View Full Version : Hibs related songs

03-05-2018, 04:40 PM
I'm making playlist of songs for the drive up to Aberdeen and back on saturday and I'm looking for suggestions.

I've got the hibs album from Spotify.

I've got the macgregor, boyle, barker songs that we sing just now.

Got freed from desire

Got a load of the proclaimers

Chelsea dagger (2007 cup final)

Teenage kicks (Mowbray era pre match)

Any other suggestions?

03-05-2018, 04:44 PM
Glory Glory.

Do do do do do do Lewis Stevenson (no idea what the song is called!)

03-05-2018, 04:49 PM
That’s entertainment
The Lion sleeps tonight ( Kamberi song)
Yankie Doodle dandy

7-Heaven
03-05-2018, 04:49 PM
The Mighty Quinn - Manfred Mann. More for the older generation

03-05-2018, 04:54 PM
Run around sue
The silencers - I got a feeling

Aim Here
03-05-2018, 04:54 PM
Dion - Runaround Sue is missing from the list so far.

03-05-2018, 04:57 PM
Star man - David Bowie
That’s Entertainment- The Jam
Carnaval de Paris - Dario G
Freed from Desire - Gala
This is how it feels - inspirational carpets

Prof. Shaggy
03-05-2018, 05:00 PM
The Mighty Quinn - Dylan. More for the older generation

FTFY

On the same songwriter, people tell me the chorus of "Ain't Talkin' " from his Modern Times album says something about "high burnin...".

That's not what I hear.

03-05-2018, 05:03 PM
Sleepy Jean
Earth wind and fire - September - Darren McGregor song

03-05-2018, 05:08 PM
Warburton song - Still Game version

Andy Halliday (After SOL, my absolute favourite)

03-05-2018, 05:13 PM
Not a Hibs song yet but definitely should be.

The Script, Paint the town green.

03-05-2018, 05:14 PM
Warburton song - Still Game version

Andy Halliday (After SOL, my absolute favourite)

What’s the Orig tune for the Halliday song, brain freeze time

tartanhibee
03-05-2018, 05:19 PM
Come on over to my place

Ken
03-05-2018, 05:21 PM
Billy Ray Cyrus - Achy Breaky Heart [emoji1305]

03-05-2018, 05:30 PM
"Cielito Lindo" from the 70's ....

:singing: "Ay yi yi yi - we are the Embra Hibees
Wherever we go, we fear no foe, cos we are the Embra Hibees"

Here's the Mexican fans singing the original song ("Cielito Lindo").
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m03ecX-JCeM

and again ... https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OmBl5SXlVzw

Next to SOL, it's still my fav Hibs song though I haven't heard it at ER for years & years.

The Pointer
03-05-2018, 05:30 PM
'We've got JONES!
Always believe in Rob Jones.
He's indestructible....'

Can't say who sung it though as I wasn't a New Romantic, but it's that era.

(Always a punk.)

The Pointer
03-05-2018, 05:34 PM
"Cielito Lindo" from the 70's ....

:singing: "Ay yi yi yi - we are the Embra Hibees
Wherever we go, we fear no foe, cos we are the Embra Hibees"

Here's the Mexican fans singing the original song ("Cielito Lindo").
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m03ecX-JCeM

Next to SOL, it's still my fav Hibs song though I haven't heard it at ER for years & years.

Or the other version sung at Mexico '86.

"Aye, aye, aye, aye!
Si, si Senores!
My sister Belinda she p****d out the window
And ruined my brand new sombrero!"

03-05-2018, 05:45 PM
"Glory Glory to the Hibees" - aka "John Brown's Body lies a moulding in his grave...."

Also, the tune for Turnbull's Tornados was ripped off "Stewball".

03-05-2018, 05:46 PM
Or the other version sung at Mexico '86.

"Aye, aye, aye, aye!
Si, si Senores!
My sister Belinda she p****d out the window
And ruined my brand new sombrero!"

Aw shucks, you've spoiled my favourite song. :boo hoo:

03-05-2018, 05:46 PM
I'm making playlist of songs for the drive up to Aberdeen and back on saturday and I'm looking for suggestions.

I've got the hibs album from Spotify.

I've got the macgregor, boyle, barker songs that we sing just now.

Got freed from desire

Got a load of the proclaimers

Chelsea dagger (2007 cup final)

Teenage kicks (Mowbray era pre match)

Any other suggestions?

Alive and kicking (Collins era)

03-05-2018, 05:48 PM
Moby - why does my heart feel so bad (Mixu hattrick 6-2 game)

03-05-2018, 06:04 PM
Theme from The Magnificent Seven

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9iteRKvRKFA - Sound track

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xb3FtDzex_w - John Barry 7

03-05-2018, 06:07 PM
Feargal Sharkey- A good hearts these days is hard to find

03-05-2018, 08:04 PM
From 70s away games, these 2 were favourites......

1) The Wild Rover

Words exactly the same as original song

2) Molly Malone

In Dublin's fair city
Where the girls are so pretty
I first set my eyes on sweet Molly Malone
As she wheeled her wheelbarrow
Through the streets broad and narrow
Crying - "clap, clap; clap, clap, clap; clap, clap, clap, clap - HIBEES!!

03-05-2018, 08:24 PM
From 70s away games, these 2 were favourites......

1) The Wild Rover

Words exactly the same as original song

2) Molly Malone

In Dublin's fair city
Where the girls are so pretty
I first set my eyes on sweet Molly Malone
As she wheeled her wheelbarrow
Through the streets broad and narrow
Crying - "clap, clap; clap, clap, clap; clap, clap, clap, clap - HIBEES!!

Boy, they take me back :greengrin

Aim Here
03-05-2018, 08:50 PM
Richie Valens - La Bamba (the Martin Bartley song)

BurghHibby
03-05-2018, 09:09 PM
Seeing as it’s Albert Kidd day, how about Stop Your Sobbing by the Pretenders, as played on Radio Forth by Jay Crawford the Monday after they blew the league.

03-05-2018, 09:25 PM
Glory Glory.

Do do do do do do Lewis Stevenson (no idea what the song is called!)

This Girl by Kungs v Cookin' on 3 Burners.

'We've got JONES!
Always believe in Rob Jones.
He's indestructible....'

Can't say who sung it though as I wasn't a New Romantic, but it's that era.

(Always a punk.)

Gold by Spandau Ballet.

03-05-2018, 09:55 PM
It all sounds horrific.
Folk will be jumping oot the windaes long before Aberdeen :wink:

Austinho
03-05-2018, 10:59 PM
‘Henderson to Deliver’ by Jack McLeod (available on Spotify).

Hibs Heroes - Colin Chisholm

Straight out of Leith - Liam Fontaine

Austinho
03-05-2018, 11:08 PM
The silencers - I got a feelingDo you mean ‘I Can Feel It’? I really recognise it - can’t remember what the Hibs connection is though? Did we play it before games once upon a time?

03-05-2018, 11:36 PM
Do you mean ‘I Can Feel It’? I really recognise it - can’t remember what the Hibs connection is though? Did we play it before games once upon a time?

Yea that's the one. It's been a pre match song for quite a few years I think.

Austinho
03-05-2018, 11:50 PM
Does anyone know the name of these or when you can get hold of MP3s of these bad boys? All Hibs songs taken from previous videos. Serious blasts from the pasts!

Time to go for glory, tell the Hibees story.
https://youtu.be/lXfHId42b8Y?t=36m45s

Hibernian, we'll always be there by your side when you need us.
https://youtu.be/FLImNQYaCuQ?t=1m32s

Hibernian, Hibernian, no matter what you do.
https://youtu.be/UgWTbzb5oBU?t=9m14s

04-05-2018, 02:07 AM
Before my time but...

Sloop John B - Beach Boys

04-05-2018, 06:03 AM
Natural Order by Stu James

iTunes and Spotify

Very shuttle references to it being restored [emoji16]

04-05-2018, 06:08 AM
We are HIBS ! On you tube.

HibsTalk
04-05-2018, 06:16 AM
Could always get the latest episode of Hibs Talk on? [emoji12] that's on Spotify

But in all seriousness for the bus Born Slippy by Underworld

Also HibeesBounce put together a massive playlist over the course of last season. Worth a look.

https://open.spotify.com/user/11134318983/playlist/7f6PkzYuk8GsIZHAzKTARt?si=4MitlH96TOiiOACLcpgW9w

Austinho
04-05-2018, 06:20 AM
The teams used to walk out to Prodigy - Invaders Must Die around the time the East was being built. Always reminds me of Hibs that one.

04-05-2018, 06:29 AM
https://youtu.be/s0GIaJuan9Y

Hey Baby

nomad
04-05-2018, 06:47 AM
It's actually a hymn. Battle Hymn of the Republic

Mine eyes have seen the glory of the coming of the Lord:
He is trampling out the vintage where the grapes of wrath are stored;
He hath loosed the fateful lightning of His terrible swift sword:
His truth is marching on.

Glory, glory, hallelujah!

I have seen Him in the watch-fires of a hundred circling camps,
They have builded Him an altar in the evening dews and damps;
I can read His righteous sentence by the dim and flaring lamps:
His day is marching on.

I have read a fiery gospel writ in burnished rows of steel:
"As ye deal with my contemners, so with you my grace shall deal;
Let the Hero, born of woman, crush the serpent with his heel,
Since God is marching on."

Since God is marching on.

He has sounded forth the trumpet that shall never call retreat;
He is sifting out the hearts of men before His judgment-seat:
Oh, be swift, my soul, to answer Him! be jubilant, my feet!
Our God is marching on.

In the beauty of the lilies Christ was born across the sea,
With a glory in His bosom that transfigures you and me:
As He died to make men holy, let us die to make men free,
While God is marching on.

He is coming like the glory of the morning on the wave,
He is Wisdom to the mighty, He is Succour to the brave,
So the world shall be His footstool, and the soul of Time His slave,
Our God is marching on.

04-05-2018, 07:05 AM

His day is marching on.

Our God is marching on.

I must say our version *****s all over this

04-05-2018, 07:15 AM

His day is marching on.

Our God is marching on.

You actually sat and typed all that out??? What was wrong with a simple GGTTH or are you trying to convert us? There is only one God and one religion on here.