View Full Version : The Derby

05-05-2018, 04:16 PM
Onto Wednesday and it's a must win. We need to take the game to them from the off and improve on our performance the last 3 derbies there.

05-05-2018, 04:22 PM
It is a must win.
Kind of glad about that. Get at them from the off.
Hope hibs don't get sucked into playing hearts at hoofball. They are the specialists at such.

05-05-2018, 04:24 PM
Cant wait. Lets get right at them from kick off.

05-05-2018, 04:25 PM
I can’t see us winning there. When was the last time we even scored

05-05-2018, 04:27 PM

December in the last league game

05-05-2018, 04:28 PM
Does scoring goals and the incompetent officials on the night not giving it count ?

05-05-2018, 04:29 PM
I've no doubt we will beat them[emoji1184][emoji1184]

Sent from my VTR-L09 using Tapatalk

05-05-2018, 04:30 PM
I'd be gutted with a point. I know it's a derby but we have the momentum and something to play for.

05-05-2018, 04:43 PM
Does scoring goals and the incompetent officials on the night not giving it count ?

If it’s not officially been given then it’s not a goal unfortunately

05-05-2018, 04:56 PM
Have Hearts lost at the megadome?
Hopefully Dylan is a bit more confident in wearing the mask. Should Marv be recalled? I might be tempted to stick Barker up beside Kamberi for this one.

05-05-2018, 04:58 PM
It's not a must win unless there's a winner between Aberdeen and rangers the night before.

05-05-2018, 05:05 PM
If it’s not officially been given then it’s not a goal unfortunately

We did score though and that’s official.

Just officially wasn’t given.

We are due a win at the PBS.

They are due a defeat..tomorrow or us..on Wednesday or both !

We can do it but it’s a different sport due to the size of the pitch at the Tiny Library.

RossScott1991
05-05-2018, 05:14 PM
It’s going to be a hard game. Let’s not pretend otherwise, even when we are much better than them wins at tynecastle are so few and far between. I can honestly see another draw, we just can’t seem to win the games when it’s not flowing. Hope I’m wrong.

05-05-2018, 05:16 PM

13 goals there in our last 6 visits by my reckoning. 2 v Hearts (3 if you add Oli's 'goal') plus 3 v St Johnstone and 8 v Bonnyrigg 😉

gazzag70
05-05-2018, 05:18 PM
Every Derby is a must WIN regardless of league positions or form. It is time we put these ****bos to the sword at ***********. GGTTH!!!

05-05-2018, 05:22 PM
It is a must win.
Kind of glad about that. Get at them from the off.
Hope hibs don't get sucked into playing hearts at hoofball. They are the specialists at such.

Depends how you define a must win. A draw will still give us a great chance of 3rd regardless of what happens in the other game.

If we were to lose on Wednesday the only disaster for us would be a draw in the other game. Even then 4th place isn’t any disaster in my book.

05-05-2018, 05:35 PM
Be nice if they pick up a couple of injuries and a sending off tomorrow. And get absolutely pumped as well.

HibeeHibernian4
05-05-2018, 05:44 PM
We don’t NEED to win to get second, if the four following results happen.

1) Aberdeen - Rangers, draw

2) Hearts - Hibs, draw

3) Hibs - Rangers, Hibs win

4) Celtic - Aberdeen, Celtic win

Hibs will finish on 70 points, ahead of Aberdeen on goal difference because Aberdeen will drop from +18 in theirs, and we will improve on +17 in ours. Rangers will finish on 69 points.

K.Marx
05-05-2018, 05:51 PM
Will be interesting to see how the Aberdeen v rangers result on Tuesday might effect our approach against hearts the following night. If they draw then we might be more willing to accept a point at tynecastle. If one of them win however, I think you’ll see us go all out for the 3 points

05-05-2018, 05:53 PM
Will be interesting to see how the Aberdeen v rangers result on Tuesday might effect our approach against hearts the following night. If they draw then we might be more willing to accept a point at tynecastle. If one of them win however, I think you’ll see us go all out for the 3 points

It’s weird, in theory a draw in that game could be the worst result for us (if we lose to hearts) or it could be the best result for us if we avoid defeat to hearts.

HFCdeb
05-05-2018, 06:00 PM
20 point gap. Just saying.

05-05-2018, 06:01 PM
Cardigan wholesalers in gorgie prepared for a quiet night.

05-05-2018, 08:25 PM
As far as they'll be concerned, Wednesday marks their final - and only - game of the post-split fixtures - Potter will have them fired-up so our boys should be on alert for their usual savage tackling !. However, I really think SJM and the other players are totally fixated on finishing on a high and if so, Hearts won't be able to do a single thing about it as, player-for-player, we are by far the superior team ! A couple of early goals for us and there's no telling what long-term damage we could do to them !!

C'mon the Hibees - just do it :flag:

05-05-2018, 08:30 PM
We’ll never have a better chance to win at their midden. 0-2 Hibs.

05-05-2018, 08:33 PM
Just win. They’re pish. We’re gid. Nae excuses.

cappoquinboy
05-05-2018, 08:38 PM
We will win

05-05-2018, 09:37 PM
A win there would be fantastic, we haven't won there since 2013. That's 8 games.

Their recent form means nothing, the only thing they can do this season is end ours and that's more than enough motivation.

Gogs07
05-05-2018, 09:54 PM
The inbred will lose all the split matches, so 0-3!!

Tom Hart RIP
06-05-2018, 08:07 AM
Anyone know if Behind the Goals will be open and showing the game?

06-05-2018, 08:17 AM
Lets kick it off with them getting skudded today. We don’t want them to have any wind in their sails

06-05-2018, 08:59 AM
Anyone know if Behind the Goals will be open and showing the game?

I was hoping they might be

06-05-2018, 09:52 AM
Lets kick it off with them getting skudded today. We don’t want them to have any wind in their sails
Celtic will want to avenge their last loss at the PBS . Back to back 3-1 (edit :) losses for the pink Orcs .

06-05-2018, 01:07 PM
Is Bartley fit for Wednesday? Want him in the middle against these hammer throwers. Need him to protect out ball players.

woodyhfc4892
06-05-2018, 01:27 PM
After watching today’s game we will need to be up for the fight as that is the only thing they have, no football!

06-05-2018, 01:58 PM
A must win for Hibs, away to Hearts, somewhere we've not won since 2013? How many times in the last 20 years have we won there? 5-6 times if that? Don't get your hopes up.

06-05-2018, 04:11 PM
A must win for Hibs, away to Hearts, somewhere we've not won since 2013? How many times in the last 20 years have we won there? 5-6 times if that? Don't get your hopes up.

That’s the spirit.

How often in those 20 years have we been so far ahead and so much better than them?

06-05-2018, 04:17 PM

It’s not a must win game at this stage, there’s a very good chance a draw will be enough for us to finish third which would be a more than acceptable season.

How many times had we won the Scottish cup before we pumped rangers 3-2 in 2016?

History means nothing In Wednesdays game, it’ll be a tough game and by no means a banker but we’ve every reason to be confident no matter how much you play down our chances.

06-05-2018, 05:22 PM
After the game today we know two things:

1) The grass will be even longer.
2) They will kick lumps out of ever Hibs player.

DunblaneHibby
07-05-2018, 06:44 AM
I need to collect tickets for Wednesday's derby is the ticket office open today?

07-05-2018, 07:27 AM
Lafferty and Souttar both doubts. While I don’t rate him, Lafferty being out would be good news. I’d be disappointed if Souttar is out though, he sells the jerseys most times I see him. His defending yesterday when Dembele hit the bar was laughable.

07-05-2018, 07:28 AM
I need to collect tickets for Wednesday's derby is the ticket office open today?

Yes, think from 10am

07-05-2018, 07:31 AM
Lafferty and Souttar both doubts. While I don’t rate him, Lafferty being out would be good news. I’d be disappointed if Souttar is out though, he sells the jerseys most times I see him. His defending yesterday when Dembele hit the bar was laughable.

No doubt both play. Was the same before the last derby at ER with half their team being doubts. Milinkovic is the only one who has a wee bit about him going forward so if he’s still out Im happy. We’ve dealt with Lafferty easily all season.

07-05-2018, 07:38 AM
No doubt both play. Was the same before the last derby at ER with half their team being doubts. Milinkovic is the only one who has a wee bit about him going forward so if he’s still out Im happy. We’ve dealt with Lafferty easily all season.

Aye they’ll both play. And I agree Lafferty has been atrocious against us, but he’s still scored a few goals. If I had to choose I’d say I’d rather he was out than in, but I’m not fussed. Definitely want Souttar playing though.

07-05-2018, 07:41 AM
Usual predictable mind games from Hearts, can't remember how many times John Roberston was "injured" in the run up to a derby only to miraculously recover on the morning of the match and make the starting 11.