View Full Version : Jimmy O’Rourke interview in Scotsman

Tom Hart RIP
05-05-2018, 07:50 AM
https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/teams/hibernian/jimmy-o-rourke-interview-only-room-for-one-wee-fat-barrel-at-hibs-1-4735280

Great read. My all time hero

05-05-2018, 07:50 AM
Everyone knows his name

05-05-2018, 08:06 AM
Jimmy, Jimmy O’Rourke everyone knows his name!

HIBS LEGEND!

05-05-2018, 08:08 AM
Absolutely brilliant. Legend. :not worth :flag:

05-05-2018, 08:30 AM
Great stories. One poster on here been outed too [emoji23]

Sent from my F8331 using Tapatalk

PapillonVert
05-05-2018, 08:49 AM
Now there's a man who knew how to connect the ball with the back of the net!

Roxyhibee
05-05-2018, 08:52 AM
Anytime I see him in public, I politely pester him and tell him what he meant to me and my dad. He’s always a gent and chats away.

Great read. Great player. Great Hibby.

05-05-2018, 09:30 AM
Great stories. One poster on here been outed too [emoji23]

Sent from my F8331 using Tapatalk

Do you use the drum scam to get into ibrox as well

xyz23jc
05-05-2018, 09:30 AM
Absolute gold! Love listenin tae these legends, great stories tae! Young Mental Drylaw! :faf:

Risboro Hibby
05-05-2018, 09:43 AM
Thanks for posting. For those of us lucky enough to have seen a Jimmy score goals for fun for Hibs. A fantastic read.

05-05-2018, 10:10 AM
Hibs hero :not worth

05-05-2018, 10:24 AM
Has Aidan Smith ever written an article where he hasn’t felt the need to tell the reader he is middle class?

05-05-2018, 10:47 AM
All he can do is score goals :greengrin:greengrin:greengrin
Aye over 100 of them :top marks

05-05-2018, 10:49 AM
...and his brother with that flaming bell at the games he played in.

05-05-2018, 11:24 AM
Ha Ha
Stan Vincent used to call me Mick the Bell !
He could hear it from the dressing room and say
"Thats Jimmy's wee brother arrived in the Cave."

I just phoned Jimmy to say i read the article this morning.
The first thing i said was " Are you Lee Wallace."
Grassing me tae The Scotsman.
I went to 7 Wembleys and "sneaked in" at 5 of them.
I never took comps. from Jimmy
He widnae have gave me one anyway !
The "drum" game was 1973.
Shilton had that wonder save from a Dalglish hit.
Lost 1-0
The Tornadoes were sat a few rows behind us.
Dressed in Hibs blazers.
They had just been to Spain for a week,i think .
Jimmy blanked me ;-)
We(the other guy i sneaked in with, big Alex Imlach fae the Southside) had been drinking at Covent Garden since 8 in the morning.wae the High Street/Canongate boys.
How the heck did he get up here in the dear seats,he must have thought!

On the genius that was Willie Hamilton.
Jock Stein would have Willie stay at his house on a Friday night sometimes if Hibs had a big game the following day.

Oh and in case anyone misreads the article.
Jimmy never swithered or even considered following the not so noisy neighbours.
Like many in those days it wasn't unusual to go to there to watch a match if your team was playing away. Or for European games.
He took me to games at East End Park when the Pars were in Europe.

Someone mentioned Ibrox.
I have not been there since about 1979.
The cowardly hordes attacking us and the buses at the 3 cup final games that year decided that for me.
The only time since was games at Hampden and the League Cup final 1993 at Celtic Park.
Another final we should have won.
Happy guy i was at THE final.
Nearly missed it.

A pub in Corstorphine is showing the game today.
So thats me sorted.
Looking forward to it with optimism.
Its feels like a Cup Final.

pollution
05-05-2018, 11:32 AM
100 goals before Christmas. 15 goals conceded in 7 days.

That is my memory of the Tornadoes.

05-05-2018, 11:35 AM
https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/teams/hibernian/jimmy-o-rourke-interview-only-room-for-one-wee-fat-barrel-at-hibs-1-4735280

Cheers for posting - one of the club's legends indeed ... great to hear from him again :greengrin

05-05-2018, 05:07 PM
Ha Ha
Stan Vincent used to call me Mick the Bell !
He could hear it from the dressing room and say
"Thats Jimmy's wee brother arrived in the Cave."

I just phoned Jimmy to say i read the article this morning.
The first thing i said was " Are you Lee Wallace."
Grassing me tae The Scotsman.
I went to 7 Wembleys and "sneaked in" at 5 of them.
I never took comps. from Jimmy
He widnae have gave me one anyway !
The "drum" game was 1973.
Shilton had that wonder save from a Dalglish hit.
Lost 1-0
The Tornadoes were sat a few rows behind us.
Dressed in Hibs blazers.
They had just been to Spain for a week,i think .
Jimmy blanked me ;-)
We(the other guy i sneaked in with, big Alex Imlach fae the Southside) had been drinking at Covent Garden since 8 in the morning.wae the High Street/Canongate boys.
How the heck did he get up here in the dear seats,he must have thought!

On the genius that was Willie Hamilton.
Jock Stein would have Willie stay at his house on a Friday night sometimes if Hibs had a big game the following day.

Oh and in case anyone misreads the article.
Jimmy never swithered or even considered following the not so noisy neighbours.
Like many in those days it wasn't unusual to go to there to watch a match if your team was playing away. Or for European games.
He took me to games at East End Park when the Pars were in Europe.

Someone mentioned Ibrox.
I have not been there since about 1979.
The cowardly hordes attacking us and the buses at the 3 cup final games that year decided that for me.
The only time since was games at Hampden and the League Cup final 1993 at Celtic Park.
Another final we should have won.
Happy guy i was at THE final.
Nearly missed it.

A pub in Corstorphine is showing the game today.
So thats me sorted.
Looking forward to it with optimism.
Its feels like a Cup Final.

Great stuff Mick, wonderful memories. I get a wee mention as well because I took the report of the Sporting Lisbon game into my local bar a year or so back & Rui, the owner said he would kill Jimmy when he arrived! Of course instead he bought Jimmy a drink & looked after Jimmy again when he was back again a few weeks ago.

06-05-2018, 11:37 AM
Great stuff Mick, wonderful memories. I get a wee mention as well because I took the report of the Sporting Lisbon game into my local bar a year or so back & Rui, the owner said he would kill Jimmy when he arrived! Of course instead he bought Jimmy a drink & looked after Jimmy again when he was back again a few weeks ago.

Hi Brian
I was going to reply earlier,but i know you would have been at Mass!
James told me about your barman friend in Portugal.
Amazing eh?
I lost my job that night against Lisbon.
Was on night shift working on St Clair Steet building the tunnels for the sewage works
Clocked in at 7 and nipped up the road for the game.

Got grassed ! That Lee Wallace gets aboot!

My goodness James could rattle of these great team line ups from those days.
He also can reel off the 1902 Cup winning side
But told me he couldne get a ticket fur that game.

One time Jimmy was in a bar (no like him) in the toon somewhere.
A guy approached him and said "Ah ken yer face .Did you no "used to be" Jimmy O'Rourke that played wae the Hibs
Used tae be !!
Another time a Jambo said "see that 7-0 game.Hertz could have been two up in the first five minutes "
To which Jimmy replied "Well it would have been 7-2 then !
So many more isn't there ?
I might add that (as you know)when Jimmy played for the Hibs He rarely drank alcohol
Odd beer or two.
He never ever smoked either
Loads of players did back then.
Made up for it later when he had the boozers ;-)

Hopefully see ye next time yer up tae see James and Ann.

06-05-2018, 01:49 PM

Very enjoyable read