View Full Version : Scotland v Costa Rica (and Friday's other internationals)

23-03-2018, 04:02 PM
Is it on telly tonight?

guthrie01
23-03-2018, 04:07 PM
:agree: On Sky Sports at 7:45

23-03-2018, 04:08 PM
Russia v Brazil has just kicked off. Channel 424 on Sky.

23-03-2018, 04:10 PM
Thanks. Hate not getting my Hibs fix at the weekend, especially for meaningless friendliest. Maybe see SJM run the midfield for us

hughio
23-03-2018, 04:33 PM
Thanks. Hate not getting my Hibs fix at the weekend, especially for meaningless friendliest. Maybe see SJM run the midfield for us

My thoughts exactly.

23-03-2018, 04:34 PM
Doubt he’ll start.

23-03-2018, 04:37 PM
Russia v Brazil has just kicked off. Channel 424 on Sky.

which channel? trying to find it on Virgin

23-03-2018, 04:55 PM
which channel? trying to find it on Virgin

It's called FreeSports. You're not missing much, I've tidied the kitchen during the first half!

23-03-2018, 05:55 PM
Why is the Scotland game at Hamden? It is going to look great on the box with I am assuming will be a very low crowd

23-03-2018, 06:01 PM
Scotland, England double is the bet for me tonight.

guthrie01
23-03-2018, 06:13 PM
Why is the Scotland game at Hamden? It is going to look great on the box with I am assuming will be a very low crowd

Won’t be the first time it’s happened...

23-03-2018, 06:19 PM
:agree: On Sky Sports at 7:45

Hud me back!

Cat Stanton
23-03-2018, 06:36 PM

For the very obvious reason that the SFA are a bunch of clueless, incompetent tits!

23-03-2018, 06:39 PM
Under 21’s losing to Andorra, 10 mins to go

23-03-2018, 06:40 PM

That’s a shocker.

23-03-2018, 06:43 PM

Holy f.

23-03-2018, 06:44 PM
Why is the Scotland game at Hamden?

Tynecastle isn't finished yet

23-03-2018, 06:44 PM
Is there any hibs players playing in that game?

23-03-2018, 06:46 PM
Is there any hibs players playing in that game?

Don't think any were even selected for the squad.

23-03-2018, 06:47 PM
Don't think any were even selected for the squad.
Clearly that’s the problem

Ryan69
23-03-2018, 06:49 PM
Scotland, England double is the bet for me tonight.

Rashford and Messi on a first goal and e/w double

Correction Higuain(Messi not playing)

23-03-2018, 06:50 PM
That’s a shocker.
England scraped through against them 1-0.

23-03-2018, 06:58 PM
SJM on the bench. Disappointed, felt he's earned the right to start through his previous performances

23-03-2018, 07:05 PM
Who is McDonald that’s playing for Scotland?

23-03-2018, 07:06 PM
Hate international weekends and especially friendly international weekends.

Wish we could get back to midweek internationals with league games continuing on weekends either side. Like, you know, when we used to qualify for things.:cb

23-03-2018, 07:06 PM
Who is McDonald that’s playing for Scotland?

Plays for Fulham. Decent player.

Disappointed for McGinn.

23-03-2018, 07:09 PM
England v Scotland on 424 on sky. Funny enough it's been played at a ground which I'm attending on Sunday but with slightly different posts.

23-03-2018, 07:14 PM

Disappointed for McGinn.

Aye, looks like same old same old from McLeish. Mind you, it's a friendly so SJM will probably get on at some point along with the usual barrowload of subs you get in these meaningless games.

23-03-2018, 07:16 PM
Pen Scotland

23-03-2018, 07:16 PM
Missed.

23-03-2018, 07:17 PM
1-0 Scotland header from cross about 30 secs later.

23-03-2018, 07:18 PM
Aye, looks like same old same old from McLeish. Mind you, it's a friendly so SJM will probably get on at some point along with the usual barrowload of subs you get in these meaningless games.

Same old? Other than 4 debuts in the starting 11 you mean?

23-03-2018, 07:29 PM

You’ve really confused me with these messages.

What game are you talking about?

23-03-2018, 07:30 PM

Same old same old as in English Championship (and League 1) players being favoured over those playing in the SPFL.

MacGruber
23-03-2018, 07:30 PM

Same old that unless you are with Celtic, Rangers or ply your trade in any league in England at any level you are very unlikely to get much of a look in. Hendry is there now. Not good enough whilst playing for Dundee at any point but now he's had 10 mins for Celtic he is in there.

No McGinn is bull**** IMO. Don't care how you cut it.

23-03-2018, 07:32 PM

Disappointed for McGinn.

Is he actually Scottish?

I can’t be doing with these English championship players playing for Scotland.

Guy might be brilliant to be fair, there just seems a lot of players like this that come in for a game or two then dissapear never to be seen again.

23-03-2018, 07:32 PM

i was also confused, its under 18's i think

23-03-2018, 07:33 PM
Same old that unless you are with Celtic, Rangers or ply your trade in any league in England at any level you are very unlikely to get much of a look in. Hendry is there now. Not good enough whilst playing for Dundee at any point but now he's had 10 mins for Celtic he is in there.

I agree about Mcginn.

2 motm performances in 2 starts but because he doesn’t play in the English 2nd division he doesn’t get a decent chance.

23-03-2018, 07:34 PM

Scotland Under 21's match. Full time, Andorra 1-1 Scotland.

Same old same old as in English Championship (and League 1) players being favoured over those playing in the SPFL.
Yep. If McGinn can’t get a start tonight what chance has he got. Every manager for as long as I can remember have favoured lower league English players over spl players. A strategy that has failed miserably. Hopefully I’m wrong, but I only see more of the same under Eck.

just seen the line up, if we were playing a decent country that team would get ripped to shreds

Is he actually Scottish?

I can’t be doing with these English championship players playing for Scotland.

Guy might be brilliant to be fair, there just seems a lot of players like this that come in for a game or two then dissapear never to be seen again.

Aye started at Dundee.

23-03-2018, 07:37 PM

McGinn would be a shoo in if he was playing pish for Burton Albion.

23-03-2018, 07:38 PM
McGinn would be a shoo in if he was playing pish for Burton Albion.
Or not getting a game for Brentford

23-03-2018, 07:44 PM
Willie Collum refereeing the Germany v Spain match [emoji15]

23-03-2018, 07:47 PM
Aye started at Dundee.

Yeah just realised that when I saw he was 29 years old.

Fair enough then I suppose, still doesn’t exactly get the juices flowing but he may be needed at some point so makes sense to see him in a game like this.

23-03-2018, 07:52 PM
What's the Scotland team?

23-03-2018, 07:55 PM
We already know this, but Patterson is ****ing awful.

Surely we have someone we can shoehorn into RB that'd be an instant upgrade.

He's lost the ball twice in the first couple of minutes

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

23-03-2018, 08:01 PM
We already know this, but Patterson is ****ing awful.

Surely we have someone we can shoehorn into RB that'd be an instant upgrade.

He's lost the ball twice in the first couple of minutes

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

8 goals from midfield in the Championship this season. Can't be too bad.

23-03-2018, 08:02 PM
1-0 Costa Rica

23-03-2018, 08:03 PM
Had a feeling that was coming.

23-03-2018, 08:04 PM
Goal for Costa Rica

What's the Scotland team?

McGregor
Paterson
Hanley
McKenna
Robertson
Mulgrew
McDonald
McTominay
Cairney
McBurnie

Canon Hannan
Support Scotland but not McLeish who doesn’t believe in his own people.
Nice strip though 😁

What game you watching??

23-03-2018, 08:05 PM
McBurnie is an awful, awful football player.

Sauzee16
23-03-2018, 08:06 PM
Support Scotland but not McLeish who doesn’t believe in his own people.
Nice strip though 😁

What’s that supposed to mean?

23-03-2018, 08:06 PM
McBurnie is an awful, awful football player.
Thats a bit harsh.

23-03-2018, 08:07 PM
Anyone get excited by international football or does it just get in the way of the real stuff? Im the latter

xyz23jc
Gash. Tentative. Early Days tho....All Costa Rica at the mo!

Pre match quote from McLeish is the old school jobs for the boys mentality we need to drop.

""Let's not kid ourselves, we can't create a team who play like Barcelona.

We do have some very good players but we also have to play to our strengths.""

Admits that we have some good players but hey, the strengths will still be 11 behind the ball and good it up the park.

23-03-2018, 08:08 PM
Scotland Under 21's match. Full time, Andorra 1-1 Scotland.

That was never 1-0 to Scotland. Andorra were winning 1-0 until the 91st minute.

highland hibbee
23-03-2018, 08:10 PM
The good thing about conceding an early goal to Costa Rica is that it takes away the fear of conceding an early goal to Costa Rica.
Midfield is non existent so far, at least if SJM was playing he’d have had a booking by now.....

23-03-2018, 08:11 PM
Spain beating Germany 1-0 in Düsseldorf

Not sure as I have rugby on now let me check.

Under 18's game at York live on Freesports.

renato
Jose’s come up to see Super in the flesh.

Is it 1-1 or 0-1? Threads got me confused.

Are people surprised? Costa Rica are a decent side. We're not.

Sauzee16
23-03-2018, 08:12 PM
Is it 1-1 or 0-1? Threads got me confused.

National side losing 1-0

Under 21s drew 1-1 with ***** Andorra.

The Rebel
Just started watching the football and nearly spat oot ma drink when I heard the commentator reference a Costa Rican player with a name that sounded to me like bawhairs!!! Had to look it up. Disappointed to see that it is in fact 'borgez'

guthrie01
Anyone get excited by international football or does it just get in the way of the real stuff? Im the latter

I always get built up and fall for the belief we might actually change our ways and not be totally useless against other international teams.

Not sure as I have rugby on now let me check.

And me!

23-03-2018, 08:14 PM
And me!

CAS playing superb. Great start.

23-03-2018, 08:15 PM
Just started watching the football and nearly spat oot ma drink when I heard the commentator reference a Costa Rican player with a name that sounded to me like bawhairs!!! Had to look it up. Disappointed to see that it is in fact 'borgez'

:faf: it's the little details that make life worthwhile

Are people surprised? Costa Rica are a decent side. We're not.

I was surprised to hear Costa Rica are decent, not sure if that counts or not.

National side losing 1-0

Under 21s drew 1-1 with ***** Andorra.

Ah, that’s cleared that up, thanks.

Scotland the Brave

23-03-2018, 08:16 PM

They've been to the World Cup more recently, and I think they got to the quarters, while we've never got out of the group, ever.

23-03-2018, 08:18 PM
This is shaping up to be a great thread. 😁

23-03-2018, 08:18 PM
Try. 0-24.

Newcastlehibby
23-03-2018, 08:19 PM

Still sounds like 'bawhairs' though.

23-03-2018, 08:19 PM

23-03-2018, 08:20 PM

There's a mere borgez between the teams at the moment :agree:

23-03-2018, 08:21 PM
Try. 0-24.

23-03-2018, 08:21 PM
They've been to the World Cup more recently, and I think they got to the quarters, while we've never got out of the group, ever.

Yep, they were in the same group with England, Uruguay & Italy and they won it. Only lost to the Dutch on pens in the quarters.

Sauzee16
23-03-2018, 08:22 PM

They’ve qualified again. Did they not finish ahead of England in the last WC qualifying to the next round? Uruguay too maybe?

5/2 they are to win this evening too. Ludicrous.

23-03-2018, 08:23 PM
Muller scores a wonderful equaliser for Germany. Been an excellent game so far

Sauzee16
23-03-2018, 08:25 PM
Muller scores a wonderful equaliser for Germany. Been an excellent game so far

Is it on tv?

23-03-2018, 08:26 PM
BT Sport 3

Sauzee16
23-03-2018, 08:29 PM
Ta.

23-03-2018, 08:29 PM

World Cup quarter finalists, topped a group with England and Uruguay, off to the WC again and above us in the rankings.

I was more surprised at the expectation Scotland would win tbh.

23-03-2018, 08:31 PM

Aye but they’re qualification process isn’t as difficult as ours so don’t know how much we can take from that?

I don’t remember them doing that well at the World Cup. Not saying you’re wrong, I just don’t remember it.

Sauzee16
23-03-2018, 08:31 PM
Aye but they’re qualification process isn’t as difficult as ours so don’t know how much we can take from that?

I don’t remember them doing that well at the World Cup. Not saying you’re wrong, I just don’t remember it.

As above they topped their last group including Italy England and Uruguay. They have a goalie who plays for Madrid, we have Mc****ger from Hull.

23-03-2018, 08:33 PM
As above they topped their last group including Italy England and Uruguay.

I’ve absolutely no idea how that has passed me bye but it definitely did.

What was their score when they played England?

We need to stop kidding ourselves on if we are going to progress. Costa Rica = diddy team. Except of course when you look at their recent record. In actual fact we are now the diddy team when you look at our record. It doesn’t look like changing under GJP either. Grant Hanley? Grant ****ing Hanley?

The Rebel
Scotland getting forward a bit now. Bawhairs not been involved as much (disappointingly as I'm still giggling each time I hear his name). He's not caressing the ball as he was earlier.

Sauzee16
23-03-2018, 08:34 PM

Drew 0-0 mate.

23-03-2018, 08:34 PM
This has been an awful watch. We look flat.

23-03-2018, 08:35 PM

0-0

23-03-2018, 08:35 PM
Scotland getting forward a bit now. Bawhairs not been involved as much (disappointingly as I'm still giggling each time I hear his name). He's not caressing the ball as he was earlier.

Am keeping my eye on him

23-03-2018, 08:36 PM
Costa Rica had a great world cup last time round beating Uruguay(3-1) and Italy (1-0) before drawing 0-0 with England in what was effectively a dead rubber. They have beaten Russia, hammered the US 4-0 and drawn with Mexico in the last year or two so not too shabby since the last world cup.

That first half was utter pish.

I can't say I'm surprised.

Borsac coming on:agree:

Anti-hoofbaw
23-03-2018, 08:37 PM
The only hing gid aboot Scotland being on the telly is turning it oor to watch Gardeners World.

23-03-2018, 08:38 PM
Zero creativity

Cairney worth £40m aye? Doubt if he's touched the ball 3 times.

The only hing gid aboot Scotland being on the telly is turning it oor to watch Gardeners World.

Is Carol still banging on about her herbaceous border?

23-03-2018, 08:39 PM

Stop being so hard on him

xyz23jc

At the moment.... Yir nae wrang! :greengrin

Costa Rica had a great world cup last time round beating Uruguay(3-1) and Italy (1-0) before drawing 0-0 with England in what was effectively a dead rubber. They have beaten Russia, hammered the US 4-0 and drawn with Mexico in the last year or two so not too shabby since the last world cup.

Agree. One of the posters mentioned they were 5/2 to win tonight. That’s a bizarre price!

23-03-2018, 08:41 PM
HT Leeds 10 Castleford 25.

England 0 Scotland 1 6 mins left.

23-03-2018, 08:42 PM
With rascheeks.

xyz23jc
23-03-2018, 08:45 PM
Hun TV on Sky at the mo...Boyd n' the Crab talking pish! FFS :confused:

23-03-2018, 08:45 PM
Astounding that people think Hanley is a decent player. total dug *****.

Austinho
23-03-2018, 08:46 PM
Kris Boyd speaks like Spud from Trainspotting when he's having his job interview.

23-03-2018, 08:47 PM

Most people don’t, unfortunately strachan and it would seem McLiesh do

23-03-2018, 08:48 PM
England 0 Scotland 2 belting finish top corner

23-03-2018, 08:48 PM
Young team go 2 up against England

xyz23jc
23-03-2018, 08:49 PM
Kris Boyd speaks like Spud from Trainspotting when he's having his job interview.

He's no that articulate mate! :greengrin:duck:

23-03-2018, 08:49 PM
Cairney worth £40m aye? Doubt if he's touched the ball 3 times.

when has cairney ever been valued at £40m

23-03-2018, 08:50 PM

£6m player as well.

That’s why I get annoyed at people assuming players based in England are automatically better than what we have in our premier league just because the English based players are being linked with mega money moves. It means nothing and there’s plenty average players playing in England going for millions.

Hypothetically talking I’d be gutted if hibs swapped Hanlon for Hanley.

23-03-2018, 08:50 PM

How on earth he made the squad ahead of Hanlon is mind boggling

23-03-2018, 08:51 PM

West Ham were bidding something like £25m but Fulham said they wanted £40m.

That’s what was reported in the media anyway, I think to be fair though they were doing that to try and out West Ham off offering again.

23-03-2018, 08:52 PM

https://www.google.co.uk/amp/s/www.birminghammail.co.uk/sport/football/transfer-news/fulham-leave-west-ham-united-14213798.amp

Anti-hoofbaw
23-03-2018, 08:53 PM
Is Carol still banging on about her herbaceous border?

Nah but the tidy yin's walking aboot that big greenhoose in Edinburgh wi a specy dude looking at common ginger and Mexican Sunflower.

xyz23jc
23-03-2018, 08:55 PM
Looking a bit mair promising this half!

23-03-2018, 08:57 PM
McGinn McGeoch and Griffiths all cementing their place in the team tonight :wink:

23-03-2018, 08:57 PM
Am I right in saying there wasn't a sub or 5 at HT? It's a friendly FFS, give a few boys some time to stake a claim.

xyz23jc
23-03-2018, 08:58 PM
Am I right in saying there wasn't a sub or 5 at HT? It's a friendly FFS, give a few boys some time to stake a claim.

23-03-2018, 08:59 PM
£6m player as well.

That’s why I get annoyed at people assuming players based in England are automatically better than what we have in our premier league just because the English based players are being linked with mega money moves. It means nothing and there’s plenty average players playing in England going for millions.

Hypothetically talking I’d be gutted if hibs swapped Hanlon for Hanley.

You have a good point there and well worth a thread of it's own some other time.

23-03-2018, 08:59 PM

I’m assuming he’ll be playing the other guys in the other friendly.

23-03-2018, 09:00 PM
SJM on the bench. Disappointed, felt he's earned the right to start through his previous performances

On the bright side, he's not going to get injured on the bench :cool2:

23-03-2018, 09:03 PM
Is there manager a 70/80s detective on Kojak

23-03-2018, 09:03 PM
Did they just say only 6 subs can be used?

McGregor and Armstrong coming on now

23-03-2018, 09:04 PM
Game is woeful, the Scotland team are woeful.

23-03-2018, 09:04 PM
Who has Mcginn got to felate to get a game

23-03-2018, 09:05 PM
1-0 England. They look very decent tonight albeit against a poor, poor Dutch side.

23-03-2018, 09:06 PM
England 1 up. Easily the better team without being thrilling. Holland really are poor at the moment.

shetlandhibee
23-03-2018, 09:07 PM
injured celtic midfeilder thats hardly played all season on before mcginn???:confused:

23-03-2018, 09:07 PM
Who has Mcginn got to felate to get a game

Has he got to give anyone a BJ :confused::cb:wink::wink:

23-03-2018, 09:09 PM
injured celtic midfeilder thats hardly played all season on before mcginn???:confused:

I’m assuming that means Mcginn will be starting the next game.

23-03-2018, 09:10 PM
England 1 up. Easily the better team without being thrilling. Holland really are poor at the moment.
I really fancied England tonight, **** knows why I double them up with Scotland.

Game is woeful, the Scotland team are woeful.

Yes, the game could be better, I agree.

For pity's sake, give our team a chance will you. It's a new formation for them, new team mates for them, a new manager and coaching team for them, new tactics (pretty much) for them, a crowd hardly
bursting at the seams with encouragement, and playing a team that are tight, fast on the break, skilful and confident.

You are of course entitled to your opinion.

C'mon Scotland!

This is awful stuff. Imagine paying to watch this.

xyz23jc
23-03-2018, 09:11 PM
I really fancied England tonight, **** knows why I double them up with Scotland.

MADNESS....Tho worth a gamble! :greengrin

xyz23jc
23-03-2018, 09:11 PM
This is awful stuff. Imagine paying to watch this.

WONGADOMESQUE! :greengrin

23-03-2018, 09:12 PM
Scotland have been much better since the substitutions were made.

23-03-2018, 09:13 PM
MADNESS....Tho worth a gamble! :greengrin
If I’d waited until I’d seen the starting line up, I wouldn’t have bothered.

23-03-2018, 09:14 PM

I wouldn't put bets on friendlies. Nothing at stake for the teams.

xyz23jc
23-03-2018, 09:14 PM
Better...Ritchie! So nearly!

23-03-2018, 09:16 PM
Thats me done. Not worth watching. We are light years behind anyone else..

23-03-2018, 09:16 PM
Scotland have been much better since the substitutions were made.

Funny, we improved under Strachan too when he started playing Scottish based players.

I can’t stand Celtic but chances are, anyone that gets a regular game for them should be playing for the national team.

23-03-2018, 09:17 PM
What’s the crowd looking like?

Austinho
McBurnie needs to pull his socks up. Literally. Looks daft!

Nothing to convince me so far that Eck McLeish wasn’t a shocking appointment. Same old SFA rubbish.

:agree:. Very little to encourage you.

xyz23jc
23-03-2018, 09:18 PM

Keep the faith mate....Getting better! SJM still to come on..... Aye right!:greengrin

23-03-2018, 09:18 PM
McGinn McGeoch and Griffiths all cementing their place in the team tonight :wink:
McBurnie being kind, looks raw, a rough diamond :confused:

23-03-2018, 09:19 PM

Thats just not true.

We’ve totally dominated this half and had a couple really decent chances.

We’re not perfect by any stretch and I don’t agree with all his selections tonight but we’re not anywhere near as bad as you’re suggesting.

23-03-2018, 09:19 PM

Bored

23-03-2018, 09:21 PM

Under 20k, West end is closed completely. So is the South Upper.

23-03-2018, 09:21 PM
Ian Smith coming on for Costa Rica, don’t hear that everyday

23-03-2018, 09:22 PM
Thats just not true.

We’ve totally dominated this half and had a couple really decent chances.

We’re not perfect by any stretch and I don’t agree with all his selections tonight but we’re not anywhere near as bad as you’re suggesting.

im watching a different game then. There will be better football played at the Hibs ladies game on Sunday v Rangers (4pm Spartans)

Its so flat, so boring, so dull. We are bringing on Matt Phillips now. Its just so depressing...we manage to coach the football out of players.

xyz23jc
Ian Smith coming on for Costa Rica, don’t hear that everyday

As long as it's no IDS.......!:greengrin

Phillips coming on for McBurnie. Have to say that sentence has me a wee bit depressed!!! What a pair

rossevenil
23-03-2018, 09:23 PM
Delighted our current run of form in club football has been halted for this crap,and to cap it all Matt Phillips about to get another run out !

Sauzee16
Bored

😀👍

Under 20k, West end is closed completely. So is the South Upper.

These games should be played At Easter road Tynecastle , Pittodrie etc

Sauzee16
23-03-2018, 09:24 PM
Matt Phillips ffs.

23-03-2018, 09:25 PM
Why play 1 up top in a friendly. Lets actually have a go at teams and bring some confidence into the squad. We go out expecting to get beat and the players play in that manner. Most of them struggle to play a basic pass.

These games should be played At Easter road Tynecastle , Pittodrie etc

Of course they should.

Hampden is too big for the small games and too small for the big games. Pointless stadium.

Decent for a pitch invasion though.

McGinn getting stripped to come on for the last 10 minutes or so

23-03-2018, 09:26 PM
Armstrong has played well. Ritchie’s crosses from the left have been great, just no bugger on them!

SJMG just about to come on.

Why play 1 up top in a friendly. Lets actually have a go at teams and bring some confidence into the squad. We go out expecting to get beat and the players play in that manner. Most of them struggle to play a basic pass.

Agree with that.

I think he just wanted to avoid defeat tonight.

Lets hope he doesn't get injured although its not been a particularly dirty match.

23-03-2018, 09:27 PM

What?!? He's coming on naked?

Sauzee16
23-03-2018, 09:27 PM
Of course they should.

Hampden is too big for the small games and too small for the big games. Pointless stadium.

Decent for a pitch invasion though.

Was there any decent explanation as to why this is being played at Hampden this evening? Did they except the 10s of 1000s to attend because of our new manager and new start? Deary Deary me.

23-03-2018, 09:28 PM
Funny, we improved under Strachan too when he started playing Scottish based players.

I can’t stand Celtic but chances are, anyone that gets a regular game for them should be playing for the national team.
Absolutely. We’ve been by far the better team since the substitutions

xyz23jc
23-03-2018, 09:29 PM
Lets hope he doesn't get injured although its not been a particularly dirty match.

Training session....For Costa Rica...! :greengrin

Matt Phillips ffs.

If he was to be sold to an English championship club he’d go for about £20 million.

xyz23jc
Ref's gave us nowt all night....Sign him up for SPL!:greengrin

Sauzee16
23-03-2018, 09:31 PM
If he was to be sold to an English championship club he’d go for about £20 million.

He will get a free transfer from West Brom come the summer.
His time has been and gone from the national side too. He’s guff at this level.

xyz23jc
23-03-2018, 09:32 PM
SJM on noo...Bout time! Go SJM...We got John McGinn...Super John McGinn...Ah just don't think ye understand...!:thumbsup:

23-03-2018, 09:33 PM
Absolutely. We’ve been by far the better team since the substitutions

It should be a no brainer. If you have 4-6 players who play and win together most weeks then building a core of a side around them is really a given.

23-03-2018, 09:34 PM
Only one real class player on the pitch and that is Andy Robertson. The rest are average. Really disappointing.

23-03-2018, 09:34 PM

I think Ruben Neves to Wolves from somewhere in Portugal for £15 million is the Championship record.

23-03-2018, 09:35 PM
It should be a no brainer. If you have 4-6 players who play and win together most weeks then building a core of a side around them is really a given.

But it’s not as they’re desperate to show horn in average players just because they’re apparently worth millions.

It’s the distorted English market that makes them worth millions, not their actual ability.

23-03-2018, 09:37 PM
England game has long since descended into the international friendly standard of make as many second half substitutions as possible.

xyz23jc
23-03-2018, 09:38 PM
England game has long since descended into the international friendly standard of make as many second half substitutions as possible.

Could be worse...Could be watching Scotland mate! :greengrin

23-03-2018, 09:38 PM
What?!? He's coming on naked?

I’d be really surprised if he did that. The rules say you have to wear a registered strip, so both him and the SFA could end up getting in to bother with FIFA if he did. He’s no daft.

23-03-2018, 09:39 PM
Meanwhile Egypt are beating Portugal 1-0 (Salah)

23-03-2018, 09:39 PM
I’m presuming that McLeish knows that as well, and he just wanted to have a look at the other players. I would’ve done it the other way around though.

23-03-2018, 09:40 PM
The annoyong thing is someone like Huddersfield will sign Paterson for 10 million and make the Jambos a fortune. Small change for these teams

McGinn's been on for 10 minutes and given away about 5 free kicks :greengrin

Garbage.

Couldn't care about score but warning signs are there for what's coming.

Jamie Murphy with 5 mins to go? Phillips with 15 mins to go?

Hardly players for the future. How JC hasn't featured I'll never know.

Backward steps taken.

Garbage.

23-03-2018, 09:41 PM

40/1 to be top scorer in the world cup.

23-03-2018, 09:41 PM
How much money have we wasted flying Costa Rica over here for that. What a total waste of time. Garbage,

23-03-2018, 09:42 PM
England won 1-0. Much the better IMO, Holland are a bit clueless right now, not much for them to get encouraged by after that. England were decent if not fantastic, first win in Holland against Holland since 1969.

23-03-2018, 09:43 PM
How much money have we wasted flying Costa Rica over here for that. What a total waste of time. Garbage,

Utter garbage.

23-03-2018, 09:44 PM
Only one real class player on the pitch and that is Andy Robertson. The rest are average. Really disappointing.

Not even he has done well he ran away from the attacker in his own box trying to second guess him got it totally wrong. Luckily the guy hit the bar.
Whole team was very poor including SJM when he came on had two or three opportunities to do something and failed miserably.

If we fall behind in any game we might as well walk off. Absolutely toothless.

Yes give McLeish a chance blah blah but that was woeful.

Mcleish 😂

He won’t last, we really are a mess to be honest. Be years to sort this out.

If that's what we're getting under mcleish we're going back the way. Mcburnie, who looked clueless, comes off and he puts a winger on upfront on his own? With Cummings sitting on the bench. ****ing garbage

Sauzee16

Wouldn’t they come for nothing to get used to European football before the WC.

For the very obvious reason that the SFA are a bunch of clueless, incompetent tits!those reasons all tie in with their resolute and steadfast ideals of wearing a nice blazer, having a go-around town mastercard to lunches/evening events/free taxi or shift aboot cars, and the main item being overseas representation for important fitba events which we just cant quite get tae. bunch of Knaves and Charlatans imho.

23-03-2018, 09:45 PM
West Ham were bidding something like £25m but Fulham said they wanted £40m.

That’s what was reported in the media anyway, I think to be fair though they were doing that to try and out West Ham off offering again.

i knew they had bid about £18m, didnt realise it was more. just shows clubs down there are just paying well over the odds for average players

Mcleish 😂

Think we've got a decent group of players when other players return but mcleish is clueless

Wouldn’t they come for nothing to get used to European football before the WC.

I wouldn't class what we play as "European".

23-03-2018, 09:46 PM
Sack Strachan and bring in McLeish 🙈

Not even he has done well he ran away from the attacker in his own box trying to second guess him got it totally wrong. Luckily the guy hit the bar.
Whole team was very poor including SJM when he came on had two or three opportunities to do something and failed miserably.

If we fall behind in any game we might as well walk off. Absolutely toothless.

Yes give McLeish a chance blah blah but that was woeful.

Bit harsh on McGinn. He had more touches, more tackles and got more involved than the Man Utd enigma did playing for 60 mins.

Agree otherwise. Feels like we're going backwards watching that. The fascination with players playing in England continues.

2 late. Ronnie goals turn it round.

I wouldn't class what we play as "European".

I think England play Costa Rica in June, the last match before the WC.

23-03-2018, 09:47 PM

I think you are anly allowed 4/5 and they used them same as the Dutch (2 because of knocks)- what's your point? Friendlies are used to look at options and as long and you don't change the whole team at half time then I've no complaints.

23-03-2018, 09:47 PM
Well McGinn got plenty of time to show his worth, on at 82mins.

23-03-2018, 09:48 PM

He should be 400/1

23-03-2018, 09:49 PM
Mcgregor Mcginn & Armstrong should have started then brought the new boys on.

Too inexperienced to start all at the same time

23-03-2018, 09:49 PM
Sack Strachan and bring in McLeish 🙈

England fans were singing the old "cheer up Gordon Strachan ..." ditty, obviously totally unaware of the change.:greengrin

23-03-2018, 09:50 PM
Think we've got a decent group of players when other players return but mcleish is clueless

I agree there is players out there and some in that squad who could do well. Not under that dinosaur though. That was utter garbage!

Only allowed 4 and used them same as the Dutch - what's your point?

8 substitutions in 45 mins is dull. I guess that's the point.

Ryan69

I'll give you my bank details...you'll get the same return. 😀

He will play 3 games.

I’m presuming that McLeish knows that as well, and he just wanted to have a look at the other players. I would’ve done it the other way around though.

I don’t get this ‘wanting to have a look at all the players’.

He does that when they play for their clubs, what will he have learned about the players tonight? Nothing, even if someone had played well, it doesn’t mean they could replicate that against a better side.

Imo try to find your best side by playing your best players, win games and then let other players earn a starting slot, not just get one because he wants to give everyone a game.

These international friendlies seem to be turning into primary school matches where someone’s dad has to try and work out when it to play the best players so they can make sure everyone gets an equal amount of game time.

As underscore said earlier, we never went out to win that game tonight, we went to try and make sure certain players got a run out.

23-03-2018, 09:51 PM
Cairney is a class player. McLeish shouldnt get to coach the local BB team. Decent players become rubbish with this lot.

23-03-2018, 09:52 PM
Cairney is a class player. McLeish shouldnt get to coach the local BB team. Decent players become rubbish with this lot.

Bang on.

I thought he didn’t look interested tonight

Mcleish 😂

The life cycle of the Scotland manager

Talk positive
Poor results
Bad start to qualifying
Few more positive performances
Fail to qualify
Decent friendly results
Bad start to new qualifying
Write campaign off
Decent result
Fail to qualify
Leave post

And repeat.

If that's what we're getting under mcleish we're going back the way. Mcburnie, who looked clueless, comes off and he puts a winger on upfront on his own? With Cummings sitting on the bench. ****ing garbage

Didn’t understand the logic of appointing a new International manager before appointing a new CEO. As you say, we’re going backwards. Any potential CEO’s with fresh ideas probably need not apply.

Newcastlehibby
What's the crack with Barry Ferguson's hair?

23-03-2018, 09:53 PM

Scottish based current club excelling players to start surely.
It’s not really difficult for a friendly.
Mulgrew, Hanley, McDonald & Cairney as opposed to Hanlon, Murphy, Christie or Jordan Jones (not even quoted)

23-03-2018, 09:53 PM
Only allowed 4 and used them same as the Dutch - what's your point?

Bit uncalled for, why the anger?

8 substitutions in one half more often than not breaks up the rhythm of the game dont you think? No point to make just an opinion its message board. Calm down.

23-03-2018, 09:54 PM

I don’t see what’s class about him?

Seems bang average to me, if he’s that class McLeish wouldn’t be capable of coaching it out of him in a few days training and he would have looked better tonight?

Ryan69
23-03-2018, 09:55 PM

He does that when they play for their clubs, what will he have learned about the players tonight? Nothing, even if someone had played well, it doesn’t mean they could replicate that against a better side.

Imo try to find your best side by playing your best players, win games and then let other players earn a starting slot, not just get one because he wants to give everyone a game.

These international friendlies seem to be turning into primary school matches where someone’s dad has to try and work out when it to play the best players so they can make sure everyone gets an equal amount of game time.

As underscore said earlier, we never went out to win that game tonight, we went to try and make sure certain players got a run out.

We're not exactly in a position too.

These games count towards rankings don't they?

Plus you want your choices too play together and gel surely?

23-03-2018, 09:55 PM
Scottish based current club excelling players to start surely.
It’s not really difficult for a friendly.
Mulgrew, Hanley, McDonald & Cairney as opposed to Hanlon, Murphy, Christie or Jordan Jones (not even quoted)

Jordan jones is from Northern Ireland

23-03-2018, 09:56 PM

There's a load of talented players in this squad

Set them up to attack and we'd do well. It's a great thing for us (hibs), but Neil Lennon was imo the best man for the job

I'd rather we had a manager that believed in the teams attacking ability and built a team for the future. We've failed to qualify since 98 so another 1 isn't much. Create a Scottish way of playing, an identity.

Or, bring back a manager that's walked out. Pick players solely on who they play for and show no intent to win a match. Vintage S F ****ing A!

23-03-2018, 09:56 PM

Naw he's no, he's only 23.......

23-03-2018, 09:57 PM
8 substitutions in 45 mins is dull. I guess that's the point.

No - the point is you don't see the point of friendlies, when else does a manager get to look at options? It may make friendlies pointless as a whole but that's pretty much what all managers use them for - to assess options.

Ah, thanks Bingo a very good player.

No leadership at the top of Scottish football and it is going to filter down. What is McLeish going to do that the guy who got sacked couldn’t? There is no plan or strategy in that appointment.

There are smaller nations with lesser players managing to compete at a better level than us. It’s been said for years, but until Scottish football rip it up and start again by getting rid of the prejudice and bias that exist in it, we’ll never move forward. Not to mention the jobs for the boys mentality with people like Doncaster, McCrae and dare I say it Petrie at the top of the game. Too much self interest at the top of our game.

I’m having some of that

23-03-2018, 09:58 PM
get Mcleish tae **** and beg gordon strachan to come back, then sack every blazer at the SFA(including petrie) and start all over again

We're not exactly in a position too.

These games count towards rankings don't they?

Plus you want your choices too play together and gel surely?

Yes, that’s exactly what I’m saying.

I’m not sure why you’re disagreeing with me?

Play our best players, win games, let the team gel and grow in confidence, in doing so it will help our ranking.

Or we could try and make sure we give everyone a game.

No leadership at the top of Scottish football and it is going to filter down. What is McLeish going to do that the guy who got sacked couldn’t? There is no plan or strategy in that appointment.

There are smaller nations with lesser players managing to compete at a better level than us. It’s been said for years, but until Scottish football rip it up and start again by getting rid of the prejudice and bias that exist in it, we’ll never move forward. Not to mention the jobs for the boys mentality with people like Doncaster, McCrae and dare I say it Petrie at the top of the game. Too much self interest at the top of our game.

Agree 100% mate

23-03-2018, 09:59 PM
No - the point is you don't see the point of friendlies, when else does a manager get to look at options? It may make friendlies pointless as a whole but that's pretty much what all managers use them for - to assess options.

Condescending or what. Thanks for the insight Jose.

23-03-2018, 09:59 PM
get Mcleish tae **** and beg gordon strachan to come back, then sack every blazer at the SFA and start all over again

If he wasn't so stubborn with his selections, I'd actually be inclined to agree

23-03-2018, 10:00 PM

He needs to see how they fit with the other players (not his team mates) not rocket science.

He wasn’t trying to find his best eleven tonight though, he was trying to give plenty of fringe player sgame time.

I don’t think he would have learned one thing tonight. Nice for a few average players to get a cap though.

You’re preaching to the converted mate. As I said I would’ve started with the strongest side, and brought the new players on later in the game. We did it the wrong way round tonight, you could see that in the way we played.

PapillonVert
23-03-2018, 10:01 PM

Just beginning to lose interest in the national team.

Don't expect us to qualify for the next Euros or World Cup and, even if by some miracle we do, we will be out pretty much as soon as we get there.

23-03-2018, 10:02 PM
McBurnie being kind, looks raw, a rough diamond :confused:never heard of him to be perfectly honest. does he play for Brechin City or maybe the Red Lichties?:confused:

23-03-2018, 10:03 PM
McLeish was appointed purely to make an appointment following the embarrassment of being turn down by O'NEILL.​

23-03-2018, 10:04 PM
The life cycle of the Scotland manager

Talk positive
Poor results
Bad start to qualifying
Few more positive performances
Fail to qualify
Decent friendly results
Bad start to new qualifying
Write campaign off
Decent result
Fail to qualify
Leave post

And repeat.

That’s exactly it PB. It’s soul destroying!

23-03-2018, 10:04 PM
He needs to see how they fit with the other players (not his team mates) not rocket science.

What would he have learned from that tonight?

I thought the young lad from Aberdeen did well, does that mean he could do it in a competitive game against a better side? Of course it doesn’t.

Same applies to Mcburnie, who I thought was alright in spells, doesn’t mean anything going into the next game though when there’s months and months between competitive games.

23-03-2018, 10:05 PM
Mr EBT recipient should never have been anywhere near this job. He is yesterday’s man and will take Scotland precisely nowhere.

Depressing stuff.