View Full Version : Bottlers to bring in 9 new players

14-03-2018, 09:46 AM
Reading Potter plans to bring in 9 new players in the summer. Wow. That's three seasons, three vastly different squads. Reminds me of the continual panic induced rebuilding job we had season after season which ultimately ended in relegation. Not looking good for the pink bottlers.

sauzee=legend
14-03-2018, 09:50 AM
Makes you think Potter has been responsible for all the players.
Clueless at managing, clueless at winning trophies, clueless at spotting a good play..... anyone see a theme here?

Godsahibby
14-03-2018, 09:52 AM
Good chance we might not be far off that either.

14-03-2018, 09:55 AM
Reading Potter plans to bring in 9 new players in the summer. Wow. That's three seasons, three vastly different squads. Reminds me of the continual panic induced rebuilding job we had season after season which ultimately ended in relegation. Not looking good for the pink bottlers.

Must really motivate the players still there, out the door come end of May

14-03-2018, 09:57 AM
Must really motivate the players still there, out the door come end of May

Terry Butcher school of management that

14-03-2018, 09:57 AM
Clueless at managing, clueless at winning trophies, clueless at spotting a good play..... anyone see a theme here?

Thought this too. All those players forced on Cathro in the January window last year was all Potters doing.

sauzee=legend
14-03-2018, 10:00 AM
Maybe he trying to make Budgie skint and shut hearts down!!

14-03-2018, 10:01 AM
If we beat them at Tynie it'll be 12 new players.

14-03-2018, 10:02 AM

If we beat them at Tynecastle Levein wont be in charge next season.

Edit - Maybe we should play for a draw then :greengrin

14-03-2018, 10:07 AM

Aye, he's a twat.

sauzee=legend
14-03-2018, 10:12 AM

Will there be another derby this season? 😉

14-03-2018, 10:14 AM
Will there be another derby this season? 😉

Motherwell have to beat 2 of Celtic, Rangers and Aberdeen so highly likely.

14-03-2018, 10:16 AM
Good chance we might not be far off that either.
For very different reasons though.

KerPlunk
14-03-2018, 10:17 AM
A tactic straight out of the Jabba / Sevco playbook to entice the tramps who have already given up on this season to shell out for next season's ST.
:devil:

14-03-2018, 10:19 AM
Which two do you think will continue to make the starting line up? I personally don't think -on paper or grass or astroturf- any are good enough.

14-03-2018, 10:27 AM
Which two do you think will continue to make the starting line up? I personally don't think -on paper or grass or astroturf- any are good enough.
The problem is that the only one that’s half decent is the goalkeeper, and wants to leave, and why wouldn’t he?

14-03-2018, 10:28 AM

I always judge Hearts on how many of their players i'd have at Hibs. At this moment in time i'd only take Berra and Souttar at a push and neither would be guaranteed starters. Infact they'd probably be squad players.

banchoryhibs
14-03-2018, 10:31 AM
What a great way to motivate his players for the rest of the season. Absolutely the Butcher management model. Hope it has the same effect.

14-03-2018, 10:32 AM
What a great way to motivate his players for the rest of the season. Absolutely the Butcher management model. Hope it has the same effect.

Very similar

14-03-2018, 11:02 AM
They will be losing 8 players minimum in summer anyway.

Keeper - Jon McLaughlin has already said he's moving - will be a loss to them

Aaron Hughes - contract ends in May

Prince Buaben - contract ends in May

Stevie Naismith - contract ends in May

Joaquin Adao - contract ends in May
David Milinkovic - contract ends in May

Demi Mitchell - contract ends in May

Connor Randall - contract ends in May

.................................................. ......

Hibs players have the following players contracts ending in May..

Allan, Maclaren, Dylan, Barker, Kamberi, Rherras, Cammy Bell

McGinn will be the only other player who I feel could move depending if the £££ is right.

Players in BOLD I would definitely keep if possible.

14-03-2018, 11:03 AM
Live from John Colquhoun's office ...

http://www.gifmania.co.uk/Objects-Animated-Gifs/Animated-Toys/Casino/Slot-Machines/Love-Slot-Machine-89327.gif

14-03-2018, 11:06 AM

McGinn will be the only other player who I feel could move depending if the £££ is right.

Allan, Maclaren, Dylan, Barker, Kamberi

4 belong to other clubs and Dylan has been offered more money by Aberdeen (allegedly).

We'd need to spend a fair whack to keep them.

14-03-2018, 11:11 AM

In fairness, they’ve only themselves to blame. Experienced players unable to get a game ahead of 16 yr olds tells them everything. The current Yam squad is woeful and well short of Hibs, so 8 new players sounds about right. Must be costing £££££ though.

Sauzee16
14-03-2018, 11:14 AM
In fairness, they’ve only themselves to blame. Experienced players unable to get a game ahead of 16 yr olds tells them everything. The current Yam squad is woeful and well short of Hibs, so 8 new players sounds about right. Must be costing £££££ though.

A great boost of morale for the young players that have came in and tried their hardest to do a job though.

Potter hasn’t got a clue what he’s doing there evident. Making it up as he goes along.

banarc7062
14-03-2018, 11:16 AM
Maybe he trying to make Budgie skint and shut hearts down!!

Hope this plan is a success. Long may he stay at Jamboland. GGTTH :flag:

14-03-2018, 11:38 AM
They brought in similar numbers last January. Worked well for them...

14-03-2018, 11:47 AM

Unless McGinn signs a new contract, he simply must be sold in the summer at the best price Hibs can get. Letting his contract run down would be bad management by Hibs.

14-03-2018, 12:11 PM
They brought in similar numbers last January. Worked well for them...

Has complete say now and does have to pretend to listen to a manager. His sole brief and aim will be to build a team that can beat the hell out of Hibs. Nothing else matters. The Obsessives could win the Cup, League and CL but would still be bitter, anger infested fuds if they can’t beat Hibs.

Expect a few Ian Black types and ex-Huns.

14-03-2018, 12:14 PM
Live from John Colquhoun's office ...

http://www.gifmania.co.uk/Objects-Animated-Gifs/Animated-Toys/Casino/Slot-Machines/Love-Slot-Machine-89327.gif

What is Levein's cut of the commission?

Mac_17
14-03-2018, 01:14 PM
They will probably bring in 5 or so foreign duds and chuck a load of cash at overate useless players like Lafferty, Naismith and Hughes.

Will be pleasing to see 9 new faces getting pumped at the Derbies next season. :cb

14-03-2018, 01:26 PM

Do European regulations still allow this? I thought they had put strict quotas on trawling. I still think that is Hearts policy. Trawl, see what gets caught in the net, if one or two are worth keeping fine, maybe sell them on for a profit. Ultimately throw the rest back. And if they can add one 'big' name to the catch it will keep the direct debits in place for another year.

14-03-2018, 02:47 PM
ian black on loan from tranent juniors

14-03-2018, 03:14 PM
Allan, Maclaren, Dylan, Barker, Kamberi

4 belong to other clubs and Dylan has been offered more money by Aberdeen (allegedly).

We'd need to spend a fair whack to keep them.

Where are you hearing this? Unless you've got facts, it's another Hibs.net made up rumour that many believe to be fact if enough people repeat it!!

14-03-2018, 04:21 PM
https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/teams/hearts/more-squad-upheaval-at-hearts-under-ann-budge-than-vladimir-romanov-1-4705559/amp?__twitter_impression=true

Budge going through more players each season than Vlad.

14-03-2018, 05:08 PM
As Ma auld granny used to say " wha's payin for this bawheid"

14-03-2018, 05:12 PM
2014/15
1. Morgaro Gomis
2. Prince Buaben
3. James Keatings
4. Alim Ozturk
5. Adam Eckersley
6. Osman Sow
7. Scott Gallacher
8. Neil Alexander
9. Genero Zeefuik
10. Soufian El Hassnaoui
11. Miguel Pallardo
12. Kenny Anderson
13. Lee Hollis
14. Bryn Halliwell

2015/16
15. Blazej Augustyn
16. Arnaud Djoum
17. Juwon Oshaniwa
18. Igor Rossi
19. Juanma Delgado
20. Gavin Reilly
21. Don Cowie
22. Danny Swanson
23. John Souttar
24. Abiola Dauda
25. Dario Zanatta

2016/17
26. Alexandros Tziolis
27. Aaron Hughes
28. Perry Kitchen
29. Tasos Avlonitis
30. Viktor Noring
31. Choulay
32. Krystian Nowak
33. Bjorn Johnsen
34. Dylan Bikey
35. Nikolay Todorov
36. Andraz Struna
37. Lennard Sowah
38. Esmael Goncalves
39. Malaury Martin
40. Conor Sammon
41. Faycal Rherras
42. Robbie Muirhead
43. Tony Watt

2017/18
44. Jon McLaughlin
45. Michael Smith
46. Ashley Smith-brown
47. Christophe Berra
48. Kyle Lafferty
49. Manuel Milinkovic
50. Connor Randall
51. Ross Callachan
52. Cole Stockton
53. Rafal Grzelak
54. Steven Naismith
55. Joaquin Adao
56. Danny Amankwaa

Found this on kickback. Their signings since 2014. Wonder how ours compares?

14-03-2018, 05:25 PM
Would be 57 unless am not seeing the boy Mitchell.

14-03-2018, 06:26 PM
2014/15
1. Morgaro Gomis
2. Prince Buaben
3. James Keatings
4. Alim Ozturk
5. Adam Eckersley
6. Osman Sow
7. Scott Gallacher
8. Neil Alexander
9. Genero Zeefuik
10. Soufian El Hassnaoui
11. Miguel Pallardo
12. Kenny Anderson
13. Lee Hollis
14. Bryn Halliwell

2015/16
15. Blazej Augustyn
16. Arnaud Djoum
17. Juwon Oshaniwa
18. Igor Rossi
19. Juanma Delgado
20. Gavin Reilly
21. Don Cowie
22. Danny Swanson
23. John Souttar
24. Abiola Dauda
25. Dario Zanatta

2016/17
26. Alexandros Tziolis
27. Aaron Hughes
28. Perry Kitchen
29. Tasos Avlonitis
30. Viktor Noring
31. Choulay
32. Krystian Nowak
33. Bjorn Johnsen
34. Dylan Bikey
35. Nikolay Todorov
36. Andraz Struna
37. Lennard Sowah
38. Esmael Goncalves
39. Malaury Martin
40. Conor Sammon
41. Faycal Rherras
42. Robbie Muirhead
43. Tony Watt

2017/18
44. Jon McLaughlin
45. Michael Smith
46. Ashley Smith-brown
47. Christophe Berra
48. Kyle Lafferty
49. Manuel Milinkovic
50. Connor Randall
51. Ross Callachan
52. Cole Stockton
53. Rafal Grzelak
54. Steven Naismith
55. Joaquin Adao
56. Danny Amankwaa

2014/15
1. David Gray
2. Farid El Alagui
3. Scott Allan
4. Liam Fontaine
5. Dominique Malonga
6. Franck Dja Djedje
7. Tomas Cerny
8. Fraser Fyvie
9. Aaron Scott
10. Mark Oxley
11. Matthew Kennedy
12. Dylan McGeouch
13. Jake Sinclair
14. Martin Boyle
15. Keith Watson

2015/16
16. James Keatings
17. Dan Carmichael
18. Martin Boyle
19. Mark Oxley
20. Antonio Reguero
21. Marvin Bartley
22. John McGinn
23. Dylan McGeouch
24. Darren McGregor
25. Jamie Insall
26. Adam Eckersley
27. Chris Dagnall
28. Kevin Thomson
29. Otso Virtanen
30. Conrad Logan
31. Liam Henderson
32. Islam Feruz
33. Henri Anier
34. Nikas Gunnarsson
35. Anthony Stokes

2016/17
36. Grant Holt
37. Ross Laidlaw
38. Brian Graham
39. Neal Eardley
40. Chris Humphrey
41. Brian McLean
42. Ofir Marciano
43. Andrew Shinnie
44. Kris Commons
45. Efe Ambrose

2017/18
46. Danny Swanson
47. Simon Murray
48. Efe Ambrose
49. Ofir Marciano
50. Steven Whittaker
51. Deivydas Matulevicius
52. Vykintas Slivka
53. Anthony Stokes
54. Brandon Barker
55. Scott Bain
56. Jamie Maclaren
57. Faycal Rherras
58. Florian Kamberi
59. Scott Allan
60. Cammy Bell

14-03-2018, 06:28 PM
2014/15
1. Morgaro Gomis
2. Prince Buaben
3. James Keatings
4. Alim Ozturk
5. Adam Eckersley
6. Osman Sow
7. Scott Gallacher
8. Neil Alexander
9. Genero Zeefuik
10. Soufian El Hassnaoui
11. Miguel Pallardo
12. Kenny Anderson
13. Lee Hollis
14. Bryn Halliwell

2015/16
15. Blazej Augustyn
16. Arnaud Djoum
17. Juwon Oshaniwa
18. Igor Rossi
19. Juanma Delgado
20. Gavin Reilly
21. Don Cowie
22. Danny Swanson
23. John Souttar
24. Abiola Dauda
25. Dario Zanatta

2016/17
26. Alexandros Tziolis
27. Aaron Hughes
28. Perry Kitchen
29. Tasos Avlonitis
30. Viktor Noring
31. Choulay
32. Krystian Nowak
33. Bjorn Johnsen
34. Dylan Bikey
35. Nikolay Todorov
36. Andraz Struna
37. Lennard Sowah
38. Esmael Goncalves
39. Malaury Martin
40. Conor Sammon
41. Faycal Rherras
42. Robbie Muirhead
43. Tony Watt

2017/18
44. Jon McLaughlin
45. Michael Smith
46. Ashley Smith-brown
47. Christophe Berra
48. Kyle Lafferty
49. Manuel Milinkovic
50. Connor Randall
51. Ross Callachan
52. Cole Stockton
53. Rafal Grzelak
54. Steven Naismith
55. Joaquin Adao
56. Danny Amankwaa

At the very outside 6 of whom are likely to be there at the end of the season.

It takes me back to the halcyon days of the Calderwood, Fenlon & Butcher triumvirate and we all know how well that worked out!

steelendhibs
14-03-2018, 06:39 PM
Has complete say now and does have to pretend to listen to a manager. His sole brief and aim will be to build a team that can beat the hell out of Hibs. Nothing else matters. The Obsessives could win the Cup, League and CL but would still be bitter, anger infested fuds if they can’t beat Hibs.

Expect a few Ian Black types and ex-Huns.

How much money would a successful team with mcginn, mcgeough and Allan bring in through gate receipts, more live TV games, cup runs, European qualification, and prize money? There are different ways to bring in income. Plus, if reports are to be believed, we would lose a fair percentage of any fee we do get in for mcginn. One for the bean counters!!! I have no idea what the best outcome for Hibs is, just posing a different way of looking at things.

14-03-2018, 06:50 PM
Reading Potter plans to bring in 9 new players in the summer.

And with that story coming out, who’s betting their seasons go on sale within the next week :cb

14-03-2018, 06:58 PM
For very different reasons though.
But same end result, rebuild.

14-03-2018, 07:00 PM
I take it that the bulk of their squad will now have their agents actively seeking out deals for them away from Hearts.

Why bust your gut when you could get injured, and be left out of contract without a club come May?

I can only think Levein is pandering to the masses to keep the cash rolling in, but an unintended consequence could well be a reduced effort by the present squad, thus reducing fan enthusiasm, thus reducing income, which means signing 9 new players is pie in the sky.

Pleasing, unless Annie digs deep (unlikely) , or, much more likely, FOH contributions again diverted from their original intention to repay Budgie, who will go on collecting 6% on the outstanding amount.

You couldn't make this up.

andybev1
15-03-2018, 02:35 AM
Hibs have the following players contracts ending in May..

[/FONT][/COLOR]

Spot on - I think if we do manage to somehow keep those players in bold, with a few additional clever summer signings, we could do great things next season.

Eaststandee
15-03-2018, 03:36 AM
32. Islam Feruz

This guy is still contracted to Chelsea? Unreal.

He's played a whopping 20 games at 6 different clubs.

15-03-2018, 05:51 AM
A tactic straight out of the Jabba / Sevco playbook to entice the tramps who have already given up on this season to shell out for next season's ST.
:devil:

They aren't going to sign nine new players it's hertz way of leaking their exciting plans when in reality they are very skint. Expect more exciting Liverpool reserve players and more players like Don Cowie. He's a massive job turning that Team around. Their recruitment policy is an utter shambles but that seems to be the natural order of things down Gorgie way.

15-03-2018, 06:04 AM
How much money would a successful team with mcginn, mcgeough and Allan bring in through gate receipts, more live TV games, cup runs, European qualification, and prize money? There are different ways to bring in income. Plus, if reports are to be believed, we would lose a fair percentage of any fee we do get in for mcginn. One for the bean counters!!! I have no idea what the best outcome for Hibs is, just posing a different way of looking at things.

I don't know why hibs fans worry every season about players going. It happens all the time whereby guys like Cummings can make four or five times at English championship clubs. We lost Scotty but we still won the cup. We sold Stokesy and haven't done too badly. We may well lose mcginn and mcgeoch but suspect that we might not sell sjm if Dylan leaves. Lenny has shown with the loans of kamberi and mclaren that the recruitment is working well. I'd be more worried of losing the front two as they have made a huge difference to us. Let's just wait and see what the summer brings and should sjm go it gives us a good deal of money to help bring in a replacement. Let's just enjoy this team in the moment.

15-03-2018, 07:09 AM
Do 8 of 9 players need to come from the same agency run by John Colquhoun?

15-03-2018, 09:35 AM

Unfortunately “How much” question is the one that brought Rangers down all together while bringing Hearts, Dundee, Dundee Utd, Motherwell, Dunfermline and Livingston, to name but a few, to their knees. Painful progress though it might have been, I am much more sold on the slow burner that is the Hibs model. The club have a clear stated intention to make it to these higher levels we all want but is doing it within the means of the finances.
We have a team on the park right now that’s as entertaining as any I have seen in fifty years and we should enjoy thebplayers we have at this time. But for the first time in those fifty plus years we have a succession panning structure in the club that seems it may just be capable of replacing like for like as players and staff move on.
In Leeann and Rod we, or certainly I, trust.

Sergio sledge
15-03-2018, 10:05 AM
https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/teams/hearts/more-squad-upheaval-at-hearts-under-ann-budge-than-vladimir-romanov-1-4705559/amp?__twitter_impression=true

Budge going through more players each season than Vlad.

As far as I can tell, 71 players have made appearances for Hibs in the same time period. 17 more have been listed in the squad but not made a first team appearance (including 9 sub/youth goalies).

15-03-2018, 10:07 AM
2014/15
1. David Gray
2. Farid El Alagui
3. Scott Allan
4. Liam Fontaine
5. Dominique Malonga
6. Franck Dja Djedje
7. Tomas Cerny
8. Fraser Fyvie
9. Aaron Scott
10. Mark Oxley
11. Matthew Kennedy
12. Dylan McGeouch
13. Jake Sinclair
14. Martin Boyle
15. Keith Watson

2015/16
16. James Keatings
17. Dan Carmichael
18. Martin Boyle
19. Mark Oxley
20. Antonio Reguero
21. Marvin Bartley
22. John McGinn
23. Dylan McGeouch
24. Darren McGregor
25. Jamie Insall
26. Adam Eckersley
27. Chris Dagnall
28. Kevin Thomson
29. Otso Virtanen
30. Conrad Logan
31. Liam Henderson
32. Islam Feruz
33. Henri Anier
34. Nikas Gunnarsson
35. Anthony Stokes

2016/17
36. Grant Holt
37. Ross Laidlaw
38. Brian Graham
39. Neal Eardley
40. Chris Humphrey
41. Brian McLean
42. Ofir Marciano
43. Andrew Shinnie
44. Kris Commons
45. Efe Ambrose

2017/18
46. Danny Swanson
47. Simon Murray
48. Efe Ambrose
49. Ofir Marciano
50. Steven Whittaker
51. Deivydas Matulevicius
52. Vykintas Slivka
53. Anthony Stokes
54. Brandon Barker
55. Scott Bain
56. Jamie Maclaren
57. Faycal Rherras
58. Florian Kamberi
59. Scott Allan
60. Cammy Bell

You can't count, Anthony Stokes, Efe Ambrose and Scott Allan twice - that's cheating :wink:

15-03-2018, 10:56 AM
Modern football is totally radge. :confused:

15-03-2018, 11:23 AM
You can't count, Anthony Stokes, Efe Ambrose and Scott Allan twice - that's cheating :wink:

You can when they initially sign on loan and then make the deal permanent. :wink:

15-03-2018, 11:29 AM
Spot on - I think if we do manage to somehow keep those players in bold, with a few additional clever summer signings, we could do great things next season.

I wonder if we'll try and get Barker back on another season long loan. I hope so.

15-03-2018, 12:06 PM
I wonder if we'll try and get Barker back on another season long loan. I hope so.

I hope so as well. There is definitely potential there although he still lacks a bit of end product. He is def not going to playing for Man City next season so I suppose it depends on if they think we are the right place for him next season.