View Full Version : Is Murdo still hurting?

skankomcphee
07-04-2018, 08:24 PM
https://twitter.com/murdo_fraser/status/982658620071530496?s=21

Pleasing to see Inverness born MSP Murdo Fraser, author of the notorious “Queens XI” tweet and an Ibrox diehard, scrambling to associate himself with Ross County this evening.

If I was being charitable to Murdo I’d say he was doing so to appeal to his consituents. But wait - he doesn’t actually have a constituency! He’s a list MSP from a different region, and
has never actually won a Holyrood constituency seat. Probably pretty apt that he follows The Rangers then?

Hibees 3 The Rangers 2

07-04-2018, 08:26 PM
I hate murdo Fraser.

07-04-2018, 08:38 PM
Born in Inverness. I suspect he's one of those unbelievably patronising people who support Rangers but have the local club as their "wee team" (despite said team being in the same division).

oo2be
07-04-2018, 08:42 PM
Did his parents not like him when then named him? Sorry anyone named Murdo but come on it's a sh*t name for a dug :)

MGmick
07-04-2018, 08:46 PM
I am astonished and ashamed at my ignorance. I live up here in the Hie'lans but I've never heard of this Fraser tool.
Up until now.
I have to say, his intro via this thread hasn't set him up to occupy a particularly high position in my esteem list.

But he does win a Far Kim award though.

07-04-2018, 08:50 PM
Born in Inverness. I suspect he's one of those unbelievably patronising people who support Rangers but have the local club as their "wee team" (despite said team being in the same division).

Sadly, Inversneckie is full of them.

07-04-2018, 08:55 PM
He tried to put forward a motion in Parliament to congratulate Rangers for winning the league prior to their liquidation. He's a very bitter, Tory hun as you can see from his previous tweets.

TelaStella
08-04-2018, 12:37 AM
F*** Murdo Fraser.

08-04-2018, 03:48 AM
Never heard of him

08-04-2018, 04:53 AM
F*** Murdo Fraser.

X2

08-04-2018, 05:10 AM
He’s the Craig Levein of politicians. He’s never ever won an election despite several attempts.

08-04-2018, 05:16 AM
A hun and a tory. Life hasn't been kind to Murdo.

08-04-2018, 05:21 AM
A Tory Hun. I’ll pass.

Drewster
08-04-2018, 08:09 AM
He tried to put forward a motion in Parliament to congratulate Rangers for winning the league prior to their liquidation. He's a very bitter, Tory hun as you can see from his previous tweets.[/QUOTE]

Murdo Fraser MSP

https://www.telegraph.co.uk/rugby-union/2017/11/02/scottish-rugby-imposes-heavy-bans-sickening-initiation-ceremony/amp/

Ronster117
08-04-2018, 08:17 AM
Murdo who? Must be one of the famous supporters of the The Rangers
still never heard of him
a politician that has won he-haw supporting a new team that has won he-haw...fitting

08-04-2018, 08:27 AM
Prize roaster. Hopefully greetin when we pump The Rangers again this season.

08-04-2018, 08:49 AM

Repeated widely across Scotland sadly. I spend a good part of my life in Highland Perthshire and it's full of huns who's wee team is St Johnstone.

08-04-2018, 09:00 AM
Can anyone explain why we have folk like him sitting in the Scottish Government?

skankomcphee
08-04-2018, 09:11 AM
He tried to put forward a motion in Parliament to congratulate Rangers for winning the league prior to their liquidation. He's a very bitter, Tory hun as you can see from his previous tweets.

Murdo Fraser MSP

https://www.telegraph.co.uk/rugby-union/2017/11/02/scottish-rugby-imposes-heavy-bans-sickening-initiation-ceremony/amp/

That’s actually a different Murdo Fraser to the one who is an MSP.

-Jonesy-
08-04-2018, 09:12 AM
Can anyone explain why we have folk like him sitting in the Scottish Government?

List candidates, the SG voting system is almost rigged to prevent single party dominance

Wonder why🤔

08-04-2018, 09:13 AM
List candidates, the SG voting system is almost rigged to prevent single party dominance

Wonder why[emoji848]

How many list candidates arnt tory?

7 Up
08-04-2018, 09:17 AM

He's a Conservative MSP, not a member of government. Why is he elected? I suppose, depressingly, he appeals to certain demographic within Scotland.

08-04-2018, 09:19 AM

He couldn't win a seat as an MP, so they put him on the Tory Holyrood 'List' for the Scottish Elections, like they do with anybody they want to do a favour (i.e. the privileged classes).

Here's a wee bit of background, from Wikipedia...

"Born in 1965, he was educated at Inverness Royal Academy. He studied law at the University of Aberdeen, and was chairman of the Scottish Young Conservatives from 1989 to 1992.

After undertaking a postgraduate Diploma in Legal Studies, he worked as a solicitor in Aberdeen and Edinburgh, latterly as an associate with Ketchen and Stevens WS in Edinburgh, specialising in commercial law. Fraser lives with his wife and two children in Perthshire."

AND

"At the 1999 Scottish Parliamentary Election, he was an unsuccessful candidate for North Tayside, as he was in 2003 and 2007. He stood unsuccessfully for the House of Commons in the 1997 General Election in East Lothian, and in 2001 for the UK Parliament's North Tayside seat."

08-04-2018, 09:45 AM
https://twitter.com/murdo_fraser/status/982658620071530496?s=21

Pleasing to see Inverness born MSP Murdo Fraser, author of the notorious “Queens XI” tweet and an Ibrox diehard, scrambling to associate himself with Ross County this evening.

If I was being charitable to Murdo I’d say he was doing so to appeal to his consituents. But wait - he doesn’t actually have a constituency! He’s a list MSP from a different region, and
has never actually won a Holyrood constituency seat. Probably pretty apt that he follows The Rangers then?

Hibees 3 The Rangers 2

As an aside, there used to be a guy with a green, white and gold scarf that stood on "the halfway line" in the old terracing in the late 80s that always shouted "c'mon the Pope's 11" when the teams were running out.

08-04-2018, 09:48 AM
Did his parents not like him when then named him? Sorry anyone named Murdo but come on it's a sh*t name for a dug :)

Good name for a Hibs League Cup winner though 😎

08-04-2018, 11:33 AM
Good name for a Hibs League Cup winner though ��

And skipper of the side no less...

I actually assumed the thread title referred to Murdo MacLeod as he's the first person I think of on the rare occasion I hear the name Murdo. He was a good signing by Alex Miller.

Coincidentally though, when checking out his Hibs career on Wiki, I was quite surprised to read this:

MacLeod endorsed the Conservative Party (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Conservative_Party_(UK)) in the 2010 General Election (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/United_Kingdom_general_election,_2010), campaigning for their candidate in the Argyll & Bute constituency (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Argyll_and_Bute_(UK_Parliament_constituency)).[ (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Murdo_MacLeod#cite_note-9)

08-04-2018, 11:35 AM
Murdo Fraser MSP as has already been mentioned is a list MSP for Mid Scotland and Fife. That covers Stirling, Clackmannan Fife and Perthshire. That makes him one of my representatives at Holyrood.

He is active on local issues and would therefore make a good Councillor, but what he does at Holyrood is anyone's guess. He lost out to Ruth davidson in his attempt to become leader of the Scottish Tories, Thank EFF!!

08-04-2018, 12:27 PM
I was at Aberdeen Uni at the same time as him (and was on the SRC with him too). He had a reputation as being the least right wing and most reasonable of the Tory students at the time.

The time being of course when the Federation of Conservative Students were closed down by Norman Tebbit for being too right wing (including wearing 'hang Nelson Mandela' t-shirts) and trashing Loughborough University...

08-04-2018, 02:54 PM
Turdo Fraser, never elected always appointed follower of the Queen's XI, is a complete merchant banker.

Dub
08-04-2018, 04:13 PM
Murdo Fraser has to be the biggest roaster on twitter and that's with me on it. I've pulled the twat up countless times but he either fails to respond or comes back with some sarcastic comment. It's about time the list was reinvented to stop clowns like him continually getting a seat at Holyrood and send him back to nobodyville where he belongs. The Murdo Exclusion Principle has a nice ring to it.

08-04-2018, 04:32 PM
Turdo Fraser, never elected always appointed follower of the Queen's XI, is a complete merchant banker.

Queens XI = Queen of The South or Queens Park

08-04-2018, 06:38 PM
He couldn't win a seat as an MP, so they put him on the Tory Holyrood 'List' for the Scottish Elections, like they do with anybody they want to do a favour (i.e. the privileged classes).

Here's a wee bit of background, from Wikipedia...

"Born in 1965, he was educated at Inverness Royal Academy. He studied law at the University of Aberdeen, and was chairman of the Scottish Young Conservatives from 1989 to 1992.

After undertaking a postgraduate Diploma in Legal Studies, he worked as a solicitor in Aberdeen and Edinburgh, latterly as an associate with Ketchen and Stevens WS in Edinburgh, specialising in commercial law. Fraser lives with his wife and two children in Perthshire."

AND

"At the 1999 Scottish Parliamentary Election, he was an unsuccessful candidate for North Tayside, as he was in 2003 and 2007. He stood unsuccessfully for the House of Commons in the 1997 General Election in East Lothian, and in 2001 for the UK Parliament's North Tayside seat."

I hope you aren’t implying the school he went to contributes to him being from a privileged class? My father in law (Aberdeen fan) went to that school and it’s just a normal school from what I can gather. Interestingly, Hibs fan and former Scottish Labour Leader, Iain Gray also went there (before being privately educated in Edinburgh).