View Full Version : NHC Radical Road (Right Wing) demolition underway

01-05-2018, 05:41 AM
Gordon Smith (one player I wish I’d seen play) owner the Right Wing pub in Willowbrae/Northfield

Soon it will be no more...

i have pics but can’t seem to upload them - getting failed message from iPhone...

01-05-2018, 06:51 AM
I got told it was being turned into student flats.

The Pointer
01-05-2018, 07:37 AM
The whole of Edinburgh seems to be getting turned into either student flats or hotels.

01-05-2018, 07:52 AM
The whole of Edinburgh seems to be getting turned into either student flats or hotels.

Was booking a hotel for my trip up to see the Rangers game last night and there is very little availability in the city. I book around 60 hotel rooms a year right round the country for work, and you can generally get something decent for about £80 everywhere except London...the average is more like £130 in Edinburgh for similar hotels and even then you have to find one with an available room !

01-05-2018, 08:31 AM
I got told it was being turned into student flats.
Surprise surprise. Building more affordable housing as opposed to accommodating more students would be nice, but that’s a different argument.

01-05-2018, 08:48 AM

It's a total joke. No issues with students, they and the university are important to Edinburgh but things are getting out of hand.

Why are student only flats getting built miles from any university? It hurts local communities and if you look at the prices for renting a single room, it's a total rip off for students!

01-05-2018, 09:22 AM
Surprise surprise. Building more affordable housing as opposed to accommodating more students would be nice, but that’s a different argument.

Don't know if it's true, just what I was told by the woman who works in the petrol station opposite, need more affordable flats for single people rather than student flats, my daughters trying to buy right now and if it wasn't for the LIFT scheme from the Government, she'd struggle to get a decent place.

01-05-2018, 09:26 AM
We used to drive into ER that way, and despite passing The Right Wing every week for many many years, never set foot in the place. Just too far away for a match day pub.

01-05-2018, 09:38 AM
We used to drive into ER that way, and despite passing The Right Wing every week for many many years, never set foot in the place. Just too far away for a match day pub.
Haven't been in it for years. Remember it as having less atmosphere than the moon.

01-05-2018, 09:39 AM
Don't know if it's true, just what I was told by the woman who works in the petrol station opposite, need more affordable flats for single people rather than student flats, my daughters trying to buy right now and if it wasn't for the LIFT scheme from the Government, she'd struggle to get a decent place.

The Merc garage opposite was also meant to be turned into Student Flats but it was knocked back. Strange place for student flats.

01-05-2018, 09:41 AM
We used to drive into ER that way, and despite passing The Right Wing every week for many many years, never set foot in the place. Just too far away for a match day pub.Used it a lot before games back in the day. Also been much more recently and found it a bit odd TBH. End of an era though.

01-05-2018, 09:42 AM

One of my biggest bug-bears - student flats !. Here in the Southside it's getting more like a campus than one of Edinburgh's historic districts - they're ripping the heart out of the community !!

Hillsidehibby
01-05-2018, 09:42 AM
The shop and post office next door are being demolished in August.

01-05-2018, 09:43 AM
Used it a lot before games back in the day. Also been much more recently and found it a bit odd TBH. End of an era though.

Sent from my SM-J320FN using TapatalkIndeed. And a real sign of the end of an era is the imminent closure of the Post Office between The Right Wing and the old Merc garage. Sad times in Willowbrae.

01-05-2018, 09:44 AM
You beat me to it.

01-05-2018, 09:46 AM
They want student flats as they can rent them out at astronomical prices that rich parents will pay, and then rent them out at even more astronomical prices during the summer too.

southfieldhibby
01-05-2018, 09:50 AM
Gordon Smith had the shop beside it too. When my mum was a young girl and my gran was a single parent, they were so poor they sometimes couldn't afford to buy food. Gordon Smith would give my gran enough food to see her and my mum and uncle through the week.

My gran is 98 and my mum passed away 8 years ago, neither had any interest in football beyond taking an interest in my love of Hibs. But mention Mr Smith to my gran, even to this day, and her faces lights up. He's a hero in my house, and it's got nothing to do with football.

TAHibby
01-05-2018, 09:51 AM
It's a total joke. No issues with students, they and the university are important to Edinburgh but things are getting out of hand.

Why are student only flats getting built miles from any university? It hurts local communities and if you look at the prices for renting a single room, it's a total rip off for students!

It's a ****ing joke and the prices were horrendous back when i was looking a few years ago, can't imagine what it's like now. Sadly the Oxbridge rejects and the wealthy students from abroad will pay whatever even if it's a few hundred a week

01-05-2018, 09:56 AM

You beat me to it.

I was told this also.

01-05-2018, 09:59 AM
Indeed. And a real sign of the end of an era is the imminent closure of the Post Office between The Right Wing and the old Merc garage. Sad times in Willowbrae.Never knew that. Had a wee look in last time I was up staying in the lady nairn. Lots of change. Not convinced about student flats being the best option here but someone will be making money.

Mikers110
01-05-2018, 10:02 AM
Developers love student flats as the car parking requirements are far less onerous than general flatted developments. For inner city sites this almost makes general flats an uneconomic prospect for developers. This is a problem the planning department can't resolve due to planning law.

01-05-2018, 10:16 AM
It's a ****ing joke and the prices were horrendous back when i was looking a few years ago, can't imagine what it's like now. Sadly the Oxbridge rejects and the wealthy students from abroad will pay whatever even if it's a few hundred a weekThat's assuming the students from abroad will still come, or be able to come.

01-05-2018, 10:24 AM
Gordon Smith had the shop beside it too. When my mum was a young girl and my gran was a single parent, they were so poor they sometimes couldn't afford to buy food. Gordon Smith would give my gran enough food to see her and my mum and uncle through the week.

My gran is 98 and my mum passed away 8 years ago, neither had any interest in football beyond taking an interest in my love of Hibs. But mention Mr Smith to my gran, even to this day, and her faces lights up. He's a hero in my house, and it's got nothing to do with football.

Hibs Class.

01-05-2018, 10:44 AM
Gordon was a gentleman, great story earlier in thread about him and doesn't surprise me one bit

I drank in there the night of the 79 Cup Final when underage drinking rules were a bit more relaxed than they are now :-)

Couldn't tell you where the nearest boozer that way would be now

Sheeps Heid probably?

The amount of boozers that have closed down in Edinburgh over the past 20 years is incredible.

Lots and lots of local communities without them now.

It is difficult to lament the passing of the boozers themselves but their demise has added hugely to the disintegration of what would once have been described as communities but are largely now dormitories where many of those living within them have zero interest in what goes on in them or in their fellow residents.

01-05-2018, 11:18 AM
Shame to see it go. Been in there with the band a good few times and it was always a good gig, which was regularly followed with a short hop to the Barracuda next door for chips at the end of the night.

01-05-2018, 11:18 AM
Here you go VP

It's not half the pub it used to be.

01-05-2018, 11:20 AM

They'll market them as being 'ideal for Queen Margaret University'.

I think a lot of it comes down to the changing way people socialise. The couple of pints on the way home from work is a thing of the past. The idea students would have rented a flat miles from a cheap pub would have been laughable a decade or 2 ago but with cheap supermarket booze drinking at home or 'pre drinking' is what people do. Trips to pubs tend to be part of a bigger day out so involve travelling further than the 'local'.

I don't really like it but pubs don't close if they are busy. Many who lament the loss of pubs do little to support their own local.

01-05-2018, 11:28 AM
Gordon was a gentleman, great story earlier in thread about him and doesn't surprise me one bit

I drank in there the night of the 79 Cup Final when underage drinking rules were a bit more relaxed than they are now :-)

Couldn't tell you where the nearest boozer that way would be now

Sheeps Heid probably?

The amount of boozers that have closed down in Edinburgh over the past 20 years is incredible.

Lots and lots of local communities without them now.

It is difficult to lament the passing of the boozers themselves but their demise has added hugely to the disintegration of what would once have been described as communities but are largely now dormitories where many of those living within them have zero interest in what goes on in them or in their fellow residents.
The Lady Nairne opposite is still open. Other than that it would be The Scotty and Broadfields.

01-05-2018, 11:32 AM
Lived at the bottom of the Hill on Northfield Drive for about ten years from the age of 9 and the big patch of grass at the back of the pub was our football pitch. Spent half my life there :greengrin

Also worked in the post office for a while as a part-time job when I was a teenager. Kinda makes me feel old reading this and realising its all going to be gone.

Hillsidehibby
01-05-2018, 11:42 AM
Had my first under age pint in there. A good Northfield & Bingham pub.

01-05-2018, 11:44 AM
Sad to hear about this. If the post office and shop are going too it's not good for the Willowbrae area.
Used to drink in The Right Wing when we moved into the area in the early 70s, when Gordon Smith and his wife owned it. Had some excellent nights in there over the years. End of an era.

01-05-2018, 11:49 AM

It was an occasional stopping off place Dave, it used to break the journey between the University Arms at Peffermill and ER.

01-05-2018, 11:49 AM
Gordon Smith (one player I wish I’d seen play) owner the Right Wing pub in Willowbrae/Northfield

Soon it will be no more...

i have pics but can’t seem to upload them - getting failed message from iPhone...

My late uncle & aunt lived in the old prefabs in Northfield. He was a die-hard Jambo & the Right Wing was his local.
Sad to hear it's being demolished.

01-05-2018, 11:50 AM
Had my first under age pint in there. A good Northfield & Bingham pub.Drank there for years, mainly Willowbrae hotel but enjoyed a good few sessions in the Wing, particularly after the Willowbrae was flattened & turned into flats

01-05-2018, 11:55 AM
Grew up not far along the road in Mountcastle. Wasn't much of a pub in my lifetime (was good apparently when Gordon owned it) but did used to go in now and again although frequented The Willowbrae and The Scottie a lot more.

Was rough for a while but was last in about 2 years ago and got talking to George, John Robertson's brother about his family and all things Hibs. Bit of a landmark and rather a pub than more flats.

01-05-2018, 12:01 PM
Was in it a few times.

My lasting memory of it when going past in the bus or in car was the sign outside hanging from a pole. It was the strips of the three clubs he played for and a Scotland strip all with the number 7 on them.

01-05-2018, 12:12 PM
At first I thought this was a thread about brexit/the Tories

cocteautwin
01-05-2018, 12:19 PM
Drank there for years, mainly Willowbrae hotel but enjoyed a good few sessions in the Wing, particularly after the Willowbrae was flattened & turned into flats

Willowbrae was my first ever beer when I was a lad of 16 at Porty High back in 1984. Still remember vomiting in the bathroom sink when I got home after 4 beers. I did always look at The Right Wing and wonder who the hell would go in to a place like that. LOL.

01-05-2018, 12:26 PM
Mate of mine used to own it before it closed down.

Decent enough pub but struggled to make ends meet.

01-05-2018, 12:30 PM
At first I thought this was a thread about brexit/the Tories

Aye, me 2 :agree:

tamsonsbairn
01-05-2018, 12:40 PM
Sad Sad day for me. I worked in the Wing for 3 years as manager with Jimmy Paterson. JP had the midas touch as far as pubs go, every one that he owned were busy pubs. Artisan, JP,s Bellvue, Ormelie, Rainbow, one of the memories i had was when JP invited Gordon Smith along to see how the pub had changed over the years, Gordon was impressed with the job JP had done. After lunch we went to Duddingston golf club as we did every wednesday. I was paired with Gordon in our 4 ball and the advice he gave me will about my own swing and how i should slow down, i wish i could put into practice what he told me but my golf swing is still a fast slash at the ball. The Wing as i recall was more hearts fans than His fans, it didn't make them all bad though, good guys all of them. :nlgwa

01-05-2018, 04:14 PM
Used to have work’s nights out there. We’d hire the skittle alley for the evening. That was over 20 years ago mind you, so not sure if the skittles survived up to recently. Shame to see it go. Even more so because of the Hibs connection.

Indeed is that the first of the FF pubs to close? All different owners now I know but Lawrie Reilly’s (Bowlers Rest) and Eddie Turnbull’s (Fox’s Bar) pubs are still going. Is Willie Ormond’s pub in Musselburgh still there? Not aware of Bobby Johnstone having a pub, could be wrong though?

01-05-2018, 06:05 PM
Willie Ormonds has not been a pub for years

01-05-2018, 07:58 PM
Preferred the Willowbrae but remember Gordon Smith at the RW.
He used to have a RO 80, cool cool car with what was then a pretty revolutionary ****el (please, don't) engine.
I was feeling old until Snooky mentioned the Northfield prefabs.

01-05-2018, 09:07 PM
The student flats proposal was refused. And the whole project relied on the old Merc garage.

Not sure what’s replacing the right wing and the shop though but I don’t think it’s student flats.

Would have been a weird spot for such an enterprise anyway.

01-05-2018, 09:24 PM
And it’s gone...

Student flats were rejected 2 or 3 times I suspect developers will be back for more.
The original Merc garage has gone and is on a lease basis with another owner til sold I imagine.

Wonder how long the land will remain derelict... sad.

jingler1954
01-05-2018, 10:38 PM
The site is not for student flats that was proposed for the Mercedes Garage which was knocked back twice and has now been leased out as a motor store. The Right Wing and Northfield Post Office is a seperate development which has not been put forward for planning as yet. I decided to sell the Post Office after 24 years as it was becoming increasingly difficult to compete with the multiples which are forcing the closure of many local shops. If the development of student flats had been approved I probable would still be there as they would have brought much needed revenue into the area. I will be there till August 31st and will be sad to go. Thank you to all whohave supported me and The Lovely over the years. GGTTH

01-05-2018, 10:42 PM
The site is not for student flats that was proposed for the Mercedes Garage which was knocked back twice and has now been leased out as a motor store. The Right Wing and Northfield Post Office is a seperate development which has not been put forward for planning as yet. I decided to sell the Post Office after 24 years as it was becoming increasingly difficult to compete with the multiples which are forcing the closure of many local shops. If the development of student flats had been approved I probable would still be there as they would have brought much needed revenue into the area. I will be there till August 31st and will be sad to go. Thank you to all whohave supported me and The Lovely over the years. GGTTH
And thank you for the hot filled rolls in the morning. My taxi was powered by them many a time. I will be sure to pop in again before you close. Best of luck in whatever you’re doing in the future.

02-05-2018, 06:21 AM
Was booking a hotel for my trip up to see the Rangers game last night and there is very little availability in the city. I book around 60 hotel rooms a year right round the country for work, and you can generally get something decent for about £80 everywhere except London...the average is more like £130 in Edinburgh for similar hotels and even then you have to find one with an available room !

Price of accommodation in Edinburgh is exorbitant.

If no change then the ‘problem’ with ‘too many tourists’ will soon solve itself.

02-05-2018, 06:27 AM

If no change then the ‘problem’ with ‘too many tourists’ will soon solve itself.

Edinburgh is in danger of “eating itself”. Too much focus on tourism. The quality of life for locals is massively impacted upon by the sheer weight of it. Sometimes you can get too much of a good thing and this is a prime example. Tatty shops selling tourist tat everywhere, too many people on the streets, every thing focussed on the town centre, exorbitant prices, exploitation of youth labour on ridiculously small wages. Orinary folk, and I mean people who earn an average wage struggle to buy a flat because prices are sky high due to air b’n b. As always, for excess profit someone has to bleed.

02-05-2018, 06:28 AM

Just checked booking.com, and I'm not sure it is.

£180 for Holiday Inn blackhall for 2 nights Friday to Sunday this weekend. Lots cheaper, you can stay at Ibis Edinburgh park for £150 and your on tram line.

I stayed in comparable accommodation in Bath, Glasgow and York a few months back - Edinburgh isn't expensive, accomodation everywhere is pricey!

kennedy
02-05-2018, 07:05 AM

Getting ready early....................we bit longer in bed this morning ???????

02-05-2018, 07:17 AM
Another landmark gone

02-05-2018, 07:27 AM
Edinburgh is in danger of “eating itself”. Too much focus on tourism. The quality of life for locals is massively impacted upon by the sheer weight of it. Sometimes you can get too much of a good thing and this is a prime example. Tatty shops selling tourist tat everywhere, too many people on the streets, every thing focussed on the town centre, exorbitant prices, exploitation of youth labour on ridiculously small wages. Orinary folk, and I mean people who earn an average wage struggle to buy a flat because prices are sky high due to air b’n b. As always, for excess profit someone has to bleed.

The council are so consumed by bringing in tourists that they never see the other damage it does to the rest of the city. They pander to the students by allowing multiple accommodation nowhere near any campus site e.g. Shrubhill, McDonald Rd, Murano Pl etc, areas where social housing at lower prices is far more important. They then allow the city centre to be flooded with a huge amount of restaurants, pubs and hotels taking away from the beauty of the centre of town, look at St Andrews Sq, once a lovely part of the centre now it's just one big restaurant square, no heart to it just money making franchise eateries.

SideBurns
02-05-2018, 07:43 AM
Used to have work’s nights out there. We’d hire the skittle alley for the evening. That was over 20 years ago mind you, so not sure if the skittles survived up to recently. Shame to see it go. Even more so because of the Hibs connection.

Indeed is that the first of the FF pubs to close? All different owners now I know but Lawrie Reilly’s (Bowlers Rest) and Eddie Turnbull’s (Fox’s Bar) pubs are still going. Is Willie Ormond’s pub in Musselburgh still there? Not aware of Bobby Johnstone having a pub, could be wrong though?

I recall being in The Bowler's Rest with my Dad and uncles in the '80s. Lawrie was behind the bar, and my Dad said to him, "Aye, you were good Lawrie, but you wurnae in the same class as Joe!". Lawrie loved the banter. What a time it must've been to have Reilly coming to the end of his career then Baker taking over the jersey...

Was last in The Bowler's after the parade in 2016. Seemed the perfect venue in the circumstances, great day!

Hillsidehibby
02-05-2018, 11:43 AM
We went in after the game v Celtic in December. The game was Baltic and we were looking forward to a heat. The heating wasn’t working and it was even colder in there.
Quite surreal seeing all these people still in hats and scarves drinking pints with gloves on.

02-05-2018, 01:05 PM

The council are so consumed by bringing in tourists that they never see the other damage it does to the rest of the city. They pander to the students by allowing multiple accommodation nowhere near any campus site e.g. Shrubhill, McDonald Rd, Murano Pl etc, areas where social housing at lower prices is far more important. They then allow the city centre to be flooded with a huge amount of restaurants, pubs and hotels taking away from the beauty of the centre of town, look at St Andrews Sq, once a lovely part of the centre now it's just one big restaurant square, no heart to it just money making franchise eateries.

Not entirely true.

St Andrew square has the new Aberdeen Standard investments building on it and while the ground floor is restaurants the rest of it is office space (i.e the majority of it). The east side has RBS, Harvey’s and a new hotel, the north side is all offices including Virgin Money (although also soon to have a Malmaison hotel) while the west side has Royal London, more Aberdeen Standard and the large ex Scottish Widows building which is all offices.

So hardly just one large restaurant square and while the new ASI building is no beauty it’s regenerated that whole side of the square that was pretty lousy with the old Scot Prov building and a number of inaccessible (from ground floor) units between that and Tiles on the corner.

The square itself has been transformed for an unused and pretty inaccessible patch of grass to a much more people friendly environment that is now used throughout the year for festivals and events as well as hundreds of people every day to eat lunch or take a wee break from their office.

Edinburgh City Centre was in dire need of regeneration and to suggest its gone downhill since day the 80’s is forgetting just how dull and under used it was.

It’s also pretty unrealistic to expect tons of social housing to be built within close proximity of the city centre. Land in that area is accordingly expensive and I seriously doubt you will find many (any?) major cities where there city centre regeneration is focussed on building cheap accommodation...the economics of such an approach just don’t exist.

02-05-2018, 01:36 PM

We should follow the lead of Barcelona.

The locals there forced the local authorities to introduce a 'tourist tax' that funded infrastructure maintenance and improvements, there is also a serious debate ongoing about limiting tourist numbers. we aren't in the same league as Barcelona but they have proven direct action by citizens can work.

When I was there last year locals were handing out leaflets outside Park Guell asking tourists not to pay to enter certain areas as this was something which had been free for years and locals now had to pay to enter green space in their own city. There was also a lot of anti tourist graffiti around. 'Your luxury trip, my daily misery', 'Tourists are terrorists', 'Tourists go home' and 'El turisme destrueix la cuitat' (tourism destroys the city) were a few I spotted. Air B&B was a huge target with a lot of posters telling people top stay in hotels and leave houses for locals and so on.

It's an interesting debate as tourism is a huge part of the economy of Edinburgh (and Barcelona) but it often feels like the balance has tipped too far in one direction. The impact will begin to spread as well as more and more people from Edinburgh move into areas surrounding the city and force up the price to buy and rent property in those areas as well.

02-05-2018, 01:57 PM
We should follow the lead of Barcelona.

The locals there forced the local authorities to introduce a 'tourist tax' that funded infrastructure maintenance and improvements, there is also a serious debate ongoing about limiting tourist numbers. we aren't in the same league as Barcelona but they have proven direct action by citizens can work.

When I was there last year locals were handing out leaflets outside Park Guell asking tourists not to pay to enter certain areas as this was something which had been free for years and locals now had to pay to enter green space in their own city. There was also a lot of anti tourist graffiti around. 'Your luxury trip, my daily misery', 'Tourists are terrorists', 'Tourists go home' and 'El turisme destrueix la cuitat' (tourism destroys the city) were a few I spotted. Air B&B was a huge target with a lot of posters telling people top stay in hotels and leave houses for locals and so on.

It's an interesting debate as tourism is a huge part of the economy of Edinburgh (and Barcelona) but it often feels like the balance has tipped too far in one direction. The impact will begin to spread as well as more and more people from Edinburgh move into areas surrounding the city and force up the price to buy and rent property in those areas as well.
There’s been suggestions of a tourist tax in Edinburgh. I’m all for it, but there seems to be a lot of opposition to it for some reason. Maybe someone can remind me what it was as I can’t remember.

Fisherrow Harp
02-05-2018, 02:32 PM
Willie Ormonds has not been a pub for years

Aye pawn shop and tanning studio.

Hibby Gav
02-05-2018, 02:40 PM

Brilliant story mate..... a true legend on and off the field !

02-05-2018, 02:50 PM

What a great story that is. Thanks for sharing that. Absolute class. :aok: