View Full Version : The weather
02-04-2018, 11:45 PM
It's just not right.
It's been raining here steadily for hours and hours.
My driveway is a lake and I've never seen the garden with so many puddles.
I just looked at the forecast for Edinburgh as I'm coming up for the game tomorrow and it's horrible.
It's April, FFS!
https://www.metcheck.com/WEATHER/now_and_next.asp?zipcode=Edinburgh&locationID=57523&lat=56&lon=-3.2
03-04-2018, 12:55 AM
I was in shorts Saturday. Today it snowed 5 inches. Wednesday is forecast to be 20℃.
It's mental.
03-04-2018, 03:55 AM
Been a steady low 20s in California the past 3 weeks - coming home on Saturday is going to be a shock to the baws!
03-04-2018, 06:45 AM
I was in shorts Saturday. Today it snowed 5 inches. Wednesday is forecast to be 20℃.
It's mental.
Where do you live? :confused:
03-04-2018, 07:32 AM
It’s lovely in lanzarote right now :greengrin
speedy_gonzales
03-04-2018, 07:50 AM
It’s lovely in lanzarote right now :greengrin
It certainly is, sitting on a patio in Puerto Del Carmen with a coffee and the sun on my back, already 17°C and forecast is blue skies all the way!
03-04-2018, 09:07 AM
another dump of snow overnight. About 4cm and still snowing here in highland Perthshire!!
03-04-2018, 09:59 AM
It seems like global warming is never reported anymore,as being the obvious causal factor for the constant episodes of radge weather. The Arctic temp was above freezing this winter, the speed of warming up there has stunned all the scientists, and we have snow in the Mediterranean and no Spring in northern Europe.
It's just not right.
It's been raining here steadily for hours and hours.
My driveway is a lake and I've never seen the garden with so many puddles.
I just looked at the forecast for Edinburgh as I'm coming up for the game tomorrow and it's horrible.
It's April, FFS!
https://www.metcheck.com/WEATHER/now_and_next.asp?zipcode=Edinburgh&locationID=57523&lat=56&lon=-3.2
The game is tonight isn't it?
03-04-2018, 10:07 AM
It seems like global warming is never reported anymore,as being the obvious causal factor for the constant episodes of radge weather. The Arctic temp was above freezing this winter, the speed of warming up there has stunned all the scientists, and we have snow in the Mediterranean and no Spring in northern Europe.
Global warming/climate change seems to be treated as a bit of fun by many as opposed to the problem it is. 'More snow, so much for global warming ha ha ha' seems the generic social media attitude from people who trust Jeremy Clarkson over an overwhelming majority of qualified scientists.
The weather we are seeing in recent years is about what was predicted for the UK with regards climate change. Cooler, wetter summers, short periods of extreme weather leading to flooding and disruptive snow and a more general lack of distinguishing featues between the seasons. I think some expected us to be basking in tropical conditions in April surrounded by barbecues and bronzed women serving ice cold beers.
03-04-2018, 10:09 AM
The game is tonight isn't it?
I hadn't noticed that it was past midnight when I posted that. :na na:
03-04-2018, 10:35 AM
It certainly is, sitting on a patio in Puerto Del Carmen with a coffee and the sun on my back, already 17°C and forecast is blue skies all the way!
I’m in Costa Teguise. It clouded over for a bit, but the suns out again now.
03-04-2018, 10:54 AM
I think it’s because there is always seasonal variations...last March for example was relatively warm and sunny...not this year.
This link shows that random weather is hardly a new phenomenon but I get your point that clearly the global balance is changing fast and that must be having some impact https://www.netweather.tv/weather-forecasts/uk/winter/winter-history
I don’t know if it’s global warming or not but I’m sick of the weather this year that’s for sure...
03-04-2018, 11:14 AM
I think it’s because there is always seasonal variations...last March for example was relatively warm and sunny...not this year.
This link shows that random weather is hardly a new phenomenon but I get your point that clearly the global balance is changing fast and that must be having some impact https://www.netweather.tv/weather-forecasts/uk/winter/winter-history
I don’t know if it’s global warming or not but I’m sick of the weather this year that’s for sure...
Theres no dispute that there's always been seasonal variations, but there are more variations, there are more severe events, and global temperatures are increasing almost every year, so there's an obvious connection. The scientists seem to be in consensus, but it's rarely discussed in the media or by politicians.
03-04-2018, 11:25 AM
My work has offices in Florida and California. Another **** summer and I'm going to have to ask for a transfer.
03-04-2018, 12:01 PM
My work has offices in Florida and California. Another **** summer and I'm going to have to ask for a transfer.
Can I carry your bags?
03-04-2018, 01:31 PM
Where do you live? :confused:
New Jersey
03-04-2018, 01:40 PM
Can I carry your bags?
That’s what Mrs Beefster is for!
03-04-2018, 02:44 PM
That’s what Mrs Beefster is for!
I'll carry her bags then. :idea:
03-04-2018, 10:53 PM
Hoping to see Tornados?
Ah, nostalgia. :angelic:
04-04-2018, 08:38 AM
And it is still snowing.
I am having my roof reslated and it is not happening because of this weather.
04-04-2018, 09:49 AM
And it is still snowing.
I am having my roof reslated and it is not happening because of this weather.
My daffodils are looking totally non-plussed.
04-04-2018, 10:49 AM
My daffodils are looking totally non-plussed.
Someone I know in Devon is deadheading daffodils already mine haven't even opened yet.
04-04-2018, 10:50 AM
I’m in Costa Teguise. It clouded over for a bit, but the suns out again now.
Love Costa Teguise.
Beaches are wonderful
04-04-2018, 12:22 PM
Someone I know in Devon is deadheading daffodils already mine haven't even opened yet.
My mini daffs have been out for a while but the big fellies are taking their time!
I’m sure all my daffs were done and gone by Easter last year and while that was a couple of weeks later in 2017 it just shows how long winter has managed to hang on this time around!
hibs#1
04-04-2018, 12:34 PM
New Jersey
How is it as place to live? I only ask as I'm watching the sopranos again just now. It's always peaked my interest because of this.
04-04-2018, 01:58 PM
How is it as place to live? I only ask as I'm watching the sopranos again just now. It's always peaked my interest because of this.
I live about 10 minute drive away from The Soprano house. Funny I also was just in Holsteins for lunch the other day.
It's a strange state, where I am is very expensive, very dense population wise too. South and west Jersey are very quiet and spread out.
Apart from the weather (which currently sucks) it's pretty good!
04-04-2018, 02:25 PM
Snow Chucking it down just now.
04-04-2018, 04:22 PM
20 degrees and sunshine here in Berlin. Beer garden season is open.
04-04-2018, 05:38 PM
Pishing down in York.
Flood warnings for the Ouse and temporary barriers up.
05-04-2018, 09:47 AM
Love Costa Teguise.
Beaches are wonderful
They are, but at this time of year they don’t have any sun beds out.
05-04-2018, 11:05 AM
They are, but at this time of year they don’t have any sun beds out.
1st world problems eh :greengrin
Beautiful wee cove along to the right (if facing the sea) beside the Blue Sea Costa Teguise Beach hotel.
I could quite happily live there :-(
05-04-2018, 11:12 AM
Interestingly here on the other side of the world, while Edinburgh/UK is having an extended winter, we in NZ have just had the hottest summer since records began, and even now, it’s still pretty hot for being well into autum. 20C and sunny here in Wellington today and yesterday the high elsewhere was 28C!
The weather does appear to be changing somewhat. However, having only been here 10 years and alive for 36, it could all just be a minor blip?!
06-04-2018, 08:45 PM
1st world problems eh :greengrin
Beautiful wee cove along to the right (if facing the sea) beside the Blue Sea Costa Teguise Beach hotel.
I could quite happily live there :-(
I passed by there on Monday. My hotel is further along that coastal path. It’s absolutely stunning in that wee cove. The water was a a lovely shade of blue in the cove before it headed out into the ocean. There was hardly anyone in there either.
06-04-2018, 09:39 PM
I've had hailstones, snow, sleet and rain today.
And I've only been in Iceland for 2 hours! :greengrin
06-04-2018, 10:32 PM
I passed by there on Monday. My hotel is further along that coastal path. It’s absolutely stunning in that wee cove. The water was a a lovely shade of blue in the cove before it headed out into the ocean. There was hardly anyone in there either.
Not wanting to hijack the thread but there is a tiny wee cave in that cove . Great for bairns as you can sit in it right beside the water.
Wish I was there now :greengrin
07-04-2018, 07:51 AM
My mini daffs have been out for a while but the big fellies are taking their time!
I’m sure all my daffs were done and gone by Easter last year and while that was a couple of weeks later in 2017 it just shows how long winter has managed to hang on this time around!
Gardening is a great way of measuring climate change. Those of us who've done it for any stretch of time can tell you that spring bulbs open earlier, trees blossom earlier and migrating birds arrive and leave at different times. And a lot of stately homes have gardening records that go back centuries that show what's going on is different.
07-04-2018, 09:38 AM
Gardening is a great way of measuring climate change. Those of us who've done it for any stretch of time can tell you that spring bulbs open earlier, trees blossom earlier and migrating birds arrive and leave at different times. And a lot of stately homes have gardening records that go back centuries that show what's going on is different.
Totally but as ever it’s difficult to assess if it’s just seasonal variations or part of a long term trend. This year for example I would say my garden is running at least 2-3 weeks later than last year in terms of the spring growth, bulb flowering and blossom.
Clearly though Britain as a whole is warmer than it was back in the day. The concept of the likes of the Thames freezing over is probably near impossible these days. I may be wrong but I believe Vine Street was named after a roman vineyard that used to sit on the site. The Normans too were big on the vineyards yet English wine making largely disappeared for 400 years until well into the 1900’s.
What I’m trying to say is that huge variations in weather of periods of hundreds of years is not unknown and that was well before any man made intervention. That said you would have to be totally bonkers to think that the human race has not caused any impact through its industrial scale burning of fossil fuels and massive injection of all sorts of chemicals into the environment.
Environmental science is still amazingly ‘basic’ though and their models are continually being updated and evolved as they discover previous assumptions and weighting’s were just plain wrong.
But with all that said it’s pretty damn clear the smart thing to do would be to strive to have as little impact on the natural order as possible so clean energy and pollution controls etc. are a total no brainier. What I don’t agree with though is that being translated into pointless taxes that pretend to be green and using climate change to oppose the building of any and all new roads etc.
08-04-2018, 07:50 AM
Not wanting to hijack the thread but there is a tiny wee cave in that cove . Great for bairns as you can sit in it right beside the water.
Wish I was there now :greengrin
I went past there yesterday, but I couldn’t see the cave.
08-04-2018, 10:14 AM
I went past there yesterday, but I couldn’t see the cave.
You need to go into the cove as the opening faces the sea.
08-04-2018, 10:24 AM
I've had hailstones, snow, sleet and rain today.
And I've only been in Iceland for 2 hours! :greengrin
April April macht was er will!
09-04-2018, 07:42 PM
Totally but as ever it’s difficult to assess if it’s just seasonal variations or part of a long term trend. This year for example I would say my garden is running at least 2-3 weeks later than last year in terms of the spring growth, bulb flowering and blossom.
Clearly though Britain as a whole is warmer than it was back in the day. The concept of the likes of the Thames freezing over is probably near impossible these days. I may be wrong but I believe Vine Street was named after a roman vineyard that used to sit on the site. The Normans too were big on the vineyards yet English wine making largely disappeared for 400 years until well into the 1900’s.
What I’m trying to say is that huge variations in weather of periods of hundreds of years is not unknown and that was well before any man made intervention. That said you would have to be totally bonkers to think that the human race has not caused any impact through its industrial scale burning of fossil fuels and massive injection of all sorts of chemicals into the environment.
Environmental science is still amazingly ‘basic’ though and their models are continually being updated and evolved as they discover previous assumptions and weighting’s were just plain wrong.
But with all that said it’s pretty damn clear the smart thing to do would be to strive to have as little impact on the natural order as possible so clean energy and pollution controls etc. are a total no brainier. What I don’t agree with though is that being translated into pointless taxes that pretend to be green and using climate change to oppose the building of any and all new roads etc.
I was a climate change denier until relatively recently. My argument then (as it is to an extent now) is that warming and cooling of Earth is a natural cycle... ice age = extended period of global cooling, end of ice age = period of global warming, etc.
Where I’m at now is that human intervention has caused the natural cycle to speed up and intensify.
1875godsgift
10-04-2018, 12:37 AM
I was a climate change denier until relatively recently. My argument then (as it is to an extent now) is that warming and cooling of Earth is a natural cycle... ice age = extended period of global cooling, end of ice age = period of global warming, etc.
Where I’m at now is that human intervention has caused the natural cycle to speed up and intensify.
So it's gone into overdrive?
10-04-2018, 05:37 AM
Thank **** you didn't say that at one of Hibbyradge's dinner parties.
10-04-2018, 11:44 AM
10-04-2018, 04:11 PM
10-04-2018, 04:28 PM
As an academic in the field who writes and works with these models on a daily basis, I categorically disagree that they're basic (even given your use of '').
And I wholly endorse the application of my science to drive policy and result in changes to the way we govern our country - just look at our renewables track record. We're world-leading in our progress toward a green energy system. That's far from pointless - what seems pointless to me is building mass new transit infrastructure on existing vehicles to the tune of billions of pounds, when hopefully fossil fuel driven mass-transit road systems will be a thing of the past (hopefully in my lifetime).
:tee hee: :tee hee: :tee hee:
10-04-2018, 05:16 PM
As an academic in the field who writes and works with these models on a daily basis, I categorically disagree that they're basic (even given your use of '').
And I wholly endorse the application of my science to drive policy and result in changes to the way we govern our country - just look at our renewables track record. We're world-leading in our progress toward a green energy system. That's far from pointless - what seems pointless to me is building mass new transit infrastructure on existing vehicles to the tune of billions of pounds, when hopefully fossil fuel driven mass-transit road systems will be a thing of the past (hopefully in my lifetime).
Ahh you’ll need to excuse my brevity...it is a message board after all.
When I say basic I don’t mean that they are not complex or indeed that a lot of hard work has went into building the models but basic in the sense that there is still a lot of unknown interactions and reactions that mean the models are constantly needing revised. Only the other day I was reading about the revelation of how the methane under the artic might not impact climate change as much as thought:
https://www.chemistryworld.com/news/fears-that-ancient-methane-could-add-to-warming-may-be-unfounded/3008540.article
Or the nitrogen in bedrock and how that might effect the plant life that sucks up carbon dioxide:
https://www.google.co.uk/amp/s/wattsupwiththat.com/2018/04/09/a-surprising-finding-about-nitrogen-in-our-atmosphere/amp/
I also said I supported the move to green energy (and transport for that matter) what annoys me is the Gordon Brown style changes to vehicle excise duty or the pretence that air passenger duty was somehow a green tax etc.
So no offence intended and I hope none taken but the perils of assuming forecasts or models are definitively a reflection of what will happen (think GDP forecasts!) was all I was trying to highlight.