The Rangers 1 up. FFS.

05-05-2018, 03:43 PM
Huns 1-0

Bas*ards

Keep the faith we're gonna win 1-0

heres hoping as well, only got Hibs net to keep me up to date and dont have any fingers left.

Mordor select 1 nil up, crucial to get at least a point now.

Austinho
We need to go for it now.

05-05-2018, 03:44 PM
The Rangers 1 up. FFS.

Awe Naw

The Rangers 1 up. FFS.

More annoying as we could and should be two up

5 mins +

We've went back to just hoofing it up the park, no movement, dreadful stuff.

RossScott1991
This has been passive, best way to describe this 2nd half.

No intensity to go find winner. Those McLaren misses could be very haunting at end of season

05-05-2018, 03:46 PM
All a bit unimaginative up front.

05-05-2018, 03:46 PM
This has been passive, best way to describe this 2nd half.

No intensity to go find winner. Those McLaren misses could be very haunting at end of season

Seen this scenario too many times in the past, we need a goal.

05-05-2018, 03:48 PM
If scores stay same need two wins to get 2nd or 3rd.

05-05-2018, 03:49 PM
If scores stay same need two wins to get 2nd or 3rd.

Did we not need a win to get 2nd?

05-05-2018, 03:50 PM
we just can't get that extra break to push on from

05-05-2018, 03:50 PM

Nope

05-05-2018, 03:51 PM
Jeezo that was a chance for the Sheep.

we just can't get that extra break to push on from

wasn't the penalty the break ?

Depends on other scores?

FT 0-0 so frustrating that we didn't take those 2 great chances

05-05-2018, 03:52 PM
Penalty I think.

That’ll do.

Nope

we will beat the **** and sevco.

Full time

Point isn't bad

That looked like it should have been a penalty when Boyle went down there.

3 behind and 6 to play.

05-05-2018, 03:53 PM
Now need dons to do us a favour midweek, we need to win then we need to beat Newco next Sunday

That penalty miss! Another 2 points dropped, but all to play for in the last 2 games

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Should have won that but for poor finishing in the first half

Austinho
Surely that was a penalty at the end there???

Could be a massive point, was vital we weren't beaten today.

Strange one; would've taken a point before hand but I'm quite disappointed given how bad that 2nd half was.

Still all to play for, derby is going to be some game now.

05-05-2018, 03:54 PM
We live to fight another day, in seasons past we would have been happy with a point here. It’s been a remarkable first season back in the top flight........and it ain’t over yet!

should have had another penalty at the end, pretty scrappy game but its still a point

I thought so too, the guy put his hand across Boyle's face and pulled him down.

NZ Green
How many 0-0 games have we had this season? Cant remember the last one. Hearts maybe in the 0-1 draw.

Another, so close to doing the business in the first half, but lacked a wee bit killer instinct!!!!

3 behind and 6 to play.

like i said we just need to beat the **** and sevco now, their is half a million in this so lots of incentive.

Yes it was. Strangely, not mentioned by the Aberdonian commentators.

Draw suits Dons more than us.

If the first one was a penalty that one should've been also.

mentalhibee

Should have been!

2 misses and the wind were against us in this game.

05-05-2018, 03:55 PM
Win our last two and second is ours, as long as The Rangers don't beat Aberdeen, assuming Celtic will beat Aberdeen in the final game.

05-05-2018, 03:55 PM
Should have been!

:agree: Boyle was shoved in the face as he went for the ball.

05-05-2018, 03:56 PM
Yes it was. Strangely, not mentioned by the Aberdonian commentators.

Draw suits Dons more than us.

If the first one was a penalty that one should've been also.

I thought so too, the guy put his hand across Boyle's face and pulled him down.

Aye looking at the replay it looks like Boyle was too quick and went to cut across the front of him and he has just dragged him down.

Terrible game of football , still in the fight for second but we should have had the three points in that.

We live to fight another day, in seasons past we would have been happy with a point here. It’s been a remarkable first season back in the top flight........and it ain’t over yet!

Tremendous season no matter the results in the next two games but Hibs can do it.

It’s still a good result. Win our next two and we’re in Europe. And probably 2nd.

So if Aberdeen lose both games against old firm and Hibs win two remaining fixtures, Hibs will finish 2nd.

Ardenttwo
05-05-2018, 03:57 PM
That was more of a penalty than the first one although the first one was a definite

05-05-2018, 03:58 PM
Pity, as today favoured the Huns, but they and Aberdeen to play each other, so something has to give!!!!

STONE-WALLER - but no great surprise it wasn't given, been like this since January when the Huns announced they need Euro-football to survive !

Win our last two and second is ours, as long as The Rangers don't beat Aberdeen, assuming Celtic will beat Aberdeen in the final game.

It’s fine for Rangers to win on Tuesday as long as we win our 2 games. A draw or a Rangers win seems best to me

In Aberdeens hands.
Win against sevco they get second.
Interestingly it could end up a draw and and a draw in our game. And we would have to beat sevco and hope lesser green wins and second could still be ours.

RossScott1991
That penalty miss is going to be huge. We now ideally need a Aberdeen v rangers draw and have to go to tyne for the win.

How typical is it that its worked out they can officially end our hopes for 2nd..

05-05-2018, 03:59 PM
Ibrox club are the ones who benefit most from today's draw.

A'deen 69
Huns 68
Hibs 66

Santa Cruz
05-05-2018, 04:00 PM
So if Aberdeen lose both games against old firm and Hibs win two remaining fixtures, Hibs will finish 2nd.

If that happens would Rangers not be ahead of us on goal difference?

If we win our last 2 games we are guaranteed 3rd and will have a good chance of 2nd as well.. we need to beat Hearts on Wednesday, massive game for us

No - if we win both games and Aberdeen lose to Celtic on the last day we’ll be 2nd. Doesn’t even matter the result midweek between Aberdeen and Rangers.

Assuming I’ve done my sums correctly.

In Aberdeens hands.
Win against sevco they get second.
Interestingly it could end up a draw and and a draw in our game. And we would have to beat sevco and hope lesser green wins and second could still be ours.

Aberdeen could win against sevco and still not be 2nd.

EH54
Win our next two games and I still believe we will finish 2nd
Will need to raise our game a bit though thought we were a bit flat second half

No - a point behind us.

05-05-2018, 04:01 PM
dunno why i've came to this conclusion but is it not preferable wanting sevco and sellick to beat aberdeen :hmmm:

No - we’d be 1 point ahead of the Rangers

A draw between them would do us too.. ideal scenario is a draw between them i think

05-05-2018, 04:02 PM
That penalty miss is going to be huge. We now ideally need a Aberdeen v rangers draw and have to go to tyne for the win.

How typical is it that its worked out they can officially end our hopes for 2nd..

They can end our hopes for second but it doesn't change the fact that they've been absolutely bitched all season and if the stars and planets align and they pull off some sort of miracle the best they can hope is to finish 11 points behind us.

euro Hibby
Not good results today...we needed the win to have it in our hands, no it depends also on how results in other games will go.

dunno why but is it not preferable wanting sevco and sellick to beat aberdeen :hmmm:

I think so. We’d need to beat Hearts though before worrying about a winner takes it all last day.

Poor 2nd half from Hibs - think the wind made it very difficult - point better than nothing, McLaren will rue the misses, Aberdeen can't be certain of anything yet, thought they were poor too ...

Aberdeen could win against sevco and still not be 2nd.

Getting ahead of myself.
A win at hearts is a must now.

05-05-2018, 04:06 PM
Not a bad result at a venue we've struggled. Ideal scenario now is Dons beat Sevco by 1 and get cuffed by Celtic and Hibs beat Hearts and Rangers to secure second, with The Rangers finishing 4th.

05-05-2018, 04:06 PM
Not good results today...we needed the win to have it in our hands, no it depends also on how results in other games will go.

Aberdeen will lose against both of old firm, they always do. All Hibs need to do win two last games imo and 2nd is ours.

05-05-2018, 04:07 PM
Normally a point at Pittodrie against 2nd placed Aberdeen would be very welcome.

If Hibs and Aberdeen both win our midweek games, we'll be well placed going into our final match. Sadly Aberdeen's record against both The Rangers & Celtc is pitiful.

05-05-2018, 04:10 PM
I'd have taken a point before the game. To still be in the mix for second with just two games to go is a great effort in our first season back up.

05-05-2018, 04:11 PM
Aberdeen are an irrelevance now. They will be getting pumped both games.

It's now down to the derby. Come on Hibs.

05-05-2018, 04:12 PM
I don’t think rangers winning today instead of drawing makes much difference.

Match their result during the week and beat them on Sunday and we’ll finish above them. Think the Aberdeen permutations are a bit more complicated as goal difference could be involved.

05-05-2018, 04:12 PM
Normally a point at Pittodrie against 2nd placed Aberdeen would be very welcome.

If Hibs and Aberdeen both win our midweek games, we'll be well placed going into our final match. Sadly Aberdeen's record against both The Rangers & Celtc is pitiful.

We want Aberdeen to get beat!

05-05-2018, 04:13 PM
If Hibs and Aberdeen both win our midweek games, we'll be well placed going into our final match.

Not really. If Aberdeen win it'll be out of our hands on the last day. If the Thes win and we do then it'll be in our hands.

05-05-2018, 04:15 PM
chick young also mentioning lewis was way off his line at the penalty

can we get a retrospective penalty retake ?

05-05-2018, 04:16 PM

That’ll depend what our score is.

I want that game to be a draw. If that happens we’ll only be screwed if we get beat.

05-05-2018, 04:16 PM
chick young also mentioning lewis was way off his line at the penalty

Can they get them back out for a re-take?

05-05-2018, 04:17 PM
Whatever happens, it's been a fantastic season. I just hope we can go into the final game with something at stake (second or third), just to up the ante.

The penalty MacLaren scored at Ibrox was a stinker but it went in, so I can understand why he was on it but I rather have seen a cool head like Whittaker or Allan step up or Kamberi just to batter it in.

Onwards to Tynie...

05-05-2018, 04:17 PM
Not really. If Aberdeen win it'll be out of our hands on the last day. If the Thes win and we do then it'll be in our hands.

I know what you are saying but if Aberdeen win by a goal but get beat by Celtic we’d be above them if we get 6 points. And would at least give us a minimum of 3rd to play for if we fail to win the Derby.

05-05-2018, 04:18 PM
Lets just win our last two games and see where we end up.

Really want us playing for something against Rangers, would be great if a win against Rangers would put us above them, would create a great atmosphere at ER.

05-05-2018, 04:23 PM
I know what you are saying but if Aberdeen win by a goal but get beat by Celtic we’d be above them if we get 6 points. And would at least give us a minimum of 3rd to play for if we fail to win the Derby.
And if we get 6 points and aberdeen get nout we will be 2nd :aok:

05-05-2018, 04:26 PM

Really want us playing for something against Rangers, would be great if a win against Rangers would put us above them, would create a great atmosphere at ER.

Win our last 2 and we’ll be second.

If Aberdeen win their last two then I wouldn’t grudge them 2nd place but i don’t think there’s any chance of that happening.

05-05-2018, 04:28 PM

If we get 6 points and Aberdeen get 3 then I’d still imagine we will finish above them on goal difference as we’d have made up the current shortfall by winning an extra game than them.

05-05-2018, 04:31 PM
There's all sorts of permutations and possibilities as to how things might develop, but when and how often do Aberdeen win against The Rangers? They usually bottle it.

Hibs have to look after their own results and win at PBS on Wednesday. That won't be easy. They will try to kick Hibs off the park.

...WentToMowAnSPL
05-05-2018, 04:34 PM

It feels like Hibs have grown into Easter Road this season now, wheras they were a bit scared of home games at the start of the season... I think we will murder the huns at ER all we need is one good result at Hearts

05-05-2018, 04:36 PM
If we get 6 points and Aberdeen get 3 then I’d still imagine we will finish above them on goal difference as we’d have made up the current shortfall by winning an extra game than them.

Good point,never took goal difference into consideration! Hibs win our two remaining games there's a good chance we come second. In theory Aberdeen v rangers midweek holds no relevance aslong as Aberdeen don't win by a 3 or more and we win.

05-05-2018, 04:37 PM

I think it’s my pessimism mate. If we don’t finish 2nd I’d rather Aberdeen did. An Aberdeen win would mean we still had something to play for irrespective of the derby result

We are a better team than hearts obviously but some folk think 3 points is a given.

05-05-2018, 04:44 PM
Good point,never took goal difference into consideration! Hibs win our two remaining games there's a good chance we come second. In theory Aberdeen v rangers midweek holds no relevance aslong as Aberdeen don't win by a 3 or more and we win.

You’re assuming we beat Hearts though. That’s not a banker by any stretch of the imagination. A draw is the most probable result in both games imo

05-05-2018, 04:44 PM
I wasn't at the game but Chick Dung was saying Louis was well off the line before the penalty was taken but he just got laughed off by Gordon and Miller, is that true?

05-05-2018, 04:48 PM
I don’t think rangers winning today instead of drawing makes much difference.

Match their result during the week and beat them on Sunday and we’ll finish above them. Think the Aberdeen permutations are a bit more complicated as goal difference could be involved.

I think it does make a difference, if they beat Aberdeen and we draw with Hearts we're 4 points behind. Not a disaster though, the guaranteed Euro spot is still within our hands, if we can win our last 2 games.

05-05-2018, 04:49 PM
I wasn't at the game but Chick Dung was saying Louis was well off the line before the penalty was taken but he just got laughed off by Gordon and Miller, is that true?

I and a couple of others at the time said he was off his line.

05-05-2018, 04:54 PM
You’re assuming we beat Hearts though. That’s not a banker by any stretch of the imagination. A draw is the most probable result in both games imo

Not assuming anything just saying if we win two there's a good chance we come 2nd

05-05-2018, 04:54 PM
I think it does make a difference, if they beat Aberdeen and we draw with Hearts we're 4 points behind. Not a disaster though, the guaranteed Euro spot is still within our hands, if we can win our last 2 games.

I’d still be delighted with third spot so I’m not too bothered about that potential scenario.

05-05-2018, 05:02 PM

I was more thinking along the lines of qualifying for Europe, as opposed to finishing second.

Third would be good enough for me.

05-05-2018, 05:05 PM
Bottom line is 4th place is fantastic...anything else is a bonus.

05-05-2018, 05:08 PM
I was more thinking along the lines of qualifying for Europe, as opposed to finishing second.

Third would be good enough for me.

4th is good enough for me!

05-05-2018, 05:08 PM

By at least two strides.

gazzag70
05-05-2018, 05:10 PM
Let’s win our last two games and wherever it leaves us will be good!

05-05-2018, 05:11 PM
Solid today. Gave nothing away. Front two poor. Two poor misses from McLaren and Kamberi had his worst game in a Hibs top. Would have been hooked if we had a striker on the bench.

Ambrose superb. Whittaker as well.

05-05-2018, 05:13 PM
By at least two strides.

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20180505/475d5d0fbda83e91af43ec7ec437aaad.jpg

05-05-2018, 05:15 PM
By at least two strides.

2-3 yards maybe. Not really any worse than the average penalty you’ll see to be honest. Poor effort by Maclaren is the problem

05-05-2018, 05:16 PM
Solid today. Gave nothing away. Front two poor. Two poor misses from McLaren and Kamberi had his worst game in a Hibs top. Would have been hooked if we had a striker on the bench.

I think Lennon realised that a draw today would be a great result and a loss would make things very difficult.

I’m not saying we didn’t try to win but I think most of our play was based on trying to see the game out rather than being adventurous. Imo we’ll look back on today as being a good point.

BlackSheep
05-05-2018, 05:16 PM

Yup, or we win 1 and draw the other and Aberdeen lose both matches, then Rangers would finish 2nd, us 3rd and Aberdeen 4th.

To guarantee Europe without needing Celtic to win the Cup would be an amazing achievement.

Both scenarios are entirely possible, just need the Old Firm to continue their form over Aberdeen.

05-05-2018, 05:17 PM
Disappointing considering the missed penalty but it was a real battle.

Aberdeen were dirty and how the Aberdeen coach didn't get sent off for his shove on SJM I will never know.

Second half we fell away - did Aberdeen change formation? - so given that a point is not bad.

chinaman
05-05-2018, 05:19 PM
lets hope thats his last penalty for us.

05-05-2018, 05:20 PM
Checking the penalty - the keeper takes four steps and closes the angle a good beit before the ball is kicked. Decent penalty now that I watched it.

It’s nowhere near the corner so it’s a poor penalty to me. Hopefully his last

05-05-2018, 05:20 PM
See what frustrates me about that pen miss is that any Hibs supporter who has been paying attention knows that MacLaren was a lucky boy with his pen against rangers.

Lennon should have it drilled into them who the penalty taker is no matter what, and no chance does he think MacLaren is our best pen taker!

Completely shot ourselves in the foot by not being decisive enough.

05-05-2018, 05:24 PM
I think Lennon realised that a draw today would be a great result and a loss would make things very difficult.

I’m not saying we didn’t try to win but I think most of our play was based on trying to see the game out rather than being adventurous. Imo we’ll look back on today as being a good point.

Decent point but I thought we were just poor in the second half. Didn’t pass the ball well at all. Thought the teams kind of cancelled each other out.

05-05-2018, 05:25 PM
See what frustrates me about that pen miss is that any Hibs supporter who has been paying attention knows that MacLaren was a lucky boy with his pen against rangers.

Lennon should have it drilled into them who the penalty taker is no matter what, and no chance does he think MacLaren is our best pen taker!

Nonsense imo

He’s a striker that’s scored his only penalty he’s had so far, he’s on a decent run just now so if he felt good about taking it then it made complete sense for him to take it.

Sometimes people miss penalties, it happens and I don’t think it should be over analysed.

05-05-2018, 05:26 PM

Said it just before he hit it, he got lucky with the one at Ibrox.

I thought they were a bit indecisive about who was to take it. Reminded me of the Boyle one up at Tananarice last year.

05-05-2018, 05:28 PM
Players miss plenty pens. Unless you are Hanlon.

05-05-2018, 05:29 PM
Penalties are missed from time to time , let's get over it. Win our next two games we finish atleast 3rd.

05-05-2018, 05:29 PM
Decent point but I thought we were just poor in the second half. Didn’t pass the ball well at all. Thought the teams kind of cancelled each other out.

I thought we were poor second half too but it’s only when I look back at it I wonder if that may have been linked to us not really trying to break forward as much as you might expect.

I might be giving Lennon too much credit but the fact the draw has worked out so well for us it wouldn’t surprise me if the players were under instruction to just try and see the game out and ensure we weren’t caught out defensively. Aberdeen really has no chances at all in the slightest and the draw was a disaster for them imo.

05-05-2018, 05:30 PM
I’d still be delighted with third spot so I’m not too bothered about that potential scenario.

Agree 3rd would be good, don't want to be in 4th watching the cup final hoping for a Celtic win.

05-05-2018, 05:45 PM
Said it just before he hit it, he got lucky with the one at Ibrox.

I thought they were a bit indecisive about who was to take it. Reminded me of the Boyle one up at Tananarice last year.
Kamberi imo should be taking them . Still a good point though. Bookies had us 7-2 to finish 2nd , now we’re 100-30 . Win our next two and imo we will finish 2nd .

euro Hibby
05-05-2018, 05:51 PM
did not think either he was going to score but there you go....everything looked a bit anxious today.

05-05-2018, 06:24 PM
Kamberi imo should be taking them . Still a good point though. Bookies had us 7-2 to finish 2nd , now we’re 100-30 . Win our next two and imo we will finish 2nd .

Would probably get better odds on a double to beat Hearts and Rangers which doesn't even guarantee us 2nd. We are 11/8 to beat Hearts so just odds of 5/6 to beat Rangers makes it 10/3 for the double. I don't think we'll be odds on to beat Rangers. (Disclaimer: don't listen to my betting advice).

It is though possible we could draw the derby and get 2nd, if Aberdeen and Rangers draw on Tuesday, Celtic beat Aberdeen and we beat Rangers.

05-05-2018, 06:35 PM

Yep, those two were fantastic.

I could watch McGregor header a football all day. Never loses anything in the air and clears it a mile.

05-05-2018, 06:41 PM
I thought we were poor second half too but it’s only when I look back at it I wonder if that may have been linked to us not really trying to break forward as much as you might expect.

I might be giving Lennon too much credit but the fact the draw has worked out so well for us it wouldn’t surprise me if the players were under instruction to just try and see the game out and ensure we weren’t caught out defensively. Aberdeen really has no chances at all in the slightest and the draw was a disaster for them imo.
I thought both teams seemed happy to not lose for most of the 2nd half. loads of hoofball. Also dont think a draw is a disaster for them, win at home to the huns and they're 6 clear of us.

euro Hibby
05-05-2018, 06:42 PM
agreed i thought whits was Hibs best today.

05-05-2018, 06:44 PM
Win our last 2 and we’ll be second.

If Aberdeen win their last two then I wouldn’t grudge them 2nd place but i don’t think there’s any chance of that happening.

Ideally it will be between ourselves and Aberdeen for 2nd - would love to see the Hun finish 4th !

05-05-2018, 06:59 PM
I thought both teams seemed happy to not lose for most of the 2nd half. loads of hoofball. Also dont think a draw is a disaster for them, win at home to the huns and they're 6 clear of us.

If you were them would you bank on yourself to beat Rangers at home given their record against them?

I’d have thought Aberdeen would fancy their chances against us more than the rangers.

05-05-2018, 08:51 PM

If that was true, the likes of Liam McLeod (Sheep fan), Miller (ex-sheep player) and Gordon (Sheep), surely would’ve discussed it even-handedly like they did discussing McGinn’s ‘red card’ challenge at HT, as the BBC are impartial. Miller who isn’t born and bred Sheep was often the voice of reason but you could really here the disappointment in McLeod when Hibs launched an attack or the ref gave it against Aberdeen. He shouldn’t be commentating on Dons games. He isn’t professional.

05-05-2018, 09:20 PM
2-3 yards maybe. Not really any worse than the average penalty you’ll see to be honest. Poor effort by Maclaren is the problem
Wasn't a good pen, but not horrendous and actually a better hit than the one he scored v the Hunsh-ites. His missed header was worse. Also, although to be fair I would want to see it again, early on he had a diving header opportunity right in front of goal from a cracking cross. Could have had a hat-trick for 3-0 in first 25.