View Full Version : Liverpool v Man City

04-04-2018, 06:04 PM
This should be decent.

Liverpool fans gave City a warm welcome by smashing a couple of bus windows as the coach approached the stadium!

Looking forward to it. Hope it lives up to the hype.

04-04-2018, 06:05 PM
Well I'd be totally shocked if it finished 0-0.

Sauzee16
04-04-2018, 06:06 PM
City to do them over. Has the makings of Chelsea Liverpool a few years ago mind.

04-04-2018, 06:35 PM
This should be decent.

Liverpool fans gave City a warm welcome by smashing a couple of bus windows as the coach approached the stadium!

Looking forward to it. Hope it lives up to the hype.

By Liverpool standards, that's classed as a quiet night out.

04-04-2018, 06:35 PM
City will win this game

04-04-2018, 06:58 PM
1-0 Liverpool

04-04-2018, 06:59 PM
Offside goal.

Sauzee16
04-04-2018, 06:59 PM
Shocking defending and offside in the build up.

04-04-2018, 07:00 PM
Offside goal.

As a Utd fan is there a lesser of 2 evils here for you tonight? Or do you just hope the winner gets pumped in the semi final?

04-04-2018, 07:04 PM
As a Utd fan is there a lesser of 2 evils here for you tonight? Or do you just hope the winner gets pumped in the semi final?

😂 tough world out there..

04-04-2018, 07:06 PM
2-0

04-04-2018, 07:06 PM
2-0 Liverpool

04-04-2018, 07:07 PM

Poor defending again. He had all the time he wanted there!

Sauzee16
Wow

04-04-2018, 07:08 PM
Superb. Stuck my £5 bet on Liverpool to win on B365 and my free in play on Salah scoring anytime. 1 in, the other looking good.

04-04-2018, 07:08 PM

100% Manchester City tonight. Despise Liverpool with a passion, I can't really explain it or rationalise it either I just cannot stand them.

I hope Manchester City then go out in the semis.

guthrie01
04-04-2018, 07:10 PM
Liverpool are amazing to watch, so many players who can score all day long

04-04-2018, 07:12 PM
Liverpool need a 2 or 3 goal margin tonight as City will throw the kitchen sink at them at home. You wouldn't bet against Liverpool scoring away either though.

I still think the acid test for any team wanting to win the CL is the ability to beat Madrid or Barcelona over 2 legs.

04-04-2018, 07:15 PM
Citeh getting ripped apart here.

04-04-2018, 07:16 PM
Shades of Pedantic from Oxlade-Chamberlain there...

3-0

3-0 Liverpool

04-04-2018, 07:17 PM
3-0. Unbelievable Jeff!!

04-04-2018, 07:18 PM
City need to make a sub now. Get sterling on for Gundogan. They're getting ripped apart down their right side

Pep Fraudiola

Laporte is not a left back - constantly getting caught out
Gundogan is not a right midfielder/winger - Walker constantly getting caught out

Tactics all wrong

This tie looks over. Liverpool are ripping City to shreds.

04-04-2018, 07:20 PM
Regardless of the final score tonight or over the two legs this opening 30 minutes has been a complete bottle job that even Hibs in a former life would be very ashamed of.

04-04-2018, 07:23 PM
Guardiola set for another defeat in the latter rounds of this competition because of an inability not to concede. 4-0 v Madrid, 5-3 v Barcelona, 2-2 away goals v Atletico Madrid and 6-6 away goals last year.

04-04-2018, 07:23 PM
There are no words!

04-04-2018, 07:24 PM
What a performance from Liverpool so far. City can’t live with them.

guthrie01
04-04-2018, 07:30 PM
Robertson has really came on this season under Klopp, playing against real quality teams

Tierney should follow and move to a bigger club than Celtic for his and Scotland’s best interests

04-04-2018, 07:34 PM
Regardless of the final score tonight or over the two legs this opening 30 minutes has been a complete bottle job that even Hibs in a former life would be very ashamed of.

I'd like to think I know a thing or two about what it means to "Hibs it" - and I think all talk of bottle jobs should be suspended until the final whistle of the second leg.

A City goal blows this wide open, and they could be looking at a 2 goal win at home in the second leg to go through.

Never, ever count your chickens in football.

City have been utter pish though.

04-04-2018, 07:37 PM
The crowd and the team were up for this game. Liverpool have been dominant. City look shocked.

04-04-2018, 07:40 PM
Liverpools early season performances had me thinking this was a very special team indeed and they've proved me right. The Ox and Andrew Robertson are total unsung heroes. They can definitely win this tournament, but my moneys still on Real.

angus hibby
04-04-2018, 07:40 PM
Liverpool made to shoot towards the Kop in first half when obviously they prefer to do that in 2nd half. Saw Kompany at kick off indicating he wanted to switch ends.

Got me thinking - why are we always shooting towards FF in 2nd half? Always seems to happen - that’s obviously our preferred option so thought opposition would turn us round if they could?

04-04-2018, 07:42 PM
Liverpool look up for it. Snapping into tackles, hassling the man in possessoon and demanding the ball from each other. City have had a lot of the ball but done nothing with it, it's like a training game. No one taking responsibility and taking the game by the scruff of the neck.

04-04-2018, 07:46 PM
Liverpool made to shoot towards the Kop in first half when obviously they prefer to do that in 2nd half. Saw Kompany at kick off indicating he wanted to switch ends.

Got me thinking - why are we always shooting towards FF in 2nd half? Always seems to happen - that’s obviously our preferred option so thought opposition would turn us round if they could?

Opposition probably want to shoot towards their own fans second half so its always likely to be that way

TheGreenMan
04-04-2018, 07:46 PM
Andy Robertson is a great wee player. Good to see a young Scottish player looking the business at the top level against one of the best teams around

04-04-2018, 07:48 PM
The dippers have played well. First goal definitely offside though. Still going to the second leg regardless. City need to nab an away goal.

04-04-2018, 07:49 PM

only a couple of teams have forced us to shoot towards the FF in the 1st half the last few seasons(that i can remember, Q.o.S i think one of them), probably to shake it up a bit to upset our normal game, but it also suits the away team as well so they can be shooting towards their own fans in the 2nd half

04-04-2018, 07:51 PM

Ayr United under Ian McCall done it a couple of times at ER when they won the toss and IIRC Hibs didn't win either game.

04-04-2018, 07:55 PM
I don’t think shooting towards their own fans made any difference to Hamilton last night. There were only about 50 of them.

ionahibby
04-04-2018, 08:00 PM
Liverpool deserve their lead and have played outstanding but it doesn't say much about the champions league when 50 minutes in and both ties are practically done already.

04-04-2018, 08:03 PM
Ayr United under Ian McCall done it a couple of times at ER when they won the toss and IIRC Hibs didn't win either game.

We beat them 3-1 in the cup

04-04-2018, 08:07 PM
Raheem Sterling on - wonder who's pocket he'll end up in tonight.

04-04-2018, 08:10 PM
I’ve been saying it since the start of the season. Liverpool on form are scintillating at times. I’d love them to win the champions league.

04-04-2018, 08:13 PM
I’ve been saying it since the start of the season. Liverpool on form are scintillating at times. I’d love them to win the champions league.

So would I - I’ve got a tenner each way at 22-1 for them to win it!

04-04-2018, 08:19 PM
Can Dundee hold on for a point at Celtc park?

Or have I just jinxed them :greengrin

04-04-2018, 08:31 PM
Citeh score now and the tie is still open.

jimmythefish
04-04-2018, 08:33 PM

Hibs always liked to shoot towards what is now the ff in the days when Easter road pitch had the slope we always liked to be shooting doon the hill 2nd half

04-04-2018, 08:44 PM
Man City do a Hertz - no attempts on goal during whole game

04-04-2018, 08:45 PM
Liverpool were sensational tonight.

All 1/4 final ties look to be over

04-04-2018, 08:46 PM

Until Pep spends the game hiding in the Anfield bogs crying I would say Hertz are a unique case in world football.

04-04-2018, 08:48 PM

Liverpool fans also done a Hertz at the final whistle.
Doing the helicopter with their scarves.
When did they start that?
Hertz Class.

04-04-2018, 08:51 PM
They also done a Hertz at the final whistle.
Doing the helicopter with their scarves.
When did they start that?
Hertz Class.

Was that not the Liverpool fans doing that?

angus hibby
04-04-2018, 09:01 PM
Hibs always liked to shoot towards what is now the ff in the days when Easter road pitch had the slope we always liked to be shooting doon the hill 2nd half

Yeah I know we did. I was thinking more why the opposition don’t turn us round before the game, knowing that we prefer to shoot that way in 2nd half.

04-04-2018, 09:03 PM
Well I wasn't expecting that result.

04-04-2018, 09:06 PM
Until Pep spends the game hiding in the Anfield bogs crying I would say Hertz are a unique case in world football.

I’ve never agreed with a post more.

04-04-2018, 09:11 PM
Was that not the Liverpool fans doing that?

Yep

04-04-2018, 09:13 PM
Liverpool deserve their lead and have played outstanding but it doesn't say much about the champions league when 50 minutes in and both ties are practically done already.

It doesn’t really say anything about the champions league for me?

04-04-2018, 10:11 PM
Raheem Sterling on - wonder who's pocket he'll end up in tonight.

The most over rated player in EPL.

04-04-2018, 10:14 PM
What's the odds on City qualifying?

04-04-2018, 10:36 PM
What's the odds on City qualifying?

Best I can find is 5/1.

04-04-2018, 10:54 PM
Best I can find is 5/1.

Man City -3 is 8/1. Worth considering as an alternative.

04-04-2018, 11:33 PM

Can’t stand him. Came on and booted a couple of people and tackled his own player during city’s last chance to attack.

He has obviously been in a bit of form earlier in the season but I still find him very frustrating, and as you say, over rated.

And something about him I just don’t like. Same with kyle Walker, disliked him at Tottenham and hasn’t changed since he moved.

And no it’s not just because they’re both English ;)

05-04-2018, 12:16 AM
Sterling is 23 and has 21 goals in 38 games this season. Double figures for the last 5 years now. He is a good player, no doubt about that.

05-04-2018, 07:50 AM
It's only half time but⚽️⚽️⚽️ 😁

Citeh were going to stroll it according to some 🤣

05-04-2018, 08:05 AM
I’ve been saying it since the start of the season. Liverpool on form are scintillating at times. I’d love them to win the champions league.This.

City might have the cash to do what they like but the tactical and team spirit gulf last night was huge. On their day Liverpool can beat anyone.

hibsforeurope
05-04-2018, 08:07 AM
That result has shut a few "City Fans" up, supposed best team in the country ripped apart at Anfield again.

I hope United enjoy following the champions League on the telly.

Steven79
05-04-2018, 08:13 AM
I had two tickets for the second leg which I've since sold as I can't see City making a game of it in the second leg (City need to score 5 if Liverpool score one)

Liverpool showed the way to play against City and if more teams had the balls to try it they wouldn't be so far ahead in the league (Jose I'm looking at you).

05-04-2018, 09:58 AM
It's only half time but⚽️⚽️⚽️ 😁

Citeh were going to stroll it according to some 🤣

Yes thought they were the undoubted best team in Europe. Unfortunately for them you actually have to prove that on the pitch.

Liverpool were excellent particularly defensively in the second half and avoided the away goal. Liverpool won't lose now and a great achievement for Klopp when it happens.

05-04-2018, 10:02 AM
Yes thought they were the undoubted best team in Europe. Unfortunately for them you actually have to prove that on the pitch.

Liverpool were excellent particularly defensively in the second half and avoided the away goal. Liverpool won't lose now and a great achievement for Klopp when it happens.

Liverpool shouldn't lose now but then again Carlo Ancelotti's Milan shouldn't have blown a 3 goal lead in 45 minutes in Istanbul so you never know.

05-04-2018, 10:06 AM
Liverpool shouldn't lose now but then again Carlo Ancelotti's Milan shouldn't have blown a 3 goal lead in 45 minutes in Istanbul so you never know.

True enough just don't think City are good enough defensively to stop Liverpool scoring again in the second game which would kill it.

05-04-2018, 11:26 AM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/43651014

video footage of the man city team bus getting pelted

******* shameful behavior, they should get kicked out the competition :agree:

LustForLeith
05-04-2018, 12:51 PM
Think it’s going to be a nasty atmosphere in the second leg.

I’m not really a fan Of Liverpool but Klopps got the beating of City. Just a pity they can’t do it week in week outnkm the league.

Saying that I can see a fully focused Liverpool with a decent keeper bought in the summer and a bit of strength in midfield win the league next year.

05-04-2018, 01:01 PM
Those writing City off are mugs I’m afraid. Anything is possible and they could rip Liverpool apart if they find and early goal.

It’ll be quite sad if Liverpool progress as I reckon they’ll get horsed by Real, Barcelona or Munich. City would have given them a game and it’s just a shame we have these British style games that sometimes knock out the more cultured and sophisticated and teams.

05-04-2018, 01:04 PM
Tie is probably 50/50 now. City could put 5 passed them on a good day.

05-04-2018, 01:08 PM
Tie is probably 50/50 now. City could put 5 passed them on a good day.

Not a chance is it 50/50. Will take a miracle for City to come back from this. IMO they have no chance. Basically not good enough defensively.

05-04-2018, 01:13 PM
Those writing City off are mugs I’m afraid. Anything is possible and they could rip Liverpool apart if they find and early goal.

It’ll be quite sad if Liverpool progress as I reckon they’ll get horsed by Real, Barcelona or Munich. City would have given them a game and it’s just a shame we have these British style games that sometimes knock out the more cultured and sophisticated and teams.

Liverpool beat them fair and square and were by far the better team. Not sure how you can say City would give any of the top teams a better game if they knock City out as that will have proven to be not good enough to reach that stage. All we have heard most of the season is that they were the best team in Europe which clearly isn't the case based on last night.

05-04-2018, 02:24 PM
Citeh will have to go for it at home, which plays directly into Liverpool's hands.

First leg was great. Second could be amazing.

05-04-2018, 02:29 PM
Think it’s going to be a nasty atmosphere in the second leg.

I’m not really a fan Of Liverpool but Klopps got the beating of City. Just a pity they can’t do it week in week outnkm the league.

Saying that I can see a fully focused Liverpool with a decent keeper bought in the summer and a bit of strength in midfield win the league next year.

To be fair to karius he's improved a lot recently and made some important saves, but they will chuck crazy money at Roma in the summer for their keeper.

Liverpools defence is also a different proposition now they have Van Dijk. I was expecting Sane to have a field day against Terence Trent Derby last night but he was tremendous against him, I think Liverpools defence are better than they're given credit for.

05-04-2018, 02:30 PM
Citeh will have to go for it at home, which plays directly into Liverpool's hands.

First leg was great. Second could be amazing.

If Liverpool score, there is no way back for City. With Liverpool's defence (albeit they did very well last night) I can't see them sitting back - they'll want that away goal to kill it off.

City have firepower in abundance and with a good start they would fancy their chances of getting back into it. If they got to 2-0, Liverpool would be bricking it.

It could be one of the best games / ties in years.

This season's tournament has been superb, and that game just lived up to it.

It is good to see cavalier, attacking football being rewarded, and the pragmatists are starting to falter, which makes for a far better spectacle for the armchair fan.

05-04-2018, 02:37 PM

He’s been City’s best player for huge chunks of this season and has scored 20+ goals for the side that have romped the league. Wish Hibs could sign someone that over rated [emoji38]

05-04-2018, 02:40 PM
City beat Liverpool 5-0 at home earlier this season.

05-04-2018, 02:43 PM
If Liverpool score, there is no way back for City. With Liverpool's defence (albeit they did very well last night) I can't see them sitting back - they'll want that away goal to kill it off.

City have firepower in abundance and with a good start they would fancy their chances of getting back into it. If they got to 2-0, Liverpool would be bricking it.

It could be one of the best games / ties in years.

This season's tournament has been superb, and that game just lived up to it.

It is good to see cavalier, attacking football being rewarded, and the pragmatists are starting to falter, which makes for a far better spectacle for the armchair fan.

A goal in the first half and they have a chance. They’ll need a clean sheet though.

05-04-2018, 02:52 PM

🤣🤣🤣👍⚽️⚽️⚽️

What about the mugs that wrote Liverpool off before the game.

05-04-2018, 02:56 PM
🤣🤣🤣👍⚽️⚽️⚽️

What about the mugs that wrote Liverpool off before the game.

.. Or those that wrote them off at the start of the season :greengrin

05-04-2018, 02:56 PM
City 6/1 to qualify.

05-04-2018, 03:09 PM
UEFA have opened a case against Liverpool for the attacks on the Man City bus. It is to be heard 5 days after the final!!!

Does that mean that any havoc can be wreaked on a team/bus/player/staff and there is no effective ultimate sanction?

Strange.

05-04-2018, 03:13 PM

That's what I mean, City HAVE to go all out to attack, they need 3-4 goals. Which plays into Klopps fast counters.

05-04-2018, 03:28 PM
Liverpool beat them fair and square and were by far the better team. Not sure how you can say City would give any of the top teams a better game if they knock City out as that will have proven to be not good enough to reach that stage. All we have heard most of the season is that they were the best team in Europe which clearly isn't the case based on last night.

Fair and square on the face of it but City were uncharacteristically rattled and I wonder how much of that was to do with the shocking bus attack. The city players say it didn’t effect them but it’s probably just bravado for the cameras.

One thing Liverpool did demonstrate was that they can’t guarantee the safety of opposing players so UEFA should show leadership and boot them out the tournament now, not wait until after the final. Where is the punishment or justice for the team who have been wronged?

Liverpool could show class by immediately withdrawing from the tournament.

05-04-2018, 03:33 PM
Fair and square on the face of it but City were uncharacteristically rattled and I wonder how much of that was to do with the shocking bus attack. The city players say it didn’t effect them but it’s probably just bravado for the cameras.

One thing Liverpool did demonstrate was that they can’t guarantee the safety of opposing players so UEFA should show leadership and boot them out the tournament now, not wait until after the final. Where is the punishment or justice for the team who have been wronged?

You need to get a bigger rod or better still use a net.

05-04-2018, 03:35 PM
.. Or those that wrote them off at the start of the season :greengrin

******d myself when I saw Moreno coming on 😁

05-04-2018, 03:51 PM
Scouse

I'm with Pete to a certain extent.

It may be that on this occasion it does not warrant kicking out of the tournament but I find it strange that the enquiry has been booted into the long grass.

It appears the wheels of EUFA justice turn slowly.

I think NL was dealt with in a much hastier fashion. Didn't take them months.

05-04-2018, 03:55 PM

05-04-2018, 04:29 PM
astonishingly no hub caps were nicked from the man city bus, is there not a hub cap market nowadays ? damn those fancy new alloy wheels

05-04-2018, 04:52 PM

Hard to imagine they would be kicked out the tournament but Liverpool will presumably be hammered by UEFA over this incident. Moronic behaviour by the fans yes, but it's the sort of thing the club should never have allowed to happen.

05-04-2018, 04:54 PM
More harm came to Rangers players after Hibs Scottish cup win than came to City players last night.

05-04-2018, 05:02 PM

:not worth :faf:

05-04-2018, 05:54 PM
Scouse

I'm with Pete to a certain extent.

It may be that on this occasion it does not warrant kicking out of the tournament but I find it strange that the enquiry has been booted into the long grass.

It appears the wheels of EUFA justice turn slowly.

I think NL was dealt with in a much hastier fashion. Didn't take them months.

It was a planned "welcome" by the fans that admittedly got out of hand and Liverpool will probably be punished for it. No one was hurt and it will be dealt with by the authorities when they see fit. We really don't need the distraction during the competition so happy to hear it can wait.

05-04-2018, 06:14 PM
Any truth to the rumours that Jamie Carragher gobbed on the driver once it pulled up outside the ground?

05-04-2018, 06:20 PM
UEFA have opened a case against Liverpool for the attacks on the Man City bus. It is to be heard 5 days after the final!!!

Does that mean that any havoc can be wreaked on a team/bus/player/staff and there is no effective ultimate sanction?

Strange.

I'll never understand why punishments of any kind in football can't be dealt with that same week. Esp in a department as big as FIFA has. (Just mean in general). They all take too long.
What happened was shocking last night.

05-04-2018, 06:28 PM
I'll never understand why punishments of any kind in football can't be dealt with that same week. Esp in a department as big as FIFA has. What happened was shocking last night.

I've only just watched the footage and I was expecting a lot worse to be honest. I'd be surprised if any of the City players were in genuine fear or anything, I think Debruyne has said the same.

05-04-2018, 06:28 PM
What channel is the arsenal game on ??

05-04-2018, 06:38 PM
I'll never understand why punishments of any kind in football can't be dealt with that same week. Esp in a department as big as FIFA has. What happened was shocking last night.It's the UEFA CL. Why would FIFA get involved? Am I missing something?

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk

05-04-2018, 06:44 PM
What channel is the arsenal game on ??

BT Sport 2.

05-04-2018, 06:46 PM
Any truth to the rumours that Jamie Carragher gobbed on the driver once it pulled up outside the ground?

currently earning his bacon over on Danish TV, they don't mind dirty unhygienic tw@ts over there

10-04-2018, 08:52 PM

Well you got the early goal part right at least.

Can't see them getting horsed by Barcelona now. 😂

10-04-2018, 08:59 PM
Well you got the early goal part right at least.

Can't see them getting horsed by Barcelona now. 😂

Like I said on another thread, it’s good that the minnows of European football beat the big boys now and again but their luck usually runs out.

I hope Liverpool prove me wrong but I can’t see it. :-(

10-04-2018, 09:01 PM
Like I said on another thread, it’s good that the minnows of European football beat the big boys now and again but their luck usually runs out.

I hope Liverpool prove me wrong but I can’t see it. :-(

😂Of all the teams left at this stage Citeh truly were the minnows of European football.

10-04-2018, 09:05 PM
😂Of all the teams left at this stage Citeh truly were the minnows of European football.

I don’t think that’s the case any more, unless you like living in the past.

I’m pretty sure Manchester City have outperformed Liverpool in Europe as well as the Barclays premier league for a good few years now.

Don’t get me wrong mate, I’m rooting for ya! Go the underdog.😁

10-04-2018, 09:14 PM
I don’t think that’s the case any more, unless you like living in the past.

I’m pretty sure Manchester City have outperformed Liverpool in Europe as well as the Barclays premier league for a good few years now.

Don’t get me wrong mate, I’m rooting for ya! Go the underdog.😁

Have to give you the league, but just can't recall Citehs last success in Europe,you'll have to remind me of it.

10-04-2018, 09:23 PM
Have to give you the league, but just can't recall Citehs last success in Europe,you'll have to remind me of it.

I think they’ve done better in the champions league more recently than Liverpool, who sometimes didn’t even qualify. 🤔

Anyway, go and enjoy your night. It was some two legged performance and I’d rather have anyone than boring Madrid winning it again. 👍🏼

11-04-2018, 11:13 AM

I don't quite agree with the simple logic of Liverpool winning the tie proving City aren't good enough to reach the next stage/give the giants a better game.

I've never considered City even close to the best in Europe, but they're still very easily the best side in England.

11-04-2018, 11:23 AM
I don't quite agree with the simple logic of Liverpool winning the tie proving City aren't good enough to reach the next stage/give the giants a better game.

I've never considered City even close to the best in Europe, but they're still very easily the best side in England.

They clearly weren’t good enough to reach the next stage

11-04-2018, 11:29 AM
They clearly weren’t good enough to reach the next stage

They clearly didn't play well enough over the 2 legs and were deservedly beaten by Liverpool, and therefore didn't qualify. Doesn't mean that squad isn't good enough, period.

As smart as a short response seems... are you telling me Liverpool are a better team than City?

11-04-2018, 12:26 PM
They clearly didn't play well enough over the 2 legs and were deservedly beaten by Liverpool, and therefore didn't qualify. Doesn't mean that squad isn't good enough, period.

As smart as a short response seems... are you telling me Liverpool are a better team than City?

Over the 2 legs? Yes, clearly they were. Over the course of the season? Clearly not based on the points diff in the league

11-04-2018, 02:30 PM
Over the 2 legs? Yes, clearly they were. Over the course of the season? Clearly not based on the points diff in the league

Had Liverpool stumped up the 75M last summer for VVDK, they'd have won the prem IMO. The difference he's made to everyone at the back is immense. Lovren even looks a player again.

11-04-2018, 02:41 PM

I never said otherwise in any of my posts. Liverpool were better over the tie (frightening going forward at times) but I maintain that city team is good enough to get further than they did. The fact they lost this tie doesn’t change that for me. The reason I posted as such is earlier in the thread someone said thought city were more equipped to challenge the ‘giants’ of Europe, which I agree with.

In the same way that Hibs are a good enough team to get further in the Scottish cup than we did this year. Hearts aren’t a better team than us, though they did deserve to go through that tie.

11-04-2018, 05:31 PM
I never said otherwise in any of my posts. Liverpool were better over the tie (frightening going forward at times) but I maintain that city team is good enough to get further than they did. The fact they lost this tie doesn’t change that for me. The reason I posted as such is earlier in the thread someone said thought city were more equipped to challenge the ‘giants’ of Europe, which I agree with.

In the same way that Hibs are a good enough team to get further in the Scottish cup than we did this year. Hearts aren’t a better team than us, though they did deserve to go through that tie.

I totally agree with what you are saying except that just maybe Liverpool are better equipped to deal with the giants as they were equipped to deal with city who according to some are one of those giants?

Liverpool did have at least two huge slices of luck over the two legs and remembering that it is a cup competition, the best team doesn't always win the cup. In 2005 Liverpool were far from the "best team in Europe at that time. You can never really say what might have been in any competittion so we will never know. Beating them three times over the season means to me that Liverpool have proved to be able to deal with city and could do again even though they are a far better team overall than Liverpool over a whole season.

Time will tell if we can deal with another giant, I believe we can over two legs.

11-04-2018, 06:47 PM
juve score @ real madrid in the 1st minute 3-1 on Agg

11-04-2018, 06:51 PM
I totally agree with what you are saying except that just maybe Liverpool are better equipped to deal with the giants as they were equipped to deal with city who according to some are one of those giants?

Liverpool did have at least two huge slices of luck over the two legs and remembering that it is a cup competition, the best team doesn't always win the cup. In 2005 Liverpool were far from the "best team in Europe at that time. You can never really say what might have been in any competittion so we will never know. Beating them three times over the season means to me that Liverpool have proved to be able to deal with city and could do again even though they are a far better team overall than Liverpool over a whole season.

Time will tell if we can deal with another giant, I believe we can over two legs.

Not a ridiculous suggestion by any means Scouse. You’d certainly fancy their chances of scoring against anybody with the Egyptian magician on this kind of form. The real test will be when a really good team manages to put the defence under pressure early in the tie.

Deserve to get as far as you have so far and exciting times ahead.