View Full Version : Pat Nevin Interview

Hibs1969
04-04-2018, 09:08 PM
I found this interview with Pat Nevin online where he discusses his love for Hibs, the Cup Final win of 2016 and our various renditions of Sunshine on Leith. Sorry I can’t hyperlink it but happy listening 💚🇳🇬⚽️👍😀

https://audioboom.com/posts/6766253-pat-nevin

Crazyhorse
04-04-2018, 09:58 PM
I found this interview with Pat Nevin online where he discusses his love for Hibs, the Cup Final win of 2016 and our various renditions of Sunshine on Leith. Sorry I can’t hyperlink it but happy listening 💚🇳🇬⚽️👍😀

Cheers mate enjoyed that.

04-04-2018, 10:05 PM
Good stuff - but Pat Nevin's always good value

04-04-2018, 10:08 PM

You can sort the link by going to the default style then edit post, then save. It's a few clicks but straightforward. 👍

04-04-2018, 10:40 PM

Thanks for posting. Great listen. Pat is top guy.

04-04-2018, 11:01 PM
Here's an easy link.

04-04-2018, 11:02 PM
That was a great listen!

crewetollhibee
04-04-2018, 11:16 PM
Christ, I’m away again....

04-04-2018, 11:51 PM
Christ, I’m away again....

Me tae.

Ardenttwo
05-04-2018, 06:28 AM
That was a great listen!

O me that’s me greeting again

05-04-2018, 06:48 AM
25 minuets in, that's me away again.

EH54
05-04-2018, 08:09 AM
Warning if your at work don't put your headphones in and listen wait u till your home 😂

EH54
05-04-2018, 08:10 AM
Great to hear his story around the League Cup final where he refused to talk etc

05-04-2018, 08:11 AM
He used to have a season ticket in the East, just to the left of me, but haven’t seen him for a season or two, does he sit in another Stand now?

EH54
05-04-2018, 08:16 AM
He used to have a season ticket in the East, just to the left of me, but haven’t seen him for a season or two, does he sit in another Stand now?

Said in his interview he hasn't been for a while as with his work but his son doesn't miss a game home or away

05-04-2018, 08:36 AM
21.50 onwards for the start of his fav moment chat. Great recollections of 2016 and SoL 2007.
Humble down to earth bloke and VG ambassador for Hibs.
Talks about changing allegiance from boyhood Celtic fan to Hibs fan and mentions reasons such as his son being a fan, living in the East, loving Edinburgh, but do I detect a hint of some other reason? "Everyone knows why" he says at one point. Anything else behind it?

05-04-2018, 08:59 AM
Don't listen to this in a public place, bloody weeping.....

scooby
05-04-2018, 09:26 AM

He was in the FF lower a couple of times last season, his son has/had a seat there. Not seen him recently though.

05-04-2018, 09:30 AM
21.50 onwards for the start of his fav moment chat. Great recollections of 2016 and SoL 2007.
Talks about changing allegiance from boyhood Celtic fan to Hibs fan and mentions reasons such as his son being a fan, living in the East, loving Edinburgh, but do I detect a hint of some other reason? "Everyone knows why" he says at one point. Anything else behind it?

I'm sure he's mentioned in the past that he was scunnered by the sectarianism in the West, and found if refreshing that Hibs didn't go for any of that.

05-04-2018, 09:31 AM

Got bored with all the sectarian and political nonsense involved I think.

05-04-2018, 09:36 AM

Yes, as the other two posters have mentioned, it was the sectarianism.

https://www.scotsman.com/news/politics/celtic-fans-ira-chants-drove-me-away-from-the-club-i-love-says-nevin-1-1830310

http://Pundit_Nevin_tells_of_bigot_death_threats/

05-04-2018, 10:24 AM
😢😢😢

05-04-2018, 12:10 PM
Pat articulated what everyone of us felt.

I was at both with my two sons and only grandson. Never stop giving up a thank you for having moments like these.

So, so priveleged. Not another team could have given their supporters such magical moments.

05-04-2018, 01:26 PM
Yes, as the other two posters have mentioned, it was the sectarianism.

https://www.scotsman.com/news/politics/celtic-fans-ira-chants-drove-me-away-from-the-club-i-love-says-nevin-1-1830310

http://Pundit_Nevin_tells_of_bigot_death_threats/

Cheersh double-O sheven - and others.

05-04-2018, 02:13 PM
Warning if your at work don't put your headphones in and listen wait u till your home 😂

Bugger!

should have listened to your advice !

05-04-2018, 03:19 PM
listened to it when I was out for lunch, had to turn it off and gulp back the waterworks when he started talking about walking thru the Hibs fans, you'd think I'd be over it after a couple of years!!

05-04-2018, 03:37 PM
Never see him as a pundit on BBC Scotland sport these days.

05-04-2018, 04:08 PM
Oh dearie me. Tears have just cleared my blindness. :greengrin

I wonder though if his praise for the current Man City side is still as strong after last night? :greengrin

05-04-2018, 04:19 PM

Probably because he refused to talk during Sunshine on Leith at the CIS Cup Final :greengrin

Can't show hibs in a positive manner at the beeb west coast

Never heard that story!

05-04-2018, 04:36 PM
A genuine guy no falseness . But that was a tough listen , emotionally draining in a good way

05-04-2018, 05:09 PM

He's on radio 5 live quite a bit.

I'm not really sure you can trust someone that's changed their team even if it's for the right reasons and he definitely let himself down by joining in the post cup final handwringing.

05-04-2018, 05:16 PM
He's on radio 5 live quite a bit.

I'm not really sure you can trust someone that's changed their team even if it's for the right reasons and he definitely let himself down by joining in the post cup final handwringing.

I can't agree with you on either points. People can change teams, sometime you just fall out of love with one and find an affinity for the other, think it's common with players/ex players. I certainly know a few in the west who fell out of love with both sides of the old firm for the same reasons as Pat.

As for the post cup final stuff, he was probably feeling let down as a fan as he felt it was reflecting badly on his club. There were plenty on here saying the same. I wasn't quite in that camp but I still wish we'd had a repeat of the 2007 CIS and there wasn't all the drama afterwards.

05-04-2018, 07:04 PM
I also have a mate that was a sellik fan, been a good Hibbie for around 25-30 years now, from what I remember, theres also a few from Ireland that cannae be ersed with all the bigotry and also follow Hibs. Its great that we can be an alternative, if thats the right way to put it.