View Full Version : What does the S in SJM really stand for ?

MGmick
07-04-2018, 10:33 PM
Genuine question, really really, what exactly is S about SJM?
He's certainly a big, fit, strong laddie who can put in a challenge but, creatively, what exactly is his contribution?

07-04-2018, 10:37 PM
He's certainly a big, fit, strong laddie who can put in a challenge but, creatively, what exactly is his contribution?

Take players out of the game with power, physique and skill opening up space and attacking opportunities.

07-04-2018, 10:37 PM
Aye right mate. If you honestly can’t see how super John McGinn has been for Hibs in his time here, you really need to stop watching football. The lad has been tremendous.

We’ve got McGinn, Super John McGinn....

07-04-2018, 10:38 PM
Bit of an obvious post?

Somebody’s been in the pub

Ps, reported

MGmick
07-04-2018, 10:43 PM
Well lads, thanks for your responses but they are disappointingly less than insightful.
Rather than questioning my sobriety hows about responding to the actual question?

07-04-2018, 10:44 PM

He's a bit like Cowie. But with talent and ability. That help?

07-04-2018, 10:44 PM
Ps, reported

😏 To be fair, I've only just clicked 🤣🤣 I always thought sir 🤦*♂️

07-04-2018, 10:46 PM
Well lads, thanks for your responses but they are disappointingly less than insightful.
Rather than questioning my sobriety hows about responding to the actual question?

You’re suggesting that McGinn offers nothing creatively.

I’m not sure what sort of answers you expect.

07-04-2018, 10:47 PM
Would whoever parked the maroon Rover at the front of the building please remove it immediately.

07-04-2018, 10:47 PM

Ok. I'll assume you live on the moon?

07-04-2018, 10:52 PM
He takes a pish set piece, and I have no idea why we persist with him in that capacity. If you're a Craig Levein type who thinks football is all about lumping set pieces into the box, you probably won't get why John McGinn is so super.

If you watch us during open play, you'll see an athletic midfielder who offers our team an abundance of attributes in both defence and attack.

His long passing is sublime, he can skelp a decent shot away, but his biggest attribute is his ability to drive forward in possession, holding defenders off and turning defence into attack.

Magic player, and we'll miss him when he's gone.

MGmick
07-04-2018, 10:53 PM
You’re suggesting that McGinn offers nothing creatively.

I’m not sure what sort of answers you expect.

I sort of am. He's definitely a wholehearted player but other than his level of effort (beyond reproach) and the occasional wonder strike I really don't see what the fuss is about him.

07-04-2018, 11:02 PM
I sort of am. He's definitely a wholehearted player but other than his level of effort (beyond reproach) and the occasional wonder strike I really don't see what the fuss is about him.

😂😂😂. Any chance you were locked out of the game by a power cut today? Alternatively get a better feed for audio description or become a referee 😂😂😂

Barman Stanton
07-04-2018, 11:02 PM
No one who actually watches Hibs would need to ask this question. He is a box to box midfielder who drives the whole team on. Can pass, tackle, score some crackers (Parkhead?) and has an engine to run all day. Is also a winner, with a nice set of Scottish and League Cup medals.

07-04-2018, 11:04 PM
Please someone confirm this is actually a wind up...

Funny how popular an opinion it is around the whole of the country that he should be a mainstay in the engine room of the national team.

07-04-2018, 11:04 PM

I was pretty sure about you in the "Cole Stockton blacking up" thread in December, and now I'm 100% sure.

07-04-2018, 11:07 PM
We've got McGinn...

07-04-2018, 11:08 PM

How about he offers more but defensively and in attack than the majority of midfields in Scotland?

You can't have watched many Hibs games this season at all if you believe your own claptrap 👍

07-04-2018, 11:09 PM
Would the owner of the yellow cardigan please contact the nearest steward to be escorted from the stadium. Please Mind the Gap while doing so.

07-04-2018, 11:12 PM
Please someone confirm this is actually a wind up...

Funny how popular an opinion it is around the whole of the country that he should be a mainstay in the engine room of the national team.

I think the engine room point is the key to where he’s coming from. It isn’t a glamorous job but it’s crucial and if SJM were to leave we’d soon realise what he contributed.

There’s so much more to SJM than effort and muscle. It will take a bit of canniness and the right contacts to find a similar player...watch this space should he go.

07-04-2018, 11:18 PM
Tenacity, ability, drive, bravery, energy, skill, passing, tackling...

MGmick
07-04-2018, 11:23 PM
No one who actually watches Hibs would need to ask this question. He is a box to box midfielder who drives the whole team on. Can pass, tackle, score some crackers (Parkhead?) and has an engine to run all day. Is also a winner, with a nice set of Scottish and League Cup medals.

I do watch Hibs and I have acknowledged some of the positives you've put in your post and I'm aware of his medal collection. My question was based on knowing that he "sometimes"breaks up opponents play, "sometimes" drives forward impressively, "sometimes" produces a decent effort on goal. But, IMO, doesn't do any of it regularly or productivly enough to be considered anything better than OK.

Thanks Sir AoK for giving a football answer to my football question. To those who have answered by querying sight or sobriety just believe that I am laughing at you (not in a nice way).

07-04-2018, 11:40 PM
I do watch Hibs and I have acknowledged some of the positives you've put in your post and I'm aware of his medal collection. My question was based on knowing that he "sometimes"breaks up opponents play, "sometimes" drives forward impressively, "sometimes" produces a decent effort on goal. But, IMO, doesn't do any of it regularly or productivly enough to be considered anything better than OK.

Thanks Sir AoK for giving a football answer to my football question. To those who have answered by querying sight or sobriety just believe that I am laughing at you (not in a nice way).

Can you recommend a cardigan supplier?

07-04-2018, 11:44 PM

10 minutes in 2016.

That's all you had to hold out.

600 seconds, and it all would have been so different 😂😂😂😂

hibbymac
07-04-2018, 11:46 PM
https://youtu.be/ToQ0n3itoII?t=64

07-04-2018, 11:47 PM
OK Brucie, I'm going higher than a Jack....You've now introduced the word "sometimes". This infers you consider "always" the measure. Like always completes the pass, scores with every shot, makes the tackle, saves the shot. The only "always" I see is the "always" fouls McGinn, from the opposition. So clearly when you are laughing at us (in not a nice way - wow that was creepy btw) you don't actually need to ask on this forum. We are biased. Opposition managers can see what you can't so maybe football isn't your game?

jakedance
07-04-2018, 11:48 PM
Potentially worth a fortune. No doubt he’s a rough diamond but players that can chase, harry and win the ball then play a forward pass are likes hens teeth. My bet is that we’ll get a modest fee, he’ll prove himself at a higher level, then move for a bigger fee. I think he’s tremendous.

07-04-2018, 11:50 PM

Aye? I watch Hearts at least twice a season, that doesn't make me a Hearts supporter...

07-04-2018, 11:56 PM

I know a football team that "sometimes" pays the charities they owe money to, but they don't do it regularly enough to be considered anything better than a steaming maroon pile of *****.

07-04-2018, 11:58 PM

OK .... wow!

Eaststandee
08-04-2018, 12:12 AM
Maybe he's right, and every other Hibs fan, players, managers, other teams fans, pundits, Scotland managers and the Dalai Lama are all wrong.

I'm convinced!

Wee Effen Bee
08-04-2018, 12:15 AM
I think the answer to your troll, er post, is *****y! Or is it Spaghettimeatball? It could be Sledgehammer as he has smashed his way through your midfield and defence numerous times. Scintillating, Stupendous, Stunning, Superior, Striking, Sensational...Super?

andybev1
08-04-2018, 12:41 AM

How about giving the account back to the hibs fan your stole it from?

08-04-2018, 01:02 AM

The rust is strong with this one....

08-04-2018, 01:17 AM
I just don't think he understands

08-04-2018, 02:03 AM

I think you’re cover has just been blown. Maybe best you pop back to Kickback now you’ve been found it.

Bye now 👋🏼

Oh... Craig Levein though 🤣🤣 No wonder you got so bored you came to this site!

Salt N Sauzee
08-04-2018, 02:44 AM
suffering succotash

08-04-2018, 06:57 AM

Wrong thread, mate.

You're looking for the most cringe worthy discussion.

08-04-2018, 07:53 AM
The OP is the sort of question that, if asked in the pub, would result in much guffawing, probably some empty bottles chucked at the questioner’s face, his parentage and mental state being analysed and him having to buy two rounds in a row.

08-04-2018, 08:37 AM

With him being a big, fit strong laddie who can put in a challenge he’s managed to help us to our highest pre split points tally in about 16 years. He’s routinely been able to run the show against Rangers and Celtc while also managing to back pocket the Hearts wonderkid midfield set up. He’s also scored six goals.

Think I’m pretty happy with his contribution this season. If he was an attacking player who wasn’t scoring goals/assisting regularly then fair enough. That’s not his game and it never will be. If you actually knew anything about the player you could’ve saved making yourself look silly.

08-04-2018, 08:56 AM

were you our talent scout under the Fenlon and Calderwood years by any chance??

Barman Stanton
08-04-2018, 09:20 AM
Iv actually heard this argument from quite a few Jambos. It's wishful thinking. What they tend not to realise is that MCGinn is not a playmaker and not a defensive midfielder. We have plenty of those in the club with the likes of Allan, Dylan, Bartley etc. McGinn is the driving force of the team. The player who can do a bit of everything. And these players are hard to come by. It's why he was winning Scottish Caps while in the lower division.

08-04-2018, 09:22 AM
Methadone Mick with the G for Gorgie.

08-04-2018, 09:28 AM
Semolina

08-04-2018, 09:30 AM

Guessing from your location, you don't actually see many games?

SJM is a vital component to our team.

If you don't rate him then that's your opinion of course, but you are in a very small minority though

whiskas
08-04-2018, 09:37 AM
He’s the closest thing we have to a box-to-box midfielder. Not the biggest guy but knows how to use his strength, is great at shielding the ball, frustrates opposition players and draws fouls, drives forward with the ball and has one hell of a ping on him. My main criticisms of him would be he goes for the World Cup pass too much and he could score even more goals.
There’s a really nice midfield blend with him Dylan and Allan right now

FRes Hibbie
08-04-2018, 09:46 AM
genuine question, really really, what exactly is s about sjm?

ltyf

:chop:

08-04-2018, 09:52 AM
Agreed. Would much rather have someone like Callachan in there.

08-04-2018, 10:22 AM
Tenacity, ability, drive, bravery, energy, skill, passing, tackling...

But apart from tenacity, ability, drive, bravery, energy, skill, passing, tackling and goals, what has McGinn ever done for us?

Jackh
08-04-2018, 10:27 AM

What on earth are you on about

whiskas
08-04-2018, 10:27 AM
But apart from tenacity, ability, drive, bravery, energy, skill, passing, tackling and goals, what has McGinn ever done for us?

Roads?

08-04-2018, 10:42 AM
Semolina

Sumptuous is it not?

Sumptuous John McGinn

Brutal thread though.

08-04-2018, 10:42 AM
Roads?

08-04-2018, 10:48 AM
https://youtu.be/ToQ0n3itoII?t=64

Great song. Not so good a thread. Each to thier own though.

scuttle
08-04-2018, 11:04 AM

Aye right pal

08-04-2018, 11:27 AM
Roads?

Where we're going we don't need.. roads.

davemcbain
08-04-2018, 11:45 AM
Watch him off the ball as well as on it - who's available for every pass? Who's dragging one or two opposition players away from someone else on the 18 yard line? Who's moving for a throw in? (No-one 3 years ago!)

08-04-2018, 01:49 PM
:music: we've got McGinn
super john McGinn
i just don't think MGmick understands

08-04-2018, 01:53 PM
Sad Jambo Mind the gap

08-04-2018, 01:56 PM

Its just a song man,chill out.
He has been absolute superb since he come to us and has improved every season and if you can't see that then I give up explaining

andybev1
08-04-2018, 03:21 PM
MGmick you have been under the radar for 16 years with your avatar showing a hibee crapping out HMFC (well done for that btw), What made you come out? because you were about to hit the 600 mark? or was it because you were on here for 16 years this month? That is a lot of posts right there. I guess it is because your team were on top but now that it has turned around and we shaft your pityful sham of a team on a regular basis, you just could not stand kidding yourself on about being the big team anymore etc,. Now, go, go to kickback where you belong, your time is up No. 7 (- 0). :na na:

08-04-2018, 04:01 PM
MGmick you have been under the radar for 16 years with your avatar showing a hibee crapping out HMFC (well done for that btw), What made you come out? because you were about to hit the 600 mark? or was it because you were on here for 16 years this month? That is a lot of posts right there. I guess it is because your team were on top but now that it has turned around and we shaft your pityful sham of a team on a regular basis, you just could not stand kidding yourself on about being the big team anymore etc,. Now, go, go to kickback where you belong, your time is up No. 7 (- 0). :na na:

:)
:)

08-04-2018, 04:31 PM
Has he left he’s went very quiet 🤔

andybev1
08-04-2018, 04:35 PM
get the feeling he wanted to leave it on 600 so posted just before to leave room to troll........maybe

08-04-2018, 04:58 PM
Mcginn is a quality operator and it’s unbelievable that anyone can’t see that. Successive Scotland managers have seen and and successive hibs managers have seen it. Not to mention countless pundits.

08-04-2018, 05:07 PM
Its just a song man,chill out.
He has been absolute superb since he come to us and has improved every season and if you can't see that then I give up explaining

That was what got me (if it was a serious OP)... a thread started based on the word “super” being used in a catchy song... and allegedly misplaced.

He should have tried it around a year ago when a few people were calling for McGinn to be dropped.. he might have got at least a hint of support then ;)

But in summary.. it most definitely stands for super. Our game against Partick thistle last Saturday (albeit we came through in the end) was a good example of what we lack when McGinn and his superness are missing.

08-04-2018, 05:46 PM
Such obvious trolls post!

08-04-2018, 06:05 PM

Couldn't agree more

By the way Messi is crap and Ronaldo worse

WTF do you expect?

The fact that successive Scotland managers have picked him tends to suggest that there is more to him than you see.

SJM's true worth to Hibs will only be fully appreciated when he is away.

Its typical Scottish mentality some Scottish player is overblown by the press and fellow supporters and because he proves not to be a reincarnation of the best of Pele and Cryff combined folk queue up to have a pop.

Pathetic and sadly predictable

08-04-2018, 06:24 PM

Jealous Jambo?

08-04-2018, 06:24 PM
Couldn't agree more

By the way Messi is crap and Ronaldo worse

WTF do you expect?

The fact that successive Scotland managers have picked him tends to suggest that there is more to him than you see.

SJM's true worth to Hibs will only be fully appreciated when he is away.

Its typical Scottish mentality some Scottish player is overblown by the press and fellow supporters and because he proves not to be a reincarnation of the best of Pele and Cryff combined folk queue up to have a pop.

Pathetic and sadly predictable

Your third last paragraph is the saddest thing of all. How many fantastic players have we seen at Hibs in the past 30+ years? Loads! How many have we seen in the prime and playing at their peak? Very few.

Growing up I was lucky to see guys like Stanton, Brownlie, Blackley, Duncan and Schaedler give of their best to Hibs. In the modern era I can only think of Jackie MacNamara, Darren Jackson, Keith Wright and Pat McGinlay as really top quality playerswho played their best football at Hibs and were outstanding. So many decent players piss off early and McGinn will be the same, sigh.

Tug Wilson
08-04-2018, 07:10 PM

Firstly, I am not going to accuse you of being a Jambo. Too simple an accusation.

Secondly, there is obviously nothing that I or anyone else on here can say that will change your rather narrow view of John McGinn.

We get it. You don't rate him. Fair enough. Your opinion.

All anyone else can do is post what they see as his qualities and attributes.

He is strong in possession of the ball. Very difficult for opponents to get it off him.

When he doesn't have the ball he is strong in the tackle. Often coming out with the ball at his feet.

He can either drive at the opposition defence or put in majestic passes in behind them. Which makes him extremely hard to defend against.

He links the midfield and attack, pushing everything forward. At the recent Hamilton game, when McGinn wasn't playing just in case you weren't there, both Whittaker and Dylan sat quite deep. I felt that this meant that Allan had to drop back to pick up the ball. McGinn fills that link role. Box to box midfielder.

This season he has developed a better goal threat. Which I admit was a weakness.

Midfielders of his type and quality are fairly rare. Is he good enough to play at a really high level. My opinion? Yes.

I think that he could easily be good enough for the English Premiership and for one of the top teams at that.

However, I am happy to bow to your superior football knowledge. You will be looking forward to the job offers from Sky Sports.

eezyrider
08-04-2018, 07:15 PM
It's because of moments like this that SJM is super.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JPZeKk2-ZhM

EZ

Babyshamble
08-04-2018, 10:07 PM
You were either pished.or you're a jambo.**** off back to kickback.

09-04-2018, 02:25 PM

Just back from Mars?