View Full Version : Coldest Hibs Game

19-04-2018, 10:55 PM
To go along with the hottest game thread. The St Johnstone semi at the pbs recently springs to mind. Brrrrrrrrr.

19-04-2018, 10:56 PM
The St J game at ER with the Malteser in charge. A dire game in Baltic conditions. But very well refereed.

hibsfan7
19-04-2018, 10:59 PM
The last hibs v celtic game at easter road it was baltic

19-04-2018, 11:07 PM
So many. Where do you start?

I remember the derby where Wotherspoon scores the only goal as particularly cold.

Cletus
19-04-2018, 11:13 PM
I recall a game at Dens Park around 92/93 which I think ended in a 1-1 draw and Simon Stainrod scored directly from a corner. It was ****ing Baltic and my hands actually went blue that day. Anyone else remember the game in question?

guthrie01
19-04-2018, 11:19 PM
A recent one I can recall would be our last visit to St.Johnstone with the rain pouring down, felt like my feet had turned to ice by the end of the match

seanshow
19-04-2018, 11:44 PM
I'll go for Falkirk away in the championship, we had half the main stand as well as behind the goal.
and the temperature plus wind chill were brutal....i don't even think it was winter either lol

20-04-2018, 12:04 AM
1.1 vs Motherwell, I believe riordan scored to make it 1-1 at their stadium. league cup semi final vs st Johnstone few seasons ago

20-04-2018, 01:44 AM
Celtic at ER in December.... walking to the ground felt like an arctic expedition.

20-04-2018, 05:53 AM
Bohemians friendly at Easter road. One of the worst games I've ever witnessed too. Would've wanted a
refund if it wasn't free to get in

20-04-2018, 06:04 AM
Hibs v Man U. December game when pretty much every other club in Britain was cancelled due to freezing conditions. Airdrie away early 90s. Snowed all game. St Js away match abandoned due to snow.

Superfurry72
20-04-2018, 06:09 AM
Away to Caley Thistle in late December 2005. I couldn’t feel my legs. Not only that, we lost 2-0 with a nothing performance where we lost two terrible goals in the first 10 minutes.

20-04-2018, 06:52 AM
1-0 Celtic at ER a few years back(Leigh Griffiths game) It was Baltic but at least Sparky warmed us up.

Hillsidehibby
20-04-2018, 06:57 AM
Hibs v Man U. December game when pretty much every other club in Britain was cancelled due to freezing conditions. Airdrie away early 90s. Snowed all game. St Js away match abandoned due to snow.

Ditto Man Utd game. I had to leave during the second half because it was so cold.

20-04-2018, 06:59 AM
I remember a 2-2 draw v Dundee United at Easter Road (under Collins, came back from 0-2 down) that was so cold I actually had to go inside the stand to warm up at one point. It probably didn't help that I was 15 and didn't understand the importance of wearing more than one layer.

20-04-2018, 07:00 AM
Midweek in Inverness. Humped 3-0, snow storms or the way up to Inverness on the A9 and absolutely freezing when we got there.
http://www.skysports.com/football/inverness-vs-hibernian/58394
Hibernian
4-4-2

Steven Whittaker (http://www.skysports.com/football/player/1837/steven-whittaker)

Scott Brown (http://www.skysports.com/football/player/1001/scott-brown)

Derek Riordan (http://www.skysports.com/football/player/2350/derek-riordan)

Gary Smith (http://www.skysports.com/football/player/21049/gary-smith)

Alen Orman (http://www.skysports.com/football/player/21055/alen-orman)

Gary Caldwell (http://www.skysports.com/football/player/991/gary-caldwell)

Simon Brown (http://www.skysports.com/football/player/4320/simon-brown)

Antonio Murray (http://www.skysports.com/football/player/3780/antonio-murray)

Ian Murray (http://www.skysports.com/football/player/691/ian-murray)

Garry O'Connor (http://www.skysports.com/football/player/2566/garry-oconnor)

David Murphy (http://www.skysports.com/football/player/2574/david-murphy)Subs

Amadou Konte (http://www.skysports.com/football/player/55565/amadou-konte)

Alistair Brown (http://www.skysports.com/football/player/1412/alistair-brown)

Ivan Sproule (http://www.skysports.com/football/player/2644/ivan-sproule)

Dean Shiels (http://www.skysports.com/football/player/698/dean-shiels)

Jamie McCluskey (http://www.skysports.com/football/player/17946/jamie-mccluskey)

Sam Morrow (http://www.skysports.com/football/player/4710/sam-morrow)

Kevin McDonald (http://www.skysports.com/football/player/1568/kevin-mcdonald)

Matches (http://www.skysports.com/football/fixtures-results)
Wed 2nd March

Celtic
3 0 Dundee
FT (http://www.skysports.com/football/celtic-vs-dundee/58388)

20-04-2018, 07:04 AM
Midweek in Inverness. Humped 3-0, snow storms or the way up to Inverness on the A9 and absolutely freezing when we got there.
http://www.skysports.com/football/inverness-vs-hibernian/58394
Hibernian

4-4-2

Steven Whittaker (http://www.skysports.com/football/player/1837/steven-whittaker)
Scott Brown (http://www.skysports.com/football/player/1001/scott-brown)
Derek Riordan (http://www.skysports.com/football/player/2350/derek-riordan)
Gary Smith (http://www.skysports.com/football/player/21049/gary-smith)
Alen Orman (http://www.skysports.com/football/player/21055/alen-orman)
Gary Caldwell (http://www.skysports.com/football/player/991/gary-caldwell)
Simon Brown (http://www.skysports.com/football/player/4320/simon-brown)
Antonio Murray (http://www.skysports.com/football/player/3780/antonio-murray)
Ian Murray (http://www.skysports.com/football/player/691/ian-murray)
Garry O'Connor (http://www.skysports.com/football/player/2566/garry-oconnor)
David Murphy (http://www.skysports.com/football/player/2574/david-murphy)Subs

Amadou Konte (http://www.skysports.com/football/player/55565/amadou-konte)
Alistair Brown (http://www.skysports.com/football/player/1412/alistair-brown)
Ivan Sproule (http://www.skysports.com/football/player/2644/ivan-sproule)
Dean Shiels (http://www.skysports.com/football/player/698/dean-shiels)
Jamie McCluskey (http://www.skysports.com/football/player/17946/jamie-mccluskey)
Sam Morrow (http://www.skysports.com/football/player/4710/sam-morrow)
Kevin McDonald (http://www.skysports.com/football/player/1568/kevin-mcdonald)

Matches

(http://www.skysports.com/football/fixtures-results)
Wed 2nd March

Celtic

3 0
Dundee
FT
(http://www.skysports.com/football/celtic-vs-dundee/58388)

journey home turned into gallows humour that day - as we had to laugh at such a poor day/evening out...miserable performance and yes very cold!

20-04-2018, 07:11 AM
Don't know about the coldest, (there have been lots) but the wettest was Cowdenbeath in the championship.
By the time I got home I was literally soaked to the skin, everything I had on was soaked

20-04-2018, 07:13 AM
Don't know about the coldest, (there have been lots) but the wettest was Cowdenbeath in the championship.
By the time I got home I was literally soaked to the skin, everything I had on was soaked

That was what came into my head. I think we won 1-0 but it was one of the worst days I’ve ever had watching football. I was standing at the back against the wall and I actually turned round and faced the wall for about 15 mins to stop the rain driving into my face.

20-04-2018, 07:15 AM
Being soaked through at Cowdenbeath a few years back is certainly up there for me

20-04-2018, 07:20 AM
Being soaked through at Cowdenbeath a few years back is certainly up there for me

Same with Alloa away in the piss rain.

20-04-2018, 07:30 AM
4.4 at bus shelter...had to do a quick search, I can't find the temperature on the 2nd Jan 2003 but in aviemore that week it was -18.6c!!

20-04-2018, 07:33 AM
A couple of trips to Pittodrie Spring to mind.

I remember once it was the 1st March and it looked reasonably sunny so I didn't take a jacket and nearly froze. It wasn't that it was that cold, just that I was underprepared.

There was another time when it was snowy up there - I opened the car door, got hit by the wall of cold and nearly drove straight back down the road.

I left the Celtic game earlier this season because I was cold and missed our comeback.

Edinburgher
20-04-2018, 07:35 AM
Scottish Cup game v Brechin at ER (1-0 - John Collins), absolutely awful game too.

20-04-2018, 07:36 AM
Take your pick from a multitude of winter midweek games up at Aberdeen over the years.

20-04-2018, 07:39 AM
4.4 at bus shelter...had to do a quick search, I can't find the temperature on the 2nd Jan 2003 but in aviemore that week it was -18.6c!!

I was in row 3 and got soaked, it was absolutely horsing it down that day!

20-04-2018, 07:43 AM
That was what came into my head. I think we won 1-0 but it was one of the worst days I’ve ever had watching football. I was standing at the back against the wall and I actually turned round and faced the wall for about 15 mins to stop the rain driving into my face.

I did the same lol

NthCarolinaHibs
20-04-2018, 07:55 AM
Coldest for me was away to Cowdenbeath in the Cup,when they scored in the first minute..never even warmed up to the eventual Hibs 3-2 win ...

20-04-2018, 08:04 AM
4-1 at easter road against dundee in mowbray's first season. (Not the 4-4!)

My hands were genuinely bleeding from the cold.

20-04-2018, 08:06 AM
I swear it was the 2-2 at Tynie on the way to winning the cup 2 years ago. It was absolutely brutal!

20-04-2018, 08:15 AM
The league cup final against Killie.
Didn't help that I was rough and not dressed warm enough.

20-04-2018, 08:43 AM
Livingston away in Feb 2016. The first visit through that season was a balmy summers midweek evening with the crowd in shirt sleeves, but the next trip a few months later was so cold the sleet and slush on the park was freezing up and the pitch was becoming borderline playable. Sure it finished 0-0 and I was close to weeping with the bitter chill that even a Parka coat could’nt keep at bay.

20-04-2018, 09:02 AM
I'll go for Falkirk away in the championship, we had half the main stand as well as behind the goal.
and the temperature plus wind chill were brutal....i don't even think it was winter either lol

I mind a Falkirk game being freezing years ago think it was midweek.

Salt N Sauzee
20-04-2018, 09:08 AM
Paul Hanlon derby at Tynie in the Cup 2016.

I was absolutely frozen but warmed up ever so slightly after the equalizer.

20-04-2018, 09:26 AM
Ibrox when we lost 7-0. :boo hoo:

gorgie greens
20-04-2018, 09:36 AM
coming back from Airdrie sometime in the 80's midweek game , Edinburgh West bus old Eastern Scottish nae heating and Front windscreen got tanned in and it was snowing bbbrrrrrrrrrrr

20-04-2018, 09:54 AM

I was about to say exactly this.

Was that the Sunday game?
I think that was the worst its ever been for me.

The Celtic game in December was mental cold as well. It was like -6 at 10.00

20-04-2018, 10:17 AM
Stranraer away in 98 was pretty nippy.

20-04-2018, 10:31 AM
Aberdeen away. A 3-0 defeat in 2005. Think it was March and it wasn't that cold temperarure wise but it was non stop rain and a biting wind for 90 minutes with that horrible uncovered side of the stand facing right onto the coast.

THAT Cowdenbeath game a couple of years ago and also the 3-2 win there in the ill fated 2012 SC run stand out as well. The last game against Celtic at ER was a bit chilly as well.

20-04-2018, 10:33 AM

Forgot about that one, probably not by mistake.

We stayed until the bitter end as well.

20-04-2018, 10:40 AM
Forgot about that one, probably not by mistake.

We stayed until the bitter end as well.

Me too. I was meeting the Weegie branch of my wife's extended family in Glasgow after the game, including some Huns. Which just rounded things off nicely. :rolleyes:

20-04-2018, 11:31 AM
When people are mentioning the Celtic game, I’m assuming they are not West Stand patrons? I’m in West Upper, and didn’t find it particularly cold that day, but we were a bit more sheltered from the biting wind that made it feel particularly cold elsewhere in ground .

leithsansiro
20-04-2018, 11:40 AM
Not necessarily the coldest Hibs game, but the one i undoubtably felt coldest at was the occassion in 1996 (?) ehen we hosted Kilmarnock in December and i foolishly went without either a jacket or jumper. Surely just my Hibs top will be warm enough, i recall thinking.

It wasnt, by the way.

20-04-2018, 11:51 AM
Aye, me too. Left at HT and found the pub. Rum and pep and hot soup. Watched scores come in on TV.

Renfrew_Hibby
20-04-2018, 01:46 PM
Irvine Meadow in the Cup. Also Midweek v Motherwell a couple of weeks ago.

20-04-2018, 01:55 PM
Coldest for me was away to Cowdenbeath in the Cup,when they scored in the first minute..never even warmed up to the eventual Hibs 3-2 win ...

This. I was at Man U but NOTHING compares to Cowden at day.

It was January 2012 - have never felt so cold in my life and I've walked for hours at -10'c previously.

I had full Under Armour and three other layers, double socks, gloves and I recall wrapping my scarf like a head scarf for fear of losing my ears.

It was beyond Baltic!

20-04-2018, 02:01 PM

Couldn't feel my toes. Not enjoyable at all

20-04-2018, 02:03 PM

I thought something was gonna drop off that day.

Mind, I've been at evening games in Muncih where the temperature at the start of the match was already between -12 & -15C, so maybe I've just gone soft.

Bobby Moore
20-04-2018, 02:17 PM
Back in the early 80’S when the whole of Britain was freezing Bertie Auld was manager, we had under soil heating so we’re one of the few clubs able to put on a game. we arranged a friendly over the festive period I think, it was against Manchester United, got a 1-1 draw Willie Jamison scored, got a good crowd because of the opposition but without doubt that was the coldest I’ve ever experienced. Never been to Siberia but it must have been on par, but I was just a kid so maybe I exaggerate but still shiver at the memory.

hibeg
20-04-2018, 02:47 PM
There was a Scottish Cup tie at ER maybe in early 90s v Killie. Paul Wright scored for them I think. Without doubt that was the coldest I have ever been at a football match, it was positively baltic.
Nothing else has come close

leithsansiro
20-04-2018, 03:07 PM
There was a Scottish Cup tie at ER maybe in early 90s v Killie. Paul Wright scored for them I think. Without doubt that was the coldest I have ever been at a football match, it was positively baltic.
Nothing else has come close

Yes! That’s the one i was thinking of too! Sadly was without either a jacket or a jumper...

20-04-2018, 05:13 PM
Back in the early 80’S when the whole of Britain was freezing Bertie Auld was manager, we had under soil heating so we’re one of the few clubs able to put on a game. we arranged a friendly over the festive period I think, it was against Manchester United, got a 1-1 draw Willie Jamison scored, got a good crowd because of the opposition but without doubt that was the coldest I’ve ever experienced. Never been to Siberia but it must have been on par, but I was just a kid so maybe I exaggerate but still shiver at the memory.

Christmas 1980, I think it was. We were in the 1st division at the time so the result was unexpected.

I don't remember it being all that cold but it was a long time ago.

20-04-2018, 05:25 PM
Christmas 1980, I think it was. We were in the 1st division at the time so the result was unexpected.

I don't remember it being all that cold but it was a long time ago.

1981 I recall. And cold. Not as cold as a ***** 0-0 v Morton a wee bit later in the decade when the hardy souls in the NE corner were invited to take refuge in the otherwise empty cowshed on a Wednesday night of driving wind and sleet.

Stood my ground. Lost a finger.

20-04-2018, 05:45 PM

Was still bitterly cold when we won the derby at ER a few days later.

20-04-2018, 08:17 PM

There were (classy as ever) celtc fans peeing against the wall on St Clair Street before that game and walking back after it there were three frozen pee streams.

20-04-2018, 08:34 PM

Our group left at half time and went to the nearest pub.

IDHibs
20-04-2018, 09:03 PM
V Killie... Scottish cup, pure nut shrinker as Paul Wright ripped us for ass paper
tae boot... mind you had a proper tear up on arriving home totally gaga,totally ruined the street party

20-04-2018, 09:53 PM
There was the game at Pittodrie when Pawlett dived for a penalty then got sent off before Sodje missed a sitter. That was horrible.

SON OF PADDY
20-04-2018, 10:15 PM
Early 80's Starks Park !
****ing Freezing.

Criswell
20-04-2018, 11:01 PM
I remember a game at East End Park in the 70's where it was so cold I actually lost my hearing! Only time I have ever had to wrap my scarf round my head.

IDHibs
20-04-2018, 11:21 PM
Sun always shines on Leith

BigT-Hibeez
20-04-2018, 11:27 PM

Yes it was, brrr