View Full Version : Tonight’s games

13-03-2018, 06:06 PM
Presuming we’re all wanting Aberdeen to beat Killie tonight in the cup. Would make Hibs qualification for Europe another step nearer

13-03-2018, 06:34 PM
Presuming we’re all wanting Aberdeen to beat Killie tonight in the cup. Would make Hibs qualification for Europe another step nearer

I honestly think we're now going to qualify for Europe through our league position. We're coming into form at the right time.

I would probably want Aberdeen to win though, from the point of view of it keeps them occupied on something other than the league so it may help us to sneak ahead of them.

13-03-2018, 06:37 PM
Killie win. Don't want Aberdeen financially strengthened by a semi final including both the ugly sisters

13-03-2018, 06:39 PM
I honestly think we're now going to qualify for Europe through our league position. We're coming into form at the right time.

I would probably want Aberdeen to win though, from the point of view of it keeps them occupied on something other than the league so it may help us to sneak ahead of them.
So you think we’re a stick on for at worse 3rd now?

13-03-2018, 06:42 PM
So you think we’re a stick on for at worse 3rd now?

I think so. I might be getting a wee bit carried away but I think we can do it. Aberdeen have had a bit of a mini slump recently whereas we look very strong. I really fancy us to finish the season well.

13-03-2018, 06:47 PM
Personally want Killie to absolutely destroy Aberdeen, the more goals the better

13-03-2018, 06:52 PM
Mon the Sheep. Bettering our chances in Europe on two fronts. More games they have the better for league tiredness. Also more chance of 4th place gettinginto Europe. It’s win win really.

13-03-2018, 06:54 PM
aberdeen are due a result

Dunfy 1 Caley 0

Q.o.s 1 dundee utd 0

13-03-2018, 06:58 PM
How come Aberdeen v Killie game is not on TV?

Ricky Bobby
13-03-2018, 06:59 PM
Sevilla looking like they have a goal in them.

13-03-2018, 07:08 PM
I want a Killie win

SJNB Hibby
13-03-2018, 07:10 PM
Arabs losing
As it stands they're out of the playoff places (albeit with games in hand)
Heck of a tailspin thpugh

13-03-2018, 07:10 PM
arabs equalise 1-1

13-03-2018, 07:15 PM
Lukaku looks like a Sunday league player.

13-03-2018, 07:16 PM
Arabs losing
As it stands they're out of the playoff places (albeit with games in hand)
Heck of a tailspin though

I see they've equalised, but yes their demise has been pretty spectacular and the Pars are also creeping up behind them. If they miss out on the play-offs it's hard to see how they can avoid going part-time. Csaba was a strange appointment.

Are Stanton, Keatings and Fyvie in the team these days?

Ricky Bobby
13-03-2018, 07:17 PM
Lukaku looks like a Sunday league player.

Man U looking a pretty ordinary team. Sevilla should be starting to fancy this.

Ricky Bobby
13-03-2018, 07:18 PM
I see they've equalised, but yes their demise has been pretty spectacular and the Pars are also creeping up behind them. If they miss out on the play-offs it's hard to see how they can avoid going part-time. Csaba was a strange appointment.

Keating's and Fyvie are injured. Sam has been one of their few bright sparks this season from what I have seen.

13-03-2018, 07:21 PM
Aston ****ing Villa! I hate gambling.

13-03-2018, 07:23 PM

Sky, who have the rights on all replays, decided not to air it.

13-03-2018, 07:23 PM

I had assumed it was on as well. Must be because it’s a champions league night?

13-03-2018, 07:25 PM
I had assumed it was on as well. Must be because it’s a champions league night?

Rule isn’t in place anymore.

SJNB Hibby
13-03-2018, 07:27 PM
Keating's and Fyvie are injured. Sam has been one of their few bright sparks this season from what I have seen.

Stanton started tonight

13-03-2018, 07:30 PM
Did anyone see the penalty claim in the Man Utd game? Very similar to the one we were penalised for at rugby park.

13-03-2018, 07:32 PM
Did anyone see the penalty claim in the Man Utd game? Very similar to the one we were penalised for at rugby park.
Aye Utd could be one up if Kevin Clancy was the ref. Poor game so far. I think I’m off to my kip.

13-03-2018, 07:33 PM

Their new chairman said they'd stay full time even if they stay down. Seriously worrying for them. Scary to think the side they had not so long ago.

13-03-2018, 07:34 PM
Aye Utd could be one up if Kevin Clancy was the ref. Poor game so far. I think I’m off to my kip.

It’s been dreadful. Man Utd are such a dull team to watch.

13-03-2018, 07:35 PM

Sacking Mackinnon was a dumb idea by a terribly run club. Reminds me of us when Petrie was CEO at Hibs.

13-03-2018, 07:35 PM

Because neither team is Celtc or The Rangers

13-03-2018, 07:38 PM
Rule isn’t in place anymore.

Didn’t realise. That makes it worse that hey didn’t show it then.

Chez
13-03-2018, 07:38 PM
0-0 half time

13-03-2018, 08:01 PM
Hideous game to watch. Mourinho snore fest.

13-03-2018, 08:11 PM
Just over 8,900 at Rugby Park
Over 7,000 Killie fans at the game, must be their largest home support for a while

13-03-2018, 08:15 PM
Daryl Duffy scores for Airdrie. Yogis replacement for Stokes....

13-03-2018, 08:16 PM
0-1 Seville

13-03-2018, 08:16 PM
0-1 Seville

Deserved. Man you have been awful.

13-03-2018, 08:18 PM
Hahahaha Jose, i wonder if Frank De Boer will have a wry smile tonight? :greengrin

0-1 Seville

Do united get into the Europa League if they go out😜

murray26
I would have liked to have watched the killie sheep game.. typical sky ignoring the rest of Scottish football..

Just over 8,900 at Rugby Park
Over 7,000 Killie fans at the game, must be their largest home support for a while

Good to see. Just shows what a bit of feel good factor can do

Austinho
Hoping for extra time and penalties to tire Aberdeen out.

Do united get into the Europa League if they go out😜

13-03-2018, 08:19 PM
0-2 Seville

13-03-2018, 08:19 PM
Can't say I'm too impressed with Stevie May, he's not scored for ages for them, admittedly he's not always a starter. Just think that apart from one great season for St Johnstone which got him his move, he's not really done anything. Just my opinion though.

13-03-2018, 08:20 PM
Hahahahahaha...Man U out!!!

SJNB Hibby
13-03-2018, 08:20 PM
0-2 Seville

Well Jose DID say that United are not the best team left in the tournament:agree:

13-03-2018, 08:21 PM
Hahahahahaha...Man U out!!!

5th best team in Spain, beating the cream of English football

13-03-2018, 08:22 PM
Man yoo:hilarious:hilarious:hilarious:hilarious:hilari ous:hilarious:hilarious:hilarious:hilarious:hilari ous

13-03-2018, 08:24 PM
What a sub by Seville! I've watched a bit of Ben Yedder in France, underrated player.

Said it before, Jose Mourinho is just Tony Pullis with a tan hair and money.

BlackSheep
Hoping for extra time and penalties to tire Aberdeen out.

But you still want them to go through, yes...?

13-03-2018, 08:25 PM
1-2 Game on?

13-03-2018, 08:30 PM
Said it before, Jose Mourinho is just Tony Pullis with a tan hair and money.

You're not wrong!

Austinho
13-03-2018, 08:31 PM
But you still want them to go through, yes...?Yeah! Best case scenario is Aberdeen win heroically on penalties to make the semi final and increase our chances of Europe in 4th place. However, they pick up a few niggling injuries, and tiredness and complacency sets in by losing to Dundee to increase our chances of 3rd place. Meanwhile, Kilmarnock’s bitter disappointment galvanises them and spurs them on to victory at Ibrox, increasing our chances of 2nd place. Then Motherwell win the cup anyway. Too much to ask?

13-03-2018, 08:32 PM
Jose on a shoogly peg now, getting booted in the QF is not the way to keep your job, he'll be at PSG next season.

13-03-2018, 08:36 PM
😁Manure Out.

Pleasing 😂

13-03-2018, 08:38 PM
😁Manure Out.

Pleasing 😂

Wish all the English teams were out to be honest

13-03-2018, 08:39 PM
Killie v Dons ended 0-0. Extra time and even maybe penalties

13-03-2018, 08:39 PM
Did I hear that right? Crocker saying Sorrow sorrow for Uniteds loss? Thought he was going to break into SoL for a minute.:greengrin

13-03-2018, 08:41 PM
Wish all the English teams were out to be honest

They may well be after the next round but for now at least two in the next round.

BlackSheep
13-03-2018, 08:43 PM
Yeah! Best case scenario is Aberdeen win heroically on penalties to make the semi final and increase our chances of Europe in 4th place. However, they pick up a few niggling injuries, and tiredness and complacency sets in by losing to Dundee to increase our chances of 3rd place. Meanwhile, Kilmarnock’s bitter disappointment galvanises them and spurs them on to victory at Ibrox, increasing our chances of 2nd place. Then Motherwell win the cup anyway. Too much to ask?

Lol.... ideal really 😂👍🏻

BlackSheep
13-03-2018, 08:45 PM
Just realising... the Brentford v Cardiff game is live on Sky sports.... thought no other domestic games were allowed to be televised during champions league?

We have a quarter final replay being played in Scotland and no coverage!

13-03-2018, 08:46 PM
1-0 Killie

13-03-2018, 08:46 PM
Goal for Killie

13-03-2018, 08:50 PM
Just realising... the Brentford v Cardiff game is live on Sky sports.... thought no other domestic games were allowed to be televised during champions league?

That's no longer the rule

13-03-2018, 08:50 PM

Seemingly that rule is no more. The Killie game has, by all accounts, been dire anyway.

Man U giving me a good chuckle though.

Austinho
13-03-2018, 08:52 PM
1-0 KillieBollocks. Just have to hope Celtic win the cup now. Not ready to see NewCo win anything of note.

13-03-2018, 08:53 PM
Penalty to Aberdeen

1-1 Mclean

1-1

13-03-2018, 08:54 PM
A team outside the top 3 is going to be in the final now so getting third is even more important. Don’t want to be sweating on a Euro place a week after the season is finished. Doesn’t help preparation.
Getting beat tonight might badly knock Aberdeen though, they have not been playing well at all.

BlackSheep
13-03-2018, 08:55 PM
Yeah! Best case scenario is Aberdeen win heroically on penalties to make the semi final and increase our chances of Europe in 4th place. However, they pick up a few niggling injuries, and tiredness and complacency sets in by losing to Dundee to increase our chances of 3rd place. Meanwhile, Kilmarnock’s bitter disappointment galvanises them and spurs them on to victory at Ibrox, increasing our chances of 2nd place. Then Motherwell win the cup anyway. Too much to ask?

Are you some sort of psychic... hope so 😂

1-1

Ffs. Come on the killie pies

A team outside the top 3 is going to be in the final now so getting third is even more important. Don’t want to be sweating on a Euro place a week after the season is finished. Doesn’t help preparation.
Getting beat tonight might badly knock Aberdeen though, they have not been playing well at all.

Spoke to soon. [emoji23]

13-03-2018, 08:56 PM
Bollocks. Just have to hope Celtic win the cup now. Not ready to see NewCo win anything of note.

Or just finish in the top 3

13-03-2018, 09:14 PM
McLean , Shinnie and Logan all miss the semi if Dons win

13-03-2018, 09:14 PM
Penalties at rugby park.

13-03-2018, 09:17 PM
Killie score first pen

13-03-2018, 09:18 PM
Kilmarnock miss their 2nd penalty - 1-1

13-03-2018, 09:18 PM
2-1 Aberdeen

13-03-2018, 09:19 PM
Dons 2-1 up

13-03-2018, 09:19 PM
Kilmarnock miss their 3rd penalty still 2-1 Aberdeen

13-03-2018, 09:20 PM
Aberdeen miss their 3rd penalty still 2-1 Aberdeen

2-2

C’mon Killie.

13-03-2018, 09:21 PM
3-2 Aberdeen

13-03-2018, 09:21 PM
Aberdeen win 3-2 on penalties

13-03-2018, 09:22 PM
Dons through.

13-03-2018, 09:22 PM
Get the passports out lads. We're going on an adventure.

13-03-2018, 09:23 PM
Good. Only need to get Motherwell out now and we're definitely going on a jolly 😁

Assume Steve Clarke will say his team dominated the entire match again?

Pretty pleased Killie are out.

Topographic Hibby
BBC game page about 15 mins behind with updates. Shocking

If Killy had gone through I would have put money on them to win the cup as a bit of interest.

13-03-2018, 09:24 PM
Dons through.

Only Motherwell winning the cup can stop 4th place being a European spot now :greengrin

seanshow
13-03-2018, 09:25 PM
The sheep v well semi will be pretty even now with dons missing three 1st team players.

We are at least getting 4th (imo) Isn't that good enough for europe ? Regardless off what Aberdeen done tonight?

Only Motherwell winning the cup can stop 4th place being a European spot now :greengrin

Tall order, but you never know
Dons got 3 key players suspended for the semi

13-03-2018, 09:28 PM
Only 40 fouls and 9 bookings tonight.Whatever happened to the old blood and thunder cup ties?

13-03-2018, 09:29 PM
Only 40 fouls and 9 bookings tonight.Whatever happened to the old blood and thunder cup ties?

Was that the stats

13-03-2018, 09:32 PM
We are at least getting 4th (imo) Isn't that good enough for europe ? Regardless off what Aberdeen done tonight?

Top 3 plus cup winners. 4th only gets it if one of the top 3 also win the cup.

13-03-2018, 09:32 PM
Bad news for Hibs. Sheep will get bumper pay day for semi and in line for another with final

13-03-2018, 09:33 PM
Bad news for Hibs. Sheep will get bumper pay day for semi and in line for another with final

What's that got to do with hibs?

13-03-2018, 09:35 PM

Think he means they’ll have extra money to spend

13-03-2018, 09:35 PM

They'll be our closest rivals in the next few years id have thought. More money for them is bad news for us when they're sniffing around the likes of McGeough

13-03-2018, 09:38 PM

4th only gets Europe if the cup winners have already qualified for Europe through their league position (i.e. finished in the top 3).

13-03-2018, 09:44 PM
Was that the stats
Yeh.Think it includes extra time.

13-03-2018, 09:46 PM
They'll be our closest rivals in the next few years id have thought. More money for them is bad news for us when they're sniffing around the likes of McGeough

Best scenario is we get 2nd or 3rd and Motherwell win the cup. Aberdeen miss Europe and Rangers have harder chance of getting to group stages.

13-03-2018, 09:47 PM
Top 3 plus cup winners. 4th only gets it if one of the top 3 also win the cup.

4th only gets Europe if the cup winners have already qualified for Europe through their league position (i.e. finished in the top 3).

Gotcha's :aok:

hibbytam
13-03-2018, 09:47 PM

Or a distraction for Aberdeen, might be enough for us to get a few results better than them.
Every cloud and that eh,

13-03-2018, 10:17 PM
Best scenario is we get 2nd or 3rd and Motherwell win the cup. Aberdeen miss Europe and Rangers have harder chance of getting to group stages.

Shirley best scenario is The Thes implode and miss Europe altogether?

13-03-2018, 11:18 PM
Hopefully by the time the semis come round we'll have secured at least 4th and Aberdeen can send us into Europe.

14-03-2018, 06:34 AM
Hopefully by the time the semis come round we'll have secured at least 4th and Aberdeen can send us into Europe.

We'd have to gain 7 more points than Killie over the next 4 games ( they have Rangers, Hamilton twice, and Partick). So I think that's unlikely.

Although even just maintaining the 8 point lead going into the split would set us up very well.

14-03-2018, 08:04 AM
They'll be our closest rivals in the next few years id have thought. More money for them is bad news for us when they're sniffing around the likes of McGeoughI laugh at all this Dylan to Aberdeen chat it's become some sort of .net myth. There is absolutely zero evidence it's true and even if it is who says Dylan wants to go there?? I've honestly not heard or seen it anywhere other than on here. Most post as if it's already a done deal on here. To me it looks like Dylan is keeping his options open till summer

14-03-2018, 08:22 AM
I laugh at all this Dylan to Aberdeen chat it's become some sort of .net myth. There is absolutely zero evidence it's true and even if it is who says Dylan wants to go there?? I've honestly not heard or seen it anywhere other than on here. Most post as if it's already a done deal on here. To me it looks like Dylan is keeping his options open till summer

What about the Dylan to Hearts chat?

14-03-2018, 12:41 PM
What about the Dylan to Hearts chat?

Think that's on the "Comedy Night" thread 😂

Sauzee16
14-03-2018, 12:47 PM

They will have a new stadium to poor ££ into I would imagine.

yonder1875
14-03-2018, 07:17 PM
Forever running out of superlatives for Messi.

14-03-2018, 07:20 PM
Are Chelsea playing tonight as well or is it just Barcelona?

ACLeith
14-03-2018, 07:26 PM
Commentator apologising fir sound problems. Only problem is we can still hear Hoddle 😱

14-03-2018, 07:31 PM
I'm not watching, but from the feed it sounds like Barca have been very good.

Quarterfinalists...

Spain 3 Italy 2 England 2 Germany 1. Be nice to have a Steua Bucharest shaking things up again.

14-03-2018, 07:46 PM
This myth peddled by the English Medja about the'best league in the world' can now surely be put to bed.

Spanish league is a country mile better.

I would argue Italian and German Leagues are better with French league at least on a par. England managed to market their product better but does that make it the best league in the world?

No chance, in my opinion.

Interesting to learn other people's views.

14-03-2018, 07:50 PM
This myth peddled by the English Medja about the'best league in the world' can now surely be put to bed.

I would argue Italian and German Leagues are better with French league at least on a par. England managed to market their product better but does that make it the best league in the world?

I agree apart from your point on the French league. It's miles behind the "big 4" IMO.

14-03-2018, 07:51 PM
Commentator apologising fir sound problems. Only problem is we can still hear Hoddle 😱

:agree::agree::agree:

Way way too much

14-03-2018, 07:55 PM
Alonso= dirty ****** cheat

14-03-2018, 07:56 PM
No penalty, good decision.

14-03-2018, 07:56 PM

It's not a myth peddled by the English media though! It's a statement often made by foreign players when they join teams in the EPL. Like it or not, it's a highly thought of league by professionals.

14-03-2018, 07:59 PM
I agree apart from your point on the French league. It's miles behind the "big 4" IMO.

Correct, with the exception of PSG, the other "top" teams in France would struggle to qualify for the Champions League in England. Their league is nowhere near as strong as England's.

Ryan69
14-03-2018, 08:01 PM
It's not a myth peddled by the English media though! It's a statement often made by foreign players when they join teams in the EPL. Like it or not, it's a highly thought of league by professionals.

Only cause they pay the most,and bang average players are turned into instant millionaires.

14-03-2018, 08:03 PM
Correct, with the exception of PSG, the other "top" teams in France would struggle to qualify for the Champions League in England. Their league is nowhere near as strong as England's.

Monaco knocked Man City out last season did they not.

14-03-2018, 08:06 PM
Players getting a lot more money then singing praises...hmm. Kevin Thomson would definitely agree with you.

14-03-2018, 08:08 PM
He made that look soooo easy... tie over

ACLeith
14-03-2018, 08:09 PM
Forever running out of superlatives for Messi.

And again .... and again .... and again etc etc

14-03-2018, 08:09 PM
Just when chelsea were creating chances barca go up the park and score.

14-03-2018, 08:10 PM
Chelsea have done everything but score.

Messi isn’t human.

14-03-2018, 08:11 PM
we are currently living in the era of the greatest footballer there ever has been and ever will be. the man is a genius, no one comes close.

14-03-2018, 08:18 PM
Chelsea have done everything but score.

Messi isn’t human.

He must be otherwise the yams would have him playing for them along wi all the other robots.

14-03-2018, 08:19 PM
Messi is the greatest of all time. It's not even a debate. Great that the player who comes closest to that, C.Ronaldo, is around at the same time and we get to watch both!

14-03-2018, 08:20 PM
Monaco knocked Man City out last season did they not.

They did however they have since lost Bernardo Silva and Benjamin Mendy (to Manchester City), Tiemoue Bakayoko (to Chelsea) and Kylian Mbappe (to PSG) who were arguably their four best players last season.

I would be surprised if they did that this season.

yonder1875
14-03-2018, 08:21 PM
Stolen from Twitter;

In the last 10 seasons there's been 26 European knock out ties between Spanish and English clubs, the La Liga teams have been victorious on 22 occassions. Reality vs myth.

14-03-2018, 08:21 PM
Messi is the greatest of all time. It's not even a debate. Great that the player who comes closest to that, C.Ronaldo, is around at the same time and we get to watch both!

From a list of present day players agreed, but almost impossible to compare like for like with other generations such as Pele, Maradona or Best etc.

ACLeith
14-03-2018, 08:22 PM
Possession stats much more even than usual. Chelsea far more attempts on goal. For once it's the Barca defence that has stood up to be counted tonight rather than the usual forwards - the genius excepted of course 👍

yonder1875

When people compare Messi and Ronaldo they only usually tend to compare goals scored when in reality Messi is so much more than a goalscorer. Best passer (quite underrated skill of his), dribbler and creator I've ever seen.

Can Messi get a hat trick of goals through the keepers legs.😁

14-03-2018, 08:23 PM
Stolen from Twitter;

In the last 10 seasons there's been 26 European knock out ties between Spanish and English clubs, the La Liga teams have been victorious on 22 occassions. Reality vs myth.

nuff said, end of, FACT :agree:

ACLeith
14-03-2018, 08:24 PM
From a list of present day players agreed, but almost impossible to compare like for like with other generations such as Pele, Maradona or Best etc.

..... and Gordon Smith!

14-03-2018, 08:27 PM
..... and Gordon Smith!

I did not want to go too far back but agree.

14-03-2018, 08:28 PM

I'd argue that players of the modern era are fitter, better technically and tactically which, for me, puts Messi ahead of Best, Pele, Maradonna, etc.

Although I haven't seen any of those players live, and without a doubt they were all amazing players, so like you've pointed out its difficult to properly compare.

ACLeith
14-03-2018, 08:28 PM
8 players through the Barca youth system on the pitch tonight

14-03-2018, 08:31 PM

Sorry can't agree. Maradona is the greatest mot only for his talent but in getting napoleon to win the Italian league and Argentina to win the World Cup. In fact Messi only third best after Pele. Remember he is heavily protected by refs whereas Pele and Maradona took some awful punishment but still shone through it.

14-03-2018, 08:32 PM
Napoleon didn't even play football

14-03-2018, 08:34 PM
I'd argue that players of the modern era are fitter, better technically and tactically which, for me, puts Messi ahead of Best, Pele, Maradonna, etc.

Although I haven't seen any of those players live, and without a doubt they were all amazing players, so like you've pointed out its difficult to properly compare.

Those players played in an era where defenders would literally kick them off the park. The reason why Messi and Ronaldo are destroying goalscoring records is because they have a lot more protection.

14-03-2018, 08:35 PM

Sorry can't agree. Maradona is the greatest mot only for his talent but in getting napoli win the uefa Cup and Argentina to win the World Cup. In fact Messi only third best after Pele. Remember he is heavily protected by refs whereas Pele and Maradona took some awful punishment but still shone through it.

ACLeith
14-03-2018, 08:35 PM

Did he not lose on away goals to Waterloo ?

14-03-2018, 08:36 PM

Obviously they are fitter as they are in any sport but I’m interested that you think they are better technically and tactically.It would be difficult to find any evidence for that.For example over fifty years ago new playing formations were being devised.Nowadays it is a question of tinkering with them.

14-03-2018, 08:36 PM

Admittedly it wasn't his first career choice but I wouldn't say he didn't play any football. Wasn't he with Metz for a while?

14-03-2018, 08:37 PM
8 players through the Barca youth system on the pitch tonight

Who's the 8th?

Pique, Roberto, Busquets, Iniesta, Messi, Pedro, Fabregas and..?

14-03-2018, 08:37 PM

How do you know he didn't. Obviously meant napoli. Changed now.

ACLeith
14-03-2018, 08:39 PM
Who's the 8th?

Pique, Roberto, Busquets, Iniesta, Messi, Pedro, Fabregas and..?
Alba

14-03-2018, 08:39 PM
I am 50 and my choice of the best player I have ever watched is Messi.

14-03-2018, 08:42 PM

Maybe not, but it looks like he had a current mot.

14-03-2018, 08:42 PM
Alba

Ah right never realised he was there as a kid.

ACLeith
14-03-2018, 08:45 PM
Ah right never realised he was there as a kid.

And he must be Scottish with a name like that, no?

14-03-2018, 09:21 PM
They did however they have since lost Bernardo Silva and Benjamin Mendy (to Manchester City), Tiemoue Bakayoko (to Chelsea) and Kylian Mbappe (to PSG) who were arguably their four best players last season.

I would be surprised if they did that this season.

Careful, you're now constructing an argument that ligue 1 is actually quite good :greengrin

angus hibby
14-03-2018, 09:25 PM
Saw the last 10-15 minutes of the Besiktas v Bayern game. Despite losing 8-1 on aggregate, the Besiktas fans were creating an unbelievable atmosphere.

14-03-2018, 10:15 PM
Careful, you're now constructing an argument that ligue 1 is actually quite good :greengrin

5th placed Spanish team played Man U off the park last note. Mess I played Chelski on his own. The best ever,

15-03-2018, 07:32 AM

yeah because they are getting paid millions over the length of the contract, hardly likely to come out and say they are only in the league for the money

15-03-2018, 08:03 AM
Obviously they are fitter as they are in any sport but I’m interested that you think they are better technically and tactically.It would be difficult to find any evidence for that.For example over fifty years ago new playing formations were being devised.Nowadays it is a question of tinkering with them.

The game is played at a much greater pace with superior athletes, this has improved technique generally and especially at the top level. Players performances are also analysed in depth constantly and receive feedback on the role they are asked to play, and are given volumes of info from coaching teams on the role they are asked to perform, down to the letter. This helps nullified opposition players and helps win the the game, that's how they are better tactically.

But you're correct that this is hard to prove, just need to get ourselves a time machine and pitch Barcelona Vs Brazil 1970 and see who wins. I know who my money's on.