01-05-2018, 07:03 PM
1-1 already in the Real v Bayern game..

Very open---lots of goals left in this

01-05-2018, 07:04 PM
The winners have to face Liverpool.

01-05-2018, 07:06 PM
I've watched a lot of European football this season but I just can't get interested in this one. Two equally dislikeable teams.

01-05-2018, 07:08 PM
I've watched a lot of European football this season but I just can't get interested in this one. Two equally dislikeable teams.

Aye they're both pish compared to Liverpool, what a snore fest.

01-05-2018, 07:09 PM

Oh how I hope I can bring this post to your attention around 9:30 tomorrow night. :greengrin

01-05-2018, 07:12 PM
Oh how I hope I can bring this post to your attention around 9:30 tomorrow night. :greengrin

I thought I would throw you a lifeline mate, knew you would grab it with both hands 😁

01-05-2018, 07:13 PM
Aye they're both pish compared to Liverpool, what a snore fest.
Not that you’re biased or anything :greengrin. I have to agree though, Liverpool have been my favourite team to watch this season. I remember saying to you early in the season after you were a bit down after a bad performance that I thought they could still win the league. I was wrong about that, but the champions league would be a decent second prize. I’d more worried about Liverpool blowing it tomorrow than winning the final.

01-05-2018, 07:19 PM
Not that you’re biased or anything :greengrin. I have to agree though, Liverpool have been my favourite team to watch this season. I remember saying to you early in the season after you were a bit down after a bad performance that I thought they could still win the league. I was wrong about that, but the champions league would be a decent second prize. I’d more worried about Liverpool blowing it tomorrow than winning the final.

The Champions league would be a bigger prize than the league, certainly from a prestige point of view. Six European cups? That's impressive.

That was the same thread I was on, I predicted this was a special team back in September and I got laughed at :greengrin #smug

01-05-2018, 07:21 PM
Interesting stat, Real Madrid v Bayern is the most contested European tie, 26 times they've met previously.

01-05-2018, 07:22 PM
The Champions league would be a bigger prize than the league, certainly from a prestige point of view. Six European cups? That's impressive.

That was the same thread I was on, I predicted this was a special team back in September and I got laughed at :greengrin #smug

It's all down to keeping Moreno away from it.

01-05-2018, 07:24 PM

Yes I remember that thread. We were the only ones who could see the potential in that team. I now believe we are football visionaries and I will refuse to listen to anyone on football matters ever again :greengrin

01-05-2018, 07:24 PM
It's all down to keeping Moreno away from it.

:faf: I never doubted Robertson is the better player.

01-05-2018, 07:28 PM

I'm enjoying it. It's a very open, there's some lovely football being played, and Bayern are taking the game to Madrid.

The CL has been great to watch this year.

01-05-2018, 07:31 PM
I'm enjoying it. It's a very open, there's some lovely football being played, and Bayern are taking the game to Madrid.

The CL has been great to watch this year.

Keep giving match updates then, I'm doing my tax :aok:

01-05-2018, 07:32 PM
Penalty!

01-05-2018, 07:33 PM
Keep giving match updates then, I'm doing my tax :aok:

Half time 1 - 1

01-05-2018, 07:38 PM
0-0 HT in the Spartans v Cove Rangers play-off game

https://twitter.com/CoveRangersFC?ref_src=twsrc%5Egoogle%7Ctwcamp%5Ese rp%7Ctwgr%5Eauthor

It's not often you get the chance to mention Rangers and Real Madrid in the same thread.

euro Hibby
01-05-2018, 07:40 PM
Good flowing football. Some dodgy defending for the first goal and even for the second..

01-05-2018, 07:49 PM
What’s the keeper dain tom.

01-05-2018, 07:50 PM
What a catastrophe!

4 - 2

01-05-2018, 07:54 PM
What a save by Navas!

01-05-2018, 07:54 PM

Or Roma...

01-05-2018, 07:55 PM
Or Roma...

Nah they're oot.

01-05-2018, 07:56 PM
What’s the keeper dain tom.

Aye, and some expect perfection from rocky !

01-05-2018, 08:00 PM
Nah they're oot.

I'm going to bookmark this post. :greengrin Just like I have with the cats "we will hump hearts 0-X" thread..:wink:

01-05-2018, 08:02 PM
Real Madrid have to be the jammiest, luckiest team in the whole of ****ing Europe.

01-05-2018, 08:05 PM
Game on 2-2 and 4-3 on aggregate. Bayern are favourites for me now.

01-05-2018, 08:06 PM
Dunfermline 0-0 Dundee Utd

Stenhousemuir 1-1 Queen's Park

01-05-2018, 08:06 PM
Madrid player on loan to Bayern scores!

01-05-2018, 08:08 PM
Madrid player on loan to Bayern scores!

Unusual for a loan player playing against his parent club.

01-05-2018, 08:09 PM
Aw **** it I'll watch it. No wonder I can't get any work done.

James R does the no celebration thing. Its a bit pathetic now if you ask me. Kiss the badge and do a big giruy I say.

01-05-2018, 08:10 PM
Unusual for a loan player playing against his parent club.

He scored one of the most beautiful goals I've ever seen for Colombia at the last World Cup. He's a tremendous player.

01-05-2018, 08:12 PM
Aw **** it I'll watch it. No wonder I can't get any work done.

James R does the no celebration thing. Its a bit pathetic now if you ask me. Kiss the badge and do a big giruy I say.

Not if he's scoring against the club he's signed for, still a bit strange he's allowed to play against his own team.

He scored one of the most beautiful goals I've ever seen for Colombia at the last World Cup. He's a tremendous player.

Cracking player and that's why he signed for Real and on loan at Bayern.

01-05-2018, 08:13 PM
Spartans behind.

01-05-2018, 08:18 PM
Spartans behind.
Did they not lose the first leg 4-0?

Not if he's scoring against the club he's signed for, still a bit strange he's allowed to play against his own team.

Cracking player and that's why he signed for Real and on loan at Bayern.

Zidane doesn't seem to fancy him, although he might not be around for long. Apparently Bayern have an option to buy at 43m euro, which is cheap in todays market. Assuming hed want to go.

Owen Hargreaves isn't favouring Bayern Munich at all, is he !

01-05-2018, 08:19 PM
I was thinking that earlier.

01-05-2018, 08:21 PM
Zidane doesn't seem to fancy him, although he might not be around for long. Apparently Bayern have an option to buy at 43m euro, which is cheap in todays market. Assuming hed want to go.

Good league, good money and regular Champions League football, why would he not want to go if he sees no future at Real, Bayern are regular semi and quarter finalists.

01-05-2018, 08:22 PM
I was thinking that earlier.
Keeps banging on about 5 first picks missing. It's not like they have replaced them with Brechin City players, FFS.

01-05-2018, 08:24 PM

It's hard not to favour them.

They're the better team by far.

01-05-2018, 08:26 PM
Is there a sponsors event tonight?

01-05-2018, 08:26 PM
Bayern bring on the battering ram.

01-05-2018, 08:27 PM
Good league, good money and regular Champions League football, why would he not want to go if he sees no future at Real, Bayern are regular semi and quarter finalists.

IIRC he was a Madrid fan as a boy, he chose them over a host of other big teams after the last WC.

01-05-2018, 08:27 PM
Bayern bring on the battering ram.

Is that where Grant Holt ended up?

01-05-2018, 08:29 PM
Is there a sponsors event tonight?

Yes at ER

01-05-2018, 08:30 PM
Bayern have lost their way.

I think Madrid are more likely to score now.

01-05-2018, 08:33 PM
Yes at ER

Cheers. Not seen it mentioned anywhere

Renfrew_Hibby
01-05-2018, 08:35 PM

I'm sure Pep and City would rather be heading for a Champions League title than the Premiership.
R.Madrid live for the European Cup, I think Liverpool do too. In South America continental success is valued far more than domestic success. For example, River and Boca are two truly huge clubs but for all they hoover up domestic titles, it's Independiente that hold the bragging rights in Argentina as they have won the most Copa Libertadores.

01-05-2018, 08:35 PM
This is a tense finish. Bayern throwing everything at it, and Real using every trick in the book to run down the clock. Great stuff.

01-05-2018, 08:37 PM
Ronaldo not playing tonight?

01-05-2018, 08:40 PM
Bayern were really unlucky there, but what a game that was. I’ve been really critical of the champions league in the past, but the knockout stages this year have been the best I can remember.

01-05-2018, 08:41 PM
Madrid lucky to get through. Liverpool have a great chance of winning this thing.

Another great game.

Bayern were really unlucky there, but what a game that was. I’ve been really critical of the champions league in the past, but the knockout stages this year have been the best I can remember.

01-05-2018, 08:42 PM
Doesn't matter how you get there, they are in the final.

Madrid lucky to get through. Liverpool have a great chance of winning this thing.

Both Real and Liverpool are great in attack but dodgy at the back, it looks like being a great final as long as Liverpool don't blow up tomorrow.

Really excited for this Liverpool team to get to the final.

01-05-2018, 08:43 PM

No goals, but got back a few times late on to break up play superbly.

01-05-2018, 08:45 PM
There should be a few goals in the final! Neither Real nor Liverpool are exactly rock solid at the back. It'll be a cracker.

01-05-2018, 08:48 PM

It's been amazing :agree: Roma Barca was the best imo. But theres been four or five just as good. Europa league good too.

01-05-2018, 09:12 PM
It's been amazing :agree: Roma Barca was the best imo. But theres been four or five just as good. Europa league good too.
I didn’t watch the Roma Barca game. I think the Liverpool Man City game was on at the same time. It’s not like me to pick the wrong game. The Real Madrid Juventus was also a cracker. For some reason teams seem to have thrown caution to the wind and went for it. Add that to hibs doing the same thing, it makes for a brilliant season.

renato
01-05-2018, 09:16 PM

Yep, that was the best game I’ve seen this season, it had absolutely everything. Might be topped in a week or so, though :greengrin

01-05-2018, 09:28 PM

Does nothing if he doesn't score. The fact people compare him as an all-round player to Messi is laughable.

01-05-2018, 09:34 PM
Does nothing if he doesn't score. The fact people compare him as an all-round player to Messi is laughable.

Do they?

In any case, I assume you think Messi is better than Ronaldo. Therefore you're comparing them too.

Ricky Bobby
01-05-2018, 09:51 PM
Just back from the Pars game.
Standard was pretty poor. Pars will still fancy themselves to go through as they were the better side till the sending off.
If anyone needed it confirming,Bilal Moshni is absolutely garbage.

01-05-2018, 10:17 PM
Do they?

In any case, I assume you think Messi is better than Ronaldo. Therefore you're comparing them too.
No he’s comparing other people comparing him to messi. Compared to the people who compare him to messi that’s completely incomparable.

BegbieHSC
02-05-2018, 12:35 AM
Referee was a disgrace.

Doesn’t matter who you are - if you’re playing against Real in the Champions League, you’re playing against 12 men.

02-05-2018, 01:03 AM

You can't compare them. They're different.

If I wanted a probing wee midfielder who unlocks defences I'd chose Messi.

But if I wanted a fast striker who scores spectacular goals it'd be Ronaldo.

02-05-2018, 01:13 AM
Do they?

Goals scored, major trophies won in two leagues, European trophies and national team success, Only one Ronaldo!

02-05-2018, 06:10 AM
Ronaldo is a fantastic player just unfortunate he plays in the same era as an even better player in Messi.

02-05-2018, 07:12 PM
😁
We’ve conquered all of Europe We’re never gonna stop From Paris down to Turkey We’ve won the ****ing lot

Bob Paisley and Bill Shankly The Fields of Anfield Road We are loyal supporters And we come from Liverpool

Allez Allez Allez Allez Allez Allez Allez Allez Allez Allez Allez Allez

02-05-2018, 07:16 PM
Liverpool have been nothing short of sensational in their last 2 CL ties against City and Roma. Made both those teams look average, which is a heck of a feat. Real will have a game on their hands come the final.

02-05-2018, 07:16 PM
Great run by Andy Robertson before number 2. Fancy he will get more freedom 2nd half too. Liverpool making Roma look ordinary

02-05-2018, 07:18 PM
Naingollan does a Gerrard.
Liverpools front three Sensational again.

renato
02-05-2018, 07:32 PM
Naingollan does a Gerrard.
Liverpools front three Sensational again.

Yep. It’s like they’re both in competition to see who can make the most defensive mistakes :greengrin

02-05-2018, 07:42 PM
Raith Rovers bottling it big time

02-05-2018, 07:54 PM
Blatant penalty for Roma not given. Awful decision to flag Dzeko for offside instead.

Huge let off.

02-05-2018, 07:55 PM
2-2 Dzeko

02-05-2018, 07:55 PM
Raith Rovers bottling it big time

Are you at the game? I thought about going but ended up not being able to. 1-0 away to Alloa on that horrendous pitch doesn't seem like bottling it?

Edit: You may be right as it's now 2-0

02-05-2018, 07:56 PM
Blatant penalty for Roma not given. Awful decision to flag Dzeko for offside instead.

Huge let off.

You've arrived!

renato
02-05-2018, 07:56 PM
Yet more defensive mistakes. Can’t remember seeing so many in one CL campaign, crazy. Makes it exciting though

02-05-2018, 07:58 PM
Should have a Liverpool penalty there that's two we should have had.

02-05-2018, 07:59 PM
Should have a Liverpool penalty there.

Why?

02-05-2018, 07:59 PM
You've arrived!

Nice to see you too. :wink:

Getting a bit edgy yet? :greengrin

02-05-2018, 08:00 PM
Nice to see you too. :wink:

Getting a bit edgy yet? :greengrin

Nope home and dry

02-05-2018, 08:06 PM
Another awful decision against Roma.

Blatant penalty number two.

renato
02-05-2018, 08:06 PM
Nope home and dry

And that was another Roma penalty too :greengrin

Defend like this in the final and it’ll be 4-4!

02-05-2018, 08:07 PM
Nope home and dry

You will be with this referee.

02-05-2018, 08:07 PM
That makes up for the Milner one last week that was never a penalty 😁

renato
02-05-2018, 08:09 PM
Liverpool are appalling at the back, almost as bad as Roma were in the last leg

02-05-2018, 08:22 PM
Terrible challenge from the Roma right back on Mane, hes very lucky it was only a yellow.

02-05-2018, 08:29 PM
3-2 Roma

02-05-2018, 08:29 PM
3-2 Roma

Come on!

renato
02-05-2018, 08:36 PM
Real have spawned their way to the final but they’ll be licking their lips just as much as Liverpool will - both teams will murder each other at the back. Another goalfest

Finally Roma have a penalty!

4-2 Roma

02-05-2018, 08:37 PM

You can if you want 😁

Full time Scousers through 7-6 on aggregate.

As predicted bring on Madrid.

02-05-2018, 08:38 PM

A scoreline that flatters Roma by 2/3 goals.

02-05-2018, 08:38 PM

Christ, what a couple of games. I've never been bothered about the champions league before but this is was what it should be all about.

02-05-2018, 08:39 PM

Never in doubt 😀

02-05-2018, 08:40 PM
You can if you want 😁

Hala Madrid 🇪🇸 :wink:

I think you boys will win it.

Brilliant Liverpool, many congrats. I'm really looking forward to the final already.

02-05-2018, 08:43 PM

Full credit to Klopp and Liverpool. Ok defensively they look a bit dodgy but their tactics and front 3 are as good as anything in Europe at the mo. Going to be a terrific final and you know which team is going to be the more nervous. RM will already have this won in their heads, just as AC Milan did in 05.

02-05-2018, 08:45 PM
Think about it, Jordan Henderson could be a champions league winner. :shocked:

02-05-2018, 08:45 PM
Robertson has had some career in the last five years.

02-05-2018, 08:47 PM
Robertson has had some career in the last five years.

I think 4 years ago he was playing for Queens Park against The Rangers. Obviously Ally Mcoist and the Rangers coaches could spot a player....

02-05-2018, 08:49 PM
Think about it, Jordan Henderson could be a champions league winner. :shocked:

He will lift the trophy as the captain.

02-05-2018, 08:50 PM
I think 4 years ago he was playing for Queens Park against The Rangers. Obviously Ally Mcoist and the Rangers coaches could spot a player....

He had basically given up making it in the pros and was thinking about another career. Amazing,theres hope for all of us :greengrin

02-05-2018, 09:11 PM
Watched Aldershot versus Ebbsfleet in the playoffs - used to live in Aldershot.

Amazing nail biting end to the game. Great entertainment.

02-05-2018, 10:08 PM
It'll be about four each after 90 minutes! What's happened to defences?
That's entertainment I guess.

02-05-2018, 10:24 PM
It'll be about four each after 90 minutes! What's happened to defences?
That's entertainment I guess.

:singing: Neil Lennon and Gary Parker...:greengrin

Mantis Toboggan
03-05-2018, 12:05 AM
He had basically given up making it in the pros and was thinking about another career. Amazing,theres hope for all of us :greengrin

Played against them four or five times that year.
Obviously he was no Lee Wallace.

03-05-2018, 01:21 AM
Played against them four or five times that year.
Obviously he was no Lee Wallace.

Interesting that both those clubs were miles behind the respective winners of the Leagues in their countries. It maybe should be called the Also Rans Continental League Cup rather than the Champions League.

03-05-2018, 05:34 AM
Interesting that both those clubs were miles behind the respective winners of the Leagues in their countries. It maybe should be called the Also Rans Continental League Cup rather than the Champions League.

This. If Liverpool were to win it it'd make a mockery out the competition. Sure they finished 4th in their league last season. It's reasons like that i don't pay much attention to the "Champions" League anymore.

03-05-2018, 06:21 AM
This. If Liverpool were to win it it'd make a mockery out the competition. Sure they finished 4th in their league last season. It's reasons like that i don't pay much attention to the "Champions" League anymore.

It won't make a mockery of the competition at all. Many folk on here have already said this has been the most entertaining CL competition for years. It's a cup competition which ultimately doesn't always result in tbe "best" team winning it pretty much like every other cup competition ever played. Like it or not the CL format is here to stay. Every team that has qualified to play in it regardless of where they finished in their respective leagues has the right to win it. Liverpool have enriched the competition not made a mockery of it.

03-05-2018, 06:35 AM

Not sure it would make a mockery out of the competition but I do agree with your main point which is the Champions League should be for the champions of each country to compete in. Otherwise they should just go back to calling it the European Cup.

Thankfully we won't have to worry about any mockery as Real Madrid won the Spanish title last season. :wink:

03-05-2018, 06:42 AM
Not sure it would make a mockery out of the competition but I do agree with your main point which is the Champions League should be for the champions of each country to compete in. Otherwise they should just go back to calling it the European Cup.

Thankfully we won't have to worry about any mockery as Real Madrid won the Spanish title last season. :wink:

And still you cling on to feint hope. This will be number six pal, try not to get too upset.

03-05-2018, 08:58 AM
And still you cling on to feint hope. This will be number six pal, try not to get too upset.

The banter between you and SDG has been more entertaining than the CL :faf:

03-05-2018, 09:22 AM

I'm sure Ronaldo and co can't wait to get stuck in about that leaky defence. :greengrin

It could be a high scoring game.

03-05-2018, 09:36 AM
It won't make a mockery of the competition at all. Many folk on here have already said this has been the most entertaining CL competition for years. It's a cup competition which ultimately doesn't always result in tbe "best" team winning it pretty much like every other cup competition ever played. Like it or not the CL format is here to stay. Every team that has qualified to play in it regardless of where they finished in their respective leagues has the right to win it. Liverpool have enriched the competition not made a mockery of it.

Have to agree with Scouser, especially the last sentence. Not everyone's favoured format but it is what it is and will stay for some time. If Hibs finish second and qualified for this (which would have been the case not long ago) I would be more than a bit chuffed). Every single competition throughout football has changed and expanded over the years, including the World Cup, so if people don't like the dilution there's not much left to watch.

03-05-2018, 09:45 AM
The banter between you and SDG has been more entertaining than the CL :faf:

Is SDG an Evertonian?

03-05-2018, 09:48 AM
I'm sure Ronaldo and co can't wait to get stuck in about that leaky defence. :greengrin

It could be a high scoring game.

Yes it will be and you would fancy Real giving their big game mentality, incredible amount of luck and helpful refereeing they seem to get in this competition though Liverpool definitely have a chance given their goal threat. Would be great for a Scotsman to win the champions league again.

03-05-2018, 10:14 AM
Yes it will be and you would fancy Real giving their big game mentality, incredible amount of luck and helpful refereeing they seem to get in this competition though Liverpool definitely have a chance given their goal threat. Would be great for a Scotsman to win the champions league again.

Im in this boat. I'm normally all for the English clubs being knocked out but seeing as there's a Scotsman in their side i wouldn't be too disappointed if they were to win it. First since Paul Lambert or did Darren Fletcher win it?

03-05-2018, 10:39 AM
Im in this boat. I'm normally all for the English clubs being knocked out but seeing as there's a Scotsman in their side i wouldn't be too disappointed if they were to win it. First since Paul Lambert or did Darren Fletcher win it?

We all take that as read.

03-05-2018, 11:09 AM

Fletcher won it in 07/08.

03-05-2018, 11:59 AM
Is SDG an Evertonian?

No he's a Manure Utd lover.

03-05-2018, 04:52 PM
No he's a Manure Utd lover.

Gloryhunter

edit: sorry, he couldn't be a gloryhunter or he would have chosen Liverpool.

BFG
03-05-2018, 05:20 PM
Is SDG an Evertonian?
I would hope that he/she was a hibby

03-05-2018, 05:26 PM
Salah will play a blinder then sign for Madrid in the summer.

Fletcher won it in 07/08.
Did he?

Anyone fancy Arsenal to go through tonight?

03-05-2018, 05:32 PM
Gloryhunter

edit: sorry, he couldn't be a gloryhunter or he would have chosen Liverpool.

:faf: Remind me again when Liverpool were last crowned champions of England? Was the bus parade shown on colour TV? :dunno:

Did he?

Yep he was an unused substitute in the final.

03-05-2018, 05:35 PM
I would hope that he/she was a hibby

I am, I also enjoy a little banter with our resident Liverpool fans. :greengrin

I actually dislike Liverpool more than I like Manchester Utd to be honest. I like to see them win but I don't really care if they lose.

Only one team for me.

03-05-2018, 05:40 PM
It'll be a 2-2 draw.

03-05-2018, 05:42 PM

It's something that's rankled with me since they gave the tournament this misnomer. If it's a league for champions then it should be exactly that, not for also-rans. Liverpool, as you say, finished fourth last season, 17 points behind Chelsea (just checked that!). It should be renamed to reflect the fact that you don't have to be champions to take part.

Another major gripe of mine is the daft Europa League parachute that teams who exit early from the 'Champions' League get. When you're out of Europe you're out IMHO.

03-05-2018, 05:43 PM

You're worrying too much about the word "Champions" in its name.

It's a league in its own right. Liverpool qualified to play in it.

Just like Arsenal qualified for the Europa League and like we hopefully will.

They could have called the CL, the European League, because that's what it really is.

03-05-2018, 05:49 PM
It's something that's rankled with me since they gave the tournament this misnomer. If it's a league for champions then it should be exactly that, not for also-rans. Liverpool, as you say, finished fourth last season, 17 points behind Chelsea (just checked that!). It should be renamed to reflect the fact that you don't have to be champions to take part.

Another major gripe of mine is the daft Europa League parachute that teams who exit early from the 'Champions' League get. When you're out of Europe you're out IMHO.

I agree with your first point, but why does it matter what they call it? We know how it works.

What are your thoughts about promotion playoffs?

03-05-2018, 06:02 PM

The Millionaires' League would be more factually accurate.

03-05-2018, 06:09 PM
The Millionaires' League would be more factually accurate.

I don't really care what they call it, I have seen Liverpool win it in both guises.

03-05-2018, 07:12 PM
I agree with your first point, but why does it matter what they call it? We know how it works.

What are your thoughts about promotion playoffs?

The name has just always irritated me purely because it's clearly not a league for champions only.

Promotion play-offs? Personally I don't favour them. I don't think teams which finish third or even as low as fourth should have a crack at promotion at the potential expense of a team who finished second. However, I also used to feel the old two-up, two-down system was a bit brutal so my preferred option would be for the second-bottom and second-top teams only to have a play-off. Granted, the play-offs in England are seen as a big deal but the bottom line is it comes down to making money.

03-05-2018, 07:17 PM
Did that young Arsenal fan have false ears on????

I really hope he did. :faf:

03-05-2018, 07:17 PM
Horrific to see Koscielny in so much pain there, feel for him as he would be looking to put in a big performance tonight and now looks like he'll be out of contention for the world cup.

03-05-2018, 07:58 PM
[QUOTE=Sir David Gray;5390553]:faf: Remind me again when Liverpool were last crowned champions of England? Was the bus parade shown on colour TV? :dunno:

Liverpool have been champions of England and Europe enough times to never be forgotten. Not my club at all (Eagle in exile and now a happy Hibby) but I watched them over the years and been mightily impressed. You can't hide class. You can ride shirt tails.

03-05-2018, 07:59 PM
1-0
Arsenal powder puff, zero cutting edge. AM pick them off with a proper midfielder and striker.

03-05-2018, 08:01 PM
You're worrying too much about the word "Champions" in its name.

It's a league in its own right. Liverpool qualified to play in it.

Just like Arsenal qualified for the Europa League and like we hopefully will.

They could have called the CL, the European League, because that's what it really is.

:agree: ....... and the winners of it are ‘The Champions.’

03-05-2018, 08:04 PM
1-0
Arsenal powder puff, zero cutting edge. AM pick them off with a proper midfielder and striker.

Arsenal have a world class striker who can't play because of a very stupid rule that is being removed next season

03-05-2018, 08:05 PM
I don't really care what they call it, I have seen Liverpool win it in both guises.

But are you old enough to have seen Liverpool win the English League title?

03-05-2018, 08:10 PM
1-0

In the other semi, I'm not sure either of the teams has got the ball in the opposition penalty area once. Which suits Marseille. Leading 2-0 on aggregate.

Arsenal have Chambers and Mustafi at centre back, I can't see that game staying 1-0.

03-05-2018, 08:13 PM
The name has just always irritated me purely because it's clearly not a league for champions only.

Promotion play-offs? Personally I don't favour them. I don't think teams which finish third or even as low as fourth should have a crack at promotion at the potential expense of a team who finished second. However, I also used to feel the old two-up, two-down system was a bit brutal so my preferred option would be for the second-bottom and second-top teams only to have a play-off. Granted, the play-offs in England are seen as a big deal but the bottom line is it comes down to making money.

I think we qualified for the cup winner's cup in the 70s as did many other non cup winners. Teams qualify for competitions by various means. Relegated teams get to play in Europe etc.

It doesn't matter what the competition is called, it's the qualifying rules that are important.

03-05-2018, 08:22 PM

He would have to be to see them win the European cup

03-05-2018, 08:23 PM

I'm 50 and grew up watching Liverpool winning everything including titles.

03-05-2018, 08:25 PM
Hope Arsenal do it for Arsene. So poor so far though.

03-05-2018, 08:26 PM
Salzburg 1 nil up on the night against Marseille, need 1 more for ET and it's Alamo-esque just now.

03-05-2018, 08:28 PM
2 nil Salzburg now, Hibs vs Athens esque.

03-05-2018, 08:28 PM
Shocking. Two energy Drink boys offside for the goal.

03-05-2018, 08:40 PM
I'm 50 and grew up watching Liverpool winning everything including titles.

Were you allowed to stay up late the night they last won the league?

03-05-2018, 08:44 PM
Were you allowed to stay up late the night they last won the league?

Been there, done it, got the tee shirt.It's great watching the most successful British club ever in the European Cup/ Champions League. Five times soon to be six.

We have been in more European cup finals than all the other top English clubs combined!

03-05-2018, 08:47 PM
Hope Arsenal do it for Arsene. So poor so far though.

Game sums up Arsenal and Wenger's last few years - all show and not enough substance. Far too many passes, wanting to score the perfect goal. Fanciful stuff which will only take you so far, as Wenger has seen time and time again.

03-05-2018, 08:58 PM
OM Salzburg 2-2,into extra time.

03-05-2018, 09:00 PM
Game sums up Arsenal and Wenger's last few years - all show and not enough substance. Far too many passes, wanting to score the perfect goal. Fanciful stuff which will only take you so far, as Wenger has seen time and time again.

Think it sums up Atletico to a tee. Two very typical Atletico Madrid performances over the two legs.

03-05-2018, 09:02 PM

Took the words right out of my mouth. No sympathy for them tonight.

03-05-2018, 09:03 PM
i hope the Madridians will be celebrating winning both cups

03-05-2018, 09:05 PM
i hope the Madridians will be celebrating winning both cups

Viva España 🇪🇸

03-05-2018, 09:21 PM
Atletico must be stick-ons for the Europa. The other semi is nothing like as slick.

The game in Madrid was more like a Champions League match. Superb speed and control.

03-05-2018, 09:30 PM
Goal Marseille. From a corner that should have been a goal kick

03-05-2018, 09:31 PM
SCENES. I love a 3-2 win :greengrin

03-05-2018, 09:32 PM
YAAS!:flag::flag::flag:

I havent felt that good since SDG Day.

03-05-2018, 09:33 PM
Red card for red bull.

03-05-2018, 09:36 PM
Goal Marseille. From a corner that should have been a goal kick

Just saw the highlight of that, I'd be going radio rental if I was a Salzburg fan.

03-05-2018, 09:37 PM
Just saw the highlight of that, I'd be going radio rental if I was a Salzburg fan.

Commentators not mentioning two Salzburg players offside for their goal. Energy drink corporate cocksucking ****s behaving like brats.

03-05-2018, 09:51 PM
Diego Costa is brilliant. What a pairing with Griezmann. And with that defence I reckon Atletico are the best team in the world right now.

03-05-2018, 10:32 PM
Arsenal were brutal, no imagination on the ball and struggled really badly in the final third, took Wiltshere off and he was one of the better players and left Ramsay on who was atrocious, Wenger playing his favourites card there, Wiltshere looked none too happy in the dugout.

04-05-2018, 01:22 AM
Arsenal were brutal, no imagination on the ball and struggled really badly in the final third, took Wiltshere off and he was one of the better players and left Ramsay on who was atrocious, Wenger playing his favourites card there, Wiltshere looked none too happy in the dugout.

Whoever takes over at Arsenal needs to have a clear out. Too many players been at the club too long and just too comfortable. They need some winners and battlers to shake things up and change perception of Arsenal, just as Lennon has done with Hibs. Their last winner went to Man U.

04-05-2018, 09:54 AM

What I couldn't beleive was Robbie Frickin Savage constantly saying that Arsenal were the better side and unlucky....Jeez being happy to pass the ball about in pretty ways, but managing virtually no shots on goal is NOT GOOD FOOTBALL. Atheltico should have won by 3 or 4 with the chances they had.

04-05-2018, 10:12 AM
Diego Costa is brilliant. What a pairing with Griezmann. And with that defence I reckon Atletico are the best team in the world right now.

I don't watch much la liga, but amazing that they haven't conceded in their last eleven home games, and only four goals all season. They will be massive favourites in the final.