Jarkko Wiss

You're a sicko :wink:

19-03-2018, 12:38 AM
You're a sicko :wink:

He was a master in the art of unseen work. 🤔

Chip shop Joe
19-03-2018, 12:38 AM
Going back a bit but I always thought Willie Miller was underrated rarely put a foot wrong.

19-03-2018, 12:45 AM
Lewis Stevenson

Austinho
19-03-2018, 12:48 AM
Lewis StevensonAbsolutely. Won two cups with us, had a testimonial, but still not considered a legend by many.

19-03-2018, 03:08 AM
Matty Jack. The role he played alongside his more illustrious team mates was crucial - loved the guy......

jockodile
19-03-2018, 07:25 AM
Matty Jack. The role he played alongside his more illustrious team mates was crucial - loved the guy......

Super Joe took a ton of abuse from the east but the guy on his day had the skill to change a game. Amazing goal at Brockville one day would have had the media all glowing if ally mccoist had scored it.

19-03-2018, 07:35 AM
Lewis Stevenson

The absolute definition of an underrated player.

Sauzee16
19-03-2018, 08:11 AM
John O’Neil.

Auckland Hibs
19-03-2018, 08:27 AM
Brian Hamilton.

Close the thread.

19-03-2018, 08:31 AM
Dean Shiels

19-03-2018, 08:33 AM
Brian Hamilton.

Close the thread.

Tommy McIntyre. Now close the thread.

heidtheba
19-03-2018, 08:39 AM
Gareth Evans, Brian Hamilton, Willie Miller and, continuing the era that's my favourite - David Farrell. Each of these players did a job and helped the more talented players in the team. I can't remember any of them selling the shirt in games. Maybe I was naive but I do have fond memories of those days!

19-03-2018, 08:41 AM
Gareth Evans, Brian Hamilton, Willie Miller and, continuing the era that's my favourite - David Farrell. Each of these players did a job and helped the more talented players in the team. I can't remember any of them selling the shirt in games. Maybe I was naive but I do have fond memories of those days!

Farrell was hard as nails!

19-03-2018, 09:02 AM
I know it was only the first division but Justin Skinner was different class that season.

McSwanky
19-03-2018, 09:07 AM
Lyndon Andrews.

19-03-2018, 09:15 AM
Benny in his last two seasons. Like a different person compared to the farce he was in previous years.

19-03-2018, 10:03 AM
Peter Guggi
Fabrice Henry
Stuart Lovell
Tam McManus
Stephen Dobbie
and controversially Paul Hartley.

Stokesy's on fire
19-03-2018, 10:05 AM
John O’Neil.

Totally agree with this one he was brilliant.

confused
19-03-2018, 10:10 AM
Lewis Stevenson
100%. Maybe no a World Cup player , but never doubt his commitment to the Hibs

19-03-2018, 10:12 AM
Liam Craig.

19-03-2018, 10:15 AM
Peter Guggi
Fabrice Henry
Stuart Lovell
Tam McManus
Stephen Dobbie

Good call re. the Dobster :aok:

19-03-2018, 10:19 AM
Liam Craig.

Not for me. He was pretty poor but also not that badly rated.

19-03-2018, 10:24 AM
Peter Guggi
Fabrice Henry

Can't remember either of them doing anything of note (on the pitch that is).

19-03-2018, 10:43 AM
Peter Guggi
Fabrice Henry
Stuart Lovell
Tam McManus
Stephen Dobbie

Stuart Lovell is well remembered.

He was vastly underrated and was the target of some vicious abuse, but his contribution to a good side was significant.

19-03-2018, 10:46 AM
Stuart Lovell is well remembered.

He was vastly underrated and was the target of some vicious abuse, but his contribution to a good side was significant.

Indeed. Mind the last game of the first division season away to Stranraer, we fielded a young team (Kenny Miller starting, Tam McManus coming off bench) and Archie as captain. He didn't shut up all game as he talked the youngsters through it. "HOLD IT".

There was one game where he had a blinder at right back and the fans gave him a chant for his commitment but you're right, generally he took a fair bit of abuse as he took the boo boy baton from McGinley.

Hell, we'd probably have won the 2004 League cup if we could've swapped him for say Alan Reid in our team.

19-03-2018, 10:51 AM
Lewis Stevenson
Liam Miller RIP.

Callum Milne!

Sauzee16
19-03-2018, 11:11 AM
Why was Stuart Lovell called Archie? I really liked him at Hibernian, money dictated he left.

19-03-2018, 11:13 AM
Fraser fyvie possibly

19-03-2018, 11:17 AM
Malonga and Holt.

19-03-2018, 11:30 AM
The absolute definition of an underrated player.

There’s a thread on here most weeks (if not every week) that compliments, raves about and congratulates Lewis.

19-03-2018, 11:32 AM
There’s a thread on here most weeks (if not every week) that compliments, raves about and congratulates Lewis.

Exactly. It should be every day.

19-03-2018, 11:36 AM
Liam Craig.

he rarely passed the ball forward

19-03-2018, 12:03 PM
Another vote for Stuart Lovell...I went from being a harsh critic of the guy to a huge fan in the space of six months. He was a real stabilising element of that team; assured, industrious and often classy. And by all accounts a jolly nice chap as well.
Two other names that spring to mind would be from an earlier period - Eddie May and Callum Milne.

19-03-2018, 12:05 PM
Kevin McBride was great for us under Yogi in the first half of the 2009-10 season (i.e. before we started losing) - played the holding midfield role really well. He then got a bone injury and was never the same after that.

Probably an even bigger achievement because Falkirk fans absolutely hated him and thought he was *****.

19-03-2018, 12:15 PM
Scott Robertson.

pollution
19-03-2018, 12:16 PM
Joe Tortilone

Sauzee16
19-03-2018, 12:18 PM
Exactly. It should be every day.

Doesn’t that mean he’s extremely rated then?

19-03-2018, 12:31 PM
Gary Smith
Dominic Malonga
Justin Skinner
Tom Smith (can't actually remember if he was underrated but he was a very good player who was so unlucky with injury)

yonder1875
19-03-2018, 01:13 PM
Grant Holt.

19-03-2018, 01:29 PM
I felt Chris Hogg was a lot better player than was often claimed. He's not quite cult hero status for the other thread but I felt he gave his all. When he had another strong defender like Jones he played well but when he was with a weaker player his performance suffered.

19-03-2018, 01:31 PM
Des Bremner

19-03-2018, 01:36 PM
Ally McLeod

Sauzee16
19-03-2018, 01:38 PM
I felt Chris Hogg was a lot better player than was often claimed. He's not quite cult hero status for the other thread but I felt he gave his all. When he had another strong defender like Jones he played well but when he was with a weaker player his performance suffered.

Hoggy was a good footballer but he was never a captain.

19-03-2018, 01:40 PM
Gary Smith and Paul Fenwick are often hidden in the shadows due to playing alongside Sauzee and co.

19-03-2018, 01:44 PM
Why was Stuart Lovell called Archie? I really liked him at Hibernian, money dictated he left.

It was something to do with a fan referring to a player called Archie Lovell who had been the worst player that fan had ever seen. Can't remember the specifics.

Did he leave due to money? I thought it was simply because we signed De La Cruz at RB and McLeish decided he wasn't going to get a game in our midfield.

patlowe
19-03-2018, 01:52 PM
he rarely passed the ball forward

He did, it's just unfortunate it was almost always an aimless volleyed hoof.

19-03-2018, 01:55 PM
Ally McLeod

don't see Ally as under-rated, he was largely viewed as our best player at the time...

19-03-2018, 02:01 PM
Hurtado.

19-03-2018, 02:06 PM
He did, it's just unfortunate it was almost always an aimless volleyed hoof.

A bit unfair. Before TB bizarrely made him a defensive mid he was our top goalscorer.

19-03-2018, 02:08 PM
I know it was only the first division but Justin Skinner was different class that season.

Peter Guggi
Fabrice Henry
Stuart Lovell
Tam McManus
Stephen Dobbie

Gutted that you beat me to Skinner and Henry ... totally agree!!!

Sauzee16
19-03-2018, 02:10 PM
It was something to do with a fan referring to a player called Archie Lovell who had been the worst player that fan had ever seen. Can't remember the specifics.

Did he leave due to money? I thought it was simply because we signed De La Cruz at RB and McLeish decided he wasn't going to get a game in our midfield.

Thanks for that.

He wanted to stay, we offered a deal on reduced terms and Livi where throwing money about.

I thought Lovell played left back or midfield? Murray certainly got the nod ahead of him LB for the final against Celtic.

Hibs1969
19-03-2018, 02:12 PM
Neil Cooper

SideBurns
19-03-2018, 02:18 PM
What about Kano? I think he was unfortunate in that he broke into the Hibs team in the early '80s when the TTs were still fresh in the memory of many (not young whippersnappers like me, obviously) but he scored some great and vital goals over the years against Hearts (especially), Celtic and Rangers. Good passer of the ball too, wasn't the quickest but think he'd have done well in the modern era.

Daydreamer
19-03-2018, 02:20 PM
Most of the people on here wont remember him but just before the Alan Gordon Jimmy O Rourke partnership we signed a player from Falkirk called Johnny Graham. He was dynamite and a Jamie Vardy type player. cant remember what happened to him. Anyone remember?

McSwanky
19-03-2018, 02:26 PM
Andy Dow anyone?

19-03-2018, 02:31 PM
Bending the premise of the thread a wee bit, could it be argued that we have had some excellent, even world class, footballers who were underrated at a higher level?
I think immediately of Pat Stanton, who should have been an international shoo-in for most of his Hibs career, and Jimmy O’Rourke. There are no doubt many others.
I realise that that’s not quite the intention of the OP but an interesting conversation none-the-less.

19-03-2018, 02:33 PM
Thanks for that.

He wanted to stay, we offered a deal on reduced terms and Livi where throwing money about.

I thought Lovell played left back or midfield? Murray certainly got the nod ahead of him LB for the final against Celtic.
Lovell never played left back to my knowledge. He arrived as a striker but was moved to a midfield spoiler.

patlowe
19-03-2018, 02:35 PM
A bit unfair. Before TB bizarrely made him a defensive mid he was our top goalscorer.

You're probably right, I was a tad unfair, but just thinking back to that season illicits an irrational response. When Craig played in said position, his go-to move was to control the ball, swivel and hoof into the opposition half. I suspect it was the Butcher/Malpas masterplan, so I shouldn't lay it all at Craig's feet, but it was so painful to endure.

I wouldn't say he was underrated though. I think fans appreciated he was a good pro with some ability, just lacking the composure, vision and athleticism you see in the midfielders a good coaching/scouting setup has been able to attract to the club. A decent option for a more pragmatic, less pressurised environment like St Johnstone.

19-03-2018, 02:37 PM
Most of the people on here wont remember him but just before the Alan Gordon Jimmy O Rourke partnership we signed a player from Falkirk called Johnny Graham. He was dynamite and a Jamie Vardy type player. cant remember what happened to him. Anyone remember?

Went back to Ayr Utd, iirc.

Sauzee16
19-03-2018, 02:38 PM
Lovell never played left back to my knowledge. He arrived as a striker but was moved to a midfield spoiler.

He played full back for us. 100% when Sauzee went to sweeper. Murray got the shout ahead of him in the Cup Final.

19-03-2018, 02:41 PM
Colin nish, always judged on his height and lack of competitiveness in the air instead of his ability on the ball. A very neat player with the ball at his feet imo.

19-03-2018, 02:42 PM
He played full back for us. 100% when Sauzee went to sweeper. Murray got the shout ahead of him in the Cup Final.

Airchie captained the Livie team that humped us in the LCF, IIRC

19-03-2018, 02:44 PM
Akpo Sodje. Constant nuisance and knew where the net was

TelaStella
19-03-2018, 02:48 PM
Benji, Michael Stewart, Antoine Curier and yes Liam Craig.

19-03-2018, 02:50 PM
Gary Smith and Paul Fenwick are often hidden in the shadows due to playing alongside Sauzee and co.

Fenwick for me too. Derek Collins as well.

19-03-2018, 02:52 PM
You're probably right, I was a tad unfair, but just thinking back to that season illicits an irrational response. When Craig played in said position, his go-to move was to control the ball, swivel and hoof into the opposition half. I suspect it was the Butcher/Malpas masterplan, so I shouldn't lay it all at Craig's feet, but it was so painful to endure.

I wouldn't say he was underrated though. I think fans appreciated he was a good pro with some ability, just lacking the composure, vision and athleticism you see in the midfielders a good coaching/scouting setup has been able to attract to the club. A decent option for a more pragmatic, less pressurised environment like St Johnstone.

That used to drive me mad. I would suggest it was Liam Craigs doing rather than Butcher and Malpas as I noticed him doing it quite a few times on Friday. Just hook it forward without looking.

19-03-2018, 02:58 PM

He played right wing back in 2000-01, striker before that. Never left back. Ian Murray played on the right in the cup final in his place much to everyone's surprise.

Sauzee16
19-03-2018, 03:01 PM
Airchie captained the Livie team that humped us in the LCF, IIRC

He did that, aye.

Sauzee16
19-03-2018, 03:03 PM
He played right wing back in 2000-01, striker before that. Never left back. Ian Murray played on the right in the cup final in his place much to everyone's surprise.

I thought Murray played LB but if it was RB would have been even more surprising but I’m sure he had a good game in the final. Didn’t Lovell come in from the left to put us ahead at the pbs on Boxing Day? Hazy memory it seems 😆

19-03-2018, 03:05 PM
Colin nish, always judged on his height and lack of competitiveness in the air instead of his ability on the ball. A very neat player with the ball at his feet imo.

I'd argue he was judged on this as well. Seem to mind him in acres of space on the corner of the 6 yard box and taking 4 bad touches as the ball trundled out for a goal kick.

Nish was brilliantly described at the time as "floats effortlessly between genius and village idiot".

19-03-2018, 03:08 PM
Definitely, some of the abuse he got and the sarcy applauses was a disgrace.

Stephen Glass.

19-03-2018, 03:13 PM
Definitely, some of the abuse he got and the sarcy applauses was a disgrace.

Stephen Glass.

I'd say Stephen Glass was a disappointment all round. He was decent enough but he was a pretty high profile signing at the time.

19-03-2018, 03:13 PM
Jason 'no premiership goals' Cummings

19-03-2018, 03:22 PM
I thought Murray played LB but if it was RB would have been even more surprising but I’m sure he had a good game in the final. Didn’t Lovell come in from the left to put us ahead at the pbs on Boxing Day? Hazy memory it seems 😆

Naw he was on the right...Uli Laursen cross. Actually I was wrong, he only played striker in the season we were in the old first division.

19-03-2018, 03:27 PM
That used to drive me mad. I would suggest it was Liam Craigs doing rather than Butcher and Malpas as I noticed him doing it quite a few times on Friday. Just hook it forward without looking.

No, it was under instruction from Butcher and Malpas.

Craig hated it - lump it up the park and you get it in the neck from the fans but please Butcher and Malpas, get it down and play you get it in the neck from Butcher and Malpas.

Craig found himself captain as a result of being one of the few who did what the boss wanted, and suffered as a result.

19-03-2018, 03:36 PM
Eoin Doyle - Overshaddowed by Griffiths

Tomsk
19-03-2018, 03:39 PM
Eoin Doyle - Overshaddowed by Griffiths

Agree with that. He was more than decent.

Sauzee16
19-03-2018, 03:42 PM
Naw he was on the right...Uli Laursen cross. Actually I was wrong, he only played striker in the season we were in the old first division.

Yeah I remember it in my head now cheers and the whole support at half time singing rock Dj randomly. They celebrated their he draw like they had won. Match after 6-2 I think.

19-03-2018, 03:42 PM
Marvin Bartley

19-03-2018, 04:25 PM
wouldn't say underrated but don't think Boozy was truly appreciated until he left. classy player

19-03-2018, 04:29 PM
Des Bremner

Was Des underrated?

I thought he was brilliant and he went on to win a European Cup with Aston Villa.

19-03-2018, 04:35 PM
Was Des underrated?

I thought he was brilliant and he went on to win a European Cup with Aston Villa.

I think he was compared directly to John Brownlie, who he replaced initially. It took the general support a long time to realise how good he was.

19-03-2018, 04:54 PM
I really liked Paul Lovering.

Excellent left-back in our promotion side.

There were a few solid, under-rated players in that side - Derek Collins, Justin Skinner as well.

19-03-2018, 05:08 PM
Graham Mitchell. Cost £30,000 from Hamilton and gave us a decade of solid defensive work, including a league cup win.

19-03-2018, 05:18 PM
Mickael Antoine Curier. Liked him a lot, brought others into play and got a few goals. Missed an absolute sitter against (I think) ITC and then kind of tailed off from there.

Lendo
19-03-2018, 05:22 PM
Clayton Donaldson. Only played 18 games for us, but has gone on and done well at Champsionship/League 1 down south.

19-03-2018, 05:27 PM
Graham Mitchell. Cost £30,000 from Hamilton and gave us a decade of solid defensive work, including a league cup win.

Totally agree a great servant for Hibs.

19-03-2018, 05:33 PM

Good shout. Dougie Bell too.

19-03-2018, 06:13 PM
I think he was compared directly to John Brownlie, who he replaced initially. It took the general support a long time to realise how good he was.

His horrible hairstyle didn't help. :redindian:

Ken
19-03-2018, 06:23 PM
Craig Rocastle

19-03-2018, 09:23 PM
Going back a bit but I always thought Willie Miller was underrated rarely put a foot wrong.

Hard as f#ck as well (apparently) 😎

19-03-2018, 10:09 PM
Lewis Stevenson

100%. Works his socks off and is a good player yet is often a scapegoat.

20-03-2018, 05:03 AM
Liam Henderson. Folk are still convinced he wasn't a regular starter for us despite him playing something like 40 games that season from the start.

blaikie
20-03-2018, 05:54 AM
Kevin McBride

Marabou Stork
20-03-2018, 06:44 AM
Freddy Arpinon

A very tidy player in a very good team who was starting to play some really good stuff and got crocked against the huns Ithink it was. I think he only played two or three games after coming back and looked a shadow of the player he was before the injury.

20-03-2018, 07:14 AM
We've had some pretty decent players who've been wrong place, wrong time. You could put together a strong underrated XI.

...... ....... Oxley
......Dickoh.Fonts.Martis
.... Robertson Thicot
Whittaker............Craig
.......... Denes Rosa
...... Doyle...... Sodje

By the way, this is all post Mowbray, when the money dried up. Wouldn't be a fair comparison before that.

WellingtonHibby
20-03-2018, 09:21 AM
We've had some pretty decent players who've been wrong place, wrong time. You could put together a strong underrated XI.

...... ....... Oxley
.... Robertson Thicot
.......... Denes Rosa
...... Doyle...... Sodje

By the way, this is all post Mowbray, when the money dried up. Wouldn't be a fair comparison before that.

That team would get pumped

20-03-2018, 09:22 AM
Liam Henderson. Folk are still convinced he wasn't a regular starter for us despite him playing something like 40 games that season from the start.

do people really think he was underrated?

Hillsidehibby
20-03-2018, 09:31 AM
Gareth Evans

20-03-2018, 09:55 AM
No, it was under instruction from Butcher and Malpas.

Craig hated it - lump it up the park and you get it in the neck from the fans but please Butcher and Malpas, get it down and play you get it in the neck from Butcher and Malpas.

Craig found himself captain as a result of being one of the few who did what the boss wanted, and suffered as a result.

In that case he’s never managed to shake off the habit as he’s still regularly doing it.

20-03-2018, 10:03 AM
do people really think he was underrated?

There were a few people on here pretty indifferent about us re-signing him so I reckon that's a fair shout.

20-03-2018, 10:04 AM

Except when he caught the ball when it was going out for a throw and got a straight red card. :greengrin

20-03-2018, 10:47 AM

...... ....... Oxley
.... Robertson Thicot
.......... Denes Rosa
...... Doyle...... Sodje

That team is brutal.

Underrated players that spring to mind - Matty Jack, Stuart Lovell, Lewis Stevenson.

SideBurns
20-03-2018, 11:12 AM
[QUOTE=HUTCHYHIBBY;5348670]Good shout. Dougie Bell too.[/QUO

Remember Bell, Mitch & Tommy McIntyre making their debuts on a brick hard pitch at Brockville in December '88 (I think?). Hibs won 3-1, Bell scored a beauty and all three had stormers.

20-03-2018, 12:02 PM
Remember Bell, Mitch & Tommy McIntyre making their debuts on a brick hard pitch at Brockville in December '88 (I think?). Hibs won 3-1, Bell scored a beauty and all three had stormers.

And the pies were frozen in the middle!

20-03-2018, 12:11 PM
Was Des underrated?

Under rated at HIBS signed as under study to Brownlie no one new how good he was until he left. Gaps that were not there before started to appear in our midfield and defence. Definitely Villas gain think we got Joe Ward as part of the deal ? Was pleased for Des when they won the European Cup.

20-03-2018, 12:15 PM
Gareth Evans

20-03-2018, 02:11 PM
That team is brutal.

Underrated players that spring to mind - Matty Jack, Stuart Lovell, Lewis Stevenson.

I think you'll find a lot of players with solid careers in there. And I've went for a good few maligned players, not just the clichéd unsung hero route.

20-03-2018, 03:20 PM

...... ....... Oxley
.... Robertson Thicot
.......... Denes Rosa
...... Doyle...... Sodje

By the way, this is all post Mowbray, when the money dried up. Wouldn't be a fair comparison before that.Nae danger. That team would give me nightmares and would be 9/10th placed cannon fodder, bar Doyle and Fontaine.

GoalsMcGinley
20-03-2018, 04:22 PM
Pat McGinlay - not had a goal scoring midfielder like him since.

20-03-2018, 04:27 PM
Benny in his last two seasons. Like a different person compared to the farce he was in previous years.

Benny was underrated by everyone except those managers with considerable football ability who picked him week in, week out.
A stalwart in my view.

20-03-2018, 04:30 PM
Under rated at HIBS signed as under study to Brownlie no one new how good he was until he left. Gaps that were not there before started to appear in our midfield and defence. Definitely Villas gain think we got Joe Ward as part of the deal ? Was pleased for Des when they won the European Cup.

You'd need to have been blind not to see what a player Des Bremner was for Hibs. Not underrated in the slightest and for the other poster, neither was Pat McGinlay.
A generation of Hibbies adores both these players.

20-03-2018, 08:22 PM
You'd need to have been blind not to see what a player Des Bremner was for Hibs. Not underrated in the slightest and for the other poster, neither was Pat McGinlay.
A generation of Hibbies adores both these players.
My lasting memory of Des Bremner was that after every game he played for us his strip was covered in sweat. Something that cannot be said of some of the prima donnas that have played for us since. I feel that at his time at the club he was very much underrated and not appreciated for the hard work he did usually covering for his team mates.

20-03-2018, 08:36 PM
Jason 'no premiership goals' Cummings

He has started to get abuse on the Huns Den. I loved JC playing for us..and he loved a goal against the team that threw him on the football scrapheap..

20-03-2018, 09:16 PM

The Butcher and Malpas game plan was to play balls to corners to get the opposition defence turned facing their own goal. I always thought Craig was decent and that there was a big difference between Craig and Robertson under Stubbs in comparison to under Butcher.

The 4-0 v Rangers is the perfect example, both of them driving forward with the ball and involved in the goals.

Any excuse to post this https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6N2Gfhgv7RA

20-03-2018, 10:02 PM
Benny, Ally McLeod, Jackie Mac, Tony Higgins, Ralph Callachan and a few others all took some terrible stick from our fans at times. As a young boy when they were playing I never really understood it. Looking back it was probably due to following so closely after The Tornadoes. I thought they were more than decent and Ally was my hero
Glad Graham Mitchell got a mention. Bobby Flavell? Gordon Rae?

20-03-2018, 10:22 PM
full backs Mikey Renwick and Calum milne

20-03-2018, 10:27 PM
Derek Townsley

Sauzee16
20-03-2018, 10:34 PM

...... ....... Oxley
.... Robertson Thicot
.......... Denes Rosa
...... Doyle...... Sodje

All they players apart from Fonts and Boyle people thought it was trendy to stick up for when they where *****. Oxley and Thicot ffs? Whittaker coming though should be nowhere near mentioned beside any of them either.

What money did Mowbray have? We where skint when he came in.

SideBurns
20-03-2018, 10:54 PM
Benny, Ally McLeod, Jackie Mac, Tony Higgins, Ralph Callachan and a few others all took some terrible stick from our fans at times. As a young boy when they were playing I never really understood it. Looking back it was probably due to following so closely after The Tornadoes. I thought they were more than decent and Ally was my hero
Glad Graham Mitchell got a mention. Bobby Flavell? Gordon Rae?
That was my first team and so I thought they were magic as a wee laddie, but looking back must've been hard for them to follow the TTs (and for the fans who had watched a team who could compete with Europe's finest deteriorate to the point of relegation within a few years).

Stewboy
20-03-2018, 11:04 PM

Agree with this one!

Halifaxhibby
21-03-2018, 02:42 PM
Totally agree with this one he was brilliant.

Me too john was brilliant. Also David Murphy, Jimmy boco, Thierry gattheusi and James mcpake.

FTHMFC

21-03-2018, 03:05 PM

I seem to remember the chat at the time was that McLeish suspected Lovell of being a dressing room mole who was running to the papers with info on team matters and that’s why he was dropped in the cup final then punted.

21-03-2018, 11:14 PM
All they players apart from Fonts and Boyle people thought it was trendy to stick up for when they where *****. Oxley and Thicot ffs? Whittaker coming though should be nowhere near mentioned beside any of them either.

What money did Mowbray have? We where skint when he came in.

Sticking up for players because it's "trendy". Aye, right pal.

22-03-2018, 12:04 AM
I started following Hibs around 2005/06 and I literally don't remember anything about Gary Smith. Not just that, but no one ever mentions him - either in terms of he was a good player or bad. According to Wikipedia he played almost 200 games for us - including in the Mowbray years - so clearly can't have been that bad.

Is he literally the most average Hibs player ever, in that he isn't worth a mention in any context?

22-03-2018, 12:31 AM
I started following Hibs around 2005/06 and I literally don't remember anything about Gary Smith. Not just that, but no one ever mentions him - either in terms of he was a good player or bad. According to Wikipedia he played almost 200 games for us - including in the Mowbray years - so clearly can't have been that bad.

Is he literally the most average Hibs player ever, in that he isn't worth a mention in any context?

One of my last memories of him is when he got sent off in the 4-0 semi final v hearts at hampden. Remember someone telling me just as I got back to the pub.

22-03-2018, 12:31 AM

He's mentioned, rightfully so, at the start of this thread! And seen him mentioned in others - recall someone saying they seen him at ER recently with his son.

Gary Smith was a solid defender and a great servant to our club. Part of a defence alongside Franck that was the meanest in green I've ever seen.

22-03-2018, 12:39 AM
One of my last memories of him is when he got sent off in the 4-0 semi final v hearts at hampden. Remember someone telling me just as I got back to the pub.

The reason Gary was sent off was that Zibbi the :clown: stayed on his goal line instead of coming out to clear a ball which should have been his. Gary, was forced into a last ditch tackle which earned him a red.

Zibbi :brickwall:brickwall:brickwall what an poul-f-tice. (cryptic, btw :wink:)

22-03-2018, 01:00 AM
Jay shields - never forget the game he had dado prso in his back pocket, defpite being a good foot shorter than him. Crunching tackler as well. Shame things never worked out for him.

22-03-2018, 06:39 AM
David Murphy

FTHMFC

Eh? Underrated by whom?

proud_and_green
22-03-2018, 06:46 AM

Did he leave due to money? I thought it was simply because we signed De La Cruz at RB and McLeish decided he wasn't going to get a game in our midfield.I think money was a major factor, sure we were beginning to tighten the belt and he had quite generous terms including appearance money.

Sent from my E5823 using Tapatalk

proud_and_green
22-03-2018, 07:06 AM
Many of the players mentioned are not so much underrated as frustrating for me. One example. Tam Mcmanus has been mentioned, he was in my opinion frustrating could and should have done a lot better than he did, ran around much of the time like a headless chicken, but ultimately didn't live up to expectations. Although, I actually quite liked him for his effort and commitment, I actually think he was overrated.

Sent from my E5823 using Tapatalk