13-04-2018, 05:31 PM
Show me what you've got

13-04-2018, 05:32 PM
Scottish cup winners 2016

13-04-2018, 05:39 PM
Is that story about a "brazilian football encyclopedia" being printed and containing an entire chapter dedicated towards the Famous Five true?

Can't seem to find any reliable sources on it

13-04-2018, 05:41 PM
First British club to play in Europe. A stat that we don’t make enough off imo.

13-04-2018, 05:45 PM
Highest aggregate loss by a Scottish club in Europe :greengrin

13-04-2018, 05:45 PM
Is that story about a "brazilian football encyclopedia" being printed and containing an entire chapter dedicated towards the Famous Five true?

A sorte favorece os audazes.

Sauzee16
13-04-2018, 05:48 PM
The only team to hammer the huns 3-0 at Ibrox 3 times under a five year period ever.

13-04-2018, 05:52 PM

Fake news I believe. But don't tell Pele. :shhhsh!:

13-04-2018, 05:55 PM
A sorte favorece os audazes.

Willie Bold? LTYF :wink:

Wee Effen Bee
13-04-2018, 06:01 PM
Don’t know if this is trivia but, I’m a peg-seller (currently in China with the 1st Minister doing a bit of diplomatic pressing of the flesh hoping to develop business contacts in this very democratic nation😊) and, according to a lot of Hertz fans, many Hibbies are also in the peg business. It’s not a huge industry so I’m extremely surprised that, despite being told there are literally 1000s of us, I have not met a single Hibby at any Peg conferences (local, national or international). Even the publication, Peg-Sellers Monthly (which I edit) has no Hibby input! That is amazing is it not?😁

13-04-2018, 06:17 PM
Is it still on the top shelf I couldn’t reach for years. But when I did wow Readers wife’s pegs wow

esjorto
13-04-2018, 06:22 PM
First British player to score in European competition ............Eddie Turnbull

esjorto
13-04-2018, 06:26 PM
Only player ever to win three League winners medal with three different teams, none of which were celtic or huns.
His Majesty Gordon Smith, the greatest Hibs player ever.

13-04-2018, 06:29 PM

http://www.iancolquhoun.org.uk/how-hibs-taught-brazil-how-to-play-football/

13-04-2018, 06:30 PM
Put some noisy bunch from Gorgie to the sword after making up a two goal deficit with 10 minutes to go on their tattie field.

A money spinning tie I am told.

13-04-2018, 06:30 PM
1887 Football Champions of the World

65860 highest official attendance for a match football match played in Edinburgh

Hibs players have represented 22 national teams

13-04-2018, 06:32 PM
Scottish club who brushed Naples and Dino Zoff aside by beating them 5-0 at home to win 6-4 on aggregate and progress in the Fairs Cup.

Oh and I was there so I know the answer.

13-04-2018, 06:33 PM
Ah but Pretty Boy, any world cup winners among them?

Oh wait, it was another team that claimed that.

13-04-2018, 06:37 PM
1887 Football Champions of the World

65860 highest official attendance for a match football match played in Edinburgh

Hibs players have represented 22 national teams

First ever "world champions"!

13-04-2018, 07:04 PM
First to have flood lights in the uk

First to have shirt sponsorship(?)

13-04-2018, 07:09 PM

First to wear the green I believe (can anyone confirm?)

jonny
13-04-2018, 07:21 PM

Excellent wee article. Thanks for posting.

13-04-2018, 07:22 PM

Not exactly a reliable source unfortunately

angus hibby
13-04-2018, 07:40 PM
First Scottish club to have undersoil heating I think.

13-04-2018, 10:10 PM
The Club with the best anthem / song in world football.

Thread closed :greengrin

13-04-2018, 10:12 PM
First team to beat Hearts 7-0 at tynecastle

13-04-2018, 10:14 PM

I thought the first team with floodlights was stenhousmuir? I think the first game they played with them was against us though.

13-04-2018, 10:15 PM
Only team to ever have won successive top flight and second division championships

Austinho
13-04-2018, 11:23 PM
We’ve defeated both Barcelona and Real Madrid. We were the first ever British team to defeat the latter.

13-04-2018, 11:33 PM
First to massacre the opposition players in a blatant case of exuberance.

13-04-2018, 11:58 PM
Ahead of the Calcutta Cup game in 1982, the England rugby team trained at ER because (thanks to undersoil heating) it was the only good quality, playable pitch available.

esjorto
14-04-2018, 01:38 AM

First to have "PYLON" floodlights I think

14-04-2018, 02:13 PM
Having the biggest club in the world as neighbours.

14-04-2018, 02:16 PM
First to have shirt sponsors. Bukta.

14-04-2018, 02:17 PM
First East of Scotland club to win the Scottish cup.

14-04-2018, 03:11 PM

First top flight team to have shirt sponsorship,Kettering were first team in Britain but non league.

vincipernoi
14-04-2018, 06:48 PM
We’ve defeated both Barcelona and Real Madrid. We were the first ever British team to defeat the latter.

Apparently some English team called Nelson fc beat them in 1923

scm70nyd1973
14-04-2018, 06:55 PM
Show me what you've got

Along with Dunfy, in 2007, the last team to play in a Scottish Cup semi final replay ? After that I think they reverted to a penalty shoot out.

I stand to be corrected on this though !

14-04-2018, 08:07 PM
Only team ever to win the east of Scotland shield at tynecastle the day I was born

Jim Herriot
14-04-2018, 10:52 PM
Were we the first Scottish team to wear purple?
I don't know, but I can't think of or find any other example.

15-04-2018, 08:26 AM
Only club in the world to have signed a Dutchman who couldn't play football.

15-04-2018, 08:39 AM
2 of our goal keepers have represented their country at cricket and basketball (one was actually a basketball player)

Cardinal Hibernian
15-04-2018, 09:07 AM
First team to win the old second division in 1893/94.

First team to win the old second division and NOT get promoted (Clyde who finished a distant third were 'voted' up. Guess which copy cat club formed in 1888 lobbied heavily to prevent promotion?)

First team to win the old second division twice - 1893/94 and 1894/95.

Sent from my SM-T820 using Tapatalk

15-04-2018, 11:55 AM
First team to beat Hearts 7-0 at tynecastle
Which is still their record defeat at home in the league.

15-04-2018, 12:08 PM
Only team from the East to have won back to back top flight titles .
Undefeated in European competition against Barcelona.
we have defeated Bayern Munich 6-1 in their own stadium.

15-04-2018, 03:36 PM
Were we not the first team outwith the top flight to win the Scottish Cup?

w pilton hibby
15-04-2018, 03:42 PM
Were we not the first team outwith the top flight to win the Scottish Cup?

I believe East Fife won the Scottish Cup in 1938 when they were in the old second division.

eezyrider
15-04-2018, 04:54 PM
First team to win the old second division in 1893/94.

First team to win the old second division and NOT get promoted (Clyde who finished a distant third were 'voted' up. Guess which copy cat club formed in 1888 lobbied heavily to prevent promotion?)

First team to win the old second division twice - 1893/94 and 1894/95.

Ach, you beat me to it. I was going to come up with that one.

EZ

15-04-2018, 05:02 PM
I remember being told years ago that Hibs were the only team who ever put five past the formidable Dino Zoff - one of the greatest keepers, if not the greatest, of all time.

No idea if it's true and given his career predates Soccerbase etc, it seems a bit of a task to check whether true.

15-04-2018, 05:24 PM
I remember being told years ago that Hibs were the only team who ever put five past the formidable Dino Zoff - one of the greatest keepers, if not the greatest, of all time.

No idea if it's true and given his career predates Soccerbase etc, it seems a bit of a task to check whether true.

That would have to be Hibernian 5 (Five) Napoli 1
One of they great European nights at Easter Road, when we competed almost every season.
Great times.

15-04-2018, 05:48 PM
First East of Scotland club to win the Scottish cup.

and the last to date :wink:

15-04-2018, 06:14 PM
One of they great European nights at Easter Road, when we competed almost every season.
Great times.

That's the one.

I'm not a fan of folk who post questions they could answer themselves if they tried Google or that.

I've had a look and not found anything obvious that links to Zoff's professional career games. If anyone knows better and can give me a steer then I'm happy to do the trawling and see whether the claim about Hibs is true.

EDIT - acknowldege he played into his early forties so it's not a small task :greengrin

15-04-2018, 06:31 PM
That's the one.

I'm not a fan of folk who post questions they could answer themselves if they tried Google or that.

I've had a look and not found anything obvious that links to Zoff's professional career games. If anyone knows better and can give me a steer then I'm happy to do the trawling and see whether the claim about Hibs is true.

EDIT - acknowldege he played into his early forties so it's not a small task :greengrinHere's a picture of the centre of the match programme. Zoff in goals. No idea if he got 5 put by him again. https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20180415/b0d9373a2a7c4b09ffbfc702466f392f.jpg

15-04-2018, 06:41 PM
Here's a picture of the centre of the match programme. Zoff was in goals. No idea if he got 5 put by him again. https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20180415/b0d9373a2a7c4b09ffbfc702466f392f.jpg

Cheers - good photo.

I read the text around it and it suggests each Hibs player got a musical cigarette box after the leg in Naples.

It was a better time :agree: :greengrin

15-04-2018, 06:43 PM

I'm sure Zoff played at ER for another Italian team and lost either 2 or 3 goals on top of the 5 when he played for Napoli.
I'll have a think about it and see if I can remember which team it was.

Saturday Boy
15-04-2018, 06:44 PM
I'm sure Zoff played at ER for another Italian team and lost either 2 or 3 goals on top of the 5 when he played for Napoli.

Juve. They beat Hibs 4-2, Stanton and Cropley scored our goals

15-04-2018, 06:46 PM

He went to Juve after Napoli so it's probably that.

In fairness, the laddie had a decent career but it's looking like Hibs were a bit of a bogey team for him :greengrin

15-04-2018, 06:50 PM
Cheers - good photo.

I read the text around it and it suggests each Hibs player got a musical cigarette box after the leg in Naples.

It was a better time :agree: :greengrinNeed to check that when I get home. This was just an old picture of my phone that I showed to a guy that didn't believe the score!

15-04-2018, 06:50 PM
He went to Juve after Napoli so it's probably that.

In fairness, the laddie had a decent career but it's looking like Hibs were a bit of a bogey team for him :greengrin

Yep, That's right - it was Juve.
I was at both the games and therefore saw him letting through 7 goals at ER to the famous Hibees.! ?

15-04-2018, 07:03 PM
Juve. They beat Hibs 4-2, Stanton and Cropley scored our goals

Juventus brought on an old guy after half time that produced one of the best football displays I have seen live, his name was Altifina, what a ****ing player. Great night despite the result and the weather seem to remember it was pissing down all night.

Tom Hart RIP
15-04-2018, 07:08 PM
Great times.

It was 5-0

Cardinal Hibernian
15-04-2018, 07:19 PM
First Scottish club to play a European Cup game in Glasgow.

15-04-2018, 07:24 PM
First to wear the green

Topographic Hibby
15-04-2018, 08:25 PM
First Scottish club to play a European Cup game in Glasgow.

Sent from my SM-T820 using TapatalkOh that one is class!! Must make sure all the lesser-Green and Rangers RIP know-it-alls are hit with that question.

Thank you :flag:

15-04-2018, 08:33 PM
We were Subbuteo team number 45.

15-04-2018, 09:03 PM
Juventus brought on an old guy after half time that produced one of the best football displays I have seen live, his name was Altifina, what a ****ing player. Great night despite the result and the weather seem to remember it was pissing down all night.

Jose Altafini and yes, his display was majestic for a 36 year old!

15-04-2018, 09:59 PM
Hearts.

16-04-2018, 10:17 AM
Only team from the East to have won back to back top flight titles .
Undefeated in European competition against Barcelona.
we have defeated Bayern Munich 6-1 in their own stadium.

So are Dundee United - Celtic ruined that Scottish record....

16-04-2018, 10:44 AM
This should save a bit of time¡

http://www.hibshistoricaltrust.org.uk/honours-records/first-stats

AltheHibby
16-04-2018, 05:23 PM
Hearts.

16-04-2018, 05:44 PM
I remember Altafini's introduction well.

We were cruising and the game turned in minutes. One of the few opponents to be applauded when he went off after the final whistle.

It was a privilege to see it.

16-04-2018, 05:47 PM

We were cruising and the game turned in minutes. One of the few opponents to be applauded when he went off after the final whistle.

It was a privilege to see it.The one game I missed that year. Bringing Altafini on for 20/30 minutes was a regular ploy. He changed the outcome of many games. Think they won the Scudeta that year too.

Sent from my F8331 using Tapatalk

16-04-2018, 06:02 PM

It was a privilege to see it.Yep, was there as well. Posted before that we wondered who the old guy was, soon found out! Did a bit of research after that which revealed him to be the ultimate striker. Great player.

Austinho
17-04-2018, 12:16 AM
Hibs were the first known team to appropriate the song Glory Glory Hallelujah as a football chant, with Hector Nicol's version in the 1950s.

It was eventually copied by Tottenham, Leeds United and then Man United.

Glory Glory. It's ours.

heid the baw
17-04-2018, 07:17 AM
First team to have a non English league based player win a cap for England