View Full Version : 21/5/16 - in the words of Irvine Welsh

25-03-2018, 04:26 PM
I’m afraid I don’t know how to put a link from a Facebook video on to the forum but I would urge anyone who is on Facebook to visit the “I Love Leith” page and view the video from Alana Mullen posted earlier today (25/3).

It’s taken from the launch of Irvine’s latest book ‘Dead Men’s Trousers’ at the Biscuit Factory on Saturday evening. Irvine is reading an extract reliving that wonderful day through the eyes of Begbie, Spud & Co. It’s hilarious and typical Irvine Welsh (plenty sweary words:greengrin)

Trust me. You won’t regret it. :cb

25-03-2018, 04:41 PM
I’m afraid I don’t know how to put a link from a Facebook video on to the forum but I would urge anyone who is on Facebook to visit the “I Love Leith” page and view the video from Alana Mullen posted earlier today (25/3).

It’s taken from the launch of Irvine’s latest book ‘Dead Men’s Trousers’ at the Biscuit Factory on Saturday evening. Irvine is reading an extract reliving that wonderful day through the eyes of Begbie, Spud & Co. It’s hilarious and typical Irvine Welsh (plenty sweary words:greengrin)

Having watched it live last night, I agree. Very amusing 😁.

ads913
25-03-2018, 04:45 PM
https://www.facebook.com/alana.mullen/videos/10160223961145258/ try that

25-03-2018, 05:05 PM
https://www.facebook.com/alana.mullen/videos/10160223961145258/ try that

:thumbsup::thumbsup:
LOL. It’s not good me being an old dinosaur as far as social media is concerned.:wink:

Clarence
25-03-2018, 06:31 PM
:thumbsup::thumbsup:
LOL. It’s not good me being an old dinosaur as far as social media is concerned.:wink:

Get involved. Facebook and is basically Jurassic Park these days.

25-03-2018, 07:18 PM
Guess I must be the only one that can’t get it to play (on my iPhone).

“Cannot play - Check the strength of your signal strength”

Wifi and 4g should accommodate both have same message :(

25-03-2018, 07:24 PM
is it a Closed Facebook group - do you need to join ?? wont show me anything

Earlydelivery
25-03-2018, 07:29 PM
is it a Closed Facebook group - do you need to join ?? wont show me anything
U need to join

25-03-2018, 07:31 PM
U need to join

Cheers.. i have sent a request.. hopefully the right group..

25-03-2018, 07:41 PM
His latest book takes a pasting here:

https://www.scotsman.com/lifestyle/culture/books/book-review-dead-men-s-trousers-by-irvine-welsh-1-4711903

I enjoy the fact he's one of our many well-kent fans but I'll admit to feeling he's never come close to matching Trainspotting. A collection of stories called The Acid House which came out not long after was decent in places but I thought things went steadily downhill thereafter and I stopped buying his stuff a long time ago.

25-03-2018, 08:23 PM
His latest book takes a pasting here.
Och, dinnae say that I bought a copy at the launch last night !

tetley
25-03-2018, 10:12 PM
I also watched it live last night, very amusing,

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

25-03-2018, 10:15 PM
I was there last night, really good. Well the book reading was, wasn’t too keen on the pre- show which was basically 3 women staring at computer screens

25-03-2018, 10:33 PM
I was there last night, really good. Well the book reading was, wasn’t too keen on the pre- show which was basically 3 women staring at computer screens

Aye, that kind of music is just a total turn off. Think they were live mixing it, but just looked like they were booking a holiday.

Galahibby
25-03-2018, 11:46 PM

We thankfully didn't catch too much of them - not really my thing. As it happened, we were just drinking up about to leave the Bonnington and head down when the man himself wandered in. We figured it was a safe bet they weren't going to start without him so we managed an extra half hour in there instead. I hadn't been to anything like that before, really enjoyed it though.

26-03-2018, 08:14 AM
Met him at the book signing in Stirling. I have to admit he came across as a genuinely warm nice guy. Nothing was too much trouble for him. He was also a lot taller than I imagined him to be.

Austinho
26-03-2018, 08:28 AM
Just watched it. Very good. I liked how he kept it pretty humourous rather than sentimental - pretty fitting to the characters.

27-03-2018, 09:09 AM

https://www.scotsman.com/lifestyle/culture/books/book-review-dead-men-s-trousers-by-irvine-welsh-1-4711903

I enjoy the fact he's one of our many well-kent fans but I'll admit to feeling he's never come close to matching Trainspotting. A collection of stories called The Acid House which came out not long after was decent in places but I thought things went steadily downhill thereafter and I stopped buying his stuff a long time ago.

Jings that’s some review. Did have a chuckle at the Compo comparison though. I wish he would go back to doing short stories but as he says himself there’s no money in them.

27-03-2018, 11:49 AM
I loved Trainspotting, thought Porno was a bit iffy (but had its moments), loved Skagboys and really liked the Blade Artist.

The day that Irvine Welsh gives a flying one about a review in the Scotsman is the day that he really needs to give up.

2 things struck me as I read that review - that it must be 3 or 4 years since I read any link to the Scotsman, and that the author of the review was clearly not at Hampden Park in the immediate aftermath of the 2016 Scottish Cup final.

I can't wait to read the book.

27-03-2018, 12:04 PM
Marabou Stork Nightmares is, IMO, his finest work. I've read it 3 or 4 times and still get different things out of it.

For all Hibbies (and Jambos) who lived through the Mercer years, it's a wonderful retelling of that saga.

Sent from my SM-A510F using Tapatalk

27-03-2018, 12:05 PM

I thought the blade artist was reall good...

27-03-2018, 12:15 PM
Marabou Stork Nightmares is, IMO, his finest work. I've read it 3 or 4 times and still get different things out of it.

For all Hibbies (and Jambos) who lived through the Mercer years, it's a wonderful retelling of that saga.

Sent from my SM-A510F using Tapatalk

Terrific book. He absolutely nails Edinburgh at that time for me.

Not a conventional structure but more of a narrative arc than Trainspotting, which really does read like a drug haze at times!

27-03-2018, 12:24 PM
I thought the blade artist was reall good...

As did I.

It felt a bit autobiographical. The schemie radge, having naffed off abroad and discovered new ways of living, returns briefly to his homeland. "His" (Begbie and Welsh) views of Edinburgh, as it is now compared to the city they grew up in, were fascinating.

27-03-2018, 06:33 PM

I hope the books better than The Blade Artist. It was utter gash (excuse the pun).

27-03-2018, 06:55 PM
I hope the books better than The Blade Artist. It was utter gash (excuse the pun).

'Glue' was lol funny. Read it by the pool in Hurgada last November. Other guests wondering what the hilarity was ah aboot.

Mantis Toboggan
27-03-2018, 06:57 PM
Will be reading the new one to make up my own mind, but it's fair to say that he has been coming out with some pretty average stuff in recent years. That review is a total hatchet job though. The comments about sectarianism indicate that the reviewer may be a bitter The Rangers man.

27-03-2018, 07:24 PM
There is a half hour interview with Irvine on Radio 5 tonight at 11:30 he is reading a few passages from the book too.

27-03-2018, 10:18 PM
There is a half hour interview with Irvine on Radio 5 tonight at 11:30 he is reading a few passages from the book too.

Off to bobo's to listen to Irvine no doubt I will fall asleep and miss it .:agree:

03-04-2018, 04:01 PM
Grant Stott BBC Interview with Irvine Welsh in the dugouts at Easter Road :thumbsup:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KyOKBBOc4b8&feature=youtu.be&ns_mchannel=social&ns_campaign=bbc_scotland&ns_source=twitter&ns_linkname=scotland