View Full Version : U20’s Derby - Hibs 3 Hearts 2 (FT)

27-03-2018, 06:23 AM
Hibs v hearts at Oriam today. We expecting Hearts to pull in as many experienced players as possible like they usually do?

27-03-2018, 06:24 AM
No doubt seems a strange week to play it given a fair number of younger players will be with Scotland squads.

27-03-2018, 06:36 AM
Good luck to the young Hibees today.
Always good to beat the forces of the dark side at any level.
'mon the Hibs!

27-03-2018, 06:42 AM
Hibs v hearts at Oriam today. We expecting Hearts to pull in as many experienced players as possible like they usually do?

I wouldn’t be surprised if we do the same to be fair. Keep players like Swanson etc ticking over, maybe give Barker a game in the hope he’s ready for Saturday possibly. I’d think both teams will be at similar strength.

27-03-2018, 07:51 AM
Noticed the Scottish youth cup semi final against Celtic is now on Thursday 5th April, 12 noon KO at Hibs training centre
What a bizarre time to play a key semi final

27-03-2018, 07:53 AM

Hibs missing Murray and Porteous but think Swanson (who has been playing really well) and others may play.

Will be interesting to see line ups.

27-03-2018, 08:12 AM
Hibs missing Murray and Porteous but think Swanson (who has been playing really well) and others may play.

Will be interesting to see line ups.

Seemingly the 3 stands only hold 63 per stand. Wonder which one will be the Hibs one today😄
Presume there’s still standing as well, but it’s a filthy day, don’t fancy standing out in that

27-03-2018, 08:58 AM
Noticed the Scottish youth cup semi final against Celtic is now on Thursday 5th April, 12 noon KO at Hibs training centre
What a bizarre time to play a key semi final

That is bizarre. Thought the sc games had to be played at a stadium?

27-03-2018, 10:01 AM
Seemingly the 3 stands only hold 63 per stand. Wonder which one will be the Hibs one today😄
Presume there’s still standing as well, but it’s a filthy day, don’t fancy standing out in that

For me Oriam is over rated having been there many times.

Poor design and not very well thought out.

Limited seating inside for a showcase pitch
Indoor hall is poor also.
Gym too small for students and public.
Outdoor pitch - limited seating for showcase events also.

Plus the fancy toilets which are already falling apart and there isn't enough of them.

27-03-2018, 10:43 AM
What time this kick off?

27-03-2018, 10:44 AM
What time this kick off?

1pm

27-03-2018, 11:12 AM
Get intae them Hibs - another horsing of Hearts will lift everyone’s spirits on a damp, dreary Tuesday.

27-03-2018, 11:17 AM
Strong looking Hearts team

Hamilton
Sandison
Gadja
Bauben
Quitongo
Morrison
Callachan
Irving
Moore
Henderson
Keena

JoeT_WasTheBest
27-03-2018, 11:30 AM
Strong looking Hearts team

Hamilton
Sandison
Gadja
Bauben
Quitongo
Morrison
Callachan
Irving
Moore
Henderson
Keena

Surely we've got a chance with Jimmy Sandison in their team? He must be at least 55 :wink:

27-03-2018, 11:35 AM
Hibernian Development Squad starting line-up for today's Mini Derby: P. Martin, Donaldson, Mackie, Campbell, Waugh, Crane, Gullan, Stirling, Shaw, S. Martin, L. Allan.

Substitutes: Dabrowski, Watson, Paton, Woods, Gallantes.

Sauzee16
27-03-2018, 11:41 AM
Ffs

27-03-2018, 11:51 AM
Good to see two young squads out today, even they've only got two over age player in the first 11. No over age players in the Hibs team though? Is that right?

Sauzee16
27-03-2018, 12:04 PM
Good to see two young squads out today, even they've only got two over age player in the first 11. No over age players in the Hibs team though? Is that right?

Callahan and Bauben for them?

27-03-2018, 12:05 PM

I think it's three over age from them including Hamilton? But yeah Hibs have a young team out.

27-03-2018, 12:07 PM
Callahan and Bauben for them?

Yeah, I never seen Callahan so including the keeper thats 3 over age in their team, none in Hibs

27-03-2018, 12:16 PM
Hibernian Development Squad starting line-up for today's Mini Derby: P. Martin, Donaldson, Mackie, Campbell, Waugh, Crane, Gullan, Stirling, Shaw, S. Martin, L. Allan.

Substitutes: Dabrowski, Watson, Paton, Woods, Gallantes.

Looks like Danny will be starting on Saturday then.

27-03-2018, 12:19 PM
1-0 pink mob after 19mins (using bet365 for updates)

27-03-2018, 12:19 PM
1-0 Hearts, Callahan
Hibs had best 2 chances so far

27-03-2018, 12:33 PM
No updates on Hibs twitter. Poor stuff.

27-03-2018, 12:35 PM
No updates on Hibs twitter. Poor stuff.

Yeah official twitter should have updates, all they have is the kick off then nothing!! :rolleyes:

27-03-2018, 12:36 PM
1-1 36 mins

27-03-2018, 12:37 PM
1-1
Great goal
Hibs played football from the back, great ball from Martin to Donaldson
Donaldson takes on full back, cuts ball back, and Lewis Allan scores

Sauzee16
27-03-2018, 12:37 PM
In there!

27-03-2018, 12:38 PM
2-1 Hibs 39 mins

Ilovehibs
27-03-2018, 12:38 PM
1-1 36 mins

Yeees. Scorer?

Sauzee16
27-03-2018, 12:39 PM
2-1 the cabbage

2-1 Hibs
Lewis Allan again

Ilovehibs
2-1 Hibs 39 mins
Damn it

Damn it

eh :greengrin

27-03-2018, 12:40 PM
Damn it

Haha I posted '2-1' then edited to '2-1 Hibs'

Ilovehibs
27-03-2018, 12:40 PM
2-1 Hibs
Lewis Allan again

Brilliant. Thought it was 2-1 to them. Bonus!

27-03-2018, 12:41 PM
2-2 42 mins

Brilliant. Thought it was 2-1 to them. Bonus!

:hmmm: :greengrin

2-2

Morrison, great finish
Should have been a Hibs foul

Ilovehibs
27-03-2018, 12:43 PM
Haha I posted '2-1' then edited to '2-1 Hibs'

Thanks. Thought I was losing the plot for a minute. Now 2-2 though eh. Cannae keep up with this

mcfly
27-03-2018, 01:09 PM
3-2 hibs

27-03-2018, 01:10 PM
3-2 Hibs
Waugh header from a corner

27-03-2018, 01:10 PM
Sounds like some game.

27-03-2018, 01:30 PM
Hibs twitter seemed to be giving the 3rd goal to Campbell.

27-03-2018, 01:31 PM
Any idea how long left?

Sauzee16
27-03-2018, 01:32 PM

27-03-2018, 01:33 PM

LTYF :wink:

Sauzee16
27-03-2018, 01:37 PM
LTYF :wink:

?

27-03-2018, 01:40 PM
?

15 (1-5) minutes left

A poor attempt at humour

Back to work I go

Sauzee16
27-03-2018, 01:42 PM
15 (1-5) minutes left

A poor attempt at humour

Back to work I go

Ah ok. 😀 What does the ylt type initials mean?

27-03-2018, 01:46 PM
Ah ok. 😀 What does the ylt type initials mean?

Launch The Yam F...

Sauzee16
27-03-2018, 01:47 PM
Launch The Yam F...

Gotya 👍 this spamming means it’s still the greatest score in history too 😀

Sauzee16
27-03-2018, 01:48 PM
Injury time.

Sauzee16
27-03-2018, 01:49 PM
Full time

mcfly
27-03-2018, 01:50 PM
Natural order 😃😃

27-03-2018, 01:50 PM

27-03-2018, 01:52 PM
Ya dancer, the Craig Levien effect!

Well done the young guns.

27-03-2018, 01:53 PM
Well done chaps

27-03-2018, 01:54 PM
Nice to see natural order restored.

Any comments from Levein after the match? I am he is in charge of Hearts football department. Least he can do is to come out and explain away another larruping for our cardigan wearing chums.

27-03-2018, 01:54 PM
Great result given the players who werent able to play.

Garymcl
27-03-2018, 01:55 PM
Go on the young team natural order continues :greengrin:greengrin

27-03-2018, 01:57 PM
Some quality contributions to the corresponding thread over the road....

A win might stop them winning this league. Very important game.

Hoofball lads. Heaps of Welly. Take nae prisoners. Leave the flair to them and kick them off the park.

Hearts are 13/10 on bet365, fill yer boots.

Get it roond ye's.

biscuitersed75
27-03-2018, 02:01 PM
Well done Lewis Allan. Hitting a good vein of form at the right time. Get him signed up, boy deserves a chance.

KerPlunk
27-03-2018, 02:08 PM
Another quote from over yonder.......
“221 first team appearances in our U20s team today compared to about 20 for Hibs. Disappointed with that result.”

27-03-2018, 02:08 PM
Interesting stat from across the road.....

221 first team appearances in our U20s team today compared to about 20 for Hibs. Disappointed with that result

27-03-2018, 02:11 PM
3 scrappy hibs goals to be fair.... :wink:

HNA7
I know that strictly speaking Hearts were the home team, but as we made the call to book the pitch I put us first in the thread title.

Clerie Green
The futures Green

27-03-2018, 02:13 PM
Never in doubt.

hughio
27-03-2018, 02:21 PM

Garymcl
27-03-2018, 02:34 PM
Heading to the car after the game one supporter to another of the wee team and I quote " just about everything is going wrong at our club at the moment on and off the park unlike that mob fi Leith " it honestly took about half an hour for the smirky smile came off my face so good to be a hibby I love this club :greengrin

27-03-2018, 02:35 PM
Another quote from over yonder.......
“221 first team appearances in our U20s team today compared to about 20 for Hibs. Disappointed with that result.”

I'm amazed it's even as high as 20 for those Hibs players

But over 10 times the first team experience and our lads were able to handle it

27-03-2018, 02:49 PM
Just back from the game.

Hibs the better team and definitely the better young players.

Hibs started the better team but it was Hearts who scored 1st - slack defending allowed Callachan in.

Hibs responded well and got back into the game to with a great switch and Donaldson getting getting behind the Hearts full back Quitongo (who looks mince).

Again Hibs on top but Hearts managed to go ahead to make it 2-1 out of nothing.

Hibs went long from GK to wide area then good finish to make it 2-2.

2ND Half - winning goal came from a good header from a corner.

Overall Hibs looked more fluid and played together as a team. Hibs should have scored more in 2nd half. Hearts best chances came from freekicks mainly due to their only half decent looking player Henderson drawing fouls near edge of the box.

Callachan has found his level. Bauben looked awful and slow - then went off with a hamstring injury in 2nd half.

Scott Martin played well - I thought Allan looked good also first half but tired 2nd half. Shaw made some good runs. Defence were pretty solid except for the goals and Mackie looked good also.

Good amount of Hibs fans and several Hearts folk watching - Berra,Locke and Man Utd loan player Mitchell (on crutches). Lennon and Levein both in dugouts.

Overall a good win against a bang average Hearts youth side - both teams had players missing but an important win as we aim to win league.

Still Smiling
27-03-2018, 02:49 PM
Really good game, Hibs had to defend well in the last 25 mins. Crane played well, our left back ‘Shaun’? Looked good. Hibs looked really up for it and played some great football on the first half. Deserved the win. Good to see Lennon watching and encouraging the U20s.

27-03-2018, 02:55 PM
http://www.hmfckickback.co.uk/uploads/monthly_2018_03/BB5FCE0B-E71B-4B69-B23B-1ACD60ECBE03.thumb.jpeg.49ac2b3e73c532e563d72076fa d8a535.jpeg

27-03-2018, 03:02 PM
http://www.hmfckickback.co.uk/uploads/monthly_2018_03/BB5FCE0B-E71B-4B69-B23B-1ACD60ECBE03.thumb.jpeg.49ac2b3e73c532e563d72076fa d8a535.jpeg

I do love Craigs jacket!

I believe it's his favourite

27-03-2018, 03:02 PM
Why are Sevco not in the development league or am i missing something?

27-03-2018, 03:07 PM
Why are Sevco not in the development league or am i missing something?

SFA allowed them to drop out to go play in a european development league.

Nowhere near the best dev team in the league but off they went....

A strong rangers is good for scottish football, or something like that...:rolleyes:

27-03-2018, 03:13 PM

A strong rangers is good for scottish football, or something like that...:rolleyes:

What's that all about? :confused: Rediculous

27-03-2018, 03:14 PM
'Natural Order' now restored at ALL levels - it's taken some time but honesty and class will always win out !

27-03-2018, 03:17 PM
Well done Lewis Allan. Hitting a good vein of form at the right time. Get him signed up, boy deserves a chance.

Wont happen.

biscuitersed75
27-03-2018, 03:31 PM
Wont happen.You never know

27-03-2018, 03:36 PM
Wont happen.

Why's that?

Tynie01011973
27-03-2018, 03:42 PM
https://spfl.co.uk/development-league/dev-results/

Current standings after todays games 👍

27-03-2018, 03:46 PM

They didn't enter a team. Their choice.

27-03-2018, 03:55 PM
well done the young dudes :flag:

27-03-2018, 03:59 PM

How are Celtic so far behind with their fixtures?

Capt Mainwaring
27-03-2018, 04:02 PM
Very good game of football overall and a good result for Hibs bearing in mind a few regulars missing ( Porteous, F Murray I Murray) but the lads that stepped in played really well.

Great midfield battle between Scott Martin and Ross Callaghan - Martin impresses me every time he plays. Great engine, never shirks a tackle and can play a good incisive pass.

Another good win in a very impressive season for the Development Team

The Hibee Harp
27-03-2018, 04:19 PM
How are Celtic so far behind with their fixtures?

I'm sure a load of their games were cancelled for the youth equivalent of the Champions League.

27-03-2018, 04:26 PM

14 team league 🖒

27-03-2018, 04:29 PM

To be fair they weren't the only team to pull out this season. I believe Inverness and possibly another team declined to enter a team into the development league.

Current standings after todays games ��

https://spfl.co.uk/development-league/

Mind the gap

Wont happen.

I don't know what you know or what you don't know but Lewis's young career has already been blighted by injury and now that he's back fit and scoring again then maybe he's earned his chance?

biscuitersed75
27-03-2018, 04:47 PM
I don't know what you know or what you don't know but Lewis's young career has already been blighted by injury and now that he's back fit and scoring again then maybe he's earned his chance?Think maybe you are right.

27-03-2018, 05:22 PM
Good game. Thought the boy Ben Stirling at CH in particular played really well but all round it was a good team performance and desereved win.

Well done boys :aok::flag:

27-03-2018, 05:35 PM
Just back from the game.

Hibs the better team and definitely the better young players.

Hibs started the better team but it was Hearts who scored 1st - slack defending allowed Callachan in.

Hibs responded well and got back into the game to with a great switch and Donaldson getting getting behind the Hearts full back Quitongo (who looks mince).

Again Hibs on top but Hearts managed to go ahead to make it 2-1 out of nothing.

Hibs went long from GK to wide area then good finish to make it 2-2.

2ND Half - winning goal came from a good header from a corner.

Overall Hibs looked more fluid and played together as a team. Hibs should have scored more in 2nd half. Hearts best chances came from freekicks mainly due to their only half decent looking player Henderson drawing fouls near edge of the box.

Callachan has found his level. Bauben looked awful and slow - then went off with a hamstring injury in 2nd half.

Scott Martin played well - I thought Allan looked good also first half but tired 2nd half. Shaw made some good runs. Defence were pretty solid except for the goals and Mackie looked good also.

Good amount of Hibs fans and several Hearts folk watching - Berra,Locke and Man Utd loan player Mitchell (on crutches). Lennon and Levein both in dugouts.

Overall a good win against a bang average Hearts youth side - both teams had players missing but an important win as we aim to win league.

Good report SOG.
Think we set up to play 352, but most of our raids were down our left in the early part of the game
Thought Hibs were much the better side in the 1st half, and probably should have been ahead early on. Hearts scored against the run of play, but Hibs bounced back with 2 goals back to back, later in the 1st half. Morrison had a cracking finish to make it 2-2 just before ht
All the football at this stage was coming from Hibs, but the game as you’d expect was very competitive
Hibs managed to get ahead early in the 2nd half, good passing move resulted in a corner. I thought at the time it was put in by Campbell, but the fans around me thought it was Waugh
Hearts started to press late on, but Hibs almost made it 4-2 when Shaw tried to lob Hamilton. Martin had a great save, touches onto the crossbar, but other than that, didn't really trouble us

All in all a very good performance and result. Good wee crowd in at the game as well!
Lennon in attendance as usual, could here him shouting from the other side😄

So 3 points in the bag, and with our nearest rivals Dundee and Aberdeen winning as well, was important to do so

3 big games coming up for the young lads, away to Celtic in the league on Monday, home to Celtic in the cup on Thursday, and away at Falkirk on monday 9th, 7pm ko

TelaStella
28-03-2018, 12:22 AM
I'm sure a load of their games were cancelled for the youth equivalent of the Champions League.

Do they qualify for this just for being Celtic or did they actually win the development league last season? Youth footballs not my strong point.

Austinho
28-03-2018, 12:56 AM
How does this team compare to the Under 19s who won the league and Youth Cup double in 2009? From what I can gather, only Wotherspoon and Callum Booth went on to have any impact on the first team. Kurtis Byrne sure did drop off!

Hope there’s a few more who can step up this time round.

bob12345
28-03-2018, 04:39 AM
Do they qualify for this just for being Celtic or did they actually win the development league last season? Youth footballs not my strong point.

Nah Ross County won the Development League. Place goes to domestic champions as group stage mirrors actual UCL.

28-03-2018, 06:38 AM
How does this team compare to the Under 19s who won the league and Youth Cup double in 2009? From what I can gather, only Wotherspoon and Callum Booth went on to have any impact on the first team. Kurtis Byrne sure did drop off!

Hope there’s a few more who can step up this time round.

You would have to assume better both Porteous and Shaw have proven they can play first team level now with Fraser Murray also playing first team earlier in the season and others been on the bench. All about how they progress going forward but the three mentioned are big prospects.

Austinho
28-03-2018, 07:27 AM
Nah Ross County won the Development League. Place goes to domestic champions as group stage mirrors actual UCL.So the big teams keep getting bigger and given even more of an advantage, ensuring the status quo?

28-03-2018, 09:58 AM
https://t.co/plrHADTFRd?amp=1

Not sure if this link works and apologies for the link to Hertz TV, but decent footage of the goals...

28-03-2018, 10:58 AM

Not sure if this link works and apologies for the link to Hertz TV, but decent footage of the goals...

Thanks Wheat Hound, works fine
Thanks for sharing

28-03-2018, 11:51 AM

Defo a Sir Davis Gray moment for the third goal...:not worth

SJNB Hibby
28-03-2018, 01:02 PM
Defo a Sir Davis Gray moment for the third goal...:not worth
And the 2nd was similar to Stokes's first

Good link--nice 'heart'-warming start to the day

28-03-2018, 02:39 PM
Thank you.

They seemed to miss out on Sunshine on Leith at the end of the clip.

Shame, really.

28-03-2018, 05:27 PM
Just saw this on Hibs twitter, think Barcelona would be proud of this goal
Total football
https://twitter.com/hibsofficial/status/979022315131465730?s=21

28-03-2018, 05:30 PM
Total football

Just posted it on the PM board. Outstanding.

28-03-2018, 05:33 PM
Just posted it on the PM board. Outstanding.

Ta

Goal of the season

28-03-2018, 05:36 PM
Total football

Levein thought it was scrappy.

28-03-2018, 05:37 PM

Sums him up, he could only dream about coaching his players to play like that

28-03-2018, 06:52 PM
To be fair they weren't the only team to pull out this season. I believe Inverness and possibly another team declined to enter a team into the development league.
Motherwell maybe? I noticed they don't have a team in the development league this season. Good to know that even if Celtic win their 6 games in hand they'll still be behind us.

28-03-2018, 07:19 PM
Motherwell maybe? I noticed they don't have a team in the development league this season. Good to know that even if Celtic win their 6 games in hand they'll still be behind us.

Motherwell do

28-03-2018, 09:49 PM

What European Development League?

The only one I am aware of is the UEFA Youth League.

This has two modes of entry:

1. Champions League path involving the Youth teams of Champions League qualifiers (32 teams)

2. Domestic Champions path involving domestic youth champions (32 teams)

Maybe the countries select which route to follow. Most seem to go one route or another although some such as Italy mix things and have 3 from Path 1 and one from Path 2. Scotland have Celtic from Path 1 although they were listed as 2016-17 Scottish Under-17 League Winners.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2017–18_UEFA_Youth_League.

No sign of Sevco is any list.

28-03-2018, 09:56 PM
What European Development League?

The only one I am aware of is the UEFA Youth League.

This has two modes of entry:

1. Champions League path involving the Youth teams of Champions League qualifiers (32 teams)

2. Domestic Champions path involving domestic youth champions (32 teams)

Maybe the countries select which route to follow. Most seem to go one route or another although some such as Italy mix things and have 3 from Path 1 and one from Path 2. Scotland have Celtic from Path 1 although they were listed as 2016-17 Scottish Under-17 League Winners.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2017–18_UEFA_Youth_League.

No sign of Sevco is any list.
Sevco are just playing friendlies, as far as I’m aware
They felt the development of their young players was better suited to playing against the likes of English premier league sides etc, although it’s costly for them travelling etc

28-03-2018, 11:35 PM

Austinho
29-03-2018, 12:42 AM

Not sure if this link works and apologies for the link to Hertz TV, but decent footage of the goals...On a side note, I hate it when we play in green shorts. Just me?

29-03-2018, 06:28 AM
Total football

How many passes was that!?

Bloody hell

29-03-2018, 07:33 AM
Brilliant goal good to see the team playing in such a way definitely the way forward.

29-03-2018, 07:45 AM
Total football

Having watched the game live the other day.

Hibs play with style and quality.

Hearts hope something comes off from 1 or 2 individuals. Euan Henderson was the only half decent Hearts player.

Can’t remember a single move that Hearts put together like this during the 90 mins.

Maybe Hearts are doing too much individual work (certain companies they bring in to teach!) and forgetting to actually teach them how to play the game as a team.

dchibs
29-03-2018, 07:46 AM

He also said the Hibs player should have been taken out after the first pass.

29-03-2018, 10:04 AM
Having watched the game live the other day.

Hibs play with style and quality.

Hearts hope something comes off from 1 or 2 individuals. Euan Henderson was the only half decent Hearts player.

Can’t remember a single move that Hearts put together like this during the 90 mins.

Maybe Hearts are doing too much individual work (certain companies they bring in to teach!) and forgetting to actually teach them how to play the game as a team.

Always amuses me how two people (of differing football persuasions) can watch a game and see two completely different things. Here’s the rather bitter view from kickback...

”I thought Hearts dominated the second half and should have scored two or three by playing through the midfield whilst Hibs were very physical and reverted to punting it over the top to the beanpole Shaw and the muscle bound lump Lewis Allan. Had to laugh though when the Hibs number 10 ranted at Allan calling him a lazy b???ard. Priceless. Hearts were the better team ...... Paton was a class act. None of that Hibs squad will make it in the game.”