27-03-2018, 04:59 PM
John's 7th cap for Scotland since joining us, hope he does well

27-03-2018, 05:00 PM
Is it on TV?

Bbc1

27-03-2018, 05:00 PM
I might even watch it now but it's not a worthy replacement for River City.

27-03-2018, 05:08 PM
Is that a Levein line-up?

RossScott1991
27-03-2018, 05:14 PM
Wasn't planning on watching game this evening, but now that Mcginn starts i will tune in to see how he gets on.

Is it shameful that it takes a hibs player starting for me to have any interest in Scotland/International football?

27-03-2018, 05:16 PM
I want to greet when I see Matt Phillips' name on the teamsheet. But who else is there if he's not starting McBurnie? Cummings is nowhere near an international player.

27-03-2018, 05:18 PM
I want to greet when I see Matt Phillips' name on the teamsheet. But who else is there if he's not starting McBurnie? Cummings is nowhere near an international player.

we have a distinct lack of quality strikers just now, griffiths is the best we have but after that none of them are any good

27-03-2018, 05:18 PM
Wasn't planning on watching game this evening, but now that Mcginn starts i will tune in to see how he gets on.

Is it shameful that it takes a hibs player starting for me to have any interest in Scotland/International football?

Not at all. If it was a competitive game then folk would be more engaged, but not only is there nothing at stake, McLeish has already said that he's not bothered if we win or not.

I might look in for the same reasons as you though. Maybe.

Cat Stanton
27-03-2018, 05:19 PM

Keep greeting - Matt Phillips is the lone striker. Jesus wept.

27-03-2018, 05:19 PM
Strange Mcleish still isn't starting with a striker, I'm hoping it's down to the fact that all we really have is Cummings as oppose to it being the norm...like the look of the rest of the team though

27-03-2018, 05:21 PM
When was the last time Scotland had a consistent goalscorer at international level?

skyehibee
27-03-2018, 05:24 PM
Why play McGregor in goals? Give one of the other keepers a chance, it’s a friendly. McGregor already got 90 mins against Costa Rica

27-03-2018, 05:26 PM
When was the last time Scotland had a consistent goalscorer at international level?

Without kidding... Denis Law?

Even guys like Dalglish and McCoist were averaging less than a goal every 3 games.

27-03-2018, 05:28 PM

Griffiths has scored 4 in his last 7 international starts.

The whole reason Strachan last his job, was because he refused to start LG at the start of the campaign when the whole country could see Griffiths would have brought goals.

27-03-2018, 05:32 PM
Wouldn't normally bet on a friendly but couldn't resist SJM first goal at 16/1.

27-03-2018, 05:32 PM
How to watch in England?

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk

27-03-2018, 05:34 PM
How to watch in England?

If you have a Sky box, BBC Scotland is channel 951

27-03-2018, 05:37 PM
How to watch in England?

Drive back to Scotland and find a pub 😁

27-03-2018, 05:37 PM
If you have a Sky box, BBC Scotland is channel 951Just bt or internet?

27-03-2018, 05:42 PM
Think I've got it on IPlayer stream. I'll watch until SJM goes off.

27-03-2018, 05:44 PM
How to watch in England?

If you have access to the BBC iPlayer, scroll down to the bottom of the home page and you'll see 'change location'... which will be set to your current location. Just click on it and change your location to Scotland. BBC One will now be BBC One Scotland :spammy:

I only just noticed you can do this :greengrin

27-03-2018, 05:51 PM
Why play McGregor in goals? Give one of the other keepers a chance, it’s a friendly. McGregor already got 90 mins against Costa Rica

I thought exactly the same.

We aren't going to learn anything about McGreggor we don't already know tonight. Goalkeeper is a position we are going to have to address in the next 2-3 years with the ages of Gordon, McGreggor and Marshall so why not have a look at Archer?

27-03-2018, 05:53 PM
5/2 The home team to be ahead at ht, decent price.

27-03-2018, 05:53 PM
Good luck to SJM tonight, heres hoping he has a performance that will make him hard for McLeish to leave out in future. Bonus it`s on the beeb too, hadn`t anticipated having access to the game :aok:

27-03-2018, 05:56 PM
Be watching through my fingers praying SJM doesn't get injured

27-03-2018, 05:57 PM
Why cant football fans sing FOS in time to the music? Always annoys me

27-03-2018, 06:01 PM
Think I've got it on IPlayer stream. I'll watch until SJM goes off.

I’m doing the same. Only watching it to see SJM.

27-03-2018, 06:01 PM
Up and running folks. Much appreciated.

It'll be brutal viewing most likely but can't ever help myself.

27-03-2018, 06:04 PM
Matt Phillips falling over the ball on his first touch.

27-03-2018, 06:04 PM
Is that all we have to offer to play up front ....he is murder from what i have seen previously ..hope to be proven wrong ..ilike our midfield set up and worried about us defensively !!

27-03-2018, 06:05 PM
5/2 The home team to be ahead at ht, decent price.

Hungary are very poor

27-03-2018, 06:06 PM
Almost a Strachan selection, some things never change.

27-03-2018, 06:06 PM
Decent start by Scotland, good tempio and pressing high. Issue is going to be that without Griffiths we have nowt up top so nothing is going to stick and the ball will inevitably come back at us.

27-03-2018, 06:07 PM
I thought exactly the same.

We aren't going to learn anything about McGreggor we don't already know tonight. Goalkeeper is a position we are going to have to address in the next 2-3 years with the ages of Gordon, McGreggor and Marshall so why not have a look at Archer?

Because he played in this game.

https://youtu.be/CTg7HKZ-9es

Also, because his middle name is Gideon.

I cannot believe that there is an International standard goalkeeper in there.

McLaughlin should be playing for me.

I really hope McGinn puts in a shift tonight, and we need to give opportunities to players playing well in the Scottish league.

27-03-2018, 06:08 PM
The Scotland goalie top looks quite nice.

Matt Phillips falling over the ball on his first touch.

Has Matt Phillips ever played up front on his own? I know this squad doesnt offer a lot of alternatives but the lad has been struggling to establish himself with any great success at International level and then gets put in a position to my recollection he hasn't played in or certainly hasn't played much in.

As an aside is Angus Gunn still eligible for Scotland? Think he's played for England at 21s but with the young keepers they have available he might struggle to make the step up. Maybe his old man can have a word.

We're making them look like Wales

27-03-2018, 06:10 PM
Any stream links?

27-03-2018, 06:12 PM
Almost a Strachan selection, some things never change.

No sure about that. McGinn and McGregor starting which he was so refused to do end of last campaign. Two young centre halves starting. Fraser and McGinn as well.

I’m no the biggest fan of McLeish, or the national team in general, but that’s quite a lot of change to be fair.

27-03-2018, 06:12 PM
As an aside is Angus Gunn still eligible for Scotland? Think he's played for England at 21s but with the young keepers they have available he might struggle to make the step up. Maybe his old man can have a word.
Im sure i read a few weeks ago, maybe around the mcktomminey chat that he considered himself scottish. Maybe the een or somthing

27-03-2018, 06:15 PM
No sure about that. McGinn and McGregor starting which he was so refused to do end of last campaign. Two young centre halves starting. Fraser and McGinn as well.

I’m no the biggest fan of McLeish, or the national team in general, but that’s quite a lot of change to be fair.

There is actually quite a lot about the team that I like.

Experimental, giving new players a chance, trying out a formation.

He's not afraid to try things out in a friendly and have it not work, yet there is still a smattering of familiarity about it.

Phillips as lone striker is a funny one, but he's not exactly overflowing with credible alternatives, and if it works then he may have stumbled upon a solution for when Griffiths is out.

27-03-2018, 06:18 PM
We've gone a bit hoofball last 5 minutes.

27-03-2018, 06:21 PM
Well my Virgin TV Go is proving as useless as a Craig Levein formation. It's willing to let me watch Miami Open Tennis though :confused:

Any other way I can watch it on my laptop sitting in this car park?

27-03-2018, 06:22 PM
Doh. Just google BBC and watch it ODS you utter fud.

27-03-2018, 06:23 PM
Well my Virgin TV Go is proving as useless as a Craig Levein formation. It's willing to let me watch Miami Open Tennis though :confused:

You have to watch on the iPlayer if it’s on the bbc. That’s what I’ve had to do.

RossScott1991
Lasted 20mins, but decided to turn over. Hopefully Mcginn goes on to have a good game.

What a minging strip and why are we wearing it if they are in red?

BBC I player. Set your region to Scotland.

27-03-2018, 06:24 PM
You have to watch on the iPlayer if it’s on the bbc. That’s what I’ve had to do.

Ta Bunberry but I already outed myself as a fud idiot.

27-03-2018, 06:25 PM

Fair point

27-03-2018, 06:25 PM
Hungary are very poor

My bet will probably lose but, thats an embarassing side judas has put out.

27-03-2018, 06:27 PM
So far, two very poor teams trying to make a match of football. Scotland crying out for a leader on the park. McGinn pretty anonymous.

27-03-2018, 06:27 PM
Don’t see the point in starting the same keeper as Friday.

27-03-2018, 06:28 PM

The same reason we wear our black away strip when there’s no clash, marketing.

Ta Bunberry but I already outed myself as a fud idiot.

We knew about 10 years ago. ;-)

Phillips. Brains of a rocking horse.

27-03-2018, 06:29 PM
What's happened to GJP's heid? It's like Homer's dad in the Simpsons.

That ref is already doing my nut in! Not letting the game flow and constantly blowing that whistle for any bit of contact made.

If Billy Dodds uses the expression 'going about his business' once more I swear I'll do time :grr:

27-03-2018, 06:31 PM
My bet will probably lose but, thats an embarassing side judas has put out.

Don’t see what’s wrong with it.

Plenty home based players, happy with that. Great to see some energy from midfield. Mcginn quite raw at this level but at least he gets in their faces, tackles and even commits a few fouls. The central three midfielders playing against Costa Rica were brutal.

Saint Hibee
27-03-2018, 06:32 PM
I’m sorry to have to break the bad news, but James Forrest is not an international class footballer.

27-03-2018, 06:33 PM
Armstrong has taken 2 free kicks. One floated into the keepers hands and one blasted 20 yards beyoned everyone.

I actually think Phillips is playing ok given it's a strange position for him. Good turn a few minutes ago but should have shot rather than a ball to an area where we we are never going to be committing bodies.

Sauzee16
Scotland will win 1-0 tonight.

Phillips. Brains of a rocking horse.Really? Nice turn and ball in there, not his fault the midfielders are miles back instead of supporting him.

I’m sorry to have to break the bad news, but James Forrest is not an international class footballer.

Thats' ok, Scotland is not an international class side :rolleyes:

Don’t see why not? He plays well enough for Celtic in the champions league which is probably a higher standard than international football these days.

27-03-2018, 06:34 PM
That Hungarian manager looks like he also moonlights as a University Professor and part-time composer of classical music.

27-03-2018, 06:34 PM
Really? Nice turn and ball in there, not his fault the midfielders are miles back instead of supporting him.

Agreed, not Phillips biggest fan but think he’s doing alright in what’s an unusual position for him.

27-03-2018, 06:36 PM
True, but how nice to see traditional numbering rather than squad numbering.

27-03-2018, 06:37 PM
True, but how nice to see traditional numbering rather than squad numbering.

You old romantic you.

My online commentator seems to be allergic to mentioning McGinn's name.

27-03-2018, 06:38 PM
Robertson hasn't shown much so far. Considering the season he is having I was hoping he'd be more of a threat.

McGinn battling away well and having some nice moments, maybe a wee bit overplaying at times again which is something he can do from time to time. Think him and McGreggor look like they belong in there though.

27-03-2018, 06:38 PM
Really? Nice turn and ball in there, not his fault the midfielders are miles back instead of supporting him.

Should've said I was commenting on the push he made when favourite for the header.

27-03-2018, 06:40 PM
Didn’t know this was kicking at 7 pm - just fired up laptop to tune in. How’s SJM done so far?

27-03-2018, 06:41 PM
Scotland have a pen

Penalty Scotland.

Penalty scotland

What an idiotic challenge. You'd be raging if your teammate did that.

27-03-2018, 06:42 PM
Mulgrew misses.

Shocking penalty. Passback.

Good save but no power at all.

And it’s saved

Missed

Definite pen, stupid challenge.

Pen missed :rolleyes:

Terrible penalty

Joke of a penalty.

27-03-2018, 06:43 PM
Funnier than Still Game so far :greengrin

Mulgrew on pens 😂😂 Says it all.

Captain or not Mulgrew is a dud

Why on earth are we letting a defender take the penalties?!

Crap penalty.

27-03-2018, 06:44 PM
Funnier than Still Game so far :greengrin

Still got the England game for the encore. :wink:

Poor penalty. No other way to describe it.

Well, wasn't a penalty in the first place.

Will be so typical Scotland, if Hungary end up scoring the opener now

Mulgrew should be nowhere near the national team let alone captaining it and taking penalties.

Joke of a penalty.

Wasn’t really a joke of a penalty, the keeper just saved it, it happens sometimes.

Fin CH taking pens 😡

Why on earth are we letting a defender take the penalties?!

Mental

27-03-2018, 06:45 PM
Shame as we probably deserve to be ahead at HT. By far the better team.

Still Smiling
27-03-2018, 06:45 PM
Steven Thomson is a tosser of a commentator.says great save and then a few secs later a poorly taken penalty!

27-03-2018, 06:46 PM
Saw that weird sawn-off pony tail on the top of Mulgrew's head as he bent over to place the ball and thought 'he's going to miss this'. Don't know why.

27-03-2018, 06:46 PM
Wasn’t really a joke of a penalty, the keeper just saved it, it happens sometimes.

Was a very poor pen. Easy height for the keeper zero power!

27-03-2018, 06:47 PM

Nowhere near the corner with no power is about as poor a penalty as you can hit without missing the target. If the keeper stands up until it's hit then he's always likely to save that.

Fantastic score at HT. Well done Scotland

Mulgrew on pens 😂😂 Says it all.

What does it say?

Think he’s scored quite a few for Blackburn this season.

I was more critical than most against Costa Rica but I’m finding the delight many are taking in talking down our team quite bizarre, it’s a decent young team we’ve got out tonight and I think we’re playing quite well?

Ray Stewart took a decent penalty for a defender.

Mulgrew's position shouldn't come into it, he's a decent set piece taker (Paul Hanlon has always impressed me with his composure and accuracy when taking them for us).

It was a pish penalty though, that's for sure.

27-03-2018, 06:49 PM
Decent half imo.

McKenna and McGreggor probably best for us. Think goalie McGreggor, McGinn and Phillips have all done well too.

Nowhere near the corner with no power is about as poor a penalty as you can hit without missing the target. If the keeper stands up until it's hit then he's always likely to save that.

Yeah but imo a poor penalty is different from a ‘joke’ of a penalty.

You old romantic you.

My online commentator seems to be allergic to mentioning McGinn's name.
True bit of a traditionalist & my grand children do tell me I'm old:greengrin

Steven Thomson is a tosser of a commentator.says great save and then a few secs later a poorly taken penalty!

Strange. Thought... credit for correcting himself rather than trying to justify his first view of it. Thomson is better than most.

Fantastic score at HT. Well done Scotland

Fantastic score?

Said on Friday, Scotland are crap. What is everyone expecting?

27-03-2018, 06:50 PM
Yeah but imo a poor penalty is different from a ‘joke’ of a penalty.

I suppose when you consider Cummings 'hash broon' you're spot on. Now that was a joke.

27-03-2018, 06:51 PM
What does it say?

Think he’s scored quite a few for Blackburn this season.

I was more critical than most against Costa Rica but I’m finding the delight many are taking in talking down our team quite bizarre, it’s a decent young team we’ve got out tonight and I think we’re playing quite well?

I’m not talking the team down. I do find Mulgrew taking pens very strange and the fact he hit it like a toddler “says it all.” I’d have let at least 2 or three players take it before our centre half.

27-03-2018, 06:52 PM
Germany - Brazil just kicked off on BT Sport 3

27-03-2018, 06:53 PM
Did they borrow that pitch from our pink chums?

Dire stuff

Nowt. I'm only watching it for McGinn really. Feel he could be demanding the ball a bit more. Not sure what the point of playing him is if all we're going to do is play it wide and long. Most of the chances he's had to shine are from picking up scraps rather than play going through him.

andybev1
Just wondering if the Hearts Grounds-staff are on a jobshare with the hungarian groundstaff. Similarities are uncanny.

27-03-2018, 06:54 PM
Germany - Brazil just kicked off on BT Sport 3

You're really not helping...

27-03-2018, 06:55 PM
I’m not talking the team down. I do find Mulgrew taking pens very strange and the fact he hit it like a toddler “says it all.” I’d have let at least 2 or three players take it before our centre half.

He's been banging in free kicks and penalties amongst his goals down South though so was probably full of confidence to take it.

27-03-2018, 06:55 PM
Mulgrew was the only choice for a pen. I'd imagine he's scored more then the rest of the team put together. Sometimes players miss. It happens.

I don't like the formation but we're doing ok. Massive problem without any strikers though.

27-03-2018, 06:56 PM

That was my first instinct as well but the others probably have no chance of playing in competitive matches so short term it probably makes sense to assess the new centre backs beside the keeper they'll be playing with.

27-03-2018, 06:56 PM
You're really not helping...

Spain vs Argentina will be on in 30 mins on Sky Sports 😁

27-03-2018, 06:57 PM
Is Mikey Stewart wearing that outfit for a bet?

27-03-2018, 06:58 PM
As soon as something bad happens, the usual brigade appear and can't wait to put the boot in. Yet don't let them hear you be critical of any Hibs player or manager.

I might even watch it now but it's not a worthy replacement for River City.

Aye my fav show

Been a better first half than it was on Friday. Tempo has been better & the midfield have been a vast improvement from the Costa Rica game.

We really miss Griffiths up front though; the ball just doesn’t stick & some of McGinn’s passes over the top would have been perfect for Leigh to run in behind onto. We’ll look a better side when we’ve he’s fit again & I’d like us to play this formation with Griffiths & McBurnie up front.

27-03-2018, 06:59 PM
This midfield looks much better than the one which started the last game .... don’t rate the guy from Man U , if he was playing for a Hibs or hearts we wouldn’t even be linking him with Scotland

Mantis Toboggan
27-03-2018, 07:00 PM

Us to improve as we find out which of the new players are and aren't good enough.

27-03-2018, 07:02 PM
As soon as something bad happens, the usual brigade appear and can't wait to put the boot in. Yet don't let them hear you be critical of any Hibs player or manager.

Spain v Argentina friendly. When Scotland are playing? Wouldn't even flick it over.

highland hibbee
27-03-2018, 07:04 PM
Been a better first half than it was on Friday. Tempo has been better & the midfield have been a vast improvement from the Costa Rica game.

We really miss Griffiths up front though; the ball just doesn’t stick & some of McGinn’s passes over the top would have been perfect for Leigh to run in behind onto. We’ll look a better side when we’ve he’s fit again & I’d like us to play this formation with Griffiths & McBurnie up front.

SJM had made a huge difference in midfield, Mulgrews pwn wasn’t the best, but come on, that Prince William is multi talented, in goals and saving penalties for Hungary!!!.......

He's been banging in free kicks and penalties amongst his goals down South though so was probably full of confidence to take it.

Maybe he was, but for me I wouldn’t have him on pens.

Spain vs Argentina will be on in 30 mins on Sky Sports 😁
England v Italy just kick off:cb

27-03-2018, 07:06 PM
1-0 Scotland

Good finish. Well worked goal as well.

1-0 Scotland

Phillips

Great goal, get it right up ye.

Great goal and well deserved

Very good goal by Scotland

Get in.

Great football, well played by Forrest and Fraser and deserved goal for Phillips.

Hope we kick on and get 2 or 3 now.

Maybe I was wrong about Matt Phillips!

Great ball by Fraser.

Well taken goal!

27-03-2018, 07:07 PM
Nice goal, good finish from the Striker.

Forrest, McGinn and McGregor for me playing very well.

Decent finish from Philips

England v Italy just kick off:cb

Ah crap, now that is testing me.

Great goal, get it right up ye.

Hope all the folk taking such enjoyment in talking us down missed it when they were flicking over to the England, Spain or whatever other games are on.

Nice goal there!

27-03-2018, 07:08 PM
Lovely cross by Ryan Fraser. Well worked goal & well deserved.

27-03-2018, 07:08 PM
Forrest, McGinn and McGregor for me playing very well.

Fraser doing himself no harm either.

27-03-2018, 07:09 PM
Think the young guy Hendry has looked good tonight too.

Cat Stanton
Keep greeting - Matt Phillips is the lone striker. Jesus wept.

Sorry, I meant Praise Jesus, not Jesus wept. Ahem.

Hope all the folk taking such enjoyment in talking us down missed it when they were flicking over to the England, Spain or whatever other games are on.

Surely they are just winding folk up. I can’t see any Scotland fan switching over. I think they are fishing and you have been caught 😁

If they have have then they deserve to miss the goal.

Phillips looks not too bad to me. Not just the goal, he gets about and gets stuck in.

Great wee pass from McGinn for Robertson there. Unlucky more didn't come from it.

I'd like to see McTominay in with McGinn and McGreggor. Think that would let McGinn push on a bit and might be a good trio.

27-03-2018, 07:10 PM
Fraser doing himself no harm either.

Yeah sorry I should have mentioned him too. All playing well 👍🏼

27-03-2018, 07:12 PM
Sweet top the Hungarian keeper is wearing.

Spain v Argentina friendly. When Scotland are playing? Wouldn't even flick it over.

Aye not a peep then as soon as we miss a penalty, its right into them. Then to save face they fall over themselves heaping false praise. :faf:

It’s strange how we didn’t play with this tempo on against Cost Rica. It’s like night and day. Playing well tonight fast short passes and working the channels well.

27-03-2018, 07:13 PM
Aye not a peep then as soon as we miss a penalty, its right into them. Then to save face they fall over themselves heaping false praise. :faf:

Who you on about?

It’s strange how we didn’t play with this tempo on against Cost Rica. It’s like night and day. Playing well tonight fast short passes and working the channels well.

Imo it’s because tonight we have a midfield three with some energy and tenacity.

Prob is Bingo, look very good!

27-03-2018, 07:14 PM
I'd find it bizarre if SJM was overlooked for a starting berth from here on in.
Should be a first pick now.

27-03-2018, 07:14 PM
Weird. That strip is basically Sweden's which I always think looks pretty good but on us I just hate it.

27-03-2018, 07:15 PM

The difference is the midfield. So much more energetic & dynamic than it was on Friday. Cairney, Ritchie & McDonald just don’t have the legs that McGinn & McGregor (in particular) have.

A lot more pace in the side as well with Fraser & Forrest in the team.

andybev1
27-03-2018, 07:16 PM
we are surely good for 2-0 at least.

27-03-2018, 07:16 PM
I'd find it bizarre if SJM was overlooked for a starting berth from here on in.
Should be a first pick now.

Who gets dropped for McGeouch?

27-03-2018, 07:17 PM
The difference is the midfield. So much more energetic & dynamic than it was on Friday. Cairney, Ritchie & McDonald just don’t have the legs that McGinn & McGregor (in particular) have.

A lot more pace in the side as well with Fraser & Forrest in the team.

Mcgregor is a player I really rate. Seems to have the confidence to drive on and take players on rather than a easy side pass which a few seem to do in football these days.

[QUOTE=blackpoolhibs;5354256]Aye not a peep then as soon as we miss a penalty, its right into them. Then to save face they fall over themselves heaping false praise. :faf:[/QU
Had a bad day have you?

McGinn and Robertson on the left is an exciting prospect.

27-03-2018, 07:18 PM
Cracking save by McGreggor

Terrific start to the 2nd half, pace and energy in midfield, and Phillips holding the ball up well for someone who's pish.

And now a great save from McGregor. :top marks

Who gets dropped for McGeouch?

Fraser

Cracking save by McGreggor

Just said the same, that would have been moving as well great save.

27-03-2018, 07:19 PM
Phillips could do with being a bit greedier. Twice now he's passed when a shot was on.

27-03-2018, 07:19 PM
Mcgregor is a player I really rate. Seems to have the confidence to drive on and take players on rather than a easy side pass which a few seem to do in football these days.

Aye, I like him as well and I don’t think he gets as much credit as other players at Celtic get.

Him & McGinn plus one other should be our starting midfield three for Scotland when everyone is fit & available.

27-03-2018, 07:20 PM
3-5-2

McGregor

Hendry
Mulgrew
Tierney

Fraser
McTominay
McGinn
McGregor
Robertson

Phillips
Griffiths

That's my top Scotland team.

Aye, I like him as well and I don’t think he gets as much credit as other players at Celtic get.

Him & McGinn plus one other should be our starting midfield three for Scotland when everyone is fit & available.

Yep they would be my midfielders from now on 👍🏼

Playing well now.

What on earth is that droning noise coming from the crowd?

Who you on about?

Have a read from the beginning of the match to the penalty, its easy to spot.

27-03-2018, 07:22 PM
3-5-2

McGregor

Hendry
Mulgrew
Tierney

Fraser
McTominay
McGinn
McGregor
Robertson

Phillips
Griffiths

I’d like to see McBurnie with Griffiths up front. I think they’d work pretty well as a partnership.

27-03-2018, 07:23 PM
Superb from SJM

Mantis Toboggan
27-03-2018, 07:23 PM
Phillips could do with being a bit greedier. Twice now he's passed when a shot was on.

Not a natural striker which probably explains it. He's done ok tonight though.

27-03-2018, 07:24 PM
They're a wee bit dirty for a friendly.

Been very impressed with McKenna and Hendry. Midfield 3 full of energy, Phillips has put himself about well.

SJM having another solid game, as are the two central defenders.

Why didn't they even mention McGinn's good work before he was almost halved there?

Not a natural striker which probably explains it. He's done ok tonight though.

I agree he's been really good and his decision making probably is down to inexperience in the role.

27-03-2018, 07:25 PM
I’d like to see McBurnie with Griffiths up front. I think they’d work pretty well as a partnership.

McBurnie grafted away the other night but I'm not convinced by him.

I'vd been really impressed by Phillips tonight. Good touch, quick, physical and a nice finish for the goal.

27-03-2018, 07:26 PM
Been very impressed with that Aberdeen CB - McKenna. Been very strong and solid when he’s been called upon. His distribution from the back has been very good as well. Rather than unnecessary hoofs up the park, he’s actually tried to find a Scotland player with his passes

27-03-2018, 07:27 PM
It’ll be hard for Hanlon to get a cap now, unfortunately.

27-03-2018, 07:28 PM
Been very impressed with that Aberdeen CB - McKenna. Been very strong and solid when he’s been called upon. His distribution from the back has been very good as well.

You can see why it will be a struggle for Hanlon to get into that defence.

27-03-2018, 07:29 PM
Mulgrew. Wow

FFS Mulgrew! Very luck there

McBurnie grafted away the other night but I'm not convinced by him.

I'vd been really impressed by Phillips tonight. Good touch, quick, physical and a nice finish for the goal.

I think his main problem on Friday was that he had nobody running beyond him. His game seems to be coming deep & holding the ball up but he needs runners from midfield or a strike partner to run in beyond.

Much better second half, but that Mulgrew guy is dire.

27-03-2018, 07:30 PM
Mulgrew gets out of jail there. :thumbsup:

Mantis Toboggan

Not if Mulgrew keeps doing that!

Replace Mulgrew

They're a wee bit dirty for a friendly.

Exactly my thoughts not shy in putting it about and leaving a boot, arm, thigh, in fact any part.of.their body ...ref a bit lenient ..mcginn playing very well ..😁

27-03-2018, 07:31 PM
Why didn't they even mention McGinn's good work before he was almost halved there?

Thought the same. Was great from McGinn.

Mulgrew playing English league one football and it shows

Not if Mulgrew keeps doing that!

Yup. There's still competition though.

27-03-2018, 07:32 PM
3-5-2

McGregor

Hendry
Mulgrew
Tierney

Fraser
McTominay
McGinn
McGregor
Robertson

Phillips
Griffiths

I’d swap Mulgrew for McKenna. He looks a very good prospect

SJM having another solid game, as are the two central defenders.

:agree: Has grown into the game and looks the part now admittedly against a pretty dreadful Hungary team.

Mantis Toboggan
Exactly my thoughts not shy in putting it about and leaving a boot, arm, thigh, in fact any part.of.their body ...ref a bit lenient ..mcginn playing very well ..😁

Shocker on Mclean there.

I think his main problem on Friday was that he had nobody running beyond him. His game seems to be coming deep & holding the ball up but he needs runners from midfield or a strike partner to run in beyond.

Very fair point.

Tonight's team looks like a better team for any striker to play in.

I also don't think Hungary are as good a team as Costa Rica were.

27-03-2018, 07:34 PM
Cummings on for Forrest !! Get his price.lifted.so sevco need.to pay more ..😁

27-03-2018, 07:34 PM
Dun Utd 1 down at HT. Could struggle to make play off.

27-03-2018, 07:35 PM

Hungary are dreadful and this is one of the few games they've had with the chance of winning - hence the extra effort. If they cannot beat Scotland, they're in trouble.

27-03-2018, 07:36 PM
I’d be tempted to take McGinn off. This Hungary team looks very dirty and the last thing we need is an injury to SJM. Especially with the huge end of season run-up coming up. We will need him.

27-03-2018, 07:45 PM
SJM booked

27-03-2018, 07:47 PM
I’d be tempted to take McGinn off. This Hungary team looks very dirty and the last thing we need is an injury to SJM. Especially with the huge end of season run-up coming up. We will need him.

Haha I thought when you started your post it was from the viewpoint of McLeish. Clearly by the end I realised it was purely as a Hibby!

27-03-2018, 07:49 PM
Mulgrew ?

A big No for me

27-03-2018, 07:51 PM
Good result.

27-03-2018, 07:51 PM
FT

Scotland win 1-0

27-03-2018, 07:52 PM
Good performance and good result, well done Scotland. :thumbsup:

Jason Cummings was also superb. :greengrin

27-03-2018, 07:53 PM
a wins a win :agree: who do we play in the final

Decent win. Midfield big positive along with the 2 young centre backs. Mulgrew his day has gone.

Mulgrew ?

A big No for me

Good result and a good performance. I’m surprised the first thing that jumps out at you to comment on is Mulgrew not being good enough.

Thought he was alright apart from that one shocker of a slip, and obviously the pen.

Gokd result and performance. Ok Hungary are a poor side but you can only beat what is in front of you.

27-03-2018, 07:54 PM
A few good signs there and reason for optimism. We've got some good young players, hopefully they'll develop well together as a group over the next couple of seasons.

27-03-2018, 07:55 PM
Shocking penalty. Passback.

Good save but no power at all.

Joey Deacon would've saved it. Sorry in advance.

so, in 9 friendlies with the Magyars it's

W3
L4
D2

Good second half, once the players realised that they were up against very average opponents. Midfield works well and McGinn played his part. Not sure about the defence as they weren't tested much, and the attack still looks a bit lightweight. Work to do, but this will relieve the pressure a bit on GJP.

27-03-2018, 07:56 PM
McKenna given the MOTM

He was excellent and looks a very good prospect

27-03-2018, 07:58 PM
A few good signs there and reason for optimism. We've got some good young players, hopefully they'll develop well together as a group over the next couple of seasons.

Obvious thing we missed tonight was a natural leader on the park. Saw no one urging the players on or taking control. If we can find that player, we've got the core of a decent team.

27-03-2018, 07:59 PM
SJM as good if not better than his fellow midfielders. 5million at least if he leaves in the summer please.

Good performance from quite a young team. Hungary were average but we’ve faltered against teams like that before. McGinn played well.

Cat Stanton
Playing well now.

What on earth is that droning noise coming from the crowd?

Willie Miller doing the radio commentary.

27-03-2018, 08:01 PM
Good performance and good result, well done Scotland. :thumbsup:

Yip well done Scotland but they are woeful. Outside the minnows of San Marino etc they are one of the worst international teams I have seen.

27-03-2018, 08:03 PM
Yip well done Scotland but they are woeful. Outside the minnows of San Marino etc they are one of the worst international teams I have seen.

Hungary?

27-03-2018, 08:04 PM
Hungary?

Yes, Scotland were good they were terrible for a home team dear oh dear. Played like Hearts just kick anything that moves.

27-03-2018, 08:05 PM
Yes, Scotland were good they were terrible for a home team dear oh dear. Played like Hearts just kick anything that moves.

Can only beat what’s in front of you
Well done Scotland

27-03-2018, 08:06 PM

Hungary are a strange one. Had a decent Euros then managed to lose to Kazakhstan, Andorra and Luxembourg recently.

They can't all have become bad players overnight but something is obviously wrong.

27-03-2018, 08:09 PM
We have some decent young players. Robertson, McGinn, Tierney, McGregor. Not seen much of McTominay but must be doing something right to get in to the Man Utd tram. Just needs to find a way of playing and then keep playing players on merit instead of playing them on the basis they play in the English Championship.

27-03-2018, 08:10 PM
Hungary are a strange one. Had a decent Euros then managed to lose to Kazakhstan, Andorra and Luxembourg recently.

They can't all have become bad players overnight but something is obviously wrong.

Scotland defeat probably most embarrassing

27-03-2018, 08:28 PM
McGinn played well alongside Armstrong. Mulgrew is an abysmal excuse of a footballer though. Shouldn't be anywhere near the squad never mind captain.

27-03-2018, 08:32 PM
Its hilarious watching some of you posters here on Scotland, half say you don't watch or even care, yet you still find time to comment on it.

And when you do comment, its normally why don't we play the youngsters, well tonight we played god knows how many youngsters, but the minute we miss a penalty the team is slaughtered and the laughing starts.

We had a team out there tonight who were made up with players in their early 20s bar about 3, yet now its the oppositions fault we beat them because they are pish.

27-03-2018, 08:33 PM
McGinn played well alongside Armstrong. Mulgrew is an abysmal excuse of a footballer though. Shouldn't be anywhere near the squad never mind captain.

I actually thought McGinn linked best with McGregor, who played very well.

I really like McGregor, he's a fantastic player.

27-03-2018, 08:35 PM

I like McGregor as well. Clever player, good on the hall, and knows how to get into the box

27-03-2018, 08:36 PM

I agree.

McGinn and McGreggor are the 2 that should be in there based on the last 2 games. Jury is out for the other place imo. McTominay did ok the other night and is playing at the highest level regularly, Armstrong was excellent for Celtic last year but has been injured and in and out this season, as an outsider I'd suggest Paterson might be worth a shout in an attacking midfield role as he has done well for Cardiff there; I'm aware that is lead balloon territory though.

27-03-2018, 08:38 PM
Its hilarious watching some of you posters here on Scotland, half say you don't watch or even care, yet you still find time to comment on it.

And when you do comment, its normally why don't we play the youngsters, well tonight we played god knows how many youngsters, but the minute we miss a penalty the team is slaughtered and the laughing starts.

We had a team out there tonight who were made up with players in their early 20s bar about 3, yet now its the oppositions fault we beat them because they are pish.

Completely agree.

Good result and a good performance yet there’s posters falling over themselves to point out who’s pish and who’s not good enough.

You only have to look at the thread on James Forrest for evidence, he’s clearly no Messi but he’s a decent enough young Scottish player that’s holding his own in a good Celtic side and just contributed to us winning a game so why single him out for negativity?

27-03-2018, 08:39 PM
A lot better than Friday night but I'll reserve judgement until we play some competitive matches.

27-03-2018, 08:39 PM

Thought Scotland were ok. Some half decent performances especially from younger players such as Hendry McKenna McGinn etc

27-03-2018, 08:41 PM
A lot better than Friday night but I'll reserve judgement until we play some competitive matches.

Did you reserve judgement after we lost on Friday?

Genuine question by the way, I can’t remember your thoughts on it.