View Full Version : Hearts Players You've Liked

14-03-2018, 01:25 AM
1. Larry Kingston - for his wage theft activities.

2. Robbo - HOH rally in defiance of Mercer

3. Kenny Garland for keeping the score down on New Years Day 1973, ensuring a competitive fixture.

HibeeHibernian4
14-03-2018, 01:29 AM
Ross Callachan for his front post marking the other week :greengrin

wearehibernian
14-03-2018, 01:49 AM
1. Levein - Just keeps giving, keeping us all extremely happy in the process!

2. Robbo - HOH rally in defiance of Mercer - fair play to him!

3. Mikey Stewart - he used to be a Jambo but he's alright now!

4. Now I'm really struggling...

14-03-2018, 01:57 AM
Er, nane

14-03-2018, 07:07 AM
Jim Cruikshank, a true gentleman and all round good guy. RIP

14-03-2018, 07:09 AM
James Keatings

Faycal Rherras

14-03-2018, 07:11 AM
Is this a trick question?

14-03-2018, 07:14 AM
Jim Brown

14-03-2018, 07:15 AM
Never minded Callum Paterson as he was year below me. Played in the same local team as him in our younger days. Now he's scoring for fun down in England and I can't run the length of a pitch without wanting to spew..

14-03-2018, 07:21 AM
Donald Park - for services to Hibs (and I've known him since I was a kid).
Donald Ford - a real gent.
Robbo

14-03-2018, 07:22 AM
John Robertson.

Scored for fun against us, but I can't help but have admiration for how he stood with us against the Fat Tory Bstard Mercer in 1990.

14-03-2018, 07:24 AM
Danny Swanson

14-03-2018, 07:25 AM
Gordon Smith

14-03-2018, 07:28 AM
Just wee Robbo for me. Will never forget how he stood with us at our hour of need.

Hibs1969
14-03-2018, 07:32 AM
Peter Marinello

hibbydoug
14-03-2018, 07:34 AM
1. Larry Kingston - for his wage theft activities.

2. Robbo - HOH rally in defiance of Mercer

3. Kenny Garland for keeping the score down on New Years Day 1973, ensuring a competitive fixture.Ralph Callachan, when he played for us.

A cultured player, and scored some memorable goals, including a mazy dribble through the Dundee defence in a 5-2 win in 79.

Sent from my Moto G Play using Tapatalk

14-03-2018, 07:34 AM

And Ralphy of course.

14-03-2018, 07:46 AM
Ross Callachan for his front post marking the other week :greengrin

And gave us a decent song to sing

14-03-2018, 07:48 AM
Many of the above but add
Alan Gordon
Willie Hamilton
Gordon Marshall

14-03-2018, 08:05 AM
Nathan Duin

McSwanky
14-03-2018, 08:19 AM
Always quite liked Antti Niemi, although I'll never forgive him for having such a good game on a certain day in October 2000. Could have been double figures otherwise...

14-03-2018, 08:25 AM
Cruickshank.
That's it.

14-03-2018, 08:26 AM
Never minded Callum Paterson as he was year below me. Played in the same local team as him in our younger days. Now he's scoring for fun down in England and I can't run the length of a pitch without wanting to spew..

I’ve only really ever heard good things about Paterson off the pitch to be fair.

confused
14-03-2018, 08:28 AM
Willie Hamilton, Alan Gordon,

14-03-2018, 08:31 AM
Robertson. Was in the Usher Hall that night going against the man who paid his wages which isn't forgotten. Spoke football with him in a pub once and was complimentary about Hibs. A real gent.

Callum Paterson seems alright. Good player who has a big future ahead of him, glad he's moved on.

14-03-2018, 08:35 AM
Jason Cummings

Sauzee16
14-03-2018, 09:00 AM
Parky and JC.

14-03-2018, 09:04 AM
Always quite liked Antti Niemi, although I'll never forgive him for having such a good game on a certain day in October 2000. Could have been double figures otherwise...

I’ve never understood how he never got a call up for Scotland.

14-03-2018, 09:06 AM
Liked Jim Cruickshank as a person

Liked and respected Alan Gordon, John Robertson and Donald Ford.

Of the ones I've seen who had a reasonably long spell as Hearts players, that's probably it.

Doctor football has given us some magic moments and whilst I don't think you can apply hate to people you don't actually know or who haven't done bad things to you personally, he seems a hard guy to like.

therealgavmac
14-03-2018, 09:07 AM

Cause he was finished.....

14-03-2018, 09:07 AM

Too old:aok:

The_Sauz
14-03-2018, 09:18 AM
Gordon Smith

Dan Sarf
14-03-2018, 10:13 AM
Gordon Smith

14-03-2018, 10:15 AM
Chillian guy that was on the sick and robbed them blind, also got sold for millions in Italy when hearts let him go. Beautiful😂😁🤙🏻

14-03-2018, 10:27 AM
Jamie MacDonald, really top guy. Helps he threw a goal in for us at Easter road recently!

14-03-2018, 10:31 AM
Too old:aok:

Never gets old more like.

Sauzee16
14-03-2018, 10:32 AM
Chillian guy that was on the sick and robbed them blind, also got sold for millions in Italy when hearts let him go. Beautiful😂😁🤙🏻

Didn’t he play for Inter Milan too? I can’t remember his name but he almost scored the goal of the WC to knock out Brazil last time round also.

14-03-2018, 10:35 AM

He's a machine. Also a very good player. I reckon he's going to make them a lot of money with the sell on.

14-03-2018, 10:37 AM
Anti Niemi :agree:

14-03-2018, 11:30 AM
I liked the Hearts team of the late 50s and early 60s.Mackay and Cumming were ferociously hard but fair.When Mackay left and Andy Bowman came in the difference was noticeable.He kicked everything that moved .

14-03-2018, 11:34 AM

Never met him but always thought he was a great keeper. Unfortunately!

14-03-2018, 11:35 AM

Forgot about that Kidd-like legend. Wish I could remember his name though.

14-03-2018, 11:36 AM
Got to love the entire 1986 League and Cup Double winning team.

What's that you say?

14-03-2018, 11:37 AM
He's a machine. Also a very good player. I reckon he's going to make them a lot of money with the sell on.

I don't think they get a sell-on. Didn't he refuse a new contract and they got a development fee? That would put him higher in my estimation.

I always had a soft spot for Henry Smith and his legendary ability to drop a clanger in big games.

14-03-2018, 11:38 AM
Gordon Marshall
Donald Park
Willie Hamilton
Gordon Smith
Thompson Allan
Ralph Callachan
Darren Jackson
Mikey Stewart

EastThomasSTboy
14-03-2018, 11:52 AM
Wee Robbo, as he's just a good guy. Ditto Donald Park, as I have given some stick over the years, especially at the Academy.
Shevlane, Alan Gordon,.........Cruikshank, even liked Busby for his Bustling style of play.
Of the modern lot, Neil Berry and Niemi.

Thats about it.

GGTTH.http://www.hibs.net/images/icons/icon12.png

wallpaperman
14-03-2018, 12:20 PM
Of the modern lot, Neil Berry and Niemi.

Thats about it.

GGTTH.http://www.hibs.net/images/icons/icon12.png

Neil Berry was a thug. Disgusting assault on Paul Wright in a derby that kept him out for a while. One of the worst 'tackles' I ever remember witnessing.

14-03-2018, 12:27 PM

Pinilla?

14-03-2018, 12:41 PM
Mikey Stewart
Callum Paterson

14-03-2018, 02:19 PM
Gordon Smith

.... and Bobby Johnstone.

Also,
Dave McKay
Alex Young

14-03-2018, 02:25 PM
Alfie Conn as he was the better halfs Grandad

14-03-2018, 02:51 PM
Pinilla?

Yep, Mauricio Pinilla

Crazyhorse
14-03-2018, 03:54 PM
Just wee Robbo for me. Will never forget how he stood with us at our hour of need.

Indeed Wee Robbo for me too.

I also have a soft spot for Malaury Martin ... how much is he on per week?

14-03-2018, 05:01 PM

Also,
Dave McKay
Alex Young
I’ll bite.Bobby Johnstone never played for Hearts.

wallpaperman
14-03-2018, 05:44 PM
I don't think they get a sell-on. Didn't he refuse a new contract and they got a development fee? That would put him higher in my estimation

If I remember correctly the player himself insisted on a sell on clause, which I guess is quite noble of him when he had no need to do that, but be highly annoying if he moves on for a large fee. 15% was quoted at the time I think.

14-03-2018, 06:02 PM
Malaury Martin.

14-03-2018, 06:11 PM
Like is a difficult word to be used in connection to them but if I had to mention one it would be Robbo. There's a few I've respected over the years though.

14-03-2018, 06:43 PM
I’ll bite.Bobby Johnstone never played for Hearts.

You're quite correct, A.H. My mistake. Apologies.
Fwiw, he was originally a Hearts supporter though.

14-03-2018, 08:21 PM
Alfie Conn as he was the better halfs GrandadYou've got a choice of 2 [emoji16]

Sent from my SM-A510F using Tapatalk

14-03-2018, 08:39 PM
Tommy Walker, Jimmy Wardhaugh.

14-03-2018, 08:46 PM
Young squad player Andy Irving lives round the corner from me. Made his debut v Ross County.
Nice laddie but always been a wee Sparryheid, was on loan at Berwick. Hope he makes it. Preferably with another side though.

14-03-2018, 09:13 PM
Peter Cormack

CropleyisGod
14-03-2018, 10:36 PM
Never met him but always thought he was a great keeper. Unfortunately!

He never topped his performance on 1st January 1973 though...

14-03-2018, 10:36 PM
]Robertson. Was in the Usher Hall that night going against the man who paid his wages which isn't forgotten[/B]. Spoke football with him in a pub once and was complimentary about Hibs. A real gent.

Callum Paterson seems alright. Good player who has a big future ahead of him, glad he's moved on.

I remember that night too, as the realisation that it really was him went round, the applause/cheering just getting louder and louder - I swore that night to never bad-mouth him ever again and I've stuck to it ever since !.

14-03-2018, 11:02 PM
He never topped his performance on 1st January 1973 though...Ken Garland?

hibbie02
14-03-2018, 11:05 PM
Donald Ford, as he was a proper player and had full respect.
Jim Cruickshank for the same reasons.
Wee fat Robbo, because he was a Hibbie and a professional. God that hurts!

Tee rest can ***** off!

14-03-2018, 11:25 PM
Never liked Micheal Stewart in his playing days, thought he was an arrogant wee mouthpiece with a bad temper. However, actually quite like him as a pundit. Comes across quite knowledgeable and isn't scared to voice his opinion.

Oh and he joins us in thinking Levein is a fud :greengrin

Santa Cruz
14-03-2018, 11:49 PM
Most of their current team😀

14-03-2018, 11:59 PM
I'll say it quietly with a tin hat strapped on but - Paul Hartley.

A very good player who was a revelation in central midfield. Always liked him playing for Scotland and he seems a decent enough guy as well.

:tin hat: - there's my hat

15-03-2018, 12:22 AM
David Gray

cocteautwin
15-03-2018, 12:31 AM
The current bunch of wage thieves and financial drainers need a mention. Let’s hope they scrape in to top six so we can really show our admiration with a solid pumping next time we meet.

15-03-2018, 12:39 AM
Gordon Smith

Willie Hamilton

Ralph Callaghan

Willie Ormond ( manager )

Jason Cummings

Alan Gordon

Roy Barry

15-03-2018, 08:03 AM

Also,
Dave McKay
Alex Young

Did Bobby Johnstone play for Hearts?

15-03-2018, 08:38 AM

A very good player who was a revelation in central midfield. Always liked him playing for Scotland and he seems a decent enough guy as well.

Didn’t like him when he played for Hearts for obvious reasons but he seems a decent guy and was a handy player.

15-03-2018, 08:39 AM
The current bunch of wage thieves and financial drainers need a mention. Let’s hope they scrape in to top six so we can really show our admiration with a solid pumping next time we meet.

Yup. I have no problem with any Hearts player that has played for them for the last year and a half. :greengrin

15-03-2018, 09:46 AM
Did Bobby Johnstone play for Hearts?

See post #58

15-03-2018, 10:02 AM

FWIW I agree.

I always have a grudging respect for a player who does his talking on the park without resorting to gestures or silly nonsense.

We let him go, he improved at St Johnstone when played in the correct position and went on to be a superb player for Hearts.

My mate played with him at Hamilton youths and said he was a quality central midfielder back then and was surprised he'd been turned into a winger.

I actually thought he did ok for us, I was sad to see him go and wanted to see him get an opportunity in central midfield based on what my mate had told me.

So when he did well for Hearts there was always a horrible feeling of what could have been if he'd stayed with us, and I could never find it in me to dislike him.

Especially when he put in that superb shift for Scotland in Paris (although he may have been at Celtic by then).

15-03-2018, 10:13 AM
See post #58

Ok was just working my way through threadl.