View Full Version : best hibs goal

21sMay
28-02-2018, 10:23 PM
so was wondering what goal you class as the best you have every witnessed live for us?

I'll kick is off with wee Russells in the 6-2 demolition derby.
everything you want in a goal against your rivals.

28-02-2018, 10:30 PM
I say the same every time this comes up, hopefully one will better it soon. Ralph Callaghan's Archie Gemmillesk effort.

28-02-2018, 10:34 PM
This one for me https://youtu.be/by59HSSGOlE

01-03-2018, 12:10 AM
Whever this comes up, these are the 2 that always seem to stand out for me:

https://youtu.be/QetdkEYQ-0A

https://youtu.be/cNi_g16Ra_U

But the McManus and Latapy ones are just as good, along with Malonga and Cummings in the league cup against the sheep.

hibbybrian
01-03-2018, 12:24 AM
I say the same every time this comes up, hopefully one will better it soon. Ralph Callaghan's Archie Gemmillesk effort.

bubblesmorrison
01-03-2018, 01:49 AM
Sir david gray may 2016! Best goal in history!

01-03-2018, 09:13 AM
Maybe not the most spectacular ( certainly one of them ) and shrouded in the mists of time, Bobby Duncan’s goal against Napoli was superb and so important in that great match.

01-03-2018, 09:16 AM
Boyle's volley v Livingston.

HibeeHibernian4
01-03-2018, 09:22 AM
Taking every goal out of context, Boyle's against Livingston has to be up there: https://youtu.be/M4vGy3lewpU?t=1m4s

01-03-2018, 09:30 AM

Thanks for that. The Gilzean is excellent. Ally MacLeod was some player for his body shape.

01-03-2018, 09:36 AM
This one for me https://youtu.be/by59HSSGOlE

My favourite too.

I was in the Rangers Directors box for that game.

Kavinho
01-03-2018, 09:50 AM
Riordans chip at celticpark

deekster
01-03-2018, 09:52 AM
Michael O’Neil v Motherwell 1994 for me
Great finish from a quick break
Great game as well as far as I remember
Watch from about 2:45 onwards
https://youtu.be/dvgDNxueTtA

01-03-2018, 10:01 AM
Griffiths at ER against Dundee United under Fenlon stands out for me

Walter
01-03-2018, 10:02 AM
I still remember Barry Prendervilles thunderbolt possibly against Morton. I was sitting right behind him and knew it was in as soon as it left his boot

hughio
01-03-2018, 10:06 AM

That WAS something to behold.

Keyser Sauzee
01-03-2018, 10:11 AM

Never seen that before, reminded me of Eoin Doyle’s goal agains United a few years back.

01-03-2018, 10:21 AM
Thanks for that. The Gilzean is excellent. Ally MacLeod was some player for his body shape.

Pity there's no footage of the goal. Better than Gemmil's effort imho.

01-03-2018, 10:24 AM
Griffiths free kick vs the yam at easter road.... oh wait

01-03-2018, 10:25 AM
Steve Archibald at tynie pouring rain, hibs end went berserk!!

EVENTUALLY
01-03-2018, 10:35 AM
I agree 100%. The thing I remember about it was the way Ralphie delayed opportunities to knock the ball into the net, he just kept beating Dundee players with the same drag back trick as they arrived to challenge him before finally slipping the ball home. Fantastic skill and so exciting to see a certain goal coming 7 or 8 seconds before it eventually happened. Great goal that had Messi written all over it.

Tom Hart RIP
01-03-2018, 10:39 AM
Maybe not the most spectacular ( certainly one of them ) and shrouded in the mists of time, Bobby Duncan’s goal against Napoli was superb and so important in that great match.

👍

01-03-2018, 10:45 AM
Gary Deegan against the sheep

01-03-2018, 10:48 AM
Collins away at Hamilton's Old Ground, or Rae at Tannadice

01-03-2018, 11:09 AM
The next one and the next one

01-03-2018, 11:15 AM
My favourite too.

I was in the Rangers Directors box for that game.

Had you been invited?

01-03-2018, 11:16 AM
Griffiths free kick vs the yam at easter road.... oh wait

It's okay, we have Griffiths' free kick at Tynecastle. :wink:

01-03-2018, 11:33 AM

I always tell Ralph it's the best goal ever & it probably is but I have another personal favourite featuring my hero Joe Baker. 1960/61 was just a normal season for Hibs, lost the 1st 8 league games to be adrift at the bottom then lost 3 out of the next 23 games which included our 7-6 aggregate win over Barca! Just after New Year we played Killie at home. In those days we often kicked downhill first then uphill to the Dunbar end which was a popular spot for many Hibs fans. After a frustrating 1st half which we dominated but ended 0-0 we scored early on through Johnny MacLeod. Joe then scored the 2nd. I can't really do it justice but he picked up a loose ball in the centre circle, flicked it over 1 Killie player's head, then 2 more as he raced to the pen box where he hit it on the volley into the roof of the net. I can actually still remember the Green report that night! The Killie centre half that day was Willie Toner who was being touted for a Scotland cap. That went out the window after he was destroyed by Joe. In fact his career went downhill so rapidly he signed for us a year or 2 later! :greengrin I know these threads come around often but I love them & the chance to look at some wonder goals again, never tire of seeing Deeks vs Yams.

01-03-2018, 11:48 AM
An unreal 25 yard dipping half volley from Wotherspoon against Inverness.

01-03-2018, 11:49 AM
Or Harris/ Sparky Vs Falkirk at Hampden.

malcolm
01-03-2018, 12:22 PM
It’s is hard to disassociate the emotions and context of a goal when remembering the best but trying to ignore the obvious big game goals..

I loved every goal super Ally scored and Ralphy’s meandering stroll to score against Dundee was a sight to behold but I also loved the completely unexpected superb volley by Gordon Hunter to spark a comeback against St Mirren I think in a 4.3 victory. Though Boyles volley was one of the best I’ve seen live or otherwise.

01-03-2018, 12:40 PM

That brought back memories. I don't think I have seen that goal since the highlights were on 20 odd years ago. How were we so crap to watch so often when you see the players we had at that point. O'Neill, Crunchyand Jackson would all walk into the current Hibs team imo

01-03-2018, 12:54 PM
Agathe v Dundee, nothing for me has even come close!

Cat Stanton
01-03-2018, 07:42 PM

..but tempered by the fact he's only been given a three month (?) deal, Martin O' Neil was in the stand that day, and we lost him a few weeks later to Septic for tuppance!

01-03-2018, 10:13 PM
I agree 100%. The thing I remember about it was the way Ralphie delayed opportunities to knock the ball into the net, he just kept beating Dundee players with the same drag back trick as they arrived to challenge him before finally slipping the ball home. Fantastic skill and so exciting to see a certain goal coming 7 or 8 seconds before it eventually happened. Great goal that had Messi written all over it.

Yeah I read recently Messi said he owed all his success to studying Ralph's game and modeled his play on Ralph :greengrin

Sauzee16
01-03-2018, 10:24 PM
Stokes 2nd prayed to my departed grandad and dreams do come true.

Shout out to Le God at Tynie and John O’Neil inn6-2

smack
01-03-2018, 10:58 PM
Tortolano goal v Clydebank in 1986

TelaStella
02-03-2018, 12:27 AM
Few years ago now but remember Mikey Stewart scoring a screamer of a volley against the sheep at Easter Road in a cup replay, don't know if there's any footage. Sparky's free kick at tynie was insane as well. Was there that day standing right in front of the goal and remember as soon as he hit it I knew it was going in!

02-03-2018, 02:33 AM

I was going to say the very same myself. I bumped into the man himself on a train into Berlin from the airport recently and said hello - he and McAllister were making a habit of scoring some magic goals at that time but that one always stood out for me. Absolute peach and the East went mental as I remember.

There's been a load of beauts over the years before and since then that I could mention from the likes of Archibald, Sauzee, Latapy, Griffiths, Riordan, Zemama, of course Gray and (Yes!) Townsley, but I'm glad you mentioned that one cos it saved me looking it up :greengrin

02-03-2018, 02:40 AM
... and Cummings' header at the Pink Palace on our way to cup glory is also worthy of mention.

Edit - but dang - I wasn't there - watched it on the telly so doesn't count for me.

If I had to choose one at Tynie when I was there it would have to be Archiegoals' wonderful effort in a 2-1 vicory back in nineteen-canteen under Lexo Miller - we finished the match with 10 men from what I remember after Hibs captain Gordon Rae got the red for sending some random Yam into the air in a proper blooter of a tackle. Ah the memories ....

Bay Area Hibees
02-03-2018, 02:45 AM

Agree

02-03-2018, 03:22 AM

Joe T’s v Falkirk at Brockville late 80’s was a belter of a volley

02-03-2018, 04:11 AM
Few years ago now but remember Mikey Stewart scoring a screamer of a volley against the sheep at Easter Road in a cup replay, don't know if there's any footage. Sparky's free kick at tynie was insane as well. Was there that day standing right in front of the goal and remember as soon as he hit it I knew it was going in!

Was Mikey’s goal not at Tynie? Then threw up or am i mixing memories?

proud_and_green
02-03-2018, 04:56 AM
Difficult to choose, but De la Cruz versus Hearts at ER was a cracker. He took the ball on the right, around the half way line beat a couple players then faded inside and struck the ball so neatly from around 25 - 30 yds that there was only one outcome.

Sent from my E5823 using Tapatalk

02-03-2018, 06:51 AM
Was Mikey’s goal not at Tynie? Then threw up or am i mixing memories?

Definitely ER. But he did throw up and I think has to come off

02-03-2018, 09:10 AM
Malongas goal vs the Sheep to close the game out

Sent from my F8331 using Tapatalk

02-03-2018, 09:13 AM

Sauzee16
02-03-2018, 09:14 AM
Definitely ER. But he did throw up and I think has to come off

Aberdeen in the cup replay, Killen got injured in the first game. I’m sure he was being sick with thhis side of the pitch too and might have been his last game for us. Killen

02-03-2018, 09:23 AM
Ralph Callaghan vs Dundee in the season we got relegated

drops mike*

02-03-2018, 09:29 AM
Ralph Callaghan vs Dundee in the season we got relegated

drops mike*

Picks poor Mike up.

Agrees.

Takes Mike off with him, since there can be no further discussion.

snedzuk
02-03-2018, 11:07 AM
8th jan 1972 john brownlie in a 3-0 home win against dundee united. I only know this because I used to award 1 - 5 stars in the programme for every goal scored and I gave this goal 6 stars it was so good! - cant remember it now though.

Otherwise boyles volley v livingston or that michael stewart goal v the sheep.

David_D
02-03-2018, 08:00 PM
Sauzee’s goal in the millennium derby stands out for me as was probably the first time I had witnessed us win at Tynecastle and should have been 7 or 8 that night.

02-03-2018, 08:29 PM
Most of my all time favourites have been mentioned but Sauzee's screamer in the last game of the 1998-99 season at home to Falkirk deserves a mention.

Free kicks - take your pick between Riordan away to Falkirk or Griffiths at the pbs in the 2-1 win.

George Best beating about 5 men and the keeper in a meaningless midweek game at home to Dundee, similar to Ralphie's goal already mentioned.

Also remember a ridiculous Freddie Arpinon strike at Tannadice.

Ricky Bobby
02-03-2018, 08:41 PM

Still get goosebumps thinking about that day. Mental

02-03-2018, 08:43 PM
Joe Harper's goal against Liverpool. The occasion was part of it of course but he covered some ground for a wee fat guy.....

Ricky Bobby
02-03-2018, 08:46 PM
Chic against Celtic in 97 was decent.

David_D
02-03-2018, 08:50 PM
Chic against Celtic in 97 was decent.

Remembering that goal fondly thinking “‘this was
Gonna be a good year “ 😔

Ricky Bobby
02-03-2018, 08:52 PM
Remembering that goal fondly thinking “‘this was
Gonna be a good year “ 😔

iIt should have been. The wheels completely fell off.

villahibs
02-03-2018, 09:06 PM
https://youtu.be/75CBCuKOtp0

02-03-2018, 09:19 PM
Deeks vs Dundee early 00's. Whitty pings a cross field ball fae right back, Deeks lashes it in wi his left foot from about
35 yards. Best goal I've ever seen, regardless of of being ruled offside...

02-03-2018, 09:23 PM

That’s the one for me. Unbelievable goal, maybe not in technical quality but just what it meant at the time. And it was my birthday!

Ralphy C
02-03-2018, 09:34 PM
This, so long ago now i can hardly remember it but i do remember going on about it for ages.

02-03-2018, 09:35 PM
Kevin Harper winner v Hearts. Can't remember the date.

What a fine player he was for Hibs by the way.

02-03-2018, 09:45 PM
Deeks vs Dundee early 00's. Whitty pings a cross field ball fae right back, Deeks lashes it in wi his left foot from about
35 yards. Best goal I've ever seen, regardless of of being ruled offside...

This goal gets better every time it is mentioned on here. It wasn't THAT good. On that video at 3 minutes 10.

https://youtu.be/GJE8yh1E-Vw?t=190

02-03-2018, 09:47 PM
https://youtu.be/6qL7WkVlwME

Not the greatest goal but the roar after the goal still gives me goosebumps.

02-03-2018, 09:53 PM
Quite suprised James Keatings' goal v Falkirk last season hasn't been mentioned yet.

Great strike and in the context of our season it was also a very big goal as the win all but guaranteed us the title.

Sauzee16
02-03-2018, 09:56 PM
Malonga v Aberdeen was very special too.

DickieDastardly
02-03-2018, 10:09 PM
Tortolano goal v Clydebank in 1986

Was that in a 3-0 win at Kilbowie with Super Joe scoring two?

smack
02-03-2018, 10:39 PM
Was that in a 3-0 win at Kilbowie with Super Joe scoring two?

Yes. Outside of the foot from corner of the box into far top corner

03-03-2018, 01:14 AM
Malonga v Aberdeen was very special too.

Malonga! Come back to Easter Road!

03-03-2018, 03:02 AM
Michael Stewart vs Aberdeen in the cup replay
Shinned it from outside the box

Weir07
03-03-2018, 06:00 AM

Yep, the one that always springs to mind when someone mentions best Hibs goal, a Kano header puts us 1-0 up early in the game, Gordon Rae then gets sent off after about 30 minutes, backs to the wall for the rest of the game until 10 minutes left, an overhead kick from Kano in his own half sets Archibald free, beats McPherson in a foot race and slots the ball past Smith, total bedlam in the Gorgie Road end! Suppose all seater stadiums are a good thing overall but you couldn't beat a terracing celebration, especially at Tynie!

SideBurns
03-03-2018, 06:23 AM
Yep, the one that always springs to mind when someone mentions best Hibs goal, a Kano header puts us 1-0 up early in the game, Gordon Rae then gets sent off after about 30 minutes, backs to the wall for the rest of the game until 10 minutes left, an overhead kick from Kano in his own half sets Archibald free, beats McPherson in a foot race and slots the ball past Smith, total bedlam in the Gorgie Road end! Suppose all seater stadiums are a good thing overall but you couldn't beat a terracing celebration, especially at Tynie!

Kano's heider to put us 1-0 up wisnae bad either. We started celebrating our first win at Tynie in about 9 years, then Hearts got one back in the last minute. Sure they missed a sitter in injury time as well (Alan Moore from about 4 yards out)! Mental scenes in the Gorgie Road end.

03-03-2018, 06:34 AM
To many to choose from, agree with all posted on here lol

03-03-2018, 08:31 AM
Ally McLeod's retaken free kick v Dundee in about 1979.

SideBurns
03-03-2018, 11:18 AM
Ally McLeod's retaken free kick v Dundee in about 1979.

That was fantastic - first in one corner, retaken one in the other? 81/82 season though.

Weir07
03-03-2018, 11:19 AM
Kano's heider to put us 1-0 up wisnae bad either. We started celebrating our first win at Tynie in about 9 years, then Hearts got one back in the last minute. Sure they missed a sitter in injury time as well (Alan Moore from about 4 yards out)! Mental scenes in the Gorgie Road end.

You're absolutely right, Moore was clean through on goal but put the ball past the post, heart in the mouth moment, my first victory at Tynecastle.

03-03-2018, 11:39 AM
Bobby Duncan of course.
Willie Hamilton’s winner in the cup against Rangers and in a 1-0 at Tynecastle.
Pat Quinn’s screamer to complete his hat trick at Tynecastle.
Reilly’s flying header against Falkirk to complete his last hat trick.
One of Joe Baker’s five against Airdrie which included rounding a couple of defenders and the goalie who was Lawrie Leslie and looked pretty fed up.
Jim Scott for Edinburgh Select against Newcastle,picked up the ball at the halfway line dribbled through,round the keeper and rolled the ball between their fullbacks(current NI internationals)standing on the line.

03-03-2018, 02:50 PM
Remember a Kano overhead kick against Hearts. Absolute raker. Ref disallowed it for dangerous play when there was no danger to anyone bar Kano himself. :confused:

03-03-2018, 02:58 PM
John Hazel's diving header in cup at Swiny then Arthur's winner,

03-03-2018, 03:12 PM
..but tempered by the fact he's only been given a three month (?) deal, Martin O' Neil was in the stand that day, and we lost him a few weeks later to Septic for tuppance!

That’s right, I was gutted when he left us.

SideBurns
03-03-2018, 04:30 PM
Bobby Duncan of course.
Willie Hamilton’s winner in the cup against Rangers and in a 1-0 at Tynecastle.
Pat Quinn’s screamer to complete his hat trick at Tynecastle.
Reilly’s flying header against Falkirk to complete his last hat trick.
One of Joe Baker’s five against Airdrie which included rounding a couple of defenders and the goalie who was Lawrie Leslie and looked pretty fed up.
Jim Scott for Edinburgh Select against Newcastle,picked up the ball at the halfway line dribbled through,round the keeper and rolled the ball between their fullbacks(current NI internationals)standing on the line.

Ancient Hibee - you've lived a full and marvellous life at Easter Road. Must be magic...

03-03-2018, 05:16 PM
https://youtu.be/6qL7WkVlwME

Not the greatest goal but the roar after the goal still gives me goosebumps.

Perhaps one of my best nights ever at Easter Road despite the result. And De La Cruz, what a cracking player he was.

03-03-2018, 05:32 PM
Malonga v Aberdeen.

03-03-2018, 05:44 PM
John Hazel's diving header in cup at Swiny then Arthur's winner,

My first ever derby 🇳🇬

Babyshamble
03-03-2018, 05:45 PM
Steve Archibald at tynecastle

03-03-2018, 05:51 PM
Steve Archibald at tynecastle

That was defo one of the craziest celebrations :agree:

Best goal is any one from Riordan

03-03-2018, 05:52 PM
That was defo one of the craziest celebrations :agree:

Best goal is any one from Riordan

Some of Riordan’s goals were unreal. One at ER from about 25 yards that flew in.

03-03-2018, 05:55 PM
Some of Riordan’s goals were unreal. One at ER from about 25 yards that flew in.

One against the cheats at the away end is my favourite goal ever , Gordon just watched it fly in !

03-03-2018, 05:56 PM
Zitelli vs AEK Athens.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Hz2FkQlAkdk 3 mins 37 in.

03-03-2018, 06:07 PM
Perhaps one of my best nights ever at Easter Road despite the result. And De La Cruz, what a cracking player he was.

Atmosphere was something else, 17 odd thousand singing DJ Otzi Hey Baby at half time with chants of USA USA towards the AEK fans.

Celebrations with Luna's 2nd goal were something else too, I was about 12 and that was my first experience of going arse over tit during celebrations, nerve wracking to say the least:greengrin

03-03-2018, 06:35 PM
That’s right, I was gutted when he left us.

GJP's fault. Had to sign 5 players to find a good one. Would love to see Lennon with a similar budget.

hibeg
03-03-2018, 06:39 PM

Agree,the best Hibs goal that I have ever seen, incredible skill from Ralph:agree:

03-03-2018, 06:51 PM
Zitelli vs AEK Athens.

In the away leg it was scary. Game was meant to be played next day to 9/11. Was cancelled. Returned to Athens when it was played. Was brutal.. eAK fans had a big Muslim support and set fire to American flags and bombarded us with all sort of fireworks, rocks and other stuff for 90 minutes. Cops did nothing.

03-03-2018, 07:28 PM
90+2 sir David of Gray

03-03-2018, 08:17 PM
Remember a Kano overhead kick against Hearts. Absolute raker. Ref disallowed it for dangerous play when there was no danger to anyone bar Kano himself. :confused:

Or the crowd from the earthquake he caused

03-03-2018, 08:38 PM
These threads are tremendous. Such apparently memorable goals, yet people can't even recall them properly. Or imagine they took place in a completely different game, or even stadium.

Ricky Bobby
03-03-2018, 09:33 PM
Keith scoring in the cup final 91. When he went through on goal there was only one outcome.

03-03-2018, 11:35 PM
These threads are tremendous. Such apparently memorable goals, yet people can't even recall them properly. Or imagine they took place in a completely different game, or even stadium.

Agree you tube given ability watch over and over which replaces your memory if seen live. At a game u get one angle one moment to take in

Sauzee16
04-03-2018, 12:05 AM
Keith scoring in the cup final 91. When he went through on goal there was only one outcome.

Keith in the Semi is more iconic.

04-03-2018, 12:39 AM
GJP's fault. Had to sign 5 players to find a good one. Would love to see Lennon with a similar budget.

Aye the revolving door transfer policy.

He signed some rubbish players usually on low wages so that they could be dumped after one or two matches. Klaus Dietrich made one appearance only to be subbed and was never seen again.

He did sign a lot of quality players. Franck Sauzee, Russell Latapy, Mixu Paateleinen, John O'Neil, Grant Brebner, David Zitelli, Paco Luna, etc., etc.

Having said that Mowbray and Lennon have achieved comparable results on much lower budgets.

21sMay
04-03-2018, 01:23 AM
after reading through everyone's opinions ,it's hard to argue with any of them ...i also remember as a young lad pat McGinley scoring an overhead kick against Motherwell.
May be wrong. can anyone else remember this ?

Sauzee16
04-03-2018, 02:00 AM
after reading through everyone's opinions ,it's hard to argue with any of them ...i also remember as a young lad pat McGinley scoring an overhead kick against Motherwell.
May be wrong. can anyone else remember this ?

No to be honest but it just reminded me of the best goal I’ve ever seen. Zitelli, Sunday night bonfire night in Dundee last minute we won 2-1 .Next again week a bullet in Motherwell Sunday night too. I was fortunate to be at both games.

04-03-2018, 03:57 AM
Keith in the Semi is more iconic.

For me the iconic 1991 goal when I was there was the weekend before that semi - away at Pittodrie. I got there late and we were already a goal down. Then, not long after half time Mickey Weir scored a superb Gemmil-esque goal - winding by a couple of defenders before committing and chipping the keeper superbly to secure the draw. I came away knowing that Weir - a very influential player for Hibs at the time - was on fire and immediately put a tenner on Hibs to win the League Cup, knowing that we had Rangers in the Semi that midweek.

I watched the semi that midweek in a pub down in London and it was that very man Weir who delivered the ball plum onto Keith's head for him to plant it past a despairing Goram's grasp - to send me into a dance of ecstacy round an otherwise empty North London boozer. And a couple of months later Weir was on hand to lay it on for Keith again for the opener in the final - as well as "winning" the penalty to seal it ;)

The goal from Keith in the Semi would be up there for me - but ah wisnae there - watched it on the telly! So Mickey Weir's goal the weekend before is my 1991 entry!

Superfurry72
04-03-2018, 06:27 AM
For me the iconic 1991 goal when I was there was the weekend before that semi - away at Pittodrie. I got there late and we were already a goal down. Then, not long after half time Mickey Weir scored a superb Gemmil-esque goal - winding by a couple of defenders before committing and chipping the keeper superbly to secure the draw. I came away knowing that Weir - a very influential player for Hibs at the time - was on fire and immediately put a tenner on Hibs to win the League Cup, knowing that we had Rangers in the Semi that midweek.

I watched the semi that midweek in a pub down in London and it was that very man Weir who delivered the ball plum onto Keith's head for him to plant it past a despairing Goram's grasp - to send me into a dance of ecstacy round an otherwise empty North London boozer. And a couple of months later Weir was on hand to lay it on for Keith again for the opener in the final - as well as "winning" the penalty to seal it ;)

The goal from Keith in the Semi would be up there for me - but ah wisnae there - watched it on the telly! So Mickey Weir's goal the weekend before is my 1991 entry!

You got the goals the wrong way round in the final - the penalty was the opener and Wright sealed it. Regarding that game, I bumped into David Moyes in a restaurant in Glasgow a couple of weeks ago. While I was getting an autograph for my mate’s wee boy, I really wanted to bring up that match (which he, of course, played in). He was with family though, so I opted for the quicker “please don’t sign McGinn”...he chuckled. In retrospect, I’d rather he went there than Celtic!

My favourite Hibs goal btw - for sheer quality O’Neill against Motherwell in 1994, what a volley! The reaction of awe from the crowd...happy days! Great game that day too, a cracking 2-2 draw.

04-03-2018, 11:23 AM
Ancient Hibee - you've lived a full and marvellous life at Easter Road. Must be magic...

Still is magic:greengrin.Plenty downers-as you get older these are more difficult to remember:greengrin

More goals-Jim Scott's winner at Dunfermline to win 6-5. Free kick by Allan McGraw when ball still moving at halfway,stuttering run from Scott,stabs ball at goalie,bounces back ,hits Scott a couple of times and goes in.

Stevenson and O'Rourke -two each in he first 15 minutes at Tynecastle

Neil Martin's hattrick at Parkhead in the first game there after Stein left and Martin's "friendly wave" to Stein in the Celtic dugout after the third.

But nothing beats the obvious goal.

04-03-2018, 11:34 AM
Zitelli vs AEK Athens.

Beautiful goal and a beautiful guy.

24-10-2020, 11:32 PM

Ralph's wonder goal v Dundee is still the best goal I've seen at ER or anywhere else for that matter.
It's criminal that there were no TV cameras present to record it for posterity.

25-10-2020, 12:07 AM
Seen a number of spectacular goals. Boyle's vs Livvy in the Championship springs to mind. However, the season after we were relegated in 79/80 I remember being in the cave end, on seats, in an uninspiring game 1-1 versus Airdrie. Sandy Clark scored their goal and we overplayed everything. I was a tourist that season and managed about three games including the season ender vs Raith.

The only time in the game we seemed to remember to simplify and make the ball do the work, the ball was passed to from the goalie to the CH, who moved it on to the middle who then played a through ball to Flavell who put the ball past the goalie. So f***in simple it was a joy to watch - especially from behind. Quiz Ball Route Four writ large.

25-10-2020, 02:35 PM

25-10-2020, 02:58 PM
In the away leg it was scary. Game was meant to be played next day to 9/11. Was cancelled. Returned to Athens when it was played. Was brutal.. eAK fans had a big Muslim support and set fire to American flags and bombarded us with all sort of fireworks, rocks and other stuff for 90 minutes. Cops did nothing.

It was fantastic fun that night, we were in the plaka and got a taxi to the game. We were dropped off and it was all AEK fans, we couldn’t hide who we were supporting. Chests puffed out and sang Hibs songs Loud and proud all the way to our entrance. Inside the ground was mental, all sorts of things thrown at us. I am sure it was myself that started the USA chant. We had to get back to our hotel after the game and as there were only a small group of us we stuck together. Their fans tried to intimidate us a few times but we survived. Just.

25-10-2020, 03:05 PM

I don’t think Brian is with us anymore but that cutting has a brilliantly understated account of Ralph’s goal.

25-10-2020, 03:10 PM
Griffiths at Tynie.

25-10-2020, 03:11 PM
No to be honest but it just reminded me of the best goal I’ve ever seen. Zitelli, Sunday night bonfire night in Dundee last minute we won 2-1 .Next again week a bullet in Motherwell Sunday night too. I was fortunate to be at both games.

Good calls to be fair and was there at both too. He scored a ****er against Athens too right at the end that people forget.

Hibiza
25-10-2020, 04:16 PM
Lataz 6-2

25-10-2020, 08:03 PM
I don’t think Brian is with us anymore but that cutting has a brilliantly understated account of Ralph’s goal.Understated for sure. How news reporting has changed over the years

25-10-2020, 08:17 PM
I don’t think Brian is with us anymore but that cutting has a brilliantly understated account of Ralph’s goal.

Sadly tis the case. Great Hibby worked in his office as a
Student and he was in the thick of it since the day the takeover was announced I waited to leave work when I could, I think he was straight down there. RIP Brian.

25-10-2020, 08:17 PM

But the best of it was they made us empty all small change & lighters into a big bucket never to be seen again. I walked in wearing a PANATHANIKOS strip, only to be met with throat slitting gestures when I entered the ground. Oh ya Fu2k3r.

25-10-2020, 08:22 PM

“The goalkeeper” didn’t even get a name-check. Was right in line with that with my Godson - belter - dunno of that got him into footie but if not was part of it.