View Full Version : Time Travel

23-02-2018, 05:16 PM
The good members of the PM Board are contemplating the possibility, or not, of time travel.

Given the incredible talent that exists within the private membership, I would imagine that the ability to go back in time will be provided relatively soon.

So, if you could go back in time, what is the ONE thing you would do with regards to football, whether Hibs related or not.

23-02-2018, 05:38 PM
I would ask the ref to award the penalty in 1979 final so we had the opportunity we deserved to win the cup.

23-02-2018, 05:44 PM
I would go back to 21st May 2016 and relive the day one more time, exactly how it was.

23-02-2018, 05:44 PM
I'd just put flights and hotel for 21.05.2016 on the credit card and tell the beloved wife and work they can whistle.

23-02-2018, 05:54 PM
As Smartie says 21.5.16 and I would have rubbed it in more to Graham Speirs whom I walked past after the game with his face tripping him.

Obvious maybe but Alternatively a trip back to see the Famous Five and particular a game where Smith mesmerised the crowds with his wonderful skills.

23-02-2018, 06:00 PM
Berlin 1938 to kill Hitler.

Or Dens Park 1986. Can't make up my mind.

23-02-2018, 06:03 PM
Back to the Mowbray era when me and Jamiehibby would meet up beforehand for beers and after the games for beers

If your looking in big guy i hope your well :aok:

23-02-2018, 06:05 PM

What was the game with Hitler in 1938?

23-02-2018, 06:10 PM
I would go back to 21st May 2016 and relive the day one more time, exactly how it was.

Almost the same, but I'd be there this time.

Knowing though how Police Scotland overreacted to the exuberance of our support, I'd also make sure that I celebrated on the pitch :thumbsup:

23-02-2018, 06:11 PM

Did he follow Bayern München in der Bierhallen Or in ‘38 would it have been a Sparta Prague game?
Born in Vienna probably was a Rapid Wein fan...

23-02-2018, 06:13 PM
I'd go back to before the 15/16 season and stick £100 on a Leicester to win the league and hibs to win the cup double

Juice-Terry
23-02-2018, 06:15 PM
I'd go back to the 18th of May, 2012 and boot Craig Thomson so hard in the baws that they'd have to replace him for the next day.

23-02-2018, 06:16 PM
I'd go back to before the 15/16 season and stick £100 on a Leicester to win the league and hibs to win the cup double

Do you know something we don’t?

23-02-2018, 06:21 PM
Did he follow Bayern München in der Bierhallen Or in ‘38 would it have been a Sparta Prague game?
Born in Vienna probably was a Rapid Wein fan...

Schalke 04 according to:

https://www.thetimes.co.uk/article/the-50-worst-famous-football-fans-5hfcnq827sv

23-02-2018, 06:22 PM
I'd go back to May 1986 and hide all of Craig Levein's bog roll.

23-02-2018, 06:26 PM

Even time travel can't **** with the bookies.
But I know what you meant :wink:

23-02-2018, 06:28 PM
What was the game with Hitler in 1938?

Germany v the rest of the world

23-02-2018, 08:22 PM
I would go back to the Cup Final a few years back and hope that Craig Thomson would send off Ian Black in the first minute for his centre circle assault.

23-02-2018, 08:23 PM
Christmas Day 1875. The first match, and the first derby.

i might even get in the team.

Ryan69
23-02-2018, 08:26 PM
Germany v the rest of the world

Id go back to 18th of december 1999
We pumped the jambos on their own patch on the 19th.

My brother bet me 10 pints of beer on the outcome of the game the next day.
We beat them 3-0!

I remember being the last to leave smoking a cigar while I enjoyed....and gladly drunk my 10 pints.

Fair play to my brother!

scm70nyd1973
23-02-2018, 08:28 PM
The good members of the PM Board are contemplating the possibility, or not, of time travel.

Given the incredible talent that exists within the private membership, I would imagine that the ability to go back in time will be provided relatively soon.

So, if you could go back in time, what is the ONE thing you would do with regards to football, whether Hibs related or not.

To the point in May 1986 when - en route to the DUtd game - my train from Aberdeen drew up alongside a train full of that lot heading up to Dundee - the abuse that I got was hard to take especially as I genuinely thought that they were about to win the effing league (all I could do was sit with a look of despair on my face) how differently I could have reacted had I known what I know now !! It would have been an epic moment but would have taken the fun away from the moment the guy in front of me at the game with his wee tranny (his back to the crap game going on) - I will never forget the moment he reacted when the first one went in - cue carnage - just magic !

23-02-2018, 08:30 PM
surprised no ones mentioned 1st Jan 1973 yet!

scm70nyd1973
23-02-2018, 08:32 PM
I think that’s a given along with 21/5 and I suppose May ‘86 - but I had to post it - too good an opp to miss !

23-02-2018, 10:08 PM
Bar the obvious ones like SC final or 0-7, the game for me would be the midweek game against Dumbarton at ER Feb 1988 I think. Your prob thinking why? That was my first game and to have my dad walk up those steps in the cowshed with me is as clear bow as it was 30 years ago.

The bright green pitch light up with the old style floodlights. If I could go back I think I’d just simply say to him “Thank you.” 💚

23-02-2018, 10:20 PM
I'd go back to the Grey Horse in Musselburgh February 16th 1981 and I wouldn't drink that last pint with a whiskey chaser and I'd make sure I had my specs on.

green with envy
23-02-2018, 10:27 PM
I'd go back to 09/12/1972 and wish that i was an adult or at least a few years older - as opposed to being a 10 year old getting taken to my first ever Hibs game.

23-02-2018, 10:42 PM
Back to the 1/5/1707 and tear up that ****ing treaty 😡

24-02-2018, 05:36 AM
1888 or whenever Celtic first played us and try to convince our board to give them no attention what so ever and focus on Hibernians fc.

Alfiembra
24-02-2018, 06:05 AM
I would hang around after re watching the 7-0 game and tell John Brownlie not to play the next game against East FiFe when he suffers his horrific leg break.

24-02-2018, 06:19 AM
Back to 2001 to tell Luna to tilt his head down by a few degrees in the 89th minute vs AEK.

SideBurns
24-02-2018, 06:27 AM
13/4/2013. I wouldn't have left Hampden at half-time with my deeply upset son, who was still traumatised by events of the previous May. Ended up back in the Queens Park Social Club drinking pints of St.Mungo's with ma brother (in between kicking a ba' aboot Lesser Hampden); reekin', walked into a lamppost on the way hame. Shameful behaviour, and had to watch the whole gemme on the telly the following morning to convince myself we really had won 4-3....

24-02-2018, 06:31 AM
id also go back to the summer of 1990 just to show Wallace Mercer my Hibs season ticket from 2017/18 along with a snapshot on my phone of his ‘big team’ 9 points behind us in the table. Just to see the look on his face.

id also be able to watch the Italia 90 World Cup in peace without the stress of Hibs future hanging in the balance

24-02-2018, 06:35 AM
13/4/2013. I wouldn't have left Hampden at half-time with my deeply upset son, who was still traumatised by events of the previous May. Ended up back in the Queens Park Social Club drinking pints of St.Mungo's with ma brother (in between kicking a ba' aboot Lesser Hampden); reekin', walked into a lamppost on the way hame. Shameful behaviour, and had to watch the whole gemme on the telly the following morning to convince myself we really had won 4-3....

Same.. 3 of us made same bad call :-(

24-02-2018, 06:36 AM

To buy a lot of match programmes

24-02-2018, 07:11 AM

Only £100?

Topographic Hibby
24-02-2018, 07:56 AM
Back to 2001 to tell Luna to tilt his head down by a few degrees in the 89th minute vs AEK.
That’s the one I was thinking of!! Down 2-0 and outplayed in first game to 3-0 win at home with a hat-trick hero. Roy of the Rovers stuff.

Or ask my Dad to take me to the Derby in 1973. Hard choice.....

24-02-2018, 08:19 AM
Only £100?

Aye. Knowing my luck I'd go back in time to the end of a month when I'm skint

24-02-2018, 08:43 AM
I’d go back to 1965 and shoot Geoff Hurst.

24-02-2018, 09:13 AM
Waking up at 7:30am on Saturday May 21st 2016 and doing that whole weekend again.

24-02-2018, 09:18 AM
Waking up at 7:30am on Saturday May 21st 2016 and doing that whole weekend again.

Would be weird that wouldn’t it ...nowhere near the same highs knowing the outcome...

24-02-2018, 09:50 AM
The semi final of the first European cup, get us into the final V Madrid

24-02-2018, 10:24 AM
Tell Sauzee not to take the manager role and move onto a coaching role instead.

24-02-2018, 10:30 AM
Aye. Knowing my luck I'd go back in time to the end of a month when I'm skint

jockodile
24-02-2018, 10:45 AM
Up until contemporary evente my Hibees time travel destination would have been Celtic park for the cup final.

As it is a famous 5 sometime in early 50s before tv