View Full Version : Beaton

Pages : 1 [2]

18-03-2018, 09:34 PM
Does anyone actually believe this kinda thing anymore?

I’m not talking about the refereeing standard here, simply this one point.

Is it still popular belief that refs collude together for the benefit of Rangers over the other clubs, including Celtic?

I don't believe they collude however I do think they favour they Glasgow teams. Ask NL and other mangers that used to manage them and and moved to another scottish club and see what they think now the are no longer in that bubble.

18-03-2018, 10:14 PM
You’re entitled to your beliefs mate. My old man always drummed into me never to cross a picket line as well.

I'd always think about the underlying issues first, to make sure I was supporting the right side.

So I couldn't support referees striking for some supposed right to be immune from criticism when they make a mistake or, worse, attempt to cover it up.

Criswell
18-03-2018, 10:18 PM
Why Alston wasn't booked a second time is difficult to understand. It was a very similar to the recent Aberdeen game at ER. Andrew Dallas had correctly just shown a yellow to Shinnie and two minutes later he totally wiped out a Hibs player right in front of him. To the amazement of about everyone in the ground and probably Shinnie as well; no second yellow. Ref bottled it but we won easily anyway!

18-03-2018, 10:22 PM
Why Alston wasn't booked a second time is difficult to understand. It was a very similar to the recent Aberdeen game at ER. Andrew Dallas had correctly just shown a yellow to Shinnie and two minutes later he totally wiped out a Hibs player right in front of him. To the amazement of about everyone in the ground and probably Shinnie as well; no second yellow. Ref bottled it but we won easily anyway!

:agree: it was McLean for Aberdeen but you’re right. Lennon said Beaton told Hanlon that Alston was on his last tackle - McGinn clearly ran that way to draw the foul and Beaton let him off with it. Incredible.

19-03-2018, 05:58 AM
Thats when the refs were on strike right? I never went as I wouldn't cross a picket line to watch Hibs officiated by Maltese scabs!

Behave myself? There was a strike so I didn't go. I've stood on picket lines and I wont cross a picket line. Now thats up to me but I know I'm not alone with that thought.

It was corrupt cheating incompetent referees that were on strike not miners or nurses, get a grip of reality FFS. :confused:

19-03-2018, 07:09 AM
:agree: it was McLean for Aberdeen but you’re right. Lennon said Beaton told Hanlon that Alston was on his last tackle - McGinn clearly ran that way to draw the foul and Beaton let him off with it. Incredible.

Just seen a slow Mo of that tackle, and SJM trips on the turf. Not a foul, not a yellow.

https://twitter.com/davidpreece12/status/975532800454615040/video/1

19-03-2018, 07:24 AM
Just seen a slow Mo of that tackle, and SJM trips on the turf. Not a foul, not a yellow.

No way did Beaton see that at the time though.

MacGruber
19-03-2018, 08:40 AM

It was a foul and a yellow. Not a second yellow because the first one was a red.

MacGruber
19-03-2018, 08:43 AM

John catches the turf yes. But is by the by because he kept going regardless and was then brought down by Alston afterwards. The fact he caught the turf before doesn't change the fact Alston goes on to bring him down. If he hadn't caught the turf Alston might not have caught him the way he did but the fact remains he brought him down from behind without playing the ball. It's pretty clear.

19-03-2018, 09:10 AM
Watched the game again yesterday and still can't believe St Johnstone finished with 11 men on the park. Might watch it again tonight just to confirm my incredulity.

Alston's "challenge" was a disgrace. The ball was not in range so he had no right to tackle McGinn. It was an assault pure and simple.

Tanser's tackle on Boyle was at least reckless if not dangerous and was lucky not to cause serious injury. The fact he may have touched the ball doesn't matter, he went in to hurt a player and should have walked.

Shaughnessy's challenge late in the game was two-footed with studs raised and a clear lunge. Out of control and a clear red card.

Kane kicked Bell when the ball was in the keepers hands during the stramash at the end. The referee may have missed this but I'm sure the linesman would have seen it. Another possible red card if anybody had noticed.

4 incidents that could have resulted in red cards. Result, 3 bookings and no action taken.

19-03-2018, 10:51 AM
Watched the game again yesterday and still can't believe St Johnstone finished with 11 men on the park. Might watch it again tonight just to confirm my incredulity.

Alston's "challenge" was a disgrace. The ball was not in range so he had no right to tackle McGinn. It was an assault pure and simple.

Tanser's tackle on Boyle was at least reckless if not dangerous and was lucky not to cause serious injury. The fact he may have touched the ball doesn't matter, he went in to hurt a player and should have walked.

Shaughnessy's challenge late in the game was two-footed with studs raised and a clear lunge. Out of control and a clear red card.

Kane kicked Bell when the ball was in the keepers hands during the stramash at the end. The referee may have missed this but I'm sure the linesman would have seen it. Another possible red card if anybody had noticed.

4 incidents that could have resulted in red cards. Result, 3 bookings and no action taken.

He could have sent McGinn off for his tackle and Bartley got away with one as well.

19-03-2018, 10:53 AM
It was corrupt cheating incompetent referees that were on strike not miners or nurses, get a grip of reality FFS. :confused:

Call them what you like, there was still a strike and still a picket line and the game was reffed by scabs.

19-03-2018, 01:48 PM
Call them what you like, there was still a strike and still a picket line and the game was reffed by scabs.

Wow! just Wow!

majorhibs
19-03-2018, 01:52 PM

Who was on this “picket line???” You & scottish “refs” was it? I’ve no recollection of a picket line but too many unwanted recollections of bent Scottish “refs”

19-03-2018, 01:59 PM
Wow! just Wow!

What do you mean wow just wow? I'm a union man and always will be! Not asking you to like it.

19-03-2018, 02:39 PM
He could have sent McGinn off for his tackle and Bartley got away with one as well.

McGinn's challenge would never have occurred if Alston had been sent off. SJM knew he could commit the foul with (relative) impunity.

19-03-2018, 03:57 PM
What do you mean wow just wow? I'm a union man and always will be! Not asking you to like it.

They went on strike because they were caught cheating and couldn't hack the criticism, where exactly were these picket lines? because in all honesty I can't recall seeing them when I went to the games the didn't officiate.

I really find it very hard to comprehend that anyone is so much of a union man as to not go to a football match because these lying, cheating corrupt ****ing officials feelings were hurt.

19-03-2018, 04:53 PM
Over 10,000 crossed the line to watch decent refereeing

19-03-2018, 07:28 PM

So if the bankers had gone on strike over Goodwin losing his knighthood you'd support them?

The referees were clearly in the wrong. They don't deserve blinkered and unthinking support.

19-03-2018, 07:33 PM

Do the Refs have a Trade Union?

19-03-2018, 08:49 PM

I'm with you. I also refused to go to a game reffed by scabs, and I know several other Hibbies who did the same. Guess it depends on your politics.

19-03-2018, 09:12 PM
Wow! just Wow!

What's the issue? A scab is a scab.

majorhibs
19-03-2018, 09:30 PM
What's the issue? A scab is a scab.

Craig Thomson- I don’t like how these Hibs fans talked about my handling of the SC final against the Poppy thieves- I’m going on strike! You- we’re with you brother if it’s a strike! Solidarity etc nae crossing lines. **** same idiots tellin us how good brexit is. Scottish refs are bent ie that’s the auld fashioned word for crooked on the take, but if, if, they decide to Call a strike, that’s it, immediately those last many years of bent crooked brown envelope years mean nowt! Don’t cross that line, brother! These £850+ a game “refs” must just seriously LOVE having you trumpets on board! “Never mind how bad our calls are, chaps, we call a strike & we’re home free”

19-03-2018, 09:38 PM
Craig Thomson- I don’t like how these Hibs fans talked about my handling of the SC final against the Poppy thieves- I’m going on strike! You- we’re with you brother if it’s a strike! Solidarity etc nae crossing lines. **** same idiots tellin us how good brexit is. Scottish refs are bent ie that’s the auld fashioned word for crooked on the take, but if, if, they decide to Call a strike, that’s it, immediately those last many years of bent crooked brown envelope years mean nowt! Don’t cross that line, brother! These £850+ a game “refs” must just seriously LOVE having you trumpets on board! “Never mind how bad our calls are, chaps, we call a strike & we’re home free”

:agree: i hope they go on strike again, never come back and we win cup after cup, more tickets for everyone :faf:

Picket line hahahaha, they were bloody proven to be cheating and had the cheek to go out on a complete lie that they were caught out on.

19-03-2018, 09:46 PM
pmsl @ not going to a football game because they didn't want to cross 'picket lines' thus becoming a 'scab' :hilarious

aw man

19-03-2018, 09:51 PM
pmsl @ not going to a football game because they didn't want to cross 'picket lines' thus becoming a 'scab' :hilarious

aw man

The Maltese refs are the scabs. I didn't go because I don't believe in crossing picket lines.

19-03-2018, 09:56 PM

Are you okay?

majorhibs
19-03-2018, 09:58 PM
The Maltese refs are the scabs. I didn't go because I don't believe in crossing picket lines.

He says it for himself, this bloke. We lost one genius this week, but look what we’ve gained!

19-03-2018, 10:00 PM

My ma used to tell me never to pick scabs. She would have been furious with the SFA/SPL if she'd been alive then. :wink:

majorhibs
19-03-2018, 10:01 PM
Are you okay?

Sound, bro. & you?

19-03-2018, 10:03 PM
mon the maltese

19-03-2018, 10:05 PM
I’m a union man too but this is a strange one. It’s not me crossing a picket line, it’s the Maltese refs and I am just going along to support my team.

It all depends on the nature of the disagreement.

19-03-2018, 10:05 PM
So anyway, like I was asking earlier, do the Refs have a Trade Union?

19-03-2018, 10:25 PM
Sound, bro. & you?

I'm quite happy with life.

19-03-2018, 10:25 PM
So anyway, like I was asking earlier, do the Refs have a Trade Union?

I don’t think so.

19-03-2018, 10:35 PM
I don’t think so.
So anyway, like I was asking earlier, do the Refs have a Trade Union?Prospect, apparently

Sent from my SM-A510F using Tapatalk

19-03-2018, 10:38 PM
Prospect, apparently

Ah crap.

19-03-2018, 10:44 PM
Prospect, apparently

Sent from my SM-A510F using TapatalkSays it all then... HC does make a point although I can't recall whether there was a dispute with their employers at the time or not. My recollection was they were passed off at (lack of) support which was subsequently proven to be the correct decision as evidence came to pass that the dispute was based on false evidence.

Sent from my F8331 using Tapatalk

ehf
19-03-2018, 10:52 PM
Do the Refs have a Trade Union?

No, but Attention Seekers do.

19-03-2018, 10:57 PM
No, but Attention Seekers do.

What's it called?

1875godsgift
19-03-2018, 11:06 PM
What's it called?

The Give Me Credit Union

19-03-2018, 11:07 PM
No, but Attention Seekers do.ASLEF?

GreenOnions
20-03-2018, 10:37 AM
aslef?

Sent from my sm-a510f using tapatalk

noclu?

20-03-2018, 10:42 AM
ASLEF?

:wink: Gotta love Hibs Net some times!!

20-03-2018, 10:55 AM
Prospect, apparently

I'm surprised at that as Prospect rarely, if ever, withdraw their labour being a union for upper management and professionals.

If you said the Freemasons I wouldn't have been surpised.

20-03-2018, 11:31 AM
I may not always agree with Hermit's views, and don't necessarily agree this time either. But a man sticking to his guns isn't to be scoffed at.

majorhibs
20-03-2018, 11:58 AM
I may not always agree with Hermit's views, and don't necessarily agree this time either. But a man sticking to his guns isn't to be scoffed at.

Yer right! We should never slate CT the “ref” for consistently favouring poppy theives over Hibs. That’s us telt!

Tomsk
20-03-2018, 12:16 PM
Meanwhile, Charlie Richmond has the sheer brass neck to criticise the current crop of referees.

“Overall the standard of refereeing in Scotland is poor at the moment and part of the reason for that is there is no succession plan.”

https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/teams/aberdeen/rumour-mill-no-consequences-for-poor-refs-mcinnes-eyes-england-return-sutton-blasts-barton-1-4708745

You couldnae make it up.

20-03-2018, 12:21 PM
Meanwhile, Charlie Richmond has the sheer brass neck to criticise the current crop of referees.

“Overall the standard of refereeing in Scotland is poor at the moment and part of the reason for that is there is no succession plan.”

https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/teams/aberdeen/rumour-mill-no-consequences-for-poor-refs-mcinnes-eyes-england-return-sutton-blasts-barton-1-4708745

You couldnae make it up.

:agree: Richmond was mince. (Think 'sausage').

20-03-2018, 12:32 PM
Chat about picket lines and scabs. It’s like being back in the 80s again.

Gotta go listen to some Billy Bragg or similar I guess.

20-03-2018, 12:37 PM
Chat about picket lines and scabs. It’s like being back in the 80s again.

Gotta go listen to some Billy Bragg or similar I guess.

Not everyone capitulated.

20-03-2018, 12:46 PM
Yer right! We should never slate CT the “ref” for consistently favouring poppy theives over Hibs. That’s us telt!

Your posts become more and more bizarre and difficult to comprehend by the day.

majorhibs
20-03-2018, 12:47 PM
Not everyone capitulated.

WHO exactly capitulated to WHAT? The solid line ae you & crab & Scottish “refs” against the rest was it? You lot are obvious so principled & staunch & hard I can only look on in envy because I was so foolish as to not stand with yous in that dispute against the truthful Scottish “refs”

majorhibs
20-03-2018, 12:50 PM
Your posts become more and more bizarre and difficult to comprehend by the day.

Takes a while tae get to my level, bud. My advice tae you- gie up now!

20-03-2018, 12:50 PM
WHO exactly capitulated to WHAT? The solid line ae you & crab & Scottish “refs” against the rest was it? You lot are obvious so principled & staunch & hard I can only look on in envy because I was so foolish as to not stand with yous in that dispute against the truthful Scottish “refs”

Neither HC or me asked anyone to do anything. If you we chose not to go as is our right. I really don't see what you're so angry about.

majorhibs
20-03-2018, 02:34 PM
Neither HC or me asked anyone to do anything. If you we chose not to go as is our right. I really don't see what you're so angry about.

Scottish alleged refs???:confused::rolleyes::confused:

20-03-2018, 02:41 PM

What gets a few guys on here curious is you and HC stance on not crossing an imaginary picket line, we get that bit but these were corrupt lying cheating refs who got caught and took the huff, you decided that was enough to not follow your football team. I must admit I do question your Hibs loyalty on this subject.

20-03-2018, 03:07 PM
What gets a few guys on here curious is you and HC stance on not crossing an imaginary picket line, we get that bit but these were corrupt lying cheating refs who got caught and took the huff, you decided that was enough to not follow your football team. I must admit I do question your Hibs loyalty on this subject.

The strike didnt really bother me, and I dont remember all the details, but I think HC and GSF are just respecting the right to strike. Their loyalty to hibs didn't really come into it. It was a run of the mill league game.

FWIW I think if there was an overrated referee thread, rather than an overrated player thread, the maltese refs would make the list. They were fine, but they weren't perfect. They still made mistakes. Its just that nobody assumed they were biased when the mistakes were made.

20-03-2018, 03:18 PM
The strike didnt really bother me, and I dont remember all the details, but I think HC and GSF are just respecting the right to strike. Their loyalty to hibs didn't really come into it. It was a run of the mill league game.

FWIW I think if there was an overrated referee thread, rather than an overrated player thread, the maltese refs would make the list. They were fine, but they weren't perfect. They still made mistakes. Its just that nobody assumed they were biased when the mistakes were made.

The Maltese refs weren't perfect but I don't remember any of them giving themselves a wedgie trying to pull their card out their back pocket before they've blown their whistle for a foul against a Hibs player as the current bunch seem keen to do.

20-03-2018, 04:02 PM
Takes a while tae get to my level, bud. My advice tae you- gie up now!

Haha I enjoyed that response to be fair!

20-03-2018, 06:25 PM
Surely we can all unite and agree on this: all referees are ****s.

20-03-2018, 06:29 PM

You're welcome to, my ticket was bought but u chose not to go. I doubt Hibs will give a monkey's about my stance, they have my money.

20-03-2018, 07:53 PM
What gets a few guys on here curious is you and HC stance on not crossing an imaginary picket line, we get that bit but these were corrupt lying cheating refs who got caught and took the huff, you decided that was enough to not follow your football team. I must admit I do question your Hibs loyalty on this subject.You are wrong to question either of these guys loyalty to Hibs. They are amongst the most loyal and die hard supporters you could wish to meet. They have season tickets. They had already paid! Hibs lost nothing. The protest is against scab foreign referees. It's not that difficult to understand

Sent from my VTR-L09 using Tapatalk

20-03-2018, 07:55 PM
You are wrong to question either of these guys loyalty to Hibs. They are amongst the most loyal and die hard supporters you could wish to meet. They have season tickets. They had already paid! Hibs lost nothing. The protest is against scab foreign referees. It's not that difficult to understand

Their protest supported liars and cheats.

The referees weren't striking for decent pay or working conditions.

20-03-2018, 08:01 PM
Their protest supported liars and cheats.

The referees weren't striking for decent pay or working conditions.Don't talk *****.

20-03-2018, 08:05 PM
No wonder our unions are ****ed. Industry is toiling. We may not always agree with the reasons of a dispute but stand up and are counted regardless. You can't pick and choose

20-03-2018, 08:08 PM
What's it called?

The Amalgamated Union of Hermit Crabs?

20-03-2018, 10:11 PM
The Amalgamated Union of Hermit Crabs?FAF. Are you a comedy scriptwriter?

20-03-2018, 10:42 PM
No wonder our unions are ****ed. Industry is toiling. We may not always agree with the reasons of a dispute but stand up and are counted regardless. You can't pick and choose

Yeah no wonder with the "I'm write jack" attitude of some on here, I sincerely hope none of them ever have to go through the horrible feeling of standing on a picket line losing wages to defend their rights, pay and conditions as their company tries to erode them.

20-03-2018, 10:44 PM
You're welcome to, my ticket was bought but u chose not to go. I doubt Hibs will give a monkey's about my stance, they have my money.

Correct, Hibs will be delighted. Got their cash regardless if we were there or not and now with the new ticket exchange system they can get the money twice for a seat, not bad going eh.

20-03-2018, 10:49 PM
The Amalgamated Union of Hermit Crabs?

At least they're not shellfish b*****ds like the rest of us.

20-03-2018, 11:01 PM
You are wrong to question either of these guys loyalty to Hibs. They are amongst the most loyal and die hard supporters you could wish to meet. They have season tickets. They had already paid! Hibs lost nothing. The protest is against scab foreign referees. It's not that difficult to understand

I know they are season ticket holders, I was questioning their loyalty going to games.

The strike itself wasn't concerning any emergency services, nurses, teachers, factory workers etc, where actual picket lines would've been in place. It was a strike by corrupt, cheating, lying referees who got caught lying and couldn't hack that fact, so threw a strop and jokingly went on strike.

I've never been in a union as I've been self employed since I was 25 and I appreciate what they do for the worker but I can't fathom why you would miss a Hibs game because of these jumped up ***** refs.

20-03-2018, 11:24 PM
Thats when the refs were on strike right? I never went as I wouldn't cross a picket line to watch Hibs officiated by Maltese scabs!

I respect what you say about never crossing a picket line. But you aren’t are ref are you? For me any fan who went to watch Hibs weren’t scabs and the refs who came over clearly couldn’t care less.

Refs brought it on themselves, so I fail to see why that should stop anyone going to watch Hibs play. Unless I’m missing something?

20-03-2018, 11:49 PM
I respect what you say about never crossing a picket line. But you aren’t are ref are you? For me any fan who went to watch Hibs weren’t scabs and the refs who came over clearly couldn’t care less.

Refs brought it on themselves, so I fail to see why that should stop anyone going to watch Hibs play. Unless I’m missing something?

The fans that went are not scabs, the refs from Malta are, I didn't go because I don't believe in crossing a picket line as a member of the public and an active member of a trade union and also a union rep!

majorhibs
21-03-2018, 04:33 AM
The fans that went are not scabs, the refs from Malta are, I didn't go because I don't believe in crossing a picket line as a member of the public and an active member of a trade union and also a union rep!

You, & people like you, are so far up your own backsides I reckon you never see the light of day! I am for unions & the working man like most, but you here getting all high & mighty mr union everybody else is wrong, you are slating folk like me who would NOT cross a legitimate picket line even though we’ve not been near a union in our life, because there hasn’t BEEN one in our line of employment, but just look at yourself right now, right this second! What do you see? Joker? Hypocrite? Scottish refs favour the two cheeks. It has always been like this in my lifetime. They are biased & some on the make, plenty who retire & then supplement their ill gotten gains telling guests how biased they were during their “careers”. I didn’t make that up, it’s actually a source of amusement for the cheeks & ther complicit press & all the rest. But you stay strong brothers, no crossing lines, solidarity etc, even though the lying filth your being so solid with have been FOUND OUT lying, been biased against everybody but 2 sets of cheats, for my 40 odd years watching MY team, but you stick up for your cheating lying on the make “refs” & slate the rest of us as you go. Nobody wants to be called a scab, but some of you are doing that here, but have a look at yourselves for a minute, & also the lying incompetents you are defending!

majorhibs
21-03-2018, 04:52 AM
Don't talk *****.

Why should he not talk *****! You are, very foolishly & loudly! :flag:

21-03-2018, 06:20 AM
You have to examine each strike on its merits, and if a strike is based on lies and corruption, then supporting that makes you as bad as those cheats.

There is right and wrong, knowingly supporting the wrong is ridiculous.

21-03-2018, 06:26 AM
So has this thread evolved into a holy ground thread or would we say it is still about Beaton’s terrible performance 🤔

21-03-2018, 06:36 AM
So has this thread evolved into a holy ground thread or would we say it is still about Beaton’s terrible performance 🤔

I feel I should attack you for something.

21-03-2018, 07:04 AM
You, & people like you, are so far up your own backsides I reckon you never see the light of day! I am for unions & the working man like most, but you here getting all high & mighty mr union everybody else is wrong, you are slating folk like me who would NOT cross a legitimate picket line even though we’ve not been near a union in our life, because there hasn’t BEEN one in our line of employment, but just look at yourself right now, right this second! What do you see? Joker? Hypocrite? Scottish refs favour the two cheeks. It has always been like this in my lifetime. They are biased & some on the make, plenty who retire & then supplement their ill gotten gains telling guests how biased they were during their “careers”. I didn’t make that up, it’s actually a source of amusement for the cheeks & ther complicit press & all the rest. But you stay strong brothers, no crossing lines, solidarity etc, even though the lying filth your being so solid with have been FOUND OUT lying, been biased against everybody but 2 sets of cheats, for my 40 odd years watching MY team, but you stick up for your cheating lying on the make “refs” & slate the rest of us as you go. Nobody wants to be called a scab, but some of you are doing that here, but have a look at yourselves for a minute, & also the lying incompetents you are defending!

Could be wrong but I don’t think he’s slated anyone.. only repeated (he’s had to a few times as so many aren’t getting it) that HE didn’t attend because HE doesn’t believe in crossing a picket line of any shape or form.

While we might not agree with his reasons, the explanation really shouldn’t take 2 pages of posts to understand.

Also think some are reacting at the word “scab” as if it’s an offensive word, when it’s generally used to describe replacements in a strike situation.

Whether we think this was a typical strike situation or not, Hermit (and others) have made their stance clear and are not expecting others to agree or follow suit.

21-03-2018, 07:07 AM

But the picket line was for refs who have shown to be corrupt and incompetent. Surely you can see the difference in say that and say the miners strike. I really can’t get my head around you supporting the refs and refusing to watch Hibs because of it.

21-03-2018, 08:16 AM
I feel I should attack you for something.

😂 cool. Well I support strikers and don’t cross picket lines. However I think frivolous strikes damage the unions cause and the refs strike was frivolous. It was not born out of the need for better conditions or pay it was because the refs got caught with their fingers in the cookie jar and didn’t like it. I also think this thread is way past due to be shifted to the holy ground due to it not being about football anymore. I also think Beaton is a terrible ref but he’s also about standard for Scottish refs.

21-03-2018, 08:44 AM
😂 cool. Well I support strikers and don’t cross picket lines. However I think frivolous strikes damage the unions cause and the refs strike was frivolous. It was not born out of the need for better conditions or pay it was because the refs got caught with their fingers in the cookie jar and didn’t like it. I also think this thread is way past due to be shifted to the holy ground due to it not being about football anymore. I also think Beaton is a terrible ref but he’s also about standard for Scottish refs.

That balanced and sensible post isn't helping really. Doesn't leave me much room for a wild-eyed slavering reply. Ok if I just generically call you a knob for no good reason and we leave it at that?

And the avatar thingy at the foot of your posts is where I'm at too.

21-03-2018, 08:54 AM
But the picket line was for refs who have shown to be corrupt and incompetent. Surely you can see the difference in say that and say the minors strike. I really can’t get my head around you supporting the refs and refusing to watch Hibs because of it.

What were the kids striking about?

21-03-2018, 08:58 AM

Didny like gaun' up the chimneys, selling books of matches or cleaning oot the backs o' the spinnin' jennys.

Shirkers.

21-03-2018, 09:13 AM

HC hasn't slated anyone. He has just explained why he didn't go. He never asked anyone else to follow him. I think it's you that needs to have a look at yourself. Or have a cup of Ovaltine to calm yourself.

21-03-2018, 09:13 AM
That balanced and sensible post isn't helping really. Doesn't leave me much room for a wild-eyed slavering reply. Ok if I just generically call you a knob for no good reason and we leave it at that?

And the avatar thingy at the foot of your posts is where I'm at too.

I'm okay with that, having spent a number of years at the end of a call line for social housing tenants wanting their houses fixed I can assure you I've been called worse for less :greengrin
Yeah it is an Einstein quote, he was a wise man!

21-03-2018, 09:36 AM

Oops well spotted 😂

SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
21-03-2018, 09:36 AM

Well said mr. We can have absolutely no frivolous, individualist free-thinking or personal opinions in this country.

Accept the word of the union 'man' (still an equal man of course, hes just a bit more equal than others) or be a class traitor and a scab.

21-03-2018, 10:35 AM
HC hasn't slated anyone. He has just explained why he didn't go. He never asked anyone else to follow him. I think it's you that needs to have a look at yourself. Or have a cup of Ovaltine to calm yourself.

Thats all I did, I never said anything about those who did go, thats their choice! I chose not to go to a game because of a strike. Thats my prerogative.

ehf
21-03-2018, 12:38 PM
Well said mr. We can have absolutely no frivolous, individualist free-thinking or personal opinions in this country.

Accept the word of the union 'man' (still an equal man of course, hes just a bit more equal than others) or be a class traitor and a scab.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KdOCWUgwiWs

21-03-2018, 02:16 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KdOCWUgwiWs

Great song!

21-03-2018, 02:46 PM
Been away for a few days - can someone bring me up to speed with what we are arguing about so that I can join in?

21-03-2018, 02:47 PM
Been away for a few days

Scab.

EH54
21-03-2018, 03:13 PM
Have never crossed a picket and would like to think I never will, However if this came up now it would definitely test me. I can't even remember the refs going on strike what year was this?

21-03-2018, 03:24 PM
Have never crossed a picket and would like to think I never will, However if this came up now it would definitely test me. I can't even remember the refs going on strike what year was this?

Not quite sure. It was after a ref and linesman were caught colluding to make up lies about decisions but before Hugh Dallas got caught sending sectarian emails.

21-03-2018, 03:26 PM

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Scottish_football_referee_strike

21-03-2018, 03:47 PM
I wonder if the fact Neil Lennon is our manager has changed peoples views on the strike?

My memory at the time is that whilst there was limited sympathy for the referees there was also a lot of criticism that NL had gone 'too far' in his criticism of MacDonald and that Celtic and Lennon were acting like bullies. Fast forward a few years and apparently the strike was to protect lying and corrupt practices.

Fickle football fans eh?

Edit:

These threads from around the time make interesting reading:

http://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?176002-Sellick-moaning-about-referee-decisions

http://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?195849-Willie-Collum-threatened-by-Celtc-fans&p=2619871#post2619871

EH54
21-03-2018, 03:47 PM
Reading it briefly looks like some refs didn't even know why they where there and were not aware of a strike happening.

21-03-2018, 07:29 PM
Reading it briefly looks like some refs didn't even know why they where there and were not aware of a strike happening.

The SFA certainly seem to have misled some of the foreign officials who refused to break the strike after finding out the reason why.

22-03-2018, 03:47 PM

Playing for Hearts.

majorhibs
22-03-2018, 05:21 PM
My deleted post 342, that naebody else will get to see, where I used THEYRE astrofisks for theyre swearword which was allegedly alright, telling someone not to talk merde, bluntly, my reply, no swear words only a request to not be so loud & foolish,was that personal abuse from me replying to someone saying don’t talk crap but less polite, but that original post was fine & left on? As the clique thread has it, one law for them admins & their mates, the rest ae us are just cannon fodder! :flag:

majorhibs
22-03-2018, 05:24 PM
The SFA certainly seem to have misled some of the foreign officials who refused to break the strike after finding out the reason why.

Some! What a word! What “some” people DO with words. Misleadings another guid yin!

22-03-2018, 06:56 PM
My deleted post 342, that naebody else will get to see, where I used THEYRE astrofisks for theyre swearword which was allegedly alright, telling someone not to talk merde, bluntly, my reply, no swear words only a request to not be so loud & foolish,was that personal abuse from me replying to someone saying don’t talk crap but less polite, but that original post was fine & left on? As the clique thread has it, one law for them admins & their mates, the rest ae us are just cannon fodder! :flag:

That post was deleted because you called anyone who disagrees with your view "halfwits" and "slavers". If you can't post your opinions without those kind of insults (and you do seem to struggle to do so to be honest) then it won't be long until you can't post at all. The post you replied to was clearly tongue in cheek and wasn't aimed at you in any case.

Nothing at all to do with cliques or mates, just common decency and it's the same rules for all. It's up to you Major.

22-03-2018, 10:34 PM

You have turned this into a big issue, all I did was stated my reason for not attending the match and all off a sudden I'm with the "cheating" refs as a sympathiser. My point was about my choice not cross a picket line to watch the game refereed by strike breakers.

22-03-2018, 10:52 PM

Same rules for us all. I’ve had warnings and it’s been my own fault. There is no clique and I doubt the admins favour anyone when it comes to abuse or anything else.

I think you need to chill out a bit and not get yourself wound up. Or at least don’t go about calling folk halfwits!

23-03-2018, 08:35 AM
Some! What a word! What “some” people DO with words. Misleadings another guid yin!

Some being the officials who went straight home when they found out they were covering for striking refs. Misleading in the sense they were told it was a referee exchange by the SFA. I really don't see what you're objecting to here.