View Full Version : Paul Hanlon

Agnes Gordon
16-03-2018, 09:39 PM
Must be losing a lot of sleep with his new baby well off the pace tonight from kick off.

16-03-2018, 09:42 PM
Tin hat on but I've found him to be out of position a lot this season.

Although in fairness I'd have given him motm against Hearts.

16-03-2018, 09:43 PM
Tricky conditions for a defender to deal with. With Rocky getting sent off we couldn’t press them in their own box where their defenders would have been making mistakes.

16-03-2018, 09:47 PM
Thought he was fine and for the most part we defended well as a team.

16-03-2018, 09:48 PM
Must be losing a lot of sleep with his new baby well off the pace tonight from kick off.

2belhaven
16-03-2018, 09:49 PM
Eh !!!

16-03-2018, 09:50 PM
Thought he was fine and for the most part we defended well as a team.That's what I seen as well. Defensive performance required and was in the main delivered.

Mind the gap.

Mr Grieves
We played 75 minutes with 10 men, with a dodgy ref, in ***** conditions, and this is your first thought?

Keyser Sauzee
16-03-2018, 09:51 PM

If u want to have a pop at any of the players tonight then it Should be Ofir, not Hanlon. Can’t blame any of the 10 left on the park for that tonight.

Sioux
16-03-2018, 09:51 PM
If Hanlon wasn't posted missing Rocky wouldn't have needed to come out when he did.

When was the last time PH won a header in his own box btw?

Mantis Toboggan
16-03-2018, 09:52 PM
Absolute garbage. And why mention his baby? Weird behaviour.

Sauzee16
16-03-2018, 09:53 PM
His composure was poor under massive pressure in testing conditions. Nobody can be at fault for this evening apart from Rocky and the Ref.

16-03-2018, 09:54 PM
If Hanlon wasn't posted missing Rocky wouldn't have needed to come out when he did.

When was the last time PH won a header in his own box btw?

Rocky didnt need to come out when he did and shouldnt have. Bad decision.

16-03-2018, 09:54 PM
Hanlon was a warrior tonight, brilliant player. Nonsense thread

16-03-2018, 09:55 PM
What a pile of utter nonsense. All the outfield players worked there ***** off in poor conditions. If you are very desperate to have a pop at one of our players, then that should be for Marciano.

Agnes Gordon
16-03-2018, 09:55 PM
He gave theball away right at the start and was carried by McGregor all night.

Sauzee16
16-03-2018, 09:56 PM
He gave theball away right at the start and was carried by McGregor all night.

Pish. The defence defended as a unit.

16-03-2018, 09:58 PM
Rocky didnt need to come out when he did and shouldnt have. Bad decision.[emoji106]There we have it. Scheidt happens. File it under a point won and move on. There's plenty out there looking to destabilise Hibs and see us fail.

16-03-2018, 09:59 PM

Although in fairness I'd have given him motm against Hearts.

Tin hat?

Walling pish helmet more like

When did this turn into iwearmywifesknickers.net ?

16-03-2018, 09:59 PM
Didnae think Hanlon was too bad, thought McGregor and Lewis were very good though.

16-03-2018, 10:02 PM

Bye yam. Happily pumped you lot last week.

16-03-2018, 10:03 PM
Our defence should be commended for that effort tonight.

16-03-2018, 10:09 PM
No way.

superbam
16-03-2018, 10:13 PM
thought rocky was rash as **** when it happened but having watched the replay, could have easily been a goal if he had not intervened like that....Efe was ready to block it with his hands if he had got there first

16-03-2018, 10:15 PM

#mindthegap

16-03-2018, 10:16 PM
have to say i thought he was poor tonight. just didn't seem comfortable all game.

16-03-2018, 10:21 PM
have to say i thought he was poor tonight. just didn't seem comfortable all game.

I agree. He also fluffed several balls in the first half.

Wee Effen Bee
16-03-2018, 10:33 PM
😂Away yis go and pish yersels! Has a couple of Sclaffed clearances in mental conditions but now he has been: caught out in previous games, well off the pace, carried by McGregor etc. Please see previous reports in past couple of weeks where Hanlon has been praised to the heavens by Hibbies, commentators and sports reporters. Surely it’s past your bedtimes!

16-03-2018, 11:09 PM
Didnae think Hanlon was too bad, thought McGregor and Lewis were very good though.

Stevenson was probably MOTM for me tonight.

16-03-2018, 11:14 PM

Maybe you need your bed Agnes

16-03-2018, 11:19 PM
Thought Hanlon and Stevenson were pretty inconsistent today.

hibs4life
16-03-2018, 11:25 PM
Good grief! Everyone's entitled to an opinion but some folk seem eager to get the knife in rather than just make an opined, observational point. "Must be losing alot of sleep" sounds like a jibe to me.
FFS this is a consistently high performer who could comfortably play in any team in our league and I suspect even at a higher level.
I was at the game tonight and thought our defensive qualities got us the point. If we're going to be critical, we need to question Rocky's decision making. That said he has earned us a few points this season already. So he made a mistake. He's a keeper, let's just move on and support our players who are keeping us competitive at the top end of the league. At the top end of the league!

Tobias Funke
16-03-2018, 11:28 PM
Would love to see some of these “experts” play in those conditions with a man down for the vast majority of the game. There really is some utter diarrhoea posted on here sometimes.

16-03-2018, 11:29 PM
For what it’s worth Hanlon did look a bit off I thought first half. Apart from that though I really thought all the lads put in a shift tonight and got the point they deserved.

16-03-2018, 11:29 PM

Opinions eh?
I thought Hanlon played below his normal high standard. Likewise Bartley.
McGinn was immense & my MOTM.
Wrong sub & too late. Swanson should have come on with about 15min to go.
Nevertheless, well done lads 1-1 with 10 men away can't be snuffed at.
And Rocky, that was a real blouser. :rolleyes:

16-03-2018, 11:30 PM

Stevenson was brilliant tonight.

GreenOnions
16-03-2018, 11:34 PM
It's pretty rare for a team to have to play for over 75 minutes with only ten men. We were leading when Rocky was sent off but we were also away from home, playing on what looked like a heavy pitch and in poor weather conditions.

Rocky made a howler and that is what put us in difficulty when we were looking as if we were streets ahead of St Johnstone. I agree with the poster above though that Rocky has done very well for us this season so we should allow him that mad moment.

Despite the sending off I felt we continued to be the better side until about 5 mins before half-time. Thereafter we were on the back foot and the whole team had to put in a serious shift. They all did that and earned us a point. That includes Paul Hanlon who has been excellent all season in my opinion.

16-03-2018, 11:40 PM

Jesus:rolleyes:

16-03-2018, 11:41 PM
Cheers OP, I needed a good laugh tonight and you've certainly delivered :faf:

16-03-2018, 11:44 PM
Cheers OP, I needed a good laugh tonight and you've certainly delivered :faf:

:agree: mental thread.

16-03-2018, 11:47 PM
I wouldnt point finger at anyone tonight, sure Rocky made a big mistake but Im certainly not going to crucify him for it he just got it wrong and paid the penalty. The rest of the side worked their collective erses off, defended well in difficult conditions, a man short for the vast majority of the game and yet still carried a threat. Its a positive point for me.

16-03-2018, 11:52 PM
50 posts in 5 years. You decide to come when we are doing really well and say our best defender is well off the pace, was he well off the pace last Friday too?? Sniff sniff.

16-03-2018, 11:54 PM

When was the last time PH won a header in his own box btw?Rocky never needed to come out it was a terrible error of judgement

16-03-2018, 11:55 PM
Stevenson was probably MOTM for me tonight.And me...absolute warrior

16-03-2018, 11:56 PM
Thought Hanlon and Stevenson were pretty inconsistent today.You are surely having a laugh...wee Lewy was outstanding!!! Just back from Perth and cannot believe some of the nonsense on here honestly

17-03-2018, 06:13 AM
Senga Drongo really has set the cat among the pigeons

17-03-2018, 06:16 AM
<a href="https://youtu.be/JTeWuFpVx78" target="_blank">
https://youtu.be/JTeWuFpVx78https://youtu.be/JTeWuFpVx78 (https://youtu.be/JTeWuFpVx78)

17-03-2018, 06:31 AM

Hanlon has been superb this season.

17-03-2018, 06:50 AM
Tin hat?

The link disnae work.

MacGruber
17-03-2018, 07:12 AM
Hanlon was a mile off the pace as he was last Friday.
He has been caught out of position countless times and just isn't good enough. The same goes for Dylan, McGinn, Allan and Kamberi - move along potential suitors.... nothing to see here lol

17-03-2018, 07:16 AM
Tin hat?

Sorry, I'll get back to cannothaveanopinion.net

17-03-2018, 07:59 AM
don't think the conditions helped last night when trying to defend the problem hanlon has now is that because he has been playing really well lately whenever he plays below that level he will be picked up on it

17-03-2018, 08:44 AM
don't think the conditions helped last night when trying to defend the problem hanlon has now is that because he has been playing really well lately whenever he plays below that level he will be picked up on it

This is it. It's more a surprise when he makes an error rather than thinking he's Tom Kite.

17-03-2018, 08:48 AM
He's definitely played better than he did last night but thought we defended well given the circumstances, especially when we were up against 3 strikers at one point.

17-03-2018, 09:00 AM

Oh my

17-03-2018, 12:27 PM
Its not great when players have a bit of an off game ...but geez how far do we go with the criticism ..as has been stated he has been consistently very good throughout the season.
If we wanted I can think of games where different players are inconsistent during 90 minutes, some flit in and out of games for weeks and because they produce a flash of quality their actual overall performances arent that great ...but they get away without being criticized on here, but a few Stevenson and Hanlon in particular get hit very readily.
He had an off night lets move on ...just a wee add on Paul is the player that has been heavily touted for a Scotland call up ..!!

Sauzee16
17-03-2018, 12:39 PM
Vilified? Steady there.

RossScott1991
17-03-2018, 12:46 PM
I thought Bartley was the worst player last night. Probaly poorest I’ve seen him. His distribution at times is awful

Sauzee16
17-03-2018, 12:48 PM
I thought Bartley was the worst player last night. Probaly poorest I’ve seen him. His distribution at times is awful

McLaren going off and Boyle up top left him extremely exposed most of the game to be honest. I thought all players done well appreciating the circumstances.

17-03-2018, 01:30 PM

I really like Bartley but he was chasing shadows last night. Looked a yard off the pace a few times.
Not meant to be a slag, just an observation.

17-03-2018, 01:32 PM
Hanlon has been superb this season.

100% agree but he can still have an off game (by his own standards) and yesterday was one of them IMO.

17-03-2018, 02:14 PM
Hanlon was a mile off the pace as he was last Friday.
He has been caught out of position countless times and just isn't good enough. The same goes for Dylan, McGinn, Allan and Kamberi - move along potential suitors.... nothing to see here lol🤣🤣🤣[emoji106]

17-03-2018, 02:16 PM
I thought Bartley was the worst player last night. Probaly poorest I’ve seen him. His distribution at times is awfulThis...he was awful and almost cost us a point as his woeful pass lead to the last minute free kick for them