View Full Version : **** Hibs U20's Win Development League - Hibs 2 v Aberdeen 0 FT ****

15-04-2018, 11:17 AM
Hibs take Aberdeen on their penultimate game of the Development league campaign on Tuesday, 2pm KO at Oriam. Believe it’s the indoor park!
2 home games still to go for the young Hibes!. 3 points much needed, with Dundee breathing down our necks.
Will also be a dress rehearsal for the final v Dons, although overage players can play in the development league, but not the Youth Cup final

Dundee take on Hearts later that night, so we should know on Tuesday night what we have to do in our last game!

Last game of the Development league for Hibs, is v Motherwell
Confirned as Monday 30th, 2pm Ko at Oriam

https://spfl.co.uk/development-league/

15-04-2018, 11:25 AM
A win for us then Hearts only need a point in Dundee for the league to be won.......sounds familiar 🤔😄

15-04-2018, 11:29 AM
A win for us then Hearts only need a point in Dundee for the league to be won.......sounds familiar 🤔😄

Aye, but we don’t want Dundee to win this one WH

15-04-2018, 01:04 PM
Hope they win the cup but not really bothered about the league as the use of over age players makes it less of an achievement.

15-04-2018, 01:14 PM
Hope they win the cup but not really bothered about the league as the use of over age players makes it less of an achievement.

Agreed but trophies are never really the point at that level. It’s all about developing young players for the first team. I think the experience of being able to negotiate a tight title run in can only benefit the lads in the future, whether that’s at Hibs or elsewhere in the game. And winning things is never a bad habit to get into.

15-04-2018, 01:52 PM
Agreed but trophies are never really the point at that level. It’s all about developing young players for the first team. I think the experience of being able to negotiate a tight title run in can only benefit the lads in the future, whether that’s at Hibs or elsewhere in the game. And winning things is never a bad habit to get into.
Can't argue with any of that.

16-04-2018, 10:31 AM
Game tomorrow is outside I’m told

16-04-2018, 11:21 AM
Aye, but we don’t want Dundee to win this one WH

oh there's probably a couple of hibs fans on here that won't want hertz to win believe it or not :hilarious

16-04-2018, 12:57 PM
Wonder if Gray and Barker will be involved?

17-04-2018, 08:11 AM
Wonder if Gray and Barker will be involved?

I'm hoping at least one of them will be, looking forward to this today.

Garymcl
17-04-2018, 09:11 AM
Looking forward to this 2pm at oriam enjoy watching the young team hope as many hibbys as poss go along to cheer them on :flag:

17-04-2018, 12:09 PM
Reasonable amount of spaces in the car park on the right as you enter the campus

17-04-2018, 12:25 PM
Game is on the grass

17-04-2018, 12:37 PM
Vykintas Slivka gains some valuable match practice this afternoon for the Development Squad against Aberdeen:

STARTING XI | Dabrowski, Donaldson, Mackie, Porteous, Stirling, Crane, S Martin, Slivka, F Murray, L Allan, Shaw.

SUBS | P Martin, Waugh, Campbell, I Murray, A Watson

17-04-2018, 12:45 PM
Vykintas Slivka gains some valuable match practice this afternoon for the Development Squad against Aberdeen:

STARTING XI | Dabrowski, Donaldson, Mackie, Porteous, Stirling, Crane, S Martin, Slivka, F Murray, L Allan, Shaw.

SUBS | P Martin, Waugh, Campbell, I Murray, A Watson

Stirling part of 3 at the back or holding mid with Martin?

17-04-2018, 12:47 PM
Aberdeen Under 20s – Craddock, Harrington, Harvie, Campbell (C), MacPherson, Roscoe, McLennan, S Ross, Dangana, Anderson, E Ross.
Substitutes – Mair (GK), Antoniazzi, Virtanen, MacKenzie, Robertson, Chesser, Shanks. #DonsU20s

17-04-2018, 01:20 PM
Still 0-0
Shaw just gone off injured, looks like a muscle injury
Adam watson on

17-04-2018, 01:26 PM
Still 0-0
Adam watson on

Shame for him. I thought he was in with a chance of a start on Saturday after his goal at RC as McLaren has been pretty quiet last two games.

17-04-2018, 01:28 PM
Still 0-0
Adam watson on

Not great news that especially given his goals record v Celtic.

17-04-2018, 01:51 PM
0-0 ht
Both teams had chances. Really windy, hard to play football
We need to step it up 2nd half

17-04-2018, 02:08 PM
1-0 Hibs. Slivka wins the ball in the air. Watson takes on the full back, crosses over, and Fraser Murray scores at far post

Hibs gone 442 this half

MagicSwirlingShip
17-04-2018, 02:13 PM
1-0 Hibs. Slivka wins the ball in the air. Watson takes on the full back, crosses over, and Fraser Murray scores at far post

Hibs gone 442 this half

YAS!

Mon the Young Team :flag:

17-04-2018, 02:14 PM
Come on lads, we’re nearly over the line

17-04-2018, 02:15 PM

Hibs gone 442 this half

Hows Slivka playing? Would think he will come in for Allan at the weekend

17-04-2018, 02:16 PM
Hibs take Aberdeen on their penultimate game of the Development league campaign on Tuesday, 2pm KO at Oriam. Believe it’s the indoor park!
2 home games still to go for the young Hibes!. 3 points much needed, with Dundee breathing down our necks.
Will also be a dress rehearsal for the final v Dons, although overage players can play in the development league, but not the Youth Cup final

Dundee take on Hearts later that night, so we should know on Tuesday night what we have to do in our last game!

Incidentally, why are the New Huns not in this league?

MagicSwirlingShip
17-04-2018, 02:18 PM
Incidentally, why are the New Huns not in this league?

They asked to be excluded so they could take part in a European Development League AFAIK.

17-04-2018, 02:34 PM
2-0 Hibs. Good play by Slivka, turn and shot from Lewis Alan

17-04-2018, 02:37 PM
Thanks Billy. had hoped to make this today but work got in the way. Appreciate the updates.

17-04-2018, 02:40 PM
Thanks Billy. had hoped to make this today but work got in the way. Appreciate the updates.

10 mins to go. Hibs really dominating 2nd half

GreenPJ
17-04-2018, 02:42 PM
2-0 Hibs. Good play by Slivka, turn and shot from Lewis Alan

Lewis Allan appears to have scored a few of late - does he still have a chance at Hibs?

17-04-2018, 02:45 PM
They asked to be excluded so they could take part in a European Development League AFAIK.

Thanks. Their website has their under 20s just playing friendlies, so I guess it didn't happen. Fannies. :rolleyes:

17-04-2018, 02:52 PM

Must be near FT :wink:

17-04-2018, 02:53 PM
2-0 ft
I’ll do an update later

grammyb111
17-04-2018, 02:53 PM
Lewis Allan appears to have scored a few of late - does he still have a chance at Hibs?

I have seen a bit of him (probably not as much as Billy mind) and I'd say unfortunately not. He's been through some tough injuries and has a great attitude, it's just (in my opinion) he's not going to cut it at our level.

17-04-2018, 02:55 PM
Great result so basically I think if Hearts get something off Dundee tonight we are champions.

17-04-2018, 03:11 PM

They lied. The only European Development League is the UEFA Youth League for which you need to qualify for the Champions League or be the domestic Youth Champions.

Rangers didn’t qualify on either criteria.

The Champions League groups have a ‘shadow’ Youth group and the qualifiers are joined by 32 domestic champions in a knock out competition.

Juniper Greens
17-04-2018, 03:12 PM
Great result so basically I think if Hearts get something off Dundee tonight we are champions.

I noticed Celtic still have a few games to play, is there any danger that if they don't fulfil these we could lose out, due to those results being removed?

17-04-2018, 03:15 PM
I noticed Celtic still have a few games to play, is there any danger that if they don't fulfil these we could lose out, due to those results being removed?

I think all their games in hand have been scheduled for the next week or two. Even if they win them all they are unable to overhaul Hibs current points. Dundee the only threat if they win their last 2 games and Hibs dont beat Motherwell.

17-04-2018, 03:16 PM
Great to see Slivka back playing

tartanhibee
17-04-2018, 03:20 PM
Believe we have only taken 2 points from the Celtc games so we should be ok

17-04-2018, 03:24 PM
Believe we have only taken 2 points from the Celtc games so we should be ok

Took 4 off Celtic beat them and drew with them with 10 men.

007 Mickey Weir
17-04-2018, 03:25 PM
So we are on 56 pts with one game left. Dundee on 52 Pts with two games left. Can’t believe I want Hearts tonight. Although a draw is the perfect result

17-04-2018, 03:32 PM
How did Slivka play?

17-04-2018, 03:33 PM
Mon the Dundee..

Please **** it up.

(Couldn't bring myself to cheer thaim on)

Juniper Greens
17-04-2018, 03:36 PM
Took 4 off Celtic beat them and drew with them with 10 men.

And it looks like Dundee have only taken one point from them...so in theory it could be an issue?

17-04-2018, 03:48 PM
Great result - laddies are doing us proud as well as adding to the feel-good factor at ER !.

17-04-2018, 04:03 PM
How did Slivka play?

I thought he played well, and fitted in with the team. Some good touches and was happy to get involved in the high press.

Hard to judge how he would get on with the first team but today will have been about fitness.

17-04-2018, 04:14 PM
Cracking 2nd half performance from Hibs today, played at a sunny blowy Oriam Centre.
Hibs set up with a 352 formation in the 1st half, with Ben Stirling playing middle of a 3, and Slivka playing right of Scott Martin Both sides had a couple of chances in the 1st half, best Hibs one fell to Fraser Murray, which went just past the post. Dabrowski has an excellent save just before that
Oli Shaw went down with no one near him. He was taken off immediately, and replaced with Adam Watson. Not sure what exactly his injury is, but Hibs weren’t taking any chance. We need him at 1st team level, never mind the Development team

At half time the coaches changed it, which effectively changed the game. Went to a 442, with Stirling in midfield, Slivka supporting Allan, and Watson and Fraser Murray playing wide.
Hibs absolutely dominated the 2nd half.
Both goals were well taken. The 1st was when Slivka wins the ball in the air, passes to Adam Watson, takes on the full back, crosses over, and Fraser Murray scores at far post
2nd I’m trying to remember the build up (really need Old Jonnyboy to be doing these😄), but ball was played into Allan around the penalty spot, he turned, took a wee deflection and went in
Lewis should have also scored at 1-0, through on goal, one on one, but the goalie took it off him.

Hibs hardly troubled in the 2nd half, don’t think Dabrowski had a save to make
Looking forward to next week Cup final. Hibs will be without Slivka, Nartin and Crane from today’s starting 11, but praying Shaw and Hammer will be fit for next week

Aberdeen are a big physical side at this level. This is pretty much their cup final team, apart from Cosgrove. He’s the one that got sent off for blootering Scott Brown at Pittodrie few weeks ago, and got a straight red

Good little crowd at the game as well.
Also an SFA coaching convention are Oriam as week. Larsson, Dalglish and McLeish were all around. Peter Houston and Gary Naismith watching too. Wonder if Houston was watching Shaw and Porteous, see if they are ready for the 21’s

Development league table hasn’t been updated, but as it stands we’re 4 points ahead with one league game to go
Dundee play Hearts at 6pm tonight, they need to win to close the gap, to 1 point. If they were to draw, the league would effectively to ours, as our goal difference is 14 better than Dundee

Last 20’s League game of the season is home to Motherwell any oriam, Monday 30th April, 2pm ko believe

17-04-2018, 04:26 PM
Good report Bill. Difficult conditions but we were well worth the win after the 2nd half performance.

Ben Stirling going into midfield was excellent and Scotty Martin just a terrier in midfield, even after his early booking!

Have you heard if Gullan likely to be back for the final? If so, and assuming Oli recovers, I'd imagine we'd start the same as the semi with Gullan in for Ryan Shanley.

KingFranck
17-04-2018, 04:50 PM
Good report Bill. Difficult conditions but we were well worth the win after the 2nd half performance.

Ben Stirling going into midfield was excellent and Scotty Martin just a terrier in midfield, even after his early booking!

Have you heard if Gullan likely to be back for the final? If so, and assuming Oli recovers, I'd imagine we'd start the same as the semi with Gullan in for Ryan Shanley.

Agree I’ve been watching a few of the lads games and Ben Stirling seems to get better each week.
Really composed on the ball and can’t half pick out a pass.
Scott Martin deservedly booked but had a great game as well.

Billy
17-04-2018, 05:10 PM
Dundee 1-0 up already.

17-04-2018, 05:11 PM
Dundee 1-0 up already.

Any idea of the Hearts up Billy

Billy
17-04-2018, 05:19 PM
Any idea of the Hearts up Billy

No details anywhere.

17-04-2018, 05:37 PM
Thank goodness we're not reliant on Hearts getting a result. The fact they have zero updates / coverage on their Twitter feed speaks volumes to me...

17-04-2018, 05:46 PM
thank goodness we're not reliant on hearts getting a result. The fact they have zero updates / coverage on their twitter feed speaks volumes to me...

1-1 ht

17-04-2018, 05:47 PM
1-1 ht

Hooray.

Boo.

17-04-2018, 05:47 PM
1-1 ht

I take it all back 🤣

17-04-2018, 05:56 PM
bet365 has updates on the Dundee V ?????? GAME

https://www.bet365.com/?lng=1&cb=105802131093#/IP/

17-04-2018, 06:11 PM
2-1 to Dundee after 53 mins.

17-04-2018, 06:11 PM
2 1 Dundee

17-04-2018, 06:14 PM
2-2, 56 mins.

2-2 now!

2-2

Cardinal Hibernian
17-04-2018, 06:17 PM
"Watching" on the Bet 365 site brings back memories of watching score updates on Ceefax and teletext.

Sent from my SM-T820 using Tapatalk

El Gubbz
17-04-2018, 06:23 PM
3-2 hearts 65mins

Dundee 2 Hearts 3, 65 mins.

3-2hearts

El Gubbz
17-04-2018, 06:24 PM
Dundee down to 10

17-04-2018, 06:25 PM
Should be the league then! Outstanding effort.

SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
17-04-2018, 06:27 PM
Should be the league then! Outstanding effort.

Hearts are always winning leagues by beating Dundee

17-04-2018, 06:27 PM
Dundee player sent off, 67 mins.

17-04-2018, 06:30 PM
Are we allowed to want Hearts to win this one?

17-04-2018, 06:31 PM

Absolutely yes. :greengrin

dar
17-04-2018, 06:33 PM
4-2

4-2 hearts

Dundee 2 Hearts 4, 75 mins.

17-04-2018, 06:34 PM
4-2. Game over, league to Hibs :greengrin

17-04-2018, 06:34 PM
Well done to the Hibs boys! When is the last game of the season? Might take the day off work and pop along.

hibsboy07
17-04-2018, 06:35 PM
4-2 hearts 15to go

17-04-2018, 06:35 PM
Thank you Hertz 😂🤮

17-04-2018, 06:40 PM
Kinda feel sorry for the Hearts-laddies - Levein will be going mental !

17-04-2018, 06:43 PM
Well done to the young team:flag:

17-04-2018, 06:43 PM
Oh well that's pretty 4-2unate

17-04-2018, 06:45 PM
Kinda feel sorry for the Hearts-laddies - Levein will be going mental !

As soon as someone mentioned "a Hearts win at Dens and the Championship goes to Edinburgh" Levein barriccaded himself inside his toilet and was nowhere to be seen.

Again.

17-04-2018, 06:47 PM
As soon as someone mentioned "a Hearts win at Dens and the Championship goes to Edinburgh" Levein barriccaded himself inside his toilet and was nowhere to be seen.

Again.

gogsy23
17-04-2018, 06:48 PM
Well done the young guns. Pround as punch

17-04-2018, 06:50 PM
Full time. We are the champions!

17-04-2018, 06:51 PM
Congratulations Boys - thoroughly deserved title !

Ha-ha-ha

Comment on Throw-back thread on the game -

'Pity we didn’t beat hibs the other week as we could have been top if we’d won games in hand'

IF only they'd beaten us and MAYBE they'd won their games in hand .................... - Ok, Jamboids, I'll see that and raise you 'If only Hibs had won EVERY game ................'

No-one does the 'Clutching of the straws' better than the Muppets !

AltheHibby
Brilliant. Well done the young Hibbies. 😁

:cup:

17-04-2018, 06:54 PM
Fantastic achievement. :flag::cup::cup:

My old man
17-04-2018, 06:55 PM
Fantastic achievement. :flag::cup::cup:

Championees championees GGTTH

17-04-2018, 06:55 PM
Now for the Double. Play up lads !

17-04-2018, 06:57 PM
Well done boys :flag:

17-04-2018, 06:59 PM
Hearts playing in Dundee in a game that decides who wins the league... has anyone checked the bogs for Levein?

17-04-2018, 07:00 PM
Well done the laddies.

17-04-2018, 07:00 PM
Congratulations to all the lads and coaches! Really enjoyed watching you this season, you deserved this!
Let’s go and win the cup at Hampden now. Would be great if we can get a big noisy support along to the Final

Are the singing section going along?

17-04-2018, 07:03 PM
Congratulations to all the lads and coaches! Really enjoyed watching you this season, you deserved this!
Let’s go and win the cup at Hampden now. Would be great if we can get a big noisy support along to the Final

Cheers for the many match updates/ reports

17-04-2018, 07:07 PM
well done the young dudes, the double is on :flag:

HibeeHibernian4
17-04-2018, 07:08 PM

There's a bus being sorted on their forum.

17-04-2018, 07:08 PM
Well done lads:flag: Fantastic achievement.

It's difficult to think of a more positive time to be a Hibee in a long time. Scottish Cup in the bag, record attendances, a top Board of Directors, a top Manager, a brilliant 1st team who have a decent chance of 2nd, and now we've won the under 20s league. And looks like even better times ahead.

Wow just wow:nlgwa

17-04-2018, 07:12 PM
Well done to the young lads in winning the Dev league, great achievement with what seems like some good teams in it.

17-04-2018, 07:12 PM
There's a bus being sorted on their forum.

That’s great to hear
Someone needs to let them know we can’t sing about Kamberi etc😄

17-04-2018, 07:27 PM
Oh to be a Hibee, happy days are here again. Many congrats to the young dudes!

17-04-2018, 07:30 PM
Fine achievement, have enjoyed watching the U20 games over last couple of seasons, will be at Hampden next week hoping for a repeat of the double we did in 2009 (I think).

17-04-2018, 07:43 PM
Congratulations to the young Hibees. Thoroughly deserved honour - no reason why we shouldn't land the double now.
What a season the young guys have had.
Well done to all concerned.

Garymcl
17-04-2018, 07:48 PM
Champions!!!!!! Well done the Young laddies what a time to be a hibby will be going to Hampden next week and next Monday at the oriam to see them get the trophy :flag::flag:

biscuitersed75
17-04-2018, 07:58 PM
Brilliant effort from the young guys, well deserved. Special mention for Lewis Allan. Scored some important goals in last few weeks. I'd like to see him included in plans for next season.

Capt Mainwaring
17-04-2018, 08:02 PM
Well done the young lads - well deserved

Watched a lot of Dev games this season and they are a joy to watch. Good bunch of lads playing good passing football through midfield with goals galore and solid at the back.

Well done also to Eddie May, Grant Murray and the rest of the coaching team. Good job

17-04-2018, 08:02 PM
Congratulations Hibs Youngsters (with the odd oldie thrown in) for winning the Development League.
This adds to the positivity surrounding Easter Road these past few seasons.
Winners at every level: First Team, Women's Team, now The Development Team.

17-04-2018, 08:06 PM
Going to need a bigger trophy cabinet

17-04-2018, 08:08 PM
Well done lads a tremendous effort and great reward for all the effort the players and staff have undoubtedly put in.

Can only bode well for the future and its a great that Hearts have found a use for their pointless existence. :wink:

17-04-2018, 08:16 PM
Well done the laddies! Thanks to all for updates!

17-04-2018, 08:22 PM
Was having a look at the team lines for last time we won the Scottish Youth Cup in 2009.
A certain McGeough was on the bench for Rangers that night. Presume it was Dylan

17-04-2018, 08:24 PM
Was having a look at the team lines for last time we won the Scottish Youth Cup in 2009.
A certain McGeough was on the bench for Rangers that night. Presume it was Dylan

He was certainly in the Rangers system in 2009. He was there for 2 or 3 seasons.

ACLeith
17-04-2018, 08:25 PM

It was. The only players who made a mark other than Dylan were Booth and Witherspoon fir us and Danny Wilson fir them. Shows how hard it is to make the step up

17-04-2018, 08:28 PM

Yep.

17-04-2018, 08:41 PM
It was. The only players who made a mark other than Dylan were Booth and Witherspoon fir us and Danny Wilson fir them. Shows how hard it is to make the step up

Sean Welsh as well although I think he might have missed the end of that season through injury?

17-04-2018, 08:45 PM
Superb from the under 20s! Hope to see them push on into the first team.

17-04-2018, 08:46 PM
Sean Welsh as well although I think he might have missed the end of that season through injury?

Hanlon would have played in that team, but he was fast tracked to the 1st team.

17-04-2018, 08:47 PM
Well done to the development team

17-04-2018, 08:49 PM
That's a great achievement for the young team. Hopefully a sign of things to come for them.

17-04-2018, 08:50 PM
Oh well that's pretty 4-2unate

Deserves more recognition this post.

17-04-2018, 08:52 PM
Deserves more recognition this post.

Why thank you

ACLeith
17-04-2018, 08:54 PM

He got injured against Hearts and missed the last bit of the season. Is he still with Partick?

17-04-2018, 08:56 PM
Yep.

At Celtic left for old co, from them back to Celtic then to Hibs. Hibs to ??? At end of season.

17-04-2018, 09:01 PM
He got injured against Hearts and missed the last bit of the season. Is he still with Partick?

He’s with Falkirk, on the bench for them tonight

17-04-2018, 09:01 PM
At Celtic left for old co, from them back to Celtic then to Hibs. Hibs to ??? At end of season.

Melchester Rovers. Race needs a better supply.

Dylan will stay.:thumbsup::wink:

scuttle
17-04-2018, 09:06 PM
Fantastic achievement well done the young uns

17-04-2018, 09:08 PM

He left Partick at the start of the season and signed for Falkirk around January I think. Injuries have prevented him from making a bigger impact at Falkirk.

17-04-2018, 09:10 PM

Yup

I'm supporting the Yams on Sunday as well 😀

17-04-2018, 09:12 PM
Yup

I'm supporting the Yams on Sunday as well 😀

Supporting is stretching it. Favouring them maybe

17-04-2018, 09:15 PM
Cracking 2nd half performance from Hibs today, played at a sunny blowy Oriam Centre.
Hibs set up with a 352 formation in the 1st half, with Ben Stirling playing middle of a 3, and Slivka playing right of Scott Martin Both sides had a couple of chances in the 1st half, best Hibs one fell to Fraser Murray, which went just past the post. Dabrowski has an excellent save just before that
Oli Shaw went down with no one near him. He was taken off immediately, and replaced with Adam Watson. Not sure what exactly his injury is, but Hibs weren’t taking any chance. We need him at 1st team level, never mind the Development team

At half time the coaches changed it, which effectively changed the game. Went to a 442, with Stirling in midfield, Slivka supporting Allan, and Watson and Fraser Murray playing wide.
Hibs absolutely dominated the 2nd half.
Both goals were well taken. The 1st was when Slivka wins the ball in the air, passes to Adam Watson, takes on the full back, crosses over, and Fraser Murray scores at far post
2nd I’m trying to remember the build up (really need Old Jonnyboy to be doing these😄), but ball was played into Allan around the penalty spot, he turned, took a wee deflection and went in
Lewis should have also scored at 1-0, through on goal, one on one, but the goalie took it off him.

Hibs hardly troubled in the 2nd half, don’t think Dabrowski had a save to make
Looking forward to next week Cup final. Hibs will be without Slivka, Nartin and Crane from today’s starting 11, but praying Shaw and Hammer will be fit for next week

Aberdeen are a big physical side at this level. This is pretty much their cup final team, apart from Cosgrove. He’s the one that got sent off for blootering Scott Brown at Pittodrie few weeks ago, and got a straight red

Good little crowd at the game as well.
Also an SFA coaching convention are Oriam as week. Larsson, Dalglish and McLeish were all around. Peter Houston and Gary Naismith watching too. Wonder if Houston was watching Shaw and Porteous, see if they are ready for the 21’s

Development league table hasn’t been updated, but as it stands we’re 4 points ahead with one league game to go
Dundee play Hearts at 6pm tonight, they need to win to close the gap, to 1 point. If they were to draw, the league would effectively to ours, as our goal difference is 14 better than Dundee

Last 20’s League game of the season is home to Motherwell any oriam, Monday 30th April, 2pm ko believe

This is how it feels :greengrin

17-04-2018, 09:29 PM

The teams that night were;

Hibs

Thomas Flynn - Now plays for Whitley Bay. Never played a senior game for Hibs.
Ally Park - Now plays for Glenafton Athletic. Never played a senior game for Hibs.
Ewan Moyes - Now plays for Bonnyrigg Rose. Never played a senior game for Hibs.
Scott Smith - Last played for East Fife. Made one senior appearance for Hibs.
Callum Booth - Now plays for Partick Thistle. Made 46 senior appearances for Hibs.
Oliver Russell - Retired and now coaches at an academy in California. Never played a senior game for Hibs.
David Wotherspoon - Now plays for St Johnstone. Made 154 senior appearances for Hibs.
Lee Currie - Now plays for Bonnyrigg Rose. Never played a senior game for Hibs.
Fergus Bell - Last played for Torquay. Never played a senior game for Hibs.
Kurtis Byrne - Now plays for Linfield. Made 7 senior appearances for Hibs.
Patrick Deane - Last played for Jeanfield Swifts. Never played a senior game for Hibs.

Rangers

Grant Adam - Now plays for Forfar. Never played a senior game for Rangers.
Darren Cole - Now plays for Derry. Made 5 senior appearances for Rangers.
Ross Perry - Now plays for Albion Rovers. Made 32 senior appearances for Rangers.
Danny Wilson - Now plays for Colorado Rapids. Made 108 senior appearances for Rangers over 2 spells.
Gregg Wylde - Now plays for Plymouth. Made 47 senior appearances for Rangers.
Kyle Hutton - Now plays for Dumbarton. Made 70 senior appearances for Rangers.
Stephen Stirling - Last played for Stenhousemuir. Never played a senior game for Rangers.
Jamie Ness - Now plays for Plymouth. Made 18 senior appearances for Rangers.
Kal Naismith - Now plays for Portsmouth. Made 21 senior appearances for Rangers.
Archie Campbell - Now plays for Dundonald Bluebell. Never played a senior game for Rangers.
Kane Hemmings - Now plays for Oxford. Made 10 senior appearances for Rangers.

A few of the Rangers players went on to have decent, if not spectacular, careers.

However it is really just Booth and Wotherspoon from the Hibs team who have really done anything of note at senior level.

17-04-2018, 09:33 PM

Hibs

Ally Park - Now plays for Glenafton Athletic. Never played a senior game for Hibs.
Callum Booth - Now plays for Partick Thistle. Made 46 senior appearances for Hibs.
Oliver Russell - Retired and now coaches at an academy in California. Never played a senior game for Hibs.
David Wotherspoon - Now plays for St Johnstone. Made 154 senior appearances for Hibs.
Patrick Deane - Last played for Jeanfield Swifts. Never played a senior game for Hibs.

Rangers

Ross Perry - Now plays for Albion Rovers. Made 32 senior appearances for Rangers.
Danny Wilson - Now plays for Colorado Rapids. Made 108 senior appearances for Rangers over 2 spells.
Stephen Stirling - Last played for Stenhousemuir. Never played a senior game for Rangers.
Kal Naismith - Now plays for Portsmouth. Made 21 senior appearances for Rangers.
Archie Campbell - Now plays for Dundonald Bluebell. Never played a senior game for Rangers.

A few of the Rangers players went on to have decent, if not spectacular, careers.

However it is really just Booth and Wotherspoon from the Hibs team who have really done anything of note at senior level.

That’s great research, well done

17-04-2018, 09:39 PM

I have to give some credit to my pal Google. :greengrin

It only took around an hour but I'm a bit of an anorak when it comes to looking up stuff like this.

17-04-2018, 10:40 PM
simply the bestest of the rest. well done young guns. go for the double. lots of Hibees will there to cheer you on.:aok:

cheltenhamhibee
18-04-2018, 03:29 AM

Hibs

Rangers

Gregg Wylde is on loan at Morecambe at the minute, gave him some stick when he played against Cheltenham a week past Saturday, he didnae like it, in saying that any ex hun or jambo playing down south against Cheltenham gets it , Andy Kirk got the most, but he took it as banter and gave it back as well

Time For Heroes
18-04-2018, 04:08 AM

Hibs

Rangers

Good read, google or not, cheers

18-04-2018, 05:13 AM
Gregg Wylde is on loan at Morecambe at the minute, gave him some stick when he played against Cheltenham a week past Saturday, he didnae like it, in saying that any ex hun or jambo playing down south against Cheltenham gets it , Andy Kirk got the most, but he took it as banter and gave it back as well

Yeah I saw that, I just decided to post the permanent club all the players were with.

18-04-2018, 06:24 AM

Billy, you see a lot of this development team, how many of this lot can you see making a good impression in our first team?

I remember Eddie May getting some stick a while ago for his recruitment and the way he was running things, and to be perfectly honest, i have no idea if he's even still at the club.

For me, its all about the first team, and i don't really take any notice of the development side other than the results, although nobody likes a homegrown player more than me.

There is something special about someone who's come through the ranks to become a 1st team regular.

Its clear we must be doing something right this season, i suppose its crucial in the progress of our club to bring through players.

Are the sides below the development team stronger than in the past, have things improved since Eddie May said these things a few years back?

18-04-2018, 06:59 AM
Quite poor that there's nothing on the official site about this unless i'm missing something

18-04-2018, 07:16 AM
Quite poor that there's nothing on the official site about this unless i'm missing something

You might be missing the fact that it's only 12 hours since they won the league and none of that time has been in office hours :wink:

18-04-2018, 07:18 AM
Billy, you see a lot of this development team, how many of this lot can you see making a good impression in our first team?

I remember Eddie May getting some stick a while ago for his recruitment and the way he was running things, and to be perfectly honest, i have no idea if he's even still at the club.

For me, its all about the first team, and i don't really take any notice of the development side other than the results, although nobody likes a homegrown player more than me.

There is something special about someone who's come through the ranks to become a 1st team regular.

Its clear we must be doing something right this season, i suppose its crucial in the progress of our club to bring through players.

Are the sides below the development team stronger than in the past, have things improved since Eddie May said these things a few years back?

George Craig has said that he expects Porteous, Shaw and Murray to become first team players. There are younger guys he has hopes for too but he doesn't name names as they're just coming up to the U20's group.

18-04-2018, 07:23 AM

Hibs

Rangers

You forgot one of the most important players who was sitting on the rangers bench & didn't even get game time. Dylan McG.

18-04-2018, 07:36 AM
You might be missing the fact that it's only 12 hours since they won the league and none of that time has been in office hours :wink:

It’s on Hibs Official Twitter though. I presume someone can do this on their phone, where as the official website has to be done from ER?

18-04-2018, 08:05 AM
I have to give some credit to my pal Google. :greengrin

It only took around an hour but I'm a bit of an anorak when it comes to looking up stuff like this.

Top work...I would award you the title of Snorkel jacket for that..definately a step up from Anorak !

18-04-2018, 08:21 AM
One thing you have to remember now, rathe than in 2009, is that the clubs are deducted to bringing through their own players. Amount of money spent on academies verses 2009 is incredible.

I’d expect a lot more of this young squad to make a living in the game, than the 2009 squad, as more of them will get opportunities.

The gap is getting bigger between Scotland and England as an example. We just can’t compete with wages, TV revenue etc. So we need to develop, play and sell on.
It’s our business model

gjb1875
18-04-2018, 08:27 AM
Fine achievement, have enjoyed watching the U20 games over last couple of seasons, will be at Hampden next week hoping for a repeat of the double we did in 2009 (I think).
What time is the kick off next week hoping to get along

18-04-2018, 09:26 AM
Cracking effort by the young lads!

18-04-2018, 09:37 AM
Well done the U20s hopefully more to come from them.

18-04-2018, 11:39 AM
You forgot one of the most important players who was sitting on the rangers bench & didn't even get game time. Dylan McG.

Apologies I only included the starting XI from both teams as it was getting late.

18-04-2018, 11:42 AM

They have updated the website plenty of times straight after midweek matches for the senior team.

18-04-2018, 01:47 PM

Excellent Billy You must have seen most of the games

18-04-2018, 02:38 PM
They have updated the website plenty of times straight after midweek matches for the senior team.

Maybe there was a choice between champagne or updating the website. :greengrin

18-04-2018, 04:43 PM
Fantastic Bert and the young guns :aok:

18-04-2018, 05:31 PM
Strange angle, but with the 1st goal you can see how blustery it was

https://youtu.be/MLe0uyVqjIg

18-04-2018, 06:03 PM
Apologies I only included the starting XI from both teams as it was getting late.

Certainly wasn't a pop at you, fantastic research

18-04-2018, 06:30 PM
Strange angle, but with the 1st goal you can see how blustery it was

https://youtu.be/MLe0uyVqjIg

indeed, but you can also see the quality of the second goal and the build up to it, similar to the team goal they produced against hearts

18-04-2018, 07:10 PM
Certainly wasn't a pop at you, fantastic research

No offence taken.

I might have a look at the subs a bit later. McGeouch's certainly done not too badly for himself!

18-04-2018, 07:59 PM
No offence taken.

I might have a look at the subs a bit later. McGeouch's certainly done not too badly for himself!

Definitely to our advantage