View Full Version : You sign Callahan........

sauzee6_2
12-03-2018, 08:13 PM
We sign Effe Ambrose....

Surely I’m not the only one that’s been singing that all day at work today😂😂

Wee Effen Bee
12-03-2018, 08:30 PM
Is that the whole song? Along Albion Road after the game, 6/7 wee laddies (probably in their 20s - I’m older) were giving ‘Mind The Gap’ laldy...on repeat. Brought a smile to load of Hibbies. My favourite song before Friday was the Ibrox rendition of, “Oh Rangers are *****!” Simple but wound up the hordes big time. 😁

12-03-2018, 08:34 PM
Is that the whole song? Along Albion Road after the game, 6/7 wee laddies (probably in their 20s - I’m older) were giving ‘Mind The Gap’ laldy...on repeat. Brought a smile to load of Hibbies. My favourite song before Friday was the Ibrox rendition of, “Oh Rangers are *****!” Simple but wound up the hordes big time. 😁

This is how it feels to be Hibees
This is how it feels to be small
You signed Callachan
We signed Efe Ambrose
Efe Ambrose

12-03-2018, 08:40 PM
We sign Effe Ambrose....

Surely I’m not the only one that’s been singing that all day at work today😂😂

I’ve been singing it all weekend. I like the inspiral carpets song that the tunes been taken from as well - absolute 90s play it fairly regularly.

12-03-2018, 08:43 PM
Paris to Berlin tune

Marvin Bartley
John Mcginn
Dylan Mcgeouch
Stevenson

We cant stop pumping the Hearts
Pumping the Hearts

Martin Boyle
David Gray
Get it up ye Lafferty

We cant stop pumping the Hearts
Pumping the Hearts

12-03-2018, 08:44 PM
What's the tune for the Efe Ambrose/Callachan one?

12-03-2018, 08:45 PM

Inspiral Carpets - this is how it feels

https://youtu.be/J-fX0UbpZls

12-03-2018, 08:46 PM

This is how it feels to be lonely.

12-03-2018, 09:49 PM
I hate that we don't sing it right.

We get it wrong, the same way Celtc fans get it wrong, and it does my head in.

The "Hibees" bit needs to be a bit higher, watch the YouTube video.

We're better than this.

Take a great song and f*** it up.

Am I the only one that gets wound up by this?

12-03-2018, 09:56 PM
I hate that we don't sing it right.

We get it wrong, the same way Celtc fans get it wrong, and it does my head in.

The "Hibees" bit needs to be a bit higher, watch the YouTube video.

We're better than this.

Take a great song and f*** it up.

Am I the only one that gets wound up by this?

It is nowhere near as bad as the way “allez allez au” turned init “alley alley alley oh”. :rolleyes:

12-03-2018, 10:24 PM
Youre not alone, Inspirals tracks should be sung correctly

(Saturn 5)
David Gray, you really were the greatest sight
Stretching out on A summer's day
Hampden, it's calling me back to her

From all the stands, and a pitch full of people raises their hands
All hail the Hibees who walked up to heaven that day

Nevi_SOL
13-03-2018, 06:02 AM
My favourite song at the minute I can’t stop singing in my head is the Martin Boyle song

He’s our starman
Playing on the right
His name is Martin Boyle
And he’s ****ing dynamite

wearethehibs
13-03-2018, 06:36 AM
It is nowhere near as bad as the way “allez allez au” turned init “alley alley alley oh”. :rolleyes:

Dont get me started

13-03-2018, 07:02 AM

Was usually sung in the same style as "row the boat gently down the stream" Terrible. Why cant everyone sing it in time?

13-03-2018, 07:08 AM
You signed Callachan
We signed Efe Ambrose
Efe Ambrose

Cool as ****.

13-03-2018, 07:27 AM

I swear I'll do time if I hear that again.

IncredibleHibee
13-03-2018, 08:00 AM

Sorry are you suggesting allez is pronounced as it’s spelt? Pronouncing the z??? If so that isn’t how it’s pronounced

Callyballybe
13-03-2018, 08:24 AM
My favourite song at the minute I can’t stop singing in my head is the Martin Boyle song

He’s our starman
Playing on the right
His name is Martin Boyle
And he’s ****ing dynamite

Love this as well.

13-03-2018, 08:27 AM
It's all good fun and banter. No spitting required.

13-03-2018, 08:32 AM
Good to see the songs that are more prominent away from home being heard more in Easter Road - becoming hard to keep up though, as just as you familiarise yourself with the words to one, you go to the next away game and there’s another to learn.
Much easier being a Hearts fan .. “H - E - A, R - T - S ....” :yawn2:

SideBurns
13-03-2018, 09:10 AM
You signed Callachan
We signed Efe Ambrose
Efe Ambrose

The one thing I don't really like about it is that "small" and "Ambrose" don't even remotely rhyme.

Can I suggest as an alternative (which nearly rhymes):

This is how it feels to know
that You signed Callachan
We signed Efe Ambrose
Efe Ambrose

Of course, in the likely event that my revised version is never adopted, I'll be happy to keep signing the current song!

13-03-2018, 09:15 AM
I prefer Anti-Hoofbaw's take on Rocket Man for Tam McCourt.

13-03-2018, 10:25 AM
Sorry are you suggesting allez is pronounced as it’s spelt? Pronouncing the z??? If so that isn’t how it’s pronounced

Yeah, I know. :wink:

It's about the stress on the right syllable. We used to be able to do it, here's S43 getting it right:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pZ8omzM37Wc

These days it's turned into a mess and the Allezs are just the English word "alley".

13-03-2018, 10:41 AM

It's about the stress on the right syllable. We used to be able to do it, here's S43 getting it right:

These days it's turned into a mess and the Allezs are just the English word "alley".

This does my head in! Glad i'm not the only one. When we first started singing this 3/4 years back it was brilliant, but somehow we started pronouncing Allez like you say. It's ruined for me now.:grr:

IncredibleHibee
13-03-2018, 10:43 AM

Alley alley alley ooooohhhhh :wink:

13-03-2018, 11:08 AM

Agreed. Can someone (perhaps monsieur AH Baw himself) find that thread and bump it?

13-03-2018, 12:04 PM

Out of interest, how were you wanting it to be pronounced??

With the "z" at the end or something?

13-03-2018, 12:07 PM
Good to see the songs that are more prominent away from home being heard more in Easter Road - becoming hard to keep up though, as just as you familiarise yourself with the words to one, you go to the next away game and there’s another to learn.
Much easier being a Hearts fan .. “H - E - A, R - T - S ....” :yawn2:

And they don't have to remember a whole song.

hughio
13-03-2018, 12:10 PM

What's the beef here?

Sauzee16
13-03-2018, 12:20 PM
And they don't have to remember a whole song.

They’ve won all the honours for the dominoes and darts, there’s not quite a club to compare with the hearts?

13-03-2018, 12:28 PM

See vid above which has it spot on.

13-03-2018, 12:55 PM

Is 'Allez' really pronounced 'Alley'?

13-03-2018, 01:30 PM
The one thing I don't really like about it is that "small" and "Ambrose" don't even remotely rhyme.

Can I suggest as an alternative (which nearly rhymes):

This is how it feels to know
that You signed Callachan
We signed Efe Ambrose
Efe Ambrose

Of course, in the likely event that my revised version is never adopted, I'll be happy to keep signing the current song!
This is how it feels to be hibees
This is how it feels to be so
you signed callachan
we signed EFE Ambrose

13-03-2018, 02:36 PM
This is how it feels to be Jambos,
To have 12 fingers and toes,
You signed Callaghan,
Hibs signed Efe Ambrose.

13-03-2018, 02:51 PM

It is by the French anyway 😋

I mean not quite "alley' but nearer that than pronouncing the "z" put it that way. It's a matter of which consonant to stress but either way the "z" gets chucked in the poubelle!

Clerie Green
13-03-2018, 02:58 PM
Is it ?

the ****** o the toon are the ****** in maroon
or
the boys in maroon are the ****** o the toon
or
The ****** o the toon are the boys in maroon ?

:flag::nlgwa:flag:

13-03-2018, 03:04 PM
Is it ?

the ****** o the toon are the ****** in maroon
or
the boys in maroon are the ****** o the toon
or
The ****** o the toon are the boys in maroon ?

:flag::nlgwa:flag:

The middle one in my experience 😂

13-03-2018, 03:38 PM

More like "allay" as in "allay your suspicion".

13-03-2018, 04:01 PM
This is how it feels to be Jambos,
To have 12 fingers and toes,
You signed Callaghan,
Hibs signed Efe Ambrose.

Anti-hoofbaw
13-03-2018, 04:34 PM

Hibskit man needs a slight tweak to help it scan better if I'm honest.

Anti-hoofbaw
13-03-2018, 04:44 PM
Agreed. Can someone (perhaps monsieur AH Baw himself) find that thread and bump it?

I'll dig it oot :aok:

linlithgowhibbie
13-03-2018, 05:00 PM
They’ve won all the honours for the dominoes and darts, there’s not quite a club to compare with the hearts?

Used to sing "They've won all the honours at dominoes and darts but there's nae other team thats as s***e as the hearts":thumbsup:

Feed McGraw
13-03-2018, 06:10 PM
Inspiral Carpets - this is how it feels

https://youtu.be/J-fX0UbpZls Ha, I thought it was to the tune of " When the red, red robin goes bob, bob, bobbin along" - showing my age big time :greengrin.