View Full Version : Cult XI

Keyser Sauzee
16-03-2018, 06:47 PM
With the thread about big Conrad and also Marc Libbra mentioned in the Kamberi, it got me thinking of cult players we’ve had, guys who were only here for a short time but the fans took to instantly, and wondered if we could make a first 11 out of them.

I’ll start off with Janos Mátyus at left back, absolutely loved the big man and thought he was quality while he was here. Did he stay for the whole season he was here?

Any others?

joe t
16-03-2018, 06:58 PM
Conrad Logan
Jimmy boco
Joe t
Chic Charnley
Beastie mcluskey

16-03-2018, 06:59 PM
Malonga

Efe if he leaves soon

16-03-2018, 06:59 PM
Yannick Zambernardi - purely for the hair and the big scissor tackles. Outstanding.

Stax
16-03-2018, 07:05 PM
Amadou Konte, purely because he’s the only player I’ve ever seen trying to score from a corner with his back. :greengrin

wpj
16-03-2018, 07:05 PM
Budgie, two goalies!

16-03-2018, 07:06 PM
Does George Best qualify?

Souter96Mac
16-03-2018, 07:08 PM
Big Dave?

ardecos
16-03-2018, 07:15 PM
Big Dave?

Didier Agathe he has to be top of the list.

16-03-2018, 07:18 PM
Vine Opps I misread cult and c—-

16-03-2018, 07:20 PM
Joe, Joe, Super Joe...

16-03-2018, 07:20 PM
Ivan! :thumbsup:

Tobias Funke
16-03-2018, 07:24 PM
Peter Guggi

16-03-2018, 07:29 PM
Barry Lavety :dunno:

ChicoM1875
16-03-2018, 07:30 PM
The Monk

16-03-2018, 07:36 PM
The Monk

Three goalies?

16-03-2018, 07:37 PM
Benny has to get a place in this team.

16-03-2018, 07:40 PM
The porn star.

16-03-2018, 08:10 PM
Leigh?

CL0762
16-03-2018, 08:12 PM
Matty Jack

16-03-2018, 08:18 PM
Nishy

16-03-2018, 08:23 PM
Chris Killen.

Denes Rosa.

De la Cruz.

Anti-hoofbaw
16-03-2018, 08:39 PM
Tam McCourt.

16-03-2018, 08:45 PM
Logan

De La Cruz
Jimmy Boco
Rob Jones
Laursen

Sproule
Boozy
Matty Jack
Zemmama

Benji
Malonga

Manager - Tam McCourt

16-03-2018, 08:54 PM
Logan

De La Cruz
Jimmy Boco
Rob Jones
Laursen

Sproule
Boozy
Matty Jack
Zemmama

Benji
Malonga

Manager - Tam McCourt

That's a good cult team, although Amadou is the first name on my team sheet. :agree: no Scots though. Is it easy to be a cult player if you have something 'exotic' about you maybes?

16-03-2018, 09:46 PM
That's a good cult team, although Amadou is the first name on my team sheet. :agree: no Scots though. Is it easy to be a cult player if you have something 'exotic' about you maybes?

Aye definitely. I genuinely can’t think of a Scottish player you’d call a cult hero in my time!

17-03-2018, 07:13 AM
konte

17-03-2018, 07:36 AM
Total Cults X1

Boric
Hurlock
Greig
Berry
Jardine
Colquhoun
Pasquale
Peter Grant
Rudi Skacel
Ryan Stevenson
Hateley

17-03-2018, 09:11 AM
Logan

Zambernade
Bamba
Sauzee
De La Cruz

Latapy
Boco
Zemmama

Archibald
Sparky
Best

17-03-2018, 09:13 AM
Malonga, Benji and Zemmama in the same team would've been something else

17-03-2018, 09:17 AM
Malonga, Benji and Zemmama in the same team would've been something else

Zemmama, contrary to lazy myth, always worked hard to press and get the ball back. The other two? Not so much. I loved them both but I'm not sure they could have played together on the same team!

Sauzee16
17-03-2018, 09:18 AM
Lyndon Andrews 6-2s unsung hero.

I can’t stand Zambernardi after his fk up in the 4-4 match. Much rather have Gary Smith or Derek Collins.

17-03-2018, 09:23 AM
Do guys like Sauzee, Latapy, Malonga, Zemmama, Sproule and Benji who have all been mentioned on this thread qualify as cult heroes? They were all good players for us for a decent amount of time and almost all of them were liked by a majority of the support. Malonga might just about count as some, inexplicably in my opinion, couldn't see what he offered.

A cult hero is surely someone who is popular with a limited number of people and/or who isn't always a success.

Surely Jimmy Boco, Super Joe, Benny Brazil, Konte etc are more along the right lines. Actually it looks like being a Hibs left back is a good way to become a cult hero.

17-03-2018, 09:49 AM
Rob Jones

Sauzee16
17-03-2018, 09:57 AM
Do guys like Sauzee, Latapy, Malonga, Zemmama, Sproule and Benji who have all been mentioned on this thread qualify as cult heroes? They were all good players for us for a decent amount of time and almost all of them were liked by a majority of the support. Malonga might just about count as some, inexplicably in my opinion, couldn't see what he offered.

A cult hero is surely someone who is popular with a limited number of people and/or who isn't always a success.

Surely Jimmy Boco, Super Joe, Benny Brazil, Konte etc are more along the right lines. Actually it looks like being a Hibs left back is a good way to become a cult hero.

That lad Roland had an edge about him.

17-03-2018, 10:25 AM

I think a lot of people have kind of missed the point of the thread. Some of the lineups suggested look like a bog standard “what’s your favourite Hibs XI.”

17-03-2018, 01:17 PM
A third keeper to consider - Gregorz Szamotulski

The original ‘Rocky’ - Craig Rocastle

From the war years - Matt Busby

From Pat Stanton’s Testimonial - Joe Jordan

17-03-2018, 01:25 PM
Chico
Jay Shields (for the Hartley tackle alone)
Tony Higgins

Tha Cabbage Kid
17-03-2018, 05:27 PM
Dear la Cruz for his two great goals!

Sent from my XT1068 using Tapatalk

Anti-hoofbaw
17-03-2018, 06:32 PM
Fabrice Henry.

17-03-2018, 08:33 PM
konte

Konte was cooler than Mister Miyagi :agree:

Sauzee16
17-03-2018, 08:45 PM
A third keeper to consider - Gregorz Szamotulski

The original ‘Rocky’ - Craig Rocastle

From the war years - Matt Busby

From Pat Stanton’s Testimonial - Joe Jordan

Rocky is a great shout.

Sauzee16
17-03-2018, 08:47 PM
What about Frédéric Arpinion? I thought he oozed class.

17-03-2018, 10:58 PM
The porn star.

Neil Orr?

17-03-2018, 10:59 PM
David Murphy

Sauzee16
17-03-2018, 11:07 PM
Neil Orr?

Dirty Dirk.

Sauzee16
17-03-2018, 11:08 PM
David Murphy

He’s our best left back in the past 20 years. That’s not cult hero.

FRes Hibbie
17-03-2018, 11:42 PM
Humphrey Rudge.

17-03-2018, 11:53 PM
Humphrey Rudge.

Quality shout, outstanding in the "unbeatable" derby

SideBurns
17-03-2018, 11:56 PM
Bobby Flavell - one great season under Bertie Auld.

17-03-2018, 11:57 PM
Fabrice Henry.

The first time I saw him I thought we'd pulled out a plum but he just faded away.

Anti-hoofbaw
18-03-2018, 08:15 AM
The first time I saw him I thought we'd pulled out a plum but he just faded away.

I remember he played in a derby at Easter Rd and gave the Hearts fans a sneaky middle finger. He flipped them the bird when they let out a sarcastic cheer after he fizzed a shot past the post from outside the box.

Anti-hoofbaw
18-03-2018, 08:29 AM
Tony Rougier.

ChicoM1875
18-03-2018, 08:46 AM
Three goalies?

Was as good as three goalies! Gregor szamatoulski. Probably spelled it wrong

thebausburst
18-03-2018, 07:01 PM
Tony Rougier.

Beat me to it, on his day he was unstoppable

18-03-2018, 07:04 PM
Had Craig Brewster stayed a wee bit longer and been as effective as he was subsequently at Dunfermline, he’d make the ‘cult’ squad.
And what about Tony Higgins?

18-03-2018, 10:36 PM
He’s our best left back in the past 20 years. That’s not cult hero.

Best left back I have seen at Hibs (started going in the mid 80s) so bit of a cult hero for me 😎. Would David "Break Some Bones" Farrel count?

19-03-2018, 12:22 AM
Malonga - come back to Easter Road!

Austinho
19-03-2018, 12:31 AM
Conrad Logan is the ultimate unlikely hero. More or less dragged out of the pub, overweight and not played in a year and a half. Turned up for us for a handful of matches, produced a world class display which led to one of our greatest moments in our history, before swiftly found himself unemployed again.

He even has his own music video, which for me cements his place as the ultimate Hibs Cult Hero https://youtu.be/7by4HbKrETg

Ivan Sproule is high on the list. Not a ‘great’ in footballing terms, but an exciting wee player and the hat trick at Ibrox will always have him down as a cult hero.

Amadou Konte, one of the worst players I’ve seen in a Hibs shirt, but got an assist at Tynecastle and scored the goal that sent us into Europe. Cult Hero.

Big Efe Ambrose is shaping up for cult status.

Derek Townsley, Alen Orman (for the unlikeliest of Ibrox screamers), Chic Charnley possibly?

19-03-2018, 12:31 AM
Fabrice Henry

19-03-2018, 10:54 AM
----------------------Logan----------------------------

Jay Shields - Sol Bamba - Zambernardi - Laursen

------------Bartley -------------Jack------------------

--------------------Latapy--------------------------

----------Sodje----Lehmann---Riordan

No sure if Latapy and Riordan can be described us cult or if they fall into legends/icons or what not. Jay Shields was a hero when he halved Hartley which led to a goal. That'd be some team really. Hard as f***!

GreenPJ
19-03-2018, 10:57 AM
Aye definitely. I genuinely can’t think of a Scottish player you’d call a cult hero in my time!

Charnley?

19-03-2018, 11:15 AM
Jorge Claros

19-03-2018, 11:18 AM
Big Maka in goals please.

I defy anyone to identify a more cult hero than the big guy from Chelsea.

I still remember the widespread mockery I was subjected to when my shouts of encouragement went ‘viral’ along the old East... good times.

19-03-2018, 11:21 AM
Big Maka in goals please.

I defy anyone to identify a more cult hero than the big guy from Chelsea.

I still remember the widespread mockery I was subjected to when my shouts of encouragement went ‘viral’ along the old East... good times.

Why did it go viral?

19-03-2018, 11:23 AM
Charnley?

Wee bit before my time but from my limited knowledge of him he’d be a decent shout!

19-03-2018, 11:34 AM
Goram
Duncan
Macnamee
Stanton
Schaedler
Sauzee
Latapy
Smith
Reilly
Baker
Subs
Best
Malonga
Burridge (G)
Blackley
Eric Stevenson
Bobby Thomson

19-03-2018, 11:48 AM
Duncan is the cult right back Bobby with all due respect to the cult hero Arthur ( Nijinsky) Duncan

Tornadoes70
19-03-2018, 11:56 AM
Benny Brazil for his hat trick against Celtic, Joe Tortolano just for being Super Tortolano and Alan Sneddon who ran his heart out up and down the right flank for many a year in front of a sometimes critical North Standing Enclosure.

Three cult heroes in their own ways.

19-03-2018, 12:38 PM
Daniel Andersson

19-03-2018, 12:53 PM
Just had a delayed revelation - Kevin Harper!