View Full Version : Tonight’s games
renato
11-04-2018, 08:54 PM
Goalie who has been a credit to football and his club for countless years sees probably his last chance of winning the Cup gone. How would you be?
Saved me typing, exactly. Winners would apparently just accept that, with all those different factors at play for him?
Wow
guthrie01
The header back by Ronaldo and then the pen show what a great player he is. His antics for the whole 90 minutes in diving, moaning, calling for opponents to be booked etc. underline what a destestable individual he is, and again highlight why he will never be loved the way Messi is.
Don’t think he really cares what people think about him.
Ronaldo wins trophies, pure and simple and he does whatever it takes to do so which I admire
Shove my arse.
Not tonight, dear.
11-04-2018, 08:55 PM
Goalie who has been a credit to football and his club for countless years sees probably his last chance of winning the Cup gone. How would you be?
dignified, i'm smart enough to know the referee wouldn't say... "awk ok seeing as you've protested i'l change my mind"
11-04-2018, 08:55 PM
Don’t think he really cares what people think about him.
Ronaldo wins trophies, pure and simple and he does whatever it takes to do so which I admire
Fair enough, I think he's a Luciferian ****.
11-04-2018, 08:56 PM
Not tonight, dear.
Tomorrow maybe?
gaz1875
11-04-2018, 08:56 PM
No pen for me, I thought the defender done brilliant avoiding contact, the Real player was heading down when he heard his breath beside him. Just like Ronaldo anytime he was in the box.
11-04-2018, 08:57 PM
No pen for me, I thought the defender done brilliant avoiding contact, the Real player was heading down when he heard his breath beside him. Just like Ronaldo anytime he was in the box.
I think that's why he never tried to header it. Waiting to go down.
11-04-2018, 08:58 PM
ronaldo wins the biggest poser on planet earth, he can watch himself collecting his award on the big screen, he spends half the game looking at it anyway
Clerie Green
11-04-2018, 08:58 PM
Never a shove .
Buffon should have punched him in the puss .
why am I even bothered ?
theyre not the Hibees !!!
Donald Duck them .
:flag: :greengrin :flag:
11-04-2018, 08:59 PM
Tough on Juve as they were by far and away the best team on the night. RM were dreadful and very very lucky. The English ref was out of his depth and under huge pressure to give the pen at the end.
In the end, it was easier for him to give it than not.
Definite penalty for me, heartbreaking after the effort Juve put into that game though.
Madrid player is cute and waits for / invites the challenge coming in from behind him - but the ref made the right call for me. Juve player's raised leg catches the player in the back.
For selfish reasons I would like to see Liverpool reach the final - showing young Scottish players how far you can get in the game with hard work and belief (Andrew Robertson). Queen's Park in the Scottish Third Division to a Champions League Final with a top 4 EPL club in the space of 5 years - that would be some story :agree:
Never a shove .
Buffon should have punched him in the puss .
why am I even bothered ?
theyre not the Hibees !!!
Donald Duck them .
:flag: :greengrin :flag:
To be fair Buffon certainly quite clearly told the referee to go and **** himself after the red card.
Sauzee16
11-04-2018, 09:03 PM
Champions League is ***** tho eh?
11-04-2018, 09:05 PM
It was. What else could the ref do, stupid challenge and stonewaller.
Never enough of a pen to be given at that stage of the game. Oliver couldn't wait to give it. He was practically wearing a real top with the number of soft fouls and yellows he gave. As for then red carding Buffon dear oh dear. No wonder Real do so well with the refs more than ready to help them out at every turn.
Sauzee16
To be fair Buffon certainly quite clearly told the referee to go and **** himself after the red card.
The Zizou way ironically of ending his career.
I think he will stay next year tho. He’s an incredible athlete and inspirational to Juve. I can’t see him ending this way. Poor arse am reserve goalie.
Clerie Green
Who cares ?
They are not Hibs !
11-04-2018, 09:06 PM
Which in the circumstances was fair enough.
Not a penalty for me; the ball is won by the defender before any momentum contact is made. It was an unorthodox challenge (from behind, but not through the player) and that's why the ref's probably given it. It happens so fast in real time that you probably make-up any gaps in what you saw with what you'd expect to have happened.
Buffon reacted angrily, but I think the ref shat it a bit by sending him off. A booking and if doesn't calm down then a red would have sufficed.
Hopefully Buffon does the "suprise, this year is the last one I promise" routine again next season. Doubt it though, I've seen a few mistakes creeping into games that weren't there in his earlier career and he probably knows that it's time.
Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk
Sauzee16
Never enough of a pen to be given at that stage of the game. Oliver couldn't wait to give it. He was practically wearing a real top with the number of soft fouls and yellows he gave. As for then red carding Buffon dear oh dear. No wonder Real do so well with the refs more than ready to help them out at every turn.
It was a penalty.
11-04-2018, 09:07 PM
I still can’t decide if that’s a pen. Football is a contact sport remember and I’m not sure that’s a foul anywhere else on the park. If it was Hibs I’d want it so god knows.
Buffon though reacts like a child and deserves the red 100%. You can’t do that these days and being up in the refs face all aggressive only one outcome. Shame as it’s a sad way to end your CL career.
lol@some not seeing the push in the back for the penalty..ffs :greengrin
Gordy M
Its the same teams year after year.....ok roma have probably upset the usual teams but i think folk complain that it is pretty predictable. Id have def guessed 2 of the semi finalists before a ball was kicked......and it will be the same next year.
11-04-2018, 09:08 PM
Pretty much majority of the games are yeah.
11-04-2018, 09:08 PM
The question you have to ask is, if that challenge is anywhere else in the box is a pen given? id say 19 out of 20 its a no. Just because its in the middle of the goal six yards out it doesnt make it a worse challenge. very very soft.
11-04-2018, 09:09 PM
The Zizou way ironically of ending his career.
I think he will stay next year tho. He’s an incredible athlete and inspirational to Juve. I can’t see him ending this way. Poor arse am reserve goalie.
Maybe. Hopefully Italy are on a hat trick after Zoff and then Buffon.
11-04-2018, 09:10 PM
lol@some not seeing the push in the back for the penalty..ffs :greengrin
That's because no push is visible from that camera angle. There MIGHT have been a push but we can't see it.
11-04-2018, 09:11 PM
Nonsense it was a clear penalty.
11-04-2018, 09:12 PM
The question you have to ask is, if that challenge is anywhere else in the box is a pen given? id say 19 out of 20 its a no. Just because its in the middle of the goal six yards out it doesnt make it a worse challenge. very very soft.
The only question is, is it a foul, and the answer is a clear foul so its a penalty. :confused:
11-04-2018, 09:13 PM
Clearly, it wasnt a clear penalty, that much is clear.
The hacks watching it are 50/50, most people on here are 50/50.
11-04-2018, 09:14 PM
The only question is, is it a foul, and the answer is a clear foul so its a penalty. :confused:
If you look at the word 'clear' too long it starts to look weird.
11-04-2018, 09:15 PM
I'm biased but I don't think its even a foul anywhere else on the pitch.
In other news how the **** did Willie Gollum get to ref the Bayern game?
The 50% who dont think its a penalty, dont know the rules of football or are blind. :confused:
By the rules of the game it was a clear penalty. In fact you could even call it a Real penalty.
Clerie Green
11-04-2018, 09:17 PM
It was a penalty.
No it wasn’t!
That's because no push is visible from that camera angle. There MIGHT have been a push but we can't see it.
well i & all the TV pundits saw it :greengrin
Considering how well Juve had played in general but especially defended well, it was a a bit of a shock to me at least to see Ronaldo in the box with that amount of space in front of his marker in injury time with the tie tied at 3-3. Was a penalty for me, very clumsy but the error was letting Ronald in that position relatively unmarked. Very unJuve.
11-04-2018, 09:18 PM
By the rules of the game it was a clear penalty. In fact you could even call it a Real penalty.
Its definitely unclear whether its Really a clear penalty.
11-04-2018, 09:19 PM
well i & all the TV pundits saw it :greengrin
Well I and the half of the pundits you're ignoring didn't. :brickwall
11-04-2018, 09:20 PM
Its definitely unclear whether its a clear penalty.
No what is unclear is why some folk can't see it as a foul and a penalty which is what it actually was.
11-04-2018, 09:20 PM
It was certainly a Real penalty. I wonder what's keeping the ref warm tonight...
11-04-2018, 09:21 PM
No what is unclear is why some folk can't see it as a foul and a penalty which is what it actually was.
To be clear, I can't even see it as a foul.
11-04-2018, 09:21 PM
Im guessing they cant see it as a penalty because they dont think it was a penalty.
11-04-2018, 09:22 PM
There's a poster not gonnae be happy about this but I've just realised we have a Luciferian emoticon on .net... :rockin:
11-04-2018, 09:23 PM
To be clear, I can't even see it as a foul.
Really? I would never have guessed with you sitting on the fence about it.😉
11-04-2018, 09:24 PM
Well I and the half of the pundits you're ignoring didn't. :brickwall
wee there's a photo on twitter of the fouled players shirt with a hand print on the back of it :agree:
11-04-2018, 09:26 PM
wee there's a photo on twitter of the fouled players shirt with a hand print on the back of it :agree:
The shroud of Turin?
11-04-2018, 09:26 PM
The shroud of Turin?
no, the shroud of madrid :greengrin
angus hibby
11-04-2018, 09:27 PM
My first reaction was that it’s a penalty. Ref only gets one look too, so can understand why he gave it. After seeing replays, I’m not so sure.
11-04-2018, 09:28 PM
Regretting booking Tenerife now.
11-04-2018, 10:20 PM
I still can’t decide if that’s a pen. Football is a contact sport remember and I’m not sure that’s a foul anywhere else on the park. If it was Hibs I’d want it so god knows.
Buffon though reacts like a child and deserves the red 100%. You can’t do that these days and being up in the refs face all aggressive only one outcome. Shame as it’s a sad way to end your CL career.
Feel for Buffon. Yes he lost it but emotions running high and he never got violent.
Ref shouldn’t have sent him off.
11-04-2018, 10:21 PM
Feel for Buffon. Yes he lost it but emotions running high and he never got violent.
Ref shouldn’t have sent him off.
Why shouldn't be have? Should players be allowed to remonstrate like that? Looked like a classic case of playground cannae take it to me. Don't blame the ref for sending him off. Pen all day long.
bookert
11-04-2018, 11:23 PM
Crivvens if that was the criteria there would be 10 pens a match, hand balls, holding at corners etc.
12-04-2018, 12:04 AM
Greatest player in the world winning massive game for his team, again. Will no doubt lift the CL trophy.... again. Standard. Viva Ronaldo.
12-04-2018, 01:41 AM
Crivvens if that was the criteria there would be 10 pens a match, hand balls, holding at corners etc.
Not every handball is a penalty, but someone blatantly pushing another player over with both hands is a foul everywhere on the park.
Players who grab players and pull their shirts at corners should be penalised, don't you think, or should they be allowed to do it? :confused:
MKHIBEE
12-04-2018, 05:27 AM
Did anyone brave a cheeky double on Roma/Juve to go win/ go through? Curious as to what those odds were
Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkMy lad backed Ronaldo to score the 4th goal at 25/1 and 40/1 when the game was in the last 2 minutes of normal time
Sent from my B3-A40FHD using Tapatalk
12-04-2018, 05:33 AM
Ruben Neves' goal for Wolves last night is up there with the very best I've ever witnessed in my life.
12-04-2018, 06:03 AM
Liverpool keeper punched a cross away - it hit Milner and went back towards goal and the city player tapped it in.
Saw it on the highlights last night. Farcical decision really. Can only think that the linesman thought it was the City player that played the ball forward again. Ref should have spotted that though.
12-04-2018, 06:16 AM
Ruben Neves' goal for Wolves last night is up there with the very best I've ever witnessed in my life.
Aye it wasnae bad!!
http://www.skysports.com/football/news/11699/11326846/ruben-neves-scores-goal-of-the-season-contender-for-wolves-against-derby
12-04-2018, 06:51 AM
Aye it wasnae bad!!
http://www.skysports.com/football/news/11699/11326846/ruben-neves-scores-goal-of-the-season-contender-for-wolves-against-derby
Wow!
guidref
12-04-2018, 06:54 AM
Not every handball is a penalty, but someone blatantly pushing another player over with both hands is a foul everywhere on the park.
Players who grab players and pull their shirts at corners should be penalised, don't you think, or should they be allowed to do it? :confused:
The problem with this is that there are duplicate offenses being committed by both sides at corners. The laws of the game say you should punish the most serious offence and unfortunately they usually all cancel each other out.
In my opinion it was a penalty and a yellow card offence. If it happened earlier in the game no-one would have said very much about it.
Buffon's red was deserved but it could have been any out of about 4 or 5 Juve players that could have been sent off.
The pundits all agreed initially it was a penalty then started to change their minds! It was a bit farsical.
I though the ref was a bit card happy throughout but got the big decisions correct.
in years to come Juve will be talking about their fabulous come back and how they were cheated out of winning the cup (despte this being only the QF)
12-04-2018, 07:00 AM
The problem with this is that there are duplicate offenses being committed by both sides at corners. The laws of the game say you should punish the most serious offence and unfortunately they usually all cancel each other out.
In my opinion it was a penalty and a yellow card offence. If it happened earlier in the game no-one would have said very much about it.
Buffon's red was deserved but it could have been any out of about 4 or 5 Juve players that could have been sent off.
The pundits all agreed initially it was a penalty then started to change their minds! It was a bit farsical.
I though the ref was a bit card happy throughout but got the big decisions correct.
in years to come Juve will be talking about their fabulous come back and how they were cheated out of winning the cup (despte this being only the QF)
Grappling at free kicks and corners in the box would instantly stop if the refs had the balls to give a penalty every time.
No idea why they wont administer the laws of the game properly? :confused:
12-04-2018, 07:16 AM
Its the same teams year after year.....ok roma have probably upset the usual teams but i think folk complain that it is pretty predictable. Id have def guessed 2 of the semi finalists before a ball was kicked......and it will be the same next year.So is most competitions tbh.
Scottish cup 3/4?
FA Cup?
League cups?
Scottish league
English league
German league
Spanish league
Italian league
Champions league
Most of the European competitions are won by nearly always a few of the same clubs. That's another argument. This year the standard of the champions league has been excellent, exactly how it should be. Not the boring negative football cancelling each other out in the past.
Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk
12-04-2018, 12:17 PM
Just seen a better angle on twitter of the pen last night. Ref was bang on so well done to him for spotting it right away.
12-04-2018, 04:57 PM
Roma have many fans from the City while Lazio draw support from the surrounding region which is called Lazio.
they are obviously the rimmers of Rome.
12-04-2018, 07:05 PM
Just seen a better angle on twitter of the pen last night. Ref was bang on so well done to him for spotting it right away.
He was. The defender kicked Vasquez in the chest. Penalty.
12-04-2018, 07:15 PM
Marseille 1 Energy Drink Leipzig 1 after 6 minutes, Quite a game.
2-1 after 8 minutes. Ridiculous start.
12-04-2018, 07:22 PM
He was. The defender kicked Vasquez in the chest. Penalty.
Yeah that’s the angle I seen today. Clear pen!
12-04-2018, 07:24 PM
Nonsense it wasn't. Little or no contact Real player dived. Oliver bottled it.
renato
12-04-2018, 07:25 PM
Marseille 1 Energy Drink Leipzig 1 after 6 minutes, Quite a game.
2-1 after 8 minutes. Ridiculous start.
‘mon the real team!
12-04-2018, 07:27 PM
‘mon the real team!
Payet just scored a screamer from 25 yards, disallowed for a push off the ball :rolleyes: not even twenty minutes gone.
12-04-2018, 07:30 PM
Grappling at free kicks and corners in the box would instantly stop if the refs had the balls to give a penalty every time.
No idea why they wont administer the laws of the game properly? :confused:
Aye but the attacking side are guilty too.
12-04-2018, 07:34 PM
sporting 1 atletico 0(1-2)
horrible night for playing footy, the rain is chucking down
12-04-2018, 07:38 PM
Aye but the attacking side are guilty too.
So give a free kick and book the culprit, just administer the rules of the game would do me, not ignore them.
12-04-2018, 07:40 PM
CSKA not offering much threat to Arsenals 4-1 lead. 35 mins in still 0-0.
12-04-2018, 07:44 PM
CSKA score, 1-0
12-04-2018, 07:46 PM
Oh this is fantastique! 3-1 OM now, 3-2 on aggregate, still first half
12-04-2018, 07:56 PM
CSKA 1 Arsenal 0 at half time. Arsenal comfortable for 30/35 minutes then conceded a goal and looked a bit wobbly for the last 10/15 minutes. Another CSKA goal will make it interesting.
Sauzee16
12-04-2018, 08:00 PM
CSKA 1 Arsenal 0 at half time. Arsenal comfortable for 30/35 minutes then conceded a goal and looked a bit wobbly for the last 10/15 minutes. Another CSKA goal will make it interesting.
Arsenal will win 3-1
Worth £5
12-04-2018, 08:04 PM
Is Mustafi playing? If so I'd say this is wide open.
12-04-2018, 08:06 PM
Is Mustafi playing? If so I'd say this is wide open.
Oh yes and was half asleep for the CSKA goal.:greengrin
12-04-2018, 08:15 PM
2-0 CSKA game on
12-04-2018, 08:16 PM
Squeaky bum time for The Arse!
12-04-2018, 08:20 PM
Genius from Keita, Liverpool have got themselves a player, 3-3 on aggregate, Leipzig going through AIS.
12-04-2018, 08:24 PM
Payet, 4-3 aggregate.
12-04-2018, 08:26 PM
Genius from Keita, Liverpool have got themselves a player, 3-3 on aggregate, Leipzig going through AIS.
Watched Leipzig get mullered 1-4 at home to Leverkusen on monday night in a 4th v 5th match. Leverkusen played really well. Keita was Leipzigs best player though.
12-04-2018, 08:28 PM
Arsenal have a goal chopped off for offiside after being 2nd best all night.
RBL get the goal that would have seen them through before Payet fires another one in to edge Marseille in front again.
Half an hour to go and there's a few twists left I think, to use a tired cliché
Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk
12-04-2018, 08:33 PM
Watched Leipzig get mullered 1-4 at home to Leverkusen on monday night in a 4th v 5th match. Leverkusen played really well. Keita was Leipzigs best player though.
Him and Werner are world class IMO.
12-04-2018, 08:36 PM
Him and Werner are world class IMO.
Werner?
No way. He misses far too many chances to be world class.
12-04-2018, 08:40 PM
Wellbeck makes it 2-1, good goal
12-04-2018, 08:40 PM
What's happening with Lazio? 4-1 going out
12-04-2018, 08:44 PM
Wellbeck makes it 2-1, good goal
Yes, very good goal.
renato
12-04-2018, 08:51 PM
What's happening with Lazio? 4-1 going out
The most bizarre game I’ve seen this season.
Lazio 1-0 up, Salzburg then score 4 goals (2 were huge deflections) and Lazio implode at the back too.
Also, at 1-1, Immobile scores but wrongly ruled offside and Luis Alberto misses an absolute sitter to make it 2-2.
Sum of all that is Salzburg going through as it stands, quite incredible game..
renato
12-04-2018, 08:53 PM
I feel a bit sorry for Lazio, they’ve been on the end of some absolutely shocking decisions this season and yet another one tonight looks like it’s going to cost them.
12-04-2018, 08:57 PM
2-2 CSKA Arsenal. its midnight now in Moscow
12-04-2018, 09:01 PM
OM 5 ****my Energy Drink Bassas 2
That was ridiculous. Brilliant game.
Arsenal
Athletico Madrid
Marseille
Salzburg
In the semis.
12-04-2018, 09:05 PM
I feel a bit sorry for Lazio, they’ve been on the end of some absolutely shocking decisions this season and yet another one tonight looks like it’s going to cost them.
I was thinking you'd enjoy this?
Golazzo brought this out after the Roma miracle the other night (after Juve Real yesterdays its easy to forget there was another classic the night before?!)
https://open.spotify.com/episode/2HnOorelEBruGHYLSH1dNU?si=CzwRX75wTr-DZTyA-zOOuw
Roma nel mito indeed :greengrin
12-04-2018, 09:19 PM
Roma fans are having a party!
renato
12-04-2018, 09:26 PM
The Roma fans are indeed loving this :greengrin
I just like to see teams given a fair crack of the whip and I think a lot of things conspired against Lazio tonight. I don’t particularly like Salzburg either, or more specifically the energy drink cash cow bankrolling them.
Well done to Marseille, also :greengrin
12-04-2018, 09:28 PM
Haha Lazio
:tsk tsk:
12-04-2018, 09:30 PM
Been some cracking European ties this week. Great stuff.
12-04-2018, 09:39 PM
The Roma fans are indeed loving this :greengrin
I just like to see teams given a fair crack of the whip and I think a lot of things conspired against Lazio tonight. I don’t particularly like Salzburg either, or more specifically the energy drink cash cow bankrolling them.
Well done to Marseille, also :greengrin
It's a really tremendous pod, give it a listen. Gets over the magnitude of what Roma achieved the other night :aok:
Dimitri Payets goal last night gets better the more I watch it! Magnifique [emoji632]
13-04-2018, 06:36 PM
Marseille are serious contenders after last night's display.
I think Arsenal have dodged a bullet despite getting Atletico. Wouldn't have fancied them at the Velodrome.
Opinions, eh.
13-04-2018, 06:40 PM
Dimitri Payets
'Kin BOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO
13-04-2018, 06:48 PM
Roma fans are having a party!
And Lazio are in their beds
'Kin BOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO
🤫[emoji6]
13-04-2018, 07:22 PM
Villa showboating at 1-0. Just had a few quid on Leeds. Can’t see it coming in, but it’s the sort of thing that comes back to bite you.
13-04-2018, 09:27 PM
Dimitri Payets goal last night gets better the more I watch it! Magnifique [emoji632]
He was terrible last week vs Montpellier, gave the ball away again and again. Last night he scored that goal, scored an even crazier goal that was disallowed, put in countless fantastic crosses and generally looked like Zidane.
You just never know what you're getting with him. Thauvin is better consistently on the other side.
14-04-2018, 02:47 AM
You just never know what you're getting with him.
Yes you do. A ****ing Judas bassa.
14-04-2018, 07:46 AM
Yes you do. A ****ing Judas bassa.
:faf: aw bless. You'd have thought he pumped Alf Garnetts ma the way you go on :greengrin
14-04-2018, 01:58 PM
:faf: aw bless. You'd have thought he pumped Alf Garnetts ma the way you go on :greengrin