24-04-2018, 06:59 PM
Cmon Roma !

24-04-2018, 07:00 PM
c'moan the roma. got them in the pub sweep :wink:

renato
24-04-2018, 07:05 PM
Liverpool favourites to get through but don’t underestimate Roma, like many in the media have - they’re a very good team.

24-04-2018, 07:10 PM
That's a nasty looking injury for the Ox. Shame for him.

24-04-2018, 07:15 PM
Two smelly misses there by mane

24-04-2018, 07:20 PM
Salah :hyper

1-0 Liverpool Salah

What a finish!

Yaaaaaaaaas what a goal

What a goal.

24-04-2018, 07:21 PM
What a finish. Postage stamp.

24-04-2018, 07:21 PM
Salah :hyper

Mourinho bought and sold him at Chelsea 😂.

24-04-2018, 07:22 PM
Salah is incredible

24-04-2018, 07:22 PM
Pick that out

24-04-2018, 07:23 PM
That ex Queens Park player Robertson, released by Sellick, looks a decent prospect 🙂

Salah. How good is he?

Lovren has to get that on target there.

Outstanding finish however Pool should be at least 3 up

How long before Madrid come calling for Salah

24-04-2018, 07:24 PM
Ken what pisses me off is managers covering their mouth when talking to assistant. Think they are James bond.....

24-04-2018, 07:24 PM
Whatever they’re paying Salah it’s not enough, what a player.

24-04-2018, 07:26 PM
Ken what pisses me off is managers covering their mouth when talking to assistant. Think they are James bond.....

Saw some numpty doing that at lunchtime when talking to someone at a bus stop ...

24-04-2018, 07:28 PM
Saw some numpty doing that at lunchtime when talking to someone at a bus stop ...
Maybe they were spying on you 😁

24-04-2018, 07:30 PM
2-0 Salah

2-0

Salah again

Ball and what another outstanding finish

24-04-2018, 07:31 PM
Did Roma sell him?

Magic Mo 2-0

Mourinho bought and sold him at Chelsea 😂.

to be fair he wasn't that great then

Did Roma sell him?

Yip £35 million

24-04-2018, 07:32 PM
Yip £35 million

Lot of money to us, but by EPL standards a snip.

24-04-2018, 07:32 PM
Did Roma sell him?

Yes..Chelsea also bought and sold him..maybe at 5ft 9" he was deemed too small by Jose?

24-04-2018, 07:33 PM
Salah - what a player. After first 20 mins, Liverpool have been sensational. Roma have no answers.

24-04-2018, 07:34 PM

Indeed. Considering some of the money spent on players Salah has been a bargain imho

renato
24-04-2018, 07:34 PM
Brilliant from Salah but it has to be said, Roma are defending like a Sunday league team, it’s actually embarrassing.

Liverpool have hardly had to work for the goals, despite how ridiculous Salah’s finishes have been.

24-04-2018, 07:35 PM
Yes..maybe at 5ft 9" he was deemed too small by Jose?

Odd though, he scored 1 in 2 for Roma. Maybe was a "last year of contract" scenario?

Salah - what a player. After first 20 mins, Liverpool have been sensational. Roma have no answers.

Roma were doing OK first 20 mins. Then the roof caved in. They're just a fantastic side.

Brilliant from Salah but it has to be said, Roma are defending like a Sunday league team, it’s actually embarrassing.

Liverpool have hardly had to work for the goals, despite how ridiculous Salah’s finishes have been.

And Mane should have had 2 as well.

24-04-2018, 07:37 PM
Great performance - Liverpool going to the final I think!

I have no issue with Liverpool winning it. I struggle with the idea of Jordan Henderson bring the man to lift the cup though! 😂

It’s why I dislike English football. Way too much money pumped into their club football compared to other leagues.

renato
24-04-2018, 07:38 PM
And Mane should have had 2 as well.

Yep, they’ve practically opened up the door and walked them into the box. Liverpool look so dangerous and the last thing you do when you’re up against Salah is basically leave him the whole attacking half to run around at will.

renato
24-04-2018, 07:39 PM
Watch Manolas at both goals, school boy stuff

24-04-2018, 07:43 PM
Odd though, he scored 1 in 2 for Roma. Maybe was a "last year of contract" scenario?

According to Wikipedia it's 33 in 57 for Egypt as well.

24-04-2018, 07:43 PM
I have no issue with Liverpool winning it. I struggle with the idea of Jordan Henderson bring the man to lift the cup though! 😂

Why?

24-04-2018, 07:45 PM
Great performance - Liverpool going to the final I think!

Steady..Barcelona thought they were going through to the semi's after the first leg in the last round.

24-04-2018, 07:45 PM
According to Wikipedia it's 33 in 57 for Egypt as well.

Egypt have a fairly easy group in Russia. Could be a good bet to make the knockout stage. Excellent defence and Salah up front.

24-04-2018, 07:46 PM
Steady..Barcelona thought they were going through to the semi's after the first leg in the last round.

Good point, one goal the other way and Roma will probably consider 2-1 with an away goal as a good result.

24-04-2018, 07:51 PM
Good point, one goal the other way and Roma will probably consider 2-1 with an away goal as a good result.

After that first half Roma will think 2-0 is a good result!

24-04-2018, 07:55 PM

Roma are all over the place. Liverpool could kill this tie off tonight.

24-04-2018, 07:58 PM
Yaàaàs 3-0

24-04-2018, 07:59 PM
In other news, Rolf has scored for Cardiff at Derby. That would be good news for Cardiff securing second and The Lions getting a play-off spot. I would love to see Millwall in the Premiership as much as the authorities would hate it 🙂

Well played Liverpool fans. you just don't get that atmosphere at Stamford Bridge the Etihad or the Emirates and old Trafford libraries.

Roma are all over the place. Liverpool could kill this tie off tonight.

Edit 3-0. Never seen a team so destroyed by the ball-over-the-top. Could be 5 or 6 by 90

24-04-2018, 08:00 PM
Liverpool need to keep the head and push for more and finish the tie off tonight.

3 might not be enough given the last tie against Barca

renato
24-04-2018, 08:00 PM
OMG Manolas again, it’s like he’s just been introduced to defending.

Comedy defending. De Francesco has lost the plot tonight.

24-04-2018, 08:01 PM
Yaàaàs 3-0

Roma will think 3-0 is a good result.

24-04-2018, 08:03 PM
4-0 Firmino

24-04-2018, 08:03 PM
4-0. Roma destroyed

24-04-2018, 08:04 PM
It's a rout

How easy was that.

4 zip

Ripping them apart every time they attack.

Why?

Just not a player I really took too for some reason. He’s gonnae have a chance to do it though!

renato
24-04-2018, 08:06 PM
Hahaha, Kolarov, Juan Jesus...deary me!

Totti must be disgusted with what he’s seen, with some of the defenders he’s played with compared to this absolute shambles tonight..

It's a routFootball like it should be played. Great for the neutral[emoji106]

Salah's value in current market? £150M?

This is going to be 6 or 7-0

Roma are absolutely shellshocked.

That is horrendous defending for the fourth. Just leave them all unmarked!

24-04-2018, 08:08 PM
Roma are absolutely shellshocked.

If this was boxing the referee would have stopped it

renato
24-04-2018, 08:09 PM
That is horrendous defending for the fourth. Just leave them all unmarked!

Jesus is a stick on red tonight, that’s if he can remember that he needs to actually do ie follow a player in red. It’s actual keystone cops stuff, comedy!

24-04-2018, 08:10 PM
Astonishing stuff. Yes, Roma defending has been awful, but Liverpool's last 3 CL matches have been games from the gods.

wallpaperman
Liverpool look fantastic, but I'm not sure if it's only that or that Roma have completely thrown the towel in.

I rarely watch EPL or Champions league, little interest in either, but this is good to watch.

5-0 Wow !

5-0 Firmino

24-04-2018, 08:11 PM
Unbelievable!

24-04-2018, 08:11 PM
5-0

wallpaperman
24-04-2018, 08:13 PM
Holy crap, a 5th gone in, the Roma players do actually look like they've given up.

Will Liverpool keep going for more or ease up slightly? I'd go for more.

24-04-2018, 08:14 PM
Wonder how Coutinho is feeling now

This is arguably the best keeper in European football they're playing against. He hasn't had a chance with any of the goals.

Phenomenal performances from Liverpool in the CL this season.

24-04-2018, 08:15 PM
Holy crap, a 5th gone in, the Roma players do actually look like they've given up.

Will Liverpool keep going for more or ease up slightly? I'd go for more.

7-0 is always a good scoreline..

24-04-2018, 08:16 PM
5. WTF

They should go for more

24-04-2018, 08:16 PM
Roma player wasting time, to keep the score down.

24-04-2018, 08:17 PM
Tell you what, James Milner has been absolutely superb for Liverpool tonight.

24-04-2018, 08:17 PM
I know that Hibs played Roma away back in 1960/61. Looking back on the records, we played them in the semi final of the Inter City Fairs Cup and there appears to have been three games?! We drew 2-2 at home, 3-3 away from home then a final game in Italy when we were soundly gubbed 6-0. It all seems a bit unusual, are there any current Hibs Netters who were at the game(s)?

renato
24-04-2018, 08:18 PM
Roma have played 4 at the back all season and looked solid. They completely threw caution to the wind against Barca with 3 at the back, the first time Di Francesco has ever deviated from 4 in his management career, and the gamble payed off.

He’s had a complete brain fart tonight and they’ve subsequently collapsed - the players have no idea what they’re doing, in a formation they’ve hardly ever played.

Couple that with playing a team that is lightening quick on the break and has the world’s form player, a former player too who’s absolute speed.

It’s quite incredible stuff, an Italian manager too. Genuinely Hibs would have defended better tonight.

24-04-2018, 08:21 PM
I just said to one of my brothers Hibs would have given them a harder game. Lennon would have had us better organised at least.

24-04-2018, 08:23 PM
5-1 Dzeko

renato
24-04-2018, 08:23 PM
Roma now dead as a club

wallpaperman
24-04-2018, 08:24 PM
I know that Hibs played Roma away back in 1960/61. Looking back on the records, we played them in the semi final of the Inter City Fairs Cup and there appears to have been three games?! We drew 2-2 at home, 3-3 away from home then a final game in Italy when we were soundly gubbed 6-0. It all seems a bit unusual, are there any current Hibs Netters who were at the game(s)?

Easy answer to that, the away goals rule didn't come into effect for another few years. A coin toss would take place to decide who would host a one off tie breaker in the event of a drawn two legs. Didn't work out well, and we would have been Fairs Cup finalists on away goals, of course.

24-04-2018, 08:24 PM
Not worried about an away goal, Liverpool will score over there anyway and no way will we collapse like Barca.

24-04-2018, 08:26 PM
Penalty Roma.

24-04-2018, 08:27 PM
Penalty to Roma

Oooo this is changing very very quickly

Pen. What a crazy game.

From being dead n buried, Roma are going to go back to the 2nd leg with a better result than they did against Barca !! Crazy stuff.

5-2

renato
Roma back alive again

24-04-2018, 08:28 PM
If Roma score again Liverpool’s arse could completely collapse.

24-04-2018, 08:29 PM
Some twitchy ***** in Merseyside now!

Halmyre Hibee
Not worried about an away goal, Liverpool will score over there anyway and no way will we collapse like Barca.

Squeak bum time.
C'mon Liverpool.

This last 10 minutes proves why Liverpool are unlikely to beat either Real Madrid or Bayern Munich.

They're all over the place now.

renato
24-04-2018, 08:30 PM
This last 10 minutes proves why Liverpool are unlikely to beat either Real Madrid or Bayern Munich.

They’ve caught whatever the Roma defenders had, it’s quite incredible

24-04-2018, 08:31 PM
Champions League has bored me to tears for so many years but some cracking games this season.

That goal puts Roma right back in it, who would be thought that a few minutes ago?

Haha you wish. Only one game against either of them two when we get to final. The Pool are gonna win it.

I'm going to stick my neck and say this has been the best season for televised football I've ever seen. Some amazing games.

Halmyre Hibee
24-04-2018, 08:32 PM
They’ve caught whatever the Roma defenders had, it’s quite incredible

Not quite the Motherwell v Hibs 6-6 game though.

Mantis Toboggan
24-04-2018, 08:32 PM
Champions League has bored me to tears for so many years but some cracking games this season.

That goal puts Roma right back in it, who would be thought that a few minutes ago?

Best CL season in years. Teams seem to just be having a go.

KerPlunk
24-04-2018, 08:34 PM
Best CL season in years. Teams seem to just be having a go.
Bollox......Craig Levein can’t set a team up to have a go............:wink:

renato
24-04-2018, 08:34 PM
Not quite the Motherwell v Hibs 6-6 game though.

Still sends shivers down my back :greengrin

24-04-2018, 08:35 PM
Cardiff losing 3-1 to Derby
Nae joy Warnock

24-04-2018, 08:36 PM
Might be wrong, but hooking Salah seemed to change the game.

This is going to become your signature if Roma win 3 nil next week :devil:

Yaaas one foot in the final, Rome holds no fears for Liverpool.

24-04-2018, 08:37 PM
A surprisingly good Champions League this year. Now, is there any way both of the other semi finalists can lose tomorrow?

This is going to become your signature if Roma win 3 nil next week :devil:

No chance, Liverpool going all the way.

Might be wrong, but hooking Salah seemed to change the game.

Psychologically it did seem to have an effect Jim.

24-04-2018, 08:38 PM
Liverpool into the Final - fantastic result. Roma were awful and will lose the second leg as well. RM and BM will not fancy playing Liverpool in the final. They are a nightmare.

Mantis Toboggan
24-04-2018, 08:39 PM
Great result for Liverpool. Got to think they can catch out Roma for a couple more next week as well.

24-04-2018, 08:39 PM
Ive got a Bayern and Atletico European trophies double. Im happy to stick with it. :wink:

24-04-2018, 08:40 PM
Haha you wish. Only one game against either of them two when we get to final. The Pool are gonna win it.

It's not just wishful thinking I honestly believe it.

Liverpool are clearly one of the best teams in the world right now going forward but with the way they have defended for the last 15 minutes, they'll struggle to beat either of those two. They are a lot more street wise than Roma and far more experienced at this level. For 70 minutes Roma were embarrassing.

Fair play to Liverpool for getting this far, they have some very talented forward players and they are good to watch but I can't see them beating Real Madrid or Bayern Munich with that defence.

24-04-2018, 08:41 PM
No chance, Liverpool going all the way.

Actually 4-1 would have a bit more comedy value :greengrin

renato
24-04-2018, 08:41 PM
Ive got a Bayern and Atletico European trophies double. Im happy to stick with it. :wink:

I think you might be quids in there (if the ref actually does his job against Madrid, unlike last year).

24-04-2018, 08:43 PM
It's not just wishful thinking I honestly believe it.

Liverpool are clearly one of the best teams in the world right now going forward but with the way they have defended for the last 15 minutes, they'll struggle to beat either of those two. They are a lot more street wise than Roma and far more experienced at this level. For 70 minutes Roma were embarrassing.

Fair play to Liverpool for getting this far, they have some very talented forward players and they are good to watch but I can't see them beating Real Madrid or Bayern Munich with that defence.

I can't see either of them stopping us from scoring a few.

24-04-2018, 08:46 PM
Hearts mate got very excited when Roma made it 5-1

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hearts/hearts-list-of-creditors-in-full-1-3024802 - that normally shuts him up

5-2 ruined his evening

24-04-2018, 08:47 PM

You get to a semi final and you are a serious contender for any cup imo.

Obviously Bayern and Madrid are the heavyweights but Liverpool are devastating upfront.

24-04-2018, 08:53 PM

Might not need to worry about that if Roma win the second leg 3-0. :greengrin

cad
24-04-2018, 09:05 PM
Is feeling disappointed at winning 5-2 in a Champions League Semi final a natural state of mind to find yourself in .:confused:

24-04-2018, 09:07 PM
Might not need to worry about that if Roma win the second leg 3-0. :greengrin

No chance of that, first everyone said Citeh were far too good for us, and so on. Now folk are looking beyond tonight, hoping we get beat in Rome but if don't one of the giants of Real or Bayern will be too good zzzzzzzz

24-04-2018, 09:26 PM
Yaaas one foot in the final, Rome holds no fears for Liverpool.

Maybe not on the pitch, will be mayhem over there though.

25-04-2018, 07:07 PM
No score so far in the Bayern Real Madrid game.

Ronaldo has scored in all 10 of Real's European matches this season.

25-04-2018, 07:12 PM
No chance of that, first everyone said Citeh were far too good for us, and so on. Now folk are looking beyond tonight, hoping we get beat in Rome but if don't one of the giants of Real or Bayern will be too good zzzzzzzz

Be honest you would be disappointed if I didn't wish Liverpool bad luck. :wink:

25-04-2018, 07:13 PM
1-0 Bayern

Great goal.

25-04-2018, 07:15 PM
Shocker from the keeper

25-04-2018, 07:16 PM
Shocker from the keeper

It was but it was well worked and great counter attacking play.

25-04-2018, 07:18 PM
Shocker from the keeper

Not really. More ill informed bollocks about the near post from mcnamanan. Marcelo is a weaklink defensively and hes at it again there,caught up the field unnecessarily.

25-04-2018, 07:20 PM
Bayern Munich turning the screw now.

25-04-2018, 07:20 PM
Not really. More ill informed bollocks about the near post from mcnamanan. Marcelo is a weaklink defensively and hes at it again there,caught up the field unnecessarily.

You seriously don’t think the keeper was poor at that goal? He could have just stood there and caught the ball! Terrible goalkeeping at that level.

25-04-2018, 07:21 PM
Keeper made it very easy for the striker.

25-04-2018, 07:23 PM
Keeper made it very easy for the striker.
He doesn’t look very confident every time I’ve seen him. It’s surprising they haven’t signed a quality replacement.

25-04-2018, 07:29 PM
1-1 Marcelo

25-04-2018, 07:30 PM
1-1 lovely finish from Marcelo.

25-04-2018, 07:31 PM
Scott Allan esque finish.

gaz1875
25-04-2018, 07:32 PM
Great strike back across the keeper

25-04-2018, 07:46 PM
You seriously don’t think the keeper was poor at that goal? He could have just stood there and caught the ball! Terrible goalkeeping at that level.

He was left exposed and guessed wrong. It wasn't great but that doesn't make it a 'terrible error'. Look at the pace and the swerve on the hit.

25-04-2018, 08:01 PM
2-1 Real Ansensio

25-04-2018, 08:08 PM
That Bayern Munich club can’t be very big. They only have 4stars on their top unlike Sevco who have 5

25-04-2018, 08:23 PM
Neither of these two teams look anywhere near as good as Liverpool did last night. The quality has been pretty low for such a big game.

25-04-2018, 08:35 PM
Bayern have been honking.

25-04-2018, 08:47 PM
Roma will beat Liverpool next week.

25-04-2018, 08:49 PM

But not by enough too win the tie.

25-04-2018, 08:54 PM

3-0! :pray:

25-04-2018, 08:56 PM
3-0! :pray:

It would beggar belief for this particular club to win by that scoreline.

25-04-2018, 08:58 PM
It would beggar belief for this particular club to win by that scoreline.

:greengrin I see what you've done there.

25-04-2018, 08:59 PM
But not by enough too win the tie.

I can't see Liverpool not scoring in Rome. They are good on the break. Real or Bayern in the final is a whole different affair.

We're in for some thrills for sure! I love the CL when it gets to this stage. Top teams and top players.

25-04-2018, 09:01 PM
:greengrin I see what you've done there.

I am going to be Jim Traynor for the rest of the evening:agree:

Clerie Green
25-04-2018, 09:01 PM
They’re not the Hibees though !
GGTTH .

25-04-2018, 09:03 PM
I am going to be Jim Traynor for the rest of the evening:agree:

Hope you've sharpened your crayons

25-04-2018, 09:04 PM
I can't see Liverpool not scoring in Rome. They are good on the break. Real or Bayern in the final is a whole different affair.

We're in for some thrills for sure! I love the CL when it gets to this stage. Top teams and top players.

I've said it previously but both the Europa and Champions League have been fantastic this season, I understand people disliking how big money has changed the traditional game, but some of the quality has been otherworldly.

25-04-2018, 09:08 PM
Hope you've sharpened your crayons

Sharpening crayons would come with concomitant risk for a massive club like Rangers.

26-04-2018, 09:11 AM
I've said it previously but both the Europa and Champions League have been fantastic this season, I understand people disliking how big money has changed the traditional game, but some of the quality has been otherworldly.

I can't understand folk who write off the CL and EL. You get to watch the best players, so what's not to like?
You have to like football of course!

26-04-2018, 09:33 AM
I can't understand folk who write off the CL and EL. You get to watch the best players, so what's not to like?

Pretty dull IMO having the same teams year after year in the later stages (Madrid 8th consecutive semi final) sure this season has seen exceptional games and very good having Liverpool and Roma in the semi finals however the group stages can be dull in the extreme with little chance of any shocks and the seeding weighted for the bigger clubs.

26-04-2018, 07:18 PM
Arsenal 0-0 Madrid.

26-04-2018, 07:19 PM
Atletico RB and their manager both sent off within fifteen minutes of KO

26-04-2018, 07:20 PM
Madrid down to 10 men after 10 minutes, two bookings for Vrsaljko

26-04-2018, 07:23 PM
Marseille 1 nil up on Salzburg, some atmosphere at their stadium, would love to make a visit sometime.

26-04-2018, 07:27 PM
Marseille 1 nil up on Salzburg, some atmosphere at their stadium, would love to make a visit sometime.

Next season in the Europa league group stage. :greengrin

26-04-2018, 07:30 PM

The Ultras end is insane, was there about 6 years ago.

26-04-2018, 07:32 PM

I've been three times in the last couple of seasons, you won't regret it. Happy to give you some recommendations :aok:

It was a handball in the goal but no-one in the vel is caring :flag: the Austrians just kicking everything that moves.

26-04-2018, 07:37 PM
Atletico RB and their manager both sent off within fifteen minutes of KO

Simeone is an absolute radge.

26-04-2018, 07:44 PM
Arsenal have run out of ideas. A plastic team with plastic fans.
Athletico are better team and will win this tie.

26-04-2018, 07:50 PM
Typical Arsenal. All huff and puff, one touch too many around the box and strikers who can't hit the target. They've been like that since they moved to The Emirates really.

26-04-2018, 07:52 PM
Arsenal have run out of ideas. A plastic team with plastic fans.
Athletico are better team and will win this tie.

Funny how people see things differently.

Athletico have set up to defend, hope to hit on the break, but also try and win bookings in an attempt to level the numbers.

Arsenal are playing the way they play against practically every bottom half EPL club, camped in the opposition half and trying to unpick the defence. As often as not that takes until the 70th minute or so, but eventually the reality of being ten men against eleven hogging possession takes its toll.

Where Athletico do have an ace up their sleeve is in having Costa on the bench.

26-04-2018, 07:55 PM
HT OM 1 Energy Drink Austria 0

26-04-2018, 07:56 PM

Was there for the Iceland v Hungary game at the euros. Great stadium, the Hungary fans were nuts.

26-04-2018, 08:03 PM
I've been three times in the last couple of seasons, you won't regret it. Happy to give you some recommendations :aok:

Cheers much appreciated, will keep that in mind. Moved to Alsace last year and still to make the tour of stadiums :greengrin

26-04-2018, 08:14 PM

There's plenty not to like about the modern game and the venal b******s who run it.

But I agree that the quality of football has been exceptional in this season's European comps.

26-04-2018, 08:22 PM
Willie Collum is getting almost every decision wrong tonight in Marseille. Embarrassing.

26-04-2018, 08:26 PM
And so it comes. Arsenal have needed to be patient but the pressure tells eventually.

26-04-2018, 08:27 PM
Njie 2-0. Scenes in Marseille.

renato
26-04-2018, 08:38 PM
Gollum’s hilarious, he just can’t help courting controversy.

Beggars belief :greengrin that he’s refereeing matches at this level.

Mantis Toboggan
26-04-2018, 08:45 PM
Calamity defending from arsenal.

26-04-2018, 08:49 PM
And there we have it, Arsenal. One paced, too many poor players, 609 passes going nowhere, predictable to a fault.
Athletico will rip into them in the 2nd leg.

26-04-2018, 08:56 PM
And there we have it, Arsenal. One paced, too many poor players, 609 passes going nowhere, predictable to a fault.
Athletico will rip into them in the 2nd leg.

That doesn't really make sense.

After the first goal Arsenal upped the pace massively, constant switching with Monreal and Bellerin pushing really high. They pummelled Athletico for ages. The number of passes reflects the fact that Athletico chose to pack men behind the ball, as most teams would and try and hold out while hoping for an attack on the break. They got that and one of the better strikers in Europe capitalised on mishaps by two defenders.

This is reminiscent of the way Hibs used to get criticised for being ponderous, or passing too much. When you face teams who are set out to defend, then it's not practical to be direct, it needs patience and it needs the hundreds of passes to eventually pull well-disciplined defenders out of position and create the overlaps or spaces to convert into goals.

26-04-2018, 08:56 PM
Same old Arsenal!

26-04-2018, 08:58 PM
Arsenal as so predictable they are unpredictable. Can see them doing the business in Madrid, like they did in Milan when everyone wrote them off.

Mkhitaryan will make a big difference.

26-04-2018, 09:01 PM
Gollum’s hilarious, he just can’t help courting controversy.

Beggars belief :greengrin that he’s refereeing matches at this level.

A concomitant performance from Monsieur Gollum :faf:
2-0 is a great result in the first leg. Salzburg have more shots, more on target,more possession% but were totally outplayed throughout and looked a poor side:dunno:

Stats tell you nothing really.

26-04-2018, 09:10 PM
A concomitant performance from Monsieur Gollum :faf:
2-0 is a great result in the first leg. Salzburg have more shots, more on target,more possession% but were totally outplayed throughout and looked a poor side:dunno:

Stats tell you nothing really.

Stats are like mini-skirts

What they reveal is suggestive, what they conceal is vital :greengrin:greengrin

26-04-2018, 09:17 PM
Stats are like mini-skirts

What they reveal is suggestive, what they conceal is vital :greengrin:greengrin

The possession % in particular can be misleading. How many times have you watched a team pass it around their own half for a couple of minutes achieving the square root of **** all (Yogi's Hibs a good example )

26-04-2018, 09:21 PM
Perhaps my favourite ever quirky stat is from our 4 nil demolition of the zombie huns in 2014. They had 8 corners and we had none.

26-04-2018, 09:26 PM
Perhaps my favourite ever stat is from our 4 nil demolition of the zombie huns in 2014. They had 8 corners and we had none.

I make an exception of course for the 1-0 derby hammering under John Collins when we had 81% possession against the Hertz. This is obviously very relevant and meaningful :greengrin. I read somewhere the 'record' since they started keeping record of it is 83%.