View Full Version : The Oscars
04-03-2018, 12:48 PM
Really, WGAF?
04-03-2018, 12:56 PM
Really, WGAF?
I couldn’t agree more. I’d rather watch paint dry.
04-03-2018, 01:12 PM
Really, WGAF?
Utterly at one with you on this. The vastly over paid, being vastly over watched by the vastly over awed.
04-03-2018, 01:17 PM
Yup. Garbage.
04-03-2018, 02:39 PM
I'm a film teacher and my colleagues often ask me "which film do you think will win? Or "what did you think of it this year?"
My answer ranges from "Didn't watch it" to "Not interested" to "No idea and couldn't care less". They are always surprised.
04-03-2018, 08:46 PM
I don't mind the Oscars. I know it's largely an irrelevance, but, although I often disagree with the choices, I'm always interested in who wins what.
So, for those of you who are interested, here are the main nominees;
(My guess is asterisked.)
Best Picture:
“Call Me by Your Name”
“Darkest Hour”
“Dunkirk”
“Get Out”
“Lady Bird”
“Phantom Thread”
“The Post”
“The Shape of Water”;*
“Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri”
Lead Actor:
Timothée Chalamet, “Call Me by Your Name” *
Daniel Day-Lewis, “Phantom Thread”
Daniel Kaluuya, “Get Out”
Gary Oldman, “Darkest Hour”
Denzel Washington, “Roman J. Israel, Esq.”
Lead Actress:
Sally Hawkins, “The Shape of Water” *
Frances McDormand, “Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri”
Margot Robbie, “I, Tonya”
Saoirse Ronan, “Lady Bird”
Meryl Streep, “The Post”
Supporting Actor:
Willem Dafoe, “The Florida Project”
Woody Harrelson, “Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri”
Richard Jenkins, “The Shape of Water”
Christopher Plummer, “All the Money in the World”
Sam Rockwell, “Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri” *
Supporting Actress:
Mary J. Blige, “Mudbound”
Allison Janney, “I, Tonya”
Lesley Manville, “Phantom Thread”
Laurie Metcalf, “Lady Bird”
Octavia Spencer, “The Shape of Water” *
Director:
“Dunkirk,” Christopher Nolan
“Get Out,” Jordan Peele
“Lady Bird,” Greta Gerwig
“Phantom Thread,” Paul Thomas Anderson
“The Shape of Water,” Guillermo del Toro *
I've been wrong before 😁
04-03-2018, 09:12 PM
Lets's have an award thread for the most irrelevant awards show.
My nominees are....
The Oscars
The Grammies
The Baftas
The Emmys
The Soaps <------my tip to win
Feel free to add your choice to the nominees
04-03-2018, 10:22 PM
Lets's have an award thread for the most irrelevant awards show.
My nominees are....
The Oscars
The Grammies
The Baftas
The Emmys
The Soaps <------my tip to win
Feel free to add your choice to the nominees
All award shows are irrelevant.
Just like manager of the month or player of the year.
They're important to the people who they're important to.
Slagging them off is irrelevant too.
05-03-2018, 06:42 AM
I'm a film teacher and my colleagues often ask me "which film do you think will win? Or "what did you think of it this year?"
My answer ranges from "Didn't watch it" to "Not interested" to "No idea and couldn't care less". They are always surprised.
Go for and obscure best foreign film from Chad
I prefer non-English speaking films in the main as thy don’t usually have to conform to the usual formulaic and pressures of Blockbuster films. Although sometimes countries find a bit of a niche and punt out what is expected of them - stories of shocking violence that didn’t end well emerged from Brasil for a while.
05-03-2018, 07:28 AM
3 out of 6.
05-03-2018, 10:25 AM
3 out of 6.
I was expecting Frances McDormand and Alison Janney to get theirs. That is without having seen Shape of Water though.
Surprised Gary Oldman got the nod. Not that he didn't do a decent turn but 'best'?
05-03-2018, 11:33 AM
I was expecting Frances McDormand and Alison Janney to get theirs. That is without having seen Shape of Water though.
Surprised Gary Oldman got the nod. Not that he didn't do a decent turn but 'best'?
I nearly chose Frances McDormand because she was excellent, but I'm surprised that Janney won. Like your reservation with Oldman, I thought she was very good, but Oscar good?
EH6 Hibby
05-03-2018, 12:54 PM
I nearly chose Frances McDormand because she was excellent, but I'm surprised that Janney won. Like your reservation with Oldman, I thought she was very good, but Oscar good?
I sometimes think they go by how much the person looks like the person they are portraying sometimes, I did think she was good though. Could be the same with Gary Oldman, I've not seen Darkest Hour.
05-03-2018, 01:34 PM
"Frances McDormand won best actress for Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri, and persuaded every female nominee to stand with her in a night full of statements about inclusion."
Brilliant! Make a statement about inclusion and only invite the female nominees to join her. :rolleyes:
Oh the irony.
05-03-2018, 04:29 PM
"Frances McDormand won best actress for Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri, and persuaded every female nominee to stand with her in a night full of statements about inclusion."
Brilliant! Make a statement about inclusion and only invite the female nominees to join her. :rolleyes:
Oh the irony.
Were there many male nominees for best actress?
05-03-2018, 04:31 PM
I sometimes think they go by how much the person looks like the person they are portraying sometimes, I did think she was good though. Could be the same with Gary Oldman, I've not seen Darkest Hour.
Oldman was very good. The film is worth seeing although the last 15 minutes might grate a bit.
05-03-2018, 04:35 PM
Oh the irony.
She didn't make the statement about inclusion. That was the writer's addition.
05-03-2018, 04:55 PM
Fair enough - but it was a wee bit rich asking only the female nominees to stand up. :greengrin
Maybe she's left the male nominees with a guilt complex, feeling they are partially to blame for all the shenanigans of what this is all about? :dunno: :wink:
05-03-2018, 04:57 PM
Were there many male nominees for best actress?
In Hollywood, anything's possible. :greengrin
05-03-2018, 04:59 PM
Fair enough - but it was a wee bit rich asking only the female nominees to stand up. :greengrin
Maybe she's left the male nominees with a guilt complex, feeling they are partially to blame for all the shenanigans of what this is all about? :dunno: :wink:
What shenanigans? It was nothing to do with the MeToo campaign.
This is what she actually said:-
"Look around, ladies and gentlemen, because we all have stories to tell and projects we need financed," she said.
"Don't talk to us about it at the parties tonight - invite us into your office in a couple of days, or you can come to ours, whatever suits you best - and we'll tell you all about them."
It was about equality, which is a fair point IMO.
05-03-2018, 05:06 PM
I don't know if you're joking or not, but there were no male nominees.
She invited all her fellow best actress nominees to join her.
05-03-2018, 05:11 PM
She invited all her fellow best actress nominees to join her.It was actually all female nominees in the room.... from all categories.
Sent from my SM-A510F using Tapatalk
05-03-2018, 05:30 PM
But she did make a statement about inclusion.
05-03-2018, 05:50 PM
But she did make a statement about inclusion.Yep she did. A decent one, IMO...
....once I Googled just WTF an "inclusion rider" is. [emoji16]
05-03-2018, 06:04 PM
It was actually all female nominees in the room.... from all categories.
Right. I didn't realise that.
05-03-2018, 06:13 PM
She invited all her fellow best actress nominees to join her.
Okay, but this is what I read ...
"Frances McDormand won best actress for Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri, and persuaded every female nominee to stand with her in a night full of statements about inclusion".
If what you say is accurate, then the reporter (IMO) should have written "...ever nominee for best female actress to stand..." If that is what she meant then I apologise however, CWG, seems to believe that it was to ALL female nominees in all categories. If that is the case, my original point stands.
I'm not twisting my knickers (metaphorically speaking, I should add :wink:) over this anymore. I'm not into glitz and all the BS that's goes with it. Each to his/her own though.
06-03-2018, 06:29 AM
Yep she did. A decent one, IMO...
....once I Googled just WTF an "inclusion rider" is. [emoji16]
You, me and 50 million other people. :-)
06-03-2018, 07:43 AM
Okay, but this is what I read ...
"Frances McDormand won best actress for Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri, and persuaded every female nominee to stand with her in a night full of statements about inclusion".
If what you say is accurate, then the reporter (IMO) should have written "...ever nominee for best female actress to stand..." If that is what she meant then I apologise however, CWG, seems to believe that it was to ALL female nominees in all categories. If that is the case, my original point stands.
I'm not twisting my knickers (metaphorically speaking, I should add :wink:) over this anymore. I'm not into glitz and all the BS that's goes with it. Each to his/her own though.I think you have to watch the speech, rather than read the reports, to see what was said, and to get its context and meaning.
07-03-2018, 12:48 AM
I like to see who won and who was nominated as the associated movies are usually a good watch, but I cannot stand the speeches and self-congratulatory nonsense that goes with it. It's even worse now with the various campaigns about things that seem to be involved every year and how self-important these actors come across when they're speaking about such things.
Would never sit and watch the ceremony.
07-03-2018, 10:11 AM
Utterly at one with you on this. The vastly over paid, being vastly over watched by the vastly over awed.
Is this another thread about Hearts?
07-03-2018, 10:16 AM
Is this another thread about Hearts?
Well, 2 out 3 maybe :wink:
LustForLeith
07-03-2018, 06:32 PM
I love the Oscars, great betting opportunities are to be had. I got 5/2 On Gary Oldman winning as Oscar over a year ago!
Can’t beleive thenShape Of Water was 15/8 on the kind hut to win best picture. It’s the next best thing to having a machine that prints you money.
I like to see who won and who was nominated as the associated movies are usually a good watch, but I cannot stand the speeches and self-congratulatory nonsense that goes with it. It's even worse now with the various campaigns about things that seem to be involved every year and how self-important these actors come across when they're speaking about such things.
Would never sit and watch the ceremony.
Im always reminded of the team America ‘film actors guild’ piss take when I see these speeches etc :greengrin
Livened up a little bit this year, with Will Smith coming on stage and slapping Chris Rock for making a joke about his wife's alopecia.
www.youtube.com/watch?v=myjEoDypUD8 (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=myjEoDypUD8)
Views? Is he right to stick up for his woman or toxic masculinity gone too far?
28-03-2022, 09:00 AM
Livened up a little bit this year, with Will Smith coming on stage and slapping Chris Rock for making a joke about his wife's alopecia.
www.youtube.com/watch?v=myjEoDypUD8 (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=myjEoDypUD8)
Whatever he meant to achieve, he has made the 2022 event all about himself and I doubt that is what he meant to do.
28-03-2022, 09:20 AM
I'm not totally convinced it wasn't staged. The slap looked unnatural and then not to follow it up but just swagger away with a daft grin on his face, it doesn't sit right at all.
Rock's reaction sounded almost scripted as well. I'm not saying it was planned by the Academy, the whole Oscars business seems a bit stuffy for that, but I'm not sure the 2 people involved didn't have something cooked up between them.
hibby rae
28-03-2022, 09:36 AM
I'm not totally convinced it wasn't staged. The slap looked unnatural and then not to follow it up but just swagger away with a daft grin on his face, it doesn't sit right at all.
Rock's reaction sounded almost scripted as well. I'm not saying it was planned by the Academy, the whole Oscars business seems a bit stuffy for that, but I'm not sure the 2 people involved didn't have something cooked up between them.
I don't think it was.
Especially with her health issues, and the fact the US broadcast was cut.
hibby rae
28-03-2022, 09:39 AM
I think fair enough, Chris Rock went too far and crossed a line with a joke about his wife when she has been honest about quite a stigmatising health condition for women. I don't think this is anything to do with toxic masculinity.
One of my pals went through chemo and lost all her hair briefly, if I had heard someone make fun of her I'd want to slap them too. Her husband defo would.
28-03-2022, 09:47 AM
Don't think I'd go hitting someone who make a joke about a woman who cheated on me with 2 other guys. Will Smith should've left her years ago. Now he's acting the outraged simp.
Harmless bad joke that Chris Rock likely didn't even write.
hibby rae
28-03-2022, 09:51 AM
Don't think I'd go hitting someone who make a joke about a woman who cheated on me with 2 other guys. Will Smith should've left her years ago. Now he's acting the outraged simp.
Harmless bad joke that Chris Rock likely didn't even write.
Technically not cheating, they've both commented on having an open marriage in the past.
The fact he didn't write it is kind of worse, he should've known better and it would mean it's failed to be caught on more than one occasion.
Easy for others to say it's harmless but we don't know how hurtful a comment like that might be.
28-03-2022, 09:51 AM
Does this mean.....25719
28-03-2022, 09:59 AM
Technically not cheating, they've both commented on having an open marriage in the past.
The fact he didn't write it is kind of worse, he should've known better and it would mean it's failed to be caught on more than one occasion.
Easy for others to say it's harmless but we don't know how hurtful a comment like that might be.
She pumped her sons pal and she has denied they have an open marriage I believe.
28-03-2022, 10:25 AM
Does this mean.....25719
This is the sort of behaviour that gets you sent to your auntie and uncle in Bel Air.
If it wasn’t a set-up, I think it was an overreaction to slap him. Confront him, yes but not physical violence.
28-03-2022, 10:26 AM
Have folk watched the full video? Will Smith laughs and finds the joke funny. Its only after his wife says something to him that he loses it.
hibby rae
28-03-2022, 10:29 AM
She pumped her sons pal and she has denied they have an open marriage I believe.
She said used different words to describe it. Although at the time of the one you refer to they were separated, and Will Smith said recently they had never cheated. Actually it's no one's business but their own anyway.
None of that matters in the context of last night's incident though.
Keyser Sauzee
28-03-2022, 10:32 AM
There’s no way it’s real. For starters the “slap” doesn’t make contact, Smith smirking as he’s walking away is a tell and Rocks reaction is too quick. If he really had hit him as hard as it looks it would be unexpected and a little bit of shock would have taken over but no, rock straight into a joke about how “Smith smacked the **** out of him”. It’s a pretty pathetic situation tbh.
28-03-2022, 10:59 AM
There’s no way it’s real. For starters the “slap” doesn’t make contact, Smith smirking as he’s walking away is a tell and Rocks reaction is too quick. If he really had hit him as hard as it looks it would be unexpected and a little bit of shock would have taken over but no, rock straight into a joke about how “Smith smacked the **** out of him”. It’s a pretty pathetic situation tbh.
The slap absolutely makes contact mate
28-03-2022, 11:01 AM
That's where I am. I don't think the Academy knew it was happening hence the broadcast being cut but that was some kind of in joke between Rock and Smith. The slap looked every inch the stage slap and then the follow up joke was just too quick and too telegraphed.
Even Smith's acceptance speech seemed false, it certainly wouldn't have won him a best actor award:wink:
Stairway 2 7
28-03-2022, 11:06 AM
https://twitter.com/ProjectMememar/status/1508316452104855553
People split down the real/fake debate online today
Keyser Sauzee
28-03-2022, 11:14 AM
The slap absolutely makes contact mate
Maybe so, I’m still to be convinced of that by the clips I’ve seen.
I’m still of the opinion it’s staged, between Rock and Smith. The way people are talking about how he “defended her honour” online is pretty cringeworthy.
stu in nottingham
28-03-2022, 11:45 AM
Genuine slap I think. I don't particularly think Smith was smirking when he walked away either.
A fake slap wouldn't really fit in with the shouted expletives at him after the event either.
Mcbizz1998
28-03-2022, 12:16 PM
Wow! Will Smith has really lost it since he was publicly cucked by his wife.
The poor guy has issues. No way that was staged btw.
Willis1875
28-03-2022, 12:17 PM
Can’t see Will Smith being any part of a pre staged plan that would deflect from his Oscar win…..he’s been an advocate for more diversity at the academy awards.
His win last night was likely a big deal for himself and the black acting and general community,I don’t see what benefits a pre planned script like that would bring
28-03-2022, 12:30 PM
It looked staged to me, particularly when you see him with a smirk on his face after he walked away off the stage. The lack of any security officials reacting to what happened also leaves me a tad suspicious.
The swearing after it did make me think it might be genuine but either way both of them come out of this not looking particularly great - Chris Rock for making a crass joke about a medical condition and Will Smith for resorting to violence - even if it was staged violence appearing to assault someone isn't a great look.
28-03-2022, 12:46 PM
The slap looked dodgy, but his reaction afterwards when he told him to keep his wifes name out of his mouth twice, especially with the swearing too, in front of millions has me doubting it was staged. :confused:
It was a womens slap though, a but of a luvvy is our Will. :greengrin
28-03-2022, 01:04 PM
Don't think it was staged as has/does Will Smith ever swear in any if his movies? Even if staged, I don't see whats in it for him. Doesn't do him any favours. Hope Chris Rock does him for assault.
28-03-2022, 01:10 PM
That must be the wimpiest slap ever recorded.
28-03-2022, 01:17 PM
No chance that’s staged. No chance. Why on earth would Will Smith agree to that? On the night he’s up for best actor, at the most prestigious movies award show in the world? Nope.
Yeah, he laughs at the joke at first. So what? He obviously doesn’t realise how it’s affected his wife at that point.
The guys obviously got issues. That’s clear to see from his acceptance speech (though why they allowed him to stay in the audience, I’ve no idea). It’s nae excuse to do what he did, but I cannae say I wouldn’t have reacted in the same way.
28-03-2022, 01:40 PM
No chance that’s staged. No chance. Why on earth would Will Smith agree to that? On the night he’s up for best actor, at the most prestigious movies award show in the world? Nope.
Yeah, he laughs at the joke at first. So what? He obviously doesn’t realise how it’s affected his wife at that point.
The guys obviously got issues. That’s clear to see from his acceptance speech (though why they allowed him to stay in the audience, I’ve no idea). It’s nae excuse to do what he did, but I cannae say I wouldn’t have reacted in the same way.
Why? Surely your wife has a voice of her own?
28-03-2022, 02:19 PM
Why? Surely your wife has a voice of her own?
My girlfriend absolutely has a mind of her own. So does my mum, my dad and my brothers. Wouldn’t stop me standing up for them if someone upset them.
28-03-2022, 02:35 PM
My girlfriend absolutely has a mind of her own. So does my mum, my dad and my brothers. Wouldn’t stop me standing up for them if someone upset them.
Is there a limit to the level of violence you would use? If it’s a big guy do you just let it slide?
I’m no innocent myself but as I’ve got older I realise the pointlessness of using violence to sort things.
Had Tyson Fury said that about Smith’s wife instead of 5’10” Chris Rock would he have acted the same way? If not, then surely it’s really just about him living out some tough guy fantasy?
In my mind he just silenced his wife. She the woman who needed a man to speak for her.
28-03-2022, 02:48 PM
Is there a limit to the level of violence you would use? If it’s a big guy do you just let it slide?
I’m no innocent myself but as I’ve got older I realise the pointlessness of using violence to sort things.
Had Tyson Fury said that about Smith’s wife instead of 5’10” Chris Rock would he have acted the same way? If not, then surely it’s really just about him living out some tough guy fantasy?
In my mind he just silenced his wife. She the woman who needed a man to speak for her.
I get your point but when the anger strikes in that moment I have little regard for the size of the offender only the gender. I might regret it later and have done on one occasion but it’s not a rehearsed act.
28-03-2022, 02:58 PM
I get your point but when the anger strikes in that moment I have little regard for the size of the offender only the gender. I might regret it later and have done on one occasion but it’s not a rehearsed act.
Exactly. Emotion often trumps rational thought.
28-03-2022, 03:05 PM
Absolutely but that doesn’t look like full rage mode. I’ve done it myself when I was younger and had a terrible knack of picking fights I had zero chance of winning. No good ever comes of it.
If I was a director in Hollywood I would be making sure not to hire any of his family for a movie. Any offence you might cause them looks like you’ll get a visit from him and he’s a big looking lad.
28-03-2022, 03:15 PM
He wanted his own thread on the HG. :wink:
If it's a publicity stunt, and I think that's most likely, it certainly worked.
He's here!
28-03-2022, 03:42 PM
I'm unclear why it would be staged? At a time when the arts and entertainment world is bending over backwards to push diversity front and centre why would two billionaire black guys acting like t*ts on stage be seen as a good thing to stage?
Not as cringeworthy as Smith's acceptance speech mind you. I've enjoyed a few of his films but off screen he comes across as a bellend.
28-03-2022, 03:49 PM
I'm unclear why it would be staged? At a time when the arts and entertainment world is bending over backwards to push diversity front and centre why would two billionaire black guys acting like t*ts on stage be seen as a good thing to stage?
Not as cringeworthy as Smith's acceptance speech mind you. I've enjoyed a few of his films but off screen he comes across as a bellend.
CNN blame the fracas on Trump. :confused:
https://www.foxnews.com/media/cnn-analyst-blames-trump-aftermath-will-smith-chris-rock-oscars-incident
Stairway 2 7
28-03-2022, 03:55 PM
No idea if it was staged, probably not. Could understand why it was. It was always going to be one of the most talked about things in the world today. Will Smith made his living being an all action leading man. But all everyone has talked about in relation to him the last few years, is other men sleeping with his wife
28-03-2022, 03:56 PM
Exactly. Will Smith won a ****ing Oscar for best actor. The idea that he would need to fake a scrap with another really famous person to get more famous is the dumbest thing I've heard. Seriously.
Why exactly would someone who is already very famous agree to be full on slapped for publicity. And why would someone else commit assault for publicity?
Will Smith just acted a total arse and hit someone because of a joke. Imagine sitting front row at the Oscars and getting mad about a joke. Big simp energy from the guy whos wife pumps his sons mates.
Stairway 2 7
28-03-2022, 04:02 PM
Completely wrongly I'd smack someone taking the piss out of my wife's medical condition, probably not at an award ceremony though. They are supposed to be really good pals so surely could have seen him after.
I'd bet the vast majority of married women would want their husband to not put up with it either, even though that's no very 2022
28-03-2022, 04:19 PM
It comes quickly, but not so quickly CR doesn't have time to grimace, still with his hands behind his back :confused:
https://images.hindustantimes.com/img/2022/03/28/550x309/chris_rock_1648453866675_1648453866898.JPG
Both smirking post-"slap".
https://www.pinkvilla.com/files/styles/amp_metadata_content_image/public/oscars_2022_chris_rock_refuses_to_file_a_police_re port_after_will_smith_punches_him_on_stage_main.jp g
If it's not staged, it's the most staged looking non-staged thing I can remember.
28-03-2022, 04:53 PM
If it is staged, and im probably 5050 on that, it could be Jada Smith has agreed as it may raise more public awareness of alopecia and how it can effect woman. Just a theory.
Stairway 2 7
28-03-2022, 05:00 PM
Matt Lucas on twitter saying he's very conflicted on it as a comedian, who also suffers from alopecia
28-03-2022, 05:23 PM
Matt Lucas on twitter saying he's very conflicted on it as a comedian, who also suffers from alopecia
I saw the tweet earlier but can’t find it now. I’m sure it was more along the lines of “I’m a comedian who doesn’t always say the right thing, and I have alopecia, so I’m not sure what side I’m on here.”
I’m not sure he was being massively serious about it.
28-03-2022, 05:55 PM
Never understood what pleasure there is from watching Oscars, BAFTAs, Brits etc - each to their own
Did see the Rock/Smith slap on the News - thought it was all staged tbh
Fuzzywuzzy
28-03-2022, 05:56 PM
https://twitter.com/grahm2004/status/1508493870295830535?t=CwZLErkwYfKdisOQctfkww&s=19
28-03-2022, 05:59 PM
Do we think he would have walked up and slapped the actual Rock or Terry Crews or Dave Chappele or Eddie Murphy. Of course he wouldn't.
Fuzzywuzzy
28-03-2022, 06:02 PM
Do we think he would have walked up and slapped the actual Rock or Terry Crews or Dave Chappele or Eddie Murphy. Of course he wouldn't.
You saying Kevin Hart is fair game because he's short?😂
28-03-2022, 06:06 PM
Whether he would or he wouldn’t…what does it tell you?
28-03-2022, 06:15 PM
That's the same with anything in life though.
Most people, not all admittedly, will assess the level of risk to themselves before acting in an aggressive manner. Whether it's at the football, in the pub or at the Oscars ceremony, almost everyone is not going to physically challenge someone who's 6ft 9 and 20 stone (using the Tyson Fury example).
28-03-2022, 07:39 PM
Whether he would or he wouldn’t…what does it tell you?
I'm firmly in the Chris Rock camp. I think Smith was bang out of order and that he wouldn't have done it. The fact that he laughs at the joke at first tells me all in need to know.
It's a joke. You might not like it or agree with it but it is a stand up comedian telling a joke to the audience. It's not some random guy shouting abuse in the street at some random couple on a random night out. Can't believe some folk think its alright to walk up and lamp the guy.
If the Smiths were that offended why not get up and leave. Think of the outcry againt Rock if they had done that. The organisers would have been begging them to come back. The would have highlighted alopecia and how it effects people. Instead they have made Rock even more famous and her fair game for comedians around the world.
28-03-2022, 07:42 PM
If it is staged, and im probably 5050 on that, it could be Jada Smith has agreed as it may raise more public awareness of alopecia and how it can effect woman. Just a theory.
This is what’s it’s about, a medical condition! Would Chris rock get away with making a joke about someone who has lost their hair to cancer? Think he over stepped the mark and hopefully this has raised awareness of a horrible medical condition that women and men can suffer from
Stairway 2 7
28-03-2022, 07:56 PM
Lots of people saying Chris Rock said he had no idea she had alopecia and that's why he was saying after it all "its a gi Jane joke it's not that bad"
28-03-2022, 08:13 PM
Shamelessly stolen.
Police are dusting Rock's face for fresh prints.
28-03-2022, 09:18 PM
What I don’t get is the slap, surely you would have punched him.
Stairway 2 7
28-03-2022, 09:29 PM
What I don’t get is the slap, surely you would have punched him.
Especially if you've played Muhammad Ali
28-03-2022, 09:34 PM
What I don’t get is the slap, surely you would have punched him.Paper beats Rock.
Sent from my SM-A505FN using Tapatalk
28-03-2022, 10:22 PM
Paper beats Rock.
😂😂😂
28-03-2022, 10:35 PM
I don’t agree with the ‘so what?’ bit, as it absolutely does make it more bizarre if he’s laughing along with the joke and then deciding to assault someone because his wife isnae happy.. as opposed to seeing red mist as soon as hearing a joke at her expense.
However… I since wondered if he was just laughing along without getting the joke, then kicked-off when he realised what it was about?
I know I wouldn’t have got a joke about GI Jane or whatever it was..
Big apology from Smith towards everyone, including Chris Rock.
It's a great meme but time to draw a line under it while accepting violence is wrong and that Will Smith needs help with his obvious issues.
29-03-2022, 07:02 AM
I wonder how Smith would have reacted if Jerry Sadowitz had been compere :hmmm:
G15 Hibs
29-03-2022, 03:53 PM
I wonder how Smith would have reacted if Jerry Sadowitz had been compere :hmmm:
If you're going to be assaulted on stage then "Hello moose****ers" is a good way to start a set, certainly.
stu in nottingham
29-03-2022, 04:39 PM
If you're going to be assaulted on stage then "Hello moose****ers" is a good way to start a set, certainly.
Also collected a good right-hander for that one as I recall. :wink:
29-03-2022, 06:04 PM
I wonder how Smith would have reacted if Jerry Sadowitz had been compere :hmmm:Odds on that Mike Tyson will get the presenter's gig next year.
01-04-2022, 11:26 PM
Will Smith resigns from Oscars Academy.
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-us-canada-60963054
LewysGot2
02-04-2022, 06:34 AM
Will Smith resigns from Oscars Academy.
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-us-canada-60963054
Jumping before he is pushed?
Saw an interview with Whoopi Goldberg yesterday who is on the Academy committee who were meeting to decide their next course of action where it was clear consequences were coming Smith's way. Apparently he'd also been asked to leave on Sunday night and had refused to do so.
02-04-2022, 07:26 AM
Jumping before he is pushed?
Saw an interview with Whoopi Goldberg yesterday who is on the Academy committee who were meeting to decide their next course of action where it was clear consequences were coming Smith's way. Apparently he'd also been asked to leave on Sunday night and had refused to do so.
Yes he was asked to leave and refused. It's quite incredible that security didn't just force him to leave.
LAPD Officers were ready to arrest him and charge him with battery but Chris Rock repeatedly told them he didn't want to file a complaint.
02-04-2022, 08:36 AM
Does that mean he gets stripped of his award?
02-04-2022, 09:06 AM
Does that mean he gets stripped of his award?
No, just that he won't be invited to any further ceremonies I think.
The Oscars Committee are still deciding if any further punishment will be handed out but they've already said stripping him of his award isn't on the table.