Dundee United 2 v 3 Dunfermline

Dear Oh dear!

Not the best start

04-08-2018, 05:08 PM
Dundee United 2 v 3 Dunfermline

Dear Oh dear!

Not the best start

1-0 up today to 1-3 down in the space of around 25 second half minutes, just like us under Butcher and and Fenlon et al

04-08-2018, 05:09 PM
Caaba was always going to be a shocking appointment. I’ve no idea how they went from Stubbs to him in their recruitment process.

04-08-2018, 05:10 PM
Caaba was always going to be a shocking appointment. I’ve no idea how they went from Stubbs to him in their recruitment process.

I think they must have just offered him the job to get him to shut the f up.

04-08-2018, 05:28 PM

Stubbs told them he did not want to take his application further. There were not many other applicants. Think Stephen Thompson scared everyone off.

04-08-2018, 05:39 PM
They certainly look to be in trouble and if crowds drop off who knows how it will develop?

Relegation? Administration?

04-08-2018, 05:43 PM
Laszlo to get punted by Christmas and Jim McIntyre to come in?

04-08-2018, 05:47 PM
They certainly look to be in trouble and if crowds drop off who knows how it will develop?

Relegation? Administration?

They had 6,542 at the game v Dunfermline today. Yes would have been a decent crowd up from Dunfermline, but it was the 2nd biggest crowd in Scotland today. More than at Hamilton, Killie and St mirren Park
We could really do with the likes of United and Pars in the Premiership. Offer much more than Hamilton and Livvi, but they have to do it on the park, to earn the right to be in the Premiership

04-08-2018, 05:48 PM
Laszlo to get punted by Christmas and Jim McIntyre to come in?

He won’t last until the end of august, if he doesn’t any get results in their next 2 league game

04-08-2018, 05:50 PM
I appreciate your point, Billy but if these results continue will the crowds stay the same?

Time will tell.

A successful Dundee United with big crowds would be a great addition to the Premier League but I just can't see it happening unless things change dramatically.

04-08-2018, 05:54 PM
I appreciate your point, Billy but if these results continue will the crowds stay the same?

Time will tell.

A successful Dundee United with big crowds would be a great addition to the Premier League but I just can't see it happening unless things change dramatically.

I agree, and no they won’t remain high, that’s why they have to turn it round this month in my opinion.

04-08-2018, 05:56 PM
Dundee United are in danger of becoming another Falkirk or Raith Rovers and just fading away. I'm actually starting to feel for their fans. Must have been brutal being a United fan since around 2015. We thought we had it bad being down there for 3 seasons but we always looked likely to come back up. They're just stagnating.

04-08-2018, 06:03 PM
They were arrogant throbbers when in the championship with us. Particularly that fud on here. Meh

30-11-2018, 08:36 PM
Oh ma aching sides! 😂

Keyser Sauzee
30-11-2018, 08:37 PM
I actually want them back in the prem along with Dundee staying up, more Derby’s makes it more interesting and better for the league.

30-11-2018, 08:38 PM
Fantastic

30-11-2018, 08:39 PM
Oh ma aching sides! 😂

That is an absolutely horrendous result for them. :giruy2:

30-11-2018, 08:43 PM
Would prefer them in the top league than the likes of Hamilton, Livingston or Ayr. I would choose Ayr over the other 2 though.

Dancehibs
30-11-2018, 08:50 PM
Would prefer them in the top league than the likes of Hamilton, Livingston or Ayr. I would choose Ayr over the other 2 though.
Hamilton and Livvy nice short away trips

30-11-2018, 09:01 PM
Hamilton and Livvy nice short away trips

Dundee isn’t exactly the other side of the world. Not a bad day out.

Dundee United always bring a larger away support than either of them so are worth more money to us. For tv audiences a far better image than those plastic pitches.

EH54
30-11-2018, 09:02 PM
Was delighted when Livi got promoted. Now I can't wait to see the back of them and that awful pitch. Ayr would be refreshing.

30-11-2018, 09:02 PM
Falkirk relegated and Dundee Hearts staying down would be extremely pleasing.

30-11-2018, 09:17 PM
Falkirk relegated and Dundee Hearts staying down would be extremely pleasing.

Ironic you call Dundee Hibernian that.

30-11-2018, 09:25 PM
Get it extremely far up them. Daft club

30-11-2018, 09:30 PM
Seemingly getting taken over by Americans.

30-11-2018, 10:01 PM
Bad news. We'll be stuck with the likes of Hamilton and Livingston in the Premiership at this rate.

30-11-2018, 10:12 PM
The BBC pundits were forecasting promotion for United and Ross County last week, reckoning that Ayr's challenge would fade.

We need to get some new pundits.

30-11-2018, 10:12 PM
I do have a certain amount of sympathy for Dundee Utd given how long it took Hibs to get out of the Championship. It’s the Scottish football equivalent of getting no minors on your driving test at the fifth attempt and then driving the wrong way down a one way street.

tonyrougier123
30-11-2018, 10:18 PM
Shankland? yes please!! Thats a skelper that result.

30-11-2018, 10:49 PM
Seemingly getting taken over by Americans.

Dundee are already owned by Americans. I expect a merger.

Mantis Toboggan
30-11-2018, 10:56 PM
Ironic you call Dundee Hibernian that.

More a reflection of recent managers. Although of course there were two ex Hibs players in midfield for them today. Neither of whom kicked a ball in what was an utter doing

Mantis Toboggan
30-11-2018, 10:58 PM
Was delighted when Livi got promoted. Now I can't wait to see the back of them and that awful pitch. Ayr would be refreshing.

What would Ayr do for a stadium if they got promoted? Their one is an antique,to put it politely

30-11-2018, 11:01 PM
Get it extremely far up them. Daft club

Why do you say that? Just interested in your reasoning.

There's quite a few Scottish clubs I can't stand, but Dundee United aren't one of them. One of the few clubs in Scotland whose supporters seem decent and show no bigotry.

Having DUFC down there and the likes of Hamilton, Livingston and St Johnstone in the top league isn't good for Scottish football.

Juniper Greens
30-11-2018, 11:02 PM
What would Ayr do for a stadium if they got promoted? Their one is an antique,to put it politely

I'm guessing they would do a dingwall
They just chucked prefab seats in I'm sure?

Scotty Leither
30-11-2018, 11:15 PM

Their fans are diet Huns in my experience, too.

EH54
30-11-2018, 11:21 PM

What's their stadium got to do with it? I'm talking about livi's pitch. It's a disaster..ayr play on grass. Much rather they came up than an Inverness, Falkirk, Dundee Utd. If you mean their size I'm sure it's easily sorted. Only need 6,000 seats now iirc.

30-11-2018, 11:22 PM

And their Manager is the is of the full fat variety.

Mantis Toboggan
30-11-2018, 11:28 PM
What's their stadium got to do with it? I'm talking about livi's pitch. It's a disaster..ayr play on grass. Much rather they came up than an Inverness, Falkirk, Dundee Utd. If you mean their size I'm sure it's easily sorted. Only need 6,000 seats now iirc.

It was a genuine question, no need to be so defensive. Aware the 10k threshold no longer applies, but either way it must be a while since the last improvement works at Somerset

30-11-2018, 11:47 PM

Without work they'd need to share with killie on their plastic pitch?

30-11-2018, 11:51 PM
More a reflection of recent managers. Although of course there were two ex Hibs players in midfield for them today. Neither of whom kicked a ball in what was an utter doing

Two in the midfield and Calum Booth at left back. Sore one for them.

01-12-2018, 07:08 AM
I do have a certain amount of sympathy for Dundee Utd given how long it took Hibs to get out of the Championship. It’s the Scottish football equivalent of getting no minors on your driving test at the fifth attempt and then driving the wrong way down a one way street.

They laughed at us and treated us with contempt when we were struggling down there.

I don’t see them laughing now

Karma!

The football Ayr played last night was a joy to behold and they would be a valuable addition to the SPFL

If they can hang onto all of their players?

01-12-2018, 07:14 AM

The fact you wouldn’t get a ticket as they only have about 1500 seats I’m sure. They would either need to put in more seats but I’d say that’s very unlikely for next season due to time constraints and costs. Or risk losing a lot of money in the top flight due to limited gates, which would say to me they’d end up sharing with Killie, which is a plastic pitch.

01-12-2018, 07:19 AM
The fact you wouldn’t get a ticket as they only have about 1500 seats I’m sure. They would either need to put in more seats but I’d say that’s very unlikely for next season due to time constraints and costs. Or risk losing a lot of money in the top flight due to limited gates, which would say to me they’d end up sharing with Killie, which is a plastic pitch.

They would never share with Killie

01-12-2018, 07:34 AM
They laughed at us and treated us with contempt when we were struggling down there.

Karma!

The football Ayr played last night was a joy to behold and they would be a valuable addition to the SPFL

Your last paragraph is probably highly unlikely. Shankland especially won’t be there next year and he’ll be a huge reason they are where they are. If they got promoted I’d fully expect them to go straight back down.

Wouldn’t be against seeing them come up for a change though.

01-12-2018, 07:49 AM
Your last paragraph is probably highly unlikely. Shankland especially won’t be there next year and he’ll be a huge reason they are where they are. If they got promoted I’d fully expect them to go straight back down.

Wouldn’t be against seeing them come up for a change though.

Damn meant to put the if in capitals :greengrin

01-12-2018, 08:15 AM
Dundee are already owned by Americans. I expect a merger.

Absolutely not.

01-12-2018, 10:22 AM

Karma!

They're already in the SPFL

EH54
01-12-2018, 10:33 AM

Didn't realise they had so little seats, Killie would be the obvious groundshare then, but sure I read they are looking at the mad idea of putting grass down again.

01-12-2018, 10:33 AM

Karma!

Who did?

Fans always take the piss out of other clubs, don’t they ?

Ayr are looking strong and they would be a good addition to the top league. Must be more than 40 years since they played ithere.

As an aside, temporary grandstands would allow them promotion. Edinburgh Rugby did it at Myreside last season, I’m sure it could be done at Somerset Park.

01-12-2018, 10:42 AM
Who did?

Ayr are looking strong and they would be a good addition to the top league. Must be more than 40 years since they played ithere.

As an aside, temporary grandstands would allow them promotion. Edinburgh Rugby did it at Myreside last season, I’m sure it could be done at Somerset Park.

Good guess. It's been 41 years since Ayr Utd last played in the top flight of Scottish football.

01-12-2018, 10:49 AM

I know quite a few United fans and not one of them would fit that description.

01-12-2018, 10:55 AM
I know more than a few and all of them do

01-12-2018, 10:57 AM
Diet huns. Where do folk even get pish like that?

01-12-2018, 10:59 AM
Tannadice imo

01-12-2018, 10:59 AM

Tynecastle and Tannadice.

01-12-2018, 11:06 AM
I grew up in Tayside and there's absolutely no sectarian/diet Hun stuff going on with either Dundee team. They both hate the OF because they take so many potential fans away in Dundee and Tayside.

People really talk some absolute nonsense.

01-12-2018, 11:16 AM
Who did?

Remember Arabs were in the SPL spoke to a few on Leith Walk before the second League Cup game their attitude was that we were just a Championship club and that this was just a day oot for them but we had a nice wee Stadium and a lot of quaint wee pubs surrounding our ground
They lost!
Remember them celebrating in their Changing Room when they beat us in their horrible ramshackle windswept half finished stadium at Christmas
They stayed down we went up
Remember them relegating us at Easter Road not their fault ours
As I said Karma! 😁

wallpaperman
01-12-2018, 11:16 AM
Pretty sure the person who mentioned 'diet huns' was referring to Ayr supporters, not Dundee Utd.....

01-12-2018, 11:19 AM
They're already in the SPFL
Premiership I stand corrected

01-12-2018, 11:33 AM
I know more than a few and all of them do

Never even seen any evidence to suggest that even at games. The ones I know hate both sides of the OF, majority are all staunch nationalists and have no time for any sectarian garbage.

01-12-2018, 11:46 AM
I know plenty Utd fans including the family of the current chairman who are all Utd daft (barring the green sheep of the family who posts on here) and they are a decent bunch. I’ve genuinely never met a Dundee fan except in the passing.

01-12-2018, 12:13 PM

Agreed. I ‘ve never heard sectarianism from Utd fans.

In Scottish terms they are a big club and I would like to see them back in the top flight, but it ‘s not looking very likely at the moment. You wonder what the implications of another season in the Championship would be for them financially?

01-12-2018, 01:55 PM
I grew up in Tayside and there's absolutely no sectarian/diet Hun stuff going on with either Dundee team. They both hate the OF because they take so many potential fans away in Dundee and Tayside.

People really talk some absolute nonsense.

01-12-2018, 02:18 PM
Pretty sure the person who mentioned 'diet huns' was referring to Ayr supporters, not Dundee Utd.....

I was thinking the same, thought I must've missed something.

01-12-2018, 03:25 PM
Anyone running a bus to Tannadice for the away games next season? 👀

Mantis Toboggan
01-12-2018, 04:53 PM
I was thinking the same, thought I must've missed something.

Original comment definitely was, although the misinterpretation of it was then weirdly defended

01-12-2018, 06:36 PM

..... Or Kilmarnock!

24-07-2019, 12:47 AM
Lost 2-0 at home to East Fife last night. Hard to see much positive coming their way. Even struggling at Tynecastle.

24-07-2019, 05:10 AM
Lost 2-0 at home to East Fife last night. Hard to see much positive coming their way. Even struggling at Tynecastle.

Neilson will be under tremendous pressure to get them up. Is this their 4th season down?

24-07-2019, 11:22 AM
I'd like to offer my sincerest GIRUY to all involved at DUFC

Barman Stanton
24-07-2019, 11:25 AM
Hope they get up this year. Any United fans I know have always been good guys.

EI255
24-07-2019, 12:35 PM
Neilson will be under tremendous pressure to get them up. Is this their 4th season down?Yes it is the fourth year in the second flight

Sent from my LG-H840 using Tapatalk

24-07-2019, 12:39 PM
I quite liked Dundee Utd in the 80's when they were winning leagues and ramming it up the 'Old S*um' reguarly - but I hated their football, the constant use of the off-side trap - Aaargh !!

24-07-2019, 11:05 PM
Good luck to DUFC. I hope they get themselves back up this season... my desire to share this thought on hibs.net is only intensified by this thread popping up and revealing that there was a claim that United fans have hun tendencies. Dundee United (formerly Dundee Hibernian) to have any leanings in that sense, which they don’t in my full experience, is daft.. to suggest it’s towards rangers, and to suggest knowing many fans they know are inclined that way is trolling of the highest nature (in my opinion of course) and could only be suggested on here by one of our more attention seeking posters (again in my opinion).

And that’s even before considering the more recent history between rangers and united.

Dundee, if anyone that way, I could understand some accusations of that sort of nonsense. But in reality, there’s far more of it on both sides in Edinburgh than there is in Dundee.

24-07-2019, 11:24 PM
Good luck to DUFC. I hope they get themselves back up this season... my desire to share this thought on hibs.net is only intensified by this thread popping up and revealing that there was a claim that United fans have hun tendencies. Dundee United (formerly Dundee Hibernian) to have any leanings in that sense, which they don’t in my full experience, is daft.. to suggest it’s towards rangers, and to suggest knowing many fans they know are inclined that way is trolling of the highest nature (in my opinion of course) and could only be suggested on here by one of our more attention seeking posters (again in my opinion).

And that’s even before considering the more recent history between rangers and united.

Dundee, if anyone that way, I could understand some accusations of that sort of nonsense. But in reality, there’s far more of it on both sides in Edinburgh than there is in Dundee.
The classic Hibs.net ‘someone has a different opinion than me therefore they must be trolling’ line.

Your post is clearly intended to take the discussion off topic and to get a reaction from the poster (that you didn’t even have the courtesy to address directly) by making unpleasant remarks about them.

This is trolling imo and I hope admins take the appropriate action.

25-07-2019, 12:00 AM
**** Dundee Utd. Hope McPake takes Dundee up.

25-07-2019, 12:04 AM

I know loads of DU fans. Not one fits that description. Caring, intelligent but can look after themselves and despise the Huns.

25-07-2019, 12:09 AM
Never even seen any evidence to suggest that even at games. The ones I know hate both sides of the OF, majority are all staunch nationalists and have no time for any sectarian garbage.
Yes Dundee had the highest percentage Yes vote in the independence referendum. Maybe 69% of Edinburgh are diet Huns then!

25-07-2019, 12:11 AM
Good well thought out response :greengrin. I will be amazed if they have brought a 1000 fans to ER in the last 25 years. prove me wrong

Relegation battle in 1998!

25-07-2019, 12:17 AM
I know loads of DU fans. Not one fits that description. Caring, intelligent but can look after themselves and despise the Huns.

The huns hate Dundee Utd so they must be doing something right I suppose.

25-07-2019, 06:29 AM
Does not look as though they are coming up anytime soon based on recent results

Maybe they need time to gel?

Robbie Neilsen under pressure already and a ba no even kicked in anger

I hope their new owner has deep pockets

25-07-2019, 07:32 AM
The longer they're down there the harder it'll be for them to get back up. Already a very competitive league with Dundee, Dunfermline etc. Can see 4 seasons turning into 5.

25-07-2019, 07:39 AM
The longer they're down there the harder it'll be for them to get back up. Already a very competitive league with Dundee, Dunfermline etc. Can see 4 seasons turning into 5.

Partick Thistle and ICT will be there or thereabouts imo

25-07-2019, 08:07 AM
I find it odd that a number of posters want them to be stuck in the lower league for years. A lot of posters also moan that our league looks crap on telly due to the rotten crowds. Surely the biggest teams being in the top league is good for the game?

25-07-2019, 08:19 AM
I find it odd that a number of posters want them to be stuck in the lower league for years. A lot of posters also moan that our league looks crap on telly due to the rotten crowds. Surely the biggest teams being in the top league is good for the game?

A good day out, and Hibs at Tannadice often just feels like one of the better Scottish fixtures that isn't a derby.

A strong Dundee United tucked in just behind Hibs would be good for Scottish football.

Dundee have always been my preferred team in that city though, and it would be great for McPake to bring them up.

That league promises to be good again - Neilson has no margin for error.

25-07-2019, 08:24 AM
My daughter is a Hibs fan who has lived in Dundee for the last 4 years...she says there is good banter with supporters of both Dundee Utd and Dundee at work and she has never heard any sectarianism from either sets of supporters.

Given a magic wand I would have both dundee clubs in the Premiership as well as Dunfermline - Hamilton, Livi and Ross county would be the ones demoted

25-07-2019, 08:25 AM
Does not look as though they are coming up anytime soon based on recent results

Maybe they need time to gel?

Robbie Neilsen under pressure already and a ba no even kicked in anger

I hope their new owner has deep pockets

They still look a bit of a mess, but on paper they have arguably the best squad in that league m. Their owner is very well off so as long as he stays interested they will have no financial worries, but obviously they’ll be desperate to get back in the top league.

25-07-2019, 08:30 AM
Hope they and Dundee come back up. Ideal Scottish top division would probably be something along these lines:

Celtic
Rangers
Aberdeen
Hibs
Hearts
Dundee
Dundee Utd
Kilmarnock
Motherwell
Inverness
Ross County
St Johnstone/Falkirk/Dunfermline/Raith

If we did it purely on average attendance last season, the division would be as follows:
Celtic
Rangers
Hibs
Hearts
Aberdeen
Kilmarnock
Dundee
Motherwell
St Mirren
Dundee Utd
Dunfermline
Falkirk

25-07-2019, 09:47 AM
If we did it purely on average attendance last season, the division would be as follows:
Celtic
Rangers
Hibs
Hearts
Aberdeen
Kilmarnock
Dundee
Motherwell
St Mirren
Dundee Utd
Dunfermline
Falkirk

So Falkirk get relegated for coming last ! Good ! Dirty hacking Jambo-loving bar stewards:greengrin

25-07-2019, 09:48 AM
Hope they and Dundee come back up. Ideal Scottish top division would probably be something along these lines:

Celtic
Rangers
Aberdeen
Hibs
Hearts
Dundee
Dundee Utd
Kilmarnock
Motherwell
Inverness
Ross County

It not ideal having a huge geographical area of Scotland without top league football. Dingwall is one of the best away days as well. :greengrin

25-07-2019, 12:00 PM

Celtic
Rangers
Aberdeen
Hibs
Hearts
Dundee
Dundee Utd
Kilmarnock
Motherwell
Inverness
Ross County

Celtic
Rangers
Hibs
Hearts
Aberdeen
Kilmarnock
Dundee
Motherwell
St Mirren
Dundee Utd
Dunfermline
Falkirk

Exactly how I'd like it. Some big derbys and big grudge matches (Pars v Bairns). Would be a great product to sell.