We deserve the facts to come out of our club rather than having to read speculation that’s cooked up in the west coast biased media.
With reg attendances of 18-19k (highest since 70s), having won the Cup, and with no realistic chance of winning the League - Hibs may already be close to max potential. We can only accommodate a couple thousand more in ER and unlikely to go far in Euro competition, so additional revenue streams are limited. That's miles away from say a top English Championship club pushing for the EPL or a mid-table EPL club who can earn £millions getting into Europe and through TV funds.
With a stronger Sevco next season, 3rd place in the league might be the best Hibs can hope for. Lennon has taken Hibs to Ibrox twice this season and beaten them. We've just beaten Celtic, Killie drawn with Aberdeen away and still came up short of what NL was hoping for. It will take a huge effort to get 3rd place next year.
The more NL talked of 2nd place the more I suspect he saw this season as his big chance to make a statement. Had he managed to get Hibs to 2nd place, he would have been able to say "I've taken them as far as they can go". His problem is that 4th place doesn't allow him to say that. That's the quandary.
11-05-2018, 10:27 AM
:agree: Agree with this. The question is what does "success" look like and what is there to drive us on ? Sevco want to stop Celtic reaching 10IAR and will overspend in the next 2 years to do that. Hearts & Levein want to dominate Hibs again and will likely throw money at it in the summer.
Had Hibs not won the Cup, had crowds of 12k (with a 20k stadium), been on a poor derby run and unable to compete with Hearts etc then there are some clear goals there. But we're not. Trying to maintain a position isn't terribly compelling for an ambition manager and certainly not worth the club overspending.
11-05-2018, 10:31 AM
Was McGinn not an "over budget" signing?
I'm pretty sure we'd spent our budget and the board had to have a special meeting to discuss the possibility of pushing the boat out and signing him when they realised he might be available?
11-05-2018, 10:34 AM
What a strange post.Surely we are competing at the moment for second,third and fourth.Lennon can’t expect us to compete for players to match Celtic but does want us to continue competing at the level we are at by replacing the players who got us there.That doesn’t seem over ambitious to me and I would imagine that is what the board will also want to do.
What a strange reply.
It’s not actually that strange, I just disagree with it.
You don’t know if what lennon is looking for is over ambitious or not? I trust the board to give him every penny they can though, if that’s not enough for Lennon then he is being over ambitious.
We can’t give him what we don’t have.
11-05-2018, 10:46 AM
I think it's about 250K.
Johnny Clash
11-05-2018, 10:56 AM
What a strange reply.
It’s not actually that strange, I just disagree with it.
You don’t know if what lennon is looking for is over ambitious or not? I trust the board to give him every penny they can though, if that’s not enough for Lennon then he is being over ambitious.
We can’t give him what we don’t have.
I think it is a strange post. What exactly are you disagreeing with?
11-05-2018, 10:58 AM
I'd be surprised if his ambitions were 'crazy'. Lennon knows the limitations at Hibs and I'd be surprised if he doesn't apologise for questioning the professionalism of the players who have performed so well for him. He's an intelligent guy, but I think Kris Commons got closest to the truth about Wednesday night by saying his 'head was all over the place'. Having watched his interview you can see that the frustration at performing so strongly in the first three post-split games only to falter against the weakest opposition in the top six got the better of him.
I don't think he is looking for success 'at all costs', just an indication that the board are aware of how tough it will be to maintain (and hopefully even improve) on the high standards set. Personally I'm glad we missed out on guys like Lafferty (whose decision to sign for Hearts appeared to have an element of favouring the supposedly 'Protetstant' club), while splashing out a reported 8-9k a week on Naismith for no better than a sixth-place finish is not a road I imagine Lennon would advocate. I'm talking more about trying to make sure we compete with the likes of Aberdeen by stretching the budget a little. Yes, there's a finite limit to the crowds at ER but the increase in attendances has been phenomenal since the cup win and there's no reason to think we can't maintain that level IF we can continue to compete at the top end of the table. Such attendances will ensure a far bigger income for the club than in previous years and I'd like to think that can be reflected to some extent in our transfer dealings.
LichtieHibby
11-05-2018, 11:01 AM
Matching his ambition is a nonsense statement.
We’ll be as ambitious as we can be in order to be as successful as we can be, if that is too slow for Lennon then he needs to move on.
I seem to remember when Tony Mowbray was here he said something about the shelf life of a manager at a club like hibs is around two years, I’m starting to wonder if he was right.
Since the last long stay (Alex Miller): (Name, Start, End, Days, Years)
Jim Duffy 30/12/1996 03/02/1998 400 1.1
Alex McLeish 11/02/1998 11/12/2001 1399 3.8
Franck Sauzée 14/12/2001 21/02/2002 69 0.2
Bobby Williamson 25/02/2002 20/04/2004 785 2.2
Tony Mowbray 24/05/2004 13/10/2006 872 2.4
John Collins 31/10/2006 20/12/2007 415 1.1
Mixu Paatelainen 10/01/2008 29/05/2009 505 1.4
John Hughes 08/06/2009 04/10/2010 483 1.3
Colin Calderwood 18/10/2010 06/11/2011 384 1.1
Pat Fenlon 27/11/2011 01/11/2013 705 1.9
Terry Butcher 12/11/2013 10/06/2014 210 0.6
Alan Stubbs 24/06/2014 01/06/2016 708 1.9
Neil Lennon 08/06/2016 11/05/2018 702 1.9
I think it's right but apologies for any transpos
vahibbie
11-05-2018, 11:09 AM
A lot of talk about Lennon's ambitions and personal aspirations but what exactly are they?
To win in Scotland he's really only looking at Celtic, but he's been there and done that and to be fair it's hardly a challenge with their resources. Being realistic, to win in England he's looking at maybe 5 or 6 clubs and there's a snowballs chance in hell of him getting the job in one of those.
I'm not sure I know what he's looking for, maybe he's not sure either. Staying with Hibs may not bring the "win" he wants but keeping them in the mix is certainly a challenge and has to be quite rewarding.
Anyway, lets hump the Huns on Sunday:agree:
11-05-2018, 11:13 AM
A lot of talk about Lennon's ambitions and personal aspirations but what exactly are they?
To win in Scotland he's really only looking at Celtic, but he's been there and done that and to be fair it's hardly a challenge with their resources. Being realistic, to win in England he's looking at maybe 5 or 6 clubs and there's a snowballs chance in hell of him getting the job in one of those.
I'm not sure I know what he's looking for, maybe he's not sure either. Staying with Hibs may not bring the "win" he wants but keeping them in the mix is certainly a challenge and has to be quite rewarding.
Anyway, lets hump the Huns on Sunday:agree:
Taking a team with a realistic chance of English prem from the championship to the promised land is both realistic and a big step up from Hibs in terms of prestige (and money but I don't think he's money driven). He'd not be happy when he got there mind. :wink:
11-05-2018, 11:21 AM
If he wants to leave for England, fine but he should admit it. But who's gonna take him there? He won't walk into the premier league so he's looking at the championship or lower.. and we know how ruthless they are- a few losses and your out!
11-05-2018, 11:26 AM
I think it is a strange post. What exactly are you disagreeing with?
That we should just match Lennons ambition and give him what he wants in order to keep him happy here.
We can only give him what we can afford, if that doesn’t match his ambition then so be it.
Johnny Clash
11-05-2018, 11:41 AM
That we should just match Lennons ambition and give him what he wants in order to keep him happy here.
We can only give him what we can afford, if that doesn’t match his ambition then so be it.
Do you know that we cannot afford what Lenny wants?
11-05-2018, 11:47 AM
whens todays presser?
11-05-2018, 11:52 AM
Do you know that we cannot afford what Lenny wants?
No, but he’s the one casting doubt over the club matching his ambition and I trust that the board will be giving him every penny they can.
11-05-2018, 12:02 PM
What time is the press conference?
11-05-2018, 12:05 PM
From STVs Paul Barnes
“Neil Lennon, due to appear at pre-match media conference any time now, wasn’t at Hibs training this morning. Marvin Bartley, speaking to media, says players haven’t seen their manager since Wednesday night.”
11-05-2018, 12:05 PM
From STVs Paul Barnes
“Neil Lennon, due to appear at pre-match media conference any time now, wasn’t at Hibs training this morning. Marvin Bartley, speaking to media, says players haven’t seen their manager since Wednesday night.”
Ouch, that's a bit worrying. Beginning to wonder if he's OK.
11-05-2018, 12:06 PM
From STVs Paul Barnes
Brilliant :hilarious
Salt N Sauzee
11-05-2018, 12:06 PM
From STVs Paul Barnes
Lennon's just acting like a total walloper now. Embarrassing.
11-05-2018, 12:07 PM
Brilliant :hilarious
You can laugh at a thing like that? Arse.Let's pray he's ok.
From STVs Paul Barnes
“Neil Lennon, due to appear at pre-match media conference any time now, wasn’t at Hibs training this morning. Marvin Bartley, speaking to media, says players haven’t seen their manager since Wednesday night.”This is getting a bit concerning now...what kind of a state of mind will the squad be in for Sunday when our manager has done a disappearing act since Weds night??
seanoheimhin
From STVs Paul Barnes
Just saw that, not sure what to make of it. Will hold off on judgement until details become clear, but doesn't sound great does it?
11-05-2018, 12:08 PM
Would the players not have had the day off yesterday anyway?
11-05-2018, 12:08 PM
From STVs Paul Barnes
Sounds bad.
11-05-2018, 12:09 PM
You can laugh at a thing like that? Arse.Let's pray he's ok.
Yeah I'm thoroughly enjoying this :aok:
11-05-2018, 12:10 PM
Would the players not have had the day off yesterday anyway?
Do they not normally go in the day after for some light conditioning work?
11-05-2018, 12:12 PM
He apparently had a meeting with Dempster and Craig yesterday. Not turned up at the press conference yet. Club are expecting him to be there.
thegaffer12
Actually can't help feeling a bit worried about Lennon. I hope its only a case of him being on an extended strop, but all the players will take Sunday into their own hands and give the fans what we want like they've done for 90% of this year.
I feel a bit guilty about speculating over his mental well-being, but the avoidance of players (both before and after the game) is slightly worrisome. Hope he’s alright!
11-05-2018, 12:13 PM
Lennon's just acting like a total walloper now. Embarrassing.
Considering his mental heath issues I think calling him a “walloper” is bang out of order. We have no idea if he has had a set back and for all we know the board may have told him to take a couple days off.
11-05-2018, 12:13 PM
Yeah I'm thoroughly enjoying this :aok:
Given NL's well documented battles with depression I'm struggling to see how this is a laughing matter. (Particularly with the sad news re Scott Hutchison today)
11-05-2018, 12:14 PM
Given NL's well documented battles with depression I'm struggling to see how this is a laughing matter. (Particularly with the sad news re Scott Hutchison today)
Wow.
11-05-2018, 12:15 PM
I really don't think that the poster you've quoted see's it as a laughing matter.
11-05-2018, 12:16 PM
Considering his mental heath issues I think calling him a “walloper” is bang out of order. We have no idea if he has had a set back and for all we know the board may have told him to take a couple days off.Not according to the press mate he apparently had a "positive meeting" with the board yesterday?? So why has he done a disappearing act?? Like you I Hope he's OK but worrying times ...amazing how everything has just snowballed after 1 single defeat
11-05-2018, 12:17 PM
I’d like to think that his rant, and now this, were ploys to give Sevco a sense of security for Sunday, but I fear not. Seems a bit odd and worrying to tell the truth. A manager appearing to go AWOL is hardly going to impress his present and any other future employers.
Ps Just read the info about meeting LD yesterday which puts a better light on the matter.
I really don't think that the poster you've quoted see's it as a laughing matter.
Thank you mate.
Considering his mental heath issues I think calling him a “walloper” is bang out of order. We have no idea if he has had a set back and for all we know the board may have told him to take a couple days off.
Nah, i think you're aloud to call someone a wolloper if they're acting like a wolloper, mental health or not. If he's actually taken a strop since realising we're going to finish 4th then he's acting like a wolloper!
Salt N Sauzee
11-05-2018, 12:20 PM
They haven't told him to take a couple days off though. He's expected to appear at a presser today and had a meeting with the board yesterday.
11-05-2018, 12:22 PM
Nah, i think you're aloud to call someone a wolloper if they're acting like a wolloper, mental health or not. If he's actually taken a strop since realising we're going to finish 4th then he's acting like a wolloper!
and if his behaviour is driven by a mental health issue?
11-05-2018, 12:22 PM
Ok.....clearly i've misinterpreted his laughing emoji as something else.
11-05-2018, 12:26 PM
and if his behaviour is driven by a mental health issue?
Doesn't change the fact he's acting like a wolloper does it?
sixtwo
According to Marvin Bartley, none of the players have seen Lennon since Wednesday?
Not the best news before a big game!
timewilltell
You clearly know nothing about, or have ever had to deal with anyone who has depression or mental health issues.
i hope you never have to either....
So if it is his mental health you are still saying he’s a walloper?
We know **** all what is going on with Neil Lennon and the only one who does know is him. Until we are told the full details then I fully back him.
According to Marvin Bartley, none of the players have seen Lennon since Wednesday?
Not the best news before a big game!
Source
Not seen anything about this?
11-05-2018, 12:27 PM
Ffs you are having a nightmare. If anyone is a walloper it’s you.
Source
Marvin Bartley. Being reported by STV.
SourcePaul Barnes STV News on Twitter mate plus a few other journos
11-05-2018, 12:28 PM
We know **** all what is going on with Neil Lennon and the only one who does know is him. Until we are told the full details then I fully back him.
This. Let's find out what's going on before name calling
11-05-2018, 12:28 PM
He acting out of the information he has through his thinking in the moment, doing his best with the info available. That’s all we have to go on but in a busy head state that informations not the most reliable. Name calling doesn’t help anyone.
sixtwo
11-05-2018, 12:29 PM
Source
Barnes from STV - twitter
Bingo
He has a point. I know from first-hand experience that mental health problems are horrible to deal with, but you’re still conscious of how you’re acting. It makes his actions more understandable, but doesn’t make him less culpable. We might be off the mark completely anyway, could just be a tantrum.
shetlandhibee
this :top marks
11-05-2018, 12:30 PM
Pathetic
11-05-2018, 12:31 PM
👍 What's to say I don't have mental health issues?
11-05-2018, 12:31 PM
Settle down. As mentioned they no doubt had they day off yesterday unless told otherwise (someone here might know better), so effectively he hasn't taken training this morning. Lets not get too wound up until we hear otherwise.
Also it's a little irresponsible of Paul Barnes to tweet that then not provide an update pre-presser stating whether or not it's on and if Lennon has shown up.
11-05-2018, 12:32 PM
He has a point. I know from first-hand experience that mental health problems are horrible to deal with, but you’re still conscious of how you’re acting. It makes his actions more understandable, but doesn’t make him less culpable. We might be off the mark completely anyway, could just be a tantrum.
You don’t know anything about his first hand experience though.
He doesn’t have a point at all, we know nothing why he wasn’t there. Only Lennon knows so instead of jumping the gun and name calling maybe keep it shut and back the man.
Paul Barnes STV News on Twitter mate plus a few other journos
Presume Bartley is up for the press conference
11-05-2018, 12:33 PM
You don’t know anything about his first hand experience though.
It doesn’t matter. It doesn’t excuse his actions. If there’s collateral damage then it’s not just about the person who’s suffering from mental health problems.
11-05-2018, 12:33 PM
Until we know anything 100% can we please stop the bickering. You said this, so I'll say that to you- it's so draining to read.
11-05-2018, 12:34 PM
Presume Bartley is up for the press conferenceMust be as he's directly quoted as telling press players haven't seen or heard from Lennon since Weds night??
11-05-2018, 12:35 PM
He doesn’t have a point at all, we know nothing why he wasn’t there. Only Lennon knows so instead of jumping the gun and name calling maybe keep it shut and back the man.
Read back. If true. I know it's not confirmed and hearsay. I also didn't start the wolloper chat. If it is true and it is due to him having mental health issues then of course I sympathise, however it doesn't change the fact that it's childish behaviour. He's the manager of hibernian, paid to do a job and spitting the dummy (if that's what had actually happened) is pathetic.
Salt N Sauzee
11-05-2018, 12:35 PM
Crazyhorse
11-05-2018, 12:36 PM
Must be as he's directly quoted as telling press players haven't seen or heard from Lennon since Weds night??
It would be a bit odd if none of the management were involved in the press conference.
11-05-2018, 12:36 PM
It doesn’t matter. It doesn’t excuse his actions. If there’s collateral damage then it’s not just about the person who’s suffering from mental health problems.
You have no idea what’s driving his actions. His mental wellbeing at the moments a wee bit more important than turning up at a press conference. We don’t know the full story so there’s nothing to debate.....Just guess..
11-05-2018, 12:37 PM
Ok.....clearly i've misinterpreted his laughing emoji as something else.
I said 'brilliant' as well. Do you think I think this is brilliant?
11-05-2018, 12:38 PM
Read back. If true. I know it's not confirmed and hearsay. I also didn't start the wolloper chat. If it is true and it is due to him having mental health issues then of course I sympathise, however it doesn't change the fact that it's childish behaviour. He's the manager of hibernian, paid to do a job and spitting the dummy (if that's what had actually happened) is pathetic.
bloody hell. You think mental health issues are reserved to folk in non prestigious positions?
Theres definitely something pathetic here
11-05-2018, 12:39 PM
Unbelievable comment mate.
11-05-2018, 12:39 PM
bloody hell. You think mental health issues are reserved to folk in non prestigious positions?
Theres definitely something pathetic here
WTF are u on about?
RossScott1991
11-05-2018, 12:40 PM
Bartley quotes saying players surprised by comments as feel.had a great season
He’s driving a wedge between himself the players and support. Irony calling players unprofessional after all this carry on. Take a derby defeat gracefully and stop deflecting from your poor team selection on the night mr lennon
11-05-2018, 12:40 PM
Presume Bartley is up for the press conference
Bartley has done his bit. Lennon was due at 1pm and Hibs told journos they expected him there but no word so far if he has arrived late.
11-05-2018, 12:42 PM
WTF are u on about?
You think because he has a job as manager at Hibs, and is paid - means he cant or doesnt have genuine mental health issues
Which, on occasions override his ability to do said job
And if they do, then hes being childish?
11-05-2018, 12:42 PM
I said 'brilliant' as well. Do you think I think this is brilliant?
I've no idea......irony doesn't really come across well in one word posts and emojis. I'm assuming now you were being ironic so apologies if I've offended you.
11-05-2018, 12:43 PM
You think because he has a job as manager at Hibs, and is paid - means he cant or doesnt have genuine mental health issues
I don’t think that’s what he’s saying at all.
11-05-2018, 12:44 PM
Bartley has done his bit. Lennon was due at 1pm and Hibs told journos they expected him there but no word so far if he has arrived late.
Someone just said he’s not arrived. At what point is he ‘missing’?
Bartley has done his bit. Lennon was due at 1pm and Hibs told journos they expected him there but no word so far if he has arrived late.What a mess!! Can't believe how things have unravelled so spectacularly since full time on weds night...none of us seen this coming a week ago.
If it's not down to his mental health and I'd say chances are it's not if he attended a meeting with both LD and GC yesterday as reported - he's gonna end up getting himself sacked here for gross misconduct...maybe that's what he wants??
All very disappointing after such a great season
Gavin McCafferty of the Press Association has just tweeted they're still waiting for Lennon.
11-05-2018, 12:45 PM
Nope, you're just making this up now.
My point is, whether this is due to mental health issues or not, it's childish behaviour (if true). I'm using childish behaviour as I'm not comfortable using wolloper btw, call it what you want.
11-05-2018, 12:46 PM
Regardless of what was said the other night, i realy think it wouldnt be in his nature to go awol before facing rangers. Definitely worrying if hes been a no show.
11-05-2018, 12:47 PM
Gavin McCafferty of the Press Association has just tweeted they're still waiting for Lennon.
Same guy also reporting that Hibs say the talks with Dempster yesterday were ‘positive’. This is all a bit weird.
11-05-2018, 12:47 PM
How does it not change things?! I suggested yesterday that Lennon's manner in the post-match interview hinted that there might be more to this than simply being furious at a lame derby defeat. For a guy with such well documented issues with depression, we don't know how much this season may have taken out of him. As somebody else has pointed out the tragic death of Scott Hutchison underlines that these kind of health issues can affect anyone you might otherwise think is at the top of their game. To dismiss the possibility that this is health related as 'childish behaviour' comes across as childish in itself.
11-05-2018, 12:48 PM
Same guy also reporting that Hibs say the talks with Dempster yesterday were ‘positive’. This is all a bit weird.
Think Dempster would have to say they were positive, she couldn’t really say anything else
11-05-2018, 12:49 PM
How does it not change things?! I suggested yesterday that Lennon's manner in the post-match interview hinted that there might be more to this than simply being furious at a lame derby defeat. For a guy with such well documented issues with depression, we don't know how much this season may have taken out of him. As somebody else has pointed out the tragic death of Scott Hutchison underlines that these kind of health issues can affect anyone you might otherwise think is at the top of their game. To dismiss the possibility that this is health related as 'childish behaviour' comes across as childish in itself.
Well said 👍
Nope, you're just making this up now.
My point is, whether this is due to mental health issues or not, it's childish behaviour (if true). I'm using childish behaviour as I'm not comfortable using wolloper btw, call it what you want.
You are missing the point.
Should be sending Parker in, at least. We’re not the dirty Huns, and dirty Jambos, who don’t talk to the press after a defeat
11-05-2018, 12:50 PM
I think the indications are that this is a far deeper issue than getting beaten in a derby. I hope Lennon is okay and that we as a club do all we can to support him.
11-05-2018, 12:50 PM
Bit concerned for NL now, tbh.
11-05-2018, 12:51 PM
You need to stop conflating the 2 things. He’s saying that irrespective of what drove the actions, they are not befitting of the manager of our club. I sympathise with NL if it’s depression related, but we are all in charge of our own actions and are still rightly held accountable for them.
I think we can all agree that Lennon’s well-being if he’s in a bad state is the most important thing though.
I’m worried about him. All this calling him names out of order imo. This is completely out of character for Lennon. He’s seemed a bit off this last week.
I'm not dismissing anything. All I'm saying is IMO, whatever the mitigating circumstances, if this is true, it's (whatever behaviour you want to call it). 🙄
I'm really sorry if I've offended anyone, not my intention at all.