View Full Version : Things I never buy these days

28-03-2018, 05:01 PM
TDK blank cassettes
Steak pie suppers
Bus tickets (I've got an OAP pass :na na:)
Newspaper
Cigarettes

Alfiembra
28-03-2018, 06:38 PM
Paraffin
Spangles
Coal

28-03-2018, 06:54 PM
Soap
Victory Vs
Stork Margarine
Toffee Doddles
Hair Gel
Jelly Tots
Nappies
Golden Virginia baccy & Liquorice papers
Scottish Bluebell matches
Flints for cig lighter

28-03-2018, 07:03 PM
Bus tickets between cities (I buy loads locally within Edinburgh but would never choose to travel further afield by bus, used to use them all the time when I stayed in Dundee and went to Hibs games).

The Scotsman or The Pink.

CDs.

Football boots (and I used to love buying a new pair of football boots).

28-03-2018, 07:49 PM
Cigarettes (thank God)

Microwave meals (got rid of the microwave)

Football strips (I used to buy loads but now I buy one every 3 or 4 seasons for 5s)

patch1875
28-03-2018, 07:53 PM
Porno mags

28-03-2018, 07:55 PM
Porno mags

have you also stopped hiding them in bushes?? a lost art that is! :)

28-03-2018, 08:07 PM
30” waist jeans 😲

28-03-2018, 08:18 PM
Toast Toppers

28-03-2018, 08:27 PM
Condoms
Comics
Commando Battle Picture Library Books
Bars of soap
Loose Tea
Coffee Beans
Fizzy juice
Newspapers
Football Programmes
Cassettes
CD's
Sugar
Supermarket Pizza
Jars of Pasta Sauce
Liver
Kidney
Snooker Cues
Hand Tools

28-03-2018, 08:32 PM
Plugs for new electrical items. gone are the days when you had to haggle for a free plug with a new appliance.

28-03-2018, 09:12 PM
Rotring pens/nibs
Rolls of fax paper
TV/Radio Times
Phone cards
Fanzines
Rag mags
Razzy jeans

28-03-2018, 11:20 PM
Road maps
Car tyre inner tubes
Sheet music
CD racks
STP
Brylcream (for a long while)
Slip-on dress shoes
Cuff links
Flairs :wink:

Chez
28-03-2018, 11:52 PM
Skirts
Tampons
Make up (never have bought it)
Day tickets
Tights
Avon
Tupperware
Net curtains
Jewellery
Perfume
Nail varnish
CDs

29-03-2018, 04:53 AM
Fags
Phone top up cards
Power cards
House phones
Newspapers
King Ribs
Hot Dogs - boak! :jamboak:
Rental videos
Coal

Jay
29-03-2018, 05:33 AM
Furniture polish
Hoover bags
Dubbin
Calpol
Hair baubles

29-03-2018, 07:40 AM
Soap
Victory Vs
Stork Margarine
Toffee Doddles
Hair Gel
Jelly Tots
Nappies
Golden Virginia baccy & Liquorice papers
Scottish Bluebell matches
Flints for cig lighter

I ordered some Victory Vs on amazon after a wave of nostaglia. Like eating nippy cardboard.

29-03-2018, 07:42 AM
Rotring pens/nibs

I used to buy razor blades for scratching out. Now they’re just for shaving!

29-03-2018, 08:11 AM
Newspapers (except a Sunday)

Rip off cartridge razor blades from Gillette, Wilkinson Sword etc

Beer for drinking in the house

29-03-2018, 08:28 AM

There are loads -

Letraset
Transtext
Transpaseal
Blue erasers for smoothing off the paper after scratching out.

29-03-2018, 08:30 AM
Pogs and Marbles
Sicker albums
those Aliens that reproduced
Pixie Sticks
Slush Puppies
Top up cards

29-03-2018, 08:47 AM
30” waist jeans 😲I remember being upset at having to buy a 32, now i'd be happy to get them past my knees.

Alfiembra
29-03-2018, 09:44 AM
There are loads -

Letraset
Transtext
Transpaseal
Blue erasers for smoothing off the paper after scratching out.

Don't forget Pounce

Jay
29-03-2018, 10:19 AM
A quarter of cola cubes
Tippex

29-03-2018, 10:33 AM
Fizzy Juice for the house.
a Korma
white bread
freeze dried coffee i.e Nescafe original
Food at Easter Road.
Cheap Vodka i.e Glens
MD 20/20
Mobile phones (perks of my job)
Cigarettes
Chocolate Wafers from the icey....cant use the non PC name we used to call them, loved a double one as well.

29-03-2018, 10:37 AM
Me too - often right through the drawing :wink:

However, we progressed to these --->> 20488

29-03-2018, 10:46 AM
Fags
Phone top up cards
Power cards
House phones
Newspapers
King Ribs
Hot Dogs - boak! :jamboak:
Rental videos
Coal

Think you forgot to add 'egg mayonnaise rolls from the Pinkie Farm Shop'

29-03-2018, 04:58 PM
Christmas cards. Never really liked or understood them but being brought up in a time where the mail was the only real viable way to keep in contact with family or friends who lived far away it had become more of a habit than anything else. In the age of social media they just seem superfluous.

29-03-2018, 07:21 PM
Think you forgot to add 'egg mayonnaise rolls from the Pinkie Farm Shop'

I can honestly say I have not been back in that shop since. :greengrin

29-03-2018, 11:34 PM
1/2 a quarter of cola cubes/koff candy/chocolate eclairs. Candy Floss. Walls Supermousse. 28lb bag of coal. Spangles. Tinned peas. Vesta curry. Angel delight. Powdered orange juice. The Victor, The Tiger, Commando Comics. Bus tokens. Pontoon cards. Dubbin. Segs. The Radio Times. Robinson's Barley Water.

29-03-2018, 11:36 PM
Boiled sweets, ever since that shop at the top of Easter Road closed. I loved that place.

1875godsgift
30-03-2018, 01:36 AM
Boiled sweets, ever since that shop at the top of Easter Road closed. I loved that place.

Casey's 🍬 mum used to take us in there on the way back from nursery 🍬

30-03-2018, 08:18 AM
CDs
DVDs
Videos
Console games (1 every 5 years on average)
Fizzy Juice can multipacks
Full pints (a relative rarity here)
Football tops (like others, one every 3-4 years maybe)

30-03-2018, 09:11 AM

That the one on the corner of london road across from the lights at top of easter road?

I went out with a lassie when I was in Primary school whos mum ran it for a while, best bird I ever had :greengrin

30-03-2018, 09:41 AM
That the one on the corner of london road across from the lights at top of easter road?

I went out with a lassie when I was in Primary school whos mum ran it for a while, best bird I ever had :greengrin
Aye that was the one. It was heaven in there. :greengrin

30-03-2018, 09:43 AM
Casey's 🍬 mum used to take us in there on the way back from nursery 🍬
I bet it took you ages to decide what you wanted. Sad it’s not there anymore.

30-03-2018, 10:08 AM

That old Mrs Casey’s?

I used to live on London Road when I was a student.

She was a lovely old lady.

Violent creams were brilliant.

Hibs rock was a bit bitter, though, but we hadn’t won the cup back then!

30-03-2018, 10:31 AM
Vodka.
Can't remember my last vodka. It was all I had during uni and didn't get sick of it, just much prefer rum, gin, or whisky.

Hibs replica tops (and replica tops generally).
Used to get them every year. Stopped for a bit and my last one was the 2016 top, received as a gift and I've stuck with it after the cup win. Although I've a huge array of Hibs t-shirts to choose from.

30-03-2018, 10:44 AM
Blue Jeans. If I turned up in them people would assume I'd come to check the plumbing.

EH6 Hibby
30-03-2018, 11:30 AM
I bet it took you ages to decide what you wanted. Sad it’s not there anymore.

Candersons in Leith Walk has every kind of boiled sweet you could ever want as well as loads of other stuff. If she doesn’t have what you want she’ll try to get it for you.

derekduval
30-03-2018, 12:04 PM
Vienetta
Cremola foam
Programmes from the wee hut in the east

30-03-2018, 01:20 PM
Blue Jeans. If I turned up in them people would assume I'd come to check the plumbing.

That just spurred me to ask - are turn-ups in or out of fashion these days? They seem to get resurrected from time to time.
Way back in my teen years, it was ice blue jeans with 3" turn-ups.

30-03-2018, 01:35 PM
I can honestly say I have not been back in that shop since. :greengrin

:cb

patch1875
30-03-2018, 02:23 PM
Vienetta
Cremola foam
Programmes from the wee hut in the east

Still partial to a viennetta.

30-03-2018, 03:39 PM

Aye that was the one. It was heaven in there. :greengrin

Just for clarity LB, are you talking about the shop or Hibee87's bird? :duck:

30-03-2018, 04:35 PM
That old Mrs Casey’s?

I used to live on London Road when I was a student.

She was a lovely old lady.

Violent creams were brilliant.

Hibs rock was a bit bitter, though, but we hadn’t won the cup back then!
Yeah that was the one. It was called C’s own make.

31-03-2018, 12:16 PM
Candersons in Leith Walk has every kind of boiled sweet you could ever want as well as loads of other stuff. If she doesn’t have what you want she’ll try to get it for you.

But do you get served by a little old lady with the kind of Leith accent that my Granny had but you just don’t hear any more?

31-03-2018, 06:31 PM
Ice lollies.

Like these:

http://metro.co.uk/2014/05/06/summers-nearly-here-10-ice-creams-and-lollies-that-you-might-have-forgotten-from-your-childhood-4713639/

31-03-2018, 06:33 PM
Spare metal studs for football boots

31-03-2018, 07:04 PM
Meat paste. Now I buy Pate...

31-03-2018, 07:55 PM
Relays
Treats
Fray Bentos pies
hamburgers in a tin
Curly wurlies
Designer gear in the main
Branded jeans

16-04-2018, 12:30 PM
Penny Dainties, Refresher Chews and Rhubarb rock.

16-04-2018, 01:28 PM
Violent creams were brilliant.Sounds a bit like a Spring Surprise.

https://youtu.be/Dy6uLfermPU

16-04-2018, 04:26 PM
Matches
Hair gel
Insignia ('s got everything shampoo to shower gel. Deodorant and after shave it's one all over smell)
Acid
Encyclopaedias
Comics
Computer magazines
Smash Hits
1/4 or 1/2 bottles
Tenants Super
Condoms
Crisps

17-04-2018, 12:39 PM
Bud Light.