View Full Version : Which name on back of Scottish Cup Winning Shirt?

BlackSheep
30-03-2018, 09:41 PM
Hello all,

I am currently prepping my 15/16 Scottish Cup winning home shirt for framing.

Its currently being embroidered with the Cup Final text and I have got a hold of the William Hill Scottish Cup sleeve badges to be heat transferred on.

The last piece of the puzzle is to get a name on the back of the shirt, this is where i would like some opinions.

I think I am going to get Gray 2 on the back, but a few friends have ventured other suggestions, like McGinn 18 or Stokes 28 and now i'm stuck trying to decide.

This shirt is not getting all this attention for the purposes of sale so i'm not interested in which name holds the most value, just what would make the best talking point.

I have a Signed Henrik Larsson shirt that I was given by my dad that he bought at an auction and its mounted in a frame that is glass on both sides, so I was contemplating getting a similar frame for the hips shirt.

Any opinions??

30-03-2018, 09:42 PM
Gunnarson

30-03-2018, 09:43 PM
Dagnall.

In all seriousness I have GRAY 2 on the back of my shirt from that season, by virtue of happy coincidence.

30-03-2018, 09:43 PM
Has to be Gray, our captain that day and his last min winner.

30-03-2018, 09:44 PM
Gray 92 not 2 surely. :wink:

30-03-2018, 09:46 PM
Neilson.

BlackSheep
30-03-2018, 09:54 PM
Some great suggestions... I'm sure Chris Dagnall would be proud if i were to choose him lol.....

Tempted to add a Captain's armband to the display if I get Grey actually..... that almost seals it.

Want to look at it in years to come and remember every moment.

30-03-2018, 09:55 PM
Exuberance

30-03-2018, 09:55 PM
#2 Deliver

Cool_Hand_Luke
30-03-2018, 09:58 PM
Has to be Gray, our captain that day and his last min winner.

No other choice :agree:

I bought the David Gray fridge magnet when i was in the shop today :greengrin

30-03-2018, 09:58 PM
Some great suggestions... I'm sure Chris Dagnall would be proud if i were to choose him lol.....

Tempted to add a Captain's armband to the display if I get Grey actually..... that almost seals it.

It'll look stupid spelled that way... :greengrin

Clerie Green
30-03-2018, 09:59 PM
Read it and weep !

:flag::flag:

30-03-2018, 10:00 PM

Make sure and spell his name right then :greengrin

30-03-2018, 10:02 PM

That’s what my wee boy has got.

One of very few in London!

30-03-2018, 10:06 PM
Halliday

30-03-2018, 10:15 PM
Warburton 😉

Or you can just have exuberant on the back

30-03-2018, 10:15 PM
Hello all,

Its currently being embroidered with the Cup Final text and I have got a hold of the William Hill Scottish Cup sleeve badges to be heat transferred on.

The last piece of the puzzle is to get a name on the back of the shirt, this is where i would like some opinions.

I think I am going to get Gray 2 on the back, but a few friends have ventured other suggestions, like McGinn 18 or Stokes 28 and now i'm stuck trying to decide.

This shirt is not getting all this attention for the purposes of sale so i'm not interested in which name holds the most value, just what would make the best talking point.

I have a Signed Henrik Larsson shirt that I was given by my dad that he bought at an auction and its mounted in a frame that is glass on both sides, so I was contemplating getting a similar frame for the hips shirt.

Any opinions??

If you want the best talking point then I'd suggest Henderson 3. Stokes and Gray would be the obvious choices however, for me, Hendo's contribution is more than equal to their's. He comes on not long after they've turned the game around by going 2-1 up, 20 minutes to go, 2 sublime deliveries at corners and the rest is history. And if you want to add a caption at the bottom then no thinking required "Henderson to deliverrrrr..."

It all comes down to personal choice and whatever you choose, you can't go far wrong, they're all heroes. You could even put "Oxley's contact lens".

30-03-2018, 10:17 PM
FU1902

:wink::greengrin

No other choice :agree:

I bought the David Gray fridge magnet when i was in the shop today :greengrin

Never knew they done them, I’ll be getting one tomorrow now 😁

Babyshamble
Tortolano

30-03-2018, 10:20 PM
Never knew they done them, I’ll be getting one tomorrow now 😁

They've got the whole squad, including Martin Boyle before he had hair. 😁

30-03-2018, 10:23 PM
Hello all,

Any opinions??

Great and interesting post, and will gather a lot of thoughts/opinions on here
What you have to think about, in 20/30 years, what will your children or grandchildren think about when they see it?
Be interested in what you finally decide!

30-03-2018, 10:24 PM
King Lewis

30-03-2018, 10:33 PM
What about having the team sheet with Subs on the back .

30-03-2018, 10:33 PM
Has to be David Gray. Although if you're framing it you surely won't see the back anyway?

30-03-2018, 10:41 PM
Exuberance 2016

21-5-16

if youve got a broad back "henderson to deliver" (maybe a couple of lines.)

Persevered

BlackSheep
30-03-2018, 10:45 PM
Has to be David Gray. Although if you're framing it you surely won't see the back anyway?

Glass backed frame.

30-03-2018, 11:05 PM

Why not take it to ER or EM and see if you can get David Gray to sign it before framing?
Also, I'd make sure you spell his name correctly on top. :wink:

BlackSheep
30-03-2018, 11:07 PM
Why not take it to ER or EM and see if you can get David Gray to sign it before framing?
Also, I'd make sure you spell his name correctly on top. :wink:

Ha, lol..... i will make sure.

Thats not a bad idea as well, are the players quite happy to sign things after training?

BlackSheep
30-03-2018, 11:09 PM
It'll look stupid spelled that way... :greengrin

Aye, aye.... its spelled correctly in my OP, its late give me a break :greengrin

30-03-2018, 11:11 PM
Hibbyradge 1

30-03-2018, 11:21 PM
Ha, lol..... i will make sure.

Thats not a bad idea as well, are the players quite happy to sign things after training?

Send an email to ER or call and ask.
If they say yes, I wouldn't publicise it cos next week we'll have a queue of punters with jerseys rolled up under their arm right up to London Rd.

BlackSheep
30-03-2018, 11:22 PM
Hibbyradge 1

Sold :LOL:

Nevi_SOL
30-03-2018, 11:27 PM
Hendo

30-03-2018, 11:30 PM
Gray 2.

Austinho
31-03-2018, 12:50 AM
You could always get the front of the kit framed instead, especially as you’ve gone to the effort of getting it embroidered. That way the whole team will always be the talking point and not 1 player.

Gray 2 would be the obvious choice though.

31-03-2018, 12:50 AM
Persevered

90+2

31-03-2018, 12:58 AM
Gray 2

JOD
31-03-2018, 01:53 AM
3-2 or

2-3

Can't remember if we were home team that day.

Still Drunk Yet. :greengrin :cup:

31-03-2018, 04:20 AM

Where did you get the sleeve badges?

Never been able to find them myself

hibbydog
31-03-2018, 05:37 AM
Sir David Gray 2

31-03-2018, 06:41 AM
Put the whole team on the back and have it put in a double glassed case that you can mount and turn around on the wall,

http://www.ctwoodwork.com/usa/usa_jersey_cases.html

bottom one.

Sauzee16
31-03-2018, 08:34 AM
Delivered 16

scuttle
31-03-2018, 08:43 AM
Petrie :agree:

31-03-2018, 08:46 AM
What about having the team sheet with Subs on the back .
Aye. All heroes. Inc Stubbs

31-03-2018, 09:34 AM
Do not use any type of perspex. It scratches VERY easily. Much better with glass.

BlackSheep
31-03-2018, 10:21 AM
Where did you get the sleeve badges?

Never been able to find them myself

After searching high and low I came across them online, they are not official but very very very good replicas made in Hong Kong... I had to contact the guy via Instagram. I will look it out for you if you are interested. £25 for the pair

31-03-2018, 10:29 AM
After searching high and low I came across them online, they are not official but very very very good replicas made in Hong Kong... I had to contact the guy via Instagram. I will look it out for you if you are interested. £25 for the pair

Interested, pm me please
Cheers BlackSheep

BlackSheep
31-03-2018, 10:37 AM
Interested, pm me please
Cheers BlackSheep

PM sent bud :)

31-03-2018, 10:51 AM
Whoever scored the winning goal for Rangers in the semi:greengrin

NZ Green
31-03-2018, 12:10 PM
http://oi65.tinypic.com/35bb70w.jpg
One step ahead

31-03-2018, 09:49 PM
:thumbsup::flag::thumbsup:
http://oi65.tinypic.com/35bb70w.jpg
One step ahead
:thumbsup::flag::thumbsup:

31-03-2018, 11:09 PM
"Awww naw"

BlackSheep
04-04-2018, 08:15 AM
\so i went for Gray 2 on the back of my shirt and have now completed all the additions, sleeve badges, name/number and embroidery.... but as a finishing touch a few have suggested getting it signed...

Whats the best way to get David Gray to sign it?

04-04-2018, 08:29 AM
\so i went for Gray 2 on the back of my shirt and have now completed all the additions, sleeve badges, name/number and embroidery.... but as a finishing touch a few have suggested getting it signed...

Sorry I've no contact but can I ask where you got the Scottish cup sleeve patches?

04-04-2018, 08:29 AM

I'd add the captain's armband to complete it.

BlackSheep
04-04-2018, 08:34 AM

I have been looking at getting this but cannot find the green version of the arm band he wore....

bjsc24671
04-04-2018, 06:05 PM
Hello all,

Any opinions??

what about kevin thomson as he played part in the competition but was never reconised with a medal ?

SCHAEDYSHORTS
04-04-2018, 06:56 PM
I would be interested in a pair of those William Hill patches as well, I contacted the SFA about some for my framed shirt & as always were very helpful where Hibs are concerned 🤬😬

04-04-2018, 11:58 PM

If you're going that far, hows aboot throwing in a couple of flakes of SDG dandruff from the bit the ba' came off his heid?

05-04-2018, 05:10 AM
I have been looking at getting this but cannot find the green version of the arm band he wore....

Pm’d you

05-04-2018, 07:25 AM

Marker Pen

05-04-2018, 08:46 AM
Gray 2. Simply has to be!

05-04-2018, 12:15 PM
Felt a wee bit sorry for a couple of the mascots on Tuesday. One had Stokes, the other had Simon Murray on the back of their shirts.

Must cost the parents a fortune to keep up to date.

tanfield
06-04-2018, 08:34 PM
Managed to pick up a couple of the William hill sleeve patches on eBay. Shirt should look smart when they are added

06-04-2018, 08:59 PM
Managed to pick up a couple of the William hill sleeve patches on eBay. Shirt should look smart when they are added

Nice, do you have a link for them please?

tanfield
06-04-2018, 09:10 PM
Nice, do you have a link for them please?

Item number was 162972900829 . Not sure if he has anymore but he did say he would be getting more. Give the guy a message and he'll let you know. 🖒

BlackSheep
06-04-2018, 09:30 PM
Item number was 162972900829 . Not sure if he has anymore but he did say he would be getting more. Give the guy a message and he'll let you know. 🖒

Pretty much the same ones I have.

06-04-2018, 09:42 PM

Thanks very much :)